Opinion

T. Nesmith v. WCAB (SEPTA)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jan 8, 2016
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Cohn Jubelirer, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 42.9%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Tanisha Nesmith, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 532 C.D. 2015

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal : Submitted: September 4, 2015

Board (Southeastern Pennsylvania :

Transportation Authority), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE ROCHELLE S. FRIEDMAN, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY JUDGE COHN JUBELIRER FILED: January 8, 2016

Tanisha Nesmith (Claimant), pro se,1 petitions for review of an Order of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) affirming a Workers’

Compensation Judge’s (WCJ) Decision denying Claimant’s Petition to Reinstate

Compensation Benefits (Reinstatement Petition) and Petition to Review

Compensation Benefits (Review Petition), and granting the Southeastern

1

Claimant was represented by counsel during the proceedings before the WCJ and the

Board.

Pennsylvania Transportation Authority’s (Employer) Petition to Terminate

Benefits (Termination Petition). On appeal, Claimant argues that: (1) the WCJ’s

finding that she has recovered from her work-related injuries is not supported by

substantial evidence; (2) the medical testimony relied upon by the WCJ in making

the factual findings was equivocal; (3) the WCJ did not issue a reasoned Decision;

and (4) the WCJ erred in denying her Reinstatement Petition because the WCJ

required Claimant to prove the causal connection between her current condition

and the original work-related injury. Because we conclude that the WCJ issued a

reasoned Decision supported by substantial evidence and discern no error of law,

we affirm.

I. BACKGROUND

Claimant was injured in the course and scope of her employment as a bus

driver for Employer on August 14, 2011. (WCJ Decision, Findings of Fact (FOF)

¶¶ 1-2.) Employer issued a Notice of Temporary Compensation Payable (NTCP)

on August 29, 2011 accepting a “[s]prain/strain of mid to low back. Muscle Pain

[p]ost M[otor] V[ehicle] A[ccident]” and granting compensation based on an

average weekly wage of $686.73. (NTCP, C.R. at Item B-1.) The NTCP states

that the injury was the result of a vehicle running a red light and making contact

with the bus Claimant was driving. Employer filed a Notice of Compensation

Payable (NCP) on September 20, 2011 accepting the same injuries. (FOF ¶ 1.)

Claimant received workers’ compensation benefits for her injuries from August 14,

2011 until Employer suspended Claimant’s benefits on September 20, 2011 on the

basis that Claimant had returned to work at her pre-injury salary level. (Notice of

Suspension or Modification, C.R. at Item B-1; FOF ¶ 1.) Claimant’s workers’

2

compensation benefits were reinstated on a partial basis effective September 28,

2011 because Claimant was placed on light duty by a second opinion doctor,

resulting in a loss of earnings. (FOF ¶ 1.) Claimant returned to work with no loss

of earnings on October 29, 2011, leading Employer to suspend Claimant’s

workers’ compensation benefits effective October 29, 2011. (FOF ¶ 1.) Claimant

and Employer entered into a Supplemental Agreement for Compensation for

Disability or Permanent Injury (Supplemental Agreement) on October 29, 2011

stating:

Employee’s recurrence of total disability ended [October 2, 2011] and

partial total disability ended as of [October 28, 2011]. Employee

reported to work as of [October 29, 2011] at wages equal or greater to

the [average weekly wage] of $686.73. No further medical treatment

required. Therefore, benefits terminated as of October 29, 2011.

(Supplemental Agreement, C.R. at Item B-1.)

Claimant filed a Reinstatement Petition on June 8, 2012, seeking to reinstate

benefits as of May 30, 2012. Claimant alleges in her Reinstatement Petition that

her condition has worsened and that her injury is causing a decrease in earning

power. Claimant then filed a Review Petition on August 30, 2012, alleging that the

NCP “is materially incorrect as it does not recognize work[-]related [injuries to

her] neck, left knee, persistent distal patellar tendinitis as well as tibial tubercle

pain.” (Review Petition at 2, C.R. at Item 6.) Employer filed the instant

Termination Petition on November 2, 2012, alleging that Claimant has fully

recovered from her work-related injuries and was able to return to unrestricted

work as of August 29, 2012. Answers were filed to the three Petitions, the

3

Petitions were consolidated, and assigned to the same WCJ for hearings and

disposition.

II. PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE WCJ

In support of her Reinstatement and Review Petitions, Claimant testified on

her own behalf at a July 24, 2012 hearing before the WCJ and submitted the

deposition testimony of medical experts Seth David Krum, D.O., and Maxwell

Stepanuk, Jr., D.O. In support of its Termination Petition, Employer presented the

deposition testimony of its medical expert, Christian Fras, M.D.

Claimant testified as follows. Claimant worked as a bus driver for Employer

since 2009. On August 14, 2011, Claimant was driving an empty bus for

Employer when another vehicle struck the front right side of the bus. Claimant

was wearing a seatbelt at the time, but the bus was only equipped with a lap belt

and the impact of the collision caused Claimant to hit her head. Claimant

attempted to leave the bus to assess the damage. While exiting the bus Claimant

hit her knee on the steering wheel of the bus.

Claimant was treated for neck and back injuries at Jeanes Hospital and

Temple University Hospital until she went back to full duty on October 29, 2011.

Claimant told her doctor at Jeanes Hospital that she injured her knee, but the doctor

there would not acknowledge the injury. Claimant could not remember if she told

the doctor at Temple University Hospital that she injured her knee in addition to

her neck and back.

4

Claimant acknowledged signing the Supplemental Agreement terminating

benefits on October 29, 2011, but testified that she was still having symptoms in

her knee, neck, and back at that time and told her doctors and Employer such.

Employer and the doctor at Temple University Hospital told Claimant to “see what

[she] [could] do.” (Hr’g Tr. at 14, July 24, 2012.) Upon return to full duty,

Claimant experienced pain in her lower back, neck, and down her left arm and

went to see her family doctor. Claimant’s knee also started to bother her more.

Claimant’s family doctor referred her to pain management and physical therapy,

though she never actually received pain management treatment. Claimant

continues to receive physical therapy on her back about three times per week.

Claimant also received therapy on her neck, but the treatments were ceased

because they caused Claimant pain. Claimant’s injuries resulted in her

occasionally missing work, leaving work early, and ultimately caused her to stop

working entirely on May 30, 2012.

Dr. Krum, a board certified orthopedist, testified as follows. He first saw

Claimant on July 26, 2012 to evaluate her left knee. Dr. Krum took Claimant’s

history and learned about the bus accident. Claimant told Dr. Krum that she

originally did not think much about her knee discomfort and that the pain worsened

over time. Dr. Krum performed an examination on Claimant, which revealed that

[Claimant] had full left knee range of motion. She had some

hypertrophy or swelling to the tibial tubercle, and she was markedly

tender at the tibial tubercle and over the inferior patellar tendon.

There was not any appreciating interarticular-type pathology on my

clinical exam. There’s no effusion.

5

(Krum’s Dep. at 9.) Dr. Krum diagnosed Claimant with a contusion to the left

lower patellar tendon and the tibial tubercle site, and patellar tendonitis due to

Claimant striking her knee at the time of the accident.

Dr. Krum saw Claimant for a follow-up appointment on September 13, 2012

where he observed that Claimant was improving. Dr. Krum also examined an MRI

taken of Claimant’s left knee on August 24, 2012, which Dr. Krum described as

normal. Based on his examination, Dr. Krum did not restrict Claimant from

working her full-duty position and opined that her prognosis is good.

Dr. Stepanuk, a board certified orthopedic surgeon and one of Claimant’s

treating physicians, testified in support of Claimant’s Petitions as follows. Dr.

