Opinion

Green v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (US Airways)

  • 155 A.3d 140
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Feb 24, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Wojcik
On the bench
Hannah, Honorable, Leavitt, Mary, Michael, Wojcik
Cited by
19 cases
Authority
More cited than 74.5%

stating that the WCJ may reject a doctor’s opinion if it is based on information provided by the claimant that is either unsupported by record evidence or rejected as non-credible

How later courts described this case

  • stating that the WCJ may reject a doctor’s opinion if it is based on information provided by the claimant that is either unsupported by record evidence or rejected as non-credible
  • explaining that the phrase “credible but not persuasive” tends to signify that the WCJ finds a witness to be “testifying truthfully . . . but not convincingly (emphasis in original)

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Susan (Nawn) Green, :

: No. 383 C.D. 2016

Petitioner : Submitted: August 19, 2016

:

v. :

:

Workers' Compensation :

Appeal Board (US Airways), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE JAMES GARDNER COLINS, Senior Judge

OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: February 24, 2017

Susan (Nawn) Green (Claimant) petitions for review of the February

9, 2016 order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) that affirmed

the remand decision of Workers’ Compensation Judge Pamela A. Santoro denying

Claimant’s reinstatement and penalty petitions. We affirm.

Claimant was injured in the course of her employment as a flight

attendant with US Airways (Employer) on August 11, 1993. Employer filed a

notice of compensation payable recognizing the work injury as a right meniscus

tear. By decision and order of August 28, 2000, WCJ Rosalia Parker amended the

description of the work injury to include a left medial meniscus tear.

Employer subsequently filed petitions to terminate/suspend

compensation, and Claimant filed a review petition. The petitions were assigned to

WCJ Parker, who observed Claimant’s live testimony, reviewed surveillance

evidence showing Claimant performing various activities, and considered medical

evidence from both parties. WCJ Parker noted Claimant’s stipulation to job

availability without wage loss, pursuant to a contractual agreement between

Employer and its flight attendants; rejected Claimant’s testimony that she was

unable to work her pre-injury job; and accepted the testimony of Employer’s

medical witness as more credible than that of Claimant’s medical witness, William

G. Carson, M.D., to find that Claimant could perform her pre-injury job without

restrictions.

Accordingly, by order dated July 11, 2005, WCJ Parker denied

Claimant’s review petition and granted Employer’s suspension petition effective

August 12, 2003.1 On appeal, the Board affirmed the suspension of benefits, but

modified WCJ Parker’s decision, in part, to add a left lateral femoral condyle

lesion to the description of the work injury.2

On January 7, 2008, Claimant filed a petition to reinstate benefits,

asserting that her 1993 left knee injury had worsened as of December 1, 2007, and

she could no longer perform her pre-injury job.3 Claimant also filed penalty

1

A suspension of benefits is appropriate where the work injury no longer affects the

claimant’s earning power. See, Landmark Constructors, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Costello), 747 A.2d 850, 852-55 (Pa. 2000). In workers’ compensation law, the term

“disability” means loss of earning power, not a physical disability caused by a work injury. If a

claimant’s work injury results in a loss of earning power, she is entitled to benefits; if not,

benefits are properly suspended. Furnari v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Temple

Inland), 90 A.3d 53, 59 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014).

2

WCJ Parker’s July 2005 decision and the Board’s decision of October 2006 were

admitted as joint exhibits in these proceedings.

3

A claimant seeking a reinstatement of suspended benefits bears the burden of proving

that through no fault of her own her earning power is once again adversely affected by the work

(Footnote continued on next page…)

2

petitions on January 7, 2008, and September 4, 2008, alleging that Employer

violated the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act)4 by refusing to pay for reasonable

and necessary medical treatment.

Claimant, who relocated to Tampa, Florida, testified before WCJ

Santoro at a June 2008 hearing. In pertinent part, she stated that she was working

as a flight attendant in August 1993 when the plane hit turbulence and she slipped

and fell hard on both knees. She has had one surgery on her right knee and two on

her left knee. Claimant testified that the pain in her left knee progressively

worsened over time; in 2006, she was using crutches and her pain was at twelve on

a scale of one to ten. She continues to treat with Dr. Carson and said that she takes

only Tylenol or ibuprofen because anti-inflammatory medications affected her

heart. Claimant stated that Dr. Carson recommended surgery, but she has not

scheduled it. She noted that the insurance company refused to pay for injections

Dr. Carson recommended, and his office has refused further treatment due to non-

payment of bills. Claimant testified that she is unable to return to work because

her knee pain prevents her from performing essential tasks such as kneeling,

bending, squatting, pushing a cart, and walking uphill and downhill. WCJ’s op.,

July 28, 2009, Finding of Fact No. 9.

