Opinion

Robert D. Franklin v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Mar 10, 2016
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 43.1%

so finding in the context of the denial of a request for appointment of counsel

How later courts described this case

  • so finding in the context of the denial of a request for appointment of counsel

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

ROBERT D. FRANKLIN, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, AT-844E-15-0571-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: March 10, 2016

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS FINAL ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Robert D. Franklin, Elizabethton, Tennessee, pro se.

Thomas Styer, Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

FINAL ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

affirmed the reconsideration decision of the Office of Personnel Management

(OPM) denying his application for disability retirement under the Federal

Employees’ Retirement System (FERS). Generally, we grant petitions such as

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

this one only when: the initial decision contains erroneous findings of material

fact; the initial decision is based on an erroneous interpretation of statute or

regulation or the erroneous application of the law to the facts of the case; the

administrative judge’s rulings during either the course of the appeal or the initial

decision were not consistent with required procedures or involved an abuse of

discretion, and the resulting error affected the outcome of the case; or new and

material evidence or legal argument is available that, despite the petitioner’s due

diligence, was not available when the record closed. See title 5 of the Code of

Federal Regulations, section 1201.115 (5 C.F.R. § 1201.115). After fully

considering the filings in this appeal, we conclude that the petitioner has not

established any basis under section 1201.115 for granting the petition for review.

Therefore, we DENY the petition for review and AFFIRM the initial decision,

which is now the Board’s final decision. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113(b).

BACKGROUND

¶2 Effective March 16, 2012, the appellant was removed from his Painter

position with the Department of Veterans Affairs (DVA). Initial Appeal File

(IAF), Tab 4 at 221. In May 2013, the appellant submitted an application for

disability retirement under FERS to the DVA. Id. at 237-38. In a letter dated

April 17, 2014, OPM informed the appellant that his application did not meet the

1-year filing deadline and requested evidence of mental incompetency during the

filing period to prove his entitlement to a waiver of the filing deadline. Id.

at 212-13. After the appellant responded, OPM issued an initial decision

dismissing his application as untimely. Id. at 131-33, 211. The appellant

requested reconsideration, and OPM affirmed its initial decision and found that he

failed to show that he was mentally incompetent during the filing period. Id. at

4‑6.

¶3 The appellant subsequently filed an appeal of OPM’s reconsideration

decision and requested a hearing. IAF, Tab 1 at 1-6. In an order and summary of

3

telephonic prehearing conference, the administrative judge informed the appellant

of his burden of proving that he timely filed a disability retirement application or

was mentally incompetent during the relevant filing period. IAF, Tab 7. In a

prehearing submission, the appellant alleged that he submitted a disability

retirement application on November 29, 2012. IAF, Tab 8 at 4. Later, he

asserted and testified during the hearing that he first submitted a disability

retirement application to the DVA on February 27, 2013. IAF, Tab 9 at 1,

Tab 10, Hearing Compact Disc (HCD) (00:13:06-00:14:03).

¶4 The administrative judge issued an initial decision affirming OPM’s

reconsideration decision. IAF, Tab 11, Initial Decision (ID) at 1, 6. The

administrative judge found that the appellant’s testimony that he filed a disability

retirement application on or around February 28, 2013, was not credible. ID

at 4‑6. Therefore, he found that the appellant failed to prove that he timely filed

his disability retirement application. ID at 6. He further found the appellant

either abandoned or failed to prove his claim of mental incompetence during the

filing period. Id.

¶5 The appellant has filed a petition for review. Petition for Review (PFR)

File, Tab 1. The agency has filed a response in opposition, PFR File, Tab 3, to

which the appellant has replied, PFR File, Tab 4.

DISCUSSION OF ARGUMENTS ON REVIEW

¶6 An application for disability retirement under FERS must be filed with an

employee’s employing agency before the employee separates from service or with

the former employing agency or OPM within 1 year after the employee’s

separation. 5 U.S.C. § 8453; King v. Office of Personnel Management,

112 M.S.P.R. 522, ¶ 7 (2009); 5 C.F.R. § 844.201(a)(1). The 1-year time limit

for filing a disability retirement application following an employee’s separation

from service may be waived if the employee is mentally incompetent at the date

of separation or within 1 year thereafter and if the application is filed with the

4

former employing agency or OPM within 1 year from the date the employee is

restored to competency or is appointed a fiduciary, whichever is earlier. 5 U.S.C.

§ 8453; King, 112 M.S.P.R. 522, ¶ 7; 5 C.F.R. § 844.201(a)(4). An employee

seeking retirement benefits bears the burden of proving entitlement to those

benefits by preponderant evidence. 2 Henderson v. Office of Personnel

Management, 109 M.S.P.R. 529, ¶ 8 (2008); 5 C.F.R. § 1201.56(b)(2)(ii).

The appellant has failed to prove that he timely filed an application for

disability retirement.

¶7 As the administrative judge properly found, the appellant has failed to meet

his burden of proving that he timely filed an application for disability retirement.

