Opinion

McGowan v. NJR Ser Corp

Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Sep 13, 2005
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 40.1%

“[W]e have noted that ERISA’s carefully crafted and detailed enforcement scheme provides strong evidence that Congress did not intend to authorize other remedies that it simply forgot to incorporate expressly.”

How later courts described this case

  • “[W]e have noted that ERISA’s carefully crafted and detailed enforcement scheme provides strong evidence that Congress did not intend to authorize other remedies that it simply forgot to incorporate expressly.”
  • “We agree with the Seventh Circuit that the anti-alienation clause does not apply to a beneficiary’s waiver.”
  • “This clear statutory command, together with the plan provisions, answer the question; the documents control. . . .”
  • noting that an “applicable divorce decree” may change a beneficiary designation

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Opinions of the United

2005 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

9-13-2005

McGowan v. NJR Ser Corp

Precedential or Non-Precedential: Precedential

Docket No. 04-3620

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2005

Recommended Citation

"McGowan v. NJR Ser Corp" (2005). 2005 Decisions. Paper 478.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2005/478

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2005 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

____________

NO. 04-3620

____________

JAMES M. MCGOWAN, SR.,

Appellant

v.

NJR SERVICE CORPORATION;

NEW JERSEY NATURAL GAS COMPANY

____________

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. Civil No. 03-cv-01035)

District Judge: The Honorable Stanley R. Chesler

Argued June 8, 2005

BEFORE: FUENTES, VAN ANTWERPEN and BECKER,

Circuit Judges

(Filed September 13, 2005)

Samuel J. Halpern (Argued)

443 Northfield Avenue

West Orange, NJ 07052

Counsel for Appellant

Richard C. Mariani (Argued)

Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.

10 Madison Avenue, Suite 402

Morristown, NJ 07960

Counsel for Appellee New Jersey Natural Gas Company

OPINION

VAN ANTWERPEN, Circuit Judge

Appellant James M. McGowan, Sr., was employed by

Appellee New Jersey Natural Gas Company (“NJNG”) for

more than 27 years. He participated in NJNG’s Plan for

Retirement Allowances for Non-represented Employees (“the

Plan”) and initially designated his second wife, Rosemary, the

“joint and survivor contingent beneficiary.” On March 5,

2003, McGowan filed an action in the United States District

Court for the District of New Jersey, seeking declaratory

relief directing NJNG and the Plan to recognize: (1)

Rosemary’s purported waiver of her rights as beneficiary; and

2

(2) McGowan’s subsequent nomination of his present wife,

Donna, as the new beneficiary.

Whether the administrators of a retirement plan that is

covered by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974 (“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001, et seq., are required to

recognize an individual’s waiver of her beneficiary interest

under the plan is an issue of first impression in this Circuit,

and there is a split among the courts of appeals that have

considered the issue. The District Court below denied

McGowan’s motion for summary judgment and granted

summary judgment in favor of NJNG. The court held that

Plan administrators are not required to look beyond Plan

documents to determine whether a waiver has been

effectuated in a private agreement between the participant and

his named beneficiary. For the reasons set forth below, we

will affirm.1

I. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

McGowan was employed by NJNG from May 12,

1969, until his retirement on November 30, 1996. As of the

date of his retirement, McGowan was married to his second

wife, Rosemary Byrne. Shortly before his retirement,

McGowan elected to receive his retirement benefits in the

1

Although this Opinion represents the Opinion of the Court

in affirming the lower court’s decision, Judge Becker has

declined to join in the reasoning contained in Part III.A.1, infra.

See Concurring Op. at 22.

3

form of an “automatic surviving spouse option,” creating a

50% survivor annuity for Rosemary. This election remained

in effect when he began receiving benefits in 1996.

McGowan and Rosemary were divorced in Palm Beach

County, Florida, on May 24, 1999. On July 23, 1998, prior to

the formal entry of the divorce, they entered into a Marital

Settlement Agreement, which was later incorporated into the

final judgment of dissolution. The agreement stated that

Rosemary “waives any and all rights, title, interest or claims .

. . to all bank accounts, life insurance policies and any right to

the New Jersey Gas Company Employee Pension Plan of the

Husband.” (App. at A61.) Shortly after Rosemary signed this

purported waiver, McGowan contacted the Plan to change the

named survivor beneficiary. On July 27, 1998, Rosemary

signed a form consenting to the election of McGowan’s first

wife, Shirley McGowan, as the replacement beneficiary.

In an August 6, 1998, letter, the Plan’s benefits

manager, Nancy Renner, informed McGowan that the Plan

did not permit changes to his prior contingent beneficiary

election once he started receiving benefit payments.

Notwithstanding the Plan’s denial of his initial request,

McGowan sought to change beneficiaries again after his

marriage to his current wife, Donna McGowan, on November

3, 2001. NJNG refused to recognize McGowan’s nomination

of Donna as the new contingent beneficiary and maintained

that Rosemary was still the beneficiary under the Plan.

On February 25, 2002, McGowan filed an appeal with

the Plan, which was denied by the Plan Claims

4

Administration Committee on April 30, 2002. McGowan

subsequently exhausted all administrative appeals and

commenced the present action with a two-count Complaint in

the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey

on March 5, 2003. In Count I, McGowan sought a declaration

directing NJNG to recognize Rosemary’s waiver and the

subsequent nomination of Donna as the new beneficiary. In

Count II, McGowan sought the imposition of civil penalties

against NJNG for allegedly failing to produce Plan documents

within the time period designated by ERISA at 29 U.S.C. §

1132(c).

In its July 26, 2004, Order and Opinion, the District

Court denied McGowan’s Motion for Summary Judgment and

granted NJNG’s Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment.

Appellant filed a timely Notice of Appeal with this Court on

August 23, 2004.

II. JURISDICTION AND STANDARDS OF REVIEW

NJNG’s retirement plan is an “employee welfare

benefit plan” within the meaning of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §

1002(1). The District Court thus had federal question

jurisdiction over the instant dispute pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1331. See also 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B) (a plan participant

has the right to bring a civil action “to recover benefits due to

him under the terms of his plan, to enforce his rights under the

terms of the plan, or to clarify his rights to future benefits

under terms of the plan”). Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, this

Court has appellate jurisdiction over the District Court’s final

5

order ruling on the parties’ cross-motions for summary

judgment.

“The standard of review in an appeal from an order

resolving cross-motions for summary judgment is plenary.”

Cantor v. Perelman, __ F.3d __, 2005 WL 1620323, *3 n.2

(3d Cir. July 12, 2005) (citing Int’l Union, United Mine

Workers of Am. v. Racho Trucking Co., 897 F.2d 1248, 1252

(3d Cir. 1990)). In reviewing the propriety of a summary

judgment ruling, we apply the same standard that the District

Court should have applied. Bucks County Dep’t of Mental

Health/Mental Retardation v. Pennsylvania, 379 F.3d 61, 65

(3d Cir. 2004). Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c), summary

judgment should be granted where the “pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” See Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325 (1986). The material facts

of this case are not in dispute, and the issue presented is

purely legal: whether NJNG should be compelled to recognize

Rosemary’s waiver of her rights as a beneficiary under the

Plan.

