Opinion

Mitchell v. Village of Barrington

  • 2016 IL App (1st) 153094
Court
Appellate Court of Illinois
Filed
Jan 24, 2017
Status
Published
Cited by
11 cases
Authority
More cited than 61.5%

The opinion

Digitally signed by

Reporter of Decisions

Illinois Official Reports Reason: I attest to the

accuracy and

integrity of this

document

Appellate Court Date: 2017.01.23

08:26:22 -06'00'

Mitchell v. Village of Barrington, 2016 IL App (1st) 153094

Appellate Court JODIE MITCHELL, Plaintiff-Appellant, v. VILLAGE OF

Caption BARRINGTON, an Illinois Municipal Corporation, Defendant-

Appellee.

District & No. First District, Fourth Division

Docket No. 1-15-3094

Rule 23 order filed September 8, 2016

Rule 23 order

withdrawn November 23, 2016

Opinion filed November 23, 2016

Decision Under Appeal from the Circuit Court of Cook County, No. 12-CH-34218; the

Review Hon. David B. Atkins, Judge, presiding.

Judgment Affirmed.

Counsel on Barbara J. Bell, of Arlington Heights, for appellant.

Appeal

James J. Powers, of Clark Baird Smith LLP, of Rosemont, for

appellee.

Panel JUSTICE HOWSE delivered the judgment of the court, with opinion.

Justices McBride and Burke concurred in the judgment and opinion.

OPINION

¶1 Plaintiff Jodie Mitchell was employed as a paramedic for defendant Village of Barrington

(Village). In 2007, Mitchell sustained an injury while on the job. The Village eventually

determined that Mitchell’s injury prevented her from being able to perform her duties and

terminated her from that position. Mitchell later sought health care benefits under the Public

Safety Employee Benefits Act (Act) (820 ILCS 320/1 et seq. (West 2012)), and the Village

denied that request, finding she was not covered under the Act. Mitchell subsequently

submitted a formal application for benefits under the Act, and her request was again denied.

Mitchell filed this lawsuit, seeking benefits under the Act. The Village filed a motion for

summary judgment and the trial court granted that motion finding Mitchell’s claims were

barred by the doctrine of laches. Mitchell now appeals the trial court’s ruling on summary

judgment.

¶2 Background

¶3 On January 21, 2007, Mitchell responded to a call-for-service at a residential home in

Barrington by driving an ambulance. Upon exiting the ambulance, Mitchell slipped on a patch

of ice and injured her back. Mitchell worked several of her following shift days, but then went

on a medical leave of absence in April 2007.

¶4 The Village terminated Mitchell’s employment in January 2008, issuing her termination

letter on January 29, 2008. In the letter, the Village explained that “you are at maximum

medical improvement, and it appears there will be no significant change in your medical

condition in the foreseeable future.” The letter went on to explain that because of Mitchell’s

“ongoing inability to perform [her] job duties, the Village of Barrington Board of Trustees at

its January 28, 2008 Board Meeting acted on a motion authorizing and approving [her]

separation from employment.”

¶5 Mitchell disagreed that there would be no significant change in her medical condition and

that the Village “jumped the gun” in terminating her, believing that she would have been able

to come back to work soon.

¶6 After her termination, Mitchell sought health insurance benefits under the Act (820 ILCS

320/1 et seq. (West 2012)). The Act provides for health benefits for firefighters who suffer

catastrophic injuries in the line of duty. Section 10(a) of the Act states:

“An employer who employs a full-time law enforcement, correctional or correctional

probation officer, or firefighter, who, on or after the effective date of this Act suffers a

catastrophic injury or is killed in the line of duty shall pay the entire premium of the

employer’s health insurance plan for the injured employee, the injured employee’s

spouse, and for each dependent child of the injured employee until the child reaches the

age of majority or until the end of the calendar year in which the child reaches the age

of 25 if the child continues to be dependent for support or the child is a full-time or

part-time student and is dependent for support.” 820 ILCS 320/10(a) (West 2012).

