Opinion

Pamela D. Stubblefield v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Jun 20, 2016
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 43.6%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

PAMELA D. STUBBLEFIELD, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, SF-0831-15-0477-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: June 20, 2016

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS FINAL ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Pamela C. Stubblefield, Esquire, Oakland, California, for the appellant.

Karla W. Yeakle, Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

FINAL ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

affirmed the decision of the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) that she

was not entitled to a lump-sum death benefit under the Civil Service Retirement

System (CSRS). Generally, we grant petitions such as this one only when: the

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

initial decision contains erroneous findings of material fact; the initial decision is

based on an erroneous interpretation of statute or regulation or the erroneous

application of the law to the facts of the case; the administrative judge’s rulings

during either the course of the appeal or the initial decision were not consistent

with required procedures or involved an abuse of discretion, and the resulting

error affected the outcome of the case; or new and material evidence or legal

argument is available that, despite the petitioner’s due diligence, was not

available when the record closed. See title 5 of the Code of Federal Regulations,

section 1201.115 (5 C.F.R. § 1201.115). After fully considering the filings in this

appeal, we conclude that the petitioner has not established any basis under

section 1201.115 for granting the petition for review. Therefore, we DENY the

petition for review and AFFIRM the initial decision, which is now the Board’s

final decision. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113(b).

¶2 Benjamin Whiteurst was a long-time employee of the U.S. Postal Service.

Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 7 at 56-60. On December 28, 2002, while

employed, he designated the appellant, his then-wife, as his beneficiary under the

CSRS. Id. at 17. They divorced in 2004, id. at 23-24, and on June 26, 2011,

Benjamin remarried. Id. at 45-46. His new wife had a daughter who had been

born on September 27, 1998. Id. at 47. Benjamin died in service on October 6,

2011. Id. at 50.

¶3 On October 15, 2011, Benjamin’s wife applied for death benefits based on

her status as a widow. Id. at 28-31. On October 17, 2011, the appellant applied

for death benefits as his designated beneficiary. Id. at 19-22. On January 30,

2012, OPM advised the widow of possible survivor benefits for her daughter, as

Benjamin’s stepdaughter, if it were shown that she was dependent on him, id.

at 32, but OPM denied the widow’s application for an annuity for herself on the

basis that she and Benjamin were not married for 9 months prior to his death, as

required by 5 U.S.C. § 8341(a)(1)(A), id. at 34. She then sought benefits on

behalf of her daughter, as Benjamin’s stepchild, id. at 37, responding to OPM’s

3

request that she submit evidence in support of her claim, IAF, Tab 7 at 33, 38-44.

Based on that evidence, OPM issued an initial decision finding that the appellant

was not eligible for a lump-sum of Benjamin’s retirement contributions because

his stepdaughter was entitled to a survivor annuity. Id. at 11, 13. OPM upheld its

decision on reconsideration, notifying the appellant that she would become

eligible for the remaining lump-sum death benefit when the stepdaughter’s

survivor annuity terminated based on her age or other factors set forth at 5 U.S.C.

§ 8443(3)(b). Id. at 6-9.

¶4 On appeal, the appellant argued, as she did before OPM, that, since

Benjamin’s widow was deemed ineligible to receive any benefit because that

marriage was “not valid,” her child also should not be eligible for benefits, IAF,

Tab 1 at 3; that, because the marriage was so short, there was “simply not enough

time” for Benjamin and his stepdaughter to develop a parent-child relationship,

id. at 26; and that there was no proof that the stepdaughter was Benjamin’s

dependent, id. In response, OPM reiterated that it was paying Benjamin’s

surviving child in accordance with law and had therefore properly denied the

lump-sum death benefit to the appellant. 2 IAF, Tab 7 at 4-5.

¶5 In her initial decision, the administrative judge examined the sworn

statements submitted by OPM on behalf of Benjamin’s widow, and other evidence

that is a part of the record, and the appellant’s argument that the evidence

should not be considered. IAF, Tab 19, Initial Decision (ID) at 5-8. The

administrative judge concluded, however, that, based on evidence showing that

Benjamin and the stepdaughter lived together and that a parent-child relationship

2

Because her rights and interests might be affected, OPM requested that the

stepdaughter be notified, via her mother, of her right to intervene in this appeal. IAF,

Tab 7 at 5. The administrative judge afforded such notice, IAF, Tab 8, but there was no

response. As such, the stepdaughter is not a “party” to this appeal, see 5 C.F.R.

