Opinion

Charter Township of Shelby v. Argonaut Insurance Company

Court
Michigan Court of Appeals
Filed
Dec 22, 2015
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 42.8%

The opinion

STATE OF MICHIGAN

COURT OF APPEALS

CHARTER TOWNSHIP OF SHELBY, UNPUBLISHED

December 22, 2015

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v No. 324447

Macomb Circuit Court

ARGONAUT INSURANCE COMPANY, LC No. 2013-005046-CZ

Defendant-Appellant.

Before: SAWYER, P.J., and BECKERING and BOONSTRA, JJ.

PER CURIAM.

Defendant Argonaut Insurance Company appeals as of right the trial court’s opinion and

order granting plaintiff Shelby Township’s motion for summary disposition under MCR

2.116(C)(10) and denying defendant’s cross-motion for summary disposition in this declaratory

judgment action regarding an insurance company’s duty to defend and indemnify. We affirm.

I. FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Defendant issued plaintiff an insurance policy that provided, among other types of

coverage, “Law Enforcement Liability Coverage.” This case arises out of defendant’s refusal to

defend, and subsequently indemnify, plaintiff pursuant to that policy with respect to an

underlying action in federal court. The actions giving rise to the coverage dispute began with the

arrest of Antoinette Pellegrino on an outstanding felony warrant after a traffic stop by Shelby

Township police officers.1 Antoinette’s boyfriend and/or ex-husband, James Baum, learned of

the arrest and immediately drove to the scene and spoke with police officers. Baum later drove

to the police station, seeking further clarification about Antoinette’s arrest. Unsatisfied with the

responses he had received to this point, Baum, along with Antoinette’s son, Anthony Pellegrino,

proceeded to the home of Detective Jeffrey Walsh and Officer Beth Walsh, two Shelby

Township police officers who lived in Baum’s neighborhood and with whom Baum was

acquainted. Anthony stayed in Baum’s red pickup truck while Baum approached the home and

1

The Shelby Township police officers involved in the traffic stop and arrest are not involved in

the present case.

-1-

spoke with Beth, who was home with her three children. Jeffrey was on duty at the time and was

not at home.

The lower court record contains varying descriptions of the sequence of events that

followed. According to plaintiff’s complaint in the present case, Baum was agitated from the

moment he arrived at the scene of Antoinette’s arrest, had to be escorted from the Shelby

Township Police Department, and was upset when he arrived at the Walsh home. Plaintiff

alleged that Baum stood on the front porch, threatened Beth, and initially refused to leave. When

Baum eventually left, Beth placed a telephone call to Jeffrey, relayed the encounter, and stated

that she was in imminent fear.

Jeffrey’s supervisor, Sergeant Jason Schmittler, authorized Jeffrey to respond to Beth’s

call for assistance. Schmittler’s supervisor, Lieutenant Gerald VanHoet, instructed both

Schmittler and Det. Jacquemain, who were on duty at the time, to respond to the Walsh home as

well. Because the Walsh home was located in Macomb County, Jeffrey also requested Shelby

Township dispatch to notify the Macomb County Sheriff’s Department about the situation and

ask for Macomb officers to be dispatched as well.

While en route to the Walsh home, Jeffrey received a telephone call from Beth reporting

that Baum had threatened to return and that he was “break torque-ing” down the street in a red

pickup truck. Jeffrey communicated this information over the police radio to Sgt. Schmittler and

Det. Jacquemain, who responded by changing course and heading toward Baum’s nearby

residence in an effort to detain Baum and Anthony. Jeffrey, who was driving separately and who

was a few minutes behind Schmittler and Jacquemain, also proceeded to Baum’s house.