With respect to McGowan’s claim that NJNG failed to

provide Plan documents in a timely manner, we review the

District Court’s denial of civil penalties under 29 U.S.C. §

1132(c) for abuse of discretion. See Bruch v. Firestone Tire

& Rubber Co., 828 F.2d 134, 153 (3d Cir. 1987), rev’d in part

on other grounds, 489 U.S. 101 (1989).

6

III. DISCUSSION

A. Waiver of Benefits Under ERISA

As noted, there is a circuit split on the issue of whether

administrators of an ERISA plan are required to recognize a

beneficiary’s waiver of his or her benefits. The majority of

circuits that have addressed this issue have held that such

waivers are valid under certain circumstances. See, e.g.,

Altobelli v. Int’l Bus. Mach. Corp., 77 F.3d 78 (4th Cir.

1996); Mohamed v. Kerr, 53 F.3d 911 (8th Cir. 1995);

Brandon v. Travelers Ins. Co., 18 F.3d 1321 (5th Cir. 1994);

Metro. Life Ins. Co. v. Hanslip, 939 F.2d 904 (10th Cir.

1991); Fox Valley & Vicinity Constr. Workers Pension Fund

v. Brown, 897 F.2d 275 (7th Cir. 1990) (en banc). Only two

courts of appeals have disagreed, holding that plan

administrators need not look beyond the documents on file

with the plan to determine whether there has been a valid

waiver effectuated in outside private documents. Krishna v.

Colgate Palmolive Co., 7 F.3d 11 (2d Cir. 1993); McMillan v.

Parrott, 913 F.2d 310 (6th Cir. 1990).2

2

Although this is an issue of first impression in this Court,

the District Court’s decision in this case is the fourth time that

a district court within this Circuit has addressed waivers under

ERISA. Including decision below, two district court decisions

in this Circuit have sided with the minority view, see also

Zienowicz v. Metro. Life. Ins. Co., 205 F. Supp. 2d 339 (D.N.J.

2002), and two others have applied the majority approach, John

Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Timbo, 67 F. Supp. 2d 413

7

“ERISA is an intricate, comprehensive statute.” Boggs

v. Boggs, 520 U.S. 833, 841 (1997). It is so designed in order

to protect “the interests of participants in employee benefit

plans and their beneficiaries[.]” 29 U.S.C. § 1001(b); Shaw v.

Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 90 (1983). The majority

approach is largely based on the premise that, despite the

comprehensive nature of the statute, there are “gaps” that may

be filled by reliance on federal common law. See, e.g.,

Altobelli, 77 F.3d at 80; Brandon, 18 F.3d at 1325; Fox

Valley, 897 F.2d at 278; Lyman Lumber Co. v. Hill, 877 F.2d

692, 693 (8th Cir. 1989); see also Heasley v. Belden & Blake

Corp., 2 F.3d 1249, 1257 n.8 (3d Cir. 1993) (“Firestone

authorizes the federal courts to develop federal common law

to fill gaps left by ERISA.” (citing Firestone Tire and Rubber

Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 110 (1989))).

According to the majority approach, because ERISA

does not explicitly address “waiver” by a beneficiary, we may

turn to federal common law to determine whether, and under

what circumstances, an individual may validly waive her

benefits in an ERISA plan. See Altobelli, 77 F.3d at 81;

Brandon, 18 F.3d at 1326; Fox Valley, 897 F.2d at 281;

Lyman Lumber, 877 F.2d at 693. Under the federal common

law that has developed, an individual’s waiver is valid if,

“upon reading the language in the divorce decree, a

reasonable person would have understood that she was

waiving her beneficiary interest. . . .” Clift v. Clift, 210 F.3d

(D.N.J. 1999); Trustees of Iron Workers Local 451 Annuity

Fund v. O’Brien, 937 F. Supp. 346 (D. De. 1996).

8

268, 271-72 (5th Cir. 2000); see also Mohamed, 53 F.3d at

914-15 (“a property settlement agreement entered into

pursuant to a dissolution may divest former spouses of

beneficiary rights in each other’s [ERISA benefits], if the

agreement makes it clear that the former spouses so intend.”).

Moreover, “any waiver must be voluntarily made in good

faith.” Clift, 210 F.3d at 272.

We disagree with McGowan’s argument that the

situation presented by this case is not resolved by looking to

the express terms of ERISA, and we therefore decline to

follow the federal common law approach.

1. ERISA’s Requirement that Plans Be

Administered in Accordance with the

Plan Documents

ERISA imposes a fiduciary duty on plan administrators

to discharge their duties “in accordance with the documents

and instruments governing the plan. . . .” 29 U.S.C. §

1104(a)(1)(D). As such, the statute dictates that it is the

documents on file with the Plan, and not outside private

agreements between beneficiaries and participants, that

determine the rights of the parties. McMillan, 913 F.2d at

311-12 (“This clear statutory command, together with the plan

provisions, answer the question; the documents control. . . .”);

cf. Egelhoff v. Egelhoff, 532 U.S. 141, 150 (2001) (noting

“ERISA’s requirements that plans be administered, and

benefits be paid, in accordance with plan documents.”).

9

The Plan documents in this case designate Rosemary

as the beneficiary, and any requirement imposed on Plan

administrators to look beyond these documents would go

against the specific command of § 1104(a)(1)(D). Because

this case is resolved by reference to the terms of ERISA and

the Plan documents alone, federal common law should simply

have no place in our analysis.

Our holding is not only required by the terms of §

1104(a)(1)(D), but it is also necessary to promote one of the

principal goals underlying ERISA – ensuring that “plans be

uniform in their interpretation and simple in their

application.” McMillan, 913 F.2d at 312 (citing H.R. Rep.

No. 93-533 (1974), reprinted in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4639,

4650); see also Krishna, 7 F.3d at 16 (noting the “strong

interest in uniform, uncomplicated administration of ERISA

plans.”). This extremely important policy goal is best served

by the conclusion that, under § 1104(a)(1)(D), outside waivers

are not binding on Plan administrators. Cf. Fox Valley, 897

F.2d at 284 (Ripple, J., dissenting) (noting that §

1104(a)(1)(D) “embodies a strong federal policy that all

parties – participant, trustee, and beneficiary – be able to

ascertain their rights and liabilities with certainty.”). As

Judge Wilkinson stated in his dissenting opinion in Altobelli:

10

Strict adherence to § 1104(a)(1)(D) ensures that

all interested parties, including participants,

beneficiaries, and plan administrators, can

identify their rights and duties with certainty, a

primary objective of ERISA. This in turn limits

costly disputes over the effect of outside

documents on the distribution of plan benefits.

Altobelli, 77 F.3d at 82 (Wilkinson, C.J., dissenting) (internal

citations omitted).

The Supreme Court similarly relied on the need for

certainty and uniformity in the administration of ERISA plans

when it held in Egelhoff, 532 U.S. at 148-51, that ERISA

preempts a state statute whereby a former spouse’s

beneficiary designation was automatically revoked upon

divorce. The Court also relied on “the congressional goal of

‘minimiz[ing] the administrative and financial burden[s]’ on

plan administrators. . . .” Id. at 150 (quoting Ingersoll-Rand

Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 142 (1990)). The Court

noted that, if ERISA did not preempt the state law at issue, a

burden would be created for administrators to “familiarize

themselves with state statutes so that they can determine

whether the named beneficiary’s status has been ‘revoked’ by

operation of law” rather than “simply . . . identifying the

beneficiary specified by the plan documents.” Id. at 148-49.

