Opinion

Harrison v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Commonwealth of Pennsylvania)

  • 165 A.3d 1019
  • 2017 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 414
  • 2017 WL 2797458
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jun 28, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Leavitt, Jubelirer, Simpson, Covey, Wojcik, Hearthway, Cosgrove
Cited by
4 cases
Authority
More cited than 3.8%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

David C. Harrison, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 658 C.D. 2016

: Argued: April 5, 2017

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Commonwealth of :

Pennsylvania), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE JULIA K. HEARTHWAY, Judge

HONORABLE JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

OPINION

BY JUDGE SIMPSON FILED: June 28, 2017

This appeal involves review of an employer’s notice of workers’

compensation benefit offset against an employee’s pension benefits. David C.

Harrison (Claimant) petitions for review of an order of the Workers' Compensation

Appeal Board (Board) affirming an order of Workers' Compensation Judge Pamela

Briston (WCJ) denying his review offset, reinstatement and penalty petitions. In

denying Claimant’s petitions, the WCJ upheld the Commonwealth’s (Employer)

notice of weekly offset amount of $434.34. Claimant contends the WCJ erred in

calculating the offset based on the maximum monthly amount of pension benefits

he could receive where he opted for a lower monthly rate which provides for a

survivor benefit for his spouse in the event of his death. Upon review, we affirm.

I. Background

In June 2010, Claimant sustained a work injury. Employer accepted

the injury in a notice of compensation payable (NCP), which described the injury

as a left acetabulum fracture caused by a slip/fall on a carpet. The NCP indicated

an average weekly wage (AWW) of $1,273.59 and a weekly compensation rate of

$845.00.1

A. Notice of Benefit Offset

In February 2012, Employer issued a notice of workers’ compensation

benefit offset advising Claimant that based on information it received from the

Pennsylvania State Employees’ Retirement System (SERS), Employer was entitled

to a pro-rata pension offset for benefits Claimant received in the amount of

$1,885.03 per month. Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 1a-3a.

Section 204(a) of the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act)2 provides in

pertinent part (with emphasis added): “the benefits from a pension plan to the

extent funded by the employer directly liable for the payment of which are

received by an employee shall also be credited against the amount of the award

made under [the Act].” 77 P.S. §71(a) (emphasis added). In addition, Workers'

Compensation Bureau (Bureau) regulations governing the application of offset for

pension benefits provide (with emphasis added):

1

In April 2014, the parties executed a supplemental agreement expanding the description

of the injury to include an aggravation of Claimant’s preexisting muscular dystrophy.

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §71(a).

2

(a) Offsets of amounts received from pension benefits

shall be achieved on a weekly basis. If the employe

receives the pension benefit on a monthly basis, the net

amount contributed by the employer and received by the

employe shall be divided by 4.34. The result is the

amount of the weekly offset to the workers'

compensation benefit.

34 Pa. Code §123.9(a).

Calculating the offset based on 34 Pa. Code §123.9(a), Employer

determined the weekly offset to be $434.34. Subtracting this amount from

Claimant’s weekly compensation rate of $845.00 reduced Claimant’s weekly

payment to $410.66. R.R. at 3a.3

B. Claimant’s Petitions

In February 2014, Claimant filed a review offset petition, a penalty

petition and a reinstatement petition. Claimant alleged Employer improperly took

an offset credit for an overpayment. R.R. at 9a. Claimant also sought a review of

Employer’s calculation of the offset. Id.

3

Employer’s notice of offset also recognized that SERS approved Claimant’s pension

retroactively to begin on December 1, 2010. As such, Claimant received 67 and 3/7 weeks of

pension benefits prior to March 16, 2012, resulting in an overpayment of $29,286.92. To recoup

the overpayment, Employer suspended Claimant’s benefits for 71 and 2/7 weeks from March

17, 2012 through July 28, 2013. R.R. at 3a.

3

C. Before the WCJ

Before the WCJ, Employer presented deposition testimony from three

witnesses. In her first three findings of fact, the WCJ reviewed Employer’s

evidence.

Sara Westhaver (Claims Representative), a claims representative for

Inservco Insurance Services (Inservco), testified that Inservco replaced

CompServices as Employer’s third-party administrator. When Inservco learns a

Commonwealth employee retired and is receiving pension benefits, Inservco

obtains pension information from SERS, calculates the appropriate offset and

issues the appropriate LIBC (Bureau) forms. WCJ Op., 2/17/15, Finding of Fact

(F.F.) No. 1.

Based on her review of the file, Claims Representative determined

Claimant returned a Bureau form to Inservco’s predecessor, CompServices, in

December 2011 indicating that he was receiving pension benefits. Claimant

provided the gross and net amount of his pension benefits. On February 22, 2012,

CompServices issued the notice of offset to Claimant. F.F. No. 1.