Upon arrival at Baum’s house, Sgt. Schmittler and Det. Jacquemain observed Baum and

Anthony getting into Baum’s truck. According to plaintiff, both Baum and Anthony took a

fighting stance, prompting the officers, who were not in uniform, to identify themselves and

order the men to the ground. According to plaintiff, the officers used force when Baum and

Anthony refused to comply and enticed an unidentified companion in the garage to retrieve a

firearm for them from inside the house. Jeffrey arrived moments later and his involvement was

limited to providing handcuffs to Jacquemain and assisting Schmittler in freeing Baum’s arms in

order to handcuff him. Thereafter, Macomb sheriff’s deputies arrived and arrested Anthony on

charges of assault, malicious destruction of property,2 and disturbing the peace. Officers arrested

Baum on a charge of disturbing the peace in connection with his conduct at the Walsh house.3

On July 28, 2011, Baum and Anthony filed a complaint in the underlying federal action

and painted a much different sequence of events than did plaintiff in the present case. They

alleged that Jeffrey was angry at Baum after Baum contacted Beth and that he had an “agenda to

bring harm to Baum.” The complaint accused Jeffrey of acting “on his own personal agenda and

2

Anthony allegedly kicked out the back of a deputy’s car.

3

Anthony eventually pleaded guilty to assaulting a police officer. It does not appear that Baum

was ever convicted of an offense.

-2-

rage” when he went to Baum’s home along with Schmittler and Jacquemain. According to the

underlying complaint, Baum and Anthony complied with officers’ commands when they were

ordered to the ground and, despite this compliance, the officers proceeded to administer a fierce

beating on Baum and Anthony that caused injuries. The complaint alleged that the officers told

Baum and Anthony “that they intended to kill them.”

Baum and Anthony alleged eight claims in the underlying complaint against Jeffrey,

Schmittler, and Jacquemain, including: (1) excessive force and/or assault and battery; (2)

because the officers were acting “under color of state law,” a violation of 42 USC 1983; (3) a

violation of 42 USC 1988, which permits the recovery of attorney fees in a § 1983 action; (4)

false arrest; (5) false imprisonment; (6) violation of their Fourth Amendment rights; (7) violation

of their Eighth Amendment rights; and (8) violation of their Fourteenth Amendment rights.

Plaintiff submitted a claim to defendant, together with a copy of the underlying

complaint, and sought to have defendant defend the officers. Defendant denied the claim on the

ground that the “four corners of the complaint” indicated that the officers were acting outside

their authority as police officers during the incident involving Baum and Anthony. Plaintiff

defended the underlying action and ultimately settled the case at the conclusion of the liability

portion of the trial “for a sum in excess of $25,000.” After the settlement, plaintiff again

requested from defendant the costs associated with its defense and settlement, and defendant

again refused.

After defendant’s multiple denials of coverage, plaintiff initiated the present action by

filing a three-count complaint against defendant alleging (1) breach of contract for defendant’s

alleged failure to honor its obligations under the parties’ insurance policy and (2) violation of the

Michigan Uniform Trade Practices Act,4 and seeking (3) declaratory relief. According to

plaintiff, it incurred $446,290.36 in damages in defending and settling the underlying action.

Plaintiff asked the trial court to (1) declare that defendant was required to provide coverage for

the claims alleged in the underlying action pursuant to the parties’ insurance policy, (2) order

defendant specifically to perform its obligations under the policy, and (3) reimburse plaintiff for

the monies spent in the underlying action.

Plaintiff moved for summary disposition under MCR 2.116(C)(9) and (10), noting that its

policy with defendant provided coverage for damages incurred from “wrongful acts” occurring

during the course of “law enforcement activity,” and arguing that the acts alleged in the

underlying complaint fit within the coverage of the policy. Defendant responded and asked the

trial court to deny the motion and instead grant summary disposition in its favor. Defendant

asserted that the claims raised in the underlying complaint alleged knowing, intentional conduct

based on Jeffrey’s private, personal agenda and that such acts were not within the scope of

legitimate “law enforcement activity” to which the policy applied. Defendant also asserted that

the officers “wrongfully attacked” Baum and Anthony and that an exclusion in the policy

excluded coverage for “dishonest, malicious, fraudulent or criminal acts,” or acts taken in

knowing violation of any law, statute, or governmental regulation. The trial court, after

4

Plaintiff voluntarily dismissed this count.