These same concerns counsel against requiring administrators

to familiarize themselves with the various private agreements

that might exist between participants and beneficiaries to

determine whether they contain valid waivers under federal

common law.

11

My colleagues accept McGowan’s assertion that

requiring Plan administrators to recognize waivers does not in

fact undermine certainty or uniformity, and that it would not

create any administrative burden that is not already imposed

by ERISA itself. McGowan points to 29 U.S.C. § 1056(d)(3),

which allows the designation of an alternate payee by

obtaining a qualified domestic relations order (“QDRO”).3

Administrators are already required to review domestic

relations orders, such as divorce decrees and property

settlement agreements,4 to determine whether they are

3

All parties agree that the Florida state judgment of

dissolution, which incorporated McGowan’s Marital Settlement

Agreement and Rosemary’s waiver, does not qualify as a

QDRO.

4

ERISA defines a “domestic relations order” as:

[A]ny judgment, decree, or order (including

approval of property settlement agreement) which

–

(I) relates to the provision of child support,

alimony payments, or marital property rights to a

spouse, former spouse, child, or other dependent

of a participant, and

(II) is made pursuant to a State domestic

relations law (including a community property

law).

29 U.S.C. § 1056(d)(3)(B)(ii).

12

“qualified” under the requirements set forth in 29 U.S.C. §§

1056(d)(3)(C) & (D). Thus, McGowan claims that the

enforcement of waivers would place no burden on

administrators that does not already exist. Cf. Altobelli, 77

F.3d at 81; Fox Valley, 897 F.2d at 282 (“No such additional

burdens will be imposed. . . . Our decision only requires plan

administrators to continue their current practice of thoroughly

investigating the marital status of a participant.”).

I disagree. Sections 1056(d)(3)(C) & (D) provide very

specific, objective elements that must be present for a

domestic relations order to be “qualified.” Thus, to determine

if a document is a QDRO, administrators can essentially

utilize a checklist and easily ascertain whether, for example,

the document “specifies the name and the last known mailing

address (if any) of the participant and the name and mailing

address of each alternate payee covered by the order,” 29

U.S.C. § 1056(d)(3)(C)(i). Under the majority approach, on

the other hand, administrators have to interpret documents

that could otherwise be summarily discarded as non-QDROs,

applying less concrete standards, to determine whether they

were (1) voluntarily entered into, (2) in good faith, and (3)

specific enough that a “reasonable person” would see them as

valid waivers. It cannot be denied that requiring

administrators to review contractual language under an

amorphous “reasonable person” standard will create a risk of

litigation and administrative burdens beyond what is created

by requiring them to review orders under the uncomplicated

set of objective elements set forth in § 1056(d)(3).

13

Nevertheless, McGowan argues that there is no data

suggesting that plans in jurisdictions that enforce waivers

have actually experienced greater administrative burdens. On

the contrary, we need look no further than Eighth Circuit

precedent for evidence that the majority approach creates the

prospect of extensive litigation that is not created under the

QDRO provision. Since that court’s ruling in Lyman Lumber,

it has been faced with multiple cases involving the issue of

whether particular divorce settlement agreements contained

sufficiently specific language to constitute valid waivers

under the federal common law. See, e.g., Hill v. AT&T

Corp., 125 F.3d 646, 649-50 (8th Cir. 1997); Nat’l Auto.

Dealers & Assoc. Ret. Trust, 89 F.3d 496, 501 (8th Cir.

1996); Mohamed, 53 F.3d at 915. The fact that the Eighth

Circuit has repeatedly re-visited this issue belies the notion

that ERISA’s goals of certainty, simplicity and uniformity can

be achieved through the establishment of a uniform federal

common law.

In sum, the express terms of ERISA, as well as the

policies underlying the Act, require us to affirm the District

Court. “Rules requiring payment to named beneficiaries yield

simple administration, avoid double liability, and ensure that

beneficiaries get what’s coming quickly, without the folderol

essential under less-certain rules.” Fox Valley, 897 F.2d at

283 (Easterbrook, J., dissenting). We recognize that our

holding produces the somewhat strange result whereby

Rosemary continues to enjoy the benefits of McGowan’s

survivor annuity, even after purportedly signing away her

rights under the Plan. However, Congress has carefully laid

out the requirements for designating (and changing)

14

beneficiaries under ERISA plans and has specifically required

benefits to be paid in accordance with plan documents. As

such, our holding “is a decision already made by legislation.”

Id. at 284.

2. ERISA’s Prohibition on the Alienation or

Assignment of Benefits

Recognition of Rosemary’s waiver in this case would

also contravene ERISA’s anti-alienation provision, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1056(d)(1).5 McGowan argues that “waiver” is a distinct

concept from “assignment” or “alienation” and that waiver is

therefore not expressly prohibited by § 1056(d)(1). Cf.

Altobelli, 77 F.3d at 81; Brandon, 18 F.3d at 1324; Fox

5

Section 1056(d)(1) reads, in relevant part, “Each pension

plan shall provide that benefits provided under the plan may not

be assigned or alienated.” The Plan in this case states, in turn:

No benefit payable under the Plan shall be subject

in any manner to anticipation, alienation, sale,

transfer, assignment, pledge, encumbrance, or

charge, and any such action shall be void and of

no effect; nor shall any such benefit be in any

manner liable for or subject to the debts,

contracts, liabilities, engagements or torts of the

person entitled to such benefit, except as

specifically provided in the Plan.

(App. at A133.)

15

Valley, 897 F.2d at 279. We agree as a general matter that

“waiver” is not the same thing as assignment or alienation.

Assignment or alienation involves an affirmative transfer of

benefits to another person, whereas waiver usually involves

only a refusal of benefits on the part of the individual slated to

receive them. Cf. Fox Valley, 897 F.2d at 279.

That said, McGowan’s argument on this point is

similar to an argument rejected by the Supreme Court in

Boggs. In that case, the Supreme Court reversed the Fifth

Circuit’s ruling that ERISA did not preempt a state law

allowing a beneficiary to transfer her interests in her former

spouse’s pension plan by testamentary instrument. The court

of appeals had addressed whether the testamentary transfer

was prohibited by § 1056(d)(1) and attempted to distinguish

that transfer from an “assignment or alienation”:

[Section 1056(d)(1)] was not intended to affect

support obligations among the members of a

family. Furthermore, a non-participant spouse’s

ownership of an interest in the participant

spouse’s retirement benefits involves neither an

alienation nor an assignment. Under community

property law, ownership vests immediately in

the non-earning spouse, and no transaction is

needed to convey ownership. Thus, no

16

transaction prohibited by the ERISA spendthrift

provision has occurred.

Boggs v. Boggs, 82 F.3d 90, 97 (5th Cir. 1996), rev’d, 520

U.S. 833.

