Opinion

D. Donlon v. WCAB (County of Bucks)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Nov 4, 2015
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Cohn Jubelirer, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 42.6%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Denise Donlon, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 516 C.D. 2015

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal : Submitted: August 14, 2015

Board (County of Bucks), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE ROCHELLE S. FRIEDMAN, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY JUDGE COHN JUBELIRER FILED: November 4, 2015

Denise Donlon (Claimant) petitions for review of an Order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Board) affirming a Workers’ Compensation Judge’s

(WCJ) Decision denying Claimant’s Claim Petition seeking total disability benefits

for an alleged mental injury1 that occurred within the scope and course of her

employment with the County of Bucks (Employer). The WCJ also denied

1

Our precedent refers to such injuries interchangeably as mental injuries, psychic

injuries, psychological injuries, and psychiatric injuries.

Claimant’s Penalty Petition, alleging that Employer violated Section 406.1(a) of

the Workers’ Compensation Act2 (Act) by not accepting or denying Claimant’s

claim within twenty-one days of the alleged work injury. The Board concluded

that substantial evidence supported the WCJ’s determinations that Claimant did not

give Employer timely notice of her injury as required by Section 311 of the Act, 77

P.S. § 631, and did not meet her burden to prove that she suffered from a work-

related mental injury. On appeal, Claimant argues that: (1) the totality of the

evidence presented establishes that Employer had actual notice of the incident that

caused her work-related injury and the resultant effect on Claimant’s well-being

within the required time period; (2) she satisfied her burden to prove, under the

“mental/mental injury” standard, that she sustained an injury within the course and

scope of her employment that resulted in her disability; and (3) her Penalty Petition

should have been granted by the WCJ. Because substantial evidence supports the

WCJ’s finding that Claimant did not provide Employer with timely notice of her

alleged injury, we affirm.

I. BACKGROUND

Claimant worked as an appraiser for Employer for six years until she was

subjected to an economic lay off in October 2012. (WCJ Decision, Findings of

Fact (FOF) ¶¶ 3, 14.) Claimant filed a Claim Petition on November 30, 2012,

alleging that she suffers from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and anxiety

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, added by the Act of February 8, 1972, P.L.

25, 77 P.S. § 717.1(a).

2

stemming from an incident that occurred while she was working on July 24, 2012.3

Claimant alleged that she “was in a cul-de-sac, and a man walked up to her without

identifying himself and pointed a gun right in her face.” (Claim Petition at 1, R.R.

at 29.) Claimant alleged further that the event caused her to stop working on

September 21, 2012 and requested full disability from that date forward. Employer

filed a Notice of Compensation Denial (NCD) on January 24, 2013 declining to

pay Claimant workers’ compensation benefits on the grounds that Claimant’s

injury was not work related and that Claimant did not give notice to Employer of

her injury within 120 days of the alleged injury. The NCD contains conflicting

information because it includes the date “07/24/2012” in response to “Date

employer received notice or knew of the alleged injury”, yet explicitly states that

Claimant did not give notice within 120 days and that Employer first received

notice of the injury “per 11/30/12 petition.” (NCD, R.R. at 40.) The matter was

assigned to a WCJ and two hearings were held.4 After the hearings were held,

Claimant filed a Penalty Petition on October 8, 2013, which was assigned to the

same WCJ for disposition. The Penalty Petition alleged that Employer violated the

Act by not timely filing documents accepting or denying Claimant’s injury.

3

Employer’s Answer to the Claim Petition does not appear in the certified record.

However, Claimant admits in her brief that an Answer was filed on December 18, 2012.

(Claimant’s Brief at 7.)

4

During the January 22, 2013 hearing before the WCJ, Claimant amended her Claim

Petition to request temporary total disability benefits from October 9, 2012. (Hr’g Tr. at 5,

January 22, 2013, R.R. at 46.)

3

II. PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE WCJ

In support of her Claim Petition, Claimant testified on her own behalf before

the WCJ and via deposition and submitted the deposition testimony of Joan A.

Feinstein, Ph.D. Fact witnesses Amy Fiero, Robert Bozena, and Russell Kabana

testified before the WCJ on behalf of Employer in opposition to Claimant’s Claim

Petition. Employer also submitted the deposition testimonies of medical expert

Gladys S. Fenichel, M.D., and fact witnesses, Mr. Riggitano, Mr. Bozena, and

Richard Brosius.

