Opinion

Baldwin v. AAA Northern California, Nevada & Utah Insurance Exchange

  • 1 Cal. App. 5th 545
  • 204 Cal. Rptr. 3d 433
  • 2016 Cal. App. LEXIS 576
Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jun 13, 2016
Status
Published
Author
McGUINESS
On the bench
McGuiness, Pollak, Siggins
Cited by
21 cases
Authority
More cited than 71.8%

The opinion

Filed 6/13/16 Modified and certified for publication 7/6/13 (order attached)

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION THREE

WILLIAM BALDWIN,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

A142217

v.

AAA NORTHERN CALIFORNIA, (San Mateo County

NEVADA & UTAH INSURANCE Super. Ct. No. CIV-521162)

EXCHANGE et al.,

Defendant and Respondent.

Plaintiff William Baldwin (Appellant) appeals from the judgment dismissing with

prejudice his complaint against defendant AAA Northern California, Nevada & Utah

Insurance Exchange (AAA), after AAA’s demurrer was sustained without leave to

amend. Appellant contends he stated valid causes of action against AAA for breach of

contract and bad faith because AAA refused to fully compensate him for collision-related

damages to his vehicle as required under his insurance policy and under the insurance

policy of a driver involved in the collision. For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the

judgment.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

As this is an appeal from an order sustaining AAA’s demurrer, in the factual

summary that follows we accept as true the facts alleged in the complaint and the

attached exhibit. (Westamerica Bank v. City of Berkeley (2011) 201 Cal.App.4th 598,

607.)

1

Appellant’s almost new Toyota Tundra Pickup (pickup) sustained structural

damage, while parked, as a result of a collision between the vehicles of defendants Mark

Rivera Hollandsworth and Peter Bona Sebastian. Appellant had an insurance policy

through AAA covering collision-related damages. Defendant Hollandsworth also had an

insurance policy with AAA covering property damage that he caused through negligence.

Once advised of the accident, AAA refused to consider the pickup a “total loss.”

Instead, it had the vehicle repaired at a reported cost of $8,196.06, and provided a rental

car for Appellant during the interim. As a result of the collision and following the

repairs, the pickup’s future resale value was decreased by more than $17,100.

Appellant filed suit, alleging a first cause of action against defendants

Hollandsworth and Sebastian for negligence, and second and third causes of action

against AAA for breach of contract and bad faith. Appellant contended that AAA was

obligated, under his insurance policy and that of defendant Hollandsworth, either to pay

him the entire pre-accident value of the pickup or to repair the pickup to its original pre-

accident condition, and that AAA did neither. After repair work was completed,

Appellant contends, the pickup did not match its pre-accident condition “with respect to

safety, reliability, mechanics, cosmetics and performance” and its future resale value had

decreased by $17,000. The rental vehicle provided him also did not match the pre-

accident value of the pickup, and Appellant seeks the difference in value for the period

that the pickup was under repair.

AAA demurred to the complaint, contending that Appellant essentially was

seeking reimbursement for the lost market value of his pickup, a loss that specifically was

excluded under his insurance policy. The trial court agreed and sustained the demurrer to

the second and third causes of action against AAA. Appellant did not seek leave to

amend the complaint or identify further facts that might be added to an amended

complaint. The trial court consequently sustained the demurrer without leave to amend,

and ordered a final judgment of dismissal with prejudice for AAA. This appeal followed.

2

DISCUSSION

A decision to sustain a demurrer is a legal ruling, which we review de novo. (See,

e.g., San Mateo Union High School Dist. v. County of San Mateo (2013) 213 Cal.App.4th

418, 426.) In doing so, we “must assume the truth of the complaint’s properly pleaded or

implied factual allegations.” (Schifando v. City of Los Angeles (2003) 31 Cal.4th 1074,

1081.) We “give the complaint a reasonable interpretation, reading it as a whole and its

parts in their context.” (Green Valley Landowners Assn. v. City of Vallejo (2015)

241 Cal.App.4th 425, 432.) “We also consider the complaint’s exhibits.” (San Mateo

Union High School Dist. v. County of San Mateo, supra, 213 Cal.App.4th at p. 425.)