The Supreme Court disagreed, stating that the

testamentary transfer at issue was indeed prohibited under §

1056(d)(1), as it fell within the regulatory definition of

“assignment or alienation.” Boggs, 520 U.S. at 851 (quoting

26 C.F.R. § 1.401(a)-13(c)(1)(ii)). The regulation defines

“assignment or alienation” as “[a]ny direct or indirect

arrangement . . . whereby a party acquires from a participant

or beneficiary a right or interest enforceable against the plan

in, or to, all or any part of a plan benefit payment which is, or

may become, payable to the participant or beneficiary.” 26

C.F.R. § 1.401(a)-13(c)(1)(ii) (emphasis added). Boggs thus

demonstrates that actions which may be semantically

distinguishable from “assignment or alienation” may

nevertheless be prohibited by § 1056(d)(1).

Similarly, although the common definitions of

“waiver” and “assignment” may diverge, McGowan seeks to

use the concept of waiver in order to effectuate what is the

functional equivalent of an assignment of benefits from his

former wife to his current wife.6 As Judge Easterbrook

6

McGowan is actually asking this Court to enforce two

successive assignments – the first being the consent form that

Rosemary signed in 1998 allowing Shirley, his first wife, to be

17

pointed out in his dissenting opinion in Fox Valley, a

“waiver” in the ERISA context is not merely a refusal of

benefits, but also functions as “an anticipatory gift, to

whoever is next in line under the [Plan’s] rules[.]” 897 F.2d

at 282-83 (Easterbrook, J., dissenting). Rosemary’s “waiver”

here, if recognized, creates an “indirect arrangement”

whereby the Plan benefits are transferred to Donna, who in

turn gains an “interest enforceable against the plan.” These

actions therefore fit within the definition of “assignment or

alienation” provided in 26 C.F.R. § 1.401(a)-13(c)(1)(ii).

Thus, even though ERISA does not expressly state that

“waivers” are prohibited, recognition of the waiver sought in

this case would undermine § 1056(d)(1).

Finally, it is worth noting that any concern for the

ability of individuals to freely and voluntarily relinquish

certain rights in their former spouses’ ERISA plan benefits

upon divorce has already been addressed by Congress through

the passage of the QDRO provision in 1984. The Supreme

Court in Boggs emphasized the care with which Congress

created the QDRO mechanism in order “to give enhanced

protection to the spouse and dependent children in the event

of divorce or separation[.]” Boggs, 520 U.S. at 847. The

Court also made clear that the QDRO exception to §

1056(d)(1) is to be narrowly construed and is “not subject to

judicial expansion.” Id. at 851. As such, recognition of

additional methods of dispersing ERISA benefits in the event

named as beneficiary, and the second being his present action

seeking to replace Shirley with Donna, his current wife.

18

of a divorce would be inconsistent with this comprehensive

scheme.

The surviving spouse annuity and QDRO

provisions, which acknowledge and protect

specific pension plan community property

interests, give rise to the strong implication that

other community property claims are not

consistent with the statutory scheme. ERISA’s

silence with respect to the right of a

nonparticipant spouse to control pension plan

benefits by testamentary transfer provides

powerful support for the conclusion that the

right does not exist.

Id. at 847-48 (emphasis added) (citing Mass. Mut. Life Ins.

Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134, 147-48 (1985)).

Applying this reasoning to the case at hand, ERISA’s

silence with respect to the right to waive benefits supports the

conclusion that such a right does not exist. The

comprehensive nature of the QDRO provision suggests that

Congress provided only one option to individuals in

McGowan’s position. In other words, the QDRO provision,

which recognizes the right to designate alternate payees under

certain circumstances, “give[s] rise to the strong implication

that” the designation of alternate payees under other

circumstances (i.e. through waivers) is “not consistent with

the statutory scheme,” Id.

19

In sum, McGowan was required to satisfy the very

specific requirements of § 1056(d)(3) in order to change

beneficiaries, and he has provided no reason why he could not

have obtained a QDRO from the Florida state courts

effectuating Rosemary’s intent to be removed as the

beneficiary under the Plan at the time of the divorce. He

should not now be able to circumvent the requirements of §

1056(d)(3), as well as the requirements of § 1104(a)(1)(D), by

couching this change of beneficiaries in “waiver” terms.

B. Civil Penalties Under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(c)

Count II of McGowan’s Complaint alleged that NJNG

violated ERISA by failing to furnish requested Plan

documents within 30 days of his initial request and sought

civil penalties under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(c). NJNG concedes

that McGowan’s attorney made an initial request for copies of

relevant Plan documents on June 19, 2002. NJNG also

concedes that the company failed to comply with this request

until October 28, 2002 (five days after McGowan’s attorney

made a second request). NJNG argues, however, that they

were acting under a good faith (but mistaken) belief that the

June 19 th letter did not put them on notice of McGowan’s

request for documents.

Section 1132(c) grants the District Court broad

discretion in deciding whether to impose civil penalties for

delayed discovery. Bruch, 828 F.2d at 153. This Court has

held that a district court “would be well within its discretion

in setting damages at $0” if, for example, “the employee’s

claim for benefits is not colorable, and if the employer

20

displayed no bad faith in responding to the claim. . . .” Id.

Here, the District Court based its decision to set damages at

zero on the determination that NJNG did not act in bad faith.

Even though the District Court held that the June 19 th letter,

when objectively viewed, was a valid request under § 1132(c),

the court determined that NJNG was under a subjective good

faith belief that they did not yet have to furnish the requested

documents. Nothing has been presented to this Court which

would cause us to question the District Court’s conclusion

that the NJNG did not act in bad faith. We therefore find no

abuse of discretion on the part of the District Court in this

case.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we will affirm the July 26,

2004, Order and Opinion of the District Court denying

McGowan’s Motion for Summary Judgment and granting

summary judgment in favor of NJNG.

McGowan v. NJR Service Corporation; New Jersey Natural

Gas Company, No. 04-3620

BECKER, Circuit Judge, concurring.

I agree with the result reached in Part III.A of Judge

Van Antwerpen’s opinion, which holds that we should

embrace the “minority rule,” thus rendering ineffective

Rosemary’s purported waiver of her rights as beneficiary and

21

McGowan’s subsequent nomination of his present wife,

Donna, as the new beneficiary. I also agree with Judge Van

Antwerpen’s disposition, in Part III.B, of the civil penalties

issue. As the foregoing suggests, I join in the judgment

affirming the District Court.

Judge Van Antwerpen relies on three theories to

support his conclusion that Rosemary’s waiver is ineffective.

First, he reasons that, because the Plan documents in this case

designate Rosemary as the beneficiary, any requirement

imposed on Plan administrators to look beyond these

documents would violate the specific command of 29 U.S.C.

§ 1104(a)(1)(D). Second, and relatedly, he argues that this

holding is necessary to promote one of the principal goals

underlying ERISA—ensuring that “plans be uniform in their

interpretation and simple in their application.” McMillan v.

Pratt, 913 F.2d 310, 312 (6th Cir. 1990). Third, he points out

that recognition of Rosemary’s waiver in this case would

contravene ERISA’s prohibition of assignment or alienation

of benefits under 29 U.S.C. § 1056(d)(1). I write separately

to explain why I disagree with the first and second

justifications, and thus do not join Part III.A.1. I agree with

the third justification, and thus join Part III.A.2. However,

since Judge Van Antwerpen’s discussion of that point is brief,

I think it useful to expand upon it, and begin with that issue.

I.

