Opinion

State ex rel. Reichley v. Indus. Comm.

  • 2017 Ohio 2939
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
May 23, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Dorrian
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 67.6%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Reichley v. Indus. Comm., 2017-Ohio-2939.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio ex rel. :

James R. Reichley,

:

Relator,

:

v. No. 16AP-263

:

Industrial Commission of Ohio (REGULAR CALENDAR)

and Cooper Tire & Rubber Co., :

Respondents. :

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on May 23, 2017

On brief: Law Offices of Thomas Tootle, and Thomas

Tootle, for relator.

On brief: Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Shaun

Omen, for respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

On brief: Eastman & Smith Ltd., Richard L. Johnson, and

Lindsey K. Ohlman, for respondent Cooper Tire & Rubber

Company.

IN MANDAMUS

ON OBJECTIONS TO THE MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

DORRIAN, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, James R. Reichley, has filed an original action requesting a writ of

mandamus ordering respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio ("commission") to vacate

the February 19, 2013 order of its staff hearing officer ("SHO") that denied his first

application for permanent total disability ("PTD") compensation ("February 2013 order")

and the January 27, 2016 order of its SHO that denied his second application for PTD

compensation ("January 2016 order"), and to enter an order that eliminates the finding

No. 16AP-263 2

that relator voluntarily abandoned the workforce and adjudicates the merits of relator's

PTD application.

{¶ 2} Pursuant to Civ.R. 53 and Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of

Appeals, this matter was referred to a magistrate who issued a decision, including findings

of fact and conclusions of law, which is appended hereto. The magistrate recommends

this court deny the request for a writ of mandamus.

{¶ 3} Relator has filed the following two objections to the magistrate's decision:

[I.] The record fails to contain "some evidence" to support a

finding of voluntary abandonment of the work-force (and

therefore precluding an award of permanent total disability).

The Magistrate's conclusion of law finding otherwise was in

error.

[II.] Evidence demonstrating Relator's two week return-to-

work was sufficient to establish a re-entry to the work-force.

The Magistrate's conclusion of law finding otherwise was in

error.

{¶ 4} The facts of this case, as set forth in the magistrate's decision, indicate that

relator suffered a severe injury on March 4, 1988, while employed by respondent Cooper

Tire & Rubber Company ("Cooper Tire"). Relator's claim was allowed for multiple

conditions, including partial paraplegia. Despite these injuries, in June 1989, relator

returned to work as a supervisor at Cooper Tire, and remained in that position until

October 30, 2011. Relator's post-injury work history of more than 22 years certainly

demonstrates his willingness to remain in the workforce. After leaving employment with

Cooper Tire, relator filed a first application for PTD compensation on August 14, 2012.

He subsequently filed a second application for PTD compensation on December 23, 2014.

{¶ 5} As explained in the magistrate's decision, the February 2013 order denied

relator's first PTD application on alternative bases: (1) that relator voluntarily abandoned

the workforce, and (2) that relator retained the ability to perform sustained remunerative

employment. The latter conclusion was based on the reports of Drs. Donato Borrillo and

Gerald Steinman, which constitute some evidence to support the SHO's finding.

Similarly, the January 2016 order denied relator's second PTD application on alternative

bases: (1) that relator voluntarily abandoned the workforce, and (2) that relator had not

reached maximum medical improvement for all of the allowed conditions in his claim.

No. 16AP-263 3

The latter conclusion was based on the reports of Drs. Franklin Kindl and Kurt Kuhlman,

which constitute some evidence to support the SHO's finding.

{¶ 6} Relator's mandamus complaint and objections to the magistrate's decision

only challenge the findings and conclusions with respect to voluntary abandonment of the

workforce. Relator has not challenged the alternative basis for the February 2013 order or

the January 2016 order. "If it can be said that relator has challenged only one of two

bases [for denial of a PTD application], he cannot show entitlement to a writ of

mandamus if the basis he has failed to challenge supports the commission's decision."

State ex rel. Terry v. Anderson's, Inc., 10th Dist. No. 13AP-652, 2014-Ohio-4169, ¶ 57.

See also State ex rel. Davis-Hodges v. Indus. Comm., 10th Dist. No. 10AP-183, 2010-

Ohio-5871, ¶ 41 ("Where the commission provides an alternative rationale for its

determination which withstands the scrutiny of mandamus review and provides an

independent basis for the commission's decision, the fact that the commission incorrectly

applied the law in a separate portion of the order does not constitute grounds for the

granting of a writ of mandamus."). Accordingly, we need not reach the issue of voluntary

abandonment; the alternative bases in each order support the commission's decision and

relator has failed to challenge those conclusions.

{¶ 7} Upon review of the magistrate's decision, an independent review of the

record, and due consideration of relator's objections, we find the magistrate has properly

determined the pertinent facts. Moreover, we find that each order that relator seeks to

have vacated contained an alternative basis for the commission's decision, and that

relator has failed to challenge the alternative bases contained in those orders. Therefore,

relator is not entitled to a writ of mandamus and we overrule relator's objections to the

magistrate's decision. We adopt the magistrate's findings of fact as our own; because we

need not reach the issue of voluntary abandonment of the workforce, we do not adopt the

magistrate's conclusions of law. Accordingly, the requested writ of mandamus is hereby

denied.

Objections overruled;

writ of mandamus denied.

TYACK, P.J., and LUPER SCHUSTER, J., concur.

No. 16AP-263 4

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

The State ex rel. James R. Reichley, :

Relator, :

v. : No. 16AP-263

Industrial Commission of Ohio : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

and

Cooper Tire & Rubber, Co., :

Respondents. :

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

NUNC PRO TUNC1

Rendered on December 30, 2016

Law Offices of Thomas Tootle, and Thomas Tootle, for

relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Shaun Omen, for

respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

Eastman & Smith Ltd., Richard L. Johnson, and Lindsey K.

Ohlman, for respondent Cooper Tire & Rubber, Co.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 8} In this original action, relator, James R. Reichley, requests a writ of

mandamus ordering respondent, Industrial Commission of Ohio ("commission") to

vacate the February 19, 2013 order of its staff hearing officer ("SHO") that denied his first

application for permanent total disability ("PTD") compensation based on a finding that

1 This magistrate's decision replaces, nunc pro tunc, the original magistrate's decision released December 29,

2016, and is effective as of that date. This magistrate's decision deletes the word "leaving" and replaces it

with the words "returning to" in the first paragraph at page eight of the original magistrate's decision.

No. 16AP-263 5

relator voluntarily abandoned the workforce, and to enter an order that eliminates the

finding that relator voluntarily abandoned the workforce.

{¶ 9} Furthermore, relator requests that the writ order the commission to vacate

the January 27, 2016 order of its SHO that denies his second application for PTD

compensation based on a finding that he voluntarily abandoned the workforce, and to

enter an order that eliminates the finding that he voluntarily abandoned the workforce

and adjudicates the merits of the PTD application.

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 10} 1. On March 4, 1988, relator was severely injured while employed as a

"Mobile Equipment Servicer" for respondent Cooper Tire & Rubber, Co. ("Cooper Tire"), a

self-insured employer under Ohio's workers' compensation laws. On that date, while

working on tread tray wheels, the tread tray rolled over onto relator's body pinning him to

the floor.

{¶ 11} 2. The industrial claim (No. 968146-22) was initially allowed for:

Burst fracture L3 with incomplete paraplegia; compound

fracture right tibia and fibula; fracture of right calcaneus;

laceration left forehead; ulcer of heel and midfoot; claw foot,

acquired; left wrist scaphoid contusion.

{¶ 12} 3. Following some recovery from the injury, relator was able to ambulate

with the use of bilateral leg braces and forearm crutches.

{¶ 13} 4. In June 1989, relator returned to work as a supervisor at Cooper Tire.

He maintained his employment as a supervisor until he left his employment with Cooper

Tire on October 30, 2011.