-2-

¶7 To determine whether Mitchell is eligible for benefits under the Act, it is necessary to

examine the history of Mitchell’s employment with the Village. Mitchell was hired by the

Village on August 1, 1988 as a “paramedic.” At the time of that hire, Mitchell did not

participate in any type of testing process administered by the Village’s Board of Fire and

Police Commissioners as that Board did not exist in 1988. At the time Mitchell was hired, she

already possessed a “Firefighter II” certification from a prior employer. Mitchell was not

required to have that certification for her paramedic position with the Village. When hired,

Mitchell worked a traditional 24-hour on, 48-hour off schedule.

¶8 In 1994, the Village decided to convert its paramedic positions to full-time firefighters.

Accordingly, the Village sent Mitchell and other paramedics a letter in March 1994 offering

the paramedics an opportunity to become sworn full-time “Firefighters/Paramedics” who

would be subject to appointments and promotions by the Village’s Board of Fire and Police

Commissioners. Among other things, the letter clarified that any paramedic that declined the

offer “will continue to be classified as a Civilian Paramedic under the Village’s Pay Plan with

continuing participation in the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund.” For personal reasons,

Mitchell declined the Village’s offer to become a sworn firefighter/paramedic and thus

remained a civilian paramedic.

¶9 In June 1999, the Village’s manager sent Mitchell a letter explaining a potential staffing

concern that had arisen due to the “two-in, two-out” respirator protection standards that had

been promulgated by the U.S. Department of Labor. The letter also confirmed that Mitchell

preferred to remain a civilian paramedic instead of becoming a full-time firefighter.

¶ 10 As a result of the Village’s need to comply with the new “two-in, two-out” regulations and

address Mitchell’s desire to remain a paramedic with her same responsibilities and duties, the

Village offered Mitchell the following arrangement:

“It has therefore been determined that you may continue as a paramedic working a

24/48 hour shift schedule and meet the requirements of the standard beyond September

1999 provided you are qualified to assist with fire suppression and related duties. The

Village has determined that in order for you to do so the following requirements must

be met:

— Maintain certification as Firefighter II.

— Successfully complete a program of annual training, defined by the Fire Chief

to meet rescue/fire suppression team operations requirements. A portion of this

training may be provided outside of the normal work schedule.

— Successfully demonstrate the ability to meet any standards required of a rescuer

wearing self-contained breathing apparatus.

— Continue to meet all job requirements for that of paramedic including that of

rescuing persons within burning structures where atmospheres are immediately

dangerous to life and health.”

¶ 11 On August 11, 1999, then-Fire Chief Danley sent Mitchell a memo that further clarified

that the types of standards that she would be expected to satisfy when assisting with fire

suppression. The memo clarified that “[i]t is intended that you would not normally be assigned

as part of the initial attack crew.” Only firefighter/paramedics would have been assigned to the

“initial attack crew.”

-3-

¶ 12 Mitchell ultimately agreed to the arrangement that had been proposed by Village manager

Irvin, which allowed her to remain a civilian paramedic, and Mitchell’s agreement was

expressed by signing the bottom of the Village Manager’s June 1999 letter.

¶ 13 After 1999, Mitchell remained a civilian paramedic with the Village’s fire department. She

was paid in accordance with the wage scales found in the collective bargaining agreements

negotiated between the Village and International Association of Firefighters (Union). The

Union was Mitchell’s exclusive bargaining representative for purposes of negotiating wages,

hours, and other terms and conditions of employment. The Union negotiated hourly rates for

Mitchell that consistently ranged from 7.5% to 9.6% less than the wages for full-time

firefighter/paramedics. In accordance with the lower pay, Mitchell’s duties were less than

those of a full-time sworn firefighter. Mitchell presented no evidence that her job title with the

Village was ever changed from civilian paramedic to full-time firefighter or sworn

firefighter/paramedic.

¶ 14 After her injury, Mitchell was represented by an attorney, Thomas Duda, for purposes of a

workers’ compensation claim against the Village. On August 31, 2009, Duda wrote a letter to

the Village’s human resources coordinator, Julie Meyer, regarding “Jodie A. Mitchell v.

Village of Barrington Fire Department, Demand for Payment of Health Premiums per the Act,

820 ILCS 320/10.” In that letter, Duda stated that he represented Mitchell in the workers’

compensation claim against the Village, and then demanded payment by the Village of

Mitchell’s past and future health insurance premiums pursuant to section 10 of the Act (820

ILCS 320/10 (West 2008)).