Appellant bears the burden of demonstrating that the trial court erred in sustaining the

demurrer. (Brown v. Crandall (2011) 198 Cal.App.4th 1, 8.)

1. Breach of contract

“ ‘ “[I]nterpretation of an insurance policy is a question of law.” [Citation.]

“While insurance contracts have special features, they are still contracts to which the

ordinary rules of contractual interpretation apply.” [Citation.] Thus, “the mutual

intention of the parties at the time the contract is formed governs interpretation.”

[Citation.] If possible, we infer this intent solely from the written provisions of the

insurance policy. [Citation.] If the policy language “is clear and explicit, it governs.” ’ ”

(Rosen v. State Farm General Ins. Co. (2003) 30 Cal.4th 1070, 1074–1075.)

In this case, the policy language was clear and explicit. Regarding coverage for

car damage, it provided that AAA “may pay the loss in money or repair . . . damaged

. . . property.” (Italics added.) The policy’s use of the term “may” suggests AAA had

the discretion to choose between the two options. (See, e.g., Woodbury v. Brown-

Dempsey (2003) 108 Cal.App.4th 421, 433 [“ ‘May’ ” ordinarily “connotes a

discretionary or permissive act”].) This suggestion is supported by the statement in the

same section of the policy, under “LIMITS OF LIABILITY,” that AAA’s coverage

responsibility for car damage would “not exceed” “the lesser of” those two options,

namely, paying “the actual cash value of the . . . damaged property” or “the amount

necessary to repair . . . the property with similar kind and quality.”

3

Appellant alleges generally that it was not possible to repair his almost new pickup

to its original pre-accident condition and that AAA’s attempted repairs did not restore the

car to that standard. Other than the decline in future resale value, however, Appellant

offers no specific factual allegations identifying any unrepaired damage or continuing

performance issue with the insured vehicle. He does not allege that the pickup had

specific mechanical problems when returned to him, was unsafe in any specific way, or

had any specific cosmetic flaws. Indeed, in his opening brief, Appellant indirectly

suggests the pickup may have been returned to him in a state arguably qualifying as a

“normal running condition,” although he vaguely cautions that repaired vehicles

generally “may still be dangerous,” and describes anecdotal reports of others (non-

parties) who experienced grave post-repair accidents.1

“Facts alleging a breach,” however, “must be pleaded with specificity.” (Levy v.

State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. (2007) 150 Cal.App.4th 1, 6–7.) In reviewing an

order sustaining a demurrer, the court does not assume the truth of “contentions,

deductions, or conclusions of fact or law.” (Green Valley Landowners Assn. v. City of

Vallejo, supra, 241 Cal.App.4th at p. 432; see, e.g., Melican v. Regents of University of

California (2007) 151 Cal.App.4th 168, 174 [“[A]n allegation that a defendant might

have breached a contract does not state a valid cause of action”].) Appellant’s general

allegation that his repaired pickup was not restored to its pre-accident condition “with

respect to safety, reliability, mechanics, cosmetics and performance” is a mere conclusion

unsupported by any specific factual allegations. We thus reject it. (See, e.g., Ramirez v.

Wong (2010) 188 Cal.App.4th 1480, 1488 [affirming order sustaining demurrer because

plaintiffs alleged no facts supporting their “conclusory allegation”].)

Appellant relies on case law indicating that an insurer has an obligation to repair a

damaged vehicle to its “pre-accident safe, mechanical, and cosmetic condition.” He

overlooks significant language from those cases, however, and ineffectively attempts to

distinguish the facts in some instances. The cases do not stand for the principle that a

1

One of the other described post-repair accidents involved a different make of car.

In the other, the type of car involved was unspecified.

4

plaintiff may rely on general allegations to meet his burden in pleading a claim for breach

of contract. To the contrary, one of the decisions he cites affirmed an order sustaining a

demurrer, in part because the complaint contained conclusory allegations, failing to

specify the manner in which the repaired vehicle differed from its pre-accident condition.

(Levy v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., supra, 150 Cal.App.4th at pp. 8–9.)

