Opinion

Theresa G. Kristek v. Department of Veterans Affairs

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Mar 10, 2016
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 43.1%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

THERESA G. KRISTEK, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, SF-0752-15-0574-I-1

v.

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS DATE: March 10, 2016

AFFAIRS,

Agency.

THIS ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Sam L. Maze, Highland, California, for the appellant.

La’Chelle M. Woodert, Esquire, Loma Linda, California, for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

REMAND ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

dismissed her appeal for lack of jurisdiction. For the reasons discussed below, we

GRANT the petition for review and REMAND the case to the regional office for

further adjudication in accordance with this Order.

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board ‘s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

DISCUSSION OF ARGUMENTS ON REVIEW

¶2 The appellant, a preference-eligible veteran, was granted disability

retirement from the GS-4 position of File Clerk on the basis of post-traumatic

stress disorder (PTSD), chronic migraines, fibromyalgia, and other conditions.

Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 7, Subtabs 4G, 4U. She appealed, alleging that her

retirement was involuntary and that the agency discriminated against her on the

bases of disability and age, and retaliated against her for prior equal employment

opportunity activity. 2 IAF, Tabs 1, 3. The administrative judge gave the

appellant notice of the test to prove jurisdiction over an allegedly involuntary

disability retirement and notice of the general jurisdictional test to prove

jurisdiction over an allegedly involuntary retirement. IAF, Tab 2.

¶3 Based on the submissions of the parties, the administrative judge found that

the appellant failed to make a nonfrivolous allegation of jurisdiction under the

test to prove that her disability retirement was involuntary. He found that, once

the appellant and her physician identified the need for accommodation, the

agency complied by scheduling the appellant to work between 6 a.m. and

2:30 p.m., and moving the appellant to an area of the office where she could have

a cubicle with a door to reduce excessive contact with others, as recommended by

her physician. IAF, Tab 10, Initial Decision (ID) at 11. He also found that the

appellant failed to make a nonfrivolous allegation that the agency unjustifiably

failed to afford the appellant her preferred accommodation of removing her

supervisor from his office and then transferring her into that office, which was an

accommodation beyond that recommended by her physician. ID at 12.

2

The appellant filed an equal employment opportunity complaint on December 18,

2013, that included her claim that the agency coerced her disability retirement. The

complaint was accepted as a claim of hostile work environment. IAF, Tab 7, Subtab 3.

The agency completed the investigative report on April 28, 2014. Id. The record

does not show that the agency has issued a final decision on the appellant’s equal

employment opportunity complaint.

3

¶4 The administrative judge also found that, even if the Office of Personnel

Management had not granted the appellant’s application for disability retirement,

the appellant failed to make a nonfrivolous allegation of jurisdiction under the

general test for involuntary retirement. He found that the appellant failed to make

a nonfrivolous allegation that the agency misled her, deceived her, or created

intolerable working conditions that forced her to retire. He found that the

appellant failed to show that the agency’s notice of proposed removal based on

absence without leave (AWOL) could not be substantiated. ID at 13. He also

found that the appellant had once cancelled her request for disability retirement,

and she failed to show that the agency coerced her rescission of the cancellation

because she was well aware that she could cancel the rescission. ID at 13.

¶5 Finally, the administrative judge found that, to the extent that the appellant

alleged unlawful discrimination and retaliation in this appeal, because she has not

raised an otherwise appealable action, the Board has no jurisdiction to address

these allegations. ID at 14.

¶6 In her petition for review, 3 the appellant alleges that the administrative

judge erred in finding that the agency had accommodated her disability, and

failed to consider that the agency had accommodated the appellant for 12 years,

but withdrew that accommodation. Petition for Review File, Tab 1. 4 The

3

Attached to the appellant’s petition for review is a copy of the response to the

acknowledgment order that she submitted into the record below. Evidence that is

already part of the record is not new, and the Board will not consider the submission on

that basis. See Meier v. Department of the Interior, 3 M.S.P.R. 247, 256 (1980). The

Board will consider this evidence as part of its review of the record on petition

for review.

4

The appellant asserts that the administrative judge was biased because the appellant’s

representative had asked the administrative judge to recuse himself in a prior case. In

making a claim of bias or prejudice against an administrative judge, a party must

overcome the presumption of honesty and integrity that accompanies administrative

adjudicators. Oliver v. Department of Transportation, 1 M.S.P.R. 382, 386 (1980). An

administrative judge’s conduct during the course of a Board proceeding warrants a new

adjudication only if the administrative judge’s comments or actions evidence “a

deep-seated favoritism or antagonism that would make fair judgment impossible.”

4

appellant’s assertion that the administrative judge failed to consider the agency’s

prior accommodation of the appellant’s disability is correct, and, as explained

below, his failure is error that necessitates remand of the appeal.

