Opinion

Marinwood Community Services, Inc. v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board

  • 10 Cal. App. 5th 231
  • 215 Cal. Rptr. 3d 715
  • 82 Cal. Comp. Cases 317
  • 2017 Cal. App. LEXIS 278
Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Mar 29, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Stewart
On the bench
Kline, Richman, Stewart
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 3.6%

The opinion

Filed 3/29/17

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION TWO

MARINWOOD COMMUNITY

SERVICES,

Petitioner,

v. A147582

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD, RAMOS et al., (WCAB No. ADJ8778127)

Respondents.

Petitioner Marinwood Fire Protection District, also known as Marinwood

Community Services, Inc. (Marinwood), seeks to set aside the decision of the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB) holding that firefighter Pete Romo was entitled

to the benefit of the rebuttable presumption under Labor Code section 3212.1 1 that his

cancer arose out of his employment. The writ raises two legal issues of interpretation of

workers’ compensation statutes. While our review of such issues is de novo, in light of

the WCAB’s expertise we “give weight to its interpretations of workers’ compensation

statutes unless they are clearly erroneous or unauthorized.” (Brodie v. Workers’ Comp.

Appeals Bd. (2007) 40 Cal.4th 1313, 1331.) While neither of the statutes at issue is a

model of clarity, the WCAB’s interpretations of both are reasonable and we therefore

affirm the WCAB decision.

1

Except as otherwise specified, all further statutory references are to the Labor

Code.

1

BACKGROUND

Romo worked as a firefighter for three different fire departments. He was a

volunteer firefighter for Marinwood from 1989 to 1991 and the San Antonio Volunteer

Fire District in Sonoma County (San Antonio) from 2002 to 2006. From 2006 through

trial, he was employed full time as a paid firefighter for the City of Mill Valley (Mill

Valley). While working for Mill Valley, Romo was diagnosed with prostate cancer.2

Marinwood was established in the 1950s as an all-volunteer fire department. By

the 1980s, it had a paid fire chief and two paid professional firefighters for each shift. At

the time Romo was a volunteer firefighter there, Marinwood had a total of seven paid

firefighters and 24 volunteer firefighters.

When Romo was serving as a volunteer firefighter for Marinwood, he fought

multiple fires, participated in mandatory weekly drill nights and was required to live

within a certain distance from the firehouse, keep certain department-provided gear in his

car or bedroom, and keep a paging device with him so he could be paged when needed

for a fire. Marinwood provided him with a thick coat, pants, a hood, a helmet, goggles,

boots and gloves.

Romo and other volunteers also worked at the fire station, cleaning equipment,

refueling tools, sweeping and mopping. Volunteers were considered “on duty all the

time” and were required to respond to 75 percent of the calls. Marinwood paid for him

and other volunteers to obtain training and certification in CPR and basic life support.

Marinwood also trained him on fire suppression for different kinds of fires and on other

subjects, such as bleeding control, rope rescue and vehicle extrication.

Volunteer positions with Marinwood were sought after by those who wanted to

become firefighters, and the hiring process was competitive. If a volunteer failed to meet

the demands of the position, he would be counseled and, if that failed, terminated.

Volunteers did most of the firefighting work while Romo was there, taking direction from

the on-duty company officer.

2

Mill Valley filed an answer to Marinwood’s writ petition essentially joining in

Romo’s arguments.

2

Marinwood’s fire captain and training officer considers the volunteer firefighters

to be employees. When they go on a call, members of the public do not know whether

they are volunteers or paid. Marinwood currently provides workers’ compensation

benefits for volunteers.3

Romo filed a claim for workers’ compensation benefits with each of the three fire

departments for which he had worked. Mill Valley and San Antonio stipulated that the

statutory presumption that cancer suffered while employed as a firefighter arises out of

the employment would apply to them if the elements set forth in section 3212.1 were

proven. Marinwood contested the application of the presumption. Two issues pertaining

to Marinwood were tried before a workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) in

September 2015: (1) whether Romo was an employee and/or volunteer firefighter of

Marinwood entitled to workers’ compensation benefits under sections 3352, subdivision

(i), 3361, 3365, 3361.5, 3212.1 and Health and Safety Code section 13802; (2) whether

the presumption under section 3212.1 applies against Marinwood where Romo was not a

public safety employee from the time he stopped volunteering at Marinwood sometime

between 1989 and 1991 and the year 2002, which is more than 120 months following the

date he last worked for Marinwood.