Another of the cases that plaintiff cites, Ray v. Farmers Ins. Exchange (1988)

200 Cal.App.3d 1411 (Ray), more significantly undercuts his position. In that seminal

case, as here, the insured alleged breach of contract and bad faith claims based on the

insurer’s refusal to compensate him for diminution in market value after repair of his

wrecked car. (Id. at pp. 1413–1414.) As in this case, the insurance policy

“unambiguously gave [the insurer] the right to elect to repair [the insured’s] vehicle” to a

similar condition if repair costs would be less than the actual cash value of the vehicle at

the time of the loss. 2 (Id. at p. 1416.) The court cited case law concluding that the

insurer’s election to make repairs in such context was conclusive if the repairs placed the

vehicle “substantially in its pre-accident condition.” (Id. at pp. 1416–1417, citing Owens

v. Pyeatt (1967) 248 Cal.App.2d 840, 849.) It specifically rejected the notion that this

meant repairing the vehicle “to both its pre-accident condition and market value,”

reasoning that a vehicle would not qualify as a total loss if it is restored to “its normal

running condition.” (Ray, supra, 200 Cal.App.3d at p. 1417.)

“To hold [the insurer] liable for the automobile’s diminution in value,” the court

reasoned, “would make [the insurer] an insurer of the automobile’s cash value in virtually

all cases and would render essentially meaningless its clear right to elect to repair rather

than to pay the actual cash value of the vehicle at the time of loss.” (Ray, supra,

200 Cal.App.3d at p. 1417.) “The policy language unambiguously reserves to [the

2

The policy in Ray, supra, 200 Cal.App.3d 1411, 1416, obligated the insurer to

repair the vehicle to “like kind and quality,” while the policy in this case uses the phrase

“similar condition and quality,” a semantical difference of no meaningful significance.

(See, e.g., People v. Moreno (2014) 231 Cal.App.4th 934, 943 [using the terms

interchangeably]; Webster’s 10th Collegiate Dict. (2001) p. 1091 [defining “similar” to

mean “like”].)

5

insurer] the right to elect the most economical method of paying claims,” the court

concluded, and it declined to rewrite that “unambiguous limitation of collision coverage

to provide for a risk not bargained for.” (Id. at p. 1418; see, e.g., Rosen v. State Farm

General Ins. Co., supra, 30 Cal.4th at p. 1078 [declining to rewrite a standard insurance

policy as doing so might compel “insurers to give more than they promised and might

allow insureds to get more than they paid for”].)

More recently, Carson v. Mercury Ins. Co. (2012) 210 Cal.App.4th 409 (Carson),

reached similar conclusions, relying in part on Ray, supra, 200 Cal.App.3d 1411. Carson

observed that repairing a car to its pre-accident condition did not mean restoring it to its

original condition “when it left the factory or showroom floor.” (Carson, supra,

210 Cal.App.4th at p. 420.) It reasoned that “no repair can ever restore a vehicle to its

pristine factory condition,” and applying such a standard would mean “no vehicle could

be adequately repaired.” (Ibid.) “In California, and the majority of other jurisdictions,”

the court observed, “when the insurer elects to repair the car to its preaccident condition,

it is not also required to pay for any loss of value to the vehicle, which can occur after a

seriously damaged vehicle is fully repaired.” (Ibid.)

Significantly, the court observed, the debate on this topic occurred “nearly a

decade ago” before insurance policies included express exclusions barring payment for a

car’s diminution in value following an accident. (Carson, supra, 210 Cal.App.4th at

p. 427.) In Carson, as in this case, the policy contained such an exclusion and, as in

Carson, we find the language unambiguous. (Id. at p. 413; see, e.g., Fresh Express Inc.

v. Beazley Syndicate 2623/623 at Lloyd’s (2011) 199 Cal.App.4th 1038, 1053 [“Whether

language in a contract is ambiguous is a question of law”].) The provision clearly stated

that Appellant’s coverage under his policy did not apply to “ ‘loss’ ” “caused by

diminution in value of your insured car . . . by reason of a loss otherwise covered by this

policy . . . .” The loss otherwise covered by the policy was the physical damage to the

pickup. The policy thus defines AAA’s “ ‘repair’ obligation as not including ‘diminution

in value.’ ” (Carson, supra, 210 Cal.App.4th at p. 427.)