¶ 15 In response, on November 3, 2009, the Village’s attorney wrote to Duda, denying the

request for health care premiums pursuant to section 10 and stated: “Ms. Mitchell is not a

firefighter covered by the Act, nor was she a sworn member of the Fire Department. Thus, by

definition, she is not eligible for consideration for this benefit.” The letter went on to state:

“Should you disagree with this position, you are welcome to submit any and all evidence you

have that demonstrates Ms. Mitchell should be covered by the Act. If she is covered, the

Village would of course review her application at that time and determine whether her injury

qualifies her for benefits.”

¶ 16 On March 24, 2011, Duda wrote to the Village to again demand Mitchell’s health

insurance premiums. Specifically, the letter states: “The undersigned is writing once again

now that the above-captioned claims have been settled to demand payment of health insurance

premium benefits for Jodie A. Mitchell who suffered a catastrophic injury while responding to

an actual emergency on January 21, 2007. Attached is a copy of the previous correspondence

forwarded to your attention with no response. Once again we are demanding for compliance

with statutory obligations by the Village. To date, no ‘decision’ has been communicated to

your former employee or this office.”

¶ 17 On April 1, 2011, the Village’s attorney responded that the Village had responded to the

demand for health insurance premiums back in November 2009, wherein the attorney made it

clear that he did not believe Mitchell was covered by the Act (820 ILCS 320/1 et seq. (West

2012)), because she was never a sworn employee. The letter went on to state: “We invited you

and your client to submit a response if you disagreed. You never provided a response and,

hence, we considered the matter closed. We believe your attempt—over a year later—to revive

this claim is untimely. Without waiving our position on this matter, however, should you

disagree and truly believe your client is entitled to benefits, your client is welcome to complete

-4-

the enclosed application and submit any and all evidence you have that demonstrates: (i) Ms.

Mitchell is covered by the Act; (ii) she is eligible for benefits, and (iii) this renewed demand is

timely.”

¶ 18 On April 4, 2011, Beverly Zak, a representative from Duda’s law office, forwarded the

application to Mitchell to fill out so that it could then be submitted to the Village.

¶ 19 On May 3, 2011, Duda wrote to Mitchell and stated that he had been advised that Mitchell

retained a new attorney, Stanley Jakala, to represent her case to recover health care premiums

pursuant to section 10. The letter then advised that Duda would not be “opening a file and not

undertaking to represent you in this regard in any fashion.”

¶ 20 On September 2, 2011, Mitchell’s new counsel, Jakala, wrote to the Village, advising that

he was now representing Mitchell and that Mitchell was renewing her rights to health care

benefits pursuant to the Act. The letter also enclosed Mitchell’s application for Public Safety

Employee Benefits Act benefits, which she had signed and dated on May 21, 2011.

¶ 21 On April 26, 2012, Mitchell’s amended complaint states the Village’s attorney denied her

health insurance benefits based on her Public Safety Employee Benefits Act application.

¶ 22 On September 10, 2012, Mitchell filed her Complaint for Declaratory Judgment against the

Village, seeking health insurance benefits under the Act. She filed a first amended complaint

on April 12, 2013. In the amended complaint, Mitchell alleged that her duties as a licensed

emergency technician/paramedic “were the same as the paramedic duties performed by sworn

paramedics/firefighters who were employed by the Village.” The amended complaint also

stated that Mitchell was “never a sworn firefighter” and that she had been a paramedic for the

Village for her entire career “without her being appointed to that position by the Fire and

Police Commission of Barrington.”

¶ 23 After the close of discovery, the Village filed a motion for summary judgment on April 7,

2015. In its motion, the Village argued that it was entitled to summary judgment because: (1)

Mitchell’s complaint was barred by the five-year statute of limitations, (2) Mitchell’s

deposition testimony proved that she had not suffered a “catastrophic injury” within the

meaning of the Act, (3) the undisputed record evidence showed that Mitchell was not a

full-time sworn firefighter for eligibility purposes under the Act, and (4) Mitchell was guilty of

laches. The motion also argued that the Village had a rational basis in declining health care

benefits to Mitchell, thereby defeating Mitchell’s equal protection claim. Following briefing

and oral arguments on the motion for summary judgment, the trial court granted summary

judgment in favor of the Village based on its finding that Mitchell’s claim was barred under the

doctrine of laches and its finding that Mitchell failed to prove her constitutional equal

protection claim. With respect to laches, the trial court’s order found that there was a 16-month

delay between the time the Village denied Mitchell’s request for health care benefits pursuant

to the Act and the time she reasserted her request for the health care benefits and filed a formal

request. The court found that “[b]ecause Mitchell inexplicably waited significantly longer than

a six month time period to even make an attempt to reassert her rights, the court finds that such

a delay was unreasonable.” With respect to the equal protection claim, the court found that the