-3-

conducting an extensive examination of the insurance policy at issue, and then comparing the

present case to Wilcox v Munger, unpublished opinion per curiam of the Court of Appeals, issued

December 20, 2007 (Docket No. 275329, issued December 20, 2007), concluded that the policy

provided coverage for acts committed by police officers in the course of their law enforcement

duties and that defendant could not assert that the excessive use of force, an act presumably

outside the scope of those duties, was outside the scope of coverage under the policy. Thus, the

trial court granted summary disposition in favor of plaintiff, finding that defendant had a duty to

defend in the underlying action.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

This Court reviews summary disposition rulings de novo. Kincaid v Cardwell, 300 Mich

App 513, 522; 834 NW2d 122 (2013). A motion under MCR 2.116(C)(10) tests the factual

sufficiency of a complaint. Wilson v Alpena Co Rd Comm, 474 Mich 161, 166; 713 NW2d 717

(2006). In deciding a summary disposition motion under MCR 2.116(C)(10), this Court

considers all the evidence, affidavits, pleadings, admissions, and other information available in

the record in a light most favorable to the nonmoving party. Rice v Auto Club Ins Ass'n, 252

Mich App 25, 30–31; 651 NW2d 188 (2002). Summary disposition should be granted if there is

no genuine issue of material fact and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Babula v Robertson, 212 Mich App 45, 48; 536 NW2d 834 (1995). This Court also reviews de

novo the proper interpretation and application of an insurance policy. Grosse Pointe Park v

Mich Muni Liability & Prop Pool, 473 Mich 188, 196; 702 NW2d 106 (2005).

III. THE INSURANCE POLICY

Defendant issued plaintiff an insurance policy that provided, among other types of

coverage, “Law Enforcement Liability Coverage.” The pertinent policy language stated that

defendant agreed to “pay those sums that the insured [plaintiff] becomes legally obligated to pay

as ‘damages’ resulting from a ‘wrongful act’ to which this insurance applies that is committed

during the course and scope of ‘law enforcement activities’ . . . .” The policy further stated that

defendant had “the right and duty to defend” plaintiff against any suit seeking damages;

however, defendant had “no duty to defend [plaintiff] against any ‘suit’ seeking ‘damages’ for a

‘wrongful act’ to which this insurance does not apply.” The policy specified that it applied to a

claim for damages arising out of a “wrongful act” “committed anywhere in the world.”

Two key terms in the policy—“law enforcement activities” and “wrongful act”—are

expressly defined in the policy. The policy defines “law enforcement activities” to mean, in

pertinent part, “administration of the criminal justice system and/or any act, error or omission of

your law enforcement agency, its officials, officers, ‘employees’ or volunteers.” “Wrongful act”

means:

any act, error or omission flowing from or originating out of a “law enforcement

activity”. All acts, errors or omissions, committed by one or more insureds that

are substantially the same or are in any way directly or indirectly related—either

logically, causally, or temporally—shall be deemed to constitute one “wrongful

act” regardless of the number of claims or claimants.

-4-

The policy also contained an exclusion for any claim arising out of: (1) “a dishonest,

malicious, fraudulent or criminal act, error or omission by any person, including actual or

threatened acts of sexual abuse or molestation,” or (2) “a knowing violation of any law, statute or

governmental regulation.”

III. CONSTRUCTION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE POLICY

An insurance policy is similar to any other contractual agreement and the court’s role is

to “determine what the agreement was and to effectuate the intent of the parties.” Auto-Owners

Ins Co v Churchman, 440 Mich 560, 566; 489 NW2d 431 (1992). A two-part test is employed to

determine the parties’ intent. Heniser v Frankenmuth Mut Ins Co, 449 Mich 155, 172; 534

NW2d 502 (1995). “First, it must be determined whether ‘the policy provides coverage to the

insured,’ and, second, the court must ‘ascertain whether that coverage is negated by an

exclusion.’ ” Hunt v Drelick, 496 Mich 366, 372-373; 852 NW2d 562 (2014), quoting Heniser,

449 Mich at 172 (citation and quotation marks committed). An insured bears the burden of

proving that his claim falls within the terms of the policy, and an insurer bears the burden of

proving that one of the policy’s exclusions apply. Auto Owners Ins Co v Seils, ___ Mich App

___, ___; ___ NW2d ___ (Docket Nos. 315891, 315901, 316511, issued March 26, 2015, slip op

p 7). Exclusionary clauses are strictly construed in favor of the insured. Id. Interpretation of

insurance policy terms follows Michigan's established principles of contract construction.

