Opinion

Office of Administration v. State Employees' Retirement Board

  • 131 A.3d 136
  • 2015 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 569
  • 2015 WL 9467331
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Dec 29, 2015
Status
Published
Author
Judge
On the bench
Kevin, Pellegrini, Leavitt, Brobson
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 55.3%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Office of Administration and :

Pennsylvania State Police, :

Petitioners :

:

v. : No. 925 C.D. 2015

: Argued: December 10, 2015

State Employees’ Retirement Board, :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE DAN PELLEGRINI, President Judge

HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, Judge

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

OPINION BY JUDGE BROBSON FILED: December 29, 2015

The Office of Administration (OA) and Pennsylvania State Police

(PSP) (collectively, Petitioners), petition this Court for review of an order of the

State Employees’ Retirement Board (the Board). The Board’s order granted the

request of Bruce Edwards, Joseph Sarkis, and Joseph Kovel (collectively,

Claimants) and the Pennsylvania State Troopers Association (PSTA) that the State

Employee Retirement System (SERS) accept and include as retirement-covered

compensation the additional monies paid to Claimants while on union officer

leave. For the reasons discussed below, we affirm.

The underlying facts of this case are not in dispute. At all relevant

and material times Claimants were PSP officers and members of the PSTA. The

Commonwealth and the PSTA were parties to a collective bargaining agreement

(CBA), which expired on June 30, 2008. During negotiations for a successor

CBA, the Commonwealth and PSTA reached an impasse regarding, among other

things, union officer leave. An Act 1111 interest arbitration panel was convened

and entered an Award on December 24, 2008 (December Award), which

contained, in pertinent part, the following union officer leave provision:

Upon written request by PSTA, Union officers shall be

released from duty.

Union officers released from duty pursuant to State law

shall be paid by the Commonwealth at the amount

designated by PSTA Board of Directors, not to exceed

the rate of the highest ranking member of the bargaining

unit with appropriate longevity.[2] Any amount paid by

the Commonwealth, including the cost of all benefits,

shall be reimbursed by the PSTA to the Commonwealth,

in accordance with law.

(Reproduced Record (R.R.) 193-94a.)

OA and PSP appealed the December Award to the Commonwealth

Court, arguing that the union officer leave provision violated Section 5302(b)(2) of

the State Employees’ Retirement Code (SERC).3 The Commonwealth Court

1

Act of June 24, 1968, P.L. 237, as amended, 43 P.S. §§ 217.1-.10, also referred to as the

Policemen and Firemen Collective Bargaining Act.

2

The higher rate of pay paid to union officers on full-time union officer leave is referred

to as the “union rate of pay.” The difference between Claimants’ union rate of pay and

Claimants’ normal rate of pay is referred to as the “union stipend.”

3

71 Pa. C.S. § 5302(b)(2). Section 5302(b)(2) of SERC provides, in pertinent part:

(b) Creditable leaves of absence.--

(2) An active member on paid leave granted by an employer for purposes of

serving as an elected full-time officer for a Statewide employee organization

which is a collective bargaining representative under the act of June 24, 1968

(P.L. 237, No. 111), referred to as the Policemen and Firemen Collective

Bargaining Act . . . : Provided, That for elected full-time officers such leave shall

not be for more than three consecutive terms of the same office . . . ; that the

employer shall fully compensate the member, including, but not limited to, salary,

wages, pension and retirement contributions and benefits, other benefits and

(Footnote continued on next page…)

2

agreed, concluding that the union officer leave provision violated

Section 5302(b)(2) of SERC, because it required the Commonwealth to pay

officers on union leave more than they would receive if they were not on union

leave. Commonwealth v. Pa. State Troopers Ass’n, 979 A.2d 442 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2009) (PSTA I). The Supreme Court, however, disagreed and concluded that

Section 5302(b)(2) “does not purport to address the pre-retirement concern of the

level or amount of employee salaries” and, therefore, the December Award did not

violate SERC. Commonwealth v. Pa. State Troopers Ass’n, 23 A.3d 966, 973 (Pa.

2011) (PSTA II) (plurality opinion). The Supreme Court concluded that because

the December Award did not violate SERC it was well within the authority of the

Act 111 arbitration panel and, as such, beyond any court’s scope of review.