Village offered several rational reasons why it treated civilian paramedics differently than

full-time firefighters: “Barrington notes that Mitchell did not have the same responsibilities,

and thus was not exposed to the same dangers, as those that receive PSEBA benefits in that

Mitchell could not enter burning buildings as part of a first ‘attack team’ and she generally did

not perform engineer driving and pumping duties on a full-time basis.” In granting the

-5-

Village’s motion for summary judgment on those two grounds, the trial court did not consider

the other arguments the Village made in support of summary judgment. For the reasons that

follow, we affirm the trial court’s ruling granting summary judgment in favor of the Village.

¶ 24 Analysis

¶ 25 Summary judgment is appropriate when the pleadings, depositions, and admissions on file,

together with any affidavits, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that

the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. Forsythe v. Clark USA, Inc., 224

Ill. 2d 274, 280 (2007). The purpose of summary judgment is not to try an issue of fact, but to

determine if one exists. Id. In reviewing a grant of summary judgment, the appellate court will

construe the record strictly against the movant and liberally in favor of the nonmoving party.

Id. Summary judgment should not be allowed unless the moving party’s right to judgment is

clear and free from doubt. Id. If the undisputed facts could lead reasonable observers to

divergent inferences, or if there is a dispute as to a material fact, summary judgment should be

denied. Id. We review a grant of summary judgment de novo. Id. We may affirm a grant of

summary judgment on any basis appearing in the record, “ ‘whether or not the [circuit] court

relied on that basis or its reasoning was correct.’ ” Urban Sites of Chicago, LLC v. Crown

Castle USA, 2012 IL App (1st) 111880, ¶ 21 (quoting Freedberg v. Ohio National Insurance

Co., 2012 IL App (1st) 110938, ¶ 26).

¶ 26 In its motion for summary judgment and on appeal, the Village argued that it was entitled

to summary judgment because: (1) Mitchell’s complaint was barred by the five-year statute of

limitations, (2) Mitchell’s deposition testimony proved that she had not suffered a

“catastrophic injury” within the meaning of the Act, (3) the undisputed record evidence

showed that Mitchell was not a full-time sworn firefighter for eligibility purposes under the

Act, and (4) Mitchell was guilty of laches. The motion also argued that the Village had a

rational basis in declining health care benefits to Mitchell, thereby defeating Mitchell’s equal

protection claim. The trial court found that Mitchell’s claim was barred under the doctrine of

laches. On review, the appellate court reviews the judgment of the court and not the reasons

given for that judgment (Nelson v. Aurora Equipment Co., 391 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1044 (2009)),

and we may affirm the trial court based on any reason found in the record. Urban Sites of

Chicago, LLC, 2012 IL App (1st) 111880, ¶ 21.

¶ 27 On appeal, Mitchell argues that she is entitled to benefits under the Act because she should

be considered a “firefighter” within the meaning of the Act. The Village argued in both the trial

court and on appeal that Mitchell was not eligible for benefits under the Act because she was

not a full-time firefighter or a sworn firefighter/paramedic. We will first consider the issue of

Mitchell’s eligibility for benefits under the Act because the resolution of this issue may be

dispositive of all the issues in this case.

¶ 28 The Act provides enhanced health care benefits for full-time firefighters and their families

if the firefighter is killed or suffers a catastrophic injury in the line of duty. Section 10(a) of the

Act states:

“An employer who employs a full-time law enforcement, correctional or correctional

probation officer, or firefighter, who, on or after the effective date of this Act suffers a

catastrophic injury or is killed in the line of duty shall pay the entire premium of the

employer’s health insurance plan for the injured employee, the injured employee’s

spouse, and for each dependent child of the injured employee until the child reaches the

-6-

age of majority or until the end of the calendar year in which the child reaches the age

of 25 if the child continues to be dependent for support or the child is a full-time or

part-time student and is dependent for support.” 820 ILCS 320/10(a) (West 2012).

