Opinion

Cathy C. Bryant v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Jan 3, 2017
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

CATHY C. BRYANT, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, AT-0845-16-0037-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: January 3, 2017

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Cathy C. Bryant, Maryville, Tennessee, pro se.

Cynthia Reinhold, Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

REMAND ORDER

¶1 The Office of Personnel Management (OPM) has filed a petition for review

of an initial decision, which reversed OPM’s reconsideration decision finding that

the appellant received an overpayment of $33,375.05 in annuity benefits under

the Federal Employees’ Retirement System (FERS). For the reasons discussed

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

below, we GRANT the petition for review, VACATE the initial decision, and

REMAND the case to the Atlanta Regional Office for further adjudication in

accordance with this Order.

DISCUSSION OF ARGUMENTS ON REVIEW

¶2 The appellant retired on a FERS disability retirement, effective October 7,

2009, from a Rural Carrier position with the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Initial

Appeal File (IAF), Tab 5 at 51, 62. From May 29, 1982, to January 12, 1991, the

appellant worked continuously under indefinite, noncareer appointments as a

Rural Carrier Relief or Rural Carrier Associate for the USPS. Id. at 57-58;

Petition for Review (PFR) File, Tab 1 at 5. During that period of employment,

she worked in positions subject only to the payment of So cial Security taxes

under the Federal Insurance Compensation Act, until she received an appointment

as a regular rural carrier on January 12, 1991. IAF, Tab 5 at 59, 66-67. As of

January 12, 1991, the appellant’s service became covered under FERS and her

pay was subject to FERS retirement deductions. Id. at 44. The appellant’s

service remained covered under FERS until OPM approved her disability

retirement application and she retired on October 7, 2009, at the age of 60. 2 IAF,

Tab 5 at 62, 68, Tab 8, Initial Decision (ID) at 2.

¶3 Prior to determining the appellant’s regular annuity benefit based on the

determination that her average salary was $56,195 , OPM paid the appellant an

estimated annuity benefit for the period of October 8, 2009, to January 30, 2013.

IAF, Tab 5 at 35, 45, 68. OPM calculated the appellant’s estimated interim

annuity benefit under the FERS disability computational formula applicable to

annuitants under 62 years of age who are not eligible for immediate retirement.

Id. at 45, 68. OPM subsequently informed the appellant that it had overpaid her

in the amount of $20,453.92 for this period. Id. at 35.

2

The appellant elected a reduced annuity with a partial survivor annuity for her spouse.

IAF, Tab 5 at 51.

3

¶4 The appellant requested reconsideration of this decision. IAF, Tab 5

at 16-17. OPM determined that the original annuity and overpayment amount was

incorrect and that the appellant was entitled to an immediate voluntary retirement

annuity under 5 U.S.C. § 8412 when she retired on October 7, 2009. Id. at 26.

OPM based the change on corrections to the amount of service credited in her

annuity, having determined that the appellant qualified for a voluntary annuity

because she had more than 20 years of service when she retired at 60 years old.

Id. OPM determined that because the appellant qualified for an immediate

retirement annuity, her annuity benefits could not be calculated under disability

retirement law. Id. OPM issued a corrected annuity computation on January 6,

2014, and determined that the appellant received a disability annuity overpayment

of $48,416.98. Id.

¶5 OPM also informed the appellant that she had the right to elect between a

voluntary annuity and a disability retirement annuity, and that her election would

affect the amount of her overpayment. Id. OPM advised the appellant that

electing a voluntary retirement annuity would result in an overpayment of

$33,381.05. 3 Id. at 27. On March 5, 2015, OPM determined that the appellant

had elected a voluntary retirement annuity, and OPM proposed to collect the

overpayment of $33,375.05 4 in 96 installments of $347.32 with a final installment

of $32.33. IAF, Tab 5 at 9-10.

¶6 On March 30, 2015, the appellant submitted a request for a waiver and for

reconsideration of the existence or amount of overpayment, and she offered to

3

OPM also explained that the appellant’s election of the voluntary annuity would

entitle her to receipt of the FERS annuity supplement in the amount of $15,572, a

benefit to which she would not have been entitled if she elected the disability retirement

annuity. IAF, Tab 5 at 27. Regardless of which annuity that the appellant elected to

receive, OPM determined that the correct gross annuity payment was $1 ,004. Id.

at 26-27.