Stepanuk’s initial evaluation of Claimant occurred on March 29, 2012, where he

took Claimant’s medical history and conducted a physical exam. Claimant was

working her regular job at the time she first saw Dr. Stepanuk. Dr. Stepanuk’s

physical examination of Claimant’s neck, back, and legs revealed:

[Claimant] had pain upon palpating the cervical muscles. She had a

decrease in cervical motion. She had no pain to either upper

extremity, the reflexes were equal. She had normal sensation. She

also had pain in the right dorsal region. She had pain in the lumbar

region upon palpation. She could forward bend to two feet to the

floor; back and side bending was 30 degrees, which is a restriction. . .

. [Claimant] has pain in the anterior aspect of the left knee with pain

about the tibial tubercle. There was a negative Apley’s and

McMurray’s sign. She had some pain in the right buttock. There was

no evidence of instability or atrophy and no weakness was present.

The reflexes were equal and straight leg raising was negative.

6

(Stepanuk’s Dep. at 9-10.) Dr. Stepanuk’s initial diagnosis was “cervical, dorsal

lumbar sprain and strain, a possible right lower extremity radiculopathy, and ruled

out internal derangement of the left knee.” (Stepanuk’s Dep. at 10.)

Claimant returned to see Dr. Stepanuk on May 17, 2012. Dr. Stepanuk

reviewed MRIs taken on April 24, 2012 of Claimant’s cervical and lumbar spine.

Dr. Stepanuk opined that his physical examination and review of the MRIs

revealed that Claimant had a “cervical strain and sprain, cervical pain secondary to

a disc bulge at C4-5 with the herniation at C3.” (Stepanuk’s Dep. at 13.) He also

opined that Claimant had dorsal pain, a lumbar strain and sprain, lumbar pain

secondary to a disc bulge at L4-5, right lower extremity radiculopathy, and a sprain

of the right anterior cruciate ligament (ACL). Dr. Stepanuk opined that Claimant’s

disc bulge at C5 was aggravated by the work accident and that the herniation at C3,

the bulge at C4, the bulge at L4, and Claimant’s cervical, dorsal, lumbar, and right

knee pain are a direct result of the August 14, 2011 work incident. On cross

examination, Dr. Stepanuk testified that his diagnosis of radiculopathy relied on

the findings of the April 24, 2012 MRI, Claimant’s statements during his

examination, and that there were no objective findings in his physical examination

that would support a diagnosis of radiculopathy. In Dr. Stepanuk’s opinion,

Claimant has not recovered from her injuries. Dr. Stepanuk acknowledged that

Claimant was working through pain at the time of both of his examinations of

Claimant, but opined that Claimant is not capable of returning to work driving a

bus and should refrain from repetitively twisting, bending, or stooping, and should

not lift more than fifteen pounds.

7

Dr. Fras testified on behalf of Employer’s Termination Petition as follows.

He is a board certified surgeon who specializes in surgical treatment of spinal

disorders. Dr. Fras conducted an independent medical examination of Claimant on

August 29, 2012. He took a history and reviewed records from the emergency

room, Jeanes Hospital, and Temple University Hospital, as well as reports and

records from Dr. Stepanuk and Claimant’s chiropractor. Dr. Fras’ physical

examination did not reveal any objective factor that supported Claimant’s

complaints of pain. Dr. Fras reviewed the April 24, 2012 MRI of Claimant’s

cervical spine and opined that

there was no evidence of any kind of disc herniation or trivial disc

bulges. These bulges exerted no compression on the neural elements

and no mass effect on any of the neural elements, be it the spinal cord

or the exiting nerve roots, and are consistent with physiological disc

bulges that we all experience. They are inconsistent with any kind of

disc herniation.

(Fras’ Dep. at 20-21.) Dr. Fras also reviewed a report of a MRI taken on

Claimant’s cervical spine in March of 2009 and compared the findings to his

reading of the April 24, 2012 MRI of Claimant’s cervical spine. Dr. Fras opined

that the April 24, 2012 MRI shows “the expected natural progression of the modest

degenerative findings that present[ed] in 2009 and continue[d] to progress as

would be expected to the findings of 2012, which remain quite modest.” (Fras’

Dep. at 21.) With regard to Claimant’s knee, Dr. Fras stated that there was no

pathology identifiable at the time of his evaluation. Dr. Fras opined that a direct

blow to the knee, such as the one Claimant allegedly suffered from when exiting

the bus, is not consistent with an injury to the ACL or a knee effusion. Further, a

knee effusion or sprained ACL would have resolved in the eight months between

the date of Claimant’s injury and the date of Dr. Fras’ evaluation.