Claimant also offered the deposition testimony of Dr. Carson, a board-

certified orthopedic surgeon who practices in Tampa and has treated Claimant

(continued…)

injury and the disability that gave rise to the original claim continues. Latta v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Latrobe Die Casting Co.), 642 A.2d 1083, 1084 (Pa. 1994).

4

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2708.

3

since 1993. Dr. Carson stated that Claimant reported a worsening of her pain in

August 2006, and that by January 2007, she had constant pain and prolonged

swelling. An x-ray indicated progression of degenerative changes to Claimant’s

knee, which Dr. Carson opined were directly related to her work injury. 5 An April

2008 MRI showed further tearing of the left knee, which Dr. Carson also attributed

to the work injury. Based on his most recent examination in June 2008, Dr. Carson

believed that Claimant suffered an extensive degenerative tear of the posterior horn

of the left medial meniscus and damage to the articular cartilage at the lateral

femoral condyle, which were caused by and represent a worsening of her work

injury. He further opined that Claimant could not return to her pre-injury position

and that doing so could cause further damage to her knee. WCJ’s op., July 28,

2009, Finding of Fact No. 10. However, he testified that Claimant could perform

computer work or other office work that was sedentary and did not involve

prolonged standing. Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 41a, 56a-57a.

Employer presented the deposition testimony of David Newlin, a team

leader for Inservco Insurance Services (Inservco),6 who assumed responsibility for

Claimant’s file in 2006 and explained why he approved and/or denied payment of

certain bills for Dr. Carson’s services. WCJ’s op., July 28, 2009, Finding of Fact

No. 11.

5

Dr. Carson explained that articular cartilage damage will not improve but instead will

progressively worsen over time. R.R. at 19a-28a; 37a-41a.

6

Inservco serves as a third party administrator for the Workers’ Compensation Security

Fund, established under the Workers’ Compensation Security Fund Act, Act of July 1, 1937, P.L.

2532, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1051-1066, which covers claims for benefits against insolvent

insurers.

4

By decision and order dated July 28, 2009, WCJ Santoro denied

Claimant’s reinstatement and penalty petitions.7 She found the testimony of

Newlin credible and addressed the testimony of Claimant and Dr. Carson as

follows:

12. Claimant’s testimony is found to be neither credible

nor persuasive as to her increasing pain and recurrence of

her injuries, and the resulting disability. This is based in

part on this Judge’s observance of Claimant’s demeanor

at [the] hearing. It is noted that Dr. Carson agreed that

her injuries were largely degenerative in nature. It is

further noted that Claimant only sees Dr. Carson twice

each year, although she describes her pain as twelve on a

scale of one to ten. Therefore, Claimant’s testimony is

rejected in whole.

13. The testimony of Claimant’s medical witness, Dr.

William Carson, Jr., is found to be credible but

unpersuasive as to Claimant’s continuing disability, the

recurrence of her work injuries, the causal relationship

between her injuries and her work with [Employer], and

the reasonableness and necessity of her medical

treatment. It is noted that Dr. Carson characterized

Claimant’s injuries as degenerative in nature. It is further

noted that although [Employer] did not present medical

testimony to refute Dr. Carson’s testimony, Claimant

failed to present clear and convincing evidence to support

her petitions.

WCJ’s op., July 28, 2009, Findings of Fact Nos. 12-13 (emphasis added).

Claimant appealed to the Board. The Board first observed that the

WCJ found Claimant’s testimony not credible and found Dr. Carson’s opinions

unpersuasive. The Board next noted that a WCJ’s credibility determinations are

not subject to appellate review, Greenwich Collieries v. Workers’ Compensation

7

Because Claimant’s appeals to the Board and this Court have focused on the denial of

her review petition, we do not separately address any issues related to penalties.

