Opinion

Linda Singletary v. Prudential Ins Co. of America

  • 828 F.3d 342
  • 61 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 2501
  • 2016 U.S. App. LEXIS 12475
  • 2016 WL 3629029
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jul 6, 2016
Status
Published
Author
Southwick
On the bench
King, Southwick, Haynes
Nature of suit
Private Civil Federal
Cited by
24 cases
Authority
More cited than 74.1%

noting that "it violates an ERISA provision for a Plan Administrator not to provide a valid SPD" (emphasis added)

How later courts described this case

  • noting that "it violates an ERISA provision for a Plan Administrator not to provide a valid SPD" (emphasis added)
  • holding that “[a]n incomplete SPD violates ‘§ 102 of ERISA and [is] also a fiduciary violation’” because plan sponsors have a “[d]uty of disclosure” under ERISA
  • applying Firestone and noting that under abuse-of- discretion review an administrator's decision will be upheld even if it falls on "the low end" of what might be considered "a continuum of reasonableness"
  • recognizing that, if an administrator correctly interprets a plan, “our inquiry ends”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 1 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 15-30762

United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

FILED

LINDA SINGLETARY, July 6, 2016

Lyle W. Cayce

Plaintiff - Appellant Clerk

v.

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INCORPORATED; PRUDENTIAL

INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA; UNITED PARCEL SERVICE

FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN,

Defendants - Appellees

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

Before KING, SOUTHWICK, and HAYNES, Circuit Judges.

LESLIE H. SOUTHWICK, Circuit Judge:

Linda Singletary purchased life insurance for herself and her husband

through her employer, United Parcel Service. Her husband, Timothy

Singletary, was an active-duty soldier in the United States Army. He was

killed in a weekend motorcycle accident while off base and not on duty.

Prudential Insurance Company of America denied his widow’s claim pursuant

to an exclusion for active-duty servicemen. Mrs. Singletary brought suit,

claiming she had no notice of the exclusion and that the exclusion is otherwise

unenforceable. The district court granted summary judgment for Prudential

and UPS.

We AFFIRM.

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 2 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Linda Singletary worked for United Parcel Service and participated in

the UPS Flexible Benefits Plan (the “Plan”), which provides group life

insurance coverage to UPS employees. The carrier of the Plan is Prudential

Life Insurance Company of America. Under the Plan, Mrs. Singletary could

purchase supplemental dependent life insurance for her “Qualified

Dependents.” On August 22, 2012, she purchased $500,000 in dependent

insurance for her husband, Timothy Singletary. Under the Plan, however, a

“spouse [or] Domestic Partner . . . is not [a] Qualified Dependent while . . . on

active duty in the armed forces of any country.”

Timothy Singletary was an active-duty soldier, stationed at Fort Hood in

Texas. He had the rank of Specialist in the United States Army. On October

21, 2012, Specialist Singletary was killed in a motorcycle accident in Texas.

After his death, Mrs. Singletary submitted a life insurance claim for benefits.

Prudential investigated her claim. It reviewed the Army Report of Casualty,

which indicated that Specialist Singletary was not on duty at the time of his

death. Prudential contacted the Army to confirm that the deceased had been

an active-duty soldier. The Army confirmed, explaining the “off duty” notation

on the Report of Casualty meant only that Specialist Singletary was not on

duty at the time of his accident. Prudential then denied the claim because the

deceased was on active duty at the time of his death.

Mrs. Singletary twice appealed to Prudential, making two principal

arguments. First, she argued the active-duty exclusion was not disclosed to

her. She claimed that the only document she received was a Summary Plan

Description (“SPD”). The SPD did not list the relevant exclusion. Other

documents that did contain the exclusion, such as an “Enrollment Kit” and

“Certificate of Coverage,” were not sent to her. Second, she argued the

exclusion is otherwise unenforceable because it is contrary to Louisiana law.

2

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 3 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

Prudential denied both appeals. She then filed the present suit in federal

court, seeking to recover benefits allegedly due to her under the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act (“ERISA”). See 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B). She

also advanced state law claims. The district court granted summary judgment

to UPS and Prudential, holding that Prudential correctly denied the claim

pursuant to the exclusion and the exclusion was enforceable. This timely

appeal was then filed.

DISCUSSION

We review the district court’s summary judgment ruling de novo,

“applying the same standard as the district court.” Haverda v. Hays Cnty., 723

F.3d 586, 591 (5th Cir. 2013). We address the ERISA claim before turning to

the state-law claims.

