Opinion

Reading Area Water Authority v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review

  • 137 A.3d 658
  • 2016 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 184
  • 2016 WL 1592947
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Apr 21, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Leadbetter, Judge', Brobson, Rochelle, Friedman
Cited by
31 cases
Authority
More cited than 43.3%

stating that “[f]or an employee’s conduct to constitute willful misconduct, it must be of such a degree or recurrence as to manifest culpability, wrongful intent, or evil design, or show an intentional and substantial disregard of the employer’s interest or of the employee’s duties and obligations to the employer”

How later courts described this case

  • stating that “[f]or an employee’s conduct to constitute willful misconduct, it must be of such a degree or recurrence as to manifest culpability, wrongful intent, or evil design, or show an intentional and substantial disregard of the employer’s interest or of the employee’s duties and obligations to the employer”
  • stating that “[w]e have no doubt that even one isolated instance of theft is sufficient to constitute willful misconduct . . .”
  • cautioning counsel to be thorough in his research and candid in his filings
  • adopting the referee’s conclusion that Claimant did not credibly assert that she intended to pay for the service

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Reading Area Water Authority, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 1177 C.D. 2015

: Submitted: November 25, 2015

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Judge1

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE ROCHELLE S. FRIEDMAN, Senior Judge

OPINION BY JUDGE BROBSON FILED: April 21, 2016

Reading Area Water Authority (Employer) petitions this Court for

review of an order of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board).

The Board affirmed the Unemployment Compensation Referee’s (Referee)

decision, thereby granting unemployment compensation benefits to German

Guzman (Claimant). For the reasons discussed below, we affirm.

On September 28, 2014, Claimant, a maintenance worker at

Employer’s filtration plant, removed parts from a discarded compressor in the

scrap pile behind the office of Employer’s Lake Ontelanuee location. (Reproduced

Record (R.R.) 79.) Claimant informed his supervisor, Michael Carl, that he had

removed the parts in order to fix a compressor at the filtration plant that was

leaking oil. (R.R. 79.) Employer contacted the local police and they conducted an

1

This case was assigned to the opinion writer on or before January 31, 2016, when Judge

Leadbetter assumed the status of senior judge.

investigation into the removed compressor parts. (R.R. 79.) Claimant was

suspended from his employment on October 12, 2014, based on allegations that he

stole property from Employer. (R.R. 79-80.) Claimant was subsequently charged

with theft by unlawful taking2 and receiving stolen property.3 (R.R. 59-60.)

Claimant filed for unemployment compensation benefits on

October 26, 2014. (Certified Record (C.R.), Item No. 2.) On November 7, 2014,

the Allentown UC Service Center (Service Center) denied Claimant benefits under

Section 402(e) of the Unemployment Compensation Law (Law).4 (C.R., Item

No. 6.) Claimant appealed the Service Center’s determination, and a Referee

conducted a hearing on December 17, 2014. The Referee reversed the Service

Center’s determination and concluded that Claimant’s actions did not constitute

willful misconduct and granted Claimant unemployment compensation benefits.

(R.R. 52-53.) Employer appealed the Referee’s determination to the Board. By

order dated January 30, 2015, the Board directed that a hearing be held to

determine the outcome of the criminal charges pending against Claimant. (C.R.,

Item No. 15.)

At the remand hearing, Claimant presented evidence that on

March 27, 2015, he agreed to enter the Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition

(ARD)5 program for 30 days. (R.R. 75.) Claimant was required to pay $190 in

2

18 Pa. C.S. § 3921.

3

18 Pa. C.S. § 3925.

4

Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S.

§ 802(e).

5

Acceptance into an ARD program requires neither an admission nor a denial of guilt.

Rather, in accordance with Pa. R. Crim. P. 315, when a defendant is accepted into an ARD

program, all proceedings on the charges are deferred until the program has been completed.

(Footnote continued on next page…)

2

costs, but he was not ordered to make any restitution payment. (R.R. 75.) In the

ARD colloquy, admitted into evidence at the remand hearing, the Court of

Common Pleas of Berks County (trial court) noted that Claimant was not pleading

guilty to any charge by agreeing to enter the ARD program and that upon

completion of the program the charges and the arrest would be expunged from his

record. (R.R. 75.)