{¶ 14} 5. Relator applied for social security disability benefits. He began receiving

the benefits in April 2012.

{¶ 15} 6. On March 29, 2012, attending physician Stephen J. Freshwater, M.D.,

wrote:

James Reichley had a work related burst fracture of L3 in

March 1988 which resulted in severe cauda equina

compression and paraplegia. He has had increased pain in

his buttocks and legs beginning in August last year. Narcotic

pain medications were not effective for controlling his pain.

He had a CT of the lumbar spine in September 2011 showing

diffuse circumferential and internal dense calcifications of

No. 16AP-263 6

the thecal sac between L3 and S2. His films were evaluated

by Jason Schroeder, M.D. who did not believe there was any

surgical procedure that could begin to help the changes

present. He has been seeing Thomas Kindl, M.D. at Midwest

Pain Treatment Center. He's had several different injections

which have not made much difference with his pain. He is

worse if he has to stand for more than a few minutes at a

time, walk more that 50 feet, or sit for a prolonged period of

time. Given this progression of his problem, I do not believe

that he can return to work at Cooper Tire in his former

capacity or in any available job with his current limitations. I

believe that he qualifies for a total permanent disability.

{¶ 16} 7. On May 10, 2012, Thomas Kindl, M.D., relator's pain management

physician, wrote:

[T]o a reasonable degree of medical certainty, I do not

believe that Mr. Reichley is a candidate to return to work at

his former employer in any reasonable capacity, given his

functional and medical limitations. I believe that his

condition is unlikely to change over the following 12-month

period of thereafter. I believe he therefore qualifies for total

permanent disability.

{¶ 17} 8. On August 14, 2012, relator filed his first PTD application. In support,

relator submitted the March 29, 2012 report from Dr. Freshwater.

{¶ 18} 9. On the PTD application, relator indicated that he was currently receiving

social security disability benefits which started in April 2012.

{¶ 19} 10. On October 3, 2012, at the request of Cooper Tire, relator was examined

by neurologist Gerald S. Steiman, M.D. In his five-page narrative report dated October 7,

2012, Dr. Steiman opined:

Mr. Reichley's history, medical record review, and physical

exam provide credible evidence he is now at the point where

he is unable to perform his prior job activity without

restrictions. Clearly, he is able to return to a sedentary job

activity but I do not believe he would be able to perform

three hours of walking and two hours of standing. A job

activity should be one in which he sits most of the day with

intermittent and occasional standing and short distance

walking. For longer distances a cart would be necessary.

No. 16AP-263 7

{¶ 20} 11. On November 6, 2012, at the commission's request, relator was

examined by Donato J. Borrillo, M.D. In his seven-page narrative report dated

November 8, 2012, Dr. Borrillo opined:

Mr. Reichley is extremely motivated and admirably

ambitious, having returned to work after a significant

traumatic injury and having retired in 2011.

Notwithstanding his retirement from the workforce, Mr.

Reichley is capable of sedentary duty. His lumbar condition

prevents [him] from lifting greater than this amount, and he

requires ADA access for his Loftstrand crutch use and AFO

use. Furthermore, because of his back injury and incomplete

paraplegia, he is unable to bend, crawl, climb, walk on

uneven surfaces, or kneel safely. He requires a sit or stand

option.

{¶ 21} On a form captioned "Physical Strength Rating," Dr. Borrillo indicated by

his mark that relator is capable of "sedentary work."

{¶ 22} Under "[f]urther limitations," in the space provided, Dr. Borrillo wrote in

his own hand: "ADA access [with] crutch use."

{¶ 23} 12. At the request of Cooper Tire, Al Walker, a certified vocational

evaluation specialist, prepared a document captioned "Vocational Assessment and

Transferrable Skills Analysis Report."

{¶ 24} In his 16-page report dated January 14, 2013, Walker concluded:

In summary, Mr. Reichley's demonstrated work history and

his projected physical limitations, directly related to his

allowed conditions of his workers' compensation claims, do

allow for selective job placement. His work history has been

skilled demonstrating his ability to learn and function

adequately at higher levels of vocational competency. It is

important to understand that this vocational evaluation can

only show if an individual has sufficient residual physical

and mental capacities to meet the demands of particular

jobs. It is not possible to factor in motivation or the

willingness of an individual to do what is necessary to

overcome the barriers they face. Dr. Borrillo and Dr. Steiman

both state that Mr. Reichley is capable of full time physical

work activity. No psychological limitations were identified.

Taking into consideration the medical examinations,

transferable skills analysis and labor market analysis there

are numerous jobs for which Mr. Reichley has demonstrated

No. 16AP-263 8

the aptitudes and abilities, general educational development

and physical capabilities to perform.

{¶ 25} 13. On February 19, 2013, an SHO heard relator's first PTD application.

The hearing was recorded and transcribed for the record.

{¶ 26} 14. At the hearing, the following exchange occurred between the hearing

officer and relator:

Q. There is no doubt it was a significant injury; after the

injury you were able to go back to work and did work for a

number of years?

A. I did.

Q. With Cooper, and you quit or left work what year?

A. Well, I --

Q. Left the work force entirely?

A. For the entirety, 2011.

Q. 2011, okay.

A. And the beginning of November of 2011 from severe back

pain, and so I was off going to pain management. He gave me

some injections, and then it seemed like I had to get more

injections into the back trying to solve that problem. My leg

pain had worsened.

Q. And that was Dr. Kindl?

A. Dr. Kindl. I was to the point of not being able to sleep. It

used to be I could go to sleep and it wouldn't bother me, and

now it wakes me up.

Q. Okay. You got social security disability?

A. Yes.

(Tr. at 4-5.)

{¶ 27} 15. At the hearing, the following exchange occurred between counsel for

Cooper Tire and relator:

Q. Let me ask you, would you be willing to do vocational

retraining?

No. 16AP-263 9

A. If he thinks, yeah, I guess, I could, but I guess I don't

know whether that's going to gain anything, because by the

time you go to vocational instructions or whatever, if they

send you to college, aren't we talking two to four years, and

by that time I am going to be 57, 58 years old, just about into

the social security retirement.

Q. But your response is that you would be willing to do

vocational restraining [sic]?

A. If that is what it takes, I guess, but I think with my age

and the distance, I am not so sure, I am kind of on the fence,

yes and no. I don't know whether I would benefit from it, and

I feel like by going to school or going to do anything like that,

you are not going to get much more years out of me. And

you're right about retirement, yes, I have made up my mind

to retire, and also made up my mind years ago that I was

going to start collecting social security at 62 and not wait

until 70, because my dad died at 70 and I decided I was not

going to do that. So by being on the fence of what you are

saying, I am not sure whether it would be a good thing or a

bad thing.

(Tr. at 30.)

{¶ 28} 16. Following the February 19, 2013 hearing, the SHO issued an order

denying the PTD application. The SHO's order provides alternative bases for denial of the

PTD application: (1) that relator voluntarily abandoned the workforce and is thus

ineligible for PTD compensation, and (2) that relator retains the ability to perform

sustained remunerative employment. The SHO's order of February 19, 2013 explains:

There is a single claim in this application for permanent and

total disability benefits. The injury occurred on 03/04/1988,

at that time, the Injured Worker was employed as a mobile

equipment servicer with the Employer of Record. At that

time he was working on tread tray wheels and the tread tray

rolled over the Injured Worker pinning him to the floor. He

suffered a burst fracture at L3 with incomplete paraplegia. A

compound fracture of the right tibia and fibula. A fracture of

the right calcaneus. And a laceration of the left forehead. All

of these conditions were certified by the Employer at the

time of the original injury. Later, the Self-Insuring Employer

certified ulcer of the heel and midfoot; claw foot, acquired

and left wrist scaphoid contusion.

No. 16AP-263 10

In spite of the significant injury, the Injured Worker was able

to return to work with the Employer of Record in a different

position, as a supervisor in June of 1989. He continued to

work with the Employer of Record in this position until he

left work on 10/30/2011. At that time, he took disability

retirement.

