Opinion

Eichorn v. AT&T Corp.

  • 484 F.3d 644
  • 2007 WL 1266133
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
May 2, 2007
Status
Published
Author
Jordan
On the bench
Fisher, Jordan, Roth
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 66.6%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

2007 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

5-2-2007

Eichorn v. AT&T Corp

Precedential or Non-Precedential: Precedential

Docket No. 05-5461

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2007

Recommended Citation

"Eichorn v. AT&T Corp" (2007). 2007 Decisions. Paper 1047.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2007/1047

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2007 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

PRECEDENTIAL

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

_______________

Case No: 05-5461

_______________

KURT H. EICHORN; WILLIAM J. HUCKINS;

T. ROGER KIANG; EDWARD W. LANDIS;

ORLANDO NAPOLITANO, INDIVIDUALLY AND

ON BEHALF OF ALL OTHERS SIMILARLY

SITUATED; GILBERT G. DALEY;

SUSAN H. DIBONA; BETH KING;

MICHAEL S. ORATOWSKI;

THOMAS L. SALISBURY; LAWRENCE WALSH,

individually and on behalf of all others similarly

situated; WILLIAM LAWLESS;

RUSSELL LEPPALA; GABE P. TOROK;

JUDITH B. BRUGNER; KATE HARRIS;

CAROLE T. JOHNSON; CHARLES O. LAUGHLIN, II;

MICHAEL A. MCFARLAND; BARBARA OLIVER;

GARY PATTERSON; ROBERT PROUIX; WILLIAM J.

SCHROTT; ROBERT MICHAEL SHEPHERD; RONALS

A. SOKOL; JOSEPH T. SZLASA; DIANE F. TAYLOR;

LORRAINE J. WELCH; MARIE ZEITS,

Appellants

v.

AT&T CORP.; LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES INC.; TEXAS

PACIFIC GROUP; NCR CORPORATION; THE CIT

GROUP, INC.; JOHN DOE CORPORATIONS 1-10

_______________

On Appeal From the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. Civil Nos. 96-cv-04674; 96-cv-03587)

District Judge: Honorable Stanley R. Chesler

_______________

Submitted Under Third Circuit LAR 34.1(a)

March 27, 2007

Before: FISHER, JORDAN and ROTH, Circuit Judges

(Filed May 2, 2007)

_______________

Noel C. Crowley

Crowley & Crowley

20 Park Place - Suite 206

Morristown, NJ 07960

Counsel for Appellants

2

Carmine A. Iannaccone

James P. Flynn

Lauren D. Daloisio

Epstein, Becker & Green

Two Gateway Center - 12th Fl.

Newark, NJ 07102

Counsel for Appellees AT&T Corp.,

Lucent Technologies, Inc. and NCR Corp.

David M. Fabian

Christine M. Gurry

Traflet & Fabian

264 South Street

Carriage Court Two

Morristown, NJ 07960

Counsel for Appellee, TX PAC Group

Robert M. Leonard

Drinker, Biddle & Reath

500 Campus Drive

Florham Park, NJ 07932

Counsel for Appellee, CIT Group, Inc.

_______________

OPINION OF THE COURT

_______________

3

JORDAN, Circuit Judge.

This case is before us for the second time on appeal.

In the previous appeal, Eichorn v. AT&T Corp., 248 F.3d 131

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 534 U.S. 1014 (2001), we held that the

plaintiffs had presented sufficient evidence of the defendants’

specific intent to interfere with their pension rights to survive

summary judgment on their claims under § 510 of the

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), 29

U.S.C. § 1140. Id. at 150. We reversed the District Court’s

order granting summary judgment to the defendants and

remanded for further proceedings. Id. After nearly three

years of additional proceedings on remand, the District Court

again granted summary judgment to the defendants, holding

that the relief the plaintiffs sought was not available to them.

The plaintiffs appeal from that order and challenge several of

the District Court’s interlocutory orders. We will affirm.

I

We have previously set forth the basic facts in this

litigation, Eichorn, 248 F.3d at 136-37, and we recite only the

facts relevant to the present decision.

A

The plaintiffs are former employees of Paradyne

Corporation (“Paradyne”). In 1995, Paradyne was part of

AT&T Corp. (“AT&T”). AT&T reorganized that year,

splitting into three parts: AT&T, Lucent Technologies, Inc.

(“Lucent”), and NCR Corporation. In the course of the

4

reorganization, AT&T transferred Paradyne to Lucent. In

1996, Lucent sold Paradyne to a business called Texas Pacific

Group (“Texas Pacific”). Before that sale, the plaintiffs in

this case had pension plans that included certain “bridging

rights.” If an employee left Lucent or another of the former

AT&T companies and returned within six months, either to

the company the employee had left or to another of the former

AT&T companies, the employee could “bridge” the two terms

of employment, receive pension credit for all prior service,

and continue to accrue pension benefits as if he had never left.

If the employee left and did not return until after the six-

month “bridging period” had expired, the employee would

need to work for an additional five years to regain his

previous level of pension benefits.