6

Appellant attempts to avoid the effect of the exclusion through several arguments,

which we collectively find unpersuasive. He appears to argue that the insurance policy is

ambiguous because the exclusion contradicts other provisions promising to cover loss,

and that the policy therefore must be construed to protect his expectation of coverage.

(See, e.g., Sequeira v. Lincoln National Life Ins. Co. (2015) 239 Cal.App.4th 1438,

1445.) An insurance policy provision is only ambiguous, however, “ ‘when it is capable

of two or more constructions both of which are reasonable.’ ” (Bay Cities Paving &

Grading, Inc. v. Lawyers’ Mutual Ins. Co. (1993) 5 Cal.4th 854, 867.) “Courts ‘will not

strain to create an ambiguity where none exists,’ ” (North Bay Schools Ins. Authority v.

Industrial Indemnity Co. (1992) 6 Cal.App.4th 1741, 1745), and they must give effect to

every part of the policy (Palmer v. Truck Ins., Exchange (1999) 21 Cal.4th 1109, 1115).

This includes giving effect to exclusions. (See, e.g., Julian v. Hartford Underwriters Ins.

Co. (2005) 35 Cal.4th 747, 759 [Insurance companies may exclude coverage for

particular damages]; Underwriters of Interest Subscribing to Policy Number A15274001

v. ProBuilders Specialty Ins. Company (2015) 241 Cal.App.4th 721, 729 [The plain

language of an exclusion must be respected].) As noted, we do not find the exclusion

ambiguous. Nor is it contradictory to the loss provisions. It merely limits their scope.

We also do not find persuasive Appellant’s arguments that the exclusion may be

disregarded because it was contained in the “fine print” of the insurance policy.

Exclusion clauses are subject to two separate tests. First, “ ‘the limitation must be

“conspicuous” with regard to placement and visibility.’ ” (Alterra Excess & Surplus Ins.

Co. v. Snyder (2015) 234 Cal.App.4th 1390, 1404 (Alterra).) Second, the “ ‘language

must be “plain and clear.” ’ ” (Ibid.) Whether an exclusion meets these requirements is a

question of law. (Ibid.) We decide that question of law favorably to AAA.

The exclusion is contained in AAA’s standard policy, in a part specifically

covering “CAR DAMAGE.” The part includes sections with capitalized and boldfaced

headings in simple language addressing, respectively, coverage, definitions, additional

payments, exclusions and limitations of liability. The exclusions are stated in numbered

paragraphs, with adequate spacing, using the same style and size of print found elsewhere

7

in the policy. These factors satisfy the “ ‘conspicuous, plain and clear test’ ” for

exclusions, namely, that they “ ‘be positioned in a place and printed in a form which will

attract the reader’s attention.’ [Citations]; see National Ins. Underwriters v. Carter (1976)

17 Cal.3d 380, 384 . . . [exclusion located under a bold-faced heading entitled

“Exclusions” and appearing in the same style of print found elsewhere in the policy].)”

(Alterra, supra, 234 Cal.App.4th 1390, 1404.)

Appellant also attempts to argue that the exclusion violates public policy and thus

is void. He suggests the exclusion renders AAA’s coverage inadequate and that it

unreasonably denies him the benefits of the insurance contract in a way that violates

public policy reflected in statute and case law. Appellant refers to subdivisions (h)(3)

and (h)(5) of Insurance Code section 790.03 as declarative of public policy.3 Those

subdivisions declare as unfair claims settlement practices the failure, respectively, to

follow “reasonable standards” for promptly investigating and processing claims, or to

promptly and fairly settle claims.4 Appellant also alludes to case law describing the

“special relationship” between insurers and the insured, which confers on insurers a

responsibility to take the public interest into account. (See, e.g., Egan v. Mutual of

Omaha Ins. Co. (1979) 24 Cal.3d 809, 820 [Insurers, as purveyors of a “vital” “quasi-

public” service “must take the public’s interest seriously”]; Comunale v. Traders &

General Ins. Co. (1958) 50 Cal.2d 654, 659 [In deciding whether to settle a claim, an

insurer must give the insured’s interest “at least as much consideration” as its own].)