5

Appeal Board (Buck), 664 A.2d 703, 706 (Pa. Cmwlth 1995). The Board

concluded that Claimant failed to present credible evidence in support of her

petitions and affirmed the WCJ’s decision.

Whereas the Board understood that the WCJ rejected Dr. Carson’s

testimony, on Claimant’s initial appeal, this Court stated that “[c]learly, the WCJ

found Dr. Carson to be credible.” Green v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Green I), 28 A.3d 936, 942 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011). We also concluded that the WCJ

erred in finding Dr. Carson’s testimony to be credible but unpersuasive. “Notably,

the WCJ found Dr. Carson to be credible. In contrast, Employer did not present

any expert testimony regarding the history and present state of Claimant’s work

injury. That notwithstanding, the WCJ found Dr. Carson to be ‘unpersuasive.’”

Id. at 939.

We stated that the WCJ provided no basis for that finding, other than a

reference to Dr. Carson’s characterization of Claimant’s injuries as degenerative in

nature.8 In the absence of another explanation, we determined that the WCJ had

erroneously presupposed that the use of the term “degenerative” precluded a

finding of a causal connection to a prior work injury. Id. at 940-41.

Relying on Sewell v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (City of

Philadelphia), 772 A.2d 93 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001) (reversing a Board decision

because the testimony credited by the WCJ, that the work injury set the claimant’s

degenerative arthritis in motion, supported only an award of benefits), we

concluded that the WCJ in this case likewise found Dr. Carson to be credible, but

8

Although the court noted in Green I that the WCJ found Newlin’s testimony to be

“credible and persuasive,” 28 A.3d at 939, it did not address the WCJ’s rejection of Claimant’s

testimony as not credible. WCJ’s op., July 28, 2009, Finding of Fact No. 12.

6

misread his testimony and misapplied the law to his credited medical opinion. We

stated that “as in Sewell, ‘no reasonable mind could rely upon this testimony to

conclude that [Claimant’s degenerative changes were not attributable to [her] work

injury,’” Green I, 28 A.3d at 942 (quoting Sewell, 772 A.2d at 97). Thus, we held

that the Board erred in affirming the WCJ’s denial of Claimant’s reinstatement

petition, vacated the Board’s decision, and remanded the matter for a new decision

by a WCJ “in accordance with” our opinion. 28 A.3d at 943.

In her April 25, 2014 decision on remand, WCJ Santoro issued new

findings of fact that summarized the procedural history of the case and the

witnesses’ testimony concerning the reinstatement and penalty petitions. The WCJ

again rejected Claimant’s testimony as not credible, citing her demeanor, her

magnified complaints of pain, and her inconsistent testimony.9 The WCJ

9

Finding of Fact No. 9b states:

Based upon the record as a whole, this adjudicator finds that

Claimant’s testimony was not credible or persuasive in whole and

especially with regard to her inability to return to work. Having

had the opportunity to witness Claimant’s demeanor during

testimony as well as her physical movements within the hearing

room, this adjudicator finds that she did not present herself as

being a credible witness. In finding the Claimant’s testimony to

generally not be credible, this adjudicator notes that Claimant

magnified her pain complaints by indicating that her pain was a 10

on a scale where 10 would be pain that causes one to cry

uncontrollably. Furthermore, Claimant informed Dr. Carson that

her pain complaints were a 12 on a scale of 1 to 10, which

reflected exaggeration of her complaints. Furthermore, this Judge

notes that Claimant asserted that her condition was bone on bone

in the knee at the time of hearing, which was different than her

testimony in 2005; however, in Finding of Fact 5(d) in the July 11,

2005 Decision of WCJ Parker, it was reported that Claimant

testified in 2005 that she had bone rubbing on bone. Furthermore,

this Judge notes that Claimant reports that she was required to

(Footnote continued on next page…)

7

acknowledged her prior misunderstanding of Dr. Carson’s testimony but stated that

the misunderstanding ultimately led to her finding that his testimony was

credible.10 On remand, the WCJ credited Dr. Carson’s testimony that Claimant

(continued…)

produce a report from her treating physician appears [sic]

inconsistent with Claimant’s stipulation in the July 11, 2005

Decision of WCJ Parker where Claimant agreed that her pre-injury

job was open and available due to a contract between the Employer

and the flight attendants. Finally, this Judge agrees with WCJ

Parker’s assessment that Claimant settled into a lifestyle with a

presumption of disability.