In particular, Claims Representative testified the notice of offset

indicated the Employer-funded amount of Claimant’s monthly pension benefit to

be $1,885.03. F.F. No. 1; Dep. of Sara Westhaver, 10/2/14 (Westhaver Dep.), at

19-20; R.R. at 3a, 103a-04a. Pursuant to 34 Pa. Code §129.3(a), that amount is

divided by 4.34, yielding a weekly offset of $434.34. F.F. No. 1; Westhaver Dep.,

at 19-20; R.R. at 103a-04a. On cross-examination, Claims Representative

4

acknowledged the only role a third-party administrator plays in calculating the

offset is to divide the monthly offset amount provided by SERS so that a weekly

offset can be determined. F.F. No. 1; Westhaver Dep., at 20-21; R.R. at 105a-06a.

SERS’s Director of Benefit Administration, Susan Hostetter (SERS

Benefits Director) testified regarding the manner in which SERS calculates the

Employer-funded part of Claimant’s pension. F.F. No. 2. SERS Benefits Director

testified that Claimant had various pension payment options he could select. Some

options provide a greater monthly payout than others. However, options with a

lower monthly payout offer other benefits such as payments to a spouse should the

retiree predecease the spouse. Id.

However, with regard to calculating the pension offset in workers’

compensation cases, SERS does not take into consideration which payment option

the participant chooses. Rather, SERS always calculates the offset based on the

participant’s maximum single life annuity (MSLA). This is the maximum amount

an injured employee could elect to receive each month. F.F. No. 2.

In the present case, SERS calculated Claimant’s MSLA as $3,742.51

per month. However, Claimant elected a different payment option which paid him

a gross monthly amount of $3,434.16. After deductions, Claimant received an

initial net monthly payment of $3,053.01. F.F. No. 2.

Employer also submitted the testimony of Brent A. Mowery (SERS

Actuary), an actuary employed by SERS and affiliated with a company known as

5

the Hays Group. F.F. No. 3. He explained that SERS has a defined-benefit plan.

In such a plan, all of the participants’ contributions are comingled with Employer’s

contributions. Id. The combined amount is then invested. Employees do not have

individual accounts. Id.

SERS Actuary explained that in determining the extent to which the

Commonwealth funds an employee’s pension, it is necessary to determine how

much money will be needed to fund the employee’s pension for the rest of his life.

F.F. No. 3; Dep. of Brent A. Mowery, 10/15/14 (Mowery Dep.), at 10; R.R. at

121a. This determination is an “actuarial calculation.” F.F. No. 3; Mowery Dep.

at 10; R.R. at 121a. Once that determination is made, it is possible to calculate the

amount the employee contributed over the course of his life. F.F. No. 3. When the

employee’s contribution is deducted from the total amount of funding needed, the

amount the Commonwealth contributed to the pension can be determined. Id.

Here, SERS Actuary testified he determined Claimant’s MSLA to be

$3,742.51 per month. F.F. No. 3; Mowery Dep. at 18; R.R. at 129a. By using

Claimant’s MSLA, remaining life expectancy, and applying an actuarial factor of

8.7045, SERS Actuary determined $390,920.14 was needed to fund Claimant’s

pension. F.F. No. 3; Mowery Dep. at 18-19; R.R. at 129a-30a. Subtracting

Claimant’s contributions and investment earnings, $194,021.33, SERS Actuary

calculated that the remaining amount necessary to fund the pension, $196,898.81,

represents Employer’s contribution. F.F. No. 3.

6

SERS Actuary observed that the Employer-funded portion of

Claimant’s entire pension, $196,898.81, constitutes 50.368039 percent of the total

value of Claimant’s pension. F.F. No. 3. Therefore, the Employer-funded portion

of Claimant’s monthly MSLA is calculated as 50.368039 percent of $3,742.51,

which amounts to $1,885.03. F.F. No. 3; Mowery Dep. at 33-34; R.R. at 144a-45a.

Notably, Claimant did not present any testimony, expert or otherwise,

on his own behalf. F.F. No. 4. As such, Claimant failed to present any expert

actuarial testimony to challenge Employer’s actuarial calculations. Id.

Based on the evidence presented, the WCJ determined Claimant failed

to meet his burden of proof in his review offset, reinstatement and penalty

petitions. F.F. No. 5. In her decision, the WCJ accepted the testimony of Claims

Representative, SERS Benefits Director and SERS Actuary as credible and

convincing with respect to the calculation of Employer’s offset. F.F. No. 5a. In

particular, the WCJ found their calculations of the pension offset to be sound. F.F.

No. 5b. The WCJ also determined the methodology described by SERS Actuary

accurately calculated the Employer-funded portion of the SERS defined-benefit

plan. Id.

Therefore, the WCJ found Employer was entitled to a weekly offset of

$434.34 resulting in a weekly compensation benefit of $410.66. F.F. No. 5c.

7

Pursuant to 34 Pa. Code §123.4(a), Employer is entitled to this offset for the

duration of Claimant’s collection of his pension benefit. F.F. No. 5d.4

4

The WCJ next addressed several issues Claimant raised in his Proposed Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law. These issues are not at issue in the current appeal, and they are

recounted only for the sake of completeness.

Claimant first argued Employer’s actuarial assumptions failed to consider the

unique circumstances in his case. See F.F. No. 6. To that end, the parties’ supplemental

agreement described Claimant’s work injury as including an aggravation of his preexisting

muscular dystrophy. Claimant thus asserted Employer bore the burden of producing medical

evidence showing his life expectancy would not be adversely affected by this serious and

sometimes fatal disease. Id.