8

Dr. Fras opined that Claimant sustained work-related injuries, including a

sprain and strain of the mid to low back, and that Claimant may have suffered a

sprain of the neck. Dr. Fras opined that Claimant had recovered from all her work-

related injuries and that his examination revealed no other injuries that would

cause Claimant to stop working in May of 2012.

Upon review of the evidence presented, the WCJ found the testimony of Dr.

Fras to be more credible than the testimonies of Dr. Krum and Dr. Stepanuk and

rejected Dr. Krum’s and Dr. Stepanuk’s testimonies insofar as they differ from Dr.

Fras’ testimony. (FOF ¶ 8.) The WCJ cited the following factors used in making

this determination:

a. Dr. Fras is the only testifying medical witness who reviewed a

comprehensive compilation of medical records including the

emergency room records from the date of the injury and Claimant’s

initial treatment records at [Jeanes Hospital] and Temple University

Hospital.

b. The explanation provided by Dr. Fras regarding the findings on the

left knee MRI study as being acute findings is more persuasive than

the testimony of Dr. Krum. While Dr. Krum did not relate any of the

findings on the April 24, 2012 MRI study to the work injury, he did

testify Claimant had a left knee injury as a result of striking her knee

on the steering wheel as she was exiting the bus. This Judge does not

find this testimony credible in light of the fact that Dr. Krum did not

review the medical records of Claimant’s initial treatment.

Furthermore, Claimant did not have any treatment for her knee prior

to seeing Dr. Krum.

c. Dr. Stepanuk advised Claimant was unable to perform the duties

associated with her pre-injury position when in fact she was working

full duty during both times Dr. Stepanuk examined her prior to his

testimony.

9

d. Dr. Stepanuk diagnosed Claimant with lumbar radiculopathy

despite acknowledging there was no objective finding or examination

finding to support such a diagnosis.

e. The explanation provided by Dr. Fras with respect to the

progression of the mild disc bulges revealed by the cervical MRI

studies is more credible and persuasive than Dr. Stepanuk’s contrary

analysis. Claimant’s initial treatment records revealed Claimant

continued to improve following her work injury and she had returned

to full duty following her injury approximately two and a half months

after her work injury.

(FOF ¶ 8(a)-(e).) The WCJ also rejected Claimant’s testimony to the extent that

she asserts she sustained a left knee injury on August 14, 2011 as a result of

striking her knee on the steering wheel of the bus. (FOF ¶ 9.)

The WCJ made the following findings of fact.

8. . . .The testimony of Dr. Fras is accepted as fact. . . .

9. . . . Claimant fully recovered from her work injury as of August 29,

2012. Therefore, while Claimant may have the neck and back

complaints she asserts, this Judge finds they are unrelated to the

August 14, 2011 work injury, after which she returned to full duty for

approximately five months prior to again leaving work.

10. Claimant’s disability related to her August 14, 2011 work injury

did not recur effective May 30, 2012.

11. Claimant did not sustain any injuries additional to those accepted

and possibly a neck strain as a result of her work injury. Claimant

fully recovered from her work injury effective August 29, 2012.

(FOF ¶¶ 8-11.)

10

Accordingly, the WCJ concluded that Claimant did not meet her burden of

proof to sustain her Reinstatement Petition or Review Petition and denied both

Petitions. (WCJ Decision, Conclusions of Law (COL) ¶¶ 2-3.) The WCJ also

concluded that Employer established that Claimant fully recovered from her

August 14, 2011 work injury as of August 29, 2012, and granted Employer’s

Termination Petition. (COL ¶ 4.)