4

OPM initially stated that if the appellant elected a voluntary retirement annuity the

overpayment was $33,381.05; however, OPM’s March 5, 2015 correspondence

indicated that the overpayment was $33,375.05.

4

send OPM a compromise payment of $2,000. Id. at 10-29. The appellant also

submitted a Financial Resources Questionnaire (FRQ) for consideration with her

request. Id. at 18-20. OPM denied her reconsideration request finding that she

was not at fault in creating the overpayment but she did not qualify for a waiver

because she had not shown that recovery would be against equity and good

conscience. Id. at 6-8. OPM also rejected the appellant’s compromise offer of

$2,000, having determined that she did not show that recovering the overpayment

would cause her financial hardship based on the information in her FRQ. Id.

at 7-8.

¶7 The appellant filed an appeal with the Board challenging OPM’s

reconsideration decision. IAF, Tab 1. In her appeal, the appellant asked OPM to

explain the 3-year delay in notifying her of the overpayment and argued that she

relied on OPM’s computations. Id. at 4. In an initial decision, the administrative

judge reversed OPM’s reconsideration decision and remanded the case to OPM

with instructions to recompute the appellant’s disability annuity from October 8,

2009 forward, by eliminating the FERS service credit for any Federal service that

the appellant performed prior to January 12, 1991. ID at 1, 13. The

administrative judge found that the appellant accrued 18 years, 10 months, and

26 days of service, from January 12, 1991, through October 8, 2009, and that

OPM erroneously credited the appellant’s nondeduction service with the USPS

from May 29, 1982, through December 31, 1988, to find her eligible for an

immediate voluntary retirement as of her last day in pay on October 7, 2009. ID

at 6, 9, 12. The administrative judge found no evidence that the appellant made

the necessary deposit to obtain FERS credit for any of her nondeduction pre-1991

service, and that she was not eligible for a voluntary retirement annuity because

she did not have 20 years of service credit. ID at 10-12. The administrative

judge also found that the appellant, as a Postal employee, was not an “employee”

for the purposes of FERS. ID at 9.

5

¶8 Having found that the appellant was not eligible for a voluntary retirement

annuity under 5 U.S.C. § 8412(b) when she separated from service, the

administrative judge found that OPM improperly determined that the appellant’s

disability retirement annuity had to be computed under 5 U.S.C. § 8415, rather

than under the “60%/40%” provisions of 5 U.S.C. § 8452(a). ID at 13. The

administrative judge found that OPM correctly based the appellant’s interim

annuity payments on the determination that she would be entitled to have her

annuity computed under the “60%/40%” provisions of 5 U.S.C. § 8452(a), rather

than under section 8415, and that OPM failed to establish the existence or the

amount of the overpayment by a preponderance of the evidence. ID at 7, 13. The

administrative judge found it unnecessary to determine if the appellant was

entitled to a waiver of the overpayment or an adjustment of the repayment

schedule. ID at 6.

¶9 OPM filed a petition for review asking the Board to vacate the initial

decision and remand the case to the administrative judge to adjudicate whether

the appellant is eligible for a waiver of the overpayment or for an adjustment of

her recovery schedule. PFR File, Tab 1 at 4. OPM argues that the administrative

judge erred by finding that the appellant did not meet the requirements for an

immediate annuity under 5 U.S.C. § 8412(b). Id. OPM further argues that the

administrative judge “erroneously concluded that the appellant was not entitled to

make, and had not made, a service credit deposit for her noncontributory service

with the U.S. Postal Service from May 29, 1982, through December 31, 19 88.”

Id.

¶10 OPM states that it properly computed the appellant’s FERS annuity based

on all of her creditable service, including the periods that she worked “from

May 29, 1982, through December 31, 1988, for which the appellant paid a service

credit deposit in full.” Id. at 12. OPM also explains that “[t]he computation,

billing, payment acceptance and record keeping of civilian service credit deposits

are maintained by OPM” and that OPM’s regulations required the appellant to

6

make the deposit to OPM, not to the employing agency. Id. OPM requests “the

opportunity to submit documentary evidence that the appellant paid a deposit for

her noncontributory service from May 29, 1982, through January 11, 1991.” Id.

at 13.