In rejecting Claimant’s argument, the WCJ reasoned it would be expensive and

burdensome to place the requirement on Employer to have each worker evaluated for purposes of

life expectancy when calculating its share of the pension. F.F. No. 6(I)(b). The WCJ also

credited SERS Actuary’s testimony that the larger size of the group of retirees, the more accurate

the life expectancy tables are because the deviations tend to cancel out. F.F. No. 6(I)(c).

The WCJ addressed another issue raised by Claimant. Claimant contended

Employer violated the Act by taking a credit against pension benefits Claimant received prior to

the date Employer filed the notice of offset. In rejecting Claimant’s contention, the WCJ

recognized that 34 Pa. Code §123.4 explicitly permits a retroactive offset or recoupment. City of

Pittsburgh v. Workers' Comp. Appeal Bd. (Wright), 90 A.3d 801 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014). F.F. No.

6(III)(a). In short, the WCJ observed that “Section 204(a) and its regulations expressly authorize

an employer to do a retrospective offset as needed to recover overpaid workers’ compensation

benefits.” Id. The WCJ also found there was no delay attributable to Employer which led to the

overpayment. F.F. No. 6(III)(b).

Accordingly, the WCJ determined Employer is entitled to a weekly offset of

Claimant’s workers’ compensation benefits due to his simultaneous receipt of pension benefits,

which are partially Employer-funded. Conclusion of Law (C.L.) No. 1. Therefore, the WCJ

reduced Claimant’s weekly benefits to $410.66. Id.

The WCJ also determined Employer was entitled to an offset for overpayment in

the amount of $29,286.92. C.L. No. 2. Because Employer did not cause a delay resulting in the

overpayment, the WCJ determined Employer was entitled to collect the full offset amount for the

overpayment. C.L. No. 3. Therefore, the WCJ denied Claimant’s review offset and

reinstatement petitions. C.L. No. 4.

Further, because a retroactive offset is permitted under Section 204(a) of the Act

and its regulations, the WCJ found no violation of the Act and denied Claimant’s petition for

penalties. C.L. No. 5.

8

Also, Claimant asserted Employer failed to prove SERS properly

calculated the offset against the net amount of benefits he received each month as

required by the Act and its applicable regulations. In rejecting this argument, the

WCJ noted an employer’s offset calculations determine the funding needed to be

provided by the employer. F.F. No. 6(II)(b). Although Claimant elected a lesser

amount in order to preserve a survivor benefit for his spouse, the WCJ found this is

still a benefit to Claimant as an employee. Id. As such, to calculate the offset as

Claimant requested would not take into account either the total amount required to

be funded by Employer in order to pay the survivor benefit to Claimant’s wife.

F.F. No. 6(II)(c).

The WCJ denied Claimant’s petitions. On appeal, the Board affirmed.

In its opinion, the Board noted that even though Claimant took a lower paying

option than the MSLA standard payment, Claimant’s decision did not impact the

amount of money required to fund his pension for the remainder of his life and his

wife’s life. Bd. Op., 4/7/16, at 6, 7. Claimant petitions for review.5

II. Discussion

A. Argument

Claimant contends the Board erred in affirming the WCJ’s decision

that Employer’s offset should be calculated on the gross amount of the MSLA

payment rather than the lesser amount Claimant actually received. To that end,

5

Our appellate standard of review is limited to determining whether the WCJ’s findings

of fact were supported by substantial evidence, whether an error of law was committed or

whether constitutional rights were violated. Phoenixville Hosp. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.

(Shoap), 81 A.3d 830 (Pa. 2013).

9

Claimant asserts Section 204(a) of the Act provides “the benefits from a pension

plan to the extent funded by the employer directly liable for the payment of which

are received by an employee shall also be credited against the amount of the award

made under [the Act].” 77 P.S. §71(a) (emphasis added).

Similarly, Bureau regulations provide: “Workers' compensation

benefits otherwise payable shall be offset by the net amount an employe receives in

pension benefits to the extent funded by the employer directly liable for the

payment of workers' compensation.” 34 Pa. Code §123.8(a) (emphasis added). “If

the employe receives the pension benefit on a monthly basis, the net amount

contributed by the employer and received by the employe shall be divided by

4.34.” 34 Pa. Code §123.9(a) (emphasis added). “The result is the amount of the

weekly offset to the workers' compensation benefit.” Id.

In support of his position, Claimant cites City of Philadelphia Gas

Works v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Amodei), 964 A.2d 963 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2009), where this Court, in an en banc decision, held that a pension offset

was based on the net amount the claimant actually received. In reviewing Section

204(a) of the Act, we stated:

The statutory language permitting an employer to offset

workers' compensation paid to an employee by the

amount of pension benefits the employee ‘received’ does

not specify whether the credits allowed are to be

calculated on the gross or net amount received by the

employee. However, pursuant to legislative directive,

this information is supplied by regulation.