Related to the allowed physical conditions within this claim,

the Injured Worker was evaluated by an Industrial

Commission Specialist, Donato Borrillo, M.D. Dr. Borrillo

examined the Injured Worker on 11/06/2012, and in a report

of 11/08/2012 Dr. Borrillo opined that Mr. Reichley is

capable of working at sedentary duty. Dr. Borrillo also

opined that the allowed conditions were at maximum

medical improvement.

The Injured Worker was also evaluated by a physician of the

Employer's choice. On 10/07/2012 Gerald Steiman, M.D.,

evaluated the Injured Worker on behalf of the Employer. Dr.

Steiman offered no significant opinion regarding maximum

medical improvement for the allowed physical conditions.

However, Dr. Steiman did opine that Mr. Reichley is capable

of performing sedentary work duties but would be unable to

return to his position of employment as a supervisor, that he

has been performing for the last twenty-three years,

secondary to the need to stand for two hours and walk for

three hours as part of the job duties.

This Staff Hearing Officer finds Dr. Borrillo to be persuasive

that the Injured Worker is, in fact, [at] maximum medical

improvement for the allowed physical conditions within this

claim.

Further, this Staff Hearing Officer finds the reports of Drs.

Borrillo and Steiman to be persuasive that the residual

impairments secondary to the allowed conditions within this

claim prevent Mr. Reichley from returning to his prior

position of employment and from returning to work at his

secondary position of employment as a supervisor. The

reports of Drs. Borrillo and Steiman are found to be

persuasive that the residual actions limit Mr. Reichley to a

sedentary work position limiting him to exerting up to ten

pounds of force occasionally and negligible amounts of force

frequently. The physicians are found persuasive that Mr.

Reichley would be capable of sedentary work which involves

sitting most of the time but may involve walking or standing

for brief periods of time.

No. 16AP-263 11

This Staff Hearing Officer finds that Mr. Reichley does retain

the physical capacity for sedentary work.

The issue of Mr. Reichley's retirement was raised.

***

Mr. Reichley's retirement was, at least in part, disability

related. He was able to obtain Social Security Disability

Benefits. However, at hearing Mr. Reichley did testify that he

was planning on retiring at age sixty-two. He went on to

indicate he had no interest in returning to the workforce and

when question[ed] about vocational rehabilitation he was

equivocal as he was not planning on working past age sixty-

two.

Mr. Reichley is currently fifty-five years of age and was fifty-

four at the time he left the workforce. His age at worst, is a

neutral factor. In fact, it could be viewed as a positive factor

as he could, potentially, spend ten years, or more, in the

workforce should he choose. Mr. Reichley can read, write

and do basic math. He has a High School diploma. As such,

he has the basic tools for entering the workforce at an entry

level. Further, he has a long work history with the Employer

of Record which is a positive factor, as Employer's value

long-term Employees. He also has supervisory skills which

are a positive factor. A vocational rehabilitation evaluation

was performed by Al Walker, M.S. CVE-R, ABVE/AE on

01/15/2013. Mr. Walker, based upon the reports of Drs.

Borrillo and Steiman, indicated with a transferable skills

analysis and a labor market analysis there were numerous

jobs Mr. Reichley was potentially able to perform.

Specifically, Mr. Walker listed at least thirty jobs in the

sedentary work category ranging from skilled, to semi

skilled, to unskilled for which Mr. Reichley is qualified to

perform at the entry level.

Mr. Reichley left his prior position of employment based

upon allowed condition impairments. This finding is

supported by the Employer examination performed by Dr.

Steiman. However, the testimony of Mr. Reichley gives rise

to the question of whether Mr. Reichley chose to not return

to the workforce at a different level of employment.

***

No. 16AP-263 12

This Staff Hearing Officer finds the testimony of Mr.

Reichley clearly indicated that he left the workforce in 2011

without any intent to return to the workforce in a lesser,

sedentary capacity. This Staff Hearing Officer finds Mr.

Reichley abandoned the workforce and not merely the

previous job.

This Staff Hearing Officer finds that Mr. Reichley has the

basic tools and knowledge set for a return to work at entry

level sedentary work at a clerical level.

This Staff Hearing Officer finds no vocational preclusion to

re-training or skills enhancement to increase Mr. Reichley's

vocational potential. The Ohio Courts have indicated that the

Industrial Commission may consider a failure of the Injured

Worker to undertake rehabilitation or training that would

permit a return to work. The relevant vocational inquiry is

"whether the claimant may return to the job market by using

past employment skills or those skills which may be

reasonably developed." State ex rel. Speelman v. Industrial

Comm., (1992) 73 Ohio App.3d 757, 762. In State ex rel.

Bowling v. National Can Corp. (1996), 77 Ohio St.3d 148, the

Ohio Supreme Court indicated that an injured worker must

be held to a standard of accountability to both the Industrial

Commission and the courts, when despite the opportunity

for further education or advancement of skills, the Injured

Worker has not done so. Mr. Reichley, when he found he

could no longer perform his supervisory position, retired and

did not pursue further educational or skills enhancement.

This Staff Hearing Officer finds pursuant to the Ohio

Supreme Court case law, particularly within State ex rel.

Wilson v. Indus. Comm. (1997), 80 Ohio St.3d 250,

permanent total disability compensation is compensation of

last resort, to be awarded only when all reasonable avenues

of accomplishing a return to sustained remunerative

employment have failed. Thus it is not unreasonable to

expect an Injured Worker to participate in return to work

efforts to the best of his or her ability, or to take the initiative

to improve re-employment potential.

For the above reasons, the application for permanent and

total disability filed 08/14/2012 is denied.

{¶ 29} 17. On April 12, 2013, the three-member commission mailed an order

denying relator's request for reconsideration.

No. 16AP-263 13

{¶ 30} 18. On December 7, 2014, Dr. Freshwater wrote:

James Reichley had an industrial accident in March 1988

involving a burst fracture of L3 which resulted in severe

cauda equina compression and paraplegia. Due to increasing

pain beginning about August 2011, total permanent disability

was recommended. * * *

Due to continued pressure from his employer and a sense of

despair/worthlessness related to not working, Mr. Reichley

consented to return to a clerical job with his employer in

October 2014. He states that his job duties were primarily

sitting at a desk and performing data entry. Within two

weeks, he discovered that he could not tolerated [sic] the

pain across his low back radiating into his legs which was

worsened by sitting even for short periods of time. He notes

that he cannot walk very far because of back pain nor can he

stand for any length of time due to back pain and the leg

braces. Since the two-week trial, he has not worked.

There is no amount of pain medication, therapy, or surgery

which will alleviate his pain and allow him to do a sitting,

standing or walking job. As stated previously, it is my

opinion that he is totally and permanently disabled.

{¶ 31} 19. On December 9, 2014, Dr. Kindl wrote:

Mr. James Reichley has been evaluated and treated by the

undersigned pursuant to back and leg condition. As you

recall, he suffered an L3 burst fracture with resultant

paraplegia.

Despite near complete loss of leg use he has remained active

with respect to remunerative labor. His physical limitations

have precipitated the need for the use of bilateral one point

[walking] devices to maintain [mobility].

The protracted use of the bilateral one point walking devices

has precipitated compensatory shoulder discomfort which is

likely a sequela of the repetitive misuse accelerating

degenerative change as a result of carrying near total body

weight on the upper extremities. The likelihood of osseous

and soft tissue derangement is high.

In summary, Mr. Reichley presents with near complete

paralysis of his legs after an L3 burst fracture. He has been

reliant on upper extremity weight bearing for years which

No. 16AP-263 14

has caused progressive shoulder deterioration. He is no

longer able to support his body weight on two canes.