10

Finding of Fact No 9a (emphasis added) states:

Based upon the remand, this adjudicator was instructed to make

findings based upon the Commonwealth Court’s Decision which

found a capricious disregard for the evidence and a

misunderstanding of Dr. Carson’s testimony. When reviewing the

evidence as a whole, this adjudicator agrees that that [sic]

misunderstanding as to the opinions of Dr. Carson’s testimony, but

this ultimately led to the finding of Dr. Carson to be credible. This

adjudicator specifically rejected Claimant’s testimony of having

suffered a compensable disability as a result of the work injury,

which is in direct conflict with Dr. Carson’s testimony that

Claimant was disabled due to the work injury. Consequently, this

adjudicator resolves this conflict in credibility by once again

finding that Claimant’s testimony of being incapable of performing

her pre-injury job was not believed due to Claimant’s demeanor

during testimony and her exaggeration of pain complaints.

Likewise, the credibility determination of Dr. Carson concerning

Claimant’s disability or alleged inability to work at her pre-injury

position is also rejected as not being credible due in large part to

Dr. Carson’s opinions being in part based upon Claimant’s

subjective pain complaints due to the rejection of the credibility of

Dr. Carson’s testimony that Claimant’s pre-injury position would

bother and wear out her knee further. As Claimant did not

demonstrate that a worsening of her condition caused her to be

disabled, Claimant’s Reinstatement Petition is hereby denied.

8

suffered a worsening of her condition, but she rejected his testimony that the

worsening of her condition caused her to be disabled from her pre-injury position,

explaining that Dr. Carson’s opinions were based in part on Claimant’s incredible

subjective complaints.11 Accordingly, the WCJ again denied Claimant’s

reinstatement and penalty petitions, and the Board affirmed the WCJ’s decision.

On appeal to this Court,12 Claimant argues that: 1) the WCJ’s decision

is not a reasoned decision, as required by Section 422(a) of the Act, 77 P.S. §834;

2) the WCJ capriciously disregarded unrebutted testimony; 3) the WCJ exceeded

the scope of the remand order; and the WCJ improperly applied a heightened

burden of proof in deciding the reinstatement petition.13

11

Finding of Fact No. 9c states:

Based upon the record as a whole, this adjudicator finds Dr.

Carson’s testimony that Claimant suffered a worsening of

condition to be credible as Claimant has some progression of the

left lateral condyle defect and left medial meniscus tear, which

were both caused by the work injury; however, this adjudicator

rejects Dr. Carson’s opinion that worsening of condition caused

Claimant to be disabled from her pre-injury position as a flight

attendant. The rejection of Dr. Carson’s testimony concerning

Claimant’s alleged disability is based in part upon Dr. Carson

having relied upon Claimant’s incredible subjective pain

complaints during his evaluation and Dr. Carson’s admission that

he felt for years that Claimant could not perform the flight

attendant position, which represents an incredible and collateral

attack on the prior Decision of WCJ Parker which found Claimant

to be capable of performing this position.

12

Our scope of review is limited to determining whether an error of law was committed,

whether constitutional rights were violated, or whether necessary findings of fact are supported

by substantial evidence. City of Philadelphia v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Brown),

830 A.2d 649, 653 n.2 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003).

13

We have consolidated and reordered Claimant’s arguments for the sake of clarity.

9

Section 422(a) of the Act provides that

[a]ll parties to an adjudicatory proceeding are entitled to

a reasoned decision containing findings of fact and

conclusions of law based upon the evidence as a whole

which clearly and concisely states and explains the

rationale for the decisions so that all can determine why

and how a particular result was reached. The workers’

compensation judge shall specify the evidence upon

which the workers’ compensation judge relies and state

the reasons for accepting it in conformity with this

section. When faced with conflicting evidence, the

workers’ compensation judge must adequately explain

the reasons for rejecting or discrediting competent

evidence. Uncontroverted evidence may not be rejected

for no reason or for an irrational reason; the workers’

compensation judge must identify that evidence and

explain adequately the reasons for its rejection. The

adjudication shall provide the basis for meaningful

appellate review.

