Opinion

State ex rel. Sheets v. Indus. Comm.

  • 2017 Ohio 1169
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Mar 30, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Brown
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 75.8%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Sheets v. Indus. Comm., 2017-Ohio-1169.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Cynthia D. Sheets, :

Relator, :

No. 16AP-22

v. :

(REGULAR CALENDAR)

Industrial Commission of Ohio et al., :

Respondents. :

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on March 30, 2017

On brief: Philip J. Fulton Law Office, and Chelsea Fulton

Rubin; Barry A. Trattner, for relator. Argued: Chelsea

Fulton Rubin.

On brief: Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Kevin J.

Reis, for respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

Argued: Kevin J. Reis.

On brief: Barno Law, LLC, John C. Barno, Zeboney N.

Barranada, and Jamison S. Speidel, for respondent Cellco

Partnership. Argued: John C. Barno.

IN MANDAMUS

ON OBJECTIONS TO THE MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

BROWN, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, Cynthia D. Sheets ("claimant"), has filed this original action

requesting that this court issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent Industrial

Commission of Ohio ("commission") to vacate its order that denied her temporary total

disability ("TTD") compensation and to enter an order granting said compensation.

No. 16AP-22 2

{¶ 2} This matter was referred to a court-appointed magistrate pursuant to Civ.R.

53 and Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of Appeals. The magistrate issued the

appended decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law, and recommended

that this court deny claimant's request for a writ of mandamus. Claimant has filed

objections to the magistrate's decision.

{¶ 3} Claimant argues in her first objection that the magistrate erred when she

did not apply State ex rel. Gross v. Indus. Comm., 115 Ohio St.3d 249, 2007-Ohio-4916

("Gross II") to the instant case and created new law. Claimant contends that Gross II

stands for the proposition that the voluntary abandonment doctrine cannot be applied to

pre-injury conduct or conduct contemporaneous with the injury, and this court found so

in State ex rel. Ohio State Univ. Cancer Research Hosp. v. Indus. Comm., 10th Dist. No.

09AP-1027, 2010-Ohio-3839, and State ex rel. Ohio Welded Blank v. Indus. Comm., 10th

Dist. No. 08AP-772, 2009-Ohio-4646, where we concluded that a claimant can abandon a

former position of employment only if the claimant has the physical capacity for

employment at the time of abandonment. Here, claimant points out, she was temporarily

and totally disabled at the time of her termination and was unable to return to her former

position at the time of termination. She also contests the commission's finding that Gross

II was inapplicable because the conduct leading to her termination was not related to the

allowed injury.

{¶ 4} We disagree with claimant's arguments. We find Gross II distinguishable

from the present case. In Gross II, the Supreme Court of Ohio found that a pre-injury

infraction undetected until after the injury is not grounds for concluding a claimant

voluntarily abandoned his/her employment. Here, claimant's pre-injury infraction was

discovered prior to her injury. Not only was the pre-injury code of conduct violation

discovered prior to the injury in the present case, but the decision to terminate claimant

for such violation was determined prior to the injury.

{¶ 5} Furthermore, in Gross II, the employee was terminated based on the

conduct that caused the injury. The court concluded that if the employee's departure from

the workplace was causally related to the injury, it does not preclude the employee's

eligibility for TTD compensation. In the present case, claimant was not terminated based

on the conduct that caused the injury. Claimant's conduct that led to her termination

No. 16AP-22 3

occurred prior to her termination. Thus, claimant's departure from the workplace was not

causally related to the injury.

{¶ 6} One concern regarding termination for pre-injury conduct is apparent. The

fear is that an employer may use pre-injury conduct as a pretext for terminating an

employee who has been subsequently injured. The circumstances in the present case,

however, eliminate that concern, as noted by the magistrate. Here, the paperwork to

terminate claimant had already been signed and approved (on a Thursday and Friday)

several days before claimant was injured (on a Monday). The employer, Cellco

Partnership, respondent, had already decided to terminate claimant at the time of the

injury, and there is nothing in the record to suggest the termination was pre-textual.

{¶ 7} Despite claimant's argument to the contrary, the magistrate's finding that

"[n]othing in the court's decision in Gross II provides that pre-injury conduct can never

be used to defeat payment of TTD compensation" is correct. (Appended Mag. Decision at

¶ 47.) The court in Gross II stated, "[t]he [voluntary-abandonment] doctrine has never

been applied to preinjury conduct or conduct contemporaneous with the injury." Id. at

¶ 19. Thus, the Supreme Court in Gross II never indicated that the voluntary-

abandonment doctrine can never be applied to pre-injury conduct, and it did not address

circumstances like those in the present case, in which the decision to terminate had

already been made prior to the workplace injury.

{¶ 8} The magistrate's decision is consistent with one of the main principles set

forth in Gross II: "To be eligible for TTD compensation, 'the claimant must show not only

that he or she lacks the medical capability of returning to the former position of

employment but that a cause-and-effect relationship exists between the industrial injury

and an actual loss of earnings. In other words, it must appear that, but for the industrial

injury, the claimant would be gainfully employed.' " Id. at ¶ 15, quoting State ex rel.

McCoy v. Dedicated Transport, Inc., 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002-Ohio-5305, ¶ 35. In the

present case, because the unique circumstance that the decision to terminate claimant

had already been made prior to the industrial injury, we can be certain that claimant

would not have continued to be gainfully employed even if she had not been injured. In

other words, there was no cause-and-effect relationship between her injury and her loss of

No. 16AP-22 4

earnings; instead, there was a direct cause-and-effect relationship between claimant's

misconduct and her loss of earnings.