Following the remand hearing, the Board issued a determination,

which contained the following Findings of Fact:

1. The claimant was employed from 2012 through

October 12, 2014 as a full-time Maintenance

Worker 2 with Reading Area Water Authority,

earning around $19.30 per hour.

2. The employer has a policy which provides theft or

inappropriate removal or possession of property is

grounds for termination of employment.

3. The claimant was aware of the employer’s policy.

4. On September 28, 2014 the claimant went from the

filtration plant, where he performed work, to the Lake

Ontelanuee office location and removed parts of a

discharged compressor from the employer dumpster

pile.

5. On or around November 29, 2014 the claimant spoke

to his Supervisor, the Maintenance Foreman, and

advised that he had removed parts from a discarded

compressor from the disposal area and was going to

use those parts to fix the compressor at the filtration

plant that was leaking oil.

(continued…)

Moreover, Pa. R. Crim. P. 319 and 320 provide that upon successful completion of an ARD

program, the charges against the defendant are dismissed and the defendant’s arrest record is

expunged.

3

6. The Executive Director became aware that parts were

removed from a compressor at the disposal area on

September 28, 2014 and conducted an investigation

and contacted the local police regarding allegations of

theft.

7. The removed parts from the compressor were

discovered in the filtration plant.

8. The claimant was suspended as a result of the

allegation of theft.

9. As criminal charges were filed in December 2014

against the claimant with probable cause of theft, the

claimant was discharged from his employment.

10. The claimant entered Accelerated Rehabilitation

Disposition (ARD) with regard to the charges.

11. The claimant did not plead guilty and did not pay

restitution.

12. The claimant successfully completed one month of

probation.

13. The claimant’s criminal charges have been or will be

expunged.

(R.R. 79-80.)

The Board concluded that Claimant was not ineligible under

Section 402(e) of the Law, reasoning that:

In this case, the employer has a policy which prohibits

theft or removal of employer property, which is grounds

for termination of employment. The claimant was aware

of the employer’s policy. The claimant, by his own

admission, had removed parts from a discarded

compressor to fix a compressor at the filtration plant.

The claimant notified the maintenance foreman that he

removed the parts for the intent of fixing the compressor

at the filtration plant. Parts were found in the filtration

plant that the claimant had removed. The claimant was

suspended pending the investigation and based on the

record, the employer has not sustained its burden in

proving that the claimant was suspended as a result of

willful misconduct and benefits cannot be denied.

4

Additionally, the claimant was not convicted of any

criminal charges in connection with the incident.

(R.R. 80-81.) Employer then petitioned this Court for review, and Claimant

intervened in this matter.

On appeal to this Court,6 Employer argues that the Board erred as a

matter of law because Claimant’s entry into the ARD program was proof he

committed willful misconduct. Whether or not an employee’s actions amount to

willful misconduct is a question of law subject to review by this Court. Nolan v.

Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 425 A.2d 1203, 1205 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1981).

Section 402(e) of the Law provides, in part, that an employee shall be ineligible for

compensation for any week in which “his unemployment is due to his discharge or

temporary suspension from work for willful misconduct connected with his work.”

The employer bears the burden of proving that the claimant’s unemployment is due

to the claimant’s willful misconduct. Walsh v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of

Review, 943 A.2d 363, 369 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008). The term “willful misconduct” is

not defined by statute. The courts, however, have defined “willful misconduct” as:

(a) wanton or willful disregard for an employer’s

interests; (b) deliberate violation of an employer’s rule;

(c) disregard for standards of behavior which an

employer can rightfully expect of an employee; or

(d) negligence indicating an intentional disregard of the

employer’s interest or an employee’s duties or

obligations.

6

This Court’s standard of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights

were violated, whether an error of law was committed, or whether necessary findings of fact are

supported by substantial evidence. Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa. C.S.

§ 704. Employer does not challenge the Board’s findings of fact and, consequently, those

findings are binding on this Court.