I therefore indicate that to a reasonable degree of medical

certainty Mr. Reichley does present with substantial physical

barriers to performing remunerative labor. This condition is

permanent to a greater than 50% degree of certainty.

Improvement is not expected.

{¶ 32} 20. On December 23, 2014, relator filed his second PTD application. In

support, relator submitted the December 7, 2014 report of Dr. Freshwater and the

December 9, 2014 report of Dr. Kindl.

{¶ 33} 21. Also, relator submitted wage statements from R & R Chinchilla, Inc.

showing that he was employed from September 28, 2014 through October 25, 2014.

{¶ 34} Relator was paid biweekly at $10 per hour. During the first biweekly period,

relator worked 40 hours and received gross pay of $400. During the second biweekly

period, relator worked 35 hours and received gross pay of $350.

Additional Claim Allowances

{¶ 35} 22. Earlier, on May 10, 2013, relator moved for additional allowances in the

claim.

{¶ 36} 23. Following a July 26, 2013 hearing, a district hearing officer ("DHO")

issued an order additionally allowing the claim for "bilateral supraspinatus tendon tear;

bilateral shoulder impingement syndrome."

{¶ 37} 24. Cooper Tire administratively appealed the DHO's order of July 26,

2013.

{¶ 38} 25. Following a September 6, 2013 hearing, an SHO issued an order

additionally allowing the claim for "bilateral supraspinatus tendon tear; bilateral shoulder

impingement syndrome."

{¶ 39} 26. On October 4, 2013, another SHO mailed an order refusing the

employer's appeal from the SHO's order of September 6, 2013.

{¶ 40} 27. On January 5, 2015, relator moved for an additional claim

allowance─"bicipital tenosynovitis left."

{¶ 41} 28. On January 9, 2015, an SHO issued an "Ex Parte Order," stating:

Injured Worker's IC-2 Application for Permanent Total

Disability, filed 12/23/2014, is continued because the

No. 16AP-263 15

Injured Worker's C-86 motion requesting an additional

allowance, filed 01/05/2015 and received 12/22/2014 by

Self-Insured Employer, must be processed prior to

consideration of the Injured Worker's IC-2, pursuant to Ohio

Adm.Code 4121-3-34.

The Injured Worker's C-86 motion requesting an additional

allowance, filed 01/05/2015, is referred for processing.

Thereafter, the IC-2 should be referred to the Industrial

Commission for adjudication.

{¶ 42} 29. Following a February 17, 2015 hearing, a DHO issued an order

additionally allowing the claim for "bicipital tenosynovitis, left."

{¶ 43} 30. The employer administratively appealed the DHO's order of

February 17, 2015.

{¶ 44} 31. Following a May 11, 2015 hearing, an SHO issued an order stating that

the DHO's order of February 17, 2015 is "modified." However, the May 11, 2015 order of

the SHO additionally allowed the claim for "bicipital tenosynovitis left."

{¶ 45} 32. On June 10, 2015, another SHO mailed an order refusing the

employer's appeal from the SHO's order of May 11, 2015.

{¶ 46} 33. Earlier, on December 3, 2014, relator underwent left shoulder surgery

that was performed by orthopaedic surgeon Michael R. Tremains, M.D.

{¶ 47} Dr. Tremains performed an arthroscopic rotator cuff repair, a subacromial

decompression, an arthroscopic Mumford procedure, and a biceps tenotomy.

{¶ 48} 34. On February 4, 2015, at the request of Cooper Tire, relator was

examined by Douglas C. Gula, D.O. Dr. Gula examined only for the allowed conditions

related to the left shoulder.

{¶ 49} 35. On August 10, 2015, Dr. Gula issued an addendum to his February 4,

2015 report. In his addendum, Dr. Gula opined:

In my medical opinion, Mr. Reichley is capable of

performing work in the sedentary category when considering

my examination of the left shoulder that was performed on

February 4, 2015.

{¶ 50} 36. On August 26, 2015, at the commission's request, relator was examined

by Kurt A. Kuhlman, D.O. In his five-page narrative report, Dr. Kuhlman listed the

allowed conditions of the claim:

No. 16AP-263 16

Burst fracture L3 with incomplete paraplegia; compound

fracture right tibia and fibula; fracture of right calcaneus;

laceration left forehead; ulcer of heel and midfoot; claw foot,

acquired; left wrist scaphoid contusion; bilateral

supraspinatus tendon tear; bilateral shoulder impingement

syndrome; bicipital tenosynovitis, left.

{¶ 51} Page five of Dr. Kuhlman's report states:

ANSWER TO QUESTIONS: After performing a thorough

history and physical examination, as well as review of

multiple medical records, I can answer the following

questions with a reasonable degree of medical certainty and

probability.

[One] Has the Injured worker reached maximum medical

improvement with regard to each specified allowed

condition? Briefly describe the rationale for your opinion. If

yes, then please continue to items #2 and #3.

a. Regarding burst fracture L3 with incomplete

paraplegia, compound fracture right tibia and

fibula, fracture right calcaneus, laceration left

forehead, ulceration of heel and midfoot, clawfoot

acquired, left wrist scaphoid contusion, left

supraspinatus tendon tear, left shoulder

impingement syndrome, bicipital tenosynovitis left,

the patient has reached maximum medical improvement. He

has underwent extensive work up and treatment including

multiple surgeries. His symptoms are not changing

significantly at this time with respect to these allowed

conditions. Therefore, he has reached maximum medical

improvement.

b. Regarding right supraspinatus tendon tear, right

shoulder impingement syndrome, he has not reached

maximum medical improvement. This is because he is

scheduled for surgery on the right shoulder in November

2015. After his left shoulder surgery in December 2014, he

did make definite improvement. Therefore, I am optimistic

his right shoulder will improve after surgery as well.

Therefore, he has not reached maximum medical

improvement with respect to these allowed conditions.

[Two] Based on the AMA Guides, 5th Edition, and with

reference to the Industrial Commission Medical

Examination Manual, provide the estimated percentage of

No. 16AP-263 17

whole person impairment arising from each allowed

condition. Please list each condition and whole person

impairment separately, and then provide a combined whole

person impairment. If there is no impairment for an

allowed condition, indicate 0 percent. Following the

Industrial Commission guidelines, I was instructed not to

answer this question because he has not reached maximum

medical improvement for all of the allowed conditions of this

claim. I would consider reevaluating this claim six months

after his scheduled right shoulder surgery in November 2015

as he will probably be maximally medically improved at that

time.

[Three] Complete the enclosed physical strength rating. In

your narrative report provide a discussion setting forth

physical limitations resulting from the allowed conditions.

Following the Industrial Commission guidelines, I was

instructed not to answer this question because he has not

reached maximum medical improvement for all of the

allowed conditions of this claim.

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 52} 37. On December 9, 2015, relator underwent right shoulder surgery

performed by Dr. Tremains. Dr. Tremains performed a right shoulder arthroscopic

rotator cuff repair, an arthroscopic subacromial decompression, an arthroscopic

Mumford procedure, and an arthroscopic biceps tenotomy.

{¶ 53} 38. On January 27, 2016, relator's second PTD application was heard by an

SHO. The hearing was recorded and transcribed for the record. On February 10, 2016,

the SHO mailed an order denying relator's second PTD application. The SHO's order of

January 27, 2016 explains:

First and foremost, this Hearing Officer finds the Injured

Worker voluntarily abandoned the entire job market. This

Hearing Officer finds the Injured Worker filed a prior

08/14/2012 application for permanent total disability which

was addressed by a Staff Hearing Officer order issued

02/27/2013. The Staff Hearing Officer found the Injured

Worker to have voluntarily removed himself from the work

force. It was found that the Injured Worker had worked for

the Employer of record, as a supervisor, until he left his

employment on 10/30/2011, at which time, he took disability

retirement. The testimony of the Injured Worker was

memorialized by the prior Staff Hearing Officer order

No. 16AP-263 18

indicating the Injured Worker testified that he was planning

on retiring at the age of 62, had no interest in returning to

the work force, and when he was questioned about

vocational rehabilitation he was equivocal as he was not

planning on working past the age of 62. This Hearing Officer

finds it notable that the Injured Worker's current application

for permanent total disability, filed 12/23/2014, indicates he

is not interested in rehabilitation services and does not

desire to undergo a rehabilitation evaluation. From the

Injured Worker's testimony and application for permanent

temporary disability, this Hearing Officer finds the Injured

Worker worked two weeks, doing data entry, for a business

named R & R Chinchilla during the period 10/06/2014 to

10/21/2014. He testified that he left this employment due to

having a progression of low back pain with neurological pain

radiating to his hips and legs. However, this Hearing Officer

finds the claim file does not contain any contemporaneous

medical documentation indicating Injured Worker was

removed from and/or disabled from doing this work.