Claimant testified before the WCJ on January 22, 2013 as follows.5

Claimant’s job duties required her to go to a house, identify herself, and look at

any improvements made to the house. On July 24, 2012, Claimant was working in

the field in Bensalem Township assessing two homes that had permits for

additions. Claimant knocked at the door of the second house and, finding no one

home, went to the back of the house to inspect the addition. After measuring the

addition in the back of the home, Claimant began to walk back to her car, saw a

man walking toward her, and asked the man if he was the homeowner. The man

responded by saying “don’t worry who I am,” pulled out a firearm, and approached

Claimant with the firearm pointed at Claimant’s face. (Hr’g Tr. at 15, January 22,

2013, R.R. at 56.) The man screamed at her, asked her who she was, and the

location of the other person. Claimant tried to explain who she was and the man

said that Claimant could slowly remove her identification, and hand it to him.

Claimant testified that no one has ever pointed a firearm at her before that moment.

5

The transcript of Claimant’s testimony at the January 22, 2013 hearing is found at R.R.

53-103.

4

The man called the police who arrived shortly thereafter. The police

apologetically explained to Claimant that there was a rash of robberies in the area

and that the man thought Claimant was with someone else because there was a coat

on the passenger seat of Claimant’s vehicle. After the police left, the man who

pointed the firearm at Claimant remained on the premises and identified himself to

Claimant as a police officer.

After the incident, Claimant called her supervisor, Mr. Bozena, on his cell

phone to report the incident. Mr. Bozena expressed concern about Claimant’s

well-being, told her to go home, and have a drink. Feeling too distressed to

appraise other houses that day, Claimant went home.

The following day, Claimant went to the Bensalem Township Police Office

to file a complaint. She went through the process of filling out a complaint, but

there was some confusion regarding the identity of the man with the firearm.

Claimant’s complaint did not progress any further.

Thereafter, at the request of Employer’s office manager, Claimant returned

to the office and met with Mr. Kabana, Chairman of the Board of Assessments, and

other staff of Employer. Mr. Kabana told Claimant that he would stand behind her

if she wanted to file a complaint with the District Attorney.

Claimant returned to work the day after the incident. Claimant began to

experience difficulty performing her duties and told her union steward about her

anxiety. Claimant then reached out to a counselor through Employer’s Employee

5

Assistance Program (EAP). Claimant also went to her family doctor, who

prescribed Lorazepam for her anxiety. Claimant’s family doctor advised her to

apply for workers’ compensation, but Claimant chose not to out of fear that she

would lose her job. Claimant neither told her supervisor that she was getting

counseling or was receiving medical treatment as a result of the July 24, 2012

incident, nor did Claimant tell the office manager about her circumstances.

Although Claimant was having anxiety every time she assessed a house,

Claimant continued to work without interruption until she took two weeks off in

August 2012 for a pre-scheduled vacation that she hoped would “get [her] head

back together.” (Hr’g Tr. at 22, R.R. at 63.) After returning from vacation,

Claimant was confronted by an agitated homeowner when assessing a house. As

Claimant attempted to leave, the homeowner followed her to her car and screamed

at her about having his taxes raised. The confrontation made Claimant feel like she

could not breathe.

On September 18, 2012, Claimant was notified that she was to be laid off as

of October 9, 2012. While laid off, Claimant began receiving unemployment

compensation (UC) benefits. Her application for UC benefits stated that she was

ready, willing, and able to work without limitations. Claimant sought other

employment, applying for at least two appraiser positions in other counties, but

now feels like she is unable to perform the duties of an appraiser.