5

Grieb v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 827 A.2d 422, 425 (Pa. 2003). For

an employee’s conduct to constitute willful misconduct, it must be “of such a

degree or recurrence as to manifest culpability, wrongful intent, or evil design, or

show an intentional and substantial disregard of the employer’s interest or of the

employee’s duties and obligations to the employer.” Id. at 425-26. Furthermore,

this Court has previously held that an employee’s theft from an employer is willful

misconduct. On Line Inc. v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 941 A.2d 786,

790 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008).

Thus, the question becomes whether Employer proved Claimant

committed theft. The Board concluded that Employer failed to carry this burden,

and we agree. In order to prove its case, Employer relies on Claimant’s entry into

the ARD program. Employer argues that by accepting entry into the ARD

program, Claimant essentially admitted his guilt to the criminal charges of theft

and receipt of stolen property. In support of its argument, Employer cites an

unreported7 opinion of this Court, Borough of Fountain Hill v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1848 C.D. 2013, filed

Aug. 7, 2014). In Borough of Fountain Hill, this Court held that a police officer

who entered into an ARD program for a DUI charge was ineligible for

unemployment benefits under Section 402(e) of the Law. The dispositive fact in

Borough of Fountain Hill, however, was not that the claimant accepted entry into

the ARD program, but rather that the Police Department’s “Policies and

Procedures Manual expressly provided that ‘[f]or administrative disciplinary

7

Pursuant to Section 414(a) of the Commonwealth Court’s Internal Operating

Procedures, “[p]arties may . . . cite an unreported panel decision of this court, issued after

January 15, 2008, for its persuasive value, but not as binding precedent.”

6

purposes, Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) shall be considered a

conviction,’” and that the terms of the claimant’s ARD prohibited him from

carrying a gun. Borough of Fountain Hill, No. 1848 C.D. 2013, slip op. at 3, 9

(alteration in original). In this case, Employer has offered no evidence of a similar

policy regarding ARD and no evidence that the terms of Claimant’s ARD would in

any way impact his ability to do his job.

This Court has previously addressed the question of whether entry

into an ARD program is sufficient proof of willful misconduct. In Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review v. Vereen, 370 A.2d 1228 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1977), the

claimant was charged with theft from his employer. Although he maintained his

innocence, he entered into and successfully completed an ARD program which

consisted of six months’ probation and no restitution.8 This Court held that the

employer failed to prove willful misconduct and that the claimant was, therefore,

eligible for unemployment benefits:

We have no doubt that even one isolated instance of theft

is sufficient to constitute willful misconduct, and we so

held in Kostik v. Unemployment Compensation Board of

Review, . . . 315 A.2d 308 ([Pa. Cmwlth.] 1974).

However, we have also held that more is needed than

mere evidence of criminal arrest before the Board may

deny compensation benefits. In Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review v. Derk, . . . 353 A.2d

915, 917 [(Pa. Cmwlth. 1976)], we stated:

‘The employer must present some evidence

showing conduct of the claimant leading to

the criminal arrest which is inconsistent with

8

For clarity’s sake, we note that although the Board in Vereen found that the claimant

made restitution, this Court concluded that there was no evidence in the record to support the

finding. Vereen, 370 A.2d at 1230.

7

acceptable standards of behavior and which

directly reflects upon his ability to perform

his assigned duties. Of course, no proof of

criminal conviction is necessary. Cf.

Commonwealth v. Daugherty, . . . 305 A.2d

731 ([Pa. Cmwlth.] 1973). The employer

need only produce evidence that would have

established fault on the part of the employee

which would be incompatible with his work

responsibilities.’ (Footnote omitted.

Emphasis in original.)

Returning then to the record at hand, we note that the

employer produced no evidence to support its burden of

proving willful misconduct. Next we are cognizant that

the ARD program does not at any point determine guilt

or culminate in a criminal conviction. Participation in

the ARD program leads, if the program is completed

satisfactorily, to the dismissal of the charges. . . .

Therefore, the Board has made supportable findings that

establish only that claimant’s last day of work for his

employer was October 8, 1974, when he was discharged

and accused of improperly taking merchandise of his

employer, and that the claimant denies that accusation

but was placed on 6 months’ probation under an ARD

program. Since these are the only findings of fact

supportable by the evidence on this record, we cannot

conclude that the employer has met the burden of proving

willful misconduct . . . .