The alleged basis for the plaintiffs’ ERISA claims is

that the defendants entered into agreements as part of the sale

of Paradyne that had the effect of cancelling the plaintiffs’

bridging rights. In 1995, when Paradyne was part of AT&T,

AT&T announced its intent to sell Paradyne. Recognizing the

value of Paradyne’s work force, and wanting to make

Paradyne more attractive to potential buyers, AT&T

announced a policy precluding any employee who voluntarily

left Paradyne from being hired by any other division of

AT&T. On June 18, 1996, Lucent and Texas Pacific signed a

purchase agreement for the sale of Paradyne, and on July 31,

1996, the sale closed. The June 18 purchase agreement

included a provision—referred to in this litigation as the “Pre

Closing Net”—whereby Lucent promised that neither it nor

any of the other former AT&T companies would hire any

Paradyne employees who left Paradyne voluntarily before the

5

sale closed and whose annual salaries were more than

$50,000. On the date of the closing, Lucent signed an

“employee matters agreement,” which included a

paragraph—referred to in this litigation as the “Post Closing

Net”—extending the provisions of the Pre Closing Net for

245 days (eight months) after the closing.

Once the sale closed, the Paradyne employees’

employment with Lucent terminated, and the “bridging

period” began. Because the no-hire agreement embodied in

the Pre Closing Net and Post Closing Net lasted for eight

months, the Paradyne employees who made more than

$50,000 annually were prevented from exercising their

bridging rights.1

B

Near the time of the Paradyne sale, Kurt Eichorn and

Gilbert Daley filed substantially identical class action

complaints in the United States District Court for the District

of New Jersey, naming AT&T, Lucent, and Texas Pacific as

defendants, and asserting, inter alia, that the Pre Closing Net

and Post Closing Net violated § 510 of ERISA. The actions

were consolidated and, after discovery, the District Court

granted the defendants’ motion for summary judgment,

1

Of the 29 plaintiffs in this case, 3 eventually returned to

Lucent, and all 3 remained there long enough to bridge their

pension rights, though they note they were “damaged by loss

of pension-created service during the time corresponding to

their period of separation.”

6

holding that the plaintiffs had not put forth sufficient evidence

to create a triable issue of fact as to whether the defendants

had the required intent to interfere with the plaintiffs’

bridging rights. Eichorn v. AT&T Corp., No. 96-3587, 1999

WL 33471890, at *2-6 (D.N.J. Aug. 23, 1999). On appeal,

this court reversed and remanded that holding because we

determined that the plaintiffs had presented sufficient

circumstantial evidence to create a genuine issue of material

fact regarding the defendants’ intent. Eichorn, 248 F.3d at

149-50. The panel also directed the District Court on remand

to address the plaintiffs’ motions for additional discovery and

for class certification. Id. at 150.

C

On remand, the District Court reopened discovery and

allowed the plaintiffs to file a motion for class certification.

The parties appear to have proceeded after remand on the

assumption that the plaintiffs would be entitled to some form

of compensatory damages if they succeeded in proving their

ERISA claims. On May 27, 2003, over three months after the

close of reopened discovery and some seven years from the

start of the case, the plaintiffs submitted spreadsheets to the

District Court, offering their damage calculations for the first

time. The spreadsheets were prepared by plaintiffs’ counsel’s

son, Stephen Crowley, who was not offered as an expert and

has no training or experience with the economics of

employment benefits.

Mr. Crowley’s calculations purported to quantify what

each plaintiff would have earned in pension benefits, had he

7

or she remained employed at an AT&T company after the sale

of Paradyne. In performing the calculations, Mr. Crowley

made various assumptions about such future events as when

the plaintiffs would have retired, how their salaries would

have increased had Paradyne remained part of Lucent, what

choices the plaintiffs would have made with respect to their

pension benefits, and what each plaintiff’s life expectancy

was. With his calculations, Mr. Crowley submitted a life

expectancy chart from the “Foundation for Infinite Survival”

and various statistical tables from the United States

Department of Labor which, he asserted, provided part of the

basis for his calculations.

The District Court accepted the plaintiffs’ belated

submissions and reopened discovery again to allow the

defendants to depose Mr. Crowley. After deposing Mr.

Crowley, the defendants made a motion to strike his

calculations and to preclude him from testifying at trial. The

plaintiffs opposed the motion and argued that, if the District

Court were to grant the defendants’ motion, the plaintiffs

should be allowed to engage a damages expert. On

November 10, 2004, the District Court granted the

defendants’ motion and denied as untimely the plaintiffs’

request for leave to engage an expert.

In the course of making his initial ruling from the

bench, which was later reduced to a written order, the District

Judge explained that he did not believe his order would

effectively end the case for the plaintiffs, because the

plaintiffs might still be entitled to seek back pay and would

8

not need the assistance of an expert to establish their

entitlement to that relief. The Judge said,

at a minimum, it would appear that a back pay

case can in some manner or other go to the jury.

Indeed, in this type of ERISA claim, a back pay

claim is normally one of the court claims which

go. In short, the theory of the case is that the

plaintiffs were precluded from employment

because of and based upon a desire to deny

them ... rights which they have under ERISA

... .

And therefore, in the Court’s view, what

could and would go to the jury would indeed be

claims predicated upon the denial of their

employment and potential back pay claims.

Further, the District Judge noted that the plaintiffs

sought injunctive relief, and the Judge agreed that there was

“at least a possibility” that such relief was available. Even so,

he did not definitively rule on the issue, and the written order

stated that “the Court does not reach the issue whether

plaintiffs can quantify or establish any right to ‘back pay’

and/or equitable relief increasing plaintiff[s’] pension benefits

and reserves such issue for resolution at or before trial.” After

he granted the defendants’ motion to strike Mr. Crowley’s

testimony and evidence, the District Court ordered the parties

to confer with a magistrate judge “to schedule limited

discovery of remaining damages issues and preparation of a

final pretrial order.”