{¶ 9} As the court summed up in Gross II, "[t]he distinctions between voluntary

and involuntary departure are complicated and fact-intensive." Id. at ¶ 23. An underlying

principle, however, is that if an employee's departure from the workplace " 'is causally

related to his injury,' " it is not voluntary and should not preclude the employee's

eligibility for TTD compensation. Id., quoting State ex rel. Rockwell Internatl. v. Indus.

Comm., 40 Ohio St.3d 44, 46 (1988); McCoy at ¶ 19. To be sure, the circumstances in the

present case are unique from those cases relied on by claimant. In none of those cases had

the employer already decided and completed administrative paperwork approving

termination of the employee immediately prior to the industrial injury. In such a case,

claimant's departure from the workplace was not causally related to her injury and was

voluntary and, thus, precluded her from eligibility for TTD compensation. For these

reasons, claimant's first objection is overruled.

{¶ 10} Claimant argues in her second objection that the commission had no basis

to exercise continuing jurisdiction. Although before the commission the employer alleged

the staff hearing officer ("SHO") committed a clear mistake of law by following Gross II

and finding claimant was entitled to TTD compensation, claimant contends the SHO did

not commit a mistake of law by adhering to the Supreme Court precedent in Gross II. We

first note that claimant failed to raise this issue in her brief before the magistrate.

Nevertheless, given our finding above that the commission did not err when it found

Gross II did not apply here to entitle claimant to TTD compensation, claimant's argument

under her second objection is overruled. The commission properly exercised jurisdiction

based on a clear mistake of law, which is one of the five possible bases for exercising

continuing jurisdiction pursuant to State ex rel. Nicholls v. Indus. Comm., 81 Ohio St.3d

454 (1998). Therefore, we overrule claimant's second objection.

{¶ 11} Claimant argues in her third objection that the commission and magistrate

erred when they created policy, which is not their role. Claimant contends the commission

and magistrate did not have the authority to ignore the Supreme Court's decision in Gross

II and create new law and policy. However, again, given our above finding that Gross II is

distinguishable and not controlling here, we cannot conclude that the commission and

No. 16AP-22 5

magistrate ignored Gross II. Instead, the commission and magistrate reviewed the facts

of the case and found the legal precedent in Gross II inapplicable to the present

circumstances. Therefore, we overrule claimant's third objection.

{¶ 12} Claimant argues in her fourth objection that the commission, and not the

magistrate, is the arbiter of the credibility and weight to be given to the evidence.

Specifically, claimant contends the magistrate made findings of fact that were not found

by the commission in its order. Claimant cites two specific examples. Claimant first cites

the magistrate's findings that her termination was approved by Michelle Worthington, the

associate director, and the human resource consultant on Thursday, October 3, 2013; the

termination was approved by the director, human resource associate director, and human

resource director, on Friday, October 4, 2013; and it was decided that claimant would be

terminated Monday, October 7, 2013.

{¶ 13} Claimant also cites the magistrate's findings that on Monday, October 7,

2013, before the manager arrived to terminate her, claimant tripped, injured herself, and

returned to work with restrictions, and there was no evidence that claimant's manager or

claimant herself had any reason to believe that she would ultimately file a workers'

compensation claim or that her injuries would be as extensive as they ultimately became.

Claimant contends these findings of fact were nowhere in the commission's order and did

not play any role in the decision of the district hearing officer, SHO, or commission.

{¶ 14} However, we do not find the magistrate's above findings infringed on the

commission's power as ultimate arbiter of credibility or its power to evaluate evidence and

determine the weight to be given such evidence. In order for this court to issue a writ of

mandamus as a remedy from a determination of the commission, a relator must show a

clear legal right to the relief sought and that the commission has a clear legal duty to

provide such relief. State ex rel. Pressley v. Indus. Comm., 11 Ohio St.2d 141 (1967). A

clear legal right to a writ of mandamus exists where the relator shows the commission

abused its discretion by entering an order that is not supported by any evidence in the

record. State ex rel. Elliott v. Indus. Comm., 26 Ohio St.3d 76 (1986). On the other hand,

where the record contains some evidence to support the commission's findings, there has

been no abuse of discretion and mandamus is not appropriate. State ex rel. Lewis v.

Diamond Foundry Co., 29 Ohio St.3d 56 (1987). Furthermore, questions of credibility

No. 16AP-22 6

and the weight to be given evidence are clearly within the discretion of the commission as

fact finder. State ex rel. Teece v. Indus. Comm., 68 Ohio St.2d 165 (1981).

{¶ 15} Here, although the commission did not specifically set forth the underlying

facts it relied on in arriving at its ultimate determination, the evidence the magistrate

cited was the underlying factual predicate for the commission's determination. The

commission found:

[I]t is reasons other than the allowed conditions in the claim

preventing the Injured Worker from working. The evidence

presented at hearing and contained in the record indicates the

Injured Worker was working in a modified light-duty position

at the time she was terminated from her employment. The

Commission finds the reason the Injured Worker was not

working over the period for which compensation is requested

has nothing to do with the allowed conditions in the claim.

The Injured Worker is not working because she was

terminated from her job for violating the Employer's Code of

Conduct Policy.