§ 1201.4(e), and the Board therefore lacks jurisdiction to make a finding on her

entitlement to survivor benefits, except to the extent that, it is necessary, as it is here, to

adjudicate the instant appeal. Cull v. Office of Personnel Management, 55 M.S.P.R.

476, 481 (1992).

4

existed between them, ID at 8-12, the appellant did not show by preponderant

evidence that she is entitled to the lump-sum death benefits she seeks. ID at 12.

As such, the administrative judge affirmed OPM’s reconsideration decision. ID

at 1, 12.

¶6 The appellant has filed a petition for review, Petition for Review (PFR)

File, Tab 1, to which the agency has responded in opposition, PFR File, Tab 4.

¶7 A lump-sum benefit is to be paid, based on the service of a deceased

Federal employee, if that service does not entitle anyone to a survivor annuity at

the time of the decedent’s death. 5 U.S.C. §§ 8341, 8342(d); see also 5 U.S.C.

§ 8331(10), defining a “survivor.” Accordingly, the appellant is not entitled to a

lump-sum benefit if Benjamin’s stepdaughter was entitled to a survivor annuity.

¶8 If an employee dies and is survived by a spouse or a former spouse who is

the natural or adoptive parent of a surviving child of the annuitant, that child is

entitled to an annuity. See 5 U.S.C. § 8341(e)(2). A “child” is an unmarried

dependent child under 18 and includes a stepchild so long as the employee and

the stepchild lived in a “regular parent-child relationship.” A “dependent child”

is one who the employee was either living with or contributing to his or her

support, at the time of the employee’s death. 5 U.S.C. § 8341(a)(3).

¶9 On review, the appellant argues that the administrative judge failed to

follow Salazar v. Office of Personnel Management, 31 M.S.P.R. 248, 250-51

(1986), wherein, in the absence of a definition of a “stepchild” in 5 U.S.C.

§ 8341, the Board relied, inter alia, on guidance from the Social Security Act

(SSA), 42 U.S.C. § 401, et seq., to find that the annuitant lived with the appellant

in a parent-child relationship so as to entitle her to a survivor annuity as his

stepchild, even though he was not legally married to her mother. The appellant

urges that, here, the Board should follow “analogous Federal law” and rely on the

SSA to find that the child was not Benjamin’s stepdaughter because the SSA

specifically provides that a stepchild must have been such for 9 months. PFR

File, Tab 1 at 6-7. While under 5 U.S.C. § 8341, the status of a “widow” depends

5

on the length of time she was married to the employee or annuitant, the status of a

“child” or a “dependent child” has no such time qualification. 5 U.S.C.

§ 8341(a)(1)(A), (3), (4). Imposing one where it clearly does not exist in the

operative statute, as the appellant urges, would violate, not promote, its purpose

of providing financial assistance to those most likely dependent on deceased

Federal employees. Salazar, 31 M.S.P.R. at 251.

¶10 The appellant also argues on review that the administrative judge erred in

not applying the “mandatory” elements set forth by the Board in Hillen v.

Department of the Army, 35 M.S.P.R. 453, 458 (1987), to the sworn statements

submitted by Benjamin’s widow to OPM in support of her claim for benefits for

her daughter. PFR File, Tab 1 at 7-11. Hillen provides factors to consider in

resolving credibility issues and is relied upon principally in cases where there has

been live testimony. In preparation for the requested hearing, the appellant

sought and was granted subpoenas for Benjamin’s widow, her daughter, and two

of the three individuals who had provided evidence in support of the widow’s

claim. IAF, Tabs 15-16. However, at the hearing, the appellant withdrew her

request for all her witnesses. Moreover, she did not testify herself; rather, the

parties presented only oral argument. IAF, Tab 18, Hearing Compact Disc;

ID at 3. Under the circumstances, we find that a Hillen analysis is neither

required nor appropriate.

¶11 Recognizing that the statements at issue constitute hearsay evidence,

however, the administrative judge properly and carefully weighed them against

the factors set forth by the Board as appropriate for the consideration of hearsay

evidence. ID at 8-12; Borninkhof v.Department of Justice, 5 M.S.P.R. 77, 87

(1981) (announcing that the following factors affect the weight to be accorded

hearsay evidence: (1) the availability of persons with firsthand knowledge to

testify at the hearing; (2) whether the statements of the out-of-court declarants

were signed or in affidavit form, and whether anyone witnessed the signing;

(3) the agency’s explanation for failing to obtain signed or sworn statements;