10

Philadelphia Gas Works, 964 A.2d at 965. We then noted the language in 34 Pa.

Code §123.8(a) that workers' compensation benefits otherwise payable shall be

offset by the net amount an employe receives in pension benefits to the extent

funded by the employer directly liable for the payment of workers' compensation.

Claimant also cites our decision in City of Philadelphia v. Workers'

Compensation Appeal Board (Harvey), 994 A.2d 1 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2010), where a

City of Philadelphia (City) employee sustained a work injury and began receiving

workers' compensation benefits at the rate of $527.00 per week. Thereafter, the

employee began receiving a disability pension from the City. Had he not been

receiving workers’ compensation benefits, the retired employee would have been

entitled to $2,292.21 per month in pension benefits.

However, pursuant to Section 22-401(4)(a) of the City Code, if an

injured employee receiving workers’ compensation benefits becomes eligible to

receive pension benefits, the pension benefits are required to be offset against the

workers’ compensation benefits. Because the claimant received $2,289.84 per

month in workers’ compensation benefits, his pension benefits were reduced to

$2.27 per month.

Nevertheless, the City, pursuant to 34 Pa. Code §123.9(a), sought an

additional offset based on the fact it funded 53.983% of the claimant’s pension. As

such, the City sought to deduct $285.12 from Claimant’s weekly workers’

compensation benefit of $527.00, which would lower claimant’s weekly workers’

compensation rate to $241.88. In other words, the City wanted to reduce

11

Claimant’s pension benefits by 100% of Claimant’s workers’ compensation

benefits and then reduce Claimant’s workers’ compensation benefits by 54% of

Claimant’s pension benefits before they were reduced under Section 22-401(4)(a)

of the City Code.

On appeal, the Board decided that in view of the reduction of

Claimant’s pension payment under the offset in Section 22-401(4)(a) of the

Philadelphia Code, Claimant received only $2.27 per month in pension benefits.

Based on the City’s 53.983% contribution to Claimant’s pension benefits, this

reduced Claimant’s pension payments by $1.23 per month. Therefore, the Board

determined the City could offset Claimant’s weekly benefits by $0.28. On further

appeal, this Court affirmed, reasoning:

The plain language of Section 204(a) of the Act supports

the Board’s determination. To allow [the City] to offset

[the claimant’s] workers’ compensation in the amount

equal to 53.983 of his full pension even though [the

claimant] did not receive his full pension would yield an

absurd result. [Hannaberry HVAC v. Workers'

Compensation Appeal Board (Snyder, Jr.), 884 A.2d 524

(Pa. 2003)] precludes such an interpretation.

Harvey, 994 A.2d at 8 (emphasis in italics added).

On appeal, Claimant argues that he does not dispute the credible

testimony of Employer’s witnesses regarding the calculation of the Employer-

funded amount of the pension. Nonetheless, Claimant asserts SERS Actuary erred

in taking an offset in the amount of $1,885.03 per month because that amount was

12

based on the premise that Claimant was receiving the gross MSLA of $3,742.51

per month ($3,742.51 x 50.368039% = $1,885.03).

As noted above, Claimant did not elect to receive the MSLA option.

Rather, Claimant opted for a lower monthly payout which also provided for

pension payments to his spouse should he predecease her. As such, Claimant

actually received $3,053.11 per month, approximately $700 per month less than

the gross MSLA option. Therefore, Claimant argues, Employer should have been

entitled to a monthly offset of $1,537.79 ($3,053.11 x 50.368039% = $1,537.79).

In short, Claimant argues Employer’s method of calculating the

pension offset is contrary to the plain language of the Act, the pertinent Bureau

regulations and the applicable case law. He asserts that all relevant sources

mandate that Employer is only entitled to the net amount he actually receives each

month. Therefore, Claimant argues the Board erred in holding Employer could

apply the offset against the amount he could have received if he elected to receive

the single life annuity.

B. Analysis

To begin, we note that even though Claimant filed the offset review

petition, Employer, as the party seeking the pension offset and a change in the

status quo, bears the burden of proof regarding its entitlement. Dep’t of Pub.

Welfare/Polk Ctr. v. Workers' Comp. Appeal Bd. (King), 884 A.2d 343 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2005). In a defined-benefit plan, credible actuarial evidence is sufficient

to establish the extent to which an employee’s pension benefits are employer-

13

funded. Dep’t of Pub. Welfare v. Workers' Comp. Appeal Bd. (Harvey), 993 A.2d

270 (Pa. 2010). Here, Employer presented testimony from Claims Representative,

SERS Benefits Director and SERS Actuary, which the WCJ accepted as credible

with regard to the calculation of the offset amount for Claimant’s pension. F.F.

No. 5a.

SERS Actuary testified he determined Claimant’s MSLA to be

$3,742.51 per month. F.F. No. 3. Multiplying that amount by an actuarial factor

of 8.7045 yielded a total funding amount of $390,920.14. This is the amount

needed to fund Claimant’s pension. F.F. No. 3. Of that amount, SERS Actuary

determined Claimant contributed $194,021.33 and Employer contributed

$196,898.81 or 50.368039%. Id.