Henderson v State Farm Fire & Cas Co, 460 Mich 348, 353; 596 NW2d 190 (1999). “First, an

insurance contract must be enforced in accordance with its terms. A court must not hold an

insurance company liable for a risk that it did not assume. Second, a court should not create

ambiguity in an insurance policy where the terms of the contract are clear and precise. Thus, the

terms of a contract must be enforced as written where there is no ambiguity.” Id. at 354

(citations omitted).] A court must give terms “their ordinary and plain meaning if such would be

apparent to a reader of the instrument.” DeFrain v State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co, 491 Mich 359,

367; 817 NW2d 504 (2012) (quotation marks and citations omitted).

It is well-established that “an insurer has a duty to defend an insured and that such duty is

not limited to meritorious suits and may even extend to actions which are groundless, false, or

fraudulent, so long as the allegations against the insured even arguably come within the policy

coverage.” Auto Club Group Ins Co v Burchell, 249 Mich App 468, 480–481; 642 NW2d 406

(2001) (citations omitted). “The duty to defend and indemnify is not based solely on the

terminology used in the pleadings in the underlying action. The court must also focus on the

cause of the injury to determine whether coverage exists.” Fitch v State Farm Fire and Cas Co,

211 Mich App 468, 471; 536 NW2d 273 (1995).

The law enforcement liability policy provided coverage for damages resulting from a

“wrongful act” committed during the course and scope of “law enforcement activities.” The

policy defines “wrongful act” as an act, error or omission flowing from or originating out of a

“law enforcement activity.” The policy in turn describes “law enforcement activity” as

administration of the criminal justice system and/or any act, error, or omission of your law

enforcement agency, its officials, officers, “employees” or volunteers. Thus, the coverage under

the policy is for damages resulting from a wrongful act committed during the policy period while

conducting law enforcement activities.

-5-

At issue in this case is whether the officers were conducting law enforcement activities

when they committed the alleged wrongful acts such that plaintiff was entitled to a defense or

coverage from defendant in the underlying action. According to defendant, the officers were not

engaged in law enforcement activity because they were acting pursuant to their own “private”

agenda at the time they committed the alleged wrongful acts.

The trial court found the present case to be substantially similar to Wilcox. In Wilcox,

several police officers responded to a report of slashed tires. After the officers arrived at the

scene, one of the officers allegedly sexually assaulted the plaintiff. The plaintiff subsequently

filed a civil rights lawsuit under 42 USC 1983 against the officer’s estate. The officer was

covered by an insurance policy issued by the defendant, but the defendant denied during the

federal action that any coverage was available. The plaintiff brought suit seeking a declaration

that the insurer had liability under the policy and that coverage under the policy applied to the

officer’s actions. The insurer filed a cross-claim seeking a declaration that it had no obligation to

indemnify or defend with respect to the officer’s actions because, inter alia, the officer’s action

fell within a policy exclusion. The trial court granted summary disposition in favor of the insurer

on the ground that sexual assault is not within an officer’s official duties, and because the acts of

police officers in the ambit of their personal, private pursuits fall outside of 42 USC 1983, the

officer was not a member of the group of persons afforded coverage by the insurer. The policy

at issue defined “member” as a municipal corporation as well as “any former or present

employee ‘while acting within the scope of their official duties or operations on behalf of the

Member.’” At issue in Wilcox was whether the officer was acting within the scope of his official

duties or operations on behalf of the insured police department when he allegedly sexually

assaulted the plaintiff such that his estate was entitled to a defense or coverage from the insurer

in the federal lawsuit.

This Court explained the insurer’s5 argument in Wilcox:

According to defendant, summary disposition was appropriate because

Heika [the officer] was acting outside the scope of his employment when he

committed the alleged sexual assault. Defendant contends that the sexual assault

was not authorized or ratified by his employer, and that by committing the act,

Heika had stepped outside of his official duties to satisfy a personal desire.