The anti-alienation or spendthrift provision, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1056(d), provides:

22

Assignment or alienation of plan benefits

(1) Each pension plan shall provide that benefits

provided under the plan may not be assigned or

alienated.

As Judge Van Antwerpen notes, “assignment” or “alienation”

is defined by regulation to include:

Any direct or indirect arrangement (whether

revocable or irrevocable) whereby a party

acquires from a participant or beneficiary a right

or interest enforceable against the plan in, or to,

all or any part of a plan benefit payment which

is, or may become, payable to the participant or

beneficiary.

26 C.F.R. 1.401(a)-13(c)(1)(ii).7 Under this definition, I think

that the purported waiver in this case was clearly a prohibited

assignment or alienation. Rosemary’s waiver was more than a

renunciation of her right to benefits under the plan; rather, it

was an attempt to transfer her interest in the plan to

McGowan, with the expectation that he would then be

permitted to assign that interest to someone else, as he in fact

attempted to do on two separate occasions. I see nothing in

the anti-alienation provision that excepts transfers from plan

7

Neither party has challenged the validity of this definition,

and the Supreme Court’s reliance on it in Boggs v. Boggs, 520

U.S. 833, 851 (1997), suggests that we owe it deference.

23

beneficiaries to plan participants, particularly when the plan

participant then seeks to transfer that interest to a third party.

The purported waiver in this case fits squarely within the

definition of assignment or alienation as an “indirect

arrangement . . . whereby a party acquires from a participant

or beneficiary a right or interest enforceable against the plan.”

In this context, it is also useful to reference the QDRO

provisions, for they shed additional light upon the subject.

Congress added the QDRO provisions at the same time it

required plans to offer benefits in the form of qualified joint

and survivor annuities. See Retirement Equity Act of 1984,

Pub. L. No. 98-397, 98 Stat. 1426 (1984). I believe that

Congress saw QDROs as the only means by which a

participant or beneficiary could assign or alienate his or her

interest in the plan.8 This is confirmed by the language from

8

While I join in Part III.A.2 of the majority opinion, believing

that Judge Van Antwerpen correctly interprets the Supreme

Court’s discussion of the QDRO provision in Boggs v. Boggs,

520 U.S. 833 (1997), I feel constrained to note that the Supreme

Court's congressional silence jurisprudence is somewhat of a

patchwork. To be sure, a number of cases use silence as

evidence of legislative intent, see, e.g., Morrison-Knudsen

Construction Co. v. Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation

Programs, 461 U.S. 624, 632-33 (1983); Johnson v.

Transportation Agency, 480 U.S. 616, 629 n.7 (1987).

However, Justice Scalia dissented in Johnson, delivering a

critique of the majority’s discussion of silence. First, Justice

Scalia argued that the assumption that Congress’s failure to

24

the 1984 Senate Report noting that, absent a QDRO, the

participant’s first spouse is still entitled to benefits upon the

participant’s death.9 Since the waiver at issue in this case was

amend a statute demonstrates that a prior judicial interpretation

of the statute is correct should be abandoned because “[i]t is

based. . .on the patently false premise that the correctness of

statutory construction is to be measured by what the current

Congress desires, rather than by what the law as enacted meant.”

Id. at 671 (Scalia, J., dissenting). Justice Scalia also argued that

it is impossible to determine whether congressional silence

demonstrates “(1) approval of the status quo, as opposed to (2)

inability to agree upon how to alter the status quo, (3)

unawareness of the status quo, (4) indifference to the status quo,

or even (5) political cowardice.” Id. at 672.

Moreover, a number of cases have rejected silence as

evidence of legislative intent. See e.g. Fogerty v. Fantasy, Inc.

510 U.S. 517, 527-33 (1994); Borough of Ridgefield v. New

York Susquehanna & Western Railroad, 810 F.2d 57, 60 (3d Cir.

1987).

9

The Report stated:

The bill provides that a qualified joint and

survivor annuity is not required to be provided by

a plan unless the participant and spouse have been

married throughout the one-year period ending on

the earlier of (1) the participant’s annuity starting

date (the first day of the first period for which an

amount is received as an annuity (whether by

25

not a QDRO, it is prohibited by ERISA’s anti-alienation

clause.

Nevertheless, some courts have concluded that the

anti-alienation clause was intended solely to prevent the

participant from alienating his or her benefits and should not

act to prevent a secondary beneficiary from alienating his or

her rights. For instance, Judge Harlington Wood, Jr.,

speaking for the full Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit,

stated:

reason of retirement or disability)), or (2) the date

of the participant’s death. If a participant dies

after the annuity starting date, the spouse to

whom the participant was married during the

one-year period ending on the annuity starting

date is entitled to the survivor annuity under the

plan whether or not the participant and spouse

are married on the date of the participant’s death.

The rule does not apply, however, if a qualified

domestic relations orders . . . otherwise provides

for the division for payment of the participant’s

retirement benefits. For example, a qualified

domestic relations order could provide that the

former spouse is not entitled to any survivor

benefits under the plan.

S. Rep. No. 98-575, reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2547,

2561-62 (emphasis added).

26

The spendthrift provisions of ERISA are

designed to “ensure that the employee’s accrued

benefits are actually available for retirement

purposes,” by preventing unwise assignment or

alienation. These provisions focus on the

assignment or alienation of benefits by a

participant, not the waiver of a right to payment

of benefits made by a designated beneficiary.

Fox Valley & Vicinity Constr. Workers Pension Fund v.

Brown, 897 F.2d 275, 279 (7th Cir. 1990) (en banc) (citation

omitted); see also Estate of Altobelli v. International Business

Machines Corp., 77 F.3d 78, 81 (4th Cir. 1996) (“We agree

with the Seventh Circuit that the anti-alienation clause does

not apply to a beneficiary’s waiver.”).

This approach is not without appeal. It does seem

untoward that McGowan should not be able to have his

pension awarded to his present wife, rather than to a woman

from whom he is long divorced. The anti-alienation clause,

however, does not distinguish between benefits provided to

participants and those provided to secondary beneficiaries;

rather, it simply states that “benefits provided under the plan

may not be assigned or alienated.” 29 U.S.C. § 1056(d)(1).

Additionally, while the legislative history supports the view

that the purpose of the clause was to prohibit a spendthrift

from unwisely selling his or her interests in a plan, there is no

reason why this focus of this concern should be limited to

plan participants. If, hypothetically, McGowan were still

married to Rosemary, but she wanted to sell her rights under

the plan, I believe that most courts would find such a sale to

27

be prohibited. This view finds support in Judge Easterbrook’s

dissenting opinion in Fox Valley:

Although the majority holds that this rule

applies only to “participants” in a pension plan

as 29 U.S.C. § 1002(7) defines that term, it is

not so limited. Section 1056(d)(1) bars the

assignment of “benefits”—that is, payments

under the plan—without regard to the identity

of the person making that assignment. Section

1056(d)(2) reinforces this in saying that “a loan

made to a participant or beneficiary shall not be

treated as an assignment or alienation”, an

exemption unnecessary if the anti-alienation

clause does not apply to beneficiaries in the first

place. So Laurine could not have transferred the

money to Dessie in exchange for a sofa—at

least, Dessie could not have enforced the

promise by attaching the benefits as they came

in. Why, then, should Laurine be allowed to

transfer the money to Dessie without getting a

sofa?

