Opinion

Bobby Swain v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Mar 21, 2016
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

BOBBY SWAIN, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, AT-831M-15-0544-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: March 21, 2016

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Bobby Swain, Covington, Georgia, pro se.

Roxann Johnson, Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

REMAND ORDER

¶1 The Office of Personnel Management (OPM) has filed a petition for review

of the initial decision, which found that it failed to establish the existence of a

Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS) annuity overpayment. For the reasons

discussed below, we GRANT OPM’s petition for review, VACATE the initial

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

decision, and REMAND the case to the regional office for further adjudication in

accordance with this Order.

BACKGROUND

¶2 The appellant retired from Federal service effective June 4, 2004, under the

CSRS Offset system. Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 5 at 37-41. The appellant

separately applied for disability benefits with the Social Security Administration

(SSA), which approved his application and began paying him those benefits in

December 2004. IAF, Tab 1 at 8. OPM issued the appellant notice in

August 2014, that his CSRS annuity would be offset by $291 each month based

on his eligibility for Social Security old-age insurance benefits, and it informed

him that he had received an overpayment of $12,444 because this offset should

have begun when he turned 62 years old in April 2011. Id. at 70-74. OPM

subsequently rescinded its overpayment notice and issued the appellant an

amended notice explaining that the offset should have begun in May 2011, the

month after he turned 62, and that he was overpaid by $12,153. Id. at 25. The

appellant requested reconsideration from OPM, which issued a final decision

affirming its finding of an overpayment of $12,153. Id. at 5-10. In its final

decision, OPM explained that, although the appellant was not at fault for causing

the overpayment, recovery of the overpayment would not be against equity and

good conscience, and it imposed a 36-month repayment schedule. Id.

¶3 The appellant timely filed an appeal challenging OPM’s determination that

he had received an overpayment, and arguing in the alternative that the

overpayment should be waived. IAF, Tab 1. Following a hearing, the

administrative judge issued an initial decision finding that OPM had not

established the existence of an overpayment. IAF, Tab 14, Initial Decision (ID).

He found that only Social Security old-age insurance benefits could offset a

CSRS annuity under 5 U.S.C. § 8349, and thus he concluded that OPM failed to

prove that the appellant received such benefits beginning in May 2011. ID at 3-5.

3

Rather, the administrative judge found it undisputed that the appellant received

Social Security disability insurance benefits beginning in December 2004, and

that he would continue to receive such benefits until he became eligible for

old-age insurance benefits upon turning 66. ID at 4 (citing 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.321(c)(1)) (explaining that disability benefits terminate the month before

the appellant attains full retirement age), section 404.409(a)). The administrative

judge thus reversed OPM’s reconsideration decision without addressing whether

the overpayment should be waived, or whether there should be an adjustment to

the repayment schedule. ID at 5.

¶4 OPM has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, and the appellant

has filed an opposition. Petition for Review (PFR) File, Tabs 1, 4.

DISCUSSION

¶5 CSRS Offset generally covers employees who were hired after

December 31, 1983, and were required to make Old Age, Survivor, and Disability

Insurance payments into the Social Security system. See Wible v. Department of

the Army, 120 M.S.P.R. 333, ¶ 6 (2013). When an employee in CSRS Offset

retires, OPM calculates the retirement annuity using the same method as a CSRS

employee, but, when the individual becomes eligible to draw Social Security

payments, the CSRS annuity payment is reduced by the amount of Social Security

benefit attributed to the covered Government service. Id. This basic principle of

CSRS Offset is codified at 5 U.S.C. § 8349, which provides in relevant part that

“if an individual under [5 U.S.C. § 8402(b)(2)] is entitled, or would on proper

application be entitled, to old-age insurance benefits under title II of the Social

