Opinion

C. Martzen v. WCAB (Jo-Ann Stores)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Aug 2, 2016
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Colins, Senior Judge
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 2.6%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Cindi Martzen, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 436 C.D. 2015

: Submitted: February 12, 2016

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board :

(Jo-Ann Stores), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE JAMES GARDNER COLINS, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION BY

SENIOR JUDGE COLINS FILED: August 2, 2016

Cindi Martzen (Claimant) petitions for review of an order of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) that affirmed the decision and

order of a Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) denying two claim petitions filed

by Claimant against Jo-Ann Stores (Employer) relating to an alleged workplace

injury that occurred on July 6, 2012. For the reasons that follow, we affirm the

order of the Board.

On August 23, 2012, Claimant filed a claim petition in which she

asserted that she sustained a workplace injury to her neck, back and legs on July 6,

2012 when she was moving a rack containing baskets of clothing that tipped over

and caused Claimant to fall backwards to the ground. (Reproduced Record (R.R.)

at 2-4.) Claimant filed a second claim petition on May 30, 2013, in which she

alleges that she suffered a disfigurement resulting from surgery related to the July

6, 2012 injury. (R.R. at 12-14.) Employer filed answers to both claim petitions,

denying that Claimant sustained work-related injuries. (R.R. at 8-9, 19-20.)

Claimant had previously sustained a work injury on January 12, 2011 while

working for Employer, described as a “lumbar spine, strain/sprain possible disc

injury”; Employer accepted this injury through a medical-only notice of

compensation payable. (WCJ Decision and Order, Finding of Fact (F.F.) ¶2.) At

the time the WCJ issued his decision in this matter, a suspension petition regarding

the January 12, 2011 injury was pending. (WCJ Decision at 3 n.1.) The WCJ

stated in his decision that the proceedings related to the two injuries were not

consolidated because Employer was represented by different insurance carriers at

the time of the two incidents. (Id.)

In support of the claim petition, Claimant testified that she began

working for Employer in 2009 as a store supervisor. (Claimant Dep. at 7-8, R.R. at

133-134.) Claimant testified that on January 12, 2011, she fell off a ladder while at

work; following her injury, she began treatment with Dr. O’Dell, the workers’

compensation panel physician, who concentrated his treatment on Claimant’s back

and hip despite her complaints of pain in her neck, shoulder and arm. (Id. at 7-10,

R.R. at 133-136.) Claimant returned to work after four months but was never

completely pain free and her work activities were limited to prevent bending over

for long periods of time. (Id. at 8, 10-12, R.R. at 134, 136-138.) In late June 2012,

Claimant testified that she felt pain in her back after planting flowers and, on July

2, 2012, she visited Dr. O’Dell who prescribed Claimant pain medication and also

provided her with a referral to Dr. Joseph R. Verna; the pain medication relieved

2

Claimant’s symptoms and she had no intention of scheduling a follow up visit as of

July 5, 2012. (Id. at 13-16, R.R. at 139-142.)

Claimant testified that, on July 6, 2012, she was attempting to move a

metal rack containing baskets of t-shirts for sale but was having difficulty because

the rack’s wheels were stuck. (Id. at 16-17, R.R. at 142-143.) Claimant called

over a store employee, Michelle Finisdore, to assist her and when Finisdore pulled

the rack, the wheels became unstuck and the baskets flew out of the rack, striking

Claimant in her legs and causing her to fall backwards. (Id. at 16-17, 27-28, R.R.

at 142-143, 153-154.) Claimant felt increasing pain over the course of the next

few days and scheduled an appointment with Dr. Verna on July 9, 2012; Claimant

testified that she was not sure what date she reported her incident to her supervisor,

Jonnell Brown, but believed that it was the same day she first visited Dr. Verna.

(Id. at 17-19, 30, R.R. at 143-145, 156.) Dr. Verna referred Claimant to two

specialists to examine her neck, Dr. Joseph Richards for injections and Dr. Andrew

Freese for evaluation for surgery; Dr. Freese performed surgery on Claimant’s

neck on October 16, 2012. (Id. at 19-20, R.R. at 145-146.) Claimant testified that

though her pain and mobility of her neck has improved following surgery, she is

not currently capable of returning to work and could not perform many of the

duties associated with her job including lifting, standing and bending. (Id. at 20-

22, R.R. at 146-148.)