Id. at 977.

Following the Supreme Court’s decision, OA and PSP complied with

the December Award and paid Claimants at the union rate of pay. Claimant

Edwards, on full-time union officer leave from January 2007 through

January 2012, was paid at the rate of a major even though he held only the rank of

sergeant; Claimant Sarkis, on full-time union officer leave from October 2009 to

January 2012, was paid at the rate of a captain even though he only held the rank

of corporal; and in January 2012, when Claimant Kovel was elected president of

the PSTA and began full-time union officer leave, he was paid at the rate of a

sergeant, even though he only held the rank of corporal. The union stipends

(continued…)

seniority, as if he were in full-time active service; and that the Statewide

employee organization shall fully reimburse the employer for all expenses and

costs of such paid leave . . . .

3

increased Claimants’ pay substantially—Claimant Edwards was paid an extra

$29,052.88 in 2011, Claimant Sarkis was paid an extra $25,667.12 in 2011, and

Claimant Kovel was paid an extra $6,838.08 in 2012. Although the

Commonwealth paid Claimants at the union rate of pay, it did not report the union

stipend as retirement-covered compensation or deduct pension contributions based

on the higher amounts. Instead, the Commonwealth reported only Claimants’

regular rate of pay as retirement-covered compensation and deducted pension

contributions accordingly. Including the union stipends as retirement-covered

compensation would significantly increase Claimants’ retirement benefits.

In July 2011, the PSTA asked that the arbitration panel be reconvened

to deal with issues arising from the implementation of the union leave provision of

the December Award. The PSTA sought a declaration from the panel that the

union stipends were retirement-covered compensation and that pension

contributions should be withheld accordingly. The panel issued an Implementation

Order in September 2011. The Implementation Order, in pertinent part, directed

that the Commonwealth

[d]educt and continue to deduct from . . . all . . . wages

paid while on union leave all appropriate contributions,

including mandatory employee pension contributions

from all sums paid to the affected members pursuant to

[the union officer leave provision], effective retroactive

to pay date January 7, 2011 . . . .

(R.R. 367a.)

4

After exhausting all appeals of the Implementation Order,4 the PSP

and OA requested a decision from SERS regarding: (a) how OA and PSP should

report the union officer leaves of Claimants Edwards and Sarkis; (b) how much

compensation should be reported under SERC; and (c) what contributions should

be made to SERS for Claimants Edwards and Sarkis. On December 23, 2011,

SERS issued a decision which provides, in pertinent part:

[T]he compensation that the affected officers would have

received in their positions as a State Police officer had

they not been on union officer leave should be reported

to SERS. Employer and member contributions should be

made to SERS only on the compensation that the affected

officers would have received as State Police officers had

they not been on union officer leave.

(R.R. 399a.) By letters dated April 4, 2012, and June 27, 2012, SERS issued

determinations reaching the same conclusion for Claimant Kovel.

On May 16, 2012, the PSTA and Claimants Edwards and Sarkis filed

appeals of SERS’ determination with the Board. On July 23, 2012, the PSTA and

Claimant Kovel likewise filed an appeal with the Board. OA and PSP filed a

petition to intervene, which the Board granted. The Board appointed a Hearing

Officer, who subsequently consolidated the three appeals. At the August 20, 2013

hearing, the parties presented a Joint Stipulation of Facts, containing 151 stipulated

facts, 38 jointly-submitted exhibits, and five exhibits offered by SERS. The joint

stipulations and exhibits were admitted to the record and comprised the entirety of

the evidentiary record. No witness testimony was offered.

4

This Court dismissed OA’s appeal of the Implementation Order as untimely, and the

petition for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court was denied. Office of Admin. v. Pa. State

Troopers Ass’n, No. 2019 C.D. 2011 (Pa. Cmwlth., filed Dec. 14, 2011), appeal denied, 56 A.3d

398 (Pa. 2012).