I. Overview of ERISA

ERISA “permits a person denied benefits under an employee benefit plan

to challenge that denial in federal court.” Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Glenn,

554 U.S. 105, 108 (2008). When reviewing a denial of benefits made by an

ERISA plan administrator, the court applies a de novo standard of review,

“unless the benefit plan gives the administrator . . . discretionary authority to

determine eligibility for benefits or to construe the terms of the plan.”

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989). If the plan

confers this discretionary authority on the administrator, we review the

exercise of the authority for abuse of discretion. Holland v. Int’l Paper Co. Ret.

Plan, 576 F.3d 240, 246 (5th Cir. 2009). Here, all parties agree that the plan

vests discretionary authority with the administrator. Hence, our review is for

abuse of discretion.

3

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 4 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

We generally evaluate an administrator’s decision in a two-step analysis.

See Baker v. Metro. Life Ins. Co., 364 F.3d 624, 629 (5th Cir. 2004). First, we

must determine whether the administrator’s interpretation was legally

correct. Id. at 629−30. If so, our inquiry ends. Id. If not, we must determine

whether the administrator’s interpretation was an abuse of discretion. Id. at

630. “A plan administrator abuses its discretion where the decision is not

based on evidence, even if disputable, that clearly supports the basis for its

denial.” Holland, 576 F.3d at 246 (quotation marks omitted). Moreover, “[i]f

the . . . decision is supported by substantial evidence and is not arbitrary or

capricious, it must prevail.” Corry v. Liberty Life Assurance Co. of Boston, 499

F.3d 389, 397 (5th Cir. 2007). Ultimately, “our review of the administrator’s

decision need not be particularly complex or technical; it need only assure that

the administrator’s decision fall somewhere on a continuum of reasonableness

– even if on the low end.” Id. at 398.

Here, Prudential correctly interpreted the exclusion as barring the

claim. The Plan indicates that a spouse is not a qualified dependent when the

spouse is on active-duty in the armed forces of any country. Moreover, it was

not an abuse of discretion for Prudential to interpret the exclusion to apply

regardless of whether a spouse was on military duty at the time of an

occurrence. The only evidence was that Specialist Singletary was an active-

duty soldier, which is a continuous status, 24/7/365, during the period of

enlistment. Benefits are not owed because he was not a qualified dependent.

Mrs. Singletary argues that Prudential abused its discretion by

enforcing an exclusion of which she was not on notice. She claims that the only

document she received was the Summary Plan Description. Prudential

admitted in the administrative proceedings below that the SPD did not

mention the exclusion. Even so, under ERISA, the claim Mrs. Singletary has

4

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 5 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

brought requires us simply to interpret the Plan. Because the Plan does not

allow benefits for a spouse who was on active military duty, the claim fails.

As all who wrestle with it know, ERISA is complicated. It has at least

six civil enforcement provisions. See 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)−(6); Ingersoll-Rand

Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 144 (1990). Mrs. Singletary brought her claim

under the one that states a “civil action may be brought . . . by a participant or

beneficiary . . . to recover benefits due to him under the terms of his plan, to

enforce his rights under the terms of the plan . . . .” 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B).

This present claim cannot arise under the terms of the Plan because coverage

for a beneficiary who is an active-duty soldier does not exist in the Plan.

One of our sister circuits discussed a related situation in which, for

reasons that arguably were unfair, coverage did not exist. See Strom v.

Goldman, Sachs & Co., 202 F.3d 138 (2d Cir. 1999), abrogated on other grounds

by Great–West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Knudson, 534 U.S. 204 (2002). There,

the plan administrator had not timely processed an application for coverage;

the beneficiary died before the increased coverage had become effective. Id. at

141−42. Strom’s widow filed suit using the same cause of action as has Mrs.

Singletary, namely, Section 1132(a)(1)(B). The Second Circuit upheld the

denial of the claim, holding that this cause of action “only authorizes the

recovery of benefits due under the terms of a plan, and, as a result of the

defendant’s error, Strom never qualified for supplemental life insurance.”

Wilkins v. Mason Tenders Dist. Council Pension Fund, 445 F.3d 572, 583 (2d

Cir. 2006) (discussing the holding in Strom).

Importantly, to succeed under Section 1132(a)(1)(B), the claimant must

show that he or she “qualif[ies] for the benefits provided in that plan.” Id. For

this cause of action, courts do not look for equitable or other reasons the insurer

should provide benefits not strictly owed under the Plan. That is not to say

ERISA has no door through which such claims can proceed, but Section

5

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 6 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

1132(a)(1)(B) is not open to such a claim. We will later discuss two possibly

relevant causes of action under ERISA.