Claimant appealed the WCJ’s Decision to the Board. Upon review, the

Board “determined that the WCJ wrote a reasoned Decision supported by

substantial evidence, and [that the WCJ] committed no error of law.” (Board

Decision at 11.) Claimant subsequently filed the instant Petition for Review with

this Court.2

III. CLAIMANT’S APPEAL

On appeal to this Court, Claimant first contends that the WCJ’s findings

supporting her Decision are not supported by substantial evidence. Claimant

specifically contends that the WCJ’s finding that she had recovered from her work

injuries as of August 29, 2012 and that her current ailments are not work related

are unsupported by the evidence.

2

“Our scope of review in a workers’ compensation appeal is limited to determining

whether necessary findings of fact are supported by substantial evidence, whether an error of law

was committed, or whether constitutional rights were violated.” Elberson v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Elwyn, Inc.), 936 A.2d 1195, 1198 n.2 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007).

11

In her Review Petition, Claimant alleges that the NCP is materially incorrect

and seeks to add injuries to her neck and left knee to the description of her work-

related injuries. “An NCP is materially incorrect if the accepted injury fails to

include all of the injuries that the claimant suffered in the work incident, including

injuries that cause an increase in the claimant’s disability.” Cinram

Manufacturing, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Hill), 932 A.2d

346, 349 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007). The party seeking to amend the NCP bears the

burden of proving that it is incorrect. Harrison v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Auto Truck Transportation Corporation), 78 A.3d 699, 703 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2013).

Employer’s Termination Petition alleges that Claimant has fully recovered

from her work-related injuries and was able to return to work as of August 29,

2012. In proceedings related to a termination petition, the employer bears the

burden of proving that a claimant’s work injury has ceased. Udvari v. Workmen’s

Compensation Appeal Board (USAir, Inc.), 705 A.2d 1290, 1293 (Pa. 1997).

According to our Supreme Court,

[i]n a case where the claimant complains of continued pain, this

burden is met when an employer’s medical expert unequivocally

testifies that it is his opinion, within a reasonable degree of medical

certainty, that the claimant is fully recovered, can return to work

without restrictions and that there are no objective medical findings

which either substantiate the claims of pain or connect them to the

work injury. If the WCJ credits this testimony, the termination of

benefits is proper.

Id.

12

It is well settled that in workers’ compensation cases, “[t]he WCJ is the

ultimate finder of fact, and the exclusive arbiter of credibility and evidentiary

weight.” LTV Steel Company, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Mozena), 754 A.2d 666, 676 (Pa. 2000). In executing its fact finding role, “the

WCJ is free to accept or reject, in whole or in part, the testimony of any witness.”

Id. The WCJ’s evidentiary findings are not, however, immune from review. “The

WCJ must base its decision on substantial evidence.” 3 Id.

The WCJ here found Dr. Fras’ testimony credible and accepted his

testimony, including his view that Claimant had recovered from her work-related

injury as of August 29, 2012, as fact. Dr. Fras opined that Claimant had no injuries

other than those from which she had already recovered and that Claimant is free to

return to work without restriction. (Fras’ Dep. at 23-24.) The fact that “the record

contains evidence to support findings other than those by the WCJ” is of no

moment when conducting a substantial evidence review. Pocono Mountain School

District v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Easterling), 113 A.3d 909, 918

3

Substantial evidence is

relevant evidence that a ‘reasonable person might accept as adequate to support a

conclusion.’ In reviewing a decision for substantial evidence, the court must view

the evidence in the light most favorable to the party who prevailed before the

WCJ and draw all reasonable inferences from the evidence in favor of the

prevailing party. . . . [I]t is irrelevant whether the record contains evidence to

support findings other than those made by the WCJ; the critical inquiry is whether

there is evidence to support the findings actually made.

Pocono Mountain School District v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (Easterling), 113

A.3d 909, 918 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015) (citations omitted).

13

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2015). Thus, we conclude that the WCJ’s finding that Claimant had

fully recovered from her work-related injuries as of August 29, 2012, and that any

physical ailments Claimant now suffers from are unrelated to her August 14, 2011

injury, is supported by substantial evidence.