After receiving trial briefs, hearing testimony from Romo and Marinwood fire

captain John Bagala and admitting various exhibits, the WCJ issued findings of fact and

an order. She concluded that Romo was “an active volunteer firefighting member of

[Marinwood] from mid-1989 to early 1991 within the meaning of Labor Code

sections 3212.1 and 3361” and that he “is entitled to the extension of the presumption

under Labor Code section 3212.1, since he is within 120 months of the ‘last date actually

worked in the specified capacity.’ ”

3

At trial, Captain Bagala testified that he believed Marinwood had carried

workers’ compensation insurance for its volunteers since he had started working there in

1988. After trial, however, Marinwood proffered a resolution by the Marinwood Board

of Directors indicating that “effective 2007, [a volunteer] was to be deemed an employee

of the district for purposes of entitlement to workers’ compensation benefits.”

3

Seeking reconsideration of the WCJ’s decision by the WCAB, Marinwood argued

it was not a “regularly organized volunteer fire department” within the meaning of

section 3361, and thus that firefighters who volunteered for it were not “employees” for

workers’ compensation statutes under that statute and that the extension of the

presumption under section 3212.1 began to run as to Marinwood on the date Romo last

worked for Marinwood. The WCJ recommended against reconsideration, on the ground,

among others, that Marinwood had waived the first argument by failing to assert it until

after trial. She also opined that the evidence supported a finding that Marinwood was a

“regularly organized volunteer fire department,” because the fire chief had testified it was

a combination department and it had far more volunteers than paid staff. She again

interpreted section 3212.1 to extend the presumption from the last day worked by a

firefighter in the capacity as such, not the last day worked for a particular employer.

In January 2015, the WCAB denied Marinwood’s motion for reconsideration,

“[b]ased on our review of the record, and for the reasons stated in the WCJ’s report,

which we adopt and incorporate.”

DISCUSSION

I.

The WCAB’s Determination That Romo Was an Employee of Marinwood Was Based

on a Reasonable Interpretation of the Relevant Statutes.

Section 3352 excludes certain categories of persons from the term “[e]mployee” as

used in the workers’ compensation statutes. Subdivision (i) of that section generally

excludes volunteers: “A person performing voluntary service for a public agency or a

private, nonprofit organization who does not receive remuneration for the services, other

than meals, transportation, lodging, or reimbursement for incidental expenses.”

Section 3361 is an exception to this exclusion. It provides: “Each member registered as

an active firefighting member of any regularly organized volunteer fire department,

having official recognition, and full or partial support of the government of the county,

city, town, or district in which the volunteer fire department is located, is an employee of

that county, city, town, or district for the purposes of this division, and is entitled to

4

receive compensation from the county, city, town or district in accordance with the

provisions thereof.” (See County of Kern v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (2011)

200 Cal.App.4th 509, 518 (County of Kern).)

Marinwood contends it is not (and was not when Romo was a volunteer firefighter

there) a “regularly organized volunteer fire department” within the meaning of

section 3361, and Romo therefore cannot claim the status of “employee” under that

section.4 If Romo does not fall within section 3361, he is excluded from the status of

“employee” by section 3352, subdivision (i).

Marinwood asserts that “[a] volunteer fire department is one comprised solely of

volunteer firefighters. This is distinguishable from a professional, or a combination fire

department, which consists of both volunteers and paid career firefighters. Volunteer fire

departments, though more common in the past, are now rare entities.” Marinwood cites

County of Kern for the proposition that “the requirements for a nonprofit organization to

be classified as a volunteer fire department are stringent.”

County of Kern does not address whether the phrase “regularly organized

volunteer fire department” in section 3361 means only fire departments comprised

entirely of volunteers or encompasses a department like Marinwood that is comprised of

some professional firefighters and some volunteers. (See County of Kern, supra,

200 Cal.App.4th at p. 518 [“Kern agrees SCVFD is a ‘regularly organized volunteer fire

department’ ”].) Nor does County of Kern support Marinwood’s contention that the

“requirements” for classification as a volunteer fire department are “stringent.” The

language Marinwood quotes from County of Kern at page 514 is simply a recitation of

4

Relatedly, Marinwood contends it was Romo’s burden to establish the factual

predicates of section 3361, and that he failed to do so. However, since we conclude that

section 3361 applied based on the evidence Romo submitted at the trial, it goes without

saying that Romo carried his burden and we need not separately address that point.