Claimant also presented the testimony of Joseph R. Verna, D.C., who

is a licensed chiropractor with a diplomate from the American Chiropractic

Neurology Board. (Verna Dep. at 5-10, R.R. at 26-31.) Dr. Verna testified that he

first examined Claimant on July 9, 2012 after she was referred to him by Dr.

O’Dell, the physician who had treated Claimant for her prior back injury; at the

3

time of the first examination, Claimant reported pain in her neck and lower back

and attributed her symptoms to an incident in which she was pulling a shelving

system that fell down upon her. (Id. at 11-12, R.R. at 32-33.) Dr. Verna deferred

treatment on Claimant’s neck until an MRI could be performed of her cervical

spine and instead focused his treatment on Claimant’s lower back, which he

diagnosed as lumbosacral radiculitis secondary to lumbar disc displacement and

somatic dysfunction of the lumbar spine. (Id. at 12-14, R.R. at 33-35.) Dr. Verna

testified that he had been continuing treatment of lumbar traction, interferential

stimulation, ultrasound, chiropractic manipulation and bracing; Claimant had also

received one injection for her lumbar spine and Dr. Verna anticipated that she

would continue receiving more injections. (Id. at 19-22, R.R. at 40-43.)

After reviewing the MRI report of August 15, 2012, revealing severe

compression of the nerve root at the C5-6 level due to an osteophyte and disc

protrusion, Dr. Verna felt that the chiropractic treatment was inappropriate for

Claimant and he referred her to Dr. Richards for injections and Dr. Freese for

neurosurgical consultation. (Id. at 20-21, R.R. at 41-42.) Dr. Verna testified that

the injections did not offer Claimant any benefits and Dr. Freese then performed

anterior cervical discectomy and fusion surgery at the C5-6 level. (Id. at 21, R.R.

at 42.) At the time of his deposition, Dr. Verna’s present diagnosis of her neck

issues was post-surgery secondary to cervical radiculopathy due to disc protrusion

and osteophyte with cervical sprain/strain and segmental dysfunction. (Id. at 23,

R.R. at 44.) Dr. Verna was of the opinion that both Claimant’s current back and

neck symptoms were a result of the July 2012 work injury and the January 2011

work injury did not have any impact on her current condition because she had

4

achieved maximum medical improvement from that injury. (Id. at 23-24, R.R. at

44-45.)

On cross examination, Dr. Verna testified that Claimant reported

during her first visit that her symptoms in her neck were present on July 2, 2012

and her symptoms in her lower back were present beginning June 28, 2012. (Id. at

13, 26-27, R.R. at 34, 47-48.) Dr. Verna stated that he was not aware Claimant

alleged an injury occurring on July 6, 2012 and that this injury date would not

make sense to him because of the dates of onset of symptoms Claimant provided

and the fact that Dr. O’Dell referred her to Dr. Verna on July 2, 2012. (Id. at 26,

28, R.R. at 47, 49.) Dr. Verna acknowledged that his medical notes did not state

that Claimant sustained a work-related injury, but attributed this to a deficiency in

his recordkeeping software. (Id. at 27, R.R. at 48.) Dr. Verna further

acknowledged that Claimant’s 2011 MRI showed lumbar disc abnormalities for the

same levels he was providing treatment and that the cervical disc osteophyte

complex shown on the 2012 MRI was a degenerative condition that had been

developing for years prior to the July 6, 2012 incident. (Id. at 32-34, 44, R.R. at

53-55, 65.)

Following his deposition, Dr. Verna submitted a supplemental expert

report, in which he reiterated that he believed that Claimant’s neck condition and

medical treatments were related to the July 6, 2012 incident. (R.R. at 346.)

However, Dr. Verna also emphasized that if the WCJ were to reject Claimant’s

testimony that she was knocked over by the rack, then he would conclude that her

current condition was related to the January 12, 2011 workplace incident. (Id.)