ID at 6. Because the appellant was removed on March 16, 2012, his filing

deadline was on March 16, 2013. IAF, Tab 4 at 221. In a prehearing submission,

the appellant asserted that he timely filed his application on November 29, 2012. 3

IAF, Tab 8 at 4. However, he never substantiated this claim.

¶8 In a subsequent prehearing submission, and during his hearing testimony,

the appellant asserted that he timely filed his disability retirement application on

February 27, 2013. IAF, Tab 9 at 1; HCD (00:03:07-00:07:35). To support his

argument, he submitted a signed statement from a current DVA Human Resources

Specialist, a completed copy of Standard Form 3112A, Applicant’s Statement of

Disability, dated February 27, 2013, and a letter from the Social Security

Administration confirming an appointment for February 28, 2013, related to a

claim for disability Supplemental Security Income. IAF, Tab 9 at 2-6. He also

called the Human Resources Specialist as a witness during the hearing.

HCD (00:14:20-00:35:00).

2

A preponderance of the evidence is the degree of relevant evidence that a reasonable

person, considering the record as a whole, would accept as sufficient to find that a

contested fact is more likely to be true than untrue. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.4(q).

3

The appellant seems to have misread a date stamp that appears to identify

November 29, 2013, as the date OPM received his disability retirement application.

IAF, Tab 8 at 7.

5

¶9 The administrative judge found that the appellant’s documentary evidence

and the Human Resources Specialist’s testimony showed only that he made

preparatory steps to file a disability retirement application before the filing

deadline and did not prove that he in fact timely filed an application. ID at 4.

We agree. In a written statement, the Human Resources Specialist asserted that

the appellant gave him copies of documents that would have been processed with

a disability retirement application had they been submitted within the filing

deadline, but he could not find such documents in the DVA’s records. IAF, Tab 9

at 2. Because the Human Resources Specialist did not start his position until

May 2013, he could not confirm the DVA’s receipt of any documents related to

the appellant’s disability retirement application prior to that date.

HCD (00:28:10-00:34:35).

¶10 The administrative judge further found that the appellant’s testimony

was not credible due to its inconsistency with his prior statements. ID at 5-6. We

defer to the administrative judge’s demeanor-based credibility determination

because the appellant has not provided a sufficiently sound reason on review to

overturn it. See Haebe v. Department of Justice, 288 F.3d 1288, 1301 (Fed. Cir.

2002) (finding that the Board must give deference to an administrative judge’s

credibility determinations when they are based, explicitly or implicitly, on the

observation of the demeanor of witnesses testifying at a hearing, and that the

Board may overturn such determinations only when it has “sufficiently sound”

reasons for doing so).

¶11 In his petition for review, the appellant reasserts that he timely filed a

disability retirement application on February 27, 2013. PFR File, Tab 4 at 1-2.

To support his argument, the appellant submits an affidavit from a former DVA

Human Resources Specialist created on September 29, 2015. PFR File, Tab 1

at 2, 4. In the affidavit, the former Human Resources Specialist confirms meeting

the appellant on February 28, 2013, to review his disability retirement

application. Id. at 4. The former Human Resources Specialist further states that

6

the appellant gave him the completed application at the meeting and he forwarded

the application to his coworker for processing. Id. The appellant also submits a

copy of an armband documenting his visit to an emergency room on February 27,

2013. PFR File, Tab 4 at 2-3.

¶12 The Board generally will not consider evidence submitted for the first time

on review absent a showing that: (1) the documents and the information

contained in the documents were unavailable before the record closed despite due

diligence; and (2) the evidence is of sufficient weight to warrant an outcome

different from that of the initial decision. Cleaton v. Department of Justice,

122 M.S.P.R. 296, ¶ 7 (2015); 5 C.F.R. § 1201.115(d). Where, as here, a hearing

is held in a Board appeal, the record in the case ordinarily closes at the

conclusion of the hearing. See Ruffin v. Department of the Treasury, 89 M.S.P.R.

396, ¶ 6 (2001); 5 C.F.R. § 1201.59(a). Thus, we find that the record closed on

September 3, 2015, the date of the hearing. IAF, Tab 5 at 1, Tab 10.

¶13 We find that the appellant has not shown that the affidavit and copy of an

armband were unavailable despite his due diligence when the record closed, and

thus, we decline to consider them. The appellant explains that he was unable to

obtain the affidavit before the hearing because he believed he did not need it and

only realized that it was important after the hearing. PFR File, Tab 4 at 1. He

admits that he did not attempt to contact the former Human Resources Specialist

until after the hearing. Id. Therefore, we find that the appellant did not

demonstrate due diligence because he did not attempt to find the former Human

Resources Specialist until after the record closed. Further, the appellant has not

attempted to explain why the copy of the armband was unavailable despite his due

diligence before the end of the hearing.