6

Dr. Feinstein testified in support of Claimant’s Claim Petition by way of

deposition on February 22, 2013 as follows.6 Dr. Feinstein is a licensed

psychologist and rehabilitation counselor. She first evaluated Claimant on

December 11, 2012 for an initial consultation, where she conducted a

psychological and medical history. Dr. Feinstein learned that Claimant had some

anxiety prior to the July 24, 2012 incident stemming from previous non-work-

related events and relationships that occurred in her life. Claimant discussed the

July 24, 2012 incident with Dr. Feinstein. Dr. Feinstein opined that Claimant was

presenting as highly anxious. Dr. Feinstein saw Claimant again on January 5,

2013. Claimant presented as sad and stated that she was having traumatic

reactions and misinterpreting normal stimuli, such as interpreting a knock at the

door as a dangerous situation. Dr. Feinstein diagnosed Claimant with “[PTSD] and

a high level of anxiety” and opined, with a reasonable degree of psychological

certainty, that Claimant’s condition was a result of the July 24, 2012 incident and

that Claimant was totally disabled. (Feinstein’s Dep. at 25, R.R. at 166.)

On cross examination, Dr. Feinstein stated that she was aware that Claimant

continued to work after the July 24, 2012 incident until October 2012 and that

Claimant was looking for work. Dr. Feinstein discouraged Claimant from looking

for work, opined that Claimant was in denial about her condition, and that

Claimant’s cognitive and anxiety issues would preclude her from working.

6

The transcript of Dr. Feinstein’s deposition testimony is found at R.R. 142-188.

7

Employer submitted the deposition testimony of Dr. Fenichel taken on June

3, 2013, who testified as follows.7 Dr. Fenichel, a licensed psychiatrist with a

board certification by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, conducted

an Independent Medical Examination (IME) of Claimant on March 29, 2013 where

Claimant explained the July 24, 2012 incident and her symptoms. Claimant told

Dr. Fenichel that she did not take any time off from work because “she did not

want to make a ruckus with [Employer].” (Fenichel’s Dep. at 13.) Dr. Fenichel

opined that, if an individual is traumatized and anxious, she would not have been

able to continue to work and would have required some immediate mental health

treatment. Dr. Fenichel noted that one of the main symptoms of PTSD is

avoidance. Dr. Fenichel opined that the fact that Claimant applied for appraiser

positions with other counties “speaks to the conclusion that she does not have

problems with avoidance, which is necessary for” a PTSD diagnosis. (Fenichel

Dep. at 19-20.)

Claimant told Dr. Fenichel about her past history of psychological treatment

and that she had previously been treated with medication. In Dr. Fenichel’s

opinion, the fact that Claimant was treated in the past indicates that, if Claimant

was in fact suffering from PTSD, she would have sought immediate treatment.

Further, Dr. Fenichel noted that Claimant was taking medications for fibromyalgia

and for pain related to previous surgeries. Dr. Fenichel opined that the medication

Claimant was receiving for pain affects one’s mood and behavior, and Claimant’s

7

The transcript of Dr. Fenichel’s deposition testimony is found in the certified record at

Employer’s Exhibit D.

8

medication regimen was an important consideration in her evaluation of whether

Claimant had PTSD.

Dr. Fenichel opined that Claimant did not sustain a mental injury as a result

of the July 24, 2012 event and does not have any disability or loss of earnings as a

consequence of the incident. The basis for her opinion was that: (1) Claimant

continued to work after the alleged work injury; (2) Claimant left her employment

only as a result of being laid off; (3) Claimant interviewed for other appraiser

positions, but was not offered a job; (4) Claimant applied for UC benefits and

acknowledged that she was willing and able to work; (5) Claimant did not file a

police report about the incident and returned to work the next day; and (6)

Claimant did not report having any problems with anxiety to Employer. After

review, Dr. Fenichel disagreed with the testimony of Dr. Feinstein and opined that

the basis of the disagreement was Dr. Feinstein’s lack of awareness of Claimant’s

complete history.

Ms. Fiero, Mr. Bozena, and Mr. Kabana testified on behalf of Employer

before the WCJ on June 6, 2013. Ms. Fiero, Workers’ Compensation Coordinator

for Employer, testified as follows.8 Ms. Fiero is familiar with Claimant and

became aware of Claimant’s alleged injury on December 5, 2012. Ms. Fiero

received the Claim Petition after Claimant was laid off and terminated due to

budgetary constraints. Upon receiving the Claim Petition, Ms. Fiero sent an email

8

The transcript of Ms. Fiero’s testimony at the June 6, 2013 hearing is found at R.R. 112-

120.

9

to counsel for Employer stating that there was no incident report on this matter.