This Hearing Officer finds the Injured Worker's two week

return to employment in October of 2014 did not cure his

voluntary abandonment of the work force so as to establish

his eligibility for temporary total disability compensation or

permanent total disability compensation. The Supreme

Court of Ohio in State ex rel. McCoy v. Dedicated Transport,

Inc., 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002-Ohio-5305 held that an Injured

Worker who abandons his or her former position of

employment will be eligible to receive temporary total

disability compensation if he or she re-enters the work force

and, due to the original industrial injury, becomes

temporarily and totally disabled while working at his or her

new job. This Hearing Officer finds no evidence that the

Injured Worker became temporarily and totally disabled

while working for R & R Chinchilla in October of 2014,

including any request for payment of temporary total

disability compensation contemporaneous to leaving this

position. Thus, this hearing Officer finds the Injured Worker

did not cure his voluntary abandonment so as to establish his

eligibility for permanent total disability should he be found

to be permanently and totally disabled subsequent to

October of 2014.

In addition, the Injured Worker's application for permanent

total disability is denied for the reason that this Hearing

Officer does not find the Injured Worker to have reached

maximum medical improvement for all of the allowed

No. 16AP-263 19

conditions in this claim. This Hearing Officer finds in

support of the Injured Worker's application for permanent

total disability, the Injured Worker submitted a 12/09/2014

report of Franklin Kindl, M.D. wherein he opined the Injured

Worker to present with near complete paralysis of his legs

after an L3 burst fracture for which he is relying on upper

extremity weight bearing for years which has caused

progressive shoulder deterioration. He indicated the Injured

Worker is no longer able to support his body weight onto

canes. He opined the Injured Worker to have substantial

physical barriers to performing remunerative labor and his

condition is permanent. This Hearing Officer finds the

Injured Worker recently had right shoulder arthroscopic

rotator cuff repair with subacromial decompression,

Mumford procedure, biceps tenotomy and debridement of

the subscapularis and labral rim. At hearing, the Injured

Worker acknowledged that once he healed up from his

shoulder surgeries, the goal was for him to be able to use

crutches again.

On 08/26/2015, an independent medical examination was

conducted on behalf of the Industrial Commission by Kurt

Kuhlman, D.O. He acknowledged that the Injured Worker

was scheduled for right shoulder surgery, believed to be in

November of 2015. Dr. Kuhlman indicated that he was

optimistic that the Injured Worker's right shoulder would

improve after surgery as well. Dr. Kuhlman concluded that

the Injured Worker had not reached maximum medical

improvement with respect to his right supraspinatus tendon

tear and right shoulder impingement syndrome. This

Hearing Officer finds no medical evidence that the Injured

Worker has reached maximum medical improvement for the

allowed right shoulder conditions. Lastly, this Hearing

Officer does not find a persuasive opinion from any

physician supporting the Injured Worker to be permanently

and totally disabled as a result of any of the recognized

physical conditions which do not pertain to the right

shoulder.

Based on the aforementioned findings, this Hearing Officer

does not find sufficient medical evidence that the Injured

Worker is permanently and totally disabled, and if the

medical evidence had established that the Injured Worker

was permanently and totally disabled, this Hearing Officer

does not find the Injured Worker eligible for permanent total

disability benefits based on the finding that he has

voluntarily abandoned the work force. Therefore, the Injured

No. 16AP-263 20

Worker's application for permanent total disability, filed

12/23/2014, is denied.

{¶ 54} 39. On April 7, 2016, relator, James R. Reichley, filed this mandamus

action.

Conclusions of Law:

{¶ 55} Two issues are presented: (1) whether the SHO's order of February 19, 2013

contains an abuse of discretion in finding that relator voluntarily abandoned the

workforce at the time he left work at Cooper Tire on October 30, 2011; and (2) whether

the finding of workforce abandonment in the SHO's order of January 27, 2016 constitutes

an abuse of discretion by failing to find that relator re-established PTD eligibility by

working at R & R Chinchilla, Inc. for a four-week period during September and October

2014.

Basic Law─PTD─Workforce Abandonment

{¶ 56} Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34 provides the commission's rules for the

adjudication of PTD applications.

{¶ 57} Thereunder, Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(D) provides guidelines for the

adjudication of PTD applications.

{¶ 58} Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(D)(1) (d) currently provides:

If, after hearing, the adjudicator finds that the injured

worker voluntarily removed himself or herself from the work

force, the injured worker shall be found not to be

permanently and totally disabled. If evidence of voluntary

removal or retirement is brought into issue, the adjudicator

shall consider evidence that is submitted of the injured

worker's medical condition at or near the time of

removal/retirement.

{¶ 59} Paragraphs two and three of the syllabus of State ex rel. Baker Material

Handling Corp. v. Indus. Comm., 69 Ohio St.3d 202 (1994) state:

An employee who retires prior to becoming permanently and

totally disabled is precluded from eligibility for permanent

total disability compensation only if the retirement is

voluntary and constitutes an abandonment of the entire job

market. * * *

An employee who retires subsequent to becoming

permanently and totally disabled is not precluded from

No. 16AP-263 21

eligibility for permanent total disability compensation

regardless of the nature or extent of the retirement.

{¶ 60} Two cases involving PTD are instructive.

{¶ 61} In State ex rel. Black v. Indus. Comm., 137 Ohio St.3d 75, 2013-Ohio-4550,

the claimant, Billy G. Black, applied for PTD compensation following an industrial injury.

The commission's denial of PTD compensation prompted Black to file a mandamus action

in this court. Ultimately, on appeal, the Supreme Court of Ohio upheld the commission's

denial of the application.

{¶ 62} Black was employed as a press operator for Park Ohio, a self-insured

employer, when he injured his lower back on October 7, 2000. Dr. Elizabeth Mease

diagnosed lumbar strain and placed Black on modified duty with restrictions. When he

returned to work two days later, he was assigned to clean bathrooms. After a few hours,

he returned to Dr. Mease who indicated that Black should not engage in any activity.

{¶ 63} On November 10, 2000, Dr. Mease authorized Black to return to work with

restrictions and referred him to Dr. Mark Panigutti, an orthopedic physician.

{¶ 64} On December 11, 2000, Dr. Panigutti authorized Black to return to work on

December 13, 2000 with weight and standing restrictions for one month, and after one

month, to return to full duty.

{¶ 65} Also, on December 11, 2000, Black notified his employer that he intended to

retire on February 28, 2001.

{¶ 66} Black returned to work on modified duty on December 13, 2000. On

January 22, 2001, Black saw Dr. Panigutti for back pain and a possible hernia. Dr.

Panigutti increased Black's weight restrictions based in part on complaints of pain

unrelated to his back injury.

{¶ 67} The court, in Black, states:

Black worked until February 9, 2001. He retired on

February 28, 2001, at the age of 55 with 38 years of service.

At no time following his retirement did Black pursue

vocational training or seek other employment. In September

2001, he began receiving Social Security disability benefits.

The record does not contain an explanation of the reasons

for granting these benefits, but Black testified in 2009 that

they may have included, in part, his lack of education and

medical conditions not related to his industrial injury.