Defendant does not dispute that Heika was present at plaintiff’s home as a fully

5

This Court recognized the defendant Michigan Municipal Risk Management Authority’s

assertion that it was not an insurer and that the coverage documents were not an insurance policy

and concluded that:

The similarities between the purpose and content of defendant’s coverage

documents and traditional insurance policies, however, coupled with the fact that

this matter is solely concerned with a dispute over the terms of the coverage

documents leads us to conclude that the most appropriate analysis would be the

same as that given disputes over insurance policy language. [Id. at slip op p 3 n

1.]

-6-

uniformed and armed police officer responding to a call, and that his initial

presence would be within the scope of his duties as a police officer. Heika then

entered plaintiff’s home to either give her some paperwork or wait for her to

retrieve paperwork relating to the incident for which Heika had been initially

called to the home. Clearly, but for Heika’s status as a police officer and his

response to a call as part of his official duties, he would not have gone inside

plaintiff’s home. Nevertheless, defendant contends that when Heika committed

the sexual assault, he temporarily took off his police officer hat, figuratively

speaking, and at the singular moment of the sexual assault, was not acting within

the scope of his duties. [Id. at slip op p 3.]

This Court then opined:

The problem this Court sees with this rationale finds its basis in the very

language of the coverage documents. On the one hand, the documents purport to

provide coverage for claims against an employee seeking damages for personal

injury (including constitutional and civil rights violations) or wrongful acts so

long as the employee is acting within the scope of his employment duties. On the

other hand, defendant encourages a reading of the coverage documents that would

exclude coverage because Heika’s actions could be categorized as causing

personal injury (or a wrongful act). Per the coverage documents, Heika is

afforded coverage for the claim of sexual assault (wrongful act) committed while

he was acting within the scope of his employment, yet by virtue of committing the

personal injury (or wrongful act) action, is deemed to have not been acting

with[in] the scope of his employment. This language is ambiguous, indeed,

circular, and leaves this Court to ponder when causing personal injury or

committing a wrongful act would be part of one’s employment duties or fall

within the scope of one’s employment such that he would be afforded coverage

for claims alleging a wrongful act.

The language, as written could always allow for the carving out of a

complained of specific act and categorize it as outside of one’s official

employment duties. For example, one could argue that an officer’s action in

pulling a vehicle over would be within the scope of his employment. But, if it is

alleged that he pulled the vehicle over because of some racial basis, defendant

could always separate the specific action alleged to be wrongful (or violative of

constitutional or civil rights) and claim that the narrow action complained of

(using racial bias as a basis for pulling over a vehicle) fell outside the scope of

employment (discrimination presumably never falling within the scope of one’s

employment duties) and that coverage was not available. [Id. at slip op pp 3-4.]

This Court then applied the “rule of pro con proferentum” and resolved the ambiguity in the

coverage documents against the defendant as the drafter of the documents. [Id. at slip op p 4.]

This Court also took note of the duty to defend if the underlying allegation “even arguably”

comes within the policy coverage. Id. See also Auto Club Group Ins Co, 249 Mich App at 480-

481. The trial court found the present case similar to Wilcox and ruled accordingly:

-7-

In this case, as in Wilcox, the Policy provides that it covers wrongful acts

committed by a police officer in the course of his/her “law enforcement

activities”. However, Defendant would, as the defendant in Wilcox did, argue that

any wrongful act was outside of the officer’s law enforcement activities and

therefore not covered. As the Court of Appeals held in Wilcox, this Court is

convinced that the language of the policy is ambiguous and circular. Further, as

in Wilcox, this Court is satisfied that the policy must be construed against the

drafting party, i.e. Defendant. Consequently, the Court is convinced that

summary disposition must be granted in favor of Plaintiff on the grounds that

Defendant had a duty to defend the lawsuit.

Although Wilcox is not precedentially binding because it is an unpublished opinion, MCR

7.215(C)(1), this Court can look to the case for its instructive or persuasive value, Paris

Meadows, LLC v Kentwood, 287 Mich App 136, 145 n 3; 783 NW2d 133 (2010).