Likewise, Marinwood challenges the WCAB’s determination, on petition for rehearing,

that it waived the argument that it was not a volunteer fire department, but we need not

address the issue of waiver because, notwithstanding its holding that Marinwood waived

the issue, the WCAB reached the merits and we conclude its decision on the merits is

correct.

5

the facts pertaining to the volunteer fire department that was the subject of that case, not a

statement of requirements that must be met for a department to be considered a volunteer

department under section 3361.

In discussing the question that was before it in County of Kern, which was whether

the Sand Canyon Volunteer Fire Department had “ ‘official recognition, and full or

partial support of the government of the county’ ” within the meaning of section 3361,

the Fifth District declined to adopt the “extremely narrow definitions to the terms within

the statute” Kern County urged it to adopt. (County of Kern, supra, 200 Cal.App.4th at

p. 518; id. at pp. 518–525.) The court analogized its interpretation of these terms in

section 3361 to that given in Machado v. Hulsman (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 453 to another

phrase in that section, stating: “Indeed, the Court of Appeal in [Machado] similarly

applied a broad interpretation of section 3361’s terms towards extending workers’

compensation coverage by concluding that a volunteer firefighter fell within the workers’

compensation laws and was precluded from filing a separate personal injury action.

Without a more precise definition of the term ‘registered firefighter’ in the statute, the

court concluded the volunteer fire department’s ‘Record of Fires’ log listing the volunteer

as having responded to and participated in six emergency calls sufficiently met the

registration requirement. [Citation.] As the court explained, ‘[s]ince no particular form

of registration is mandated by section 3361, a liberal interpretation of its terms

encompasses the district’s “Record of Fires.” ’ ” (County of Kern, at p. 520.) Far from

supporting Marinwood’s argument that the courts should interpret section 3361 as

imposing “stringent” requirements in determining what constitutes a “volunteer fire

department” under section 3361, County of Kern and Machado support a “broad

interpretation” of that section after “look[ing] to ‘ “ ‘the usual, ordinary import of the

language employed . . . .’ ” ’ ” (County of Kern, at p. 519.)

“In attempting to ascertain the meaning of a word in a statute, we refer to

common dictionary definitions.” (County of Kern, supra, 200 Cal.App.4th at p. 519,

citing Wasatch Property Management v. Degrate (2005) 35 Cal.4th 1111, 1121–1122.)

Merriam-Webster defines “volunteer,” used as an adjective, to mean “being, consisting

6

of, or engaged in by volunteers.” (<https://www.merriam-

webster.com/dictionary/volunteer> [as of Mar. 29, 2017].) Dictionary.com defines it to

mean “of, relating to, or being a volunteer or volunteers: a volunteer fireman.”

(<http://www.dictionary.com/browse/volunteer> [as of Mar. 29, 2017].) These

definitions are broad enough to encompass an entity composed entirely of volunteers and

one comprised of both volunteers and non-volunteers. A clearer way to describe a force

comprised entirely of volunteers is “all-volunteer.” The Legislature could have, but did

not, use that narrower terminology in section 3361.

The WCJ interpreted the “volunteer fire department” language in section 3361 to

encompass a department composed of some professional firefighters and even more

volunteers. In holding the evidence supported a finding that “Marinwood was and is a

volunteer fire department,” she stated: “At trial, John Bagala, Marinwood’s Fire Captain

and Training Officer, testified that Marinwood is a combination fire department, which

according to Captain Bagala, means that it has paid firefighters as well as volunteer

firefighters. The volunteer firefighters, which at the time [Romo] worked there numbered

24 as compared to the 7 paid firefighters, are highly trained, considered ‘on call’ 24 hours

a day and take direction only from paid firefighters.” As already stated, the WCAB

adopted and incorporated the WCJ’s opinion as its own.

The language “volunteer fire department” in section 3361 is ambiguous in regard

to whether it extends to a department comprised predominantly, but not exclusively, of

volunteers. The WCAB’s interpretation of section 3361 is reasonable, and we give it

weight. Its interpretation is consistent with the purpose of the statutory scheme. By

adopting it, we follow the directive of section 3202 that the workers’ compensation

statutes “shall be liberally construed by the courts with the purpose of extending their

benefits for the protection of persons injured in the course of their employment.” (See

State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1997) 16 Cal.4th 1187,

1196 [section 3202 “ ‘provides a means for resolution of ambiguities in the statutes which

affect coverage’ ”].)

7

II.

The WCAB’s Determination That the Extension of the Cancer Presumption Ran from

the Date Romo Last Worked as a Firefighter for Any Agency Was Based on a

Reasonable Interpretation of the Relevant Statute.