Based on these calculations, SERS Actuary explained Employer

partially funds Claimant’s pension in the amount of $22,620.35 per year or

$1,885.03 per month. Id. Pursuant to 34 Pa. Code §129.3, the $1,885.03 per

month is divided by 4.34, which yields a weekly offset of $434.34. F.F. No. 1.

Critical for our analysis, under Section 5705 of the State Employees’

Retirement Code (Retirement Code), 71 Pa. C.S. §5705, an eligible beneficiary

upon retirement could choose to receive either a MSLA or a reduced annuity

certified by the actuary to be actuarially equivalent to the MSLA in accordance

with one of four options. Hoffman v. State Emp. Retirement Bd., 915 A.2d 674

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2006). Relevant here, Section 705(a) of the Retirement Code

provides the following options:

14

(1) Option 1.—A life annuity to the member with a

guaranteed total payment equal to the present value of the

[MSLA] on the effective date of retirement with the

provision that, if, at his death, he has received less than

such present value, the unpaid balance shall be payable to

his beneficiary.

(2) Option 2.—A joint and survivor annuity payable

during the lifetime of the member with the full amount of

such annuity payable thereafter to his survivor annuitant,

if living at his death.

71 Pa. C.S. §5705(a) (emphasis added).

Claimant did not elect to receive the life annuity Option 1. Rather

Claimant opted for a lower monthly payout under Option 2, which also provided

for a full amount survivor benefit for his spouse should he predecease her.

Claimant actually received, after deductions, $3,053.11 per month. This is

approximately $700 per month less than the MSLA option. Therefore, Claimant

argues, Employer should have been entitled to a monthly offset of $1,537.79

($3,053.11 x 50.368039% = $1,537.79).

We disagree. Section 204(a) “focuses on the extent to which benefits

are funded by the employer.” Harvey, 993 A.2d at 281. SERS Actuary testified

Claimant selected the “joint and one hundred percent survivor benefit.” Mowery

Dep. at 29; R.R. at 140a. Although Claimant will receive a somewhat lower

benefit per month, the reduction takes into account the fact that this amount will be

payable to his wife until her death if he predeceases her. Mowery Dep. at 29-30;

R.R. at 140a-41a. Therefore, in exchange for a reduction in the amount of pension

payments to himself, Claimant added his wife as a joint annuitant with a right of

15

survivorship. Although Claimant himself receives a reduced annuity payout under

Option 2, the remainder of his monthly MSLA will fund the survivor benefit for

his spouse. Thus, Claimant’s pension benefit under Option 2 remains the actuarial

equivalent to his MSLA. Hoffman.

As can been seen from our case descriptions above, the cases relied

upon by Claimant do not address the concept of actuarial equivalency. Therefore,

they are not helpful in resolving the case before us.

In contrast, SERS Actuary explained in detail why payment options

have no impact on calculating funding of a pension. The Actuary testified:

If an individual opts for a joint and survivor annuity it

brings a second life into the picture, typically the spouse,

and when that occurs there is a calculation done to

determine what would be payable to the individual

instead of the level of benefit that [he was] entitled to

[through his] MSLA, that is, some lower amount of

benefit would be paid than had been presented as

available for the single life because under these joint and

survivor forms, if the original member were to

predecease [his] spouse benefits continue, sometimes at

the same level as was payable to the member, sometimes

at 50 percent of the level of benefits payable to the

member.

But, regardless of what level of benefit

continues to the spouse when the member predeceases

the spouse, I think you can appreciate that in order to

maintain the value of the benefit that was originally

available to the participant there is a calculation that we

call an actuarial equivalent conversion.

And, the word actuarial equivalent is basically to

say that by factoring in the age and gender of the spouse

16

and performing a calculation that takes into account that

two lives are going to probably live longer than one on

average, there is a reduction applicable to the MSLA to

bring the benefit that would be payable under this two

life arrangement to a level that’s somewhat lower and

factors in the greater average duration of payments that

will be made once the second life is brought into the

picture.

Now, because these calculations are made through

an actuarial equivalent conversion we aren’t dealing with

any different total value of benefits to which the

participant and his spouse are entitled versus what the

participant himself was entitled to.

Mowery Dep. at 21-22; R.R. at 132a-33a.

It is noteworthy that this expert testimony on actuarial equivalent

conversion was unchallenged by Claimant, and it was accepted by the fact-finder.

Indeed, the Actuary was not asked any questions on cross-examination that

pertained to the actuarial equivalent conversion for different pension payouts, and

Claimant did not offer his own evidence on the issue. Under these circumstances,

this accepted expert testimony is controlling, and it cannot now be challenged by

Claimant under the guise of a legal issue over gross/net payments.

Ultimately, the WCJ made the following findings:

b. [Employer’s] calculation considers the funding

needed to funded by [Employer]. It is noted that

[C]laimant elected a lesser amount in order to preserve,

presumably, an option for payment for a spouse, which is

a benefit to the employee. As such, I accept

[Employer’s] calculations of the offset.

17

c. To calculate the offset as requested by [C]laimant

would not take into account the amounts required to be

funded by [Employer], and the benefits to [C]laimant’s

spouse.