Employer’s normal procedure is that, if an employee is injured in the course and

scope of employment, the employee reports the incident to a supervisor and fills

out an incident report. Claimant was familiar with this procedure since Claimant

followed it when she was involved in a workplace incident in 2007.

On cross examination, Ms. Fiero was confronted with the NCD filed by

Employer on January 24, 2013, stating that Employer received notice of

Claimant’s injury on July 24, 2012. Ms. Fiero testified that she was surprised that

the NCD appears to say Employer received notice on July 24, 2012 because she

did not learn of the injury until she received the Claim Petition on December 5,

2012.

Mr. Bozena testified as follows.9 Mr. Bozena works as a Senior

Appraiser/Supervisor at Employer and served as Claimant’s direct supervisor at the

time of the incident. Mr. Bozena learned of the incident when Claimant called him

to report the incident on July 24, 2012. Claimant never told Mr. Bozena that she

had been injured as a result of the incident, but it was clear to Mr. Bozena that

Claimant was upset. At no time on July 24, 2012, or after, did Claimant tell Mr.

Bozena that she required medical treatment. Mr. Bozena did not notice any

downturn in Claimant’s productivity as a result of the incident and Claimant did

not ask for any type of accommodation.

9

The transcript of Mr. Bozena’s testimony at the June 6, 2013 hearing is found at R.R.

121-130.

10

Mr. Kabana testified that he, together with the entire Board of Assessments

and other parties, met with Claimant after the July 24, 2012 incident.10 The

purpose of the meeting was for Mr. Kabana to discover what happened the prior

day and to determine whether the Board could assist Claimant in taking any action

against the police officer. Mr. Kabana testified that this type of meeting was very

unusual. According to Mr. Kabana, Claimant did not express the need for any

medical treatment at the meeting.

Employer also submitted the August 15, 2013 deposition testimony of Mr.

Riggitano, a Senior Claims Adjuster assigned to Employer by Employer’s workers’

compensation insurer.11 Mr. Riggitano testified that his duties include

investigating claims against Employer, paying benefits, and issuing workers’

compensation forms. Mr. Riggitano became familiar with Claimant and her

alleged injury when he received Claimant’s Claim Petition on December 10, 2012.

Mr. Riggitano testified that he issued the NCD on January 24, 2013. He

acknowledged that the NCD states that Employer received notice or learned of the

injury on July 24, 2012, but testified that the date was put into that document

through an auto fill feature in the insurer’s computer program. On cross

examination, Mr. Riggitano testified that he had no knowledge of whether

Claimant spoke to Mr. Bozena or anyone else from Employer on July 24, 2012

about her alleged injury.

10

The transcript of Mr. Kabana’s testimony at the June 6, 2013 hearing is found at R.R.

131-136.

11

The transcript of Mr. Riggitano’s deposition testimony is found at R.R. 214-235.

11

Claimant testified by way of deposition on October 1, 2013 in response to

Employer’s witnesses and gave an update on her condition as follows.12 Mr.

Bozena called her multiple times after she returned home on July 24, 2012 to check

on her. Claimant attempted to file a police report at the Bensalem Township police

station the morning after the incident, but did not actually file the report because

she learned at the police station that the man with the firearm was an officer for

Bucks County, not Bensalem Township. At some point after she returned from her

August 2012 vacation, Claimant told Mr. Bozena and Mr. Brosius, the Director of

the Board of Assessors at the time, that she was getting counseling and was having

a hard time. Claimant did not ask her supervisors for help because she was already

receiving assistance from a doctor referred to her by the EAP. Contrary to her

earlier testimony that she received no accommodation as a result of the incident,

Claimant clarified that she did not understand what was meant by accommodation

and that she was told by Mr. Bozena and Mr. Brosius that she should not perform

any assessments in Bensalem Township.

Claimant testified that she applied for other assessor positions because she

thought she could do the jobs. She then realized that she “was in denial and [she]

really needed to continue with [her] treatment through counseling to get better”

and decided to give up her license. (Claimant’s Dep. at 20, R.R. at 260.) Claimant

learned of a position in Philadelphia as an assessor for which she was qualified, but

she did not apply for the position because she knew she could not do the job in her

condition.

12

The transcript of Claimant’s deposition testimony is found at R.R. 241-275.