5

The Hearing Officer issued an Opinion and Recommendation

containing 146 Findings of Fact, nine Conclusions of Law, and a Discussion

section, in which the Hearing Officer concluded that the union officer stipends

were not retirement-covered compensation. The Hearing Officer, relying heavily

on Kirsch v. Public School Employees’ Retirement Board, 985 A.2d 671 (Pa.

2009), concluded that only the salaries the Claimants would have earned “as if

[they] were in full-time active service” were retirement-covered compensation.

(R.R. 638a.) The Hearing Officer rejected Claimants’ argument that the different

definitions of “compensation” contained in SERC and the Public School

Employees Retirement Code (PSERC)5 made Kirsch inapplicable, explaining that

the definition of compensation was not controlling.

The Hearing Officer also examined the legislative history of

Section 5203(b)(2) of SERC, noting that PSP officers on full time union leave

were only able to receive retirement credit after Section 5203(b)(2) was amended

in 2006 to include Act 111 bargaining units. The Hearing Officer further noted

that when the 2006 amendment was proposed in Senate Bill 1285 it originally read,

in pertinent part:

An active member on paid leave granted by an employer

for purposes of serving as an appointed or elected

full-time official or officer at his union rate of

compensation or as an elected full-time officer for a

statewide employee organization. . . . Provided, . . . that

the employer shall fully compensate the member,

including, but not limited to, salary, wages, pension and

retirement contributions and benefits, other benefits and

seniority, as if he were in full-time active service . . . [.]

5

24 Pa. C.S. § 8102.

6

(R.R. 652a (emphasis added).) The final version of the 2006 amendment,

however, did not include the phrase “at his union rate of compensation.”

Lastly, the Hearing Officer concluded that allowing the union stipends

paid to Claimants pursuant to the December Award to be considered

retirement-covered compensation “would essentially be allowing a collective

bargaining agreement or arbitration award . . . to dictate the pension rights of State

employees, in manifest disregard of [S]ection 5955 of . . . SERC.”6 (R.R. 657a.)

The Hearing Officer, therefore, recommended that the Board deny Claimants’

request to treat the union stipends paid to Claimants while on union officer leave as

retirement-covered compensation and affirm the decision of SERS.

Claimants filed exceptions to the Hearing Officer’s Opinion and

Recommendation. The Board adopted the Hearing Officer’s Findings of Fact, but

rejected her Conclusions of Law, analysis, and recommendation, finding that the

Hearing Officer “improperly applied” Kirsch to the present case and that the

differences between the definition of compensation found in SERC and PSERC

“prevent us from simply relying upon and adopting the Hearing Officer’s

application of Kirsch to resolve the Claimants’ appeals.” (R.R. 744a.) The Board

6

71 Pa. C.S. § 5955. Section 5955 of SERC provides, in pertinent part:

Regardless of any other provision of law, pension rights of State employees shall

be determined solely by this part or any amendment thereto, and no collective

bargaining agreement nor any arbitration award between the Commonwealth and

its employees or their collective bargaining representatives shall be construed to

change any of the provisions herein, to require the board to administer pension or

retirement benefits not set forth in this part, or otherwise require action by any

other government body pertaining to pension or retirement benefits or rights of

State employees.

7

examined the definition of compensation found in Section 5102 of SERC7 and the

way in which union stipends were set, and it compared them to the definition of

compensation in Section 8102 of PSERC8 and how the teachers’ union stipends

were set in Kirsch. The Board concluded that the definition of compensation was

broader in SERC than in PSERC, and the definition was broad enough to

encompass the union officer stipends received by Claimants. The Board also noted

that Claimants’ union stipends were “derived from the normal salary schedule”

found in the CBA, unlike the union stipends in Kirsch, which were negotiated

annually on an ad hoc basis. (R.R. 748a.) Thus, the Board concluded that because

the “remuneration does not fall into any of the categories of non-compensation

7

“Compensation” is defined in SERC, in pertinent part, as

[p]ickup contributions plus remuneration actually received as a State employee

excluding refunds for expenses, contingency and accountable expense

allowances; excluding any severance payments or payments for unused vacation

or sick leave; and excluding payments for military leave . . . .