Vereen, 370 A.2d at 1231. Thus, “where a claimant is discharged for a criminal

act, such as theft, the subsequent acceptance into an ARD program is insufficient

proof of willful misconduct.” Bruce v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review,

2 A.3d 667, 677 (Pa. Cmwlth.) (emphasis added) (citing Vereen, 370 A.2d at

1231), appeal denied, 12 A.3d 753 (Pa. 2010).9

9

We note that counsel for Employer did not cite or discuss Vereen or Bruce, cases which

have been binding precedent on this Court for the last thirty-nine and six years, respectively. We

(Footnote continued on next page…)

8

As the recitation above makes clear, this case is much more similar to

Vereen than Borough of Fountain Hill. Here, as in Vereen, the only facts found by

the Board show that Claimant was charged with theft, an accusation he denies, and

entered into a one-month ARD program with no restitution payment. As pointed

out in Vereen, “the ARD program does not at any point determine guilt or

culminate in a criminal conviction.” Vereen, 370 A.2d at 1231. Because

Employer has not offered any other evidence of willful misconduct, Employer has

failed to meet its burden of proof.10 Bruce, 2 A.3d at 677. Consequently, the

Board did not err in granting unemployment benefits to Claimant.

Employer also asserts that entry into the ARD program should be

treated the same way as a nolo contendre plea for purposes of unemployment

compensation, arguing that ARD does not assert the innocence of a criminal

defendant, but it is instead used by prosecutors to lessen a criminal punishment.

Employer offers no legal argument in support of this assertion. To the extent

Employer is making a policy argument, it ignores this Court’s precedent regarding

both nolo contendre pleas and entry into an ARD program. As this Court

explained in Smith v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 967 A.2d

1042 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2009), a plea of nolo contendre “‘says, in effect, ‘I will not

(continued…)

are uncertain if counsel did not include these cases because he was unaware of them or because

of a lack of candor before this Court. We caution counsel to be thorough in his research and

candid in his filings to this Court.

10

Employer’s willful misconduct argument relies entirely on the assertion that

Claimant’s entry into the ARD program somehow constituted either a conviction or an admission

of theft. Employer does not argue that Claimant’s conduct, if it does not constitute theft,

otherwise rose to the level of willful misconduct.

9

contest’ and admits the facts charged,’” and, therefore, “essentially constitute[s]

admission[] of the facts charged in the underlying criminal proceeding[].” Smith,

967 A.2d at 1046 (quoting Commonwealth v. Hayes, 369 A.2d 750, 751 (Pa.

Super. 1976)). Conversely, entry into the ARD program “does not at any point

determine guilt or culminate in a criminal conviction.” Vereen, 370 A.2d at 1231.

Employer has offered no argument for why we should ignore these differences and

equate entry into an ARD program with a nolo contendre plea, and we see no

reason to disregard this Court’s precedent.

For the reasons discussed above, the order of the Board is affirmed.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

10

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Reading Area Water Authority, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 1177 C.D. 2015

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 21st day of April, 2016, the order of the

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review is hereby AFFIRMED.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Reading Area Water Authority, :

: No. 1177 C.D. 2015

Petitioner : Submitted: November 25, 2015

:

v. :

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Judge

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE ROCHELLE S. FRIEDMAN, Senior Judge

CONCURRING OPINION

BY SENIOR JUDGE FRIEDMAN FILED: April 21, 2016

I agree with the majority that Claimant is entitled to unemployment

compensation benefits. I write separately, however, because I believe that the

majority mischaracterizes the Board’s Finding of Fact Number 11 and unnecessarily

discusses an unreported, non-precedential decision of this court.

The Board found that criminal charges were filed against Claimant and

that Claimant entered into an Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition (ARD) program.

(Board’s Findings of Fact, Nos. 9-10.) Claimant did not plead guilty and paid

restitution. (Id., No. 11.)