F.F. No. 6(II)(b),(c) (emphasis added).

Claimant states he does not challenge either the MSLA calculation of

$3,742.51 per month or the Employer-funded portion of his pension as

50.368039%. Therefore, the WCJ properly determined the Employer-funded

portion of Claimant’s monthly MSLA or pension benefit to be $1,885.03. See F.F.

No. 6(II)(a). Dividing this amount by 4.34, as required by 34 Pa. Code §123.9(b),

results in a monthly offset of $434.34 per week.

We discern no error or abuse of discretion in the WCJ’s determination

that Claimant’s joint and survivor annuity, which includes a full amount survivor

annuity payable to his wife should Claimant predecease her, constitutes a benefit

Claimant constructively received for purposes of the Section 204(a) pension offset.

As SERS Actuary explained, where a participant selects the joint and survivor

annuity, that brings a second life into the picture. Mowery Dep. at 21; R.R. at 21a;

R.R. at 132a. A calculation factoring the age and gender of the spouse must be

made. Because “two lives are going to probably live longer than one on average,”

the monthly amount of pension benefit paid to the participant will be lower to

factor “in the greater average duration of payments ….” Id. Importantly, as SERS

Benefits Director testified, no matter what option the participant chooses, the value

of his benefit will be actuarially equivalent to his MSLA. F.F. No. 2; Dep. of

Susan Hostetter, 10/2/14 (Hostetter Dep.), at 32-33; R.R. at 68a-69a.

18

Therefore, the total amount of funding needed is the same under both

the single life annuity and joint and survivor annuities. Id. Mowery Dep. at 22;

R.R. at 21a; R.R. at 133a. SERS Benefits Director explained: “What we need to

set aside is a[n] amount that funds the maximum amount of the benefit. So we

fund for each member on the [MSLA], the maximum amount they [sic] can

receive.” Hostetter Dep. at 32; R.R. at 67a.

Consequently, we reject Claimant’s contention that Employer is only

entitled to an offset based on the monthly net amount of pension benefits

physically received by Claimant. Although Claimant is receiving a reduced

payment under this option, Employer does not receive a corresponding reduction in

the amount it must fund Claimant’s pension benefits. Rather, the reduction in

Claimant’s payment is necessary to enable Employer to provide funding for a

survivor benefit for Claimant’s wife. Thus, because Employer is partially funding

both the annuity to Claimant and the survivor annuity for Claimant’s wife,

Employer is entitled to an offset for Claimant’s MSLA regardless of the monthly

amount paid solely to Claimant.6 Harvey.

In sum, pursuant to Section 204(a) of the Act and 34 Pa. Code

§123.8(a), an employer is entitled to a workers’ compensation offset for pension

benefits an employee receives to the extent funded by the employer. Here,

Claimant voluntarily chose a joint and survivor annuity which will require

Employer to fund both his and his wife’s annuity benefits in an amount equivalent

6

As noted above, a joint and survivor annuity under Option 2 must be certified to be

actuarially equivalent to the value of the MSLA. 71 Pa. C.S. §5705(a); Hoffman.

19

to Claimant’s MSLA. 71 Pa. C.S. §5705(a); Hoffman. As such, it would be

improper to deny Employer an offset for the full amount that it funded Claimant’s

MSLA. Section 204(a) of the Act; Harvey.

C. Taxes

As a final matter, we address Claimant’s contention that the workers’

compensation offset must be calculated based on his net MSLA after taxes rather

than the gross MSLA of $3,742.51 per month. The Pennsylvania Association for

Justice (Association), as amicus curiae, cites Philadelphia Gas Works, and points

out that while pension benefits may be taxed, workers’ compensation benefits are

not taxable. Therefore, if a claimant received $200 per week in pension benefits

and paid $50 in taxes on those benefits, he would receive only $150 per week.

However, if his employer is entitled to a workers’ compensation offset of $200 per

week, the claimant would lose $50 per week in workers’ compensation to which he

was legally entitled.

Similarly, Claimant, also citing Philadelphia Gas Works, argues that

the offset must be calculated based on the net amount a claimant actually receives.

Therefore, Claimant maintains the WCJ erred in approving the pension offset

based on the gross MSLA of $3,742.51 per month.

Again, we disagree. In our previous en banc decision in Philadelphia

Gas Works, we stated:

With respect to the court’s concern that applying the

offset to the net amount of benefits would result in

administrative difficulties, we note that the regulations

20

expressly provide, in the alternative, that an employer

may calculate the offset based on the gross amount of the

other benefit received by the employee, subject to a

correction once the employee notifies the insurer he has

paid the required tax. Specifically, 34 Pa. Code

§123.4(f) (emphasis added) provides:

When Federal, State or local taxes are paid

with respect to amounts an employee

receives in unemployment compensation,

Social Security (old age), severance or

pension benefits, the insurer shall repay the

employee for amounts previously offset, and

paid in taxes, from workers’ compensation

benefits, when the offset was calculated on

the pretax amount of the benefit received.

To request repayment for amounts

previously offset and paid in taxes, the

employee shall notify the insurer in writing

of the amounts paid in taxes previously

included in the offset.