9

After the reopened discovery closed, the defendants

moved for summary judgment. They argued that the only

relief available to the plaintiffs on their claim under ERISA

§ 510 for unlawful interference with benefits is the

“appropriate equitable relief” available through § 502(a)(3) of

the statute. Summary judgment was appropriate, they argued,

because the only relief that the plaintiffs had requested or

could request—given the District Court’s order striking

Stephen Crowley’s submissions and denying the plaintiffs

leave to find an expert to replace him—was “back pay,”

which is not “equitable relief” under § 502(a)(3). The District

Court agreed with that analysis and, accordingly, granted

summary judgment to the defendants. The plaintiffs now

appeal, challenging the summary judgment order, the order

that struck Stephen Crowley’s submissions and denied leave

to retain an expert, and certain other interlocutory orders.2

2

The plaintiffs challenge the District Court’s order of

October 23, 2003, denying the plaintiffs’ motion for class

certification, and its orders of April 16, 2003, and July 19,

2005, denying the plaintiffs’ motions to compel discovery of

certain matters. We have considered the arguments of the

parties with respect to the District Court's order of April 16,

2003. We are satisfied that the District Court correctly

interpreted the mandate of this court with respect to the scope

of the § 510 claims as to which the plaintiffs had presented

enough evidence to survive a motion for summary judgment,

and that the District Court did not otherwise abuse its

discretion in denying the plaintiffs’ motion to compel. The

plaintiffs’ challenges to the District Court's orders of October

23, 2003, and July 19, 2005, are moot in light of our

10

II

The plaintiffs argue that the District Court erred both

in ruling that Mr. Crowley’s proposed evidence was

inadmissible and in denying them leave to present an expert in

lieu of Mr. Crowley. More specifically, though the plaintiffs

concede that Mr. Crowley was not qualified as an expert, they

argue that no special qualifications were necessary to testify

regarding future damages in this case and that Mr. Crowley’s

testimony and spreadsheets were admissible under Federal

Rule of Evidence 1006 as summaries of the contents of the

statistical tables he submitted. The plaintiffs also argue that

the District Court’s order denying them leave to retain an

expert witness after Mr. Crowley was excluded was an abuse

of discretion. Those arguments are without merit.

A

In excluding Mr. Crowley’s evidence, the District

Court was within the broad discretion afforded it under

Federal Rules of Evidence 701 and 702 to act as a gatekeeper

charged with preventing unreliable opinion testimony.

Although this court has recognized that lay opinion as to

technical matters may sometimes be appropriate, Asplundh

Mfg. Div. v. Benton Harbor Eng’g, 57 F.3d 1190, 1200-01 (3d

Cir. 1995), we have cautioned that “Rule 701 requires that a

lay opinion witness have a reasonable basis grounded either in

experience or specialized knowledge for arriving at the

opinion that he or she expresses. ... In order to satisfy these

disposition of this case.

11

Rule 701 requirements, the trial judge should rigorously

examine the reliability of the lay opinion by ensuring that the

witness possesses sufficient special knowledge or experience

which is germane to the lay opinion offered.” Id. at 1201

(original emphasis). Whether a witness is “qualified” to offer

opinion testimony is committed to the discretion of the trial

court, and we have no difficulty holding that the District

Court was within its discretion in saying that Mr. Crowley

was not qualified to offer a damages opinion here. As the

plaintiffs concede, Mr. Crowley had no personal knowledge

of the underlying facts and no relevant experience or

training.3

We also reject the plaintiffs’ argument that Mr.

Crowley’s submissions were admissible under Rule 1006.

That Rule provides that “[t]he contents of voluminous

3

The plaintiffs correctly note that expert testimony is not

always required to prove damages in cases where projected

future earnings are part of the calculation. See, e.g., Lightning

Lube, Inc. v. Witco Corp., 4 F.3d 1153, 1175-76 (3d Cir.

1993); Maxfield v. Sinclair Int’l, 766 F.2d 788, 797 (3d Cir.

1985). Here, however, the calculations were sufficiently

complex that the District Court was within its discretion to

hold that someone more qualified than plaintiffs’ counsel’s

son was needed to testify. Cf. Lifewise Master Funding v.

Telebank, 374 F.3d 917, 928-29 (10th Cir. 2004) (“Given Mr.

Livingston's utter lack of any familiarity, knowledge, or

experience with damages analysis, the district court did not

abuse its discretion in ruling that he could not testify as an

expert regarding such a complex subject matter as LifeWise's

fourth damages model.”).

12

writings, recordings, or photographs which cannot

conveniently be examined in court may be presented in the

form of a chart, summary, or calculation.” Courts have

cautioned that Rule 1006 is “not a back-door vehicle for the

introduction of evidence which is otherwise inadmissible,”

and that the voluminous evidence that is the subject of the

summary must be independently admissible. Peat, Inc. v.

Vanguard Research, Inc., 378 F.3d 1154, 1160 (11th Cir.

2004); see also United States v. Pelullo, 964 F.2d 193, 204-05

(3d Cir. 1992). The plaintiffs’ proffered calculations are

better described as a synthesis rather than a summary of the

charts and other evidence on which Mr. Crowley relied. The

calculations went beyond the data they summarized and

included several assumptions, inferences, and projections

about future events, which represent Mr. Crowley’s opinion,

rather than the underlying information. The proposed

evidence is thus subject to the rules governing opinion

testimony and was properly held inadmissible. See Fed. R.