No. 16AP-263 22

On August 14, 2009, Black applied for permanent-total-

disability compensation. Following a hearing on July 1, 2010,

a hearing officer denied his application. The hearing officer

noted that there was no medical evidence that any physician

had advised Black to retire because of his previously allowed

injuries and that Black had not worked or looked for work

since his retirement on February 28, 2001. Thus, the hearing

officer concluded that Black's retirement was both voluntary

and an abandonment of the entire workforce, making him

ineligible for subsequent permanent-total-disability

compensation.

Id. at ¶ 7-8.

{¶ 68} In its opinion, the court, in Black, sets forth basic law instructive on the

issue before the court:

A claimant's eligibility for permanent-total-disability

compensation may be affected if the claimant has voluntarily

retired or abandoned the job market for reasons not related

to the industrial injury. State ex rel. McAtee v. Indus.

Comm., 76 Ohio St.3d 648, 1996 Ohio 297, 670 N.E.2d 234

(1996); State ex rel. Rockwell Internal. v. Indus. Comm., 40

Ohio St.3d 44, 531 N.E.2d 678 (1988). Thus, the character of

the employee's retirement—whether voluntary or

involuntary—is critical to the commission's analysis of a

claimant's right to permanent-total-disability compensation.

State ex rel. Cinergy Corp./Duke Energy v. Heber, 130 Ohio

St.3d 194, 2011-Ohio-5027, 957 N.E.2d 1, ¶ 5.

***

Whether a claimant has voluntarily retired or has abandoned

the workforce is a question of fact for the commission to

determine. State ex rel. Pierron v. Indus. Comm., 120 Ohio

St.3d 40, 2008-Ohio-5245, 896 N.E.2d 140, ¶ 10. This court

has described the question of abandonment as "'primarily

* * * [one] of intent * * * [that] may be inferred from words

spoken, acts done, and other objective facts.'" State ex rel.

Diversitech Gen. Plastic Film Div. v. Indus. Comm., 45 Ohio

St.3d 381, 383, 544 N.E.2d 677 (1989), quoting State v.

Freeman, 64 Ohio St.2d 291, 297, 414 N.E.2d 1044 (1980).

Accordingly, the commission must consider all relevant

circumstances, including evidence of the claimant's medical

condition at or near the time of departure from the

workforce, if submitted, and any other evidence that would

No. 16AP-263 23

substantiate a connection between the injury and retirement.

Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(D)(1)(d); Cinergy Corp., 130

Ohio St.3d 194, 2011-Ohio-5027, 957 N.E.2d 1, ¶ 7.

The commission is exclusively responsible for evaluating the

weight and credibility of the evidence. State ex rel. Burley v.

Coil Packing, Inc., 31 Ohio St.3d 18, 20-21, 31 Ohio B. 70,

508 N.E.2d 936 (1987). If the commission's order is

supported by some evidence in the record, then the

commission has not abused its discretion and mandamus is

not appropriate. Id. at 21.

Id. at ¶ 14, 18-19.

{¶ 69} The court, in Black, concluded:

Because the record contained some evidence to support the

commission's decision that Black's retirement was voluntary

and not injury-induced, we hold that the commission did not

abuse its discretion when it determined that Black was

ineligible for permanent total-disability compensation.

Consequently, we reverse the judgment of the court of

appeals and deny the writ.

Id. at ¶ 23.

{¶ 70} In State ex rel. Kelsey Hayes Co. v. Grashel, 138 Ohio St.3d 297, 2013-

Ohio-4959, the claimant, Arthur Grashel applied for and obtained PTD compensation.

Grashel's employer, Kelsey Hayes Company, filed an original action in this court in which

it contended that Grashel had voluntarily abandoned the workforce and was thus

ineligible for PTD compensation.

{¶ 71} This court granted the writ ordering the commission to rehear the matter

and to consider whether Grashel had voluntarily abandoned the workforce when he

retired in 2004. Id. at ¶ 10.

{¶ 72} Following a September 1, 2009 hearing, a commission SHO again awarded

PTD compensation. Id. at ¶ 11.

{¶ 73} The hearing officer concluded that Grashel had left the workforce due to the

allowed conditions in his claim.

{¶ 74} Kelsey Hayes filed another mandamus in this court. This court denied the

writ and Kelsey Hayes appealed as of right to the Supreme Court of Ohio.

No. 16AP-263 24

{¶ 75} In reversing the judgment of this court and granting the writ, the court, in

Kelsey Hayes explained:

Kelsey Hayes further maintains that not only did Grashel

voluntarily retire in 2004 but he also failed to seek other

employment or vocational training, thereby abandoning the

entire job market and making himself ineligible for

compensation for permanent total disability. State ex rel.

Baker Material Handling Corp, 69 Ohio St.3d 202, 1994

Ohio 437, 631 N.E.2d 138, paragraph two of the syllabus.

We agree that the evidence clearly demonstrates that Grashel

had abandoned the entire job market. After he stopped

working in September 2004, there is no evidence that he

sought other employment. He did not attempt vocational

rehabilitation despite statements from his treating physician

indicating that he could return to work in an environment

away from the fumes that had aggravated his condition. In

October 2005, Grashel testified before the commission that

he had opted to take an early social security retirement for

financial reasons after his claim for temporary-total-

disability compensation was denied in 2005.

Id. at ¶ 18-19.

Basic Law─TTD─Workforce Abandonment

{¶ 76} State ex rel. Pierron v. Indus. Comm., 120 Ohio St.3d 40, 2008-Ohio-5245

is the seminal case regarding denial of TTD eligibility based on voluntary workforce

abandonment where the claimant failed to look for work following an involuntary job

abandonment.

{¶ 77} Because Pierron is at the core of Cooper Tire's position in this action, a

review of that case is instructive.

{¶ 78} In Pierron, the claimant, Richard Pierron, was seriously injured in 1973

while working as a telephone lineman for Sprint/United Telephone Company

("Sprint/United").

{¶ 79} After Pierron's injury, his doctor imposed medical restrictions that were

incompatible with his former position of employment as a lineman. Sprint/United

offered Pierron a light-duty job consistent with those restrictions and Pierron continued

to work in that position for the next 23 years.

No. 16AP-263 25

{¶ 80} In 1997, Sprint/United informed Pierron that his light-duty position was

being eliminated. Sprint/United did not offer Pierron an alternative position, but did give

him the option to retire or be laid off. Pierron chose retirement.

{¶ 81} In the years that followed, Pierron remained unemployed except for a brief

part-time stint as a flower delivery person. In later 2003, he moved for TTD

compensation beginning June 17, 2001.

{¶ 82} Ultimately, the three-member commission determined that Pierron had

voluntarily abandoned the workforce when he retired in 1997. Pierron then filed a

mandamus action in this court. This court denied the writ and Pierron appealed as of

right to the Supreme Court of Ohio.

{¶ 83} In affirming the judgment of this court and, thus, upholding denial of the

writ, the Pierron court explained:

We are confronted with this situation in the case before us.

The commission found that after Pierron's separation from

Sprint/United, his actions—or more accurately inaction—in

the months and years that followed evinced an intent to leave

the work force. This determination was within the

commission's discretion. Abandonment of employment is

largely a question "'of intent * * * [that] may be inferred from

words spoken, acts done, and other objective facts.'" State ex

rel. Diversitech Gen. Plastic Film Div. v. Indus. Comm.

(1989), 45 Ohio St.3d 381, 383, 544 N.E.2d 677, quoting

State v. Freeman (1980), 64 Ohio St.2d 291, 297, 18 O.O.3d

472, 414 N.E.2d 1044. In this case, the lack of evidence of a

search for employment in the years following Pierron's

departure from Sprint/United supports the commission's

decision.