Marinwood next contends the WCAB misconstrued section 3212.1. That section

provides a presumption that cancer that develops or manifests during a firefighter’s

employment was industrially caused. It provides, in relevant part: “(a) This section

applies to all of the following: [¶] (1) Active firefighting members, whether volunteers,

partly paid, or fully paid, of all of the following fire departments: [¶] (A) A fire

department of a city, county, city and county, district, or other public or municipal

corporation or political subdivision. [¶] . . . [¶] (b) The term ‘injury,’ as used in this

division, includes cancer, including leukemia, that develops or manifests itself during a

period in which any member described in subdivision (a) is in the service of the

department or unit, if the member demonstrates that he or she was exposed, while in the

service of the department or unit, to a known carcinogen as defined by the International

Agency for Research on Cancer, or as defined by the director. [¶] (c) The compensation

that is awarded for cancer shall include full hospital, surgical, medical treatment,

disability indemnity, and death benefits, as provided by this division. [¶] (d) The cancer

so developing or manifesting itself in these cases shall be presumed to arise out of and in

the course of the employment. This presumption is disputable and may be controverted

by evidence that the primary site of the cancer has been established and that the

carcinogen to which the member has demonstrated exposure is not reasonably linked to

the disabling cancer. Unless so controverted, the appeals board is bound to find in

accordance with the presumption. This presumption shall be extended to a member

following termination of service for a period of three calendar months for each full year

of the requisite service, but not to exceed 120 months in any circumstance, commencing

with the last date actually worked in the specified capacity.” (§ 3212.1, italics added.)

Marinwood argues the above-quoted sentence is to be applied separately to each

employer for whom a firefighter worked. Under its interpretation, the extension began to

8

run for Romo, as regards Marinwood, when he last worked as a firefighter for

Marinwood in 1991, and expired no later than six calendar months thereafter, three for

each of the two years he worked for Marinwood. Marinwood contends this is the plain

meaning of section 3212.1, focusing on the language of subdivision (b) defining injury to

include cancer that develops or manifests while the firefighter “ ‘is in the service of the

department or unit, if the member demonstrates that he or she was exposed while in the

service of the department or unit, to a known carcinogen . . . .’ ” According to

Marinwood, subdivision (b) “makes clear that the presumption of injury focuses on one

specific and particular employer or entity by using the singular article ‘the.’ ” This

“ ‘operates to protect the agencies against whom the presumption would apply by placing

reasonable, common sense, and practical limitations to the scope of such an extraordinary

presumption as is granted under section 3212.1.’ ”

Romo argues the language in section 3212.1, subdivision (d), which creates the

extension of time for asserting the presumption, “makes no reference to any particular

employer or entity.” Subdivision (d) refers to “the last date actually worked in the

specified capacity,” not the last date worked for a particular employer.

The WCJ and WCAB rejected Marinwood’s interpretation and embraced Romo’s.

The WCJ stated: “There is no dispute that applicant was diagnosed with prostate cancer

more than 120 months following his last employment with Marinwood in 1991. . . . [I]f

the ‘last date actually worked in the specified capacity’ applies only to [Romo’s] last date

of employment at Marinwood, then the presumption under Labor Code section 3212.1

would not apply against Marinwood. If the ‘last date actually worked in the specified

capacity’ applies to [Romo’s] last date of work as a firefighter for any employer, then the

presumption would apply to Marinwood (assuming all the other elements are met) since

applicant continues to work at the present as a firefighter.”

The WCJ and WCAB interpreted the language in subdivision (d) “last date

actually worked in the specified capacity” to mean the last day worked in the capacity of

a firefighter for any employer. That is, they held the extension of the presumption

commences to run only after the firefighter ceases working as a firefighter altogether.