71 Pa. C.S. § 5201.

8

“Compensation” is defined in PSERC, in pertinent part, as

[p]ickup contributions plus any remuneration received as a school employee

excluding reimbursements for expenses incidental to employment and excluding

any bonus, severance payments, any other remuneration or other emolument

received by a school employee during his school service which is not based on the

standard salary schedule under which he is rendering service, payments for

unused sick leave or vacation leave, bonuses or other compensation for attending

school seminars and conventions, payments under health and welfare plans based

on hours of employment or any other payment or emolument which may be

provided for in a collective bargaining agreement which may be determined by

the Public School Employees’ Retirement Board to be for the purpose of

enhancing compensation as a factor in the determination of final average salary,

and excluding payments for military leave . . . .

24 Pa. C.S. § 8102.

8

payments found in Section 5102’s definition, it must therefore be ‘compensation’

for purposes of [SERC] and thus includible as part of . . . Claimants’

retirement-covered compensation.” (R.R. 748a.) The Board, therefore, granted

“Claimants’ request that SERS accept and include as Claimants’

retirement-covered compensation the additional monies paid to Claimants as union

officer stipends pursuant to . . . the December 24, 2008 Interest Arbitration Award”

and overruled SERS’ determination. (R.R. 753a.)

On appeal9 to this Court, Petitioners argue that the Board erred as a

matter of law in concluding that union officer stipends are retirement-covered

compensation because (1) the Board’s interpretation is contrary to Kirsch and

(2) the December Award creates, alters, or modifies retirement benefits in violation

of Section 5955 of SERC. In response, the Board argues that it correctly

concluded union officer stipends were retirement-covered compensation because

(1) the Kirsch holding does not control in this case because the definition of

compensation in PSERC is more restrictive than the definition of compensation in

SERC and (2) the December Award did not alter the benefits formula or eligibility

criteria established by SERC, and, therefore, did not usurp the Board’s authority in

violation of Section 5955. Likewise, Claimants argue that the Board correctly

determined Kirsch was not controlling and that the more expansive definition of

compensation contained in SERC mandates a different outcome from Kirsch.

9

Our scope of review on appeal is limited to determining whether the Board committed

an error of law, whether constitutional rights were violated, or whether necessary factual findings

are supported by substantial evidence. Beardsley v. State Emps.’ Ret. Bd., 691 A.2d 1016, 1019

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1997). As the state agency charged with the execution and application of SERC,

the Board’s interpretation may not be overturned unless it is clearly erroneous. Id.

9

The central issue of this case is the proper interpretation of two

relevant and related provisions of SERC—the definition of compensation in

Section 5102 of SERC and the creditable leave provision in Section 5302(b)(2) of

SERC. As SERS members, Claimants’ retirement benefits are calculated using a

formula that takes into account both the amount of credited service and the amount

of compensation paid during such credited service. Compensation is defined, in

pertinent part, as “[p]ickup contributions plus remuneration actually received as a

State employee excluding refunds for expenses, contingency and accountable

expense allowances; excluding any severance payments or payments for unused

vacation or sick leave; and excluding payments for military leave.” Section 5102

of SERC. Pursuant to Section 5302(b)(2), PSP officers, such as Claimants, who

take full-time union officer leave are entitled to retirement credit for such leave

“[p]rovided . . . that the employer shall fully compensate the member, including,

but not limited to, salary, wages, pension and retirement contributions and benefits,

other benefits and seniority, as if he were in full-time active service.”

Although it is questionable whether union officer leave would be

considered State service without Section 5302(b)(2) of SERC, that section

explicitly provides that such time shall be credited to a State employee10 “as if he

were in full-time active service.” Thus under Section 5302(b)(2), the salary

10

“State employee” is defined, in pertinent part, as

[a]ny person holding a State office or position under the Commonwealth,

employed by the State Government of the Commonwealth, in any capacity

whatsoever, except an independent contractor or any person compensated on a fee

basis or any person paid directly by an entity other than a State Employees’

Retirement System employer . . . .

Section 5102 of SERC.