Evid. 701, 702; Gomez v. Great Lakes Steel Div. Nat’l Steel

Corp., 803 F.2d 250, 258 (6th Cir. 1986) (proposed exhibit

was improperly admitted because, despite being labeled

“Summary of Actual Damages,” it “projected future events

and economic losses, and was therefore not a simple

compilation of voluminous records.”); State Office Sys., Inc.

v. Olivetti Corp., 762 F.2d 843, 845-46 (10th Cir. 1985)

(projections of future lost profits set forth in a summary “are

not legitimately admissible as summaries under Rule 1006,

since they are interpretations of past data and projections of

future events, not a simple compilation of voluminous

records.”).

13

B

In denying the plaintiffs leave to engage an expert to

replace Mr. Crowley, the District Court was within its power

under Rule 16(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure to

make and enforce scheduling orders. Rule 16 gives the

district courts wide latitude to manage discovery and other

pretrial matters, and to set deadlines for amending pleadings,

filing motions, and completing discovery. Subsection (b)

provides that scheduling orders “shall not be modified except

upon a showing of good cause and by leave of the district

judge.” This Court and others have frequently upheld a trial

court’s exercise of discretion to deny a party’s motion to add

experts or other fact witnesses after the close of discovery or

after a deadline in a scheduling order. E.g., Burks v. Okla.

Publ’g Co., 81 F.3d 975, 978-80 (10th Cir. 1996); Geiserman

v. MacDonald, 893 F.2d 787, 790-91 (5th Cir. 1990); Koplove

v. Ford Motor Co., 795 F.2d 15, 18 (3d Cir. 1986).

In this case, the reopened discovery on remand closed

in January of 2003. As the defendants note, the plaintiffs

were obligated under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

26(a)(1)(C) to disclose early in the case, at or within 14 days

after the discovery planning conference required by Rule

26(f), “a computation of any category of damages claimed”

and “the documents or other evidentiary material, not

privileged or protected from disclosure, on which such

[damage] computation is based ... .” The plaintiffs did not

submit that information until May 2003, several months after

the reopened discovery had closed, and nearly seven years

into this litigation. Although the District Court pressed

14

plaintiffs’ counsel about plaintiffs’ plan to proceed without

expert testimony on the issue of damages, and although the

Court told plaintiffs’ counsel that “defendants have to know

what claims a plaintiff is going to pursue in terms of damages

in order to be able to prepare for it,” the plaintiffs insisted that

no expert testimony was necessary. The District Court then

reopened discovery again to allow the defendants to depose

Mr. Crowley. The plaintiffs did not request leave to present a

damages expert until after the defendants filed their motion to

exclude Mr. Crowley. The District Court considered the

plaintiffs’ explanation for the lateness of their request, the

prejudice that would result if it were granted or denied, and

the extent to which the plaintiffs’ decision to proceed without

expert testimony was a deliberate one. Under the

circumstances, the District Court was well within its

discretion to deny the plaintiffs’ motion.

III

Section 510 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, makes it

unlawful for an employer to act against an employee “for the

purpose of interfering with the attainment of any right to

which such participant might become entitled” under a benefit

plan. Section 510 concludes with the statement that “[t]he

provisions of section 1132 [i.e., ERISA § 502] of this title

shall be applicable in the enforcement of this section.” The

Supreme Court has held that the remedies available for a

violation of § 510 are thus limited to those set forth in §

502(a) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132. Ingersoll-Rand Co. v.

McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 144 (1990); Pilot Life Ins. Co. v.

Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 54 (1987); Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co. v.

15

Russell, 473 U.S. 134, 146 (1985); see also Cox v. Keystone

Carbon Co., 861 F.2d 390, 392 (3d Cir. 1988) (explicitly

rejecting the argument that “once Congress created a right

pursuant to § 510, Congress was without power to restrict the

remedies available ... [and] it is entirely up to the court to

fashion appropriate remedies... .”).

Though the parties dispute the scope and application of

subsections (a)(1)(B) and (a)(3), they do not suggest that any

other portions of ERISA § 502 apply to this case.

A

The District Court held that the plaintiffs could not

seek relief under ERISA § 502(a)(1)(B) because that section

only provides relief for violations of the terms of a benefit

plan, and the plaintiffs have not alleged such a violation. We

agree.

1

Subsection (a)(1)(B) provides that “[a] civil action may

be brought by a participant or beneficiary ... to recover

benefits due to him under the terms of his plan, to enforce his

rights under the terms of the plan, or to clarify his rights to

future benefits under the terms of the plan.” 29 U.S.C. §

1132(a)(1)(B) (emphasis added). The subsection thus

provides a cause of action only where a plaintiff alleges a

violation of the terms of a benefits plan or an ambiguity in the

plan requiring judicial interpretation. In holding that

subsection (a)(1)(B) is not an appropriate vehicle for

16

enforcing a claim of interference with the benefits of a plan,

which is the gravamen of the claim here, the Seventh Circuit

explained:

[T]o enforce the terms of a plan under Section

502, the participant must first qualify for the

benefits provided in that plan. Rather than

concerning itself with these qualifications, one

of the actions which Section 510 makes

unlawful is the interference with a participant's

ability to meet these qualifications in the first

instance.

Tolle v. Carroll Touch, Inc., 977 F.2d 1129, 1134 (7th Cir.

1992) (citation omitted). This appears to be the view of the

few courts that have squarely confronted the issue. See Strom

v. Goldman, Sachs & Co., 202 F.3d 138, 142 (2d Cir. 1999)

(citing Tolle); Russell v. Northrop Grumman Corp., 921 F.