897 F. 2d at 283 (Easterbrook, J., dissenting).

In view of the foregoing, I do not see how the fact that

McGowan and Rosemary are divorced changes this analysis.

Since the waiver in this case occurred in the context of a

divorce settlement, it would not be unreasonable to assume

that Rosemary received something—perhaps not a sofa, but

probably a greater share of some other portion of McGowan’s

28

assets—in return for her agreement to waive her interest in

McGowan’s pension plan. While Congress may have only

intended to bar the “unwise” alienation of benefits, the plain

language of the anti-alienation clause prohibits us from

inquiring into the wisdom of a beneficiary’s decision to

transfer her interest to someone else.

Finally, as Judge Van Antwerpen correctly notes, this

interpretation finds further support in Boggs. In that case, the

Court held that the anti-alienation clause preempted a state

law permitting a testamentary transfer by a plan beneficiary.

See 520 U.S. at 851. At the very least, Boggs stands for the

proposition that the anti-alienation clause applies equally to

beneficiaries and participants, and thus it implicitly rejects the

reasoning relied on by the Seventh Circuit in Fox Valley.

For all these reasons, I agree with Judge Van

Antwerpen that the anti-alienation clause prohibits

Rosemary’s waiver.

II.

A.

Most courts adopting the minority rule have not relied

on ERISA’s anti-alienation clause; rather, like Judge Van

Antwerpen, they have looked to 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1). That

section provides:

29

. . . [A] fiduciary shall discharge his duties with

respect to a plan solely in the interest of the

participants and beneficiaries and—

....

(D) in accordance with the

documents and instruments

governing the plan insofar as such

documents and instruments are

consistent with the provisions of

this subchapter and subchapter III

of this chapter.

Judge Van Antwerpen concludes that this provision “dictates

that it is the documents on file with the Plan, and not outside

private agreements between beneficiaries and participants,

that determine the rights of the parties.” See Maj. Op. at 9. I

am not persuaded that this is the case. In my view, §

1104(a)(1)(D) simply embodies the common-sense notion that

a plan administrator should not take actions that are

inconsistent with the plan’s guidelines. Nothing in the

language prohibits the administrator from consulting other

documents, insofar as those documents do not conflict with

the language of the plan. Indeed, an administrator must

consult other documents to determine whether a participant

has obtained a valid QDRO.

In this regard, it is important to note that the provision

authorizing QDROs explicitly states that such orders are

exempt from ERISA’s anti-alienation clause but says nothing

30

whatsoever about § 1104(a)(1)(D). This suggests that

Congress simply did not see a conflict between the

requirement that plan administrators perform their duties “in

accordance with the documents and instruments governing the

plan” and the requirement that they give effect to a transfer of

benefits pursuant to a QDRO, underscoring my view that the

real obstacle to the waiver in this case is the anti-alienation

clause, not § 1104(a)(1)(D).

The plan documents in this case do not explicitly

prohibit waivers of the sort Rosemary sought to execute.10

Rather, the documents mirror the statutory language regarding

the ability of a participant to waive the qualified joint and

survivor annuity provided his spouse consents and does so

prior to the date the spouse begins receiving benefits. Thus,

10

The applicable provision reads:

The Participant may exercise his right to elect an

optional form of benefit at any time during the

election period specific in paragraph (b) below;

provided, however, that such election . . . shall be

effective only if made in writing on a form

provided by the Committee for that purpose,

signed by the Participant and delivered to the

Committee during the election period. Such

election form shall provide for the Participant to

certify (i) that he revokes the automatic surviving

spouse option or (ii) that he elects to be covered

under such option . . . .

31

the Plan documents do not prohibit waivers of the sort at issue

here.

B.

Judge Van Antwerpen also argues, in accord with

many of the courts that have adopted the minority rule, that

concerns of efficiency and uniformity justify refusing to

permit a beneficiary to waive her right to benefits. I am not

persuaded by this argument. While Congress clearly intended

to promote the uniform and efficient operation of plans, I

agree with McGowan that the increased burden on the plan in

this case would be minimal, particularly in light of the fact

that plan administrators must already review external

documents to determine whether they qualify as QDROs.

Judge Van Antwerpen argues that it is inherently easier

for plan administrators to evaluate purported QDROs, because

the statutory authorization for such agreements provides

specific criteria for doing so. But I see nothing that would

prohibit us from using our authority to fashion federal

common law in this area to develop similarly clear criteria for

evaluating purported waivers.

In addition, as both parties acknowledge, plan

administrators would need to make further actuarial

calculations when a beneficiary waives her right to benefits.

But administrators already need to make such calculations in

the context of QDROs, and indeed in most cases of this genre.

These kinds of calculations are de rigeur for plan

administrators; it is the “stuff” of their work. Thus, while

32

there would be some additional burden, I do not think it is

nearly as great as Judge Van Antwerpen suggests.

III.

For the above reasons, while I do not agree with some

of the justifications offered in Judge Van Antwerpen’s

opinion, I concur in the result and in the judgment. The plain

language of ERISA prohibits waivers of the type at issue here,

so we have no choice but to affirm the decision of the District

Court.

McGowan v. NJR Service Corporation; New Jersey Natural

Gas Company, No. 04-3620

Fuentes, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

I disagree with the result reached by Judge Van

Antwerpen and Judge Becker, that, although Rosemary

knowingly and voluntarily signed a waiver of her pension

benefits, in accordance with a negotiated and court-approved

divorce settlement, the waiver is not permitted under ERISA.

The primary question here is whether Rosemary may waive her

pension benefits despite ERISA’s anti-alienation provision,

which bars alienation or assignment of pension benefits absent

a particular order not present here. This question is the subject

of a long-standing “circuit split,” the minority position of which

is adopted by my colleagues today.

-33-

Because I believe that both ERISA and the Plan are silent

on the enforceability of waivers of benefits (as waivers are

neither alienations nor assignments), and that federal common

law ought to fill this gap by respecting the time-honored

principle of state autonomy in the domestic law area, I would

allow waivers of sufficient specificity to be given effect. I

therefore respectfully dissent.11

A. ERISA’s Anti-Alienation Clause

My colleagues agree that ERISA’s anti-alienation (or

“spendthrift”) clause, 29 U.S.C. § 1056(d), bars the waiver in

this case. I, however, agree with the Courts of Appeals that

have found that the anti-alienation provision does not address

waivers. See, e.g., Estate of Altobelli v. Int’l Bus. Mach. Corp.,

77 F.3d 78, 81 (4th Cir. 1996); Fox Valley & Vicinity Constr.

Workers Pension Fund v. Brown, 897 F.2d 275, 280 (7th Cir.

1990) (en banc); cf. Metro. Life Ins. Co. v. Hanslip, 939 F.2d

904, 907 (10th Cir. 1991) (noting that an “applicable divorce

decree” may change a beneficiary designation); Lyman Lumber

Co. v. Hill, 877 F.2d 692, 693 (8th Cir. 1989) (finding that no

provision of ERISA addresses waiver).12 ERISA is a detailed

11

I join Judge Van Antwerpen’s opinion as to Part III.B.

12

I find it immaterial that the waiver here took place after

McGowan’s retirement. But see Anderson v. Marshall, 856 F.