We recognize that Pierron did not initiate his departure from

Sprint/United. We also recognize, however, that there was

no causal relationship between his industrial injury and

either his departure from Sprint/United or his voluntary

decision to no longer be actively employed. When a

departure from the entire work force is not motivated by

injury, we presume it to be a lifestyle choice, and as we stated

in State ex rel. Pepsi—Cola Bottling Co. v. Morse (1995), 72

Ohio St.3d 210, 216, 1995 Ohio 82, 648 N.E.2d 827, workers'

compensation benefits were never intended to subsidize lost

or diminished earnings attributable to lifestyle decisions. In

this case, the injured worker did not choose to leave his

employer in 1997, but once that separation nevertheless

No. 16AP-263 26

occurred, Pierron had a choice: seek other employment or

work no further. Pierron chose the latter. He cannot,

therefore, credibly allege that his lack of income from 2001

and beyond is due to industrial injury. Accordingly, he is

ineligible for temporary total disability compensation.

Id. at ¶ 10-11.

{¶ 84} Here, Cooper Tire relies heavily on State ex rel. Floyd v. Formica Corp., 140

Ohio St.3d 260, 2014-Ohio-3614, a case that relies on Pierron.

{¶ 85} In the Floyd case under "Facts," the Supreme Court of Ohio states:

On March 11, 2000, Darwin Floyd was injured while working

for the Formica Corporation, a self-insured employer. A

workers' compensation claim was allowed for various

shoulder conditions. Following surgery on his left shoulder,

he returned to light-duty work in September 2000, until his

light-duty assignment ended on January 21, 2001. At that

time, Formica no longer had any position to accommodate

Floyd's medical restrictions, so he began receiving

temporary-total-disability compensation. Shortly afterward,

Floyd, at age 63, applied for and began receiving Social

Security retirement benefits, effective April 2001.

Floyd's temporary-total-disability compensation continued

until June 21, 2006, when the commission determined that

his condition had reached maximum medical improvement

and terminated his compensation. A year later, he applied for

permanent-total-disability benefits but withdrew his

application. Following additional surgery on July 18, 2008,

Floyd began receiving temporary-total-disability

compensation until the commission concluded that his

condition had again reached maximum medical improvement

on May 26, 2009.

Floyd's current request for temporary-total-disability

compensation followed surgery on November 26, 2010. A

staff hearing officer denied his request, finding that Floyd

was ineligible because he was not in the workforce as of

November 26, 2010. The order stated:

The Staff Hearing Officer notes that in 2001, the Injured

Worker was working for the Employer on a light duty basis

when the Self-Insuring Employer informed the Injured

Worker they no longer had light duty work available for him.

The Staff Hearing Officer finds that the Injured Worker was

placed on temporary total disability and later was found to

No. 16AP-263 27

have reached maximum medical improvement for the

recognized conditions in the claim. The Injured Worker

testified that he had not worked anywhere since he had

stopped working in 2001 when there was no light duty work

available. He applied for and began receiving social security

retirement benefits in May, 2001. Although the Injured

Worker testified at the hearing he would have kept working

for the Employer if light duty work had remained available,

he acknowledged he did not attempt to return to work

anywhere else after 2001.

The hearing officer found that there was no evidence that

Floyd had tried to find any employment since 2001.

According to the hearing officer, who cited State ex rel.

Pierron v. Indus. Comm., 120 Ohio St.3d 40, 2008-Ohio-

5245, Floyd's failure to look for any other employment was

evidence that he did not intend to re-enter the workforce

after leaving Formica, thus making him ineligible for further

compensation. The commission agreed.

Id. at ¶ 4-7.

{¶ 86} In upholding the commission's decision that denied the request for TTD

compensation, the court explained:

An injured worker's eligibility for temporary-total-disability

compensation depends not only on whether the claimant is

unable to perform the duties of the position of employment,

but also on whether the claimant continues to be a part of the

active workforce. Baker at 380. Because temporary-total-

disability compensation is intended to compensate an

injured worker for the loss of earnings while the industrial

injury heals, a claimant who is no longer part of the

workforce can have no lost earnings. Pierron, 120 Ohio St.3d

40, 2008-Ohio-5245, 896 N.E.2d 140, ¶ 9; State ex rel.

Ashcraft v. Industrial Com. of Ohio, 34 Ohio St.3d 42, 43-

44, 517 N.E.2d 533 (1987).

A claimant who voluntarily retires for reasons unrelated to

the industrial injury may no longer be eligible for temporary-

total-disability compensation to which he otherwise might be

entitled if, by retiring, he has voluntarily removed himself

permanently from the workforce. Baker at 383. Moreover, if

the departure is related to the industrial injury, "it is not

necessary for the claimant to first obtain other employment,

but it is necessary that the claimant has not foreclosed that

possibility by abandoning the entire workforce" in order to

No. 16AP-263 28

remain eligible for temporary-total-disability compensation.

State ex rel. Lackey v. Indus. Comm., 129 Ohio St.3d 119,

2011-Ohio-3089, 950 N.E.2d 542, ¶ 11; Baker at 383-384.

Thus, the critical issue for postretirement eligibility for

temporary-total-disability compensation is whether the

injured worker permanently abandoned the entire job

market after retirement. This is a factual question for the

commission that depends primarily on what the claimant

intended. State ex rel. Diversitech General Plastic Film

Div. v. Industrial Com. of Ohio, 45 Ohio St.3d 381, 383, 544

N.E.2d 677 (1989). The commission may infer a claimant's

intent "'"from words spoken, acts done, and other objective

facts."'" Id., quoting State v. Freeman, 64 Ohio St.2d 291,

297, 414 N.E.2d 1044 (1980), quoting United States v.

Colbert, 474 F.2d 174, 176 (5th Cir.1973). The commission

must consider all relevant circumstances existing at the time

of the alleged abandonment, including evidence of the

claimant's intention to abandon the work place as well as

acts by which the intention is put into effect. Id.

Id. at ¶ 14-16.

First Issue

{¶ 87} The first issue is whether the SHO's order of February 19, 2013 contains an

abuse of discretion in finding that relator voluntarily abandoned the workforce at the time

he left work at Cooper Tire on October 30, 2011. Relator contends that the finding is not

supported by some evidence on which the SHO relied. The magistrate disagrees.

{¶ 88} Relator begins his argument by pointing out that the voluntary

abandonment issue was raised sua sponte by the SHO at the February 19, 2013 hearing,

and that the only evidence relied upon was relator's own hearing testimony. Relator

argues:

[W]hen provided with an invitation from the SHO -- through

the use of a leading question -- Reichley declined to affirm

his intent to leave the work force entirely. Instead, he merely

confirmed that he had left the work force for the entirety of

2011. Reichley's accurate testimony─that he left the work

force for the "entirety" of 2011─is "entirely" different than

leaving the workforce permanently as claimed by the SHO.

This testimony fails to act as some evidence to support the

Commission's finding.

(Emphasis sic.) (Relator's Brief at 15.)

No. 16AP-263 29

{¶ 89} In the magistrate's view, relator posits a strained interpretation of the

recorded exchange between the SHO and relator.

{¶ 90} Relator's statement "For the entirety, 2011" can be legitimately viewed as an

affirmative response to the SHO's query "Left the work force entirely?" and that it began

during the year 2011.

{¶ 91} It can be emphasized that the SHO's order of February 19, 2013 finds:

This Staff Hearing Officer finds the testimony of Mr.

Reichley clearly indicated that he left the workforce in 2011

without any intent to return to the workforce in a lesser,

sedentary capacity. This Staff Hearing Officer finds Mr.

Reichley abandoned the workforce and not merely the

previous job.

{¶ 92} The SHO was not required to give relator's hearing testimony the strained

interpretation that relator posits here. Moreover, to the extent that relator's hearing

testimony can be given two legitimate interpretations, it is the commission and its hearing

officers that weigh the evidence. Clearly, relator's testimony, as interpreted by the SHO,

provides some evidence to support the finding of a voluntary workforce abandonment.