Supp. 143, 150 (E.D.N.Y. 1996) (citing Tolle). Other courts

have implicitly taken this view by indicating in dicta that §

502(a)(3) is the provision available for enforcing a § 510

interference claim. See Millsap v. McDonnell Douglas Corp.,

368 F.3d 1246, 1247 (10th Cir. 2004) (“Section 502(a)(3) of

ERISA provides the plan participant with his exclusive

remedies for a § 510 violation.”); Spinelli v. Gaughan, 12

F.3d 853, 856 (9th Cir. 1993) (quoting § 502(a)(3) as the

enforcement mechanism for rights under § 510); Custer v.

Pan Am. Life Ins. Co., 12 F.3d 410, 421 (4th Cir. 1993)

(Section 510, “enforced through § 1132(a)(3) [i.e.,

§ 502(a)(3)], provides a companion to § 1132(a)(1), which

provides actions to recover benefits or clarify rights.”); Held

17

v. Mfrs. Hanover Leasing Corp., 912 F.2d 1197, 1203 (10th

Cir. 1990) (“If discharging [the plaintiff] was ‘unlawful’

under § 1140 [i.e., § 510], plaintiff was entitled to bring (and

did bring) an action for declaratory and injunctive relief under

29 U.S.C. § 1132, which authorizes [the relief set forth in

ERISA § 502(a)(3)].”);4cf. Dana M. Muir, ERISA Remedies:

4

In Held, the plaintiff alleged that the defendants violated

ERISA § 510 by coercing him to resign shortly before he had

completed the ten years of service necessary for certain of his

pension rights to vest. 912 F.2d at 1198. Although the

majority in Held stated that the plaintiff had “two distinct

causes of action,” one of which was a claim under §

502(a)(1)(B) for “benefits due under the plan,” id. at 1203-04,

it is clear from both the majority’s and the dissenting judge’s

discussion that the cause of action under § 502(a)(1)(B) was

not to enforce rights under § 510, but was instead based on

the plaintiff’s allegation that he had actually accrued some

pension rights that the defendants had failed to honor. See id.

at 1203 n.7 (reading the complaint as potentially raising a

“colorable claim to something less than ‘100% of accrued

benefits’ based on his employment of more than nine years”);

id. at 1203-04 (“Admittedly, the parties’ briefs emphasize Mr.

Held’s § 510 claim and give short shrift to the issue of Mr.

Held’s separate claim for benefits due under the plan.”)

(emphasis added); id. at 1207 (Ebel, J., dissenting)

(disagreeing with “the majority’s view that the plaintiff has

filed a separate claim for benefits due him under the terms of

the retirement plan” because, as he read the record, “it is clear

that plaintiff’s request for benefits is linked only to his

discriminatory termination claim under section 510 of

18

Chimera or Congressional Compromise?, 81 Iowa L. Rev. 1,

39 & nn. 321-22 (1995) (“Many commentators and courts

agree that Section 502(a)(3) ... provides the sole basis for suits

alleging a violation of Section 510.”). Decisions from at least

one court appear to take the opposite view. See Zimmerman

v. Sloss Equip., Inc., 835 F. Supp. 1283, 1290 (D. Kan. Apr.

8, 1993) (“The remedies for a violation of ERISA § 510 are

those set forth in ERISA § 502(a)(1)(B) and (a)(3).”); Babich

v. Unisys Corp., No. 92-1473, 1994 WL 167984, at *3 (D.

Kan. 1994) (“the damages available to an ERISA § 510

plaintiff are found in ERISA’s enforcement provision,

§ 502(a)(1)(B) and (a)(3).” (citing Zimmerman and Cox v.

Keystone Carbon Co., 861 F.2d 390, 392-94 (3d Cir. 1988)).5

We agree with the Seventh Circuit’s reasoning in

Tolle, which follows from a straightforward reading of the

statute. Subsection (a)(1)(B) provides remedies only against a

defendant who has failed to comply with the terms of a

benefits plan. It allows plaintiffs to collect benefits “due

under the terms of the plan” or to enforce “rights under the

terms of the plan.” Here, the plaintiffs have alleged that the

defendants interfered with their ability to become eligible for

further benefits, not that the defendants have breached the

terms of the plan itself. We therefore agree with the District

ERISA.”).

5

As we will explain, infra § III.A.2, our decision in Cox v.

Keystone Carbon, 861 F.2d 390 (3d Cir. 1988) does not hold

that § 502(a)(1)(B) provides relief for a claim under § 510 for

interference with benefits.

19

Court that subsection (a)(1)(B) does not provide relief for the

violation of ERISA that the plaintiffs have alleged, and,

accordingly, summary judgment on the issue was proper.

2

The plaintiffs argue that this Court’s decisions in Cox

v. Keystone Carbon Co., 861 F.2d 390 (3d Cir. 1988) (“Cox

I”) and Cox v. Keystone Carbon Co., 894 F.2d 647 (3d Cir.

1990) (“Cox II”), and the Tenth Circuit’s decision in Adams v.

Cyprus Amax Minerals Co., 149 F.3d 1156 (10th Cir. 1998),

support a different result. In this they are mistaken.