Claimant argues that the WCJ erred by finding Dr. Fras’ testimony as fact

because the testimony was equivocal. Claimant contends that because the Board

acknowledged that Dr. Fras’ testimony was equivocal with regard to her alleged

neck injury and Dr. Fras’ testimony on her back was contradictory, his testimony

that she was fully recovered from her work-related injuries is also equivocal.

Unlike questions of evidentiary weight and witness credibility, whether an expert’s

testimony is equivocal is a question of law subject to this Court’s plenary review.

Potere v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Kemcorp), 21 A.3d 684, 690 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2011). “Medical testimony is equivocal if it is less than positive or

merely based upon possibilities.” Id. We review medical testimony as a whole to

determine whether it is equivocal. Id.

The Board concluded that Dr. Fras’ testimony with regard to whether

Claimant sustained a neck injury was equivocal, but did not find Dr. Fras equivocal

with regard to his opinion that Claimant had recovered from her work-related

injuries. Upon review, we agree with the Board. Dr. Fras’ opinion regarding

Claimant’s neck injury was equivocal. When asked for his opinion as to

Claimant’s condition as a result of the work injury, Dr. Fras stated:

My opinion is that [Claimant] sustained injuries including sprain and

strain of the mid to low back. I was of the opinion and remain of the

14

opinion that she may have also sustained a sprain of the neck. There

was no indication of any other injuries sustained.

(Fras’ Dep. at 22.) Because Dr. Fras stated that Claimant “may have” sustained a

sprain of the neck, Dr. Fras’ testimony in this regard is less than positive.

However, when his testimony focused on Claimant’s current condition, Dr. Fras

was definite. Dr. Fras was unequivocal that “by the time of [his] evaluation on

August 29, 2012, [Claimant] recovered from the sprain and strain, mid to low back,

and any sprain of the neck that also occurred.” (Fras’ Dep. at 23.) Dr. Fras opined

further that he “found no indication of any other injury to have occurred in

association with the episode of August 14, 2011.” (Fras’ Dep. at 23.) Thus, while

Dr. Fras’ testimony does not support Claimant’s allegation that the NCP is

materially incorrect, the testimony as a whole unequivocally supports a conclusion

that Claimant has recovered from her injuries.

Claimant also contends that Dr. Fras’ testimony regarding her back was

equivocal and contradictory. Claimant specifically points to the portion of Dr.

Fras’ report stating that “[s]traight leg raise testing bilaterally fails to provoke any

radicular leg pain and is therefore to be regarded as negative. It does provoke

subjective reports of back pain on the part of [Claimant] but further questioning

verifies that it fails to provoke any radicular leg complaints.” (Fras’ Report at 3,

C.R. at Item E-2.) According to Claimant, Dr. Fras’ opinion was equivocal

because he acknowledged that the test caused her back pain but still concluded that

Claimant made a full recovery.

15

We see no equivocation in Dr. Fras’ testimony regarding Claimant’s back.

Dr. Fras was clear that, while Claimant experienced pain in her back during the

straight leg raising test, this type of pain “is a common finding and is . . . not

suggestive or indicative of any particular condition.” (Fras’ Dep. at 16.) Dr. Fras

further explained that a straight leg raising test would indicate a herniation only if

the test provokes radicular leg complaints, which Claimant did not experience. We

understand Dr. Fras’ testimony as a whole to unequivocally support a conclusion

that Claimant did not suffer from a disc herniation or any other injury to her back

at the time of his evaluation.

Claimant next argues that the WCJ did not issue a reasoned Decision within

the meaning of Section 422(a) of the Workers’ Compensation Act4 because the

WCJ failed to adequately explain the reasons for her credibility determinations. A

4

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. § 834. Section 422(a) provides:

Neither the board nor any of its members nor any [WCJ] shall be bound by the

common law or statutory rules of evidence in conducting any hearing or

investigation, but all findings of fact shall be based upon sufficient competent

evidence to justify same. All parties to an adjudicatory proceeding are entitled to a

reasoned decision containing findings of fact and conclusions of law based upon

the evidence as a whole which clearly and concisely states and explains the

rationale for the decisions so that all can determine why and how a particular

result was reached. The [WCJ] shall specify the evidence upon which the [WCJ]

relies and state the reasons for accepting it in conformity with this section. When

faced with conflicting evidence, the [WCJ] must adequately explain the reasons

for rejecting or discrediting competent evidence. Uncontroverted evidence may

not be rejected for no reason or for an irrational reason; the [WCJ] must identify

that evidence and explain adequately the reasons for its rejection. The

adjudication shall provide the basis for meaningful appellate review.