Supp. 604, 607 (D. Kan. 1994). The Plan here does contain an

anti-revocation provision, modeled after 29 U.S.C. § 1055(c),

which bars revocation of the pension benefit involved here after

-34-

and carefully worded statute, and I am wary of expanding the

prohibitions in § 1056(d) beyond those specifically enumerated

by Congress. Cf. Great-West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v.

Knudson, 534 U.S. 204, 209 (2002) (“[W]e have noted that

ERISA’s carefully crafted and detailed enforcement scheme

provides strong evidence that Congress did not intend to

authorize other remedies that it simply forgot to incorporate

expressly.”) (internal quotations omitted).

As my colleagues recognize, absent a Qualified Domestic

Relations Order (“QDRO”), the anti-alienation clause bars only

assignments and alienations of benefits; it makes no reference

to waivers. An “alienation” is a “[c]onveyance or transfer of

property to another.” Black’s Law Dictionary 73 (7th ed. 1999)

(emphases added). “Assignment” is defined as “the transfer of

rights or property.” Id. at 115 (emphasis added); see also id.

(“‘An assignment is a transfer or setting over of property, or of

some right or interest therein, from one person to

another . . . .’”) (quoting Alexander M. Burrill, A Treatise on the

Law and Practice of Voluntary Assignments for the Benefit of

Creditors § 1, at 1 (James Avery Webb 6th ed. 1894)). In

contrast, “waiver” is defined as “[t]he voluntary relinquishment

or abandonment–express or implied–of a legal right or

advantage.” Id. at 1574. Waiver does not involve a transfer of

retirement. However, a revocation (with consent) of one’s

election to a benefit is materially different from a waiver of

benefits by a vested beneficiary, as the language of § 1055(c)

appears to be a limitation only on the participant’s actions,

rather than on the beneficiary’s actions.

-35-

rights; it is merely a relinquishment. Congress understands this

distinction between a waiver and an assignment, see 5 U.S.C.

§ 8465,13 and chose only to prohibit the latter (along with

alienations) in the anti-alienation provision of ERISA.

I find the distinction between waiver and assignment or

alienation to be a significant one. The anti-alienation provision

serves specific purposes. It prevents spouses who have been

given rights and benefits under a plan from unwisely

squandering those rights. For example, it safeguards against

unscrupulous predators preying upon participants and

beneficiaries by offering inadequate immediate gratification in

13

Section 8465, which governs the Federal Employees’

Retirement System and is entitled “Waiver, allotment, and

assignment of benefits,” reads:

(a) An individual entitled to an annuity payable

from the Fund may decline to accept all or any

part of the amount of the annuity by a waiver

signed and filed with the Office. The waiver may

be revoked in writing at any time. Payment of the

annuity waived may not be made for the period

during which the waiver is in effect.

(b) An individual entitled to an annuity payable

from the Fund may make allotments or

assignments of amounts from the annuity for such

purposes as the Office considers appropriate.

§ 8465 (emphases added).

-36-

exchange for the long-term benefits ERISA is designed to

guarantee. See Coar v. Kazimir, 990 F.2d 1413, 1420 (3d Cir.

1993)14 (noting that the legislative history of the anti-alienation

provision suggests that it was “intended to protect plan

beneficiaries by ensuring that plan assets are used only for

payment of benefits”) (internal quotation omitted). These

concerns are not nearly as strong with respect to waiver, as

waiver is not likely to be induced by an offer from an

unscrupulous, predatory character. Only the participant would

derive benefits from a waiver (as one cannot waive rights to a

third party), whereas anyone could pay a beneficiary for an

assignment or alienation. Another concern animating the anti-

alienation provision is creditor’s access to benefits, which is

notably absent here. 15 See Coar, 990 F.2d at 1420-21 (noting

that “we do not believe that Congress intended the

14

Similar to the set-off in Coar, the waiver here is

conceptually distinct from assignment and alienation.

Accordingly, our comment that “inasmuch as a set-off is not an

alienation, then the absence of an exception allowing a set-off

to the restraint on alienation is meaningless” applies with equal

force here. Coar, 990 F.2d at 1424.

15

We also noted in Coar that the legislative history of the

provision speaks of “a garnishment or levy” and that the there

are remarks in the history that term it an “anti-garnishment

provision.” 990 F.2d at 1420-21. Congress’s concern regarding

this sort of involuntary alienation further underscores my belief

that it was not targeting knowing and voluntary waivers when

drafting the provision.

-37-

anti-alienation provision to dilute the potential relief available

to pension beneficiaries. Instead, we read section 206(d)(1) and,

by extension [Guidry v. Sheet Metal Workers National Pension

Fund, 493 U.S. 365 (1990)], as shielding only the beneficiaries’

interest under the pension plan from third-party creditors.”).

Both of my colleagues find much import in 26 C.F.R.

§ 1.401(a)-13(c)(1)(ii), a regulation promulgated by the Internal

Revenue Service concerning the anti-alienation provision. The

regulation interprets the statute as covering “[a]ny direct or

indirect arrangement (whether revocable or irrevocable)

whereby a party acquires from a participant or beneficiary a

right or interest enforceable against the plan.” Id. As noted by

my colleagues, allowing McGowan’s subsequent and

independent attempt to nominate Donna appears to transform

Rosemary’s waiver into an indirect assignment, as described by

26 C.F.R. § 1.401(a)-13(c)(1)(ii). However, such a reading

allows third-party actions to invalidate what would otherwise be

valid waivers. Indeed, the majority would appear to prohibit all

waivers, even though in many cases, there will be no

“renomination” at issue. The majority’s argument also puts the

cart before the horse, inasmuch as it presupposes that the Plan

must give effect to McGowan’s renomination of Donna. Were

the combination of the waiver and the nomination to create a

prohibited indirect assignment, only the latter action should be

invalidated, as it is that action that creates the problematic

arrangement.16 Conceiving of the waiver as an acquisition of

16

Although I would have remanded the question whether the

renomination of Donna for the annuity option should be given

-38-

rights by McGowan himself is also untenable, as he would not

get rights to the benefit involved here (a survivor annuity) if the

waiver is given effect. Instead, the right to the annuity would be

destroyed by the waiver.

In Boggs v. Boggs, the Supreme Court “consider[ed]

whether [ERISA] pre-empts a state law allowing a

nonparticipant spouse to transfer by testamentary instrument an

interest in undistributed pension plan benefits.” 520 U.S. 833,

835-36 (1997). The Court addressed whether state community

property law was preempted by ERISA, and the Court rejected

the argument that ERISA simply did not speak to the issue. It

found that it could “begin, and in this case end, the analysis by

simply asking if state law conflicts with the provisions of

ERISA or operates to frustrate its objects” and held “that there

is a conflict, which suffices to resolve the case.” Id. at 841. All

of the cases considering Boggs’s effect on waivers of the sort

considered here recognize that ERISA broadly preempts state

effect, I note that there are good reasons not to honor it. If no

renomination is allowed, waiver could only occur once, so there

would be no danger of repeated divorces causing high

administrative costs based on the need to do several actuarial

recalculations. However, this is not to say that Donna would be

without protection, as the waiver would likely result in the

lump-sum death benefit under Section 6.2 of the Plan (as

opposed to the survivor annuity under Option B of Section 8.2)

going into effect, as the annuity option would then not be

effective. Indeed, McGowan could change beneficiaries for the

lump-sum benefit freely under Section 6.3.