¶7 A retirement is presumed to be voluntary and therefore outside the Board’s

jurisdiction. See Vitale v. Department of Veterans Affairs, 107 M.S.P.R. 501,

¶ 17 (2007). An involuntary retirement, however, is equivalent to a forced

removal within the Board’s jurisdiction under chapter 75. Garcia v. Department

of Homeland Security, 437 F.3d 1322, 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (en banc). If an

appellant makes nonfrivolous allegations of jurisdiction, i.e., allegations that, if

proven, would establish the Board’s jurisdiction, she is entitled to a hearing at

which she must prove jurisdiction by a preponderance of the evidence. Id.

at 1344; Goodwin v. Department of Transportation, 106 M.S.P.R. 520, ¶ 12

(2007). In determining whether the appellant has made a nonfrivolous allegation,

the Board may consider the agency’s documentary submissions; however, to the

extent that the agency’s evidence constitutes mere factual contradiction of the

appellant’s otherwise adequate prima facie showing of jurisdiction, the

administrative judge may not weigh evidence and resolve conflicting assertions of

the parties, and the agency’s evidence may not be dispositive. Ferdon v. U.S.

Postal Service, 60 M.S.P.R. 325, 329 (1994).

¶8 Generally, an appellant who claims that a retirement was involuntary may

rebut the presumption of voluntariness in a variety of ways, for example, by

showing that the retirement was the result of misinformation or deception by the

agency, intolerable working conditions, or the unjustified threat of an adverse

action. SanSoucie v. Department of Agriculture, 116 M.S.P.R. 149, ¶ 14 (2011).

Bieber v. Department of the Army, 287 F.3d 1358, 1362–63 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (quoting

Liteky v. United States, 510 U.S. 540, 555 (1994)). We find that the appellant’s

allegations of bias do not meet this standard. The appellant has identified no statement

or action by the administrative judge to suggest that he was biased against the

appellant’s representative because of the representative’s actions during another case

before the administrative judge.

5

However, the Board has recognized that involuntary disability retirement cases

are somewhat different from ordinary involuntary retirement appeals. In most

cases, an appellant who alleges that her disability retirement was involuntary

must show: (1) she indicated to the agency that she wished to continue working,

but that her medical limitations required a modification of her work conditions or

duties, i.e., accommodation; (2) there was a reasonable accommodation available

during the period between the date on which she indicated to the agency that she

had medical limitations but desired to continue working and the date that she was

separated that would have allowed the appellant to continue working; and (3) the

agency unjustifiably failed to offer that accommodation. Id., ¶ 15. 5

¶9 Contrary to the initial decision, we find the appellant has made nonfrivolous

allegations under the SanSoucie test sufficient to entitle her to a hearing on the

question of whether her disability retirement was voluntary. The appellant

alleged that the agency had accommodated her disability for 12 years by allowing

her to work in a quiet area, “away from other staff, as requested by her medical

provider.” IAF, Tab 3 at 10. That the appellant was afforded the accommodation

that she references is corroborated by her third-line supervisor during the

investigation into the appellant’s equal employment opportunity complaint when

he stated that “previous reasonable accommodation was provided. . . . A cubicle

in the very back part of the building, in a very quiet section of the file room.”

IAF, Tab 7, Subtab 4E at 4. The third-level supervisor stated that the appellant

“accepted that cubicle with no problem.” Id. It appears that this accommodation

was afforded the appellant in 2001 pursuant to a statement from her physician

5

In unusual cases, the Board has applied the general jurisdictional tests for involuntary

retirement in the disability retirement context. See, e.g., Vaughan v. Department of

Agriculture, 116 M.S.P.R. 493, ¶¶ 13–14 (2011) (finding that the appellant

nonfrivolously alleged that he was coerced into retirement because the agency’s

conduct in creating a discriminatory, hostile work environment caused him to be

disabled). This exception is not relevant here. There is no evidence that the agency

caused the disabilities that led to the appellant’s disability retirement.

6

that “high levels of direct contact with people has brought the crowding, noise,

and other factors that currently are detrimental [to the appellant].” IAF, Tab 4,

Subtab B. The accommodation afforded the appellant in 2001 was consistent

with the work restriction request from her mental health providers in 2013 that, as

an accommodation to her chronic PTSD, she work “by herself with objects and

data and with minimal contacts with people.” Id., Subtab C. In fact, the 2013

request for accommodation by the appellant’s health care providers references the

language in the 2001 request for accommodation and repeats some of it verbatim.

Id., Subtab F.

¶10 For unexplained reasons, in April 2013, the appellant’s third-line supervisor

stopped the accommodation that had been effective for the appellant for 12 years,

and the appellant filed a formal request for disability accommodation. IAF,

Tab 4, Subtab D. The agency approved the 2013 accommodation request. Id. As

the administrative judge found, the agency attempted to comply with the request

for accommodation by scheduling the appellant to work between 6 a.m. and

2:30 p.m., and moving the appellant to an area of the office where she could have

a cubicle with a door to reduce excessive contact with others. However, this

accommodation proved ineffective as reflected in the appellant’s treating

physicians’ off-work orders that covered the period from October 15, 2013,

through August 11, 2014. IAF, Tab 7, Subtabs 4D, 4I, 4K-4L, 4N-4Q, 4S.