The plaintiffs’ principal argument appears to be that,

although they have not alleged that the defendants violated

the terms of the benefits plan, the District Court could

nevertheless effectively create a violation of the plan through

a decree ordering Lucent to adjust its pension records to treat

the plaintiffs as if they had remained at Lucent until

retirement. The plaintiffs contend that such an order would

result in an immediate obligation on the part of the defendants

to pay the plaintiffs money that was rendered “past due” by

operation of the court’s decree, thus entitling the plaintiffs to

seek relief under subsection (a)(1)(B). This bootstrap

approach finds no support in the decisions the plaintiffs cite.

The Tenth Circuit’s opinion in Adams is inapposite, as

the plaintiffs in that case alleged violations of the terms of a

plan rather than interference with the attainment of benefits.

The court in Adams was not asked to construct a violation of

an order and then treat that violation as if it were a violation

of the terms of a benefit plan. The court was simply asked to

20

construe the terms of the plan itself to determine whether the

plaintiffs were eligible for the benefits they sought. 149 F.3d

at 1158-62. Unlike the plaintiffs in this case, the plaintiffs in

Adams alleged a violation of the terms of their former

employer’s plan and were thus clearly entitled to seek relief

under ERISA § 502(a)(1)(B). Here, by contrast, the plaintiffs

have alleged that the defendants interfered with their ability to

become eligible for benefits, which, as the Seventh Circuit

explained in Tolle, is not a proper basis for relief under §

502(a)(1)(B).

Although Cox I and Cox II involved claims under

ERISA § 510, they are also unavailing as support for the

plaintiffs’ argument. In Cox I, this Court indicated in dictum

that § 510 could be enforced through § 502(a)(1)(B) when an

interference-with-benefits claim is alleged. 861 F.2d at 392-

93. However, that appears to have been a proposition

assumed by the parties and accepted by us without analysis or

discussion. Moreover, we expressly declined to decide

whether § 502(a)(1)(B) provided any relief to the plaintiff in

that case. Id. at 394. Instead, we remanded for the district

court to determine in the first instance “if Cox is entitled to

relief pursuant to § 502(a)(1)(B), and if so, whether or not

Cox is entitled to a jury trial on this claim.” Id.

On remand, the district court held that Cox had stated a

§ 510 claim enforceable under § 502(a)(1)(B), but that he was

not entitled to a jury trial and that he lost on the merits of that

claim. Cox appealed, and we affirmed in Cox II. As in Cox I,

the primary focus of our discussion was whether Cox was

entitled to a jury trial. 894 F.2d at 649-50. We did not

undertake any analysis of whether the district court had

21

correctly held that a claim under § 510 could be enforced

under § 502(a)(1)(B). The only comment we made that

appears directly relevant to this issue undermines, rather than

supports the plaintiffs’ position in this case. In disposing of

Cox’s arguments, we stated, “[t]o the extent that Cox seeks

compensatory damages for tortious interference, that claim

does not fall within section 502(a)(1)(B).” 894 F.2d at 650.

Our decisions in Cox I and Cox II thus do not conflict with the

Seventh Circuit’s reasoning in Tolle, nor do they prevent us

from adopting that reasoning in this case, as the District Court

did. Because we find that reasoning persuasive, we hold that

a § 510 claim for interference with benefits is not enforceable

under § 502(a)(1)(B).

B

The District Court held that the plaintiffs were not

entitled to “appropriate equitable relief” under ERISA §

502(a)(3) because they had waived their right to request

equitable restitution or injunctive relief. Alternatively, the

District Court ruled that, even if the plaintiffs had not waived

any of their rights with respect to a remedy, the relief they

requested was not “appropriate equitable relief” within the

meaning of the statute. We agree on the latter point and,

therefore, do not reach the question of waiver.

1

Section 502(a)(3) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(3),

provides:

22

A civil action may be brought—

(3) by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary

(A) to enjoin any act or practice which

violates any provision of this subchapter

or the terms of the plan, or

(B) to obtain other appropriate equitable

relief

(i) to redress such violations or

(ii) to enforce any provisions of

this subchapter or the terms of the

plan;

(emphasis added). The Supreme Court has held that the

phrase “appropriate equitable relief” means only “those

categories of relief that were typically available in equity” in

the days of the divided bench, Great-West Life & Annuity Ins.

Co. v. Knudson, 534 U.S. 204, 210 (2002) (quoting Mertens v.

Hewitt Assocs., 508 U.S. 248, 256 (1993) (original

emphasis)). According to the Supreme Court, such relief

includes “injunction, mandamus, and restitution, but not

compensatory damages.” Mertens, 508 U.S. at 256. Thus, a

plaintiff seeking relief under ERISA § 502(a)(3) must tie that

request to a form of relief typically available in equity. In

Great-West, the Court suggested that “the basic contours of

the term [equitable relief] are well known,” and can be

understood by consulting “standard current works such as

Dobbs, Palmer, Corbin, and the Restatements, which make

the answer clear.” 534 U.S. at 217; see also Sereboff v. Mid

Atl. Med. Servs., Inc., 126 S. Ct. 1869, 1875-76 (2006)

(referring to Dobbs, Palmer, and Pomeroy’s Equity

23

Jurisprudence to explain the contours of the right to an

equitable lien).

As earlier noted, the plaintiffs sought a decree from the

District Court requiring Lucent to adjust its pension records

retroactively to create an obligation to pay the plaintiffs more

money, both in the past and going forward. The District

Court rightly saw this as being, in essence, a request for

compensatory damages merely framed as an “equitable”

injunction. The Court thus rightly concluded that the

requested relief is not available under § 502(a)(3).6 Great-

West, 534 U.S. at 210; Mertens, 508 U.S. at 255 (1993); see

also Bowen v. Massachusetts, 487 U.S. 879, 915-16 (1988)

6

This is not to say that an ERISA plaintiff’s demand for

money necessarily requires the conclusion that the relief

sought is not “equitable” within the meaning of the statute.