***

In this case, unlike Gross II, the Injured Worker's termination

was completely unrelated to her industrial injury on

10/07/2013, when she tripped and fell to the floor. The only

reason the Injured Worker was terminated was because she

allowed an unauthorized person access to a client's private

information in violation of the Code of Conduct Policy. Since

the conduct leading to the Injured Worker's termination in

this case is not related to the allowed injury, the Commission

finds the Jones case is applicable, and Gross II is not.

(Stip. of Evidence at 202.)

{¶ 16} The evidence cited by the magistrate regarding the Thursday, October 3,

and Friday, October 4, 2013 approval of termination by the employer's administration is

factual evidence included in the record. This evidence supports the commission's

conclusion that the reason claimant was not working had nothing to do with the allowed

conditions in the claim; claimant was not working because she was terminated from her

job for violating the employer's code of conduct policy. Claimant was required to show

that the commission's order was not supported by any evidence in the record, and the

No. 16AP-22 7

magistrate's citation to the above factual evidence demonstrated the order was supported

by evidence in the record. The facts cited by the magistrate provided some evidence from

the record to support the commission's findings.

{¶ 17} As for the magistrate's reliance on the fact that there was no evidence that

claimant's manager or claimant herself had any reason to believe that she would

ultimately file a workers' compensation claim or that her injuries would be as extensive as

they ultimately became, these facts further buttress the commission's findings. These facts

support the commission's conclusion that claimant was not terminated due to her allowed

conditions but because of her violation of the employer's code of conduct. That there was

no evidence to believe claimant would file a claim or that her injuries were as serious as

they turned out to be tends to demonstrate that her termination was not due to pretext

but truly based on her work-policy violation. For these reasons, we find the magistrate

properly relied on the evidence in the record to provide some evidence to support the

commission's conclusions. Therefore, we overrule claimant's fourth objection.

{¶ 18} After an examination of the magistrate's decision, an independent review of

the record, pursuant to Civ.R. 53, and due consideration of claimant's objections, we

overrule the objections and adopt the magistrate's findings of fact and conclusions of law.

Claimant's writ of mandamus is denied.

Objections overruled;

writ of mandamus denied.

SADLER and LUPER SCHUSTER, JJ, concur.

___________________

[Cite as State ex rel. Sheets v. Indus. Comm., 2017-Ohio-1169.]

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

The State ex rel. Cynthia D. Sheets, :

Relator, :

v. : No. 16AP-22

Industrial Commission of Ohio : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

and

Cellco Partnership, Verizon Wireless, :

Respondents. :

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

Rendered on August 31, 2016

Philip J. Fulton Law Office, and Chelsea Fulton Rubin, for

relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Kevin Reis, for

respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

John C. Barno, Zeboney N. Barranada, and Jamison S.

Speidel, for respondent Cellco Partnership.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 19} Relator, Cynthia D. Sheets, has filed this original action requesting that this

court issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent, Industrial Commission of Ohio

("commission"), to vacate its order which denied her application for temporary total

disability ("TTD") compensation, and ordering the commission to find that she is entitled

to that compensation.

Findings of Fact:

No. 16AP-22 9

{¶ 20} 1. Relator had been an employee at Cellco Partnership, Verizon Wireless

("Verizon") since April 2007.

{¶ 21} 2. On September 9, 2013, a customer lodged a complaint that relator had

permitted a third-party to access and view the customer's account.

{¶ 22} 3. The unauthorized access is specifically prohibited by Verizon's guidelines

and Verizon began an investigation.

{¶ 23} 4. On Thursday, October 3, 2013, when questioned about the matter,

relator denied the allegations. Video surveillance was reviewed which specifically

demonstrated that relator did, in fact, allow an unauthorized person to view the account

information of a client.

{¶ 24} 5. Following the interview with relator on October 3, 2013, relator's

manager, Michelle Worthington, prepared a business request for termination of relator's

employment review indicating that the reason for the request was "Code of Conduct." The

review document specifically provides:

Triggering Event (include detailed information): On

9/9 rm received a customer complaint from Henry Gehring

that his account information was shared with his ex wife's

friend. Upon review of the account, Cynthia was shown as

accessing the account twice earlier that day. When

questioned by corporate security on 10/3 Cynthia recalled

the situation and claimed that a regular customer of hers

(Jen Mulchay) came in asking to do an AOL on the account.

Cynthia said once she saw Jen was not authorized on the

account she told her she couldn't help process the

transaction and gave her information on how to request

through customer service once she gained authorization. She

also said that Jen tried to come around the counter to view

the screen, but she told her she couldn't be back there. Video

pulled by corporate security shows that Cynthia allowed Jen

behind the counter 3 separate times and they reviewed the

account information together, for up to 8 minutes each time.

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 25} 6. On the document, Michelle Worthington was asked to indicate whether

or not relator had a known disability or medical condition and the response was no.

{¶ 26} 7. Thereafter, relator's termination was approved by Michelle Worthington,

the associate director, and the human resource consultant on Thursday, October 3, 2013

and was approved by the director, human resource associate director, and human

No. 16AP-22 10

resource executive director, on Friday, October 4, 2013. It was decided that relator would

be terminated on Monday, October 7, 2013.

{¶ 27} 8. On the morning of October 7, 2013, relator sustained an injury when she

tripped while at work. Relator was seen at the Cleveland Clinic and released to return to

work as a greeter.

{¶ 28} 9. Later that same day, October 7, 2013, relator's employment was

terminated as a result of her violating the code of conduct.

{¶ 29} 10. On October 17, 2013, Dr. Patel completed a Medco-14 indicating that

relator was temporarily and totally disabled as of October 7, 2013.