3

Appellant also purports to quote from and rely on subdivisions (h)(9) and (h)(10)

of Insurance Code section 790.03, although the actual text of those statutory provisions is

entirely different than the language he presents.

4

Insurance Code section 790.03 provides in pertinent part as follows: “The

following are hereby defined as . . . unfair and deceptive acts or practices in the business

of insurance. [¶] . . . [¶] (h) Knowingly committing . . . any of the following unfair

claims settlement practices: [¶] . . . [¶] (3) Failing to adopt and implement reasonable

standards for the prompt investigation and processing of claims arising under insurance

policies. [¶] . . . [¶] (5) Not attempting in good faith to effectuate prompt, fair, and

equitable settlements of claims in which liability has become reasonably clear. . . .”

8

Appellant’s allegations do not suffice, however, to establish that the exclusion in his

insurance policy violated public policy.

Appellant essentially argues that the insurance policy is fundamentally unfair and

violates public policy because it allowed AAA the option of restoring his almost new

vehicle to normal running condition, after an accident involving structural damage,

without also requiring that it compensate him for the decrease in the vehicle’s future

resale value. His argument is undercut by California Supreme Court case law. In Julian

v. Hartford Underwriters Ins. Co., supra, 35 Cal.4th 747, for example, the Supreme

Court observed that “ ‘[a]n insurance policy may exclude coverage for particular injuries

or damages in certain specified circumstances while providing coverage in other

circumstances.’ [Citation.] It follows that an insurer is not absolutely prohibited from

drafting and enforcing policy provisions that provide or leave intact coverage for some,

but not all, manifestations of a particular peril. This is, in fact, an everyday practice that

normally raises no questions . . . .” (Id. at p. 759.) Thus, “an insurance policy can

provide coverage for weather conditions generally, but exclude coverage for specific

weather conditions such as hail, wind, or rain.” (Ibid.) Applying the same logic, an

insurer may cover the cost of repairing a car damaged in an accident, but exclude

coverage for the accompanying decrease in the car’s future resale value.

There is precedent indicating that an insurance policy “clearly establish[ing] a

financial incentive to maintain a hazardous condition injurious to the public may well be

contrary to public policy.” (Rosen v. State Farm General Ins. Co., supra, 30 Cal.4th at

p. 1081 (conc. opn. of Moreno, J.), citing, inter alia, Wildman v. Government Employees

Ins. Co. (1957) 48 Cal.2d 31 [finding void as contrary to public policy an insurer’s

attempt to exclude permissive users from car liability insurance protection]; but see

Rosen v. State Farm General Ins. Co., supra, 30 Cal.4th at p. 1078 (maj. opn. of Brown,

J.) [“we do not rewrite any provision of any contract, including the standard policy

underlying any individual policy, for any purpose”].) Appellant appears to argue that the

insurance policy here in question gives AAA an incentive to attempt superficial repairs to

cars sustaining structural damage, returning unsafe cars to the roads, rather than declare

9

them a total loss and pay out their actual (greater) pre-accident cash value. We are not

persuaded.

As Justice Moreno observed in his concurring opinion in Rosen v. State Farm

General Ins. Co., supra, 30 Cal.4th 1070, “the judicial power to declare public policy in

the context of contract interpretation and enforcement should be exercised with great

caution. ‘ “ ‘ “ The power of the courts to declare a contract void for being in

contravention of sound public policy is a very delicate and undefined power, and, like the

power to declare a statute unconstitutional, should be exercised only in cases free from

doubt.” [Citation.] . . . “No court ought to refuse its aid to enforce a contract on doubtful

or uncertain grounds. The burden is on the [one challenging the contract] to show that its

enforcement would be in violation of the settled public policy of this state, or injurious to

the morals of its people.” ’ ” ’ ” (Id. at p. 1082.) Appellant does not meet this burden.

“In this case, there is a strong public policy in favor of allowing insurers to enforce

unambiguous policy provisions, thereby encouraging stability in the insurance industry

and allowing insurers the benefit of the bargain created by such unambiguous language.”