12

Finally, Employer presented the depositions of Mr. Bozena and Mr. Brosius

taken on December 6, 2013.13 Mr. Bozena testified that he reviewed Claimant’s

deposition testimony and disagreed with Claimant’s recollection of the events.

Mr. Bozena testified that Claimant never told him that she was seeking treatment

through the EAP in September 2012. Further, Mr. Bozena stated that he neither

limited the geographic scope of the work, nor told Claimant that she did not have

to go to Bensalem Township.

Mr. Brosius, Director of Assessments for Employer, testified that he was

present at the meeting where Claimant explained the July 24, 2012 incident to the

Board of Assessments. Mr. Brosius stated that at no time during this meeting did

Claimant say she needed or wanted medical treatment or counseling as a result of

the incident. Mr. Brosius testified in response to Claimant’s deposition testimony

that she told him that she was in counseling through the EAP and that he was not

aware Claimant sought counseling or medical attention, although he acknowledged

on cross examination that he plays no role in workers’ compensation matters.

After reviewing the evidence, the WCJ made the following relevant findings

of fact and credibility determinations:

14. This Judge has reviewed and considered the entire testimony of

Claimant. Claimant is credible that an incident occurred on July 24,

2012, when a homeowner holding a gun approached her while she

was performing her job duties for [Employer]. She is also credible

that the incident caused her anxiety. However, her testimony as to the

13

The transcript of Mr. Bozena’s deposition testimony is found at R.R. 295-304. The

transcript of Mr. Brosius’ deposition testimony is found at R.R. 305-318.

13

extent of her anxiety and alleged inability to perform her pre-injury

position is rejected, based on [Employer’s] fact witnesses’ testimony

and Dr. Fenichel’s opinions. To her credit, Claimant was able to

perform her full duty job as an appraiser after the July 24, 2012

incident and only stopped work due to an economic lay off in October

2012. Her ability to perform full time work after October 2012 is

supported by her applications for employment[,] including other

appraiser positions. While [Employer] was clearly aware of the July

24, 2012 incident, Claimant made specific efforts to keep secret the

need for any counseling or psychiatric treatment related to the event.

Claimant credibly testified before this Judge that she did not fill out an

incident report, she did not advise her supervisor that she was seeking

counseling after the incident, she did not request medical care for the

incident from [Employer], and that she told the office manager

“absolutely nothing” about her condition. Claimant’s contradictory

testimony during her deposition is not credible and is therefore

rejected. Overall, her testimony at the hearing, and the [Employer’s]

witnesses’ testimony, support the finding that initially Claimant chose

not to treat the July 24, 2012 event as a work-related injury, and

therefore did not provide notice to [Employer] or request medical

treatment, and changed her mind after the economic layoff, which

unfortunately was too late to provide statutory notice.

15. This Judge has reviewed and considered the entire testimony of

[Employer’s] fact witnesses and finds them to be credible. The

testimony of the witnesses support the following findings: Claimant

did not complete an incident report indicating a workers’

compensation injury occurred; Claimant did not tell her supervisors

that she was getting counseling through EAP (a program for all

employees and not specifically for work-related injuries); Claimant

did not seek medical treatment through [Employer’s] workers’

compensation procedures; Claimant did not submit her own medical

bills for reimbursement within 120 days of the incident; [Employer]

did not receive notice of an alleged work-related injury stemming

from the July 24, 2012 event until the receipt of the Claim Petition on

December 5, 2012; Claimant did not request, and her supervisors did

not provide, accommodations for Claimant after the incident; the

incident was an unusual event for appraisers; and, her supervisors did

not limit or change Claimant’s geographic location or schedule due to

the incident.

16. This Judge has reviewed and considered the entire depositions of

Dr. Feinstein and Dr. Fenichel. This Judge finds the testimony of Dr.

14

Fenichel more competent and credible than that of Dr. Feinstein. Dr.