9

They acknowledged there was no “judicial authority defining the meaning of the ‘last

date actually worked in the specified capacity’ ” and relied on the WCAB panel decision

in Lund v. Dept. of Forestry (Cal. W.C.A.B. Feb. 18, 2011, No. ADJ1649220)

2011 Cal.Wrk.Comp.P.D. LEXIS 126.

In Lund v. Dept. of Forestry, the firefighter had worked at two local fire

departments and one state firefighting agency at different times, in 1978, from 1987 to

1998, and from 1998 to 2004, and the WCJ and the panel (Lund v. Dept. of Forestry,

supra, 2011 Cal.Wrk.Comp.P.D. LEXIS 126 at p. *1 [WCAB adopts panel decision])

faced the same issue raised here: “whether specified capacity is limited to the period the

member actually worked for a specific entity.” (Id. at p. *8.) They answered that

question in the negative, reasoning: “Section 3212.1[, subd.] (d) does not specify the

presumption applies to the period following termination of employment. Rather, the

presumption applies to firefighters following the termination of service of the last actual

date of work in the specified capacity. In other words, the time runs from the last actual

date of work as a firefighter or peace officer. Capacity is defined as a position, function

or relation in the 1984 Random House College Dictionary Revised Edition. When using

the term ‘specified capacity,’ 3212.1[, subdivision] (d) refers to the position set forth in

section (a). Any other application would treat [a] firefighter or peace officer employed

by different entities different [from] one who is employed by one entity in determining

the number of months the presumption would apply after an individual last worked in that

occupation. This was the situation in City of San Leandro v. WCAB (Waltman) 71 Calif.

Comp. Cas. 262 (Writ Denied 2005). There the peace officer’s entire period of

employment with the City of Oakland and the City of San Leandro was used to determine

the number of months the presumption applied after he left the employ of the [City of]

San Leandro.” (Id. at pp. *8–*9.)

Our own research revealed a third WCAB panel decision deciding the same issue

in the same way: Suarez v. Dept. of Forestry & Fire Protection Coastal (Cal. W.C.A.B.

Jan. 15, 2015, No. ADJ8691488) 2015 WL 362732. In Suarez, the WCAB construed

section 3212.1, subdivision (d) “as extending the presumption to the period following the

10

last actual date of work in the capacity of a firefighter, not the last date of employment

with a specific employer.” (Suarez, at p. *4.)

The WCAB’s interpretation of section 3212.1 in this and other cases furthers the

purpose of the cancer presumption. As the Second District recognized in another case

involving that presumption: “[I]n the case of certain public employees who provide ‘vital

and hazardous services’ to the public [citation], the Labor Code contains a series of

presumptions of industrial causation. These presumptions provide that when specified

public employees develop or manifest particular injuries or illnesses, during their

employment or within specified periods thereafter, the injury or illness is presumed to

arise out of and in the course of their employment. (See §§ 3212 [hernia, heart trouble,

pneumonia], 3212.2, 3212.3, 3212.4, 3212.5, 3212.6 [tuberculosis], 3212.7, 3212.8

[blood-borne infectious diseases], 3212.85 [exposure to biochemical substances that may

be used as weapons of mass destruction], 3212.9 [meningitis], 3212.10, 3212.11 [skin

cancer], 3212.12 [Lyme disease], 3213, 3213.2 [lower back impairments].) These

presumptions are a reflection of public policy. [Citation.] Their purpose is to provide

additional compensation benefits to employees who provide vital and hazardous services

by easing their burden of proof of industrial causation.” (City of Long Beach v. Workers’

Comp. Appeals Bd. (2005) 126 Cal.App.4th 298, 310–311.)

Construing section 3212.1 to commence the extension period for the cancer

presumption to the point at which a firefighter has stopped firefighting altogether rather

than when he ceased work for a particular employer ensures that individuals engaged in

the “vital and hazardous service[]” of firefighting will benefit from the presumption that

eases their burden of proof that on the job exposure to carcinogens was industrially

caused. The risk of cancer for Romo did not end when he left Marinwood because he

continued to serve as a firefighter after that, for San Antonio and then Mill Valley.

In short, the WCAB’s interpretation of subdivision (d) of section 3212.1 is

reasonable and we see no reason to reject it.

Romo seeks an award of attorney fees and costs under section 5801, arguing there

was no reasonable basis for Marinwood’s Petition for Writ of Review. The request is

11

denied. (Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1990) 219 Cal.App.3d

1265, 1273–1274 [petition was not without reasonable basis where it raised a question of

law that was previously unaddressed].)

DISPOSITION

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the WCAB’s decision.

STEWART, J.

We concur.

KLINE, P.J.

RICHMAN, J.

12

Counsel:

D’Andre, Peterson, Bobus & Rosenberg, Bernard J. Finnegan, Bonnie B. Park for

Petitioners.

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board, Anne Schmitz, James T. Losee for Respondent.

Law Offices of Linda Joanne Brown, Karina Kowler for Respondent.

Laughlin, Falbo, Levy & Moresi, Kevin R. Calegari, Stephanie M. Drenski for

Respondent.

13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.