In the present case, the Plan states that the beneficiary, Mrs. Singletary,

is “eligible to become [an] insured for Dependents Insurance while” she has “a

Qualified Dependent.” A “Qualified Dependent” is defined to be, among other

things, a “spouse.” A spouse, though, “is not [a] Qualified Dependent while on

active duty in the armed forces of any country . . . .” Thus, Section 1132(a)(1)(B)

would provide relief had Prudential failed to follow the terms of the Plan, but

it does not provide relief from a proper application of those terms.

Mrs. Singletary is not seeking to enforce the Plan. She instead is seeking

relief from the provisions of the Plan because of lack of notice of something that

she does not dispute is actually in the Plan. She argues that the SPD’s failure

to disclose this exclusion violated ERISA, and therefore, Prudential should be

estopped from relying on the exclusion. ERISA requires that an insurer’s SPD

list “circumstances which may result in disqualification, ineligibility, or denial

or loss of benefits . . . .” 29 U.S.C. § 1022(b).

An equitable claim such as this one can be brought, but “failure to comply

with ERISA’s SPD requirements cannot be the basis for a [Section

1132](a)(1)(B) benefit claim.” 1 LEE T. POLK, ERISA PRACTICE AND LITIGATION

§ 3:23 (2016). Two other sections, though, are possible bases for the claim.

ERISA provides that “a fiduciary with respect to a plan who breaches any of

the responsibilities, obligations, or duties imposed upon fiduciaries by this

subchapter shall be personally liable” for damages resulting from the breach.

29 U.S.C. § 1109(a). On appeal, Mrs. Singletary argues she received no notice

of the active-duty exclusion, which would mean that the Plan Administrator

failed to comply with the obligation to send her a compliant SPD. Sending a

proper SPD is statutorily identified as a duty: in an ERISA section entitled

“Duty of disclosure and reporting,” the first obligation listed is to send the SPD

6

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 7 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

with the necessary disclosures to participants and beneficiaries. 29 U.S.C.

§ 1021(a)(1). 1 Liability for such breaches, the Supreme Court has pointed out,

may be imposed under Section “1132(a)(2) – the second of ERISA’s ‘six carefully

integrated civil enforcement provisions,’ . . . – [which] allows the Secretary of

Labor or any plan beneficiary, participant, or fiduciary to bring a civil action

‘for appropriate relief under section’” 1109. Mertens v. Hewitt Assocs., 508 U.S.

248, 252−53 (1993) (citation omitted).

Another provision, Section 1132(a)(3), is also a possibility for this claim.

It provides that a participant or beneficiary of a plan may “obtain other

appropriate equitable relief” as a result of “any act or practice which violates

any provision of this subchapter or the terms of the plan . . . .” 29 U.S.C. §

1132(a)(3); see CIGNA Corp. v. Amara, 563 U.S. 421, 439 (2011). Because it

violates an ERISA provision for a Plan Administrator not to provide a valid

SPD to a beneficiary or participant, and because the provision creating the

duty, Section 1021(a), is in the same ERISA subchapter as Section 1132(a)(3), 2

it may be that a claim for failure to disclose the exclusion could also have been

brought under subsection (a)(3). Bringing a claim under subsection (a)(3) for

an omission from an SPD seeks to “estop application of the plan provision

under a court’s authority to provide ‘appropriate equitable relief.’” STEPHEN

R. BRUCE, PENSION CLAIMS: RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS 397−98 (2d ed. 1993).

An incomplete SPD violates “Section 102 of ERISA and [is] also a fiduciary

violation.” Id. at 398.

The Eighth Circuit has stressed the difference between bringing a claim

for benefits under a plan and bringing a claim for equitable relief:

1 The “plan administrator’s duty of . . . disclosing information to participants . . . [is]

located in subparts D, E and F”; subpart F deals with SPDs. 29 C.F.R. § 2520.101-1.

2 Section 1132 is in Chapter 18, Subchapter I, Part 5, while Section 1021 is in Part 1.

7

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 8 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

Although his ultimate goal is to continue receiving disability

income benefits . . . section [1132](a)(1)(B) authorizes a participant

to bring an action to recover benefits . . . under the terms of the

plan. Ross is not seeking to obtain benefits under the terms of the

Plan. Rather, he is seeking to reform the Plan by obtaining a

declaration that the purported [Plan provisions] are void. Section

[1132](a)(1)(B) does not authorize such a claim.

Ross v. Rail Car Am. Grp. Disability Income Plan, 285 F.3d 735, 740 (8th Cir.

