Opinion

Mizuho Corporate Bank (USA) v. Cory & Associates, Inc.

  • 341 F.3d 644
Court
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
Filed
Aug 29, 2003
Status
Published
Author
Wood
On the bench
Bauer, Wood, Williams
Nature of suit
civil
Cited by
16 cases
Authority
More cited than 67.4%

The opinion

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

____________

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

MIZUHO CORPORATE BANK (USA),

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

CORY & ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Defendant-Third Party Plaintiff-Cross-Appellant,

v.

SWETT & CRAWFORD OF ILLINOIS, INC. (f/k/a INSURANCE

BROKERS SERVICE, INC.),

Third-Party Defendant-Appellant,

v.

TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Third-Party Defendant-Cross-Appellee.

____________

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 97 C 5827—Ronald A. Guzmán, Judge.

____________

ARGUED DECEMBER 5, 2002—DECIDED AUGUST 29, 2003

____________

2 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

Before BAUER, DIANE P. WOOD, and WILLIAMS, Circuit

Judges.

DIANE P. WOOD, Circuit Judge. Insurance is meant to

cushion the blow caused by a disaster; it is supposed to be

part of the solution, not part of the problem. In this case,

however, the contest is over who was responsible for inad-

equacies in the insurance policy itself, and who must bear

the uncovered losses. In general terms, this litigation arose

out of the bankruptcy proceeding of the under-insured par-

ty, Cyberstar and Caribbean Communications (CCC). One

of CCC’s creditors (International Bank of Japan, or IBJ1)

sued the retail insurance broker (Cory & Associates, or

Cory) that had procured the policy, and it in turn impleaded

the wholesale broker (Insurance Broker Services, Inc., or

IBSI) and the ultimate insurer (Travelers Indemnity

Company, or Travelers). One of the issues we are con-

sidering on appeal concerns the effect of a settlement

between IBJ and Cory in the main action on the eve of trial.

The district court ruled that this settlement resolved all

issues conclusively with respect to Cory’s alleged responsi-

bility for the expensive mishap, and it therefore limited the

trial to the question whether there was a fiduciary relation-

ship between Cory and IBSI. The jury decided that there

was, and thus stuck IBSI with the responsibility of paying

the entire amount (some $20 million) reached in the set-

tlement agreement. IBSI has appealed, claiming that this

was error. The district court should not have so restricted

the trial, and we therefore remand for further proceedings.

The second major point concerns the correctness of the

district court’s decision to grant summary judgment in favor

1

After the arguments in this case, International Bank of Japan

changed its name to Mizuho Corporate Bank. For convenience,

this opinion will continue to refer to this party as International

Bank of Japan, or IBJ.

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 3

of Travelers. We affirm the court’s ruling that Travelers

was entitled to summary judgment.

I

At the heart of this case is a simple but expensive com-

munication failure. In early 1995, CCC retained Cory to set

up insurance coverage in connection with CCC’s impending

purchase of a cable television operation in the U.S. Virgin

Islands. Cory initially attempted to arrange coverage di-

rectly, but ultimately it turned the placement over to IBSI,

which it thought would be better able to make sophisticated

placements of the sort CCC needed. IBSI, which had a long-

standing relationship with Travelers under a “Wholesale

Broker Agreement,” immediately identified Travelers as one

potential underwriter for the requested coverage. Under

that agreement, IBSI was authorized to undertake a variety

of tasks on behalf of Travelers, including the solicitation of

applications, the collection of premiums, and the holding of

funds on behalf of and as a fiduciary of Travelers. Further-

more, the agreement provided for the payment of commis-

sions to IBSI. The agreement did not, however, authorize

IBSI to issue insurance binders and specifically disavowed

any agency relationship between the two entities.

Over the course of several months, Cory and IBSI nego-

tiated the terms and conditions of the requested coverage

with at least two different insurance carriers, including

Travelers. IBSI obtained several price quotations, and the

parties passed the information up and down the chain of

command. Thus, the price quotations issued by Travelers

went first to IBSI, then to Cory, and finally to CCC. Ulti-

mately, CCC assented to the terms of the Travelers policy

and, speaking through Cory, gave IBSI instructions to bind.

IBSI, after consultation with Travelers, responded with

copies of a placement note.

The coverage negotiated by IBSI and Travelers became

4 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

effective on July 31, 1995. Six weeks later, Hurricane

Marilyn swept through the U.S. Virgin Islands and did sub-

stantial damage to CCC’s newly purchased cable facilities.

When CCC attempted to recover from Travelers for the

damage to the Caribbean facilities, a critical misunder-

standing came to light. CCC thought that Cory, on its be-

half, had entered into an insurance contract with Travelers

with coverage of nearly $8 million; Travelers took the posi-

tion that the IBSI-brokered policy set a cap on coverage at

$2.5 million. Travelers ultimately paid CCC $2.5 million;

the more than $5 million shortfall forced CCC into bank-

ruptcy. A liquidation followed in April 1996, in which all

CCC stock and claims were assigned to IBJ, one of CCC’s

principal lenders.