6

(4) whether declarants were disinterested witnesses to the events, and whether the

statements were routinely made; (5) consistency of declarants’ accounts with

other information in the case, internal consistency, and their consistency with

each other; (6) whether corroboration for statements can otherwise be found in

the agency record; (7) the absence of contradictory evidence; and (8) the

credibility of declarant when he made the statement attributed to him). The

administrative judge found that the statements are consistent with each other as to

their recounting of the family living together and their description of the

interaction between Benjamin and the stepdaughter as constituting a parent-child

relationship. The administrative judge also noted that three of the statements

were submitted by individuals who had known Benjamin for decades and had no

interest in the outcome of the case. The administrative judge also addressed each

of the appellant’s specific arguments challenging certain features of the

statements, but found that the arguments provided no reason to discount the

statements. ID at 9-12. And, the administrative judge found that the statements

were generally responsive to OPM’s directions as to what information they should

include in addressing whether the stepdaughter lived with Benjamin in a regular

parent-child relationship. IAF, Tab 7 at 33; ID at 7-8.

¶12 Although the appellant disputes the administrative judge’s findings and

conclusions regarding the probative value of the statements, she bears the burden

of proof in this case. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.56(a)(2). However, she presented no

evidence in support of her position. The letter she wrote to OPM, purporting to

explain why she believes Benjamin never contributed towards the stepdaughter’s

support, is not sworn, which detracts from its probative value. ID at 9; Davis v.

Department of Defense, 105 M.S.P.R. 604, ¶ 8 (2007). And, as noted, the

appellant, without explanation, did not testify at the hearing she requested, and

her oral argument does not constitute evidence. Dunn v. Office of Personnel

Management, 60 M.S.P.R. 426, 435 (1994). The appellant’s attempt on review to

fault the administrative judge for relying on the statements of Benjamin’s widow

7

and the others who provided them because they “did not appear at the hearing,”

PFR File, Tab 1 at 8, overlooks the fact that it was the appellant herself who

failed to produce those witnesses for whom she was granted subpoenas.

¶13 The appellant otherwise repeats the arguments she raised below,

specifically, that the stepdaughter is the child of an “ineligible marriage” and

therefore not entitled to a survivor annuity, that Benjamin’s widow never

completed an actual application for benefits on her daughter’s behalf, and that the

record fails to show that the stepdaughter lived with Benjamin at the time of his

death, that a parent-child relationship existed between them, or that Benjamin

contributed to her support. Id. at 11-13. However, based on our review, we

discern no reason to reweigh the evidence or substitute our assessment of the

record for that of the administrative judge. 3 See Crosby v. U.S. Postal Service,

74 M.S.P.R. 98, 105-06 (1997) (finding no reason to disturb the administrative

judge’s findings where she considered the evidence as a whole, drew appropriate

inferences, and made reasoned conclusions).

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING

YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS

You have the right to request review of this final decision by the U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. You must submit your request to the

court at the following address:

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

717 Madison Place, N.W.

Washington, DC 20439

3

In its response to the appellant’s petition for review, and in support of its position, the

agency has submitted copies of its “long standing policy” on when a stepchild is

eligible to receive a survivor annuity, specifically Integrated Management

System 211222.00, Stepchildren, and 211222.26, Meaning of “Living With.” PFR File,

Tab 4 at 6-7. Absent a showing that this evidence was unavailable before the record

closed below despite the agency’s due diligence, we have not considered it. See

Avansino v. U.S. Postal Service, 3 M.S.P.R. 211, 214 (1980).

8

The court must receive your request for review no later than 60 calendar days

after the date of this order. See 5 U.S.C. § 7703(b)(1)(A) (as rev. eff. Dec. 27,

2012). If you choose to file, be very careful to file on time. The court has held

that normally it does not have the authority to waive this statutory deadline and

that filings that do not comply with the deadline must be dismissed. See Pinat v.

Office of Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

If you need further information about your right to appeal this decision to

court, you should refer to the Federal law that gives you this right. It is found in

title 5 of the United States Code, section 7703 (5 U.S.C. § 7703) (as rev. eff.

Dec. 27, 2012). You may read this law as well as other sections of the

United States Code, at our website, http://www.mspb.gov/appeals/uscode.htm.

Additional information is available at the court’s website,

www.cafc.uscourts.gov. Of particular relevance is the court’s “Guide for Pro Se

Petitioners and Appellants,” which is contained within the court’s Rules of

Practice, and Forms 5, 6, and 11.

If you are interested in securing pro bono representation for an appeal to

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, you may visit our website at

http://www.mspb.gov/probono for information regarding pro bono representation

for Merit Systems Protection Board appellants before the Federal Circuit. The

9

Merit Systems Protection Board neither endorses the services provided by any

attorney nor warrants that any attorney will accept representation in a given case.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.