10

received by those on full-time union leave is considered the salary received by a

State employee. Under Section 5201 of SERC, the “remuneration actually

received as a State employee” is considered retirement-covered compensation

unless it falls into one of the enumerated exclusions: refunds for expenses,

contingency and accountable expense allowances; severance payments or

payments for unused vacation or sick leave; and payments for military leave. It is

clear that the salaries received by the Claimants while on full-time union leave do

not fall into any of exclusions listed in the definition of compensation, and

Petitioners make no such argument. Thus, the remuneration received by PSP

officers on full-time union leave is retirement-covered compensation.

This is the same conclusion reached by the Board. As the Board

explained:

Claimants were still State employees[] during their terms

of union leave, albeit State employees on leave to fulfill

their union duties. Pursuant to the relevant statutory

rules, . . . Claimants received their compensation from

their employer, who was then reimbursed by the PSTA

for the amounts expended to compensate . . . Claimants.

Because of this, the compensation Claimants received

while on union leave was “remuneration received by a

State employee” pursuant to [SERC].

(R.R. 748a.) The Board analyzed the definition of compensation found in

Section 5201 of SERC and determined that it was flexible and inclusive enough to

include payments such as overtime pay, shift differentials, and other bargained-for

increases, such as the union stipend. (R.R. 747a.) Thus the Board concluded that

“[b]ecause [Claimants’] remuneration does not fall into any of the categories of

non-compensation payments found in Section 5102’s definition, it must therefore

be ‘compensation’ for the purposes of [SERC] and thus included as part of . . .

Claimants’ retirement-covered compensation.” (R.R. 748a.) Accordingly, we

11

cannot conclude that the Board’s interpretation and application were clearly

erroneous.

Petitioners argue that the Board’s interpretation is contrary to the

Supreme Court’s decision in Kirsch. In that case, former public school employees

who had taken union officer leave sought to have the higher salaries they had

received while on union officer leave—salaries negotiated ad hoc every year and

not based on the standard salary schedule—included in their retirement benefit

calculations. Under PSERC, “leave for service with a collective bargaining

organization” is defined as

[p]aid leave granted to an active member by an employer

for purposes of working full time for or serving full time

as an officer of a Statewide employee organization or a

local collective bargaining representative under the act of

July 23, 1970 (P.L. 563, No. 195), known as the Public

Employe Relations Act: Provided, That greater than

one-half of the members of the employee organization

are active members of the system; that the employer shall

fully compensate the member, including, but not limited

to, salary, wages, pension and retirement contributions

and benefits, other benefits and seniority, as if he were in

full-time active service; and that the employee

organization shall fully reimburse the employer for such

salary, wages, pension and retirement contributions and

benefits and other benefits and seniority.

Section 8102 of PSERC (emphasis added). The Supreme Court considered the

plain language of this provision, as well as its legislative background and purpose,

and found that the “as if he were in full-time active service” language precluded

the school employees from receiving credit for the higher salaries they were paid

while serving as union officials. Kirsch, 985 A.2d at 677. The Supreme Court

examined the definition of “compensation” in PSERC, which provides, in pertinent

part:

12

Pickup contributions plus any remuneration received as a

school employee excluding reimbursements for expenses

incidental to employment and excluding any bonus,

severance payments, any other remuneration or other

emolument received by a school employee during his

school service which is not based on the standard salary

schedule under which he is rendering service, payments

for unused sick leave or vacation leave, bonuses or other

compensation for attending school seminars and

conventions, payments under health and welfare plans

based on hours of employment or any other payment or

emolument which may be provided for in a collective

bargaining agreement which may be determined by the

Public School Employees’ Retirement Board to be for the

purpose of enhancing compensation as a factor in the

determination of final average salary, and excluding

payments for military leave . . . .

Section 8102 of PSERC (emphasis added). The Supreme Court concluded that

because the salaries received by the school employees while on union leave were

not based on the standard salary schedule, they were excluded from the definition

of “compensation” under PSERC and, therefore, were not retirement-covered

compensation. Kirsch, 985 A.2d at 678. Thus, the Court found that PSERC

“allows only the salary corresponding with the position held at the school district

during the approved leave be credited to the retiree’s retirement earnings; inclusion

of increased, union-provided compensation artificially and impermissibly enhances

or inflates retirement benefits under [PSERC].” Kirsch, 985 A.2d at 672.