{¶ 30} 11. Relator's claim was eventually allowed for the following conditions:

Sprain neck; sprain right shoulder/arm; contusion chest

wall, bilateral; right knee sprain; sprain right 4th finger;

sprain right fifth finger; sprain left fourth finger; disc

herniation C5-6; disc herniation C6-7.

{¶ 31} 12. Relator's request for TTD compensation was heard before a district

hearing officer ("DHO") on January 13, 2014. The DHO granted the requested

compensation beginning October 8, 2013 based upon the Medco-14s completed by Dr.

Patel. At the hearing, the employer argued that TTD compensation was not properly

payable because relator was terminated for reasons unrelated to the injuries in her claim.

The DHO found that relator's discharge could not be used to preclude her award of TTD

compensation, stating:

At hearing, the Employer's attorney argued that temporary

total disability compensation was not properly payable since

the Injured Worker was terminated due to reasons unrelated

to the claim later in the day on 10/07/2013. On 10/03/2013,

the Injured Worker met various people regarding an alleged

"unauthorized use" incident that occurred on or about

09/09/2013. The Injured Worker sustained a slip and fall

injury that was certified by the Self-Insuring Employer on

10/07/2013 and was released to return to work with

restrictions on that date. The Injured Worker was terminated

on 10/07/2013 after returning to work in her light duty

capacity. Under these facts, the Injured Worker may have

been properly terminated, but that termination does not

preclude the receipt of temporary total disability

compensation because, pursuant to [State ex rel. Pretty

Prods., Inc. v. Indus. Comm., 77 Ohio St.3d 5 (1996)] and its

progeny, the Injured Worker was unable to return to work at

No. 16AP-22 11

her former position of employment at the actual time of

firing.

{¶ 32} 13. The employer appealed and the matter was heard before a staff hearing

officer ("SHO") on July 15, 2014. The SHO modified the prior DHO order, granted TTD

compensation, and rejected the employer's argument that TTD compensation was not

payable due to relator's voluntary abandonment, stating:

Temporary total disability compensation is to be paid for the

period of 10/08/2013 through 07/15/2014. This finding is

based on the 10/07/2013 disability slip from the Cleveland

Clinic Center for Corporate Health and the 11/21/2013,

12/22/2013, 01/06/2014, 02/04/2014, 02/25/2014,

03/19/2014, 05/13/2014 and 07/08/2014 MEDCO-14s of

M.P. Petal, M.D. Further temporary total is to be paid on

submission of proof of temporary total disability causally

related to the allowed conditions. The Self-Insuring

Employer argued that the Injured Worker is not eligible to

receive temporary total as her 10/07/2013 termination

constitutes a voluntary abandonment of employment and

she has not returned to the workforce. The Hearing Officer

does not find this to be a well taken argument. On

10/03/2013 the Injured Worker was questioned in

connection with an incident on 09/09/2013 during which

she had allegedly given access to a customer's account to a

person who did not have authorization to access the account.

This action was in violation of a written policy that specified

termination as a possible consequence of violation. On the

date of the injury the Injured Worker sought treatment at the

Cleveland Clinic. She was released to return to modified duty

which the Self-Insuring Employer provided. On that same

day she was terminated for violation of the written policy

concerning unauthorized access to a customer account. The

Self-Insuring Employer cited [State ex rel. Lackey v. Indus.

Comm., 129 Ohio St.3d 119, 2011-Ohio-3089] and argued

that the termination was involuntary as it was not related to

the Industrial Injury. The involuntary termination would

render the Injured Worker ineligible to receive temporary

total. The Hearing Officer finds nothing in Lackey that would

overrule the holding of the same Court in [State ex rel.

Gross v. Indus. Comm. ("Gross II"), 115 Ohio St.3d 249,

2007-Ohio-4916]. In [Gross II] the Court stated that pre-

injury conduct had never been used as a basis for

determination that a termination was a voluntary

abandonment. Since the Injured Worker's violative conduct

here occurred prior to the injury it may not be used to deny

No. 16AP-22 12

temporary total. All proof on file was reviewed and

considered.

{¶ 33} 14. The employer's further appeal was refused by order of the commission

mailed August 12, 2014.

{¶ 34} 15. Thereafter, the employer filed a request for reconsideration and the

commission determined the employer had presented evidence of sufficient probative

value to warrant adjudication of the request for reconsideration.

{¶ 35} 16. The matter was heard before the full commission on December 9, 2014.

The commission vacated the prior SHO order and denied relator's request for TTD

compensation finding that the SHO's reliance on State ex rel. Gross v. Indus. Comm.

("Gross II"), 115 Ohio St.3d 249, 2007-Ohio-4916, was misplaced.

{¶ 36} First, the commission analyzed the relevant case law which includes State

ex rel. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Indus. Comm., 29 Ohio App.3d 145 (10th

Dist.1985), State ex rel. Ashcraft v. Indus. Comm., 34 Ohio St.3d 42 (1987), and State ex

rel. McCoy v. Dedicated Transport, Inc., 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002-Ohio-5305, which all

held that, in order to qualify for TTD compensation, an injured worker must show not

only that he or she lacks the medical capability to return to the former position of

employment but that a causal relationship exists between the industrial injury and the

actual loss of earnings. The commission found that it was clear the employer terminated

relator because she violated the company's written work rule by allowing an unauthorized

person to view the account of another and that it was clear relator's subsequent injury was

not the reason why she was terminated.