Security Act, the annuity otherwise payable to such individual shall be reduced

under this section.” 5 U.S.C. § 8349(a)(1). The criteria used to calculate an

annuity under CSRS Offset is located at 5 U.S.C. § 8349(a)(2)-(5). See also

5 C.F.R. part 831, subpart J.

4

¶6 In his initial decision, the administrative judge found that only Social

Security old-age insurance benefit payments can offset a CSRS annuity under

section 8349. ID at 3-5. He further explained that an individual cannot

simultaneously receive both old-age insurance benefits and disability insurance

benefits under the Social Security Act, and that disability insurance benefits

automatically convert to old-age insurance benefits once an individual reaches

full retirement age. ID at 4. The administrative judge thus concluded that the

appellant could not have been receiving old-age insurance benefits while he was

receiving disability insurance benefits and that OPM therefore failed to establish

that the benefits he received were benefits that would have subjected his CSRS

annuity to an offset under section 8349. ID at 4-5. We disagree with the

administrative judge that the record was sufficiently developed to make

this conclusion.

¶7 For purposes of determining the appellant’s annuity offset under 5 U.S.C.

§ 8349, we find that the record is unclear as to whether the appellant was entitled

to old-age insurance benefits upon turning 62 years old. Specifically, the

appellant submitted a decision letter on appeal from SSA informing him that he

was entitled to Social Security disability benefits retroactive to June 2004. IAF,

Tab 1. However, in March 2011, SSA provided notice to OPM that the appellant

was entitled to old-age benefits effective in May 2011. IAF, Tab 5 at 35. In

computing the appellant’s annuity, OPM must rely on SSA’s certification of an

annuitant’s eligibility for old-age insurance benefits. See 5 U.S.C. § 8347(m)(3).

Accordingly, we remand this appeal for further factual findings regarding the

appellant’s entitlement to old-age insurance benefits upon turning 62 years old,

including soliciting information from SSA regarding his entitlement. 2

2

The appellant has filed a motion to submit additional evidence in the form of a letter

from SSA, which he states shows when his disability benefits were converted to old-age

insurance benefits. PFR File, Tab 7. The agency also has submitted additional

evidence on review. PFR File, Tab 1. We need not rule on the appellant’s motion or

consider the agency’s evidence at this time, but such evidence may be relevant to the

5

¶8 Additionally, upon our review of the record, it appears that OPM reduced

the appellant’s monthly CSRS annuity in May 2011. IAF, Tab 5 at 32.

Specifically, OPM’s retirement calculations reflect that the appellant received

$2,427 per month between December 1, 2008, and April 30, 2011, and that,

effective May 1, 2011, his monthly annuity was reduced by over $500, to $1,925.

Id. The appellant submitted corroborating evidence showing a reduction in the

net annuity payment he received. Id. at 13-15. This reduction coincides with the

appellant turning 62 years of age. Id. at 37 (reflecting the appellant’s date of

birth). There are several possible explanations for this reduction 3; the record,

however, contains no such explanation. See Sansom v. Office of Personnel

Management, 62 M.S.P.R. 560, 563 (1994). Accordingly, on remand, the

administrative judge also must determine the reason, or reasons, for the $502

reduction in the appellant’s CSRS annuity payment beginning in May 2011. If

the administrative judge determines that OPM indeed has proven the existence

and amount of the overpayment, then he should determine whether the appellant

has established an entitlement to a waiver of the overpayment or an adjustment in

the repayment schedule imposed by OPM. See Fearon v. Office of Personnel

Management, 107 M.S.P.R. 122, ¶¶ 7, 14 (2007), modified on other grounds by

Alexander v. Office of Personnel Management, 114 M.S.P.R. 122 (2010).

determination on remand. Therefore, on remand, the administrative judge should afford

the parties an opportunity to submit their evidence on remand, and he should consider it

in determining the appellant’s entitlement to old-age benefits.

3

OPM’s reconsideration decision, for example, alludes to a mistaken calculation

concerning the appellant’s post-1956 military service credit. IAF, Tab 5 at 10.

6

ORDER

¶9 For the reasons discussed above, we remand this case to the regional office

for further adjudication in accordance with this Remand Order.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.