Phila. Gas Works, 964 A.2d at 966 (italics in original).

As we observed in Philadelphia Gas Works, application of the offset

to the net amount of the claimant’s pension benefit for employers could result in

administrative difficulties. Therefore, Employer may calculate the offset based on

the gross amount of the MSLA subject to correction reimbursement under 34 Pa.

Code §123.4(f). Id. Here, SERS Benefits Director testified that a participant may

elect to have taxes taken out. Hostetter Dep. at 33; R.R. at 69a. This can be

changed at any time. Id. SERS Benefits Director further testified that when

Claimant initially retired, he chose to have taxes taken out. Id. As such, Claimant

is entitled to reimbursement from Employer for taxes paid. 34 Pa. Code §123.4(f).

21

III. Conclusion

For the above reasons, we discern no error or abuse of discretion in

the WCJ’s determination that Employer established its entitlement to a weekly

workers’ compensation offset of $434.34 under 34 Pa. Code §129.3(a) based on

Claimant’s simultaneous receipt of pension benefits which have a certified

actuarial equivalent value of $3,742.51 per month and are partially Employer-

funded in the amount of $1,885.03 per month. Accordingly, the order of the Board

upholding the WCJ’s denial of Claimant’s review offset, reinstatement and penalty

petitions is affirmed.

ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

22

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

David C. Harrison, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 658 C.D. 2016

:

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Commonwealth of :

Pennsylvania), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 28th day of June, 2017, for the reasons stated in the

foregoing opinion, the order of the Workers' Compensation Appeal Board is

AFFIRMED.

ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

David C. Harrison, :

:

Petitioner : No. 658 C.D. 2016

: Argued: April 5, 2017

v. :

:

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Commonwealth of :

Pennsylvania), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE JULIA K. HEARTHWAY, Judge

HONORABLE JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

DISSENTING OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: June 28, 2017

Respectfully, I dissent. In his appeal from the order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Board), David C. Harrison (Claimant) argues that

the workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) erred in calculating the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania’s (Employer) offset against his workers’ compensation benefits

based on the maximum amount of pension benefits Claimant could receive, instead

of the amount of pension benefits he does receive. I agree.

Section 204(a) of the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act)1 allows an

employer an offset for the payment of pension benefits that are received by the

employee, to the extent the pension benefits are funded by the employer. It states:

[T]he benefits from a pension plan to the extent funded

by the employer directly liable for the payment of

compensation which are received by an employe shall

also be credited against the amount of the award made

under [the Act].

77 P.S. §71(a) (emphasis added). In setting forth the critical words at issue in this

case, “are received,” the legislature employed the simple present tense (passive

voice).2 Likewise, the regulation at 34 Pa. Code §123.8(a) (emphasis added),

which allows an offset for “the net amount an employee receives in pension

benefits,” is stated in the present tense. Most importantly, the regulation at 34 Pa.

Code §123.8(c) (emphasis added) expressly states that “[t]he offset may not apply

to pension benefits to which an employee may be entitled, but is not receiving.”

The relevant language allows an offset based on a present occurrence, and it

specifically prohibits applying an offset based on speculative future circumstance.

Consequently, this Court cannot affirm the calculation of Employer’s offset from

Claimant’s workers’ compensation benefits based on pension benefits Claimant

does not receive without disregarding the plain language of Section 204(a) of the

Act and violating the regulation authorizing the offset.

Preliminarily, I note that in order to calculate the amount of

Claimant’s weekly pension payment, the Majority’s rationale relies on the same

actuarial evidence used to determine Employer’s contributions to his pension.

1

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §71(a).

2

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/601/02 (last visited June 12, 2017).

MHW - 2

However, these actuarial calculations are intended to be applied after, not before,

the amount of a claimant’s weekly pension benefit is determined. In contrast to the

Majority’s analysis, the amount of the benefit a claimant receives under a defined

benefit plan is the starting point in calculating the employer’s contribution for

purposes of arriving at the offset figure: the amount the claimant is entitled to

receive is established by factors such as his salary and years of service; that figure

is multiplied by a factor, determined actuarially, and the result is the amount of the

employer’s contribution. Here, the Majority would use the same actuarial factor to

determine both ends of the same equation, rendering the analysis mathematically

invalid. Moreover, because the calculations used to determine an employer’s

contributions to a claimant’s pension are based on actuarial assumptions, such as a

claimant's life expectancy, use of the same data to arrive at a fictitious amount for a

claimant’s payment under a defined benefit plan is unsupported by law or logic.

While actuarial evidence is appropriately used to resolve disputes concerning the

extent to which an employer has funded a claimant’s pension benefit, this appeal is

not a dispute over the amount of Employer’s contributions. Therefore, I submit

that actuarial evidence concerning the method used to calculate Employer’s

contributions is entirely irrelevant to the question before the Court.