{¶ 37} With regards to the inapplicability of Gross II, the commission's order

provides:

It is the finding of the Commission the Staff Hearing Officer

made a clear mistake of law in relying on the case of State ex

rel. Gross v. Indus. Comm., 115 Ohio St.3d 249, 2007-Ohio-

4916, 874 N.E.2d 1162 ("Gross II"), in finding there was no

voluntary abandonment of employment, and the Employer's

Request for Reconsideration, filed 08/29/2014, is granted.

It is the further finding of the Commission the Injured

Worker voluntarily abandoned her employment, and based

on this finding, her C-86 Motion requesting temporary total

disability compensation, filed 11/12/2013, is denied.

Therefore, it is the order of the Commission that temporary

No. 16AP-22 13

total disability compensation from 10/08/2013

through 11/22/2014, the date last certified by an attending

physician, is denied.

In State ex rel. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Indus. Comm.

(1985), 29 Ohio App.3d 145, 504 N.E.2d 451, the Court

determined the purpose of temporary total disability

compensation is to compensate an injured worker for the

loss of earnings while the injured worker is recovering from

an industrial injury. The Court held where an injured worker

has taken action that would preclude a return to

employment, even if the injured worker were able to do so,

the injured worker is not entitled to temporary total

disability compensation since it is the injured worker's own

action, and not the industrial injury, that prevents the

injured worker from returning to his former position of

employment. Id. at 147.

In State ex rel. Ashcraft v. Indus. Comm. (1987), 34 Ohio

St.3d 42, 517 N.E.2d 533, the Court stated, "While a

prisoner's incarceration would not normally be considered a

'voluntary' act, one may be presumed to tacitly accept the

consequences of his voluntary acts. When a person chooses

to violate the law, he, by his own action, subjects himself to

the punishment which his state has prescribed for him." The

Court found in Ashcraft the injured worker's incarceration

would, excluding the consideration of the recognized work-

related injury, preclude the receipt of temporary total

disability compensation. Id.

In State ex rel. McCoy v. Dedicated Transport, Inc., 97 Ohio

St.3d 25, 2002-Ohio-5305, 776 N.E.2d 51, the Court held:

Thus, in order to qualify for TTD [temporary total disability]

compensation, the claimant must show not only that he or

she lacks the medical capability of returning to the former

position of employment but that a cause-and-effect

relationship exists between the industrial injury and an

actual loss of earnings. In other words, it must appear that,

but for the industrial injury, the claimant would be gainfully

employed.

Id. at para. 35.

The Commission finds in this case it is reasons other than

the allowed conditions in the claim preventing the Injured

Worker from working the evidence presented at hearing and

contained in the record indicates the Injured Worker was

No. 16AP-22 14

working in a modified light-duty position at the time she was

terminated from her employment. The Commission finds the

reason the Injured Worker was not working over the period

for which compensation is requested has nothing to do with

the allowed conditions in the claim. The Injured Worker is

not working because she was terminated from her job for

violating the Employer's Code of Conduct Policy.

The Staff Hearing Officer's reliance on Gross II, is found to

be misplaced as Gross II does not change the requirement

set forth in Jones, Ashcraft, and McCoy, that the basis for the

loss of earnings must be solely related to the work injury and

not to be a voluntary act of the injured worker. In Gross II,

the injured worker's conduct caused the injury leading to his

termination, placing water into a deep-fryer, did not

preclude the payment of temporary total disability

compensation.

In this case, unlike Gross II, the Injured Worker's

termination was completely unrelated to her industrial

injury on 10/07/2013, when she tripped and fell to the floor.

The only reason the Injured Worker was terminated was

because she allowed an unauthorized person access to a

client's private information in violation of the Code of

Conduct Policy. Sine the conduct leading to the Injured

Worker's termination in this case is not related to the

allowed injury, the Commission finds the Jones case is

applicable, and Gross II is not.

{¶ 38} Thereafter, the commission found that the employer met its burden of

proving that relator violated a written work rule, previously defined as a dischargeable

offense, which relator knew or should have known was prohibited and could lead to her

termination. Specifically, the commission's order provides:

It is the further finding of the Commission the Injured

Worker voluntarily abandoned her employment, and based

on this finding, her request for temporary total disability

compensation is denied.

The Injured Worker was injured on 10/07/2013, when she

tripped and fell forward onto the floor, sustaining the

injuries of record. She returned to work in a restricted light-

duty capacity later the same day, 10/07/2013, and was

terminated at the end of work that same day. These facts

were not disputed at the hearing.

No. 16AP-22 15

Pursuant to State ex rel. Louisiana-Pacific Corp. v. Indus.

Comm., 72 Ohio St.3d 401,1995-Ohio-153, 650 N.E.2d 469, a

termination from employment by the employer is considered

a voluntary abandonment when the injured worker engages

in clearly defined prohibited conduct, previously defined as a

dischargeable offense, and the injured worker knew or

should have known the conduct was prohibited and could

lead to termination.

It is the finding of the Commission the Injured Worker was

terminated on 10/07/2013, for violating the Employer's Code

of Conduct Policy. The Employer's policy, titled Your Code of

Conduct, states under Section 4.1.1, Customer Privacy and

Communications, paragraph 3, page 19, that employees may

not access, view, share, or distribute customer information

without a proper business reasons. The policy goes on to

state in the Conclusion section, page 30, that violations of

the law, the Code, and other company policies, procedures,

instructions, practices, and the like can lead to disciplinary

action, up to and including termination of employment. Mr.