(Rosen v. State Farm General Ins. Co., supra, 30 Cal.4th at p. 1082 (conc. opn. of

Moreno, J.).) On the other hand, the extent of the danger to the public is in doubt. The

argument that literal enforcement of the policy at issue will create substantial financial

incentives to effect purely cosmetic repairs, returning dangerous vehicles to the roads so

as to injure the public ignores the existence of various countervailing disincentives.

These include the likelihood that the insurer would be financially responsible under the

same policy for any damages resulting from future accidents of an insufficiently repaired

vehicle. Appellant does not contend that AAA canceled his policy after the accident.

Moreover, insurers would be liable for tort damages if, in bad faith, they directed

cosmetic or superficial repairs to an insured vehicle. (See Rattan v. United Services

Automobile Ass’n (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 715, 721, citing generally Foley v. Interactive

Data Corp. (1988) 47 Cal.3d 654, 684–685.)

Nor is this the case that the court posited in Carson, supra, 210 Cal.App.4th 409,

when it observed that public policy concerns would come into play if an insurer “refused

10

to acknowledge the vehicle was nonrepairable but nevertheless proceeded with a purely

cosmetic restoration.” (Id. at p. 427.) Although Appellant does allege that AAA refused

to acknowledge his pickup was non-repairable, he does not contend that the resulting

repairs were purely cosmetic or that the pickup returned to him actually was unsafe. He

also does not allege that all vehicles generally, or his particular type of pickup

specifically, are incapable of being restored to a safe condition once having sustained

structural damage.

Instead, Appellant alleges only that the repairs AAA directed did not restore his

pickup to its “original” pre-accident condition, and his only specific factual allegation on

this point is that AAA refused to compensate him for the decline in the pickup’s future

resale value. We agree with Carson, supra, 210 Cal.App.4th 409 that an insurer’s

“failure to take into account the vehicle’s depreciation in value when opting to repair the

vehicle cannot be deemed against public policy.” (Id. at p. 427–428.) Accordingly, we

reject Appellant’s argument that the exclusion violated public policy and was void. As

Appellant’s claim for the difference in value between the rental vehicle AAA provided

him and the pre-accident value of his pickup appears to rely on the same theory, it fails

also.

2. Bad faith

We next consider whether Appellant has stated a cause of action for breach of the

implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. Appellant relies for this claim on an

implied covenant in his own AAA insurance policy and in defendant Hollandsworth’s

11

AAA insurance policy. For reasons discussed below, we conclude Appellant has failed

to state a claim for breach of the implied covenant under either policy.5

“ ‘There is an implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing in every contract

that neither party will do anything which will injure the right of the other to receive the

benefits of the agreement.’ ” (Foley v. Interactive Data Corp., supra, 47 Cal.3d at p. 684,

quoting Comunale v. Traders & General Ins. Co., supra, 50 Cal.2d at p. 658.) The

covenant is read into contracts to “protect the express covenants or promises of the

contract . . .” (Foley v. Interactive Data Corp., supra, 47 Cal.3d at p. 690.) When an

insurer “ ‘unreasonably and in bad faith’ ” withholds the benefits of the agreement, “ ‘it is

subject to liability in tort.’ ” (Egan v. Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co., supra, 24 Cal.3d at

p. 818, quoting Gruenberg v. Aetna Ins. Co. (1973) 9 Cal.3d 566, 575.) It is “essential”

to recovery “that the insurer, in breaching the implied covenant have acted unreasonably

[citations] or without proper cause.” (Careau & Co. v. Security Pacific Business Credit,

Inc. (1990) 222 Cal.App.3d 1371, 1395.)

In support of his cause of action for breach of the implied covenant of good faith

and fair dealing, Appellant repeats the allegations discussed in the previous section. He

claims AAA breached the covenant by refusing to either declare his pickup a total loss or

repair it to its “original pre-accident condition.” He also alleges AAA failed to

reasonably investigate “the practical effect of deciding to repair the vehicle” before

deciding to do so. Read in the context of the entire complaint, the latter allegation

appears to be a part of Appellant’s general argument that, in exercising its discretion

5

We deferred action on the request that AAA filed on April 29, 2015, to augment

the record, which we deemed to be a request for judicial notice. The request attached a

document apparently signed by Appellant’s counsel seeking the superior court’s

dismissal with prejudice of the negligence cause of action against defendant

Hollandsworth. The proffered document does not reflect any court action on Appellant’s

request. Nor does AAA cite authority for its contention that, in seeking dismissal of

defendant Hollandsworth, Appellant effectively also was dismissing any claims he had

alleged against AAA based on that individual’s insurance policy. As the proffered

document is not necessary to our disposition of the case, we deny the request for judicial

notice. (See Piccinini v. California Emergency Management Agency (2014)

226 Cal.App.4th 685, 690.)

12

under the insurance policy—repairing the pickup and declining to provide compensation

for the decrease in its future resale value—AAA did not adequately consider his interests.