We must be mindful that this is a workers’ compensation case, not a

pension dispute. The purpose of the offset is not to preserve a pension fund but,

rather, to control the cost of workers’ compensation. As we noted in Pennsylvania

State University v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Hensal), 911 A.2d 225

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2006):

In 1996, the legislature, attempting to combat the

increasing costs of workers’ compensation in

Pennsylvania, amended Section 204(a) of the Act to

MHW - 3

allow employers an offset against workers’ compensation

benefits for social security, severance, and pension

benefits simultaneously received by an employee.

* * *

Amended Section 204(a) serves the legislative intent of

reducing the cost of workers’ compensation by allowing

an employer to avoid paying duplicate benefits for the

same loss of earnings . . . . Similarly, Section 204(a)

implicitly recognizes that public policy bars an employer

from utilizing an employee’s own retirement funds to

satisfy its workers’ compensation obligations . . . .

Id. at 227-28 (emphasis added) (citations omitted).3, 4

I suggest that our decision in Philadelphia Gas Works v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Amodei), 964 A.2d 963, 967 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2009),

3

See also, Allegheny Ludlum Corp. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Bascovsky), 977 A.2d 61, 67-68 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2009).

4

In Hensal, we also recognized that the legislature had not included in Section 204(a)

any method of calculating the offset. “In response to this omission, the Bureau adopted 34 Pa.

Code §123.8.” Allegheny Ludlum Corp., 977 A.2d at 68. In its entirety, the regulation states:

(a) Workers’ compensation benefits otherwise payable shall be

offset by the net amount an employe receives in pension benefits to

the extent funded by the employer directly liable for the payment

of workers’ compensation.

(b) The pension offset shall apply to amounts received from

defined-benefit and defined-contribution plans.

(c) The offset may not apply to pension benefits to which an

employe may be entitled, but is not receiving.

(d) In calculating the offset amount for pension benefits,

investment income attributable to the employer’s contribution to

the pension plan shall be included on a prorata basis.

34 Pa. Code §123.8.

MHW - 4

explaining that an employer is entitled to a credit only for the net benefit received

by an employee, offers guidance in this matter:

Although the legislature did not specify whether an offset

should be based on the “net” or “gross” amount of these

benefits, we observe that allowing a credit for the gross

amount of other benefits results in a loss of workers’

compensation benefits to which a claimant is statutorily

entitled. In view of an injured employee’s entitlement to

receive workers’ compensation without any tax

reduction, we will not rely on the absence of specific

direction to conclude that the language in Section 204(a)

of the Act, granting employers a credit for certain taxable

benefits received by the employee during a period of

work-related disability, reflects a legislative intent to

reduce the employee’s entitlement to workers’

compensation beyond the post-tax amount of those other

benefits actually received by the employee and available

for his or her use. Indeed, in providing background for

its regulations, the Bureau states, “[o]n June 24, 1996,

Governor Tom Ridge signed into law Act 57, which

substantially amended the [A]ct. The amendments are

intended to combat the rising costs of workers’

compensation in this Commonwealth while protecting

the right of employes to be adequately compensated for

their work-related injuries.” 28 Pa. B. 329 (Jan. 17,

1998). (Emphasis added.)

Amodei, 964 A.2d at 967.

Consistent with the above analysis, even if Section 204(a) were

ambiguous, and even if the regulation at 34 Pa. Code §123.8(c) did not exist, this

Court should not infer a legislative intent to reduce a claimant’s entitlement to

workers’ compensation beyond the amount of the pension benefit the claimant

MHW - 5

presently receives absent an express authorization. Id.5 To the extent the

legislature did not intend the language of Section 204(a) or 34 Pa. Code §123.8(c)

to apply where a claimant receives less in pension benefits than he is entitled to,

deferring receipt of such funds for his later benefit or for the benefit of another, I

suggest that clarification of the law is appropriately achieved through the

legislative or the rule-making process.

Finally, I would be faithful to the principles repeated by our Supreme

Court in Hannaberry HVAC v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Snyder,

Jr.), 834 A.2d 524 (Pa. 2003):

[W]e take seriously this Court’s settled recognition that

‘[o]ur basic premise in workmen’s compensation matters

is that the [Act] is remedial in nature and intended to

benefit the worker, and, therefore, the Act must be

liberally construed to effectuate its humanitarian

objectives.’ Peterson v. Workmen’s Compensation

Appeal Bd. (PRN Nursing Agency), [597 A.2d 1116,

1120] (Pa. 1991) (collecting cases). Accordingly,

‘borderline interpretations of the [Act] are to be

construed in the injured party’s favor.’ Harper & Collins

v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Bd. (Brown), [672

A.2d 1319, 1321] (Pa. 1996), citing Turner v. Jones &

Laughlin Steel Corp., [389 A.2d 42, 47] (Pa. 1978).

Hannaberry, 834 A.2d 528.

5

Compare 34 Pa. Code §123.9 (application of offset for pension benefits) which

addresses, inter alia, an employee’s receipt of pension benefits in the form of a lump sum

payment.

MHW - 6

For all of the above reasons, I would apply the statute and regulations

as written, and allow Employer an offset that is calculated on the amount of the

pension payment Claimant presently receives. Accordingly, I would reverse the

Board’s order.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

Judge Cosgrove joins in this dissent.

MHW - 7

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.