Gerot testified the policy is provided to all employees,

training is done online, and all employees must sign off on

the training. A log of the online training courses completed

by the Injured Worker, titled VZLearning History -

Completed, documents on the last page, under VZW2491,

Your Code of Conduct: Online Course, the Injured Worker

completed this course on 08/02/2010. This evidence shows

the Injured Worker was aware, or should have been aware,

that allowing a customer to access the information of another

customer when such access had not been authorized and

without a proper business reason was grounds for

disciplinary action up to and including termination.

The Employer's 10/03/2013 Business Request For

Termination Of Employment Review form, under the Reason

for Request section, indicates as follows: The Employer

received a customer complaint from a Henry Gehring that

his account information was shared with his ex-wife's friend.

Upon review of the account, the Injured Worker was shown

accessing the account twice earlier that day. When

questioned by the Employer about this review

on 10/03/2013, the Injured Worker indicated she recalled

the situation, and a regular customer of hers, Jen Mulchay,

came in asking to do an AOL on the account. The Injured

Worker stated once she saw Ms. Mulchay was not authorized

on the account she told her she could not help her and gave

her information on how to make her request through

customer service once she gained authorization. The Injured

No. 16AP-22 16

Worker also said Ms. Mulchay tried to come around the

counter and view the screen, but the Injured Worker told Ms.

Mulchay she could not be back there. However, video pulled

by corporate security shows that the Injured Worker allowed

Ms. Mulchay behind the counter three separate times, and

they reviewed the account information together, for up to

eight minutes at a time. The Injured Worker testified at the

District Hearing she did let Ms. Mulchay come around the

desk and look at the computer screen at least three times.

(Transcript, pg. 15 & 16.)

The Employer has submitted still photographs from the

video noted above to document the Injured Worker did allow

Ms. Mulchay to view the account information of Mr.

Gehring. Mr. Gerot persuasively testified at hearing the file

accessed was of Henry Gehring, and Ms. Mulchay did not

have authorization to view Mr. Henry's [sic] account

information. Mr. Gerot also testified that the Employer

determined it was the Injured Worker who accessed Mr.

Gehring's account. This evidence shows that the Injured

Worker allowed Ms. Mulchay access to Mr. Gehring's

account information when Ms. Mulchay did not have

authorization to do so, in violation of the Code of Conduct

Policy. The policy, training documentation, and testimony

from Mr. Gerot noted previously show the Injured Worker

was aware, or should have been aware, that allowing such

improper access of Mr. Gehring's account information to Ms.

Mulchay was a violation of the policy and could result in

termination. Based on this evidence, it is found the

requirements for a voluntary abandonment under the

Louisiana-Pacific Corp. case have been met.

{¶ 39} One commissioner dissented from the majority. First, the dissenter pointed

out that this court's decision in State ex rel. Paysource USA, Inc. v. Indus. Comm., 10th

Dist. No. 08AP-677 (June 30, 2009), upon which the commission relied to exercise its

continuing jurisdiction, has been rejected numerous times by this court, specifically

because this court did not consider the applicability of Gross II to the facts. Next, the

dissenter stressed that pre-injury conduct cannot be used to break the causal relationship

between a work-related injury and the disability because pre-injury conduct is never

intervening. Specifically, the dissenter stated:

The majority distinction regarding a causal connection

between the injury and the termination completely ignores

[State ex rel. Ohio State Univ. Cancer Research Hosp. v.

Indus. Comm., 10th Dist. No. 09AP-1027, 2010-Ohio-3839]

No. 16AP-22 17

There, the injured worker sustained a work-related

lumbosacral sprain in 2009. For some time prior to the date

of injury, he had been under investigation for numerous

allegations he had violated the employer's sexual harassment

policy spanning from 2004 to 2008. The injured and

employer entered into two transitional work agreements.

While working with restrictions, he was terminated from his

position two months following the injury for "conduct

unbecoming a medical center employee and violation of

university policy." Id. at ¶ 22 of the Magistrate's Decision. In

reliance on [State ex rel. Ohio Welded Blank v. Indus.

Comm., 10th Dist. No. 08AP-772, 2009-Ohio-4646] and

Gross II, the court refused to apply the voluntary

abandonment doctrine to the facts at hand, as the violative

conduct occurred pre-injury.

Obviously, the injured worker's numerous violations of the

sexual harassment policies of the employer were in no way

related to or contemporaneous with the industrial injury.

The court made it clear that was not the reason for rejecting

the voluntary abandonment defense; instead, it was the

simple temporal relationship between the violative conduct

and the injury. The reason for this is not arbitrary.

Louisiana-Pacific rests on the notion that a voluntary

abandonment can be found when it is the injured worker's

voluntary conduct and not the injury that is the cause of the

loss of earnings. Had the employer in OSU Cancer Research

Hospital been quicker in the investigation of the injured

worker and terminated him prior to the date of injury, there

would never have been an injury.

Likewise, had the Employer here been more prudent in the

investigation of the Injured Worker's infractions and

terminated her sooner, there would never have been a work

injury. Instead, there was a work injury which, in hand,

caused the Injured Worker's disability. It is undisputed the

Injured Worker is unable to return to her former position of

employment due to the injury she sustained while in the

course of and arising out of her employment with the

Employer.

Pre-injury conduct cannot be used to break the chain of

causation between the injury and the disability, as the

conduct is not intervening; only the Employer's decision to

terminate is intervening, and allowing employers to do so

and avoid paying temporary total disability compensation

despite a legitimate work injury is simply inequitable and

No. 16AP-22 18

against the mandate of R.C. 4123.95 as well as the entire

intent of the workers' compensation system in Ohio.