The legislature modified the Act to add that the definition of a firefighter included licensed

emergency medical technicians (EMTs) who are sworn members of a public fire department.

Specifically, section 3 of the Act provides: “For the purposes of this Act, the term ‘firefighter’

includes, without limitation, a licensed emergency medical technician (EMT) who is a sworn

member of a public fire department.” 820 ILCS 320/3 (West 2012). We can determine whether

Mitchell was eligible for health insurance benefits under the Act by interpreting the language

of the statute.

¶ 29 The rule of statutory construction is to give effect to legislative intent. Solich v. George &

Anna Portes Cancer Prevention Center of Chicago, Inc., 158 Ill. 2d 76, 81 (1994). The

language of the statute is the best indication of legislative intent. Id. If the language is clear and

unambiguous, we give the terms their ordinary meaning and interpret the language without

reference to extrinsic materials. Chestnut Corp. v. Pestine, Brinati, Gamer, Ltd., 281 Ill. App.

3d 719, 723 (1996). The presence of surplusage should not be presumed in statutory

construction and each word, clause, or sentence must, if possible, be given some reasonable

meaning. Hirschfield v. Barrett, 40 Ill. 2d 224, 230 (1968); Stroger v. Regional Transportation

Authority, 201 Ill. 2d 508, 524 (2002) (a statute must be construed as a whole and, if possible,

in a manner such that no term is rendered meaningless or superfluous).

¶ 30 First, Mitchell presented no evidence that her job classification with the Village was as a

full-time firefighter or sworn firefighter/paramedic. Instead, Mitchell argues that she should be

considered a firefighter within the meaning of the Act because she claims she performed duties

from time to time that were similar to that of a full-time firefighter. Initially, we note the

Village offered Mitchell the opportunity to become a sworn firefighter/paramedic on at least

two occasions and Mitchell insisted that she remain a civilian paramedic and was therefore

paid at a pay rate lower than a full-time firefighter or sworn firefighter/paramedic.

¶ 31 The record demonstrates that Mitchell was trained to perform some limited support roles to

firefighters, such as locating fire hydrants, laying and connecting the hose, carrying ladders,

changing air packs, etc. Mitchell was allowed to go into a hazardous atmosphere to rescue one

of the Village’s firefighters or paramedics, but she was not allowed to rescue a member of the

public. Mitchell was never trained to be part of an initial attack crew, and only

firefighters/paramedics would be assigned as part of an initial attack crew. Nonetheless, we

note the record shows Mitchell’s job title and primary job duty was as a paramedic. Although

Mitchell had a support role for firefighters, we see no merit to her claim she is a full-time

firefighter. Moreover, Mitchell’s argument that she should be considered a full-time firefighter

instead of a civilian paramedic because of her support role for firefighting fails as a matter of

law. The argument has been considered by this court before and rejected in the context of

pension benefits. McLear v. Village of Barrington, 392 Ill. App. 3d 664, 670 (2009). In

McLear, the plaintiffs claimed that they should be classified as “firefighters” for purposes of

transferring pension funds because they participated in firefighting activities, in addition to

paramedic duties, while responding to emergency calls for the Village. Id. In finding that the

plaintiffs could not be considered “firefighters” for purposes of receiving additional pension

funds, the court reasoned:

-7-

“[T]he sole authority to issue certificates of appointment must rest in the board of fire

and police commissioners. Here, the plaintiffs were not appointed by the board of fire

and police commissioners as firefighters until 1995, when they also underwent

physical agility, polygraph, and psychological exams as part of the process of being

appointed. See 65 ILCS 5/10-2.1-6(h) (West 2006).” Id. at 673.

As such, in McLear, the court recognized that a paramedic cannot be classified as a

“firefighter,” even if he or she participated in firefighter duties, until he or she is appointed a

firefighter, i.e., becomes a sworn firefighter. Here, Mitchell was never appointed to become a

sworn firefighter and, in fact, expressed her desire on numerous occasions not to assume those

additional responsibilities or become a sworn member of the fire department. Although

McLear concerned pension rights, we see no convincing reason why we should depart from the

rationale in McLear. As such, because Mitchell did not fall within the purview of the Act, she

is not entitled to health insurance benefits under the Act.