{¶ 93} Moreover, relator's hearing testimony, as previously discussed, cannot be

viewed in isolation with his later hearing testimony on February 19, 2013. As earlier

noted, a lengthy exchange occurred between counsel for Cooper Tire and relator. That

exchange began with a question from counsel for Cooper Tire "would you be willing to do

vocational retraining?" The SHO's description of relator's testimony as "equivocal"

accurately describes the testimony. With respect to the question from counsel regarding a

willingness to undergo vocational retraining, relator stated "I am not so sure, I am kind of

on the fence, yes and no." Certainly, relator's response was equivocal.

{¶ 94} Significantly, during the exchange, relator states:

And you're right about retirement, yes, I have made up my

mind to retire, and also made up my mind years ago that I

was going to start collecting social security at 62 and not wait

until 70, because my dad died at 70 and I decided I was not

going to do that.

(Tr. at 30.)

No. 16AP-263 30

{¶ 95} Relator's statement can be divided into two parts. One, that he has made up

his mind to retire, and two, he intends to start collecting social security at age 62.

{¶ 96} The SHO's finding that relator "went on to indicate he had no interest in

returning to the workforce" is supported by relator's transcribed testimony.

{¶ 97} Based on the foregoing analysis, the magistrate concludes that the SHO's

order of February 19, 2013 finding a voluntary abandonment of the workforce is

supported by some evidence and does not constitute an abuse of discretion.

Second Issue

{¶ 98} The second issue is whether the finding of a workforce abandonment in the

SHO's order of January 27, 2016 that denied the second PTD application constitutes an

abuse of discretion. That portion of the SHO's order of January 27, 2016 relevant to this

issue is repeated:

This Hearing Officer finds the Injured Worker's two week

return to employment in October of 2014 did not cure his

voluntary abandonment of the work force so as to establish

his eligibility for temporary total disability compensation or

permanent total disability compensation. The Supreme

Court of Ohio in State ex rel. McCoy v. Dedicated Transport,

Inc., 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002-Ohio-5305 held that an Injured

Worker who abandons his or her former position of

employment will be eligible to receive temporary total

disability compensation if he or she re-enters the work force

and, due to the original industrial injury, becomes

temporarily and totally disabled while working at his or her

new job. This Hearing Officer finds no evidence that the

Injured Worker became temporarily and totally disabled

while working for R & R Chinchilla in October of 2014,

including any request for payment of temporary total

disability compensation contemporaneous to leaving this

position. Thus, this Hearing Officer finds the Injured Worker

did not cure his voluntary abandonment so as to establish his

eligibility for permanent total disability should he be found

to be permanently and totally disabled subsequent to

October of 2014.

{¶ 99} In reaching his finding, the SHO relied heavily, if not exclusively, upon State

ex rel. McCoy v. Dedicated Transport, Inc., 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002-Ohio-5305, the

syllabus of which provides:

No. 16AP-263 31

A claimant who voluntarily abandoned his or her former

position of employment or who was fired under

circumstances that amount to a voluntary abandonment of

the former position will be eligible to receive temporary total

disability compensation pursuant to R.C. 4123.56 if he or she

reenters the work force and, due to the original industrial

injury, becomes temporarily and totally disabled while

working at his or her new job.

{¶ 100} Applying its holding to the two cases before the court, the McCoy court

explains:

It is important to note that this holding is limited to

claimants who are gainfully employed at the time of their

subsequent disabilities. In contrast, every case that we

decided before Baker involved a claimant who had not only

voluntarily abandoned the former employment, but who also

had no job at the time of the subsequent period of disability.

Thus, none of our prior decisions is affected by our holding

today, and claimants in those situations will continue to be

ineligible for TTD compensation.

We now proceed to apply our holding to the facts presented

in the instant cases. In case No. 2001-0232, claimant McCoy

voluntarily abandoned his former position of employment at

Dedicated Transport on March 13, 1998, by virtue of being

justifiably fired. He sought TTD compensation beginning on

January 26, 1999, the date he was allegedly diagnosed with a

disc herniation, or alternatively on June 28, 1999, the date of

his surgery. However, there is no evidence in the record to

suggest that McCoy was gainfully employed at these times or

that he would have been employed if not for his industrial

injury. To the contrary, the record reveals that McCoy's only

employment from March 13, 1998, when he was fired, to

June 28, 1999, when he underwent surgery, consisted of

driving his cousin's truck on 12 to 15 separate days between

February 3, 1999, and April 15, 1999 for $ 12 each day.

Indeed, McCoy's attorney succinctly stated during a hearing

held on October 29, 1999, before the commission's hearing

officer that this "activity * * * did not constitute sustained

gainful employment."

Accordingly, McCoy is not eligible to receive TTD

compensation for the periods in question.

In case No. 2001-0406, claimant Brandgard voluntarily

abandoned his former position of employment at America's

No. 16AP-263 32

Body Co. on September 10, 1999, when he was justifiably

fired after testing positive for cocaine. He sought TTD

compensation from September 24, 1999, the date he

underwent surgery, to October 22, 1999, the date he returned

to work for a different employer. However, there is no

evidence in the record of this case to suggest that Brandgard

was actually employed at his new job prior to September 24,

1999, or between September 24 and October 22, 1999.

Id. at ¶ 40-43.

Here, besides its citation to McCoy, respondent-employer cites to that

portion of Pierron wherein the court notes that, in the years that followed his

involuntary retirement from Sprint/United Telephone Company, "Pierron remained

unemployed except for a brief part-time stint as a flower delivery person." Pierron at

¶ 4. That is, Pierron's brief part-time stint did not serve to re-establish eligibility for

TTD compensation.

{¶ 101} In State ex rel. Eckerly v. Indus. Comm., 105 Ohio St.3d 428, 2005-Ohio-

2587, the Supreme Court of Ohio had occasion to further explain the McCoy holding:

The present claimant seemingly misunderstands McCoy. He

appears to believe that so long as he establishes that he

obtained another job -- if even for a day -- at some point after

his departure from Tech II, TTC eligibility is forever after

reestablished. Unfortunately, this belief overlooks the tenet

that is key to McCoy and all other TTC cases before and

after: that the industrial injury must remove the claimant

from his or her job. This requirement obviously cannot be

satisfied if claimant had no job at the time of the alleged

disability.

In the case at bar, there is no evidence that claimant was

employed in February 2003 when the requested period of

TTC was alleged to have begun. To the contrary, it appears

that claimant was almost entirely unemployed in the two

years after his discharge from Tech II, earning only

approximately $ 800 during that period.

Id. at ¶ 9-10.

No. 16AP-263 33

{¶ 102} The magistrate recognizes that McCoy and its progeny, including Eckerly,

are cases involving TTD compensation. That is, the cases do not adjudicate PTD

compensation.

{¶ 103} Nevertheless, the magistrate finds that the syllabus of McCoy is applicable

here where a claimant who has voluntarily abandoned the workforce seeks to reinstate his

PTD eligibility by evidence of subsequent employment.

{¶ 104} As the SHO's order of January 27, 2016 finds, relator's brief return to

employment in September and October 2014 does not show that relator permanently re-

entered the workforce nor does it re-establish eligibility for PTD compensation. While it

may be argued that relator was engaged in gainful employment during a four-week period

from September 28 through October 25, 2014, relator did not remain at the job and he

has presented no contemporaneous medical evidence that his quitting the job was

causally related to the allowed conditions of the industrial claim.

{¶ 105} Accordingly, based on the above analysis, the magistrate concludes that the

SHO's order of January 27, 2016 does not constitute an abuse of discretion in refusing to

find that relator re-established eligibility for PTD compensation by working at R & R

Chinchilla, Inc.

{¶ 106} Accordingly, for all the above reasons, it is the magistrate's decision that this

court deny relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

KENNETH W. MACKE

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign as

error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding or

legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as a

finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically objects

to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required by Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.