Employer presented the deposition testimony of Neil Kahanovitz,

M.D., who is board certified in orthopedic surgery and whose practice focuses on

5

surgical and non-surgical treatment of spinal disorders. (Kahanovitz Dep. at 6,

R.R. at 254.) Dr. Kahanovitz performed an independent medical examination

(IME) of Claimant on February 22, 2013, in which he elicited a medical history

from Claimant, reviewed her medical records and conducted a physical

examination. (Id. at 10-18, R.R. at 258-65.) Dr. Kahanovitz testified that it was

his opinion that, assuming the veracity of Claimant’s account of the July 6, 2012

workplace incident that she was knocked to the ground by the falling rack, her

neck surgery and additional treatment were related both to the July 6, 2012

incident and the January 12, 2011 workplace incident. (Id. at 21-22, 32-33, 35-36,

42, R.R. at 269-70, 280-81, 283-84, 290.) However, Dr. Kahanovitz testified that,

assuming Claimant did not fall to the floor when the clothing rack tipped over and

it only struck her lower legs, there would have been no trauma to her neck and her

neck complaints would have been only related to the 2011 workplace incident. (Id.

at 29-30, 33-36, R.R. at 277-78, 281-84.)

Employer also presented the testimony of two fact witnesses, Jonnell

Brown, a district team leader for Employer and Claimant’s direct supervisor, and

Michelle Finisdore, a guest services employee who was working on July 6, 2012.

Brown testified that Employer policy requires that in the event of an injury,

employees are required to notify their direct supervisor of the injury and complete

an accident report for Employer’s insurer. (Brown Dep. at 6, R.R. at 205.) Brown

stated that Claimant called her approximately five days after her July 6, 2012

injury to report that she was hurt when a rack fell on her and would be out of work

for a few days; Brown thought it unusual that Claimant did not report the incident

immediately. (Id. at 7-8, R.R. at 206-07.)

6

Finisdore testified that on July 6, 2012, Claimant asked her to help

move the rack of t-shirts from one part of the store to another; Finisdore stated that

Claimant grabbed the tower from the top and started to pull it towards her and the

rack fell over. (Finisdore Dep. at 8-10, R.R. at 228-30.) Finisdore was directly to

the side of the rack when it fell and she observed no part of the rack hit Claimant.

(Id. at 10-11, R.R. at 230-31.) Finisdore testified that Claimant did not fall to the

floor when the rack fell; although Finisdore stated that she turned away for 30

seconds as the rack fell, she knew the rack did not hit Claimant because Claimant

was standing upright when Finisdore turned around. (Id. at 11-13, 21, R.R. at 231-

33, 241.) Finisdore stated that when she turned around, Claimant was rubbing her

shin; Finisdore asked Claimant if she was okay and Claimant reported that she

already was experiencing pain in her leg that morning. (Id. at 13-14, R.R. at 233-

34.) Finisdore testified that Claimant continued to work for approximately three

and one-half hours more before leaving for the day. (Id. at 14-15, R.R. at 234-35.)

The WCJ denied the claim petitions, finding that Claimant’s

testimony regarding the July 6, 2012 incident lacked credibility, in light of the fact

that Claimant sought treatment for her back and neck four days prior to the

incident, that there was no evidence that the rack struck her upper body, and that

Dr. Verna’s records reflect an onset of symptoms prior to July 6, 2012 and do not

indicate that the symptoms are work related. (WCJ Decision and Order, F.F. ¶9.)

The WCJ found credible the testimony of Employer’s fact witnesses that Claimant

did not fall to the ground when the rack fell or report the injury until four days after

the incident. (Id.) The WCJ also found Employer’s medical expert, Dr.

Kahanovitz, more credible than Claimant’s medical expert, Dr. Verna, because Dr.

Kahanovitz is a board-certified orthopedic surgeon more qualified to render an

7

opinion on causation and diagnosis and because Dr. Verna based his opinion on the

history provided by Claimant which had been rejected. (Id., F.F. ¶10) The WCJ

further noted that Dr. Verna agreed with the opinion of Dr. Kahanovitz that if it

was assumed that Claimant did not fall to the floor, then he would agree that the

injuries were not related to the July 6, 2012 incident. (Id.) The WCJ concluded

that Claimant’s current symptoms and need for medical treatment, including her

cervical spine surgery, were related to the previous January 2011 work injury that

had been recognized by Employer. (Id., F.F. ¶11.)