¶14 For these reasons, we find that the appellant has not provided a reason to

disturb the administrative judge’s determination that the appellant failed to prove

that he timely filed a disability retirement application. See Crosby v. U.S. Postal

Service, 74 M.S.P.R. 98, 105-06 (1997) (finding no reason to disturb the

7

administrative judge’s findings when she considered the evidence as a whole,

drew appropriate references, and made reasoned conclusions).

The appellant has failed to prove that he is entitled to a waiver of the 1-year time

limit based on mental incompetence.

¶15 In response to OPM’s request for information necessary for a competency

determination, the appellant submitted affidavits from his mother and friend

describing his difficulty in performing day-to-day tasks. IAF, Tab 4 at 212-17.

He also submitted a copy of his medical records and letters from the Office of

Workers’ Compensation Programs approving his traumatic injury claim for the

condition of chemical pneumonitis. Id. at 164-209, 211. In its reconsideration

decision, OPM found that the appellant’s evidence was insufficient to show that

he was mentally incompetent during the filing period. Id. at 5.

¶16 The administrative judge noted that the appellant did not claim mental

incompetence during the filing period in his Board submissions or during the

hearing, and thus, he effectively abandoned the claim at the Board level. ID at 6.

The administrative judge also found that the record supports OPM’s

determination that the appellant did not prove that he was mentally incompetent

during the filing period. Id. The appellant does not raise the issue of mental

incompetence on review, and we find no reason to disturb the administrative

judge’s finding.

¶17 The standard for an individual’s “mental incompetence is an inability to

handle one’s personal affairs because of either physical or mental disease or

injury.” Rapp v. Office of Personnel Management, 483 F.3d 1339, 1341 (Fed.

Cir. 2007) (so finding in the context of the denial of a request for appointment of

counsel). An individual can meet this standard even if he has “some minimal

capacity to manage his own affairs.” McLaughlin v. Office of Personnel

Management, 353 F.3d 1363, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (quoting French v. Office of

8

Personnel Management, 810 F.2d 1118, 1120 (Fed. Cir. 1987)). 4 In determining

whether an individual was mentally incompetent during the relevant filing period,

the Board requires medical evidence supporting subjective opinions of mental

incompetence. Arizpe v. Office of Personnel Management, 88 M.S.P.R. 463,

¶ 9 (2001).

¶18 We find that the medical evidence of record is inadequate to show that the

appellant was mentally incompetent during the filing period because it does not

support the conclusion that his medical condition of chemical pneumonitis and

prescribed use of steroids rendered him unable to handle his personal affairs.

IAF, Tab 4 at 164-80, 187, 190-93. Instead, the medical evidence demonstrates

great improvement in his medical condition and a lack of serious side effects

from using steroids. Id. Therefore, we agree with the administrative judge that

the appellant has failed to show that he was mentally incompetent during the

filing period.

¶19 In conclusion, we find that the administrative judge properly affirmed

OPM’s reconsideration decision.

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING

YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS

You have the right to request review of this final decision by the U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. You must submit your request to the

court at the following address:

4

French involved an application for disability retirement under the Civil Service

Retirement System (CSRS); Rapp involved an application under FERS. See Rapp v.

Office of Personnel Management, 108 M.S.P.R. 674, 676 (2008). The waiver

provisions of the CSRS and FERS are virtually identical and have been construed

consistently with one another. See McLaughlin, 353 F.3d at 1368; see also King,

112 M.S.P.R. 522, ¶ 7. Compare 5 U.S.C. § 8337(b), and 5 C.F.R. § 831.1204(d), with

5 U.S.C. § 8453, and 5 C.F.R. § 844.201(a)(4).

9

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

717 Madison Place, N.W.

Washington, DC 20439

The court must receive your request for review no later than 60 calendar days

after the date of this order. See 5 U.S.C. § 7703(b)(1)(A) (as rev. eff. Dec. 27,

2012). If you choose to file, be very careful to file on time. The court has held

that normally it does not have the authority to waive this statutory deadline and

that filings that do not comply with the deadline must be dismissed. See Pinat v.

Office of Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

If you need further information about your right to appeal this decision to

court, you should refer to the Federal law that gives you this right. It is found in

title 5 of the U.S. Code, section 7703 (5 U.S.C. § 7703) (as rev. eff. Dec. 27,

2012). You may read this law as well as other sections of the U.S. Code, at our

website, http://www.mspb.gov/appeals/uscode.htm. Additional information is

available at the court’s website, www.cafc.uscourts.gov. Of particular relevance

is the court’s “Guide for Pro Se Petitioners and Appellants,” which is contained

within the court’s Rules of Practice, and Forms 5, 6, and 11.

If you are interested in securing pro bono representation for an appeal to

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, you may visit our website at

http://www.mspb.gov/probono for information regarding pro bono representation

for Merit Systems Protection Board appellants before the Federal Circuit. The

Merit Systems Protection Board neither endorses the services provided by any

attorney nor warrants that any attorney will accept representation in a given case.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.