¶11 In April 2014, the appellant applied for disability retirement. Id.,

Subtab 4I. However, on June 25, 2014, she rescinded her application. Id.,

Subtab 4R. The agency was aware that the appellant cancelled her application, as

proven by the fact that, upon her cancellation, the agency changed her leave

status from leave without pay (LWOP) to AWOL. 6 IAF, Tab 4, Subtab K. In her

6

During the period of time from August 2013, when the appellant claimed that the

agency’s attempted accommodation was ineffective, to April 2014, when she applied

for disability retirement, the appellant was absent from work on approved and

donated leave.

7

rescission letter, the appellant stated that she did not want to retire and that her

facility was discriminating against her by not providing a reasonable

accommodation for her disability. IAF, Tab 7, Subtab 4R. Further, the medical

evidence in the record indicates that the appellant was capable of working full

time if the agency provided the accommodation that had been previously

provided. IAF, Tab 4, Subtabs F, H. We find that, under these circumstances, the

appellant made a nonfrivolous allegation that if proven would satisfy the first

prong of the test to establish that a disability retirement is involuntary, i.e., that

she indicated to the agency that she wished to continue working, but that her

medical limitations required a modification of her work conditions or duties, i.e.,

accommodation. See SanSoucie, 116 M.S.P.R. 149, ¶ 15.

¶12 Further, as noted, there had been an effective accommodation for the

appellant for 12 years, and the agency failed to explain why that accommodation

was unavailable. There appears therefore to have been a reasonable

accommodation available during the period between the date on which the

appellant reiterated to the agency that she had medical limitations but desired to

continue working and the date that she was separated that would have allowed the

appellant to continue working. Thus, we find that the appellant made a

nonfrivolous allegation that satisfied the second prong of the test to prove that her

disability retirement was involuntary. Id.

¶13 As the agency has offered no explanation for ending the accommodation

that had been successful for the appellant for 12 years, we find that the appellant

nonfrivolously alleged that the agency unjustifiably failed to offer that

accommodation. See De John v. U.S. Postal Service, EEOC DOC 07A20030,

2004 WL 1084818, at *5 (May 10, 2004) (holding that the agency committed

disability discrimination when it withdrew the reasonable accommodation that

allowed the appellant to perform the essential functions of his position). Thus,

the appellant made a nonfrivolous allegation that satisfied the third prong of the

test for involuntary retirement. See SanSoucie, 116 M.S.P.R. 149, ¶ 15. Because

8

the appellant’s allegations, taken as true, could support a finding that her

disability retirement was involuntary, she is entitled to a jurisdictional hearing. 7

Cf. Atkins v. Department of Commerce, 81 M.S.P.R. 246, ¶¶ 9–11 (1999)

(remanding the appeal to give the appellant an additional opportunity to establish

that his disability retirement was involuntary based on allegations that he applied

for retirement, not because he wanted to retire, but to force the agency to reassign

him to a less stressful and physically-demanding position that would not

aggravate his underlying condition).

7

The record shows that, in April 2014 when the appellant applied for disability

retirement, she had exhausted her leave, and the agency carried her in LWOP status

while her application was pending. However, when the appellant withdrew her

application, the agency placed the appellant in AWOL status, notwithstanding that her

physicians had certified that she was incapacitated for duty during that period of time,

IAF, Tab 4, Subtab H, and proposed her removal on that basis, id., Subtab K. As noted,

the administrative judge found that the appellant failed to make a nonfrivolous

allegation of jurisdiction under the general test for involuntary retirement, finding in

part that the appellant failed to show that the agency’s notice of proposed removal

based on AWOL could not be substantiated. ID at 13. We do not reach the issue of

whether the appellant made a nonfrivolous allegation of involuntary retirement under

the general test, and thus do not make any determination whether the agency’s placing

the appellant in AWOL status after she rescinded her application for disability

retirement could be substantiated. See Wesley v. U.S. Postal Service, 94 M.S.P.R. 277,

¶ 18 (2003) (“A charge of AWOL will not be sustained if the appellant presents

evidence to the Board showing that he was incapacitated for duty during the relevant

time period.”); Murray v. Department of the Navy, 41 M.S.P.R. 260, 263 (1989)

(discussing that, in cases involving medical excuses, the Board will examine the record

as a whole to determine whether the agency’s denial of LWOP was reasonable under

the circumstances).

9

ORDER

¶14 For the reasons discussed above, we remand this case to the regional office

for further adjudication in accordance with this Remand Order.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.