Claimant appealed the order of the WCJ, and the Board affirmed. In

addition, Employer’s insurer at the time of the 2011 work injury appealed the

WCJ’s order, arguing that the WCJ erred in attributing Claimant’s need for

treatment to the January 2011 work injury when the insurer had not been made a

party to the proceeding. The Board stated that it agreed with Employer’s 2011

insurer that the WCJ’s finding that Claimant’s treatment was related to the earlier

injury was in error but held the error harmless dicta because the WCJ only denied

the claim petitions on the grounds that Claimant did not meet her burden of

proving a July 6, 2012 work injury and did not establish liability based on the

January 2011 injury. (Board Op. at 5.) Claimant thereafter filed a petition for

review of the Board’s order with this Court. Employer’s 2011 insurer did not

appeal.1

Claimant argues on appeal that a full review of the record shows that

the WCJ’s findings of fact and credibility determinations contain a “‘scheme’ of

1

Our review is limited to determining whether an error of law was committed, whether the

WCJ’s necessary findings of fact are supported by substantial evidence and whether

constitutional rights were violated. Walter v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Evangelical Community Hospital), 128 A.3d 367, 371 n.5 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015).

8

errors” that requires this Court’s reversal of the Board’s affirmance of the WCJ’s

order. (Claimant Br. at 13 (quoting Giant Eagle, Inc. v. Workmen’s Compensation

Appeal Board (Bensy), 651 A.2d 212, 218 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994).) Claimant asserts

that the reasons cited by the WCJ in rejecting Claimant’s testimony that she fell to

the ground on July 6, 2012 and suffered an injury to her back and neck as a result

were in error, and, in fact, a review of the full record demonstrates the veracity of

Claimant’s account of that incident.

Under the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act),2 the claimant bears the

burden of establishing all the necessary elements to support an award. Inglis

House v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Reedy), 634 A.2d 592, 595 (Pa.

1993); Potere v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Kemcorp), 21 A.3d 684,

689 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011). The critical inquiry in our review of workers’

compensation appeals is whether there is evidence to support the findings actually

made; accordingly, it is irrelevant whether there is evidence to support findings

other than those made by the WCJ. A & J Builders, Inc. v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Verdi), 78 A.3d 1233, 1238 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2013);

Minicozzi v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Industrial Metal Plating Inc.),

873 A.2d 25, 29 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005). Our review requires us to examine the entire

record to determine whether there is evidence that a reasonable mind might find

sufficient to support the WCJ’s findings, and, if there is such evidence, the order

being appealed must be upheld despite conflicting evidence. A & J Builders, 78

A.3d at 1238-39, Minicozzi, 873 A.2d at 29.

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§ 1–1041.4, 2501–2708.

9

The WCJ is the ultimate finder of fact and arbiter of credibility and

evidentiary weight in workers’ compensation cases. Walter v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Evangelical Community Hospital), 128 A.3d 367,

371 n.3 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015). A WCJ is free to accept or reject the testimony of any

witness, including a medical witness, in whole or in part. Id.; Greenwich

Collieries v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Buck), 664 A.2d 703, 706

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1995). Furthermore, the WCJ may choose to rely on the opinion of

one medical expert over that of another and may rely on the testimony of a single

expert even where there is conflicting expert evidence. Morey v. Workmen’s

Compensation Appeal Board (Bethenergy Mines, Inc.), 684 A.2d 673, 678 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1996). Determinations of witness credibility and evidentiary weight are

not subject to appellate review except where made arbitrarily and capriciously.

Casne v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (STAT Couriers, Inc.), 962 A.2d

14, 19 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008).

We conclude that, rather than being replete with errors as Claimant

asserts, the WCJ’s findings of fact were supported by substantial evidence and his

conclusion of law that Claimant had not met her burden on the claim petition

logically followed from these findings. The WCJ provided four reasons for

rejecting Claimant’s account that she injured her back and neck during the July 6,

2012 work incident: first, that Claimant had received treatment from Dr. O’Dell

for her back and neck four days prior to July 6, 2012; second, that it was

uncontroverted that the rack did not strike her neck and back; third, that Claimant’s

co-worker, Michelle Finisdore, testified that Claimant did not fall to the ground

when the rack struck her; and fourth, that Dr. Verna’s records do not state that the

injury was work-related and indicate that Dr. Verna was provided with an onset

10

date for symptoms prior to the July 6, 2012 incident. (WCJ Decision and Order,

F.F. ¶9.) Each of these reasons for rejecting Claimant’s account of the July 6, 2012

incident is well-supported by the record.3

Claimant focuses her challenge of the WCJ’s finding that she was not

knocked to the ground by the falling rack on the testimony of Finisdore, who

Claimant argues was not competent or credible because she admitted to turning

away when the rack fell. Though Finisdore testified that she turned her back to

Claimant to dodge the falling baskets and did not turn back around for “30 seconds

at the most,” Finisdore testified unequivocally that Claimant did not fall to the

ground, explaining that she based this determination on the fact that Claimant was

standing straight upright when Finisdore “flashed back around” and Finisdore did

not believe that it was possible that Claimant could have picked herself up with no

assistance and be standing upright in the time her gaze was averted. (Finisdore

Dep. at 12-13, 21, R.R. at 232-33, 241.) We believe that this testimony was

competent to show that Claimant was not knocked over by the falling rack.