The Supreme Court has explained that some forms of

equitable relief—such as constructive trusts, equitable liens,

or accounting for the profits derived from wrongly held

property—include the payment of money. Great-West, 534

U.S. 213-14 & n.2. As the Court explained in Great-West,

however, these forms of relief are available in limited

circumstances. “Almost invariably, suits seeking (whether by

judgment, injunction, or declaration) to compel the defendant

to pay a sum of money to the plaintiff are suits for ‘money

damages,’ as that phrase has traditionally been applied, since

they seek no more than compensation for loss resulting from

the defendant's breach of legal duty.” Id. at 210 (quoting

Bowen v. Massachusetts, 487 U.S. 879, 918-19 (1988)

(Scalia, J., dissenting)).

24

(Scalia, J., dissenting) (“It does not take much lawyerly

inventiveness to convert a claim for payment of a past due

sum (damages) into a prayer for an injunction against refusing

to pay the sum, or for a declaration that the sum must be paid,

or for an order reversing the agency’s decision not to pay.”).

2

The plaintiffs argue that the relief they seek is

indistinguishable from the relief approved by the Supreme

Court in Varity Corp. v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489 (1996), and,

therefore, Varity and this Court’s decisions in Cox I and Cox

II, as well as the Tenth Circuit’s decision in Adams, compel a

different result. Once again, we disagree.

In Varity, the defendant corporation deceived several

of its employees into transferring their jobs and their benefit

plans from a profitable subsidiary to another subsidiary that

had been set up to fail. Id. at 493-94. The trial court found

that the defendant had violated its obligation as a fiduciary to

operate its benefits plan “solely in the interest of the

participants and beneficiaries” of the plan, and issued an

order—citing ERISA § 502(a)(3) as its source of

authority—directing the corporation to reinstate the

transferred employees back into the benefits plan of the

profitable subsidiary. Id. at 494-95. Varity is distinguishable

from the present case for at least two reasons.

First, the plaintiffs in Varity were deceived into

transferring from one subsidiary to another within the same

company, and thus the relief in that case was measurable

25

according to the defendants’ gain, rather than the plaintiffs’

loss. LaRue v. DeWolff, Boberg & Assocs., 450 F.3d 570, 576

(4th Cir. 2006) (holding that a plaintiff could not recover

under ERISA § 502(a)(3) where he alleged that he lost money

because his 401(k) plan administrator had failed to follow his

directions for making changes to his investment, noting that

the plaintiff “gauges his recovery not by the value of

defendants’ nonexistent gain, but by the value of his own

loss—a measure that is traditionally legal, not equitable”);

Millsap, 368 F.3d at 1253 (holding, in a § 510 case involving

a plant closing, that back pay was not “appropriate equitable

relief” because it measured the plaintiffs’ loss rather than the

defendants’ gain). In Varity, the plaintiffs sought pension

benefits for work they had actually done for their employer,

and the court’s decree was a matter of restoring the plaintiffs’

benefits enrollment to the preexisting arrangement, thus

undoing the effects of the defendants’ deception. Here,

however, the plaintiffs are seeking pension benefits for work

they never did for AT&T or its former divisions, but which

they argue they might have done had AT&T not adopted a

hiring policy that they claim violated ERISA. The remedy

they seek is thus akin to “back pay,” which is not an equitable

remedy within the meaning of the statute. Great-West, 534

U.S. at 218 n.4; see also Millsap, 368 F.3d at 1253 (“[P]aying

backpay damages is like paying an extra worker who never

came to work.” (quoting Ford Motor Co. v. EEOC, 458 U.S.

219, 229 (1982))); id. at 1254 (“Plaintiffs’ proposed method

of calculating their backpay award is based on each individual

class member’s loss rather than Defendant’s gain ... [and] is

thus in the nature of compensatory damages.”); 2 Dan B.

Dobbs, Law of Remedies § 6.10(5) at 226 (2d ed. 1993)

26

(“Back pay claims do not differ remedially from the personal

injury claim for lost wages, or the contract claim for past

wages due, for example ... [s]o, while reinstatement is clearly

equitable as a form of injunctive relief, back pay seems to be

just as clearly legal.”) (footnotes omitted).

Second, the Court in Varity did not rule on the question

of whether the relief sought was “equitable” within the

meaning of the statute, because the defendants stipulated that

it was. 516 U.S. at 508 (“Varity concedes that the plaintiffs

satisfy most of this provision’s requirements, namely, that the

plaintiffs are plan ‘participants’ or ‘beneficiaries,’ and that

they are suing for ‘equitable’ relief to ‘redress’ a violation of

§ 404(a), which is a ‘provision of this title.’”(emphasis

added)); see also Great-West, 534 U.S. at 221 n.5 (“In Varity

... it was undisputed that the respondents were seeking

equitable relief ...” (emphasis omitted).