2002). 3

Finally, the Supreme Court has indicated that inadequate notice claims

are equitable claims appropriate for resolution when a claim is brought under

Section 1132(a)(3). See Amara, 563 U.S. 421. That case dealt with changes to

CIGNA’s basic pension plan. Id. at 424. CIGNA failed to notify its employees

of the alterations. Id. When the employees sued, the district court reformed

the plan to remove the changes. Id. at 435. As basis for its authority to reform

the plan, the district court cited Section 1132(a)(1)(B), the same provision

employed in this case. Id. The Supreme Court disagreed, stating that a court

has no authority under that section “to change the terms of the plan as they

previously existed,” but it only allows enforcing a plan’s provisions. Id. at

435−36. In what a concurring opinion labels “dicta,” the Court went on to say

that appropriate equitable relief was likely available under Section 1132(a)(3).

Id. at 438−42, 446−50 (Scalia, J., concurring).

Applying these holdings, we conclude that Mrs. Singletary’s claim that

Prudential should be estopped because it gave her no notice is not cognizable

under her pled cause of action. Further, we should not transform a Section

1132(a)(1)(B) suit into a Section 1132(a)(2) or (a)(3) suit. “ERISA . . . expressly

authorizes several claims for relief. Several procedural, as well as substantive,

3In Strom, the Second Circuit also eventually offered “‘equitable relief’ within the

meaning of Section [1132](a)(3)(B).” 202 F.3d at 150.

8

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 9 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

aspects of the litigation vary according to the specific claim alleged in the

complaint . . . . Following the lead of the Supreme Court . . . courts now look

closely at the particular § 502(a) claim for relief being alleged. Courts are

extremely reluctant to improvise or alter these forms of action.” Ronald Dean,

ERISA Claims for Relief, SN021 ALI-ABA 225, 227 (2008).

We need not resolve whether subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) is the better fit.

The claim could have been brought by referring to both sections. The problem

here is that the only source for the claim used by the plaintiff was the

inapplicable Section 1132(a)(1)(B).

It also is important to examine everything that occurred in district court

addressing the basis of this claim. We start with the point we have been

discussing, namely, that the complaint sought to enforce the Plan and not seek

equitable relief from it. That focus is shown not only from the citing of only

one of the civil enforcement provisions on which to base her claim, but also in

the manner in which she articulated the reasons she was entitled to relief.

Count I of the initial complaint 4 states that

Mrs. Singletary submitted substantial evidence establishing that

although Mr. Singletary was a member of the armed services . . .

at the time of his death, he was stationed stateside and was “off

duty” . . . . Mr. Singletary, as a result, was a qualified dependent

of Mrs. Singletary under the terms and conditions of the Plan.

Mrs. Singletary, accordingly, is entitled to an award of . . . life

insurance benefits due as a result of the death of her spouse under

the terms of the Plan. 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B).

Thus, Mrs. Singletary’s argument in the district court was that she was

entitled to benefits under the “terms of the Plan” because her husband was not

on active duty, making the exclusion inapplicable.

4 The first amended complaint did not alter the ERISA claim.

9

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 10 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

In no district court filing was there a reference to 29 U.S.C. § 1022(a),

the provision outlining what SPDs must contain. In fact, the only mention of

“SPD” or “Summary Plan Description” in any document filed by Mrs.

Singletary in the district court was in her Memorandum in Opposition to

Motions for Summary Judgment. There, she wrote “that the SPD was silent

as to the military status policy exclusion.” This reference, though, was in the

section dealing with Louisiana law. As she argued, under Louisiana law, the

insurer must show that the “certificate of insurance was delivered or that the

insured otherwise had notice.” Thus, Mrs. Singletary’s mention of the SPD

omission was in the context of whether she “otherwise had notice” for purposes

of Louisiana law. In summary, Mrs. Singletary’s ERISA argument in the

district court was only that she was entitled to benefits under the plan. It was

not until her brief in the current appeal that she based the unenforceability of

the exclusion on an SPD violation. That is too late. See LeMaire v. La. Dep’t

of Transp. & Dev., 480 F.3d 383, 387 (5th Cir. 2007).

II. State law

Mrs. Singletary makes two arguments that under Louisiana law the

exclusion is unenforceable. Her first is that UPS or Prudential was required

to deliver to her a certificate of coverage because of the following statute:

Certificates. A provision that the insurer will issue to the

policyholder for delivery to the employee, or member, whose life is

insured under such policy, an individual certificate setting forth a

statement as to the insurance protection to which he is entitled.