Petitioners assert, in essence, that the Supreme Court’s conclusion

was based on the “as if he were in full-time service” language in the leave for

union service provision and that because identical language is found in the SERC

union leave provision, the Board was compelled to reach the same result in this

case. The Board counters that because the definition of compensation in SERC is

different from the definition in PSERC, the Board was not obligated to exclude

13

Claimant’s union stipends from their retirement-covered compensation pursuant to

Kirsch.

We agree with the Board. In both Kirsch and the present case,

employees on full-time union leave could only receive retirement credit “as if

[they] were in full-time active service.” The difference between Kirsch and the

instant case is that in Kirsch, the school employees, even if not on union leave,

would not have been entitled to have any portion of their salary outside of the

standard salary schedule credited as retirement-covered compensation, while

Claimants here, whether on full-time union leave or not, are entitled to have all

remuneration credited as retirement-covered compensation (except for exclusions

not applicable here). The Board’s interpretation and application, therefore, were

not contrary to law or clearly erroneous.11

Lastly, Petitioners assert that the Board erred in concluding the union

stipends were retirement-covered compensation, because, in doing so, it allowed

the December Award to create, alter, or modify Claimants’ retirement benefits in

violation of Section 5955 of SERC. Section 5955 of SERC provides, in pertinent

part:

Regardless of any other provision of law, pension rights

of State employees shall be determined solely by this part

or any amendment thereto, and no collective bargaining

agreement nor any arbitration award between the

Commonwealth and its employees or their collective

11

We note that had the Board decided to exclude the union stipends from Claimants’

benefits calculation, we may have affirmed that result as well. To a certain extent, this Court is

constrained by our scope of review. The question before this Court is not whether the Board’s

interpretation is the best interpretation or the interpretation we would have chosen, but, rather,

whether it is contrary to law or clearly erroneous. Finding it to be neither, this Court may not

overturn it.

14

bargaining representatives shall be construed to change

any of the provisions herein, to require the board to

administer pension or retirement benefits not set forth in

this part, or otherwise require action by any other

government body pertaining to pension or retirement

benefits or rights of State employees.

The Board vehemently denies that the December Award modifies Claimant’s

benefits and argues that because the award did not alter the benefits formula or

eligibility criteria established by SERC, the December Award did not violate

Section 5955 of SERC.

We agree with the Board. As this Court recently explained:

Section 5955 [of SERC] should be construed to prohibit

only collective bargaining for greater pension benefits

than those provided in [SERC]. Pa. State Troopers Ass’n

v. State Emps.’ Ret. Bd., 677 A.2d 1329 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1996), appeal denied, 689 A.2d 237 (Pa. 1997). “Quite

simply, [SERC] does not prohibit bargaining over

pension benefits, nor does it prohibit pension benefits

from being affected by arbitration awards. [SERC]

prohibits only collective bargaining agreements from

determining pension rights.” Id. at 1331–32. Stated

differently, as long as an arbitration award does not grant

rights that are unsupported by [SERC], then the award is

not unlawful.

Weaver v. State Emps.’ Ret. Bd., __ A.3d __ (Pa. Cmwlth., 124 C.D. 2015, filed

Oct. 23, 2015), slip op. at 9 (emphasis added). Additionally, we note that the

legality of the December Award was upheld by the Supreme Court in PSTA II on

the basis that it did not violate SERC even though it increased salaries for troopers

on union officer leave. PSTA II, 23 A.3d at 977. Furthermore, the Board did not

allow the award to determine Claimants’ benefits but instead based that

determination on the requirements set forth in Sections 5102 and 5302(b)(2) of

SERC, as explained above. This is, therefore, simply a case where an arbitration

award has affected the pension benefits, as permitted by SERC. See Weaver,

15

124 C.D. 2015, slip op. at 9. Thus the Board’s interpretation did not violate

Section 5955 of SERC.

For the reasons discussed above, the order of the Board is hereby

affirmed.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

16

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Office of Administration and :

Pennsylvania State Police, :

Petitioners :

:

v. : No. 925 C.D. 2015

:

State Employees’ Retirement Board, :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 29th day of December, 2015, the order of the State

Employees’ Retirement Board is hereby AFFIRMED.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.