¶ 32 Mitchell also argues that she is a “firefighter” as provided under the amended definition to

the Act, which defines firefighters as including licensed EMTs who are sworn members of a

fire department. Mitchell argues that because the Act provides that a firefighter under the Act

“includes, without limitation” “sworn” EMTs, it does not exclude “unsworn” paramedics and

EMTs. We disagree. The amended statute provides: “For the purposes of this Act, the term

‘firefighter’ includes, without limitation, a licensed emergency medical technician (EMT) who

is a sworn member of a public fire department.” 820 ILCS 320/3 (West 2012).

¶ 33 Mitchell concedes in her complaint and first amended complaint that she “was never a

sworn firefighter.” The admissions in her pleadings constitute judicial admissions. Konstant

Products, Inc. v. Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co., 401 Ill. App. 3d 83, 86 (2010) (“A party’s

admissions contained in an original verified pleading are judicial admissions ***.”);

Knauerhaze v. Nelson, 361 Ill. App. 3d 538, 557 (2005) (a statement of fact that has been

admitted in a pleading is a judicial admission and is binding on the party making it). Given the

fact that Mitchell was never a sworn member of the fire department, she does not fall within the

purview of the Act, which requires her to be a licensed EMT “who is a sworn member of a

public fire department.” (Emphasis added.) 820 ILCS 320/3 (West 2012); Stroger, 201 Ill. 2d

at 524 (a statute must be construed as a whole and, if possible, in a manner such that no term is

rendered meaningless or superfluous).

¶ 34 To read the statute as suggested by Mitchell—that both “sworn” and “unsworn” EMTs are

included in the amended definition of a firefighter—would render the legislature’s use of the

word “sworn” superfluous. If the legislature had intended to include both “sworn” and

“unsworn” licensed EMTs in its definition of a firefighter, the legislature could have simply

eliminated the word “sworn” when it drafted the amendment and simply defined firefighter as

to include licensed EMTs. However, it did not do this. We cannot interpret a statute to render a

term or phrase superfluous. Hirschfield v. Barrett, 40 Ill. 2d 224, 230 (1968) (the presence of

surplusage should not be presumed in statutory construction and each word, clause or sentence

must, if possible, be given some reasonable meaning); Stroger, 201 Ill. 2d at 524 (a statute

must be construed as a whole and, if possible, in a manner such that no term is rendered

meaningless or superfluous). Based on principles of statutory construction, we reject

Mitchell’s argument that the amended definition of a firefighter includes both sworn and

unsworn EMTs.

-8-

¶ 35 Further, “it is a fundamental principle of statutory construction that the express mention of

one thing in a statute excludes all other things not mentioned.” Requena v. Cook County

Officers Electoral Board, 295 Ill. App. 3d 728, 733 (1998); see also People v. Fink, 94 Ill. App.

3d 816 (1981). In this case, the legislature amended the statute so that the term firefighter also

included licensed EMTs who are sworn members of a public fire department. Under statutory

construction jurisprudence, the inclusion of “sworn” licensed emergency medical technicians

excludes other positions not mentioned, including “unsworn” licensed emergency medical

technicians. Therefore, we reject Mitchell’s argument that unsworn civilian paramedics are

considered firefighters under the amended definition of a firefighter contained in the Act.

¶ 36 Finally, we find Mitchell’s equal protection clause claim also fails. Mitchell argues that, in

denying her claim for health insurance benefits under the Act, the Village is impermissibly

treating civilian paramedics differently than full-time firefighters in violation of her equal

protection rights. Whether the Act violates constitutional rights is a question of law, which we

review de novo. Jacobson v. Department of Public Aid, 171 Ill. 2d 314, 323 (1996). We

interpret a statute as constitutional if “reasonably possible.” In re Jonathon C.B., 2011 IL

107750, ¶ 79. The Supreme Court of Illinois routinely recognizes that statutes have a strong

presumption of constitutionality. People v. Sharpe, 216 Ill. 2d 481, 486-87 (2005). To defeat

this presumption the party challenging must “clearly establish” the alleged constitutional

violation. Id. at 487.