¶11 To further develop the record on review, the Board issued an order to show

cause, which afforded OPM and the appellant an opportunity to submit proof that

she made the deposit necessary to render any of her noncontributory service

creditable under FERS. PFR File, Tab 3. The parties responded by submitting

proof that the appellant made the deposit required under 5 U.S.C. § 8415(b)(3)

and (f)(2) for her noncontributory service from May 29, 1982, through

December 31, 1988. PFR File, Tabs 4-5. Specifically, the appellant provided: a

“RTR Retirement Plan Correction Report” identifying her career and noncareer

appointments; a document from OPM stating that she was required to pay a

deposit of $2,371.98 to obtain credit under FERS for her service from May 29,

1982, through December 31, 1988; and a May 23, 2008 letter from OPM

acknowledging her request to make the deposit. PFR File, Tab 5 at 3-9. OPM

provided a copy of the appellant’s application to make the service credit deposit

and records from OPM’s service credit and deposit account system showing that

she paid the full deposit amount of $2,371.98, which was required for OPM to

credit her noncontributory service in computing her FERS annuity benefit. PFR

File, Tab 4 at 4-5, 7, 9-18.

¶12 Having reviewed the parties’ submissions, we find sufficient proof that the

appellant made the deposit required to obtain credit under FERS for her

noncontributory service from May 29, 1982, through December 31, 1988. Id.;

IAF, Tab 5 at 30-33. We disagree with the administrative judge’s finding that the

appellant, as a Postal employee, was not an “employee” under FERS entitled to

credit for her nondeduction pre-1989 service. ID at 9. We are persuaded by

OPM’s argument that, pursuant to 39 U.S.C. § 1005(d)(1), Postal employees are

considered “employees” for purposes of FERS, and that the appellant was entitled

7

to make a service credit deposit for her nondeduction service performed prior to

January 1, 1989. PFR File, Tab 1 at 8, 17-18.

¶13 We further find that OPM properly determined that the appellant was

eligible for an immediate voluntary retirement annuity because sh e was 60 years

old and had more than 20 years of service credit when she separated from service

on October 7, 2009. See 5 U.S.C. § 8412(b); IAF, Tab 5 at 30. Because OPM

correctly determined that the appellant was entitled to an immediate retirement

annuity under 5 U.S.C. § 8412(b), we find that OPM properly recomputed the

appellant’s disability annuity under 5 U.S.C. § 8415, rather than under the

“60%/40%” provisions of 5 U.S.C. § 8452(a) applicable to most disability

retirements. IAF, Tab 5 at 26; see 5 U.S.C. § 8452(c)(2). We find that OPM did

not err in allowing the appellant to elect between a disability retirement annuity

and an immediate retirement annuity. IAF, Tab 5 at 26-32; see Hosford v. Office

of Personnel Management, 107 M.S.P.R. 418, ¶¶ 14-15 (2007). We further find

that OPM’s methodology for calculating the appellant’s retirement annuity under

FERS was reasonable, and that OPM proved that the appellant received an

overpayment of $33,375.05 based on her election of an immediate retirement

annuity. 5

ORDER

¶14 We therefore vacate the initial decision and remand this case to the Atlanta

Regional Office to determine whether the appellant is entitled to a waiver of the

$33,375.05 overpayment or an adjustment of the recovery schedule. 6 On remand,

5

Because the appellant was entitled to a FERS immediate voluntary reti rement annuity

under 5 U.S.C. § 8412(b) when she separated from service after her disability

retirement application was approved, her FERS annuity would have been computed

under the same formula regardless of whether she elected a disability retirement

annuity. See 5 U.S.C. §§ 8415(a), 8452(c)(2); Hosford, 107 M.S.P.R. 418, ¶ 12.

6

OPM has advised the Board that it may seek recovery of any debt remaining upon an

appellant’s death from his or her estate or other responsible party. A party responsible

for any debt remaining upon the appellant’s death may include an heir (spouse, chil d, or

other) who is deriving a benefit from the appellant’s Federal benefits, an heir or other

8

the administrative judge should allow the appellant to submit an updated FRQ

because her financial circumstances may have changed since she submitted her

last FRQ in March 2015. IAF, Tab 5 at 10-20.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

Jennifer Everling

Acting Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

person acting as the representative of the appellant’s estate if, for example, the

representative fails to pay the United States before paying the claims of othe r creditors

in accordance with 31 U.S.C. § 3713(b), or transferees or distributers of the appellant’s

estate.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.