Fenichel has more extensive qualifications and possessed a greater

understanding of Claimant’s post-incident work status and pre[-

]incident biosocial history. Dr. Feinstein’s opinion that Claimant was

totally disabled as of her first examination of Claimant on December

11, 2012, almost five months after the incident, and suffered from

[PTSD] is rejected, as she provides no explanation as to how Claimant

could have continued working on a full-time basis at her pre-injury

job after the work-related incident and only stopped working due to a

layoff. Dr. Feinstein also did not review the medical records from

Claimant’s initial treatment at EAP or her family physician’s records,

including for treatment right after the incident, before reaching her

diagnoses of Claimant.

17. This Judge finds that Claimant did not provide notice of a work-

related injury to [Employer] that required medical treatment or caused

a loss in earning power within 120 days of the July 24, 2012 incident.

18. This Judge finds that Claimant did not suffer a loss in earning

power due to the July 24, 2012 incident, as she suffered no wage loss

between July 24, 2012 and October 9, 2012, and she was laid off for

economic reasons effective October 9, 2012.

19. This Judge finds that [Employer] did not violate the terms of the

Act when it failed to file Bureau documents, as Claimant did not

provide timely notice of a work-related injury until she filed her

Claim Petition.

(FOF ¶¶ 14-19.) Based on the above findings, the WCJ concluded: (1) Claimant

did not show that she provided Employer notice within 120 days of the July 24,

2012 incident that she suffered a work-related injury; (2) Claimant did not meet her

burden to show that, as a result of the July 24, 2012 incident, she suffered from

anxiety or PTSD that caused her a loss in earning power; and (3) Claimant did not

show that Employer violated the terms of the Act. (WCJ Decision, Conclusions of

Law ¶¶ 2-4.)

15

Claimant appealed the WCJ’s Decision to the Board. Upon review, the

Board determined that substantial evidence supports the WCJ’s finding that

Claimant did not timely notify Employer of her alleged work-related injury. The

Board further concluded that Claimant did not meet her burden of establishing that

she suffered from anxiety or PTSD as a result of the July 24, 2012 incident;

therefore, the WCJ did not err by denying the Claim Petition. The Board did not

address the WCJ’s denial of Claimant’s Penalty Petition. Claimant subsequently

filed the instant Petition for Review with this Court.14

III. CLAIMANT’S APPEAL

On appeal to this Court, Claimant argues that she timely notified Employer

of her work-related injury and that she met her burden under the “mental/mental

injury” standard to prove that she suffers from anxiety and PTSD directly caused

by the July 24, 2012 incident. Claimant also argues that, if this Court determines

that her Claim Petition should have been granted, the WCJ erred by not granting

her Penalty Petition. We shall begin with addressing the notice issue.

Claimant contends that the totality of the evidence presented establishes that

Employer had timely notice of the July 24, 2012 incident and its subsequent effects

on Claimant’s well-being and ability to do her job. Claimant first argues that the

NCD issued by Employer indicates that “‘employer received notice or knew of

14

“Our scope of review in a workers’ compensation appeal is limited to determining

whether necessary finding of fact are supported by substantial evidence, whether an error of law

was committed, or whether constitutional rights were violated.” Elberson v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Elwyn, Inc.), 936 A.2d 1195, 1198 n.2 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007).

16

alleged injury or date of employee’s claimed disability’” on July 24, 2012.

(Claimant’s Brief at 12 (quoting NCD, R.R. at 40).) Although Employer presented

evidence showing that the date listed on the NCD was a mistake, Claimant argues

that Employer did not amend the NCD and, therefore, this Court must judicially

determine that Employer knew of the injury on July 24, 2012. Second, Claimant

argues that the totality of the interactions between Claimant and Employer shows

that notice was timely given to Employer. Claimant notes that the WCJ found that

Employer was aware of the July 24, 2012 incident and argues that Claimant’s

efforts to keep working while trying to overcome mental and emotional difficulties

caused by the incident should not be used against her. Claimant contends that

penalizing her for attempting to carry on in the face of difficulties is contrary to the

humanitarian purposes of the Act and chills workers’ willingness to bring mental

problems to light.

Section 311 of the Act provides, in relevant part:

Unless the employer shall have knowledge of the occurrence of the

injury, or unless the employe or someone in his behalf, or some of the

dependents or someone in their behalf, shall give notice thereof to the

employer within twenty-one days after the injury, no compensation

shall be due until such notice be given, and, unless such notice be

given within one hundred and twenty days after the occurrence of the

injury, no compensation shall be allowed.