77 P.S. §834 (emphasis added). In this case, Claimant contends that the WCJ’s

decision is not reasoned because “[i]n focusing on Claimant’s demeanor and

perceived exaggeration of [the] severity of [her] pain” as a reason to disregard her

testimony and that of Dr. Carson, “the WCJ failed to consider or address the

overwhelming and uncontroverted objective evidence” that supports their

testimony that Claimant is again disabled by her work injury. (Claimant’s brief at

17.) In making these arguments, Claimant misconstrues the reasoned decision

requirement of the Act. In PEC Contracting Engineers v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Hutchinson), 717 A.2d 1086 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998), we observed:

The requirement that the WCJ adequately explain his

reasons for accepting or rejecting evidence protects the

parties to a decision by ensuring that a legally erroneous

basis for a finding will not lie undiscovered. For

instance, if a WCJ rejects evidence based on an

erroneous conclusion that testimony is equivocal, or that

10

the evidence is hearsay or for some other reason

incompetent, such legal error will be evident and can be

corrected on appeal.

However, the WCJ’s prerogative to determine the

credibility of witnesses and the weight to be accorded

evidence has not been diminished by the amendments to

Section 422(a). Such determinations are binding on

appeal unless made arbitrarily and capriciously.

Id. at 1088-89.

Claimant asserts that the WCJ’s decision is not reasoned because the

WCJ failed to address evidence that supports her testimony and Dr. Carson’s

opinions. However, “in providing an adequate basis for appellate review, the WCJ

is not required to address all of the evidence presented in a proceeding” in her

written adjudication. Daniels v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Tristate

Transport), 753 A.2d 293, 304 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2000), aff’d, 828 A.2d 1043 (Pa.

2003). Instead, to satisfy the “reasoned decision” requirement, a WCJ must only

make findings necessary to resolve the issues raised by the evidence and relevant

to the decision. Pryor v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Colin Service

Systems), 923 A.2d 1197, 1202 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006); Montgomery Tank Lines v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Humphries), 792 A.2d 6, 13 n.10 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2002). Because the WCJ was not required to address all of the evidence

presented, Claimant’s argument in this regard necessarily fails.

Claimant next argues that the WCJ capriciously disregarded Dr.

Carson’s testimony.14 More specifically, Claimant contends that the WCJ erred in

14

Capricious disregard means a deliberate disregard of competent evidence which one of

ordinary intelligence could not possibly have avoided in reaching a result. Leon E. Wintermyer,

Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Marlowe), 812 A.2d 478, 487 n.12 (Pa. 2002).

While the WCJ is free to accept, in whole or in part, the testimony of any witness, she may not

(Footnote continued on next page…)

11

rejecting Dr. Carson’s medical testimony on the basis that he relied in large part on

Claimant’s subjective, exaggerated complaints. Claimant relies on Sewell as

holding that a WCJ may not discredit a medical expert’s opinion merely because it

is based on the personal history provided by the claimant. However, Claimant

either misstates or misapprehends the holding in Sewell. In that case we

acknowledged that a personal history provided by a claimant may provide a

sufficient foundation to support a competent expert medical opinion. Id. at 97-98.

In doing so, we explained that “[e]xpert medical testimony is not rendered

incompetent merely because it is premised upon the expert’s assumption of the

truthfulness of information, unless that information is not proven by competent

evidence or is rejected by the WCJ.” Id. (emphasis added).

Here, the WCJ rejected Dr. Carson’s opinion because it was based in

large part on information provided by Claimant that was rejected by the WCJ.

Contrary to Claimant’s contentions, this result is consistent with our analysis in

Sewell.

Claimant also argues that the WCJ exceeded the scope of the remand

order. We disagree. A WCJ must restrict her decision on remand to the

instructions within the remand order. Teter v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Pinnacle Health System), 886 A.2d 721 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005); Clark v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Wonder Bread Co.), 703 A.2d 740 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1997). Importantly, however, the WCJ “is not required to produce the

same result as the initial decision . . . .” Teter, 886 A.2d at 723.

(continued…)

capriciously disregard evidence. Reed v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Allied Signal

Inc.), 114 A.3d 464, 470 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015).