¶ 37 The equal protection analysis is the same under either the Illinois or United States

Constitution. People v. Shephard, 152 Ill. 2d 489, 499 (1992); U.S. Const., amend. XIV, § 1;

Ill. Const. 1970, art. I, § 2. The equal protection clause “guarantees that similarly situated

individuals will be treated in a similar fashion, unless the government can demonstrate an

appropriate reason to treat them differently.” In re Jonathon C.B., 2011 IL 107750, ¶ 116. This

guarantee allows the legislature to create distinctions between different groups of people as

long as that distinction avoids “criteria wholly unrelated to the legislation’s purpose.” Id. The

rational basis test, which the parties concede is that test to be applied here (Majid v. Retirement

Board of Policemen’s Annuity & Benefit Fund, 2015 IL App (1st) 132182, ¶ 48 (“[t]he

deferential rational basis test applies to a statutory classification that does not affect

fundamental rights or create a suspect classification”)), “simply inquires whether the means

employed by the statute to achieve the stated purpose of the legislation are rationally related to

that goal.” People v. Breedlove, 213 Ill. 2d 509, 518 (2004). The court will not make this

rational basis inquiry, however, until the movant proves he or she is similarly situated to the

comparison group. People v. Masterson, 2011 IL 110072, ¶ 25 (“As a threshold matter,

though, it is axiomatic that an equal protection claim requires a showing that the individual

raising it is similarly situated to the comparison group.”). If a movant cannot meet this

preliminary threshold, the equal protection claim fails. People v. Whitfield, 228 Ill. 2d 502, 512

(2007).

¶ 38 First, Mitchell’s equal protection claim fails because she has presented no evidence to

show how full-time sworn firefighters are similarly situated to unsworn civilian paramedics

like her. Id. at 513 (if a movant cannot meet this preliminary threshold in showing that she is

similarly situated to the comparison group, the equal protection claim fails).

¶ 39 Second, assuming Mitchell had properly presented her equal protection argument and

shown that she is similarly situated to sworn firefighter/paramedics who receive enhanced

health insurance benefits under the Act, we find that there is a rational basis for the Village to

-9-

treat civilian paramedics like Mitchell differently than full-time firefighters and sworn

firefighter/paramedics for purposes of providing health care benefits. Majid, 2015 IL App (1st)

132182, ¶ 48 (“The deferential rational basis test applies to a statutory classification that does

not affect fundamental rights or create a suspect classification.”). First, the State legislature has

enacted laws that require employers to bear the increased costs of enhanced insurance

coverage for full-time firefighters and sworn EMTs. The legislature did not require employers,

such as the Village, to bear increased costs to provide enhanced insurance for civilian

paramedics. Furthermore, we note that full-time firefighters and sworn firefighters/paramedics

are required to perform more tasks—and specifically dangerous, life-threatening tasks—that

civilian paramedics are not required to perform. In other words, civilian paramedics are not

required to perform the same dangerous tasks as sworn firefighter/paramedics and full-time

firefighters. The employers of firefighters and firefighter/paramedics should be able to provide

those employees with enhanced health care benefits as an incentive for them to perform their

dangerous jobs without the employer also incurring the additional financial burden of

providing the enhanced health care coverage to other employees with less dangerous jobs like

civilian paramedics. Sworn firefighter/paramedics and full-time firefighters should be able to

perform the dangerous work required of them with the knowledge that if they suffer a

catastrophic injury that prevents them from returning to work, they will receive enhanced

insurance coverage. “If a court can reasonably conceive of circumstances that justify

distinguishing the class benefitted by the statute from the class outside its scope, the

classification is constitutional.” (Internal quotation marks omitted.) Id. Thus, because the

Village had a rational basis to treat full-time firefighters and sworn firefighters/paramedics

differently than civilian paramedics, Mitchell’s equal protection claim fails. Based on our

finding that Mitchell was not eligible for benefits under the Act and our resolution of the equal

protection argument, it is not necessary to address the other arguments raised by the parties.

¶ 40 Conclusion

¶ 41 For the reasons above, we affirm the trial court’s ruling granting summary judgment in

favor of the Village.

¶ 42 Affirmed.

- 10 -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.