77 P.S. § 631. The claimant bears the burden of showing that the employer was

given notice of the injury within 120 days of the claimant sustaining the alleged

injury. US Airways and Reliance National c/o Sedgwick Claims Management

Services v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Panyko), 779 A.2d 1233, 1237

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2001). “Whether a claimant has complied with the notice

17

requirements of the Act is a question of fact for the WCJ.” Id. It is a bedrock

principle of workers’ compensation law that “the WCJ is the ultimate finder of fact

and the exclusive arbiter of credibility and evidentiary weight.” Thompson v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (USF&G Company), 781 A.2d 1146, 1150

(Pa. 2001). We will not disturb the WCJ’s factual findings if they are supported by

substantial evidence.15 Id.

First, we are not persuaded by Claimant’s argument that the date listed on

the NCD regarding when Employer received notice of the alleged injury is

dispositive in this case. The NCD here includes two dates regarding when

Employer received notice of the alleged injury – July 24, 2012 and when it

received Claimant’s Claim Petition dated November 30, 2012, and also includes a

separate statement that Claimant did not provide notice within 120 days. Mr.

Riggitano testified that he developed the NCD for Employer and that the July 24,

2012 date listed on the NCD for the date Employer learned of the injury was

incorrectly inputted into the NCD through an auto fill feature in the insurer’s

computer program. The WCJ found Mr. Riggitano credible. We cannot overturn

that credibility determination, find that the July 24, 2012 date listed on the NCD is

correct and, therefore, is dispositive of when Employer had notice of Claimant’s

alleged work-related injury.

15

“Substantial evidence is such relevant evidence which a reasonable mind might accept

as adequate to support a finding.” Berardelli v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board

(Bureau of Personnel State Workmen’s Insurance Fund), 578 A.2d 1016, 1018 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1990).

18

Second, substantial evidence supports the WCJ’s finding that Employer did

not receive timely notice of Claimant’s alleged work-related injuries. Claimant

does not dispute that she chose not to seek medical treatment through Employer’s

workers’ compensation system and that she did not submit her medical bills for

reimbursement prior to filing her Claim Petition on November 30, 2012.

Claimant’s argument rests solely on her contention that the circumstances show

that Employer knew of the incident and the effects of that incident on her ability to

do her job.

While it is true that the WCJ found that Claimant provided Employer with

notice that she was confronted with a man holding a firearm and that the incident

caused her anxiety, the WCJ also found that “Claimant made specific efforts to

keep secret the need for any counseling or psychiatric treatment related to the

event.” (FOF ¶ 14.) Claimant testified that she was aware that the events of July

24, 2012 caused her anxiety shortly after the incident. (Hr’g Tr. at 21-22, January

22, 2013, R.R. at 62-63.) Claimant testified that, in addition to seeking counseling,

she sought medical treatment for anxiety, but did not take her family doctor’s

advice to submit a workers’ compensation claim. (Hr’g Tr. at 21-22, R.R. at 62-

63.) Claimant originally testified at the January 22, 2013 hearing that she told no

one that she was having a hard time and receiving treatment for her anxiety

because she did not want her supervisors to think she could not perform her work

duties. (Hr’g Tr. at 22, 32-34, R.R. at 63, 73-75.) Claimant further testified that

she thought she could handle her anxiety and that she could get counseling and

receive treatment on her own. (Hr’g Tr. at 38, R.R. at 79.) Claimant later testified

in her October 1, 2013 deposition that she did, in fact, tell her supervisors that she

19

was suffering from anxiety, was having a hard time, and was being treated by a

counselor through the EAP. (Claimant’s Dep. at 19, R.R. at 259.) The WCJ

rejected Claimant’s deposition testimony as not credible and, instead, found the

testimonies of Mr. Bozena and Mr. Brosius credible as to the fact that Claimant did

not tell her supervisors that she was having difficulties or receiving treatment for

mental injuries. (FOF ¶ 15.) Contrary to Claimant’s deposition testimony, Mr.

Bozena unequivocally testified that Claimant never told him that she was seeking

treatment or needed assistance. (Bozena’s Dep. at 6-7, R.R. at 298-99.) Likewise,

Mr. Brosius testified that Claimant did not tell him that she needed or wanted

medical treatment or counseling as a result of the incident. (Brosius’ Dep. at 21,

R.R. at 312.)