Id.

16

WCJ’s decision is reasoned when it “allows for adequate review by the [Board]

without further elucidation and if it allows for adequate review by the appellate

courts under applicable review standards.” Daniels v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Tristate Transport), 828 A.2d 1043, 1052 (Pa. 2003). “[I]n

rendering a reasoned decision in a case with conflicting evidence, the WCJ ‘must

adequately explain the reasons for rejecting or discrediting competent evidence.’”

Id. (quoting Section 422(a) of the Act).

The WCJ’s Decision provides numerous reasons for accepting Dr. Fras’

testimony as fact and rejecting the testimonies of Dr. Stepanuk and Dr. Krum. The

WCJ explained that: (1) Dr. Fras was the only medical expert who reviewed a

comprehensive compilation of medical records; (2) Dr. Krum’s testimony relied on

Claimant’s attestations regarding how her knee was injured, which the WCJ found

incredible; (3) Dr. Stepanuk opined that Claimant was incapable of performing her

normal job duties when Claimant was, in fact, working full duty both times she

was examined by Dr. Stepanuk; (4) Dr. Stepanuk acknowledged that his physical

examination revealed no objective finding supporting his diagnosis of lumbar

radiculopathy; and (5) Dr. Fras’ explanations with regard to Claimant’s MRI

results were more credible because Claimant continued to improve following her

work injury and had returned to full duty. (FOF ¶ 8(a)-(e).) We conclude that,

because the WCJ provided the above objective reasons for rejecting the portions of

Dr. Krum’s and Dr. Stepanuk’s opinions that conflicted with the opinions of Dr.

Fras, the reasoned decision requirement of Section 422(a) of the Act is plainly

satisfied.

17

Finally, Claimant contends that the WCJ erred by denying Claimant’s

Reinstatement Petition because the WCJ employed a legal standard that is

inconsistent with the standards set forth by our Supreme Court’s decision in

Bufford v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (North American Telecom), 2

A.3d 548 (Pa. 2010.) In Bufford, the Supreme Court held that “[a] claimant

seeking reinstatement of suspended benefits must prove that his or her earning

power is once again adversely affected by his or her disability, and that such

disability is a continuation of that which arose from his or her original claim.” Id.

at 558. Claimant argues that the WCJ required her to prove a causal connection

between her disability and the work injury, and that Bufford is clear that claimants

bear no such burden.

While we agree that Claimant does not bear a burden to, once again, prove

her injury for purposes of her Reinstatement Petition, Bufford is clear that

Claimant must prove that her current disability is affecting earning power. Id.

Upon review of the WCJ’s Decision, we see no instance where the WCJ required

Claimant to prove a causal connection between her current disability and the work

injury. The WCJ did not require such for the simple reason that the WCJ found

that Claimant was not currently disabled. The WCJ found that “Claimant’s

disability related to her August 14, 2011 work injury did not recur effective May

30, 2012” and that “Claimant fully recovered from her work injury effective

August 29, 2012.” (FOF ¶¶ 10, 11.) Because these findings are supported by

credible and unequivocal expert testimony, we see no error in the WCJ’s Decision

to deny Claimant’s Reinstatement Petition.

18

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Board’s Order is affirmed.

________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

19

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Tanisha Nesmith, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 532 C.D. 2015

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Southeastern Pennsylvania :

Transportation Authority), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

NOW, January 8, 2016, the Order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board, entered in the above-captioned matter, is hereby AFFIRMED.

________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.