These allegations do not suffice to present a cause of action for breach of the implied

covenant of good faith and fair dealing because, as discussed in the previous section,

AAA’s alleged conduct was consistent with the express provisions of the contract.

Appellant attempts to argue that the express terms of the insurance contract, giving

AAA discretion to repair the pickup and excluding coverage for its decreased market

value, impermissibly contradicted the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing.

The argument misunderstands the nature of the implied promise. As the California

Supreme Court has recognized, it “is aimed at making effective the agreement’s

promises.” (Foley v. Interactive Data Corp., supra, 47 Cal.3d at p. 683.) It follows that

the “performance of an act specifically authorized by the policy cannot, as a matter of

law, constitute bad faith.” (Hibbs v. Allstate Ins. Co. (2011) 193 Cal.App.4th 809, 821;

Love v. Fire Ins. Exchange (221 Cal.App.3d 1136, 1148–1149 [An insurer “is not

required to pay noncovered claims”]; Carma Developers (Cal.), Inc. v. Marathon

Development of California, Inc. (1992) 2 Cal.4th 342, 374 [In a non-insurance case,

observing “We are aware of no reported case in which a court has held the covenant of

good faith may be read to prohibit a party from doing that which is expressly permitted

by an agreement”].)

We agree with our colleagues in Division Two, who held, in the insurance context,

that “ ‘courts are not at liberty to imply a covenant directly at odds with a contract’s

express grant of discretionary power . . . .’ ” (New Hampshire Ins. Co. v. Ridout Roofing

Co. (1998) 68 Cal.App.4th 495, 504–505.)* The possible exception would be “those

relatively rare instances when reading the provision literally would, contrary to the

parties’ clear intention, result in an unenforceable illusory agreement.” (Id. at p. 505,

quoting Third Story Music, Inc. v. Waits (1995) 41 Cal.App.4th 798, 808.) That does not

appear to be the case here. According to Appellant’s own allegations AAA performed as

*

[NOTE: Justice Haerle, ret., authored this opinion, with Presiding Justice Kline and

Justice Ruvolo concurring.]

13

promised under the insurance policy, directing the repair of his pickup following the

accident and providing him a rental car during the interim. There is no allegation that

AAA unreasonably delayed in doing so. Nor does Appellant allege that the pickup

returned to him was defective in any specific way apart from the drop in its future resale

value. Accordingly, Appellant has failed to state a cause of action against AAA for

breach of the implied covenant under his own insurance policy. (See, e.g., Carson v.

Mercury Ins. Co., supra, 210 Cal.App.4th at p. 428 [An insurer does not act in bad faith

by repairing, as promised in the policy, the insured’s vehicle].)

We also follow the holding of Coleman v. Republic Indemnity Ins. Co. (2005)

132 Cal.App.4th 403 (Coleman), in concluding that Appellant cannot state a cause of

action for breach of the implied covenant against AAA under the insurance policy of

defendant Hollandsworth for unfair settlement practices. Appellant would stand in the

position of a third party claimant under that policy. (Id. at p. 409.) “In Moradi-Shalal v.

Fireman’s Fund Ins. Companies (1988) 46 Cal.3d 287, . . . the Supreme Court held that a

third party claimant—an individual who is injured by the alleged negligence of an

insured party—does not have a private right of action against the insurer for unfair

settlement practices.” (Coleman, supra, 132 Cal.App.4th at p. 406.)