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 40} 17. Thereafter, relator filed the instant mandamus action in this court.

Conclusions of Law:

{¶ 41} Relator asserts that, pursuant to Gross II, the voluntary abandonment

doctrine cannot be applied to pre-injury conduct. In other words, relator asserts that pre-

injury conduct can never be used to defeat or award TTD compensation. For the reasons

that follow, the magistrate disagrees.

{¶ 42} The Supreme Court of Ohio has set forth three requirements which must be

met in establishing a right to a writ of mandamus: (1) that relator has a clear legal right to

the relief prayed for; (2) that respondent is under a clear legal duty to perform the act

requested; and (3) that relator has no plain and adequate remedy in the ordinary course

of the law. State ex rel. Berger v. McMonagle, 6 Ohio St.3d 28 (1983).

{¶ 43} In order for this court to issue a writ of mandamus as a remedy from a

determination of the commission, relator must show a clear legal right to the relief sought

and that the commission has a clear legal duty to provide such relief. State ex rel.

Pressley v. Indus. Comm., 11 Ohio St.2d 141 (1967). A clear legal right to a writ of

mandamus exists where the relator shows that the commission abused its discretion by

entering an order which is not supported by any evidence in the record. State ex rel.

Elliott v. Indus. Comm., 26 Ohio St.3d 76 (1986). On the other hand, where the record

contains some evidence to support the commission's findings, there has been no abuse of

discretion and mandamus is not appropriate. State ex rel. Lewis v. Diamond Foundry

Co., 29 Ohio St.3d 56 (1987). Furthermore, questions of credibility and the weight to be

given evidence are clearly within the discretion of the commission as fact finder. State ex

rel. Teece v. Indus. Comm., 68 Ohio St.2d 165 (1981).

{¶ 44} TTD compensation awarded pursuant to R.C. 4123.56 has been defined as

compensation for wages lost where a claimant's injury prevents a return to the former

position of employment. Upon that predicate, TTD compensation shall be paid to a

claimant until one of four things occurs: (1) claimant has returned to work; (2) claimant's

treating physician has made a written statement that claimant is able to return to the

former position of employment; (3) when work within the physical capabilities of

No. 16AP-22 19

claimant is made available by the employer or another employer; or (4) claimant has

reached maximum medical improvement. See R.C. 4123.56(A); State ex rel. Ramirez v.

Indus. Comm., 69 Ohio St.2d 630 (1982).

{¶ 45} In State ex rel. Haddox v. Indus. Comm., 135 Ohio St.3d 307, 2013-Ohio-

794, the Supreme Court of Ohio discussed the interplay of the payment of TTD

compensation and the doctrine of voluntary abandonment. The court stated:

The purpose of temporary-total-disability compensation is to

compensate an injured employee for lost earnings during the

period of disability while the injury heals. State ex rel.

McCoy v. Dedicated Transport, Inc., 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002

Ohio 5305, 776 N.E.2d 51, ¶ 35; State ex rel. Ashcraft v.

Indus. Comm., 34 Ohio St.3d 42, 517 N.E.2d 533 (1987). To

qualify for temporary-total-disability compensation, an

injured worker must demonstrate that he or she is medically

unable to return to the former position and that the

industrial injury is the reason for the loss of earnings. State

ex rel. McCoy at ¶ 35.

When the employee no longer has a loss of earnings,

temporary-total-disability benefits terminate. This occurs

when the employee returns to work or is capable of returning

to work. Benefits for temporary total disability also

terminate when the injury has reached maximum medical

improvement. R.C. 4123.56. Benefits may also terminate if

the employee voluntarily leaves the workforce. Rockwell

Internatl. v. Indus. Comm., 40 Ohio St.3d 44, 46, 531

N.E.2d 678 (1988). (After termination of benefits for

temporary total disability, a claimant remains entitled to

payments for medical expenses and may be eligible for

compensation for any permanent disability. R.C. 4123.57 and

4123.66.)

When an employee is fired for misconduct, the dismissal

may be deemed a voluntary abandonment of employment

"when it arises from the employee's decision to engage in

conduct that he or she knows will result in termination."

State ex rel. Brown v. Hoover Universal, Inc., 132 Ohio

St.3d 520, 2012 Ohio 3895, 974 N.E.2d 1198, ¶ 11; State ex

rel. Louisiana-Pacific Corp. v. Indus. Comm., 72 Ohio St.3d

401, 403, 1995 Ohio 153, 650 N.E.2d 469 (1995). The

commission must look to the underlying facts and

circumstances of the discharge, including its timing and

nature, when classifying the employee's departure as

voluntary or involuntary. McCoy, 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002

Ohio 5303, 776 N.E.2d 51, ¶ 20; State ex rel. Smith v.

No. 16AP-22 20

Superior's Brand Meats, Inc., 76 Ohio St.3d 408, 411, 1996

Ohio 166, 667 N.E.2d 1217 (1996). The underlying principle

is that the employee's departure from employment must be

causally related to the injury for the employee to be eligible

for temporary-total-disability compensation. Rockwell

Internatl. v. Indus. Comm., 40 Ohio St.3d at 46, 531 N.E.2d

678.

Id. at 310-11.

{¶ 46} In Gross II, the court reviewed the voluntary abandonment doctrine in the

context of an employee who had been fired for the very conduct that resulted in his

industrial injury. David Gross burned himself and two co-workers when he placed water

in a pressurized deep fryer, heated the fryer, and then opened the lid. Gross was

discharged for violating a workplace safety rule and defying repeated verbal warnings.