Cox I and Cox II are also unavailing as support for the

plaintiffs’ position. It is true that those decisions addressed

whether there is a right to a jury trial in actions under ERISA

§ 502(a)(1)(B), and that ultimately we decided there is not,

because such actions are analogous to actions for breach of

trust, which were typically heard in courts of equity. See Cox

II, 894 F.2d at 649 (citing Turner v. CF & I Steel Corp., 770

F.2d 43 (3d Cir. 1985)). It does not follow, however, that all

relief available for a breach of trust at common law is

“equitable relief” within the meaning of § 502(a)(3) of

ERISA. The Supreme Court explicitly rejected that argument

in Mertens. 508 U.S. at 258 (holding that the term “equitable

27

relief” in § 502(a)(3) does not mean “all relief available for

breach of trust at common law”).

Neither does Adams require a result contrary to our

decision here. In the context of determining whether the

plaintiffs in that case were entitled to a jury trial on their

claims, the Tenth Circuit explained that the recovery of

benefits due under the terms of a plan is analogous to

equitable restitution. 149 F.3d at 1162. As discussed above,

however, the plaintiffs are not seeking benefits that were

wrongly withheld for work they performed for the defendants.

Rather, they are seeking an award of benefits as an

approximation of the loss they suffered as a result of what

they say is the defendants’ violation of § 510 of ERISA. As

the Supreme Court explained in Great-West, this amounts to a

claim for legal damages, not equitable restitution, and thus is

relief not available to the plaintiffs in this case. 534 U.S. at

213-14 (explaining the difference between legal and equitable

relief); Skretvedt v. E.I. DuPont De Nemours, 372 F.3d 193,

210-12 (3d Cir. 2004) (same).

We therefore agree with the District Court that the

relief the plaintiffs sought is not “equitable” within the

meaning of ERISA § 502(a)(3).

C

Finally, the plaintiffs argue that the District Court’s

grant of summary judgment is contrary to the mandate of this

Court, and that its reading of § 502 would render § 510 of

28

ERISA without effect. Both of those arguments are without

merit.

A district court must “implement both the letter and

spirit of the mandate” it receives from this Court, but district

courts are free to “consider, as a matter of first impression,

those issues not expressly or implicitly disposed of by the

appellate decision.” Bankers Trust Co. v. Bethlehem Steel

Corp., 761 F.2d 943, 949-50 (3d Cir. 1985) (citing cases).

We held in the previous appeal that the plaintiffs had

presented sufficient evidence to survive a summary judgment

motion that argued the defendants lacked any intent to

interfere with the plaintiffs’ pension benefits. We neither

explicitly nor implicitly ruled on the question of whether any

of the relief the plaintiffs sought was available under § 502,

and that issue was therefore open for the District Court to

address on remand.

The plaintiffs argue, however, that the defendants’

failure to raise the issue of whether § 502 afforded the

plaintiffs any relief resulted in a waiver of that issue. For that

proposition, they rely on our decision in Skretvedt. In

Skretvedt, the plaintiff filed an eight-count complaint, the

District Court granted summary judgment to the defendants

on all eight counts, and the plaintiff only appealed as to two

of the eight counts. 372 F.3d at 197-99. The plaintiff won a

remand on appeal and then sought to relitigate on remand

some of the remaining six counts for which he had not

secured a remand. Id. at 199. We held that the plaintiff had

waived any right to recover on those claims by not

challenging the District Court’s grant of summary judgment

29

on those claims in the first appeal. The panel stated that

“[w]e have consistently rejected such attempts to litigate on

remand issues that were not raised in a party’s prior appeal

and that were not explicitly or implicitly remanded for further

proceedings.” Id. at 203 (emphasis added); see also

Wisniewski v. Johns-Manville Corp., 812 F.2d 81, 88 (3d Cir.

1987) (“An issue that is not addressed in an appellant’s brief

is deemed waived on appeal.”) (emphasis added).

Here, however, the defendants were the appellees in

the previous appeal. As such, they were not required to raise

all possible alternative grounds for affirmance to avoid

waiving those grounds. See Kessler v. Nat'l Enters., Inc., 203

F.3d 1058, 1059 (8th Cir. 2000) (“[A]ppellate courts should

not enforce the [waiver] rule punitively against appellees,

because that would motivate appellees to raise every possible

alternative ground and to file every conceivable protective

cross-appeal, thereby needlessly increasing the scope and

complexity of initial appeals.”); Crocker v. Piedmont

Aviation, Inc., 49 F.3d 735, 741 (D.C. Cir. 1995) (“[F]ull

application of the waiver rule to an appellee puts it in a

dilemma between procedural disadvantage and improper use

of the cross-appeal, [and t]hat dilemma, together with the

potential judicial diseconomies of forcing appellees to

multiply the number of arguments presented, justifies a degree

of leniency in applying the waiver rule to issues that could

have been raised by appellees on previous appeals.”) (original

emphasis).

We also reject the plaintiffs’ argument that the District

Court’s construction of § 502(a) renders § 510 ineffective. As

30

the Supreme Court has noted, the “prototypical” claim under

§ 510 of ERISA is when an employer terminates an employee

to prevent his pension rights from vesting. Ingersoll-Rand,

498 U.S. at 143. Under such circumstances, the typical

remedy is reinstatement, which is an equitable remedy within

the terms of the statute. 2 Dobbs § 6.10(5) at 226. It may be

that § 502(a) restricts the scope of § 510 as a practical matter

by leaving without remedy some violations of § 510 that

differ from the “prototypical” case. That the plaintiffs are

without a remedy in this case, however, does not render § 510

ineffective in all cases, and thus does not implicate the canon

of statutory interpretation that cautions against interpreting a

statute so as to render one part inoperative. See generally

United States v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528, 538 (1955).

IV

For the foregoing reasons, we will affirm the judgment

of the District Court.

31

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.