In a case of first impression in California, Coleman, supra, 132 Cal.App.4th 403,

held that this rule applied “where the third party claimant is insured by the same insurer

as the other party.” (Id. at p. 406.) It reasoned the “coincidental fact that plaintiffs are

insured by the same insurer as the other party does not change plaintiffs’ position as

strangers to the other party’s insurance policy and as adversaries to the insurer. Thus, the

insurer owes no duty of good faith and fair dealing to plaintiffs in settling their claims

against the other party.” (Id. at p. 410 [“The majority of other jurisdictions that have

dealt with this issue have held that insurers do not owe a duty of good faith and fair

dealing to third party claimants whom they also insure”].) We agree and conclude

14

Appellant also cannot stated a cause of action for bad faith against AAA based on

defendant Hollandsworth’s insurance policy.6

3. Leave to amend

Finally, Appellant makes a cursory argument that he should be permitted leave to

amend the complaint. He would add allegations that the express terms of the insurance

policy are ambiguous “considering the implied terms and representation to the public that

the insurance policy covers ‘losses’ to the insured’s property.” This statement does not

meet the “burden of demonstrating a reasonable possibility to cure” the discussed defects

by amendment. (Green Valley Landowners Assn. v. City of Vallejo (2015)

241 Cal.App.4th 425, 432.)

“The plaintiff’s ‘burden of demonstrating a reasonable possibility to cure any

defect’ [citation] is not pro forma. ‘ “To satisfy that burden on appeal, a plaintiff ‘must

show in what manner he can amend his complaint and how that amendment will change

the legal effect of his pleading.’ [Citation.] . . . The plaintiff must clearly and

specifically set forth . . . factual allegations that sufficiently state all required elements of

that cause of action. [Citations.] Allegations must be factual and specific, not vague or

conclusionary.” ’ ” (Green Valley Landowners Association v. City of Vallejo, supra,

241 Cal.App.4th at p. 432.) Appellant’s cursory statement, noted above, is neither factual

nor specific. As he has failed to offer any specific factual allegations indicating that the

repairs to his pickup were deficient, beyond the fact that its future resale value was less

than before the accident, he did not meet his burden in seeking leave to amend his

complaint.

6

As Appellant cannot state a cause of action against AAA for bad faith under

either insurance contract, there is no need to consider the appropriate measure of property

damages in tort. Accordingly, we deny as irrelevant Appellant’s January 4, 2016, request

that we take judicial notice of (1) the decision of the Judicial Council of California, at its

December 2015, to amend California Civil Jury Instruction Number 3903J, and (2) the

amended instruction. (See, e.g., Stockton Citizens for Sensible Planning v. City of

Stockton (2012) 210 Cal.App.4th 1484, 1488 [judicial notice of irrelevant materials

denied].)

15

DISPOSITION

The judgment dismissing the complaint against AAA is affirmed. Appellant shall

pay AAA’s costs on appeal.

_________________________

McGuiness, P.J.

We concur:

_________________________

Pollak, J.

_________________________

Siggins, J.

16

Filed 7/13/16

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION THREE

WILLIAM BALDWIN, A142217

Plaintiff and Appellant,

(San Mateo County

v. Super. Ct. No. CIV-521162)

AAA NORTHERN CALIFORNIA, ORDER MODIFYING AND

NEVADA & UTAH INSURANCE CERTIFYING OPINION FOR

EXCHANGE, et al., PUBLICATION

[NO CHANGE IN JUDGMENT]

Defendant and Respondent.

THE COURT:

It is ordered that the opinion filed herein on June 13, 2016, be modified as follows:

1. On page 13, the footnote beginning with an asterisk should be deleted.

There is no change in the judgment.

The opinion in the above-entitled matter filed on June 13, 2016, was not certified

for publication in the Official Reports. For good cause it now appears that the opinion

should be published in the Official Reports and it is so ordered.

Dated: _______________ ___________________________________ P.J.

1

William Baldwin v. AAA Northern California Nevada & Utah Insurance Exchange, et al.

(A142217)

Trial Court: San Mateo County

Trial Judges: Hon. Gerald J. Buchwald

Attorneys: Day Law Offices, Montie S. Day for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Coddington, Hicks & Danforth, R. Wardell Loveland, Jay C.

Patterson, Richard G. Grotch, Min K. Kang, for Defendant and

Respondent.

2

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.