The commission determined this was a voluntary abandonment of his employment and

terminated Gross's TTD benefits.

The Haddox court explained its ultimate decision in Gross II, stating:

This court initially upheld the commission's decision, State

ex rel. Gross v. Indus. Comm., 112 Ohio St.3d 65, 2006 Ohio

6500, 858 N.E.2d 335 ("Gross I"), but later reconsidered and

ordered the commission to reinstate benefits, State ex rel.

Gross v. Indus. Comm., 115 Ohio St.3d 249, 2007 Ohio 4916,

874 N.E.2d 1162 ("Gross II"). In Gross II, the court explained

that it had not intended Gross I to create an exception to or

an expansion of the voluntary-abandonment doctrine or to

inject fault into the no-fault nature of workers'

compensation. Id. at ¶ 19-21.

Upon reconsideration, Gross II reiterated that the

underlying issue in a voluntary-abandonment case is

"whether his injury or his termination * * * is the cause of his

loss of earnings." Id. at ¶ 23. "The distinctions between

voluntary and involuntary departure are complicated and

fact-intensive." Id. Gross II examined the evidence and

concluded that KFC's termination letter—in which KFC

stated that it was Gross's rule violation, resulting in the

injury that had triggered the investigation and led to his

subsequent termination—established that his discharge was

related to the industrial injury. Thus, Gross's termination

was involuntary and did not bar temporary-total-disability

benefits. Id. at ¶ 25-26.

No. 16AP-22 21

This court had the opportunity to apply Gross II in State ex

rel. Upton v. Indus. Comm., 119 Ohio St.3d 461, 2008 Ohio

4758, 895 N.E.2d 161. In that case, Upton had been

discharged for causing multiple motor vehicle accidents,

including the one in which he was injured. The commission

denied his request for temporary-total-disability

compensation, filed prior to Gross II, because his discharge

constituted a voluntary abandonment of his former position.

Id. at ¶ 5. In a split decision, the court of appeals concluded

that Upton did not have clear notice in advance of the

grounds for his termination, so it was an involuntary

departure. The court granted a writ of mandamus. State ex

rel. Upton v. Indus. Comm., 10th Dist. No. 06AP-594, 2007

Ohio 3283.

We affirmed, stating: "Gross II held that if a claimant is

injured by the same misconduct that led to his or her

termination, eligibility for temporary total disability

compensation is not compromised. Gross II controls and

renders the court of appeals reasoning moot." 119 Ohio St.3d

461, 2008 Ohio 4758, 895 N.E.2d 161, at ¶ 8.

Id. at 311-12.

{¶ 47} The court held that if a claimant is injured by the same misconduct that led

to their termination, eligibility for TTD compensation is not compromised. The court

wanted to prevent employers from terminating employees in order to avoid paying TTD

compensation. As the court stated in State ex rel. Supreme Bumpers, Inc. v. Indus.

Comm., 98 Ohio St.3d 134, 2002-Ohio-7089, "we recognize the great potential for

misconduct to preclude temporary total disability compensation. We therefore find it

imperative to carefully examine the totality of the circumstances when such a situation

exists." Id. at 411. Nothing in the court's decision in Gross II provides that pre-injury

conduct can never be used to defeat payment of TTD compensation. To the extent courts

have discussed the issue post-Gross II, courts have only said that pre-injury conduct has

never been used to defeat an award of TTD compensation. As such, the magistrate

concludes that there may be a situation where pre-injury conduct can defeat the payment

of TTD compensation if it is found that the decision to terminate the injured worker is not

a pre-textual excuse intended to avoid the employer's obligation to pay compensation.

{¶ 48} In light of the above, the magistrate finds that the commission did not abuse

its discretion when it determined that relator's termination was unrelated to her

No. 16AP-22 22

industrial injury─she was terminated because she allowed an unauthorized person to

access a client's private information in violation of her employer's code of conduct policy.

{¶ 49} Here, relator's manager approached her on Thursday, October 3, 2013 and

asked her if she had allowed a person to access another's personal account information.

While relator acknowledged she knew the people involved, relator specifically denied

allowing anyone behind the counter to view the client's personal account information.

However, video evidence established that relator allowed an unauthorized person to

review account information at least three times. As a result, relator's manager initiated

the necessary paperwork to terminate relator's employment. As of Friday, October 4,

2013, relator's manager had the signatures necessary to terminate relator and, on

Monday, October 7, 2013, relator was terminated because she allowed an unauthorized

person to access a client's personal information in violation of the employer's code of

conduct policy.

{¶ 50} The magistrate acknowledges that, on Monday, October 7, 2013, before her

manager arrived to terminate her, relator tripped, injured herself, and returned to work

with restrictions. However, there is no evidence that relator's manager or relator herself

had any reason to believe that relator would ultimately file a workers' compensation

claim, or that her injuries would be as extensive as they ultimately became. The decision

to terminate relator was made on Thursday, October 3, 2013 and all necessary signatures

were acquired by Friday, October 4, 2013.

{¶ 51} The magistrate finds the commission did carefully scrutinize the facts and

did not abuse its discretion when it found relator was not entitled to an award of TTD

compensation and this court should deny her request for a writ of mandamus.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

STEPHANIE BISCA

No. 16AP-22 23

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign as

error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding or

legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as a

finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically objects

to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required by Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.