Moreover, even discounting Finisdore’s testimony, the WCJ identified other bases

in the record that independently support the finding that Claimant was not knocked

to the ground when the garment rack fell on July 6, 2012.

Claimant further argues that the WCJ capriciously disregarded the

testimony of Employer’s expert, Dr. Kahanovitz, that Claimant may have

aggravated her lower back injury even if she did not fall to the ground and that this

would support granting the claim petitions, at least to the extent that she injured her

3

(See Verna Dep. at 11, 13, 26-29, 42, R.R. at 32, 34, 47-49, 63; Claimant Dep. at 27-29, R.R. at

153-55; Finisdore Dep. at 11-13, 21, R.R. at 231-33, 241; Kahanovitz Dep. at 24-25, R.R. at 272-

73.)

11

lower back as a result of the July 6, 2012 incident. Our review for the “capricious

disregard” of material, competent evidence is an appropriate component of

appellate review in any case in which the question is properly raised before the

court. Leon E. Wintermyer, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Marlowe), 812 A.2d 478, 487 (Pa. 2002). A capricious disregard of evidence

occurs “when there is a willful and deliberate disregard of competent testimony

and relevant evidence which one of ordinary intelligence could not possibly have

avoided in reaching a result.” Station Square Gaming L.P. v. Pennsylvania

Gaming Control Board, 927 A.2d 232, 237 (Pa. 2007); see also Pryor v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Colin Service Systems), 923 A.2d 1197, 1205 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2006).

Dr. Kahanovitz testified that even if Claimant did not fall to the

ground during the July 6, 2012 incident, “there may have been some aggravation of

the lower extremity and low back complaints.” (Kahanovitz Dep. at 30, R.R. at

278.) However, Dr. Kahanovitz’s statement that Claimant may have aggravated

her lower back injury was based upon an assumption that Claimant suffered some

trauma to her lower back from the rack striking her,4 which is contrary to the

WCJ’s findings regarding the July 6, 2012 incident. Moreover, testimony that an

incident “may have” injured Claimant is insufficient to satisfy the requirement that

a claimant prove her work injury through unequivocal medical testimony. Lewis v.

Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Pittsburgh Board of Education), 498

A.2d 800, 802 (Pa. 1985); Reinforced Molding Corp. v. Workers’ Compensation

4

(Kahanovitz Dep. at 29-30, R.R. at 277-78 (“...I would think that in the absence of any

traumatic event involving the neck, but only to the lower back and shin, particularly based on the

history just four days previously of back and lower extremity complaints, that there may have

been some aggravation of the lower extremity and low back complaints.”).)

12

Appeal Board (Haney), 717 A.2d 1096, 1098 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998). Viewed as a

whole, there is insufficient support in Dr. Kahanovitz’s testimony for a finding that

Claimant sustained a work-related disability or had any need for treatment

resulting from a July 6, 2012 back injury.5 Furthermore, Claimant’s own expert,

Dr. Verna, concluded that if the WCJ were to reject Claimant’s testimony

regarding being knocked over by the falling rack, he would attribute Claimant’s

current condition and need for treatment entirely to the January 2011 work injury.

(Supplemental Expert Report at 1, R.R. at 346.)

Finally, Claimant argues that this Court should remand this matter to

the Board in accordance with Section 706 of the Judicial Code,6 so that the Board

may remand to a WCJ to consolidate this matter with litigation pending before the

Board regarding the suspension petition filed by Employer related to the January

2011 injury. Claimant asserts that Employer, who had a different insurer at the

time of the January 2011 injury, presented contradictory medical expert testimony

in the suspension petition proceeding and that Claimant’s supervisor, Jonnell

Brown, provided conflicting testimony regarding Claimant’s notice after the July

6, 2012 incident. Because the depositions in the suspension petition matter were

5

Even assuming the veracity of Claimant’s account of the July 6, 2012 incident that she was

knocked over by the falling rack, it is uncertain whether Dr. Kahanovitz’s testimony would

support the grant of a claim petition for an injury to Claimant’s back. A claimant bears the

burden of proving continuing disability throughout the pendency of her claim petition. American

Contracting Enterprises, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Hurley), 789 A.2d 391,

397 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001). Dr. Kahanovitz testified that, based on Claimant’s account of the

incident, Claimant had suffered a lumbar strain but that she had completely recovered from the

strain at the time of the IME. (Kahanovitz Dep. at 19-20, 22, R.R. at 267-68, 270.)