Based on the credible evidence of record, the WCJ found that Employer “did

not receive notice of an alleged work-related injury stemming from the July 24,

2012 event until the receipt of the Claim Petition on December 5, 2012,” and that

“Claimant did not provide notice of a work-related injury to [Employer] . . . within

120 days of the July 24, 2012 incident.” (FOF ¶¶ 15, 17.) There is no question

that Claimant filed her Claim Petition on November 30, 2012, which, according to

Ms. Fiero’s testimony, was received by Employer on December 5, 2012. (Hr’g Tr.

at 7, June 6, 2013, R.R. at 113.) Because the WCJ’s findings are supported by

substantial evidence, we cannot disturb them on appeal. Thompson, 781 A.2d at

1150.

20

Accordingly, we conclude, pursuant to Section 311 of the Act, that the WCJ

did not err in denying Claimant’s Claim Petition because Claimant did not provide

Employer with notice of her injury within 120 days of the July 24, 2012 incident.16

16

Even if Claimant had provided Employer with timely notice of the alleged injury, the

Board committed no error in concluding that Claimant did not meet her burden of proving she

sustained a disabling work-related mental injury. In a workers’ compensation case, the claimant

bears the burden of proving that she “sustained an injury during the course of [her] employment

and that [s]he is disabled as a result of that injury.” Morrison v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Rothman Institute), 15 A.3d 93, 98 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2010). “For purposes of workers’

compensation benefits, the term disability is synonymous with loss of earning power.” Id. A

claimant suffering an alleged mental injury caused by a mental stimulus bears the burden of

proving that she suffered a mental injury directly caused by abnormal work conditions. Payes v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (PA State Police), 79 A.3d 543, 551-52 (Pa. 2013).

Here, the Board concluded that the WCJ’s determination that Claimant did not sustain a

compensable mental injury was supported by substantial evidence. Claimant contends that she

produced credible evidence proving that her anxiety and PTSD were caused by abnormal work

conditions. Claimant argues that the WCJ misapplied the law by concluding that the July 24,

2012 event did not affect her ability to continue working based on Claimant’s laudable efforts to

continue working despite the difficulties from which she was suffering.

We discern no error in the Board’s reasoning. The WCJ rejected Claimant’s testimony

regarding the extent of her symptoms and her inability to perform her job. (FOF ¶ 14.) The

WCJ found, based on Claimant’s testimony, that she was able to fully perform her job after the

July 24, 2012 incident and that Claimant only stopped working for Employer due to being laid

off. (FOF ¶ 14.) Further, the WCJ rejected Dr. Feinstein’s testimony that Claimant was totally

disabled after the July 24, 2012 incident because it conflicted with Dr. Fenichel’s credible

testimony that Claimant did not suffer a mental injury as a result of the incident. (FOF ¶ 16.)

The WCJ’s reasons for finding Dr. Fenichel more credible were clearly articulated in the WCJ’s

Decision. (FOF ¶ 16.) According to the WCJ, Dr. Feinstein could provide no basis for

Claimant’s ability to fully perform her job for months after the incident and she did not review

Claimant’s medical records. (FOF ¶ 16.) Conversely, the WCJ found that Dr. Fenichel had

more extensive experience than Dr. Feinstein and Dr. Fenichel possessed a greater understanding

of Claimant’s post-incident work status and history. (FOF ¶ 16.)

Because the medical evidence presented by Claimant to support her contention that the

July 24, 2012 incident resulted in a work-related injury was rejected by the WCJ in its entirety,

and substantial evidence supports a finding that Claimant did not suffer a disability as a result of

the July 24, 2012 incident, we conclude that Claimant did not meet her burden of proving that

she sustained a disabling work-related mental injury.

21

The Board’s Order is, therefore, affirmed.17

________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

17

Because of our disposition, we do not reach the issue of whether the WCJ erred in

denying Claimant’s Penalty Petition.

22

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Denise Donlon, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 516 C.D. 2015

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (County of Bucks), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

NOW, November 4, 2015, the Order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board, entered in the above-captioned matter, is hereby AFFIRMED.

________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.