The majority states that “the only facts found by the Board show that

Claimant was charged for theft, an accusation he denies, and entered into a one-

month ARD program with no restitution payment.” (Maj. Op. at 9.) Acceptance into

an ARD program requires neither an admission nor a denial of guilt. Rather, in

accordance with Pa. R. Crim. P. 315 and 316, when a defendant is accepted into an

ARD program, the defendant is not required to enter a plea of guilty or not guilty and

all proceedings on the charges are deferred until the probationary period has been

completed. Moreover, Pa. R. Crim. P. 319 and 320 provide that upon successful

completion of an ARD program, the charges against the defendant are dismissed and

the defendant’s arrest record is expunged.

Next, I disagree with the majority’s need to distinguish an unreported

decision where, as here, a reported opinion of this court is directly on point and is

binding precedent. Section 414(a) of this court’s Internal Operating Procedures (IOP)

states that “[p]arties may . . . cite an unreported panel decision of this court issued

after January 15, 2008, for its persuasive value, but not as binding precedent.”

Section 414(c) of the IOP provides that “[a] reported opinion of the . . . panel may be

cited as binding precedent.” (Emphasis added.)

In Unemployment Compensation Board of Review v. Vereen, 370 A.2d

1228, 1230 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1977), the employer discharged the claimant for an alleged

theft. The claimant entered into an ARD program and paid restitution. Id. at 1230.

This court held that because the ARD program does not determine guilt, the employer

did not meet its burden of proving willful misconduct. Id. at 1231. See also Bruce v.

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 2 A.3d 667, 677 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2010)

(holding that where a claimant is discharged because of an illegal act, acceptance of

ARD program is insufficient to prove willful misconduct).

RSF - 2 -

Vereen is factually indistinguishable from the present case and is binding

precedent. Thus, I am dismayed by Employer’s citation to and the majority’s in-

depth discussion of Borough of Fountain Hill v. Unemployment Compensation Board

of Review, (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1848 C.D. 2013, filed August 7, 2014), which is an

unreported, non-precedential decision of this court. I acknowledge that the majority

has an obligation to address the parties’ arguments. However, I submit that because

Vereen is a reported opinion of this court, which is on all fours with the facts at hand,

this court should not engage in a lengthy analysis of a factually distinguishable and

unreported decision of this court that I submit has no persuasive value.

I am further troubled because although Employer found and relied upon

Borough of Fountain Hill, nowhere in its brief does Employer, or Claimant for that

matter, mention Vereen, decided nearly 40 years ago, or this court’s 2010 decision in

Bruce, which reiterated Vereen’s holding that entrance into an ARD program is not

proof of willful misconduct. I submit that such omission is sanctionable. Rule 1.1 of

the Pennsylvania Rules of Professional Conduct provides that “[a] lawyer shall

provide competent representation to a client. Competent representation requires the

legal knowledge, skill, thoroughness and preparation reasonably necessary for the

representation.” Additionally, Rule 3.3 (a)(2) of the Pennsylvania Rules of

Professional Conduct provides that “[a] lawyer shall not knowingly . . fail to disclose

to the tribunal legal authority . . . known to the lawyer to be directly adverse to the

position of the client and not disclosed by the opposing counsel.”

Even if Borough of Fountain Hill were a reported opinion, I would not

find it persuasive because the facts and issues are critically distinguishable. The

RSF - 3 -

claimant in Borough of Fountain Hill was a police officer charged with driving under

the influence of alcohol (DUI) while off-duty. Id., slip op. at 1, 3. In determining

that he was ineligible for unemployment compensation benefits, this court recognized

that the “[c]laimant was not an ordinary employee; he was a police officer and his

DUI was a violation of a law that his duties required him to enforce.” Id., slip op. at

9. Further, the “[c]laimant’s criminal DUI [was] inconsistent with acceptable

standards of behavior and with his job responsibilities as a police officer.” Id., slip

op. at 10.

In this case, Claimant is an ordinary employee, who should not be

disparaged by a comparison to the police officer in Borough of Fountain Hill, who

violated a law he was obligated to uphold. In this day and age, employers search the

internet for information about potential employees. Experience has taught us that

when there are numerous applicants for a job, employers are less likely to hire a

candidate whose image has been besmirched because he has been falsely accused of

employment wrongdoing.

Accordingly, I concur in the result only.

___________________________________

ROCHELLE S. FRIEDMAN, Senior Judge

RSF - 4 -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.