-39-

law, and go on to find that the federal common law approach is

not in conflict with the holding of Boggs. See, e.g., Manning v.

Hayes, 212 F.3d 866, 873 (5th Cir. 2000) (holding that Boggs

does not cast doubt on Brandon v. Travelers Ins. Co., 18 F.3d

1321 (5th Cir. 1994)); Metro. Life Ins. Co. v. Pettit, 164 F.3d

857, 864 (4th Cir. 1998) (reaffirming Altobelli after Boggs).

Importantly, when discussing the surviving spouse annuity

(which is the benefit here), the Boggs Court noted that the wife

“has not waived her right to the survivor’s annuity.” 520 U.S.

at 842. Also, the Court, noted that the “anti-alienation provision

can ‘be seen to bespeak a pension law protective policy of

special intensity: Retirement funds shall remain inviolate until

retirement.’” Id. at 851 (quoting J. Langbein & B. Wolk,

Pension and Employee Benefit Law 547 (2d ed. 1995)). Here,

Rosemary’s waiver occurred after McGowan’s retirement.

However, some of the language in Boggs may cast doubt

on the policies behind the majority rule. The Court stated that

the “principal object [of ERISA] is to protect plan participants

and beneficiaries.” Id. at 845 (emphasis added). This language

seems to conflict with the language in the Fox Valley majority

opinion discussing how the QDRO provision is meant to protect

participants, not beneficiaries. Compare id. at 847 (“In creating

the QDRO mechanism Congress was careful to provide that the

alternate payee, the ‘spouse, former spouse, child, or other

dependent of a participant,’ is to be considered a plan

beneficiary.”) (quoting §§ 1056(d)(3)(K) & (J)), with Fox

Valley, 897 F.2d at 279 (noting that the anti-alienation provision

“focus[es] on the assignment or alienation of benefits by a

participant, not the waiver of a right to payment of benefits

made by a designated beneficiary”). Similarly, the Court noted

-40-

that “[t]he QDRO provisions protect those persons who, often

as a result of divorce, might not receive the benefits they

otherwise would have had available during their retirement as a

means of income.” Id. at 854; see also id. at 853 (“Even a plan

participant cannot defeat a nonparticipant surviving spouse’s

statutory entitlement to an annuity.”). I agree with my

colleagues that Boggs makes clear that the anti-alienation clause

provides a restraint on actions by both participants and

beneficiaries. However, that does not change my view that the

provision does not speak to waivers.

Given the silence of the anti-alienation provision on the

issue of waiver, I find it inapplicable here. I agree with Judge

Becker, for the reasons he states, that the fiduciary duty

provision of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1)(D), is of no import

here.17 Because the QDRO exception applies only to

17

I note also that Judge Van Antwerpen’s opinion reads this

provision as allowing all documents filed with the Plan to

govern its administration, including forms filed to designate

beneficiaries. However, although I need not resolve this issue

because this case is ultimately decided only on the anti-

alienation provision, I note in passing that the governing

documents could reasonably be limited to those that set forth the

terms of the plan. Cf. McElroy v. SmithKline Beecham Health

& Welfare Benefits Trust Plan for U.S. Employees, 340 F.3d

139, 143-44 (3d Cir. 2003) (“Clearly, the ‘documents and

instruments governing the plan’ do not necessarily include all

relevant documents and, in particular, do not necessarily include

the plaintiff’s claim file.”).

-41-

assignments and alienations, it is also irrelevant to this case. See

Fox Valley, 897 F.2d at 279 (“The QDRO requirements specify

the procedures necessary to assign benefits, but those procedures

need not be followed when a nonparticipant is waiving an

interest in pension benefits. ERISA allows beneficiaries to

waive their interests in benefits.”).

In accord with the majority of the courts of appeals that

have faced the issue, given the comprehensive nature of ERISA,

its broad preemptive scope, and its goal of uniformity in the law

of employee benefit plans, I believe that ERISA’s silence on

waiver should be filled by federal common law. See McGurl v.

Trucking Employees of North Jersey Welfare Fund, Inc., 124

F.3d 471, 481 (3d Cir. 1997) (“‘[W]here state law is preempted

and no specific federal provision governs, a court is forced to

make law or leave a void where neither state nor federal law

applies. In such a situation it is a reasonable inference that

Congress intended some law, and therefore federal law, to

apply.’”) (quoting Wayne Chem., Inc. v. Columbus Agency

Serv. Corp., 426 F. Supp. 316, 322 (N.D. Ill. 1977)); see also

Heasley v. Belden & Blake Corp., 2 F.3d 1249, 1257 n.8 (3d

Cir. 1993) (“[Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S.

101, 110 (1989)] authorizes the federal courts to develop federal

common law to fill gaps left by ERISA.”).

B. Federal Common Law

My conclusion that federal common law should fill the

gap in ERISA concerning the enforceability of waivers does not

end the inquiry, as it must be determined whether, and in what

instances, federal common law should recognize waivers.

-42-

Allowing waiver fulfills the intent of the parties to a divorce,

allows spouses broader room to negotiate during the settlement

of property attendant to divorce, and comports with

longstanding common law domestic relations rules. The Fox

Valley majority reasoned that, because ERISA does not prohibit

or preempt a waiver and because enforcement will not create an

undue burden for plan administrators, a proper waiver should be

given effect. 897 F.2d at 279-80; see also Altobelli, 77 F.3d at

81-82.

I agree with Judge Becker that the enforcement of

waivers would not lead to disuniformity and complexity in the

administration of ERISA plans. The Fox Valley court also

disagreed with the suggestion that its “decision imposes

burdensome obligations on plan administrators,” stating that

“[n]o such additional burdens will be imposed because, under

the ERISA statutory scheme, a plan administrator must

investigate the marital history of a participant and determine

whether any domestic relations orders exist that could affect the

distribution of benefits.” 879 F.2d at 282. The Fifth Circuit has

also discussed the “long and venerable history” of “[f]ederal

respect for state domestic relations law” in support of the federal

common law approach. Brandon, 18 F.3d at 1326 (quoting De

Sylva v. Ballentine, 351 U.S. 570, 580 (1956) (citations

omitted)). I find the reasoning of the Fox Valley and Brandon

courts to be compelling.

Although I find that federal policy favors giving effect to

waivers, it is still unclear whether federal common law should

(1) allow waivers to be given effect if the plan provisions do not

specifically prohibit it or (2) mandate that waivers be given

effect notwithstanding any plan provisions to the contrary.

Although the former option may be more in line with

§ 1104(a)(1)(D) (the fiduciary duty provision), the better option

is the latter, which promotes uniformity and certainty in plan

-43-

administration. However, given that the Plan here is silent on

waiver, this case does not mandate resolution of this issue, as

Rosemary’s waiver should be given effect under either

approach.

Although in some cases there may be a dispute over

whether particular language in a divorce settlement is specific

and definite enough to constitute waiver of a pension benefit,

there is no serious dispute here as to whether Rosemary’s waiver

was insufficient. It clearly identified the Plan and waives all

rights to benefits under the Plan. Accordingly, I would give

effect to Rosemary’s waiver.

-44-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.