Here, the underlying complaint alleged violations of 42 USC 1983, which allows a party

to file an action for “the deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws’ because of the actions of another person acting ‘under color of any

statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State.’” Moore v Detroit Entertainment,

LLC, 279 Mich App 195, 202; 755 NW2d 686 (2008). To establish a right to relief under 42

USC 1983, a plaintiff must plead and prove: (1) that he or she has been deprived of a right

secured by the Constitution and laws of the United States; and (2) that the defendants deprived

him or her of this right while acting under color of law. Ritter v Wayne Co Gen Hosp, 174 Mich

App 490, 497; 436 NW2d 673 (1988). The claim necessarily involves violations of the

plaintiff’s rights while the defendants are acting under color of state law – i.e., as police officers

in the performance of their duties. Defendant conceded in its response to plaintiff’s motion for

summary disposition that “it appears to have been undisputed in the ‘underlying claim’ that

Officers Walsh, Schmittler and Jacquemain were on duty at the time of the incident in question.”

Plaintiff presented extrinsic evidence that the officers were authorized by their commanding

officers to respond to the incident at the Walsh home. When Sgt. Schmittler and Det.

Jacquemain were informed that Baum had left the Walsh home but had threatened to return, they

advised dispatch that they intended to instead go to the nearby Baum residence. On arrival at the

Baum residence, Schmittler and Jacquemain observed conduct that they believed necessitated the

detention of Baum and Pellegrino. They identified themselves as police officers before ordering

the men to lie on the ground. Jeffrey, who observed Schmittler and Jacquemain struggling with

Baum and Pellegrino, stopped to assist the officers in handcuffing Baum. The evidence supports

that the officers were engaged in law enforcement activity, as that term is defined in the policy,

at the time they committed the alleged wrongful acts.

Despite this evidence, defendant contends, as did the defendant in Wilcox, that the

officers were not engaged in law enforcement activity because they were acting on a personal

agenda and acting intentionally when they committed the wrongful acts. The policy’s definition

of “wrongful act” includes “any act, error or omission flowing from or originating out of a law

enforcement activity” (emphasis added). To contend, as does defendant, that the alleged

wrongful acts are not covered under the policy because the claimants alleged “knowing,

intentional, and purposeful acts” that do not constitute “negligence, mistake or error” is

-8-

misplaced, as the policy does not limit the definition of wrongful acts to acts performed

negligently or mistakenly.6 Rather, the policy provides coverage for any wrongful act committed

during the course and scope of law enforcement activities. And because the claims arguably fell

within the policy coverage, the duty to defend was triggered. Auto Club Group Ins Co, 249 Mich

App at 480-481.

With respect to the purported exclusion in the policy, defendant states that “[i]t is

expected that there will be some argument that the Defendant Police Officers, in fact, committed

no ‘dishonest, malicious, fraudulent or criminal act, error or omission’ or ‘knowing violation of

any law, statute or governmental regulation’ ” Defendant does not develop this argument in the

context of the present case, but rather, compares the exclusion to an insured’s claim of self-

defense in assault and battery cases in asserting that it had no duty to defend. But the underlying

claim did not involve any claim of dishonesty or criminal conduct. Rather, the claimants alleged

a violation of 42 USC 1983 by officers who allegedly violated police procedures by unlawfully

detaining and arresting the claimants using excessive force. To properly plead a claim of police

misconduct or a violation of § 1983, the claimant must assert unlawful conduct outside the scope

of accepted or reasonable police procedure that had the effect of depriving him or her of a

constitutional right. Thus, unlawful conduct is the basis of any claim that arises out of a law

enforcement activity. Similar to Wilcox, where the policy purports to afford coverage for

wrongful acts that occur during law enforcement activity (i.e., claims under 42 USC 1983

involving unlawful conduct), such conduct is the risk that the insurance company assumed.

Inasmuch as exclusionary clauses in contracts are construed against the drafter, and given that

defendant has not fully developed this argument, defendant has failed to demonstrate that the

exclusion applies.

Affirmed.

/s/ David H. Sawyer

/s/ Jane M. Beckering

/s/ Mark T. Boonstra

6

It appears that the claimants alleged that the officers acted intentionally because the claim is

against a governmental unit and, therefore, the claimants had to plead facts in avoidance of

governmental immunity to state an actionable claim. Butler v Wayne Co Sheriff’s Dep’t, 75

Mich App 202, 203; 255 NW2d 7 (1977).

-9-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.