12

In Teter, the WCJ initially found the claimant’s experts credible and

the employer’s expert not credible and granted the claimant’s claim petition. The

employer appealed, and the Board remanded to the WCJ with instructions to

summarize the testimony of the employer’s medical witness and explain the basis

for his credibility determinations regarding the expert medical testimony. On

remand, the WCJ found the employer’s expert credible, and he relied on that

testimony to terminate benefits as of a certain date. The claimant then appealed,

asserting that the WCJ could not change his credibility determination on remand,

as doing so it was beyond the scope of the remand order. The Board rejected that

assertion, and this Court affirmed the Board.

We explained that the WCJ was required on remand to review the

medical testimony and state the basis for his determinations, but a WCJ is not

required to produce the same outcome on remand, as long as he stays within the

boundaries of the remand order. Id. On remand, the WCJ in Teter reviewed and

summarized the medical experts’ testimony; made new credibility determinations;

and provided an explanation for those credibility determinations. We held that the

WCJ did not err in reaching a different outcome because the remand order did not

require the WCJ to produce the same result as the initial decision. Id.

Teter is dispositive here. In Green I, because the WCJ found Dr.

Carson to be credible, but not persuasive, it appeared that the WCJ rejected Dr.

Carson’s opinion based solely on a misunderstanding of the law. In accord with

Sewell, we observed that “no reasonable mind could rely upon [Dr. Carson’s]

testimony to conclude that [Claimant’s] degenerative changes were not attributable

13

to [her] work injury.” 28 A.3d at 942 (emphasis added). Rather than reverse, as

we did in Sewell, we vacated and remanded the matter for a new decision.15

Our instruction on remand was the issuance of a new decision that

was “in accordance with” our opinion. 28 A.3d at 943. On remand, the WCJ more

clearly explained her credibility determinations. The WCJ again rejected

Claimant’s testimony, citing, inter alia, Claimant’s demeanor. As to Dr. Carson’s

testimony, the WCJ found it credible in part, accepting his testimony that

Claimant’s condition had worsened, but rejecting as not credible his opinion that

Claimant was unable to return to her pre-injury job because that opinion was based

largely on Claimant’s subjective and discredited complaints. As reflected in the

remand decision, the WCJ did not “rely on Dr. Carson’s testimony” in its entirety

to conclude that Claimant was not disabled due to her work injury. Moreover, the

WCJ’s remand decision provides the same outcome. We discern no error. Teter.

15

We recognize that it is not uncommon for a WCJ to use phrases such as “credible and

persuasive” or “credible but not persuasive.” See, e.g., City of Philadelphia v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Rilling), 827 A.2d 1258, 1260 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) (“WCJ

Newman found that the testimony of Drs. Pietra and Rodman was credible and persuasive, but

that of Dr. Gelfand was not.”); Haddon Craftsmen, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Krouchick), 809 A.2d 434, 437 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2002) (“The WCJ accepted as credible and

persuasive the testimony of all of Claimant’s witnesses [and] accepted Employer’s witnesses as

credible, but not persuasive.”); and Kashuba v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Hickox

Construction), 713 A.2d 169, 170 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998) (emphasis added) (“The WCJ accepted

Claimant’s testimony as credible and persuasive concerning his agreement with Employer . . . .

The WCJ accepted the testimony of both certified public accountants as credible, but not

persuasive, concerning the actual market value of Claimant’s services.”). In most instances, the

use of these terms as reflecting a WCJ’s assessment that the witness is testifying truthfully

(stating the truth as he or she believes it) but not, necessarily, convincingly. In Green I, however,

the WCJ’s additional references to the degenerative nature of Claimant’s condition raised the

possibility that the WCJ erred or misunderstood the law, necessitating remand.

14

Finally, we reject Claimant’s assertion that the WCJ applied an

improperly heightened burden of proof in deciding the reinstatement petition. As

Claimant acknowledges, her burden was to prove that through no fault of her own,

her earning power is once again adversely affected by her injury and the disability

that gave rise to her original claim continues. Latta. Here, the WCJ denied

reinstatement because Claimant failed to establish that any disability resulting from

the work injury had recurred.

Accordingly, we affirm.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

15

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Susan (Nawn) Green, :

: No. 383 C.D. 2016

Petitioner :

:

v. :

:

Workers' Compensation :

Appeal Board (US Airways), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 24th day of February, 2017, the order of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board, dated February 9, 2016, is affirmed.

__________________________________

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.