6

“An appellate court may affirm, modify, vacate, set aside or reverse any order brought before it

for review, and may remand the matter and direct the entry of such appropriate order, or require

such further proceedings to be had as may be just under the circumstances.” 42 Pa. C.S. § 706.

13

taken after the WCJ issued a decision in this case and thus the WCJ could not

consider the alleged contradictions, Claimant argues that this matter should be

remanded and both proceedings consolidated so that the WCJ may consider the

evidence presented in the two cases together and issue consistent rulings.

This Court previously addressed a similar argument from Claimant,

when Claimant filed a reproduced record containing the deposition transcripts from

the proceedings on the suspension petition. Employer then filed an application to

strike the portions of the reproduced record not contained in the certified record,

along with Claimant’s brief; Claimant argued that this Court has authority to

examine this “after discovered” evidence in assessing the credibility and

competence of the testimony in this matter. In a September 8, 2015 opinion and

order, this Court granted the application to strike, observing that our review is

confined to the certified record and that we may not take judicial notice of

evidence from related proceedings that follow the date of the order, even where

known to the tribunal below. Martzen v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Jo-Ann Stores), (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 436 C.D. 2015, filed Sept. 3, 2015) (Colins,

S.J.), slip op. at 4.

Here, too, we must reject Claimant’s attempt to introduce the evidence

adduced in the parallel proceeding related to the January 2011 injury into this case.

The only order under appeal to this Court is the Board’s affirmance of the WCJ’s

denial of Claimant’s claim petition related to the July 6, 2012 incident. Further, a

WCJ’s decision regarding whether to consolidate related actions is discretionary,

not mandatory. 34 Pa. Code § 131.30(a) (“Where proceedings involve a common

question of law or fact, the judge may consolidate the proceedings for hearing on

all matters in issue, and may make any appropriate orders concerning the conduct

14

of the proceedings to avoid any unnecessary costs or delay.”). Thus, our review is

confined to determining whether the Board properly affirmed the denial of the

claim petition and we have concluded that it has. Claimant raises the possibility

that the ultimate conclusion by the Board on the suspension petition may conflict

with the Board’s decision in this case; however, at this juncture, this argument is

speculative and regardless such an argument is best addressed in an appeal from a

decision on the suspension petition.

Accordingly, the order of the Board is affirmed.7

____________________________________

JAMES GARDNER COLINS, Senior Judge

7

Claimant also cites the “reasoned decision” requirement of Section 422(a) of the Act in her

brief, although she does not specifically argue that the WCJ’s decision was not a reasoned

decision. Section 422(a) requires that the WCJ “clearly and concisely” explain the rationale for

his decision to enable “meaningful appellate review” by specifying the evidence on which he

relies, articulating the objective basis for credibility determinations and explaining the reasons

for rejecting or discrediting competent evidence. 77 P.S. § 834; Daniels v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Tristate Transportation), 828 A.2d 1043, 1051-53 (Pa. 2003). As

described above, the WCJ in this matter provided ample explanation for crediting the testimony

of Employer’s fact witnesses over Claimant regarding the events of July 6, 2012. Furthermore,

the WCJ’s finding that Dr. Kahanovitz was more credible than Dr. Verna was based on

specifically identifiable and objectively reasonable bases supported by the record, namely Dr.

Kahanovitz’s training as a board-certified orthopedic surgeon more qualified to issue opinions on

diagnosis and causation and Dr. Verna’s reliance on Claimant’s explanation of the July 6, 2012

incident, which the WCJ had discounted, in concluding her need for treatment arose on that date.

(WCJ Decision and Order, F.F. ¶10.) Accordingly, there was no violation of the Section 422(a)

“reasoned decision” requirement.

15

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Cindi Martzen, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 436 C.D. 2015

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board :

(Jo-Ann Stores), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 2nd day of August, 2016, it is hereby ORDERED that

the order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board in the above-captioned

matter is AFFIRMED.

____________________________________

JAMES GARDNER COLINS, Senior Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.