LA. STAT. ANN § 22:942(7). Her second is that an insurance exclusion based

purely on military status is illegal. A Louisiana statute provides that:

No policy of group life insurance . . . in this state shall contain any

provision which excludes . . . liability for death . . . while the

insured has a specified status, except the following . . . :

10

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 11 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

(1) As a result of war declared or undeclared under

conditions specified in the policy.

(2) While in the military, naval, or air forces of any country

at war, declared or undeclared; or in any ambulance,

medical, hospital, or civilian noncombatant unit serving

with such forces, either while serving with or within six

months after termination of service in such forces or units.

Id. § 22:943(A)(1)–(2). We do not address whether Louisiana law offers her

relief, however, because we determine that state’s law does not apply.

The Plan states that it is governed by Georgia law. “We have not

previously addressed how we should decide residual choice of law disputes in

the ERISA context. However, we have held that we should apply federal

common law choice of law principles when we exercise federal question

jurisdiction over a case.” Jimenez v. Sun Life Assurance. Co. of Canada, 486

F. App’x 398, 406 (5th Cir. 2012). At issue in Jimenez was whether Texas or

Louisiana law applied to the extent that ERISA did not preempt both. Id. at

405. The plaintiff, Jimenez, advocated for Louisiana law, but the Plan

specified Texas law. Id. at 407. We noted that under federal common law,

there are “three possible approaches to resolving this choice of law issue,” but

that we did not need to “decide among these competing standards . . . because

. . . Jimenez . . . failed to satisfy his burden to establish that we should not

enforce the Policy’s choice of law clause under any standard . . . .” Id. at 408.

The same is true in this case. Here, Mrs. Singletary’s only argument for

why Louisiana law should apply is that “Louisiana has a strong interest in its

citizen insureds receiving requisite written notice,” and that because the

defendants have chosen to insure Louisiana citizens, they should be subject to

its laws. This very public policy argument was rejected in Jimenez. There,

Jimenez argued that a particular section of Louisiana law was the “public

policy of the State of Louisiana and is mandatory to all insurance policies

11

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 12 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

which apply to insureds who reside in Louisiana.” Id. at 406. We held this

concern insufficient “to void the Policy’s choice of law provision.” Id. at 408.

Moreover, unlike in Jimenez where the accident actually occurred in Louisiana

involving Louisiana citizens, here the accident occurred in Texas. 5 See id.

Hence, Mrs. Singletary has not provided sufficient argument that the forum

selection clause in the Plan should be void.

Mrs. Singletary argues that she should still prevail under Georgia law.

She points out that Georgia law has a similar provision requiring that the

insurer “show that the certificate of insurance was delivered or that the

insured otherwise had notice and therefore assented to the terms of the master

policy excluding coverage for pre-existing conditions.” Investor’s Nat’l Life Ins.

Co. v. Norsworthy, 287 S.E.2d 66, 67–68 (Ga. App. 1981); GA. CODE § 33-27-

3(a)(7). We hold that this provision of Georgia law is preempted by ERISA.

ERISA preempts “any and all State laws insofar as they may now or

hereafter relate to any employee benefit plan.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). ERISA’s

preemptive scope is expansive and limited only by the savings clause. Id.

§ 1144(b)(2)(A). Here, Mrs. Singletary acknowledges that her “employee

welfare benefit plan [is] governed by the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act.” Given that she is relying on Section 33-27-3(a)(7) to strike a

provision of a plan governed by ERISA, Section 33-27-3(a)(7) relates to her

employee benefit plan. See Shaw v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 98 (1983).

Since ERISA preemption applies to Section 33-27-3(a)(7), the statute is

saved only if it is: (1) “directed toward entities engaged in insurance”; and (2)

“substantially affect[s] the risk pooling arrangement between the insurer and

the insured.” Kentucky Ass’n of Health Plans, Inc. v. Miller, 538 U.S. 329,

5Although Mrs. Singletary’s complaint states that she is a “resident of the Parish of

Jefferson, State of Louisiana,” there is no information in the record about whether Specialist

Singletary or the other persons involved in the motorcycle accident were Louisiana residents.

12

Case: 15-30762 Document: 00513580159 Page: 13 Date Filed: 07/06/2016

No. 15-30762

341−42 (2003). Section 33-27-3(a)(7) may be directed towards insurance

entities, but it does not substantially affect the risk pooling agreement between

insurers and the insureds. Section 33-27-3(a)(7) simply requires a certificate

be sent from an insurer (Prudential) to a policyholder (UPS) to the insured

(Singletary). It does not affect the risk pooling agreement at all. Therefore,

Section 33-27-3(a)(7) is not saved from preemption.

AFFIRMED.

13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.