Although a detailed post-mortem of the coverage dispute

is unnecessary for the purposes of the present appeal, an

understanding of the possible reasons for the miscommun-

ication may help to shed light on the analysis to come. One

possible source of the problem was that Cory and IBSI ne-

gotiated the terms and conditions of the Travelers coverage,

but at no point did CCC, Cory, or Travelers communicate

directly with one another. Instead, IBSI remained the mid-

dleman throughout. In addition, at critical points IBSI took

documents prepared by Travelers and incorporated their

substance into its own documents, which it then used

to communicate terms and conditions to Cory. As a result,

the critical terms and conditions of the insurance coverage

moved up and down the chain in different document for-

mats. Finally, Travelers did not deliver the final paper

policy to CCC until several weeks after the hurricane. In

short, the parties were not, either literally or figuratively,

on the same page. Another possible reason for the miscom-

munication was that the postponement of CCC’s acquisition

of the Caribbean-based cable facilities necessitated two

separate rounds of bids from prospective insurers. Prior to

the delay in the facilities acquisition, a competing insurer

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 5

had quoted a premium of $100,000 for $5 million in cover-

age. The ISBI-communicated premium from Travelers of

$115,005 might have seemed to reflect coverage of the

nearly $8 million that Cory thought it had requested and

that CCC thought it was getting.

In August 1997, IBJ filed suit against Cory on behalf of

all lender banks as assignee of CCC, claiming negligence,

breach of fiduciary duty, breach of contract, and negligent

misrepresentation. In turn, Cory filed third-party com-

plaints against IBSI and Travelers. The portion of the

third-party complaint that was directed against IBSI closely

resembled IBJ’s amended complaint against Cory. The first

three of the five IBSI counts were specifically labeled

“contribution” and included theories of negligence (Count I),

breach of fiduciary duty (Count II), and negligent misrepre-

sentation (Count III). The remaining two counts against

IBSI contained no such labels and included theories of

breach of fiduciary duty (Count IV) and breach of contract

(Count V). The portion of the third-party complaint directed

against Travelers sought reformation (Count VI) and raised

theories of breach of contract (Count VII), tortious breach

of contract (Count VIII), and negligence based on agency

principles and respondeat superior (Count IX).

After more than a year of litigation, Travelers moved un-

der FED. R. CIV. P. 12(b)(6) to dismiss the remaining claims

Cory was asserting against it. The district court granted the

motion with respect to the reformation claim, but it denied

at that time to resolve the breach of contract and respondeat

superior theories. Travelers had better luck more than two

years later when it moved for summary judgment on the

remaining counts. At that point, in an order dated May 10,

2001, the court granted summary judgment in favor of

Travelers, reasoning that Cory lacked the requisite stand-

ing for the breach of contract claims because it could not

plausibly claim status as a third-party beneficiary of the

6 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

Travelers-CCC insurance contract and that there was no

agency relationship between IBSI and Travelers that could

support a theory of respondeat superior liability.

On May 18, 2001, with trial rapidly approaching, IBJ and

Cory reached an agreement settling IBJ’s claims. The

settlement agreement fixed the total amount of IBJ’s claims

at $20,367,519. It contained a complicated formula for the

satisfaction of that claim by Cory, whereby a graduated

percentage of the money recovered by IBJ from IBSI would

be allocated back to Cory as a credit against the $4 million

it had agreed to pay to IBJ under the settlement agreement,

up to a maximum of $4,375,000. Under the terms of this

agreement, a large recovery by IBJ against IBSI would

actually produce a net gain to Cory of $375,000. It is this

part of the settlement that IBSI has labeled a “kickback”

provision.

IBSI objected to the settlement on reasonableness

grounds and moved to dismiss the claims assigned to IBJ by

Cory as part of the settlement agreement for failure to state

a claim. The district court granted partial relief in a June

6 order, which dismissed all but two claims. The court first

noted that Cory had not pursued Counts I and III, which it

concluded were both barred anyway by the Illinois Joint

Tortfeasor Contribution Act, 740 ILCS 100/1 et seq. As for

Count II, there was no problem under the Joint Tortfeasor

Act because as a breach of fiduciary duty claim it did not

fall under that statute. The court found in IBSI’s favor,

however, because the Illinois Insurance Placement Liability

Act (IPLA), 735 ILCS 5/2-2201(b), which applies to fiduciary

duty claims against all insurance “producers,” barred the

claim. This necessarily entailed a finding that Count II

stated a claim for indemnity and that it arose after the

January 1, 1997, effective date of the IPLA.

The district court found that the IPLA bar did not apply

to Count IV, because it was not really an indemnity claim.

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 7

This implied that the Count IV claim accrued prior to the

effective date of the IPLA and thus had to be tried, as did

Count V. The court concluded that both Counts IV and V

of Cory’s third-party complaint were proper under FED. R.

CIV. P. 14(a), since the rule permits the defendant-third-

party plaintiff (here, Cory) to assert a claim against some-

one (i.e., IBSI) who is or may be liable for “all or part of the

plaintiff’s claim against the third-party plaintiff.” The court

rejected IBSI’s claim that only Cory’s professional liability

insurer, as subrogee of Cory’s claims, could bring the third-

party complaint at issue. The court thus upheld the overall

settlement agreement and dismissed Cory from the action

with prejudice.

IBJ and IBSI proceeded to trial on the breach of fiduciary

duty and breach of contract theories. But the trial was not

what IBSI had expected. At the final pre-trial conference,

the court decided that the issues of Cory’s fault, proximate

cause, and damages were no longer open to contest. A proxi-

mate cause instruction, according to the district court, was

not necessary because “there is an indemnification type of

relationship here.” The district court ruled that damages

would be fixed at $20,367,519, as stipulated in the IBJ-Cory

settlement agreement. Asked only to find whether a fidu-

ciary relationship existed between Cory and IBSI, the jury

returned a verdict in favor of IBJ, as Cory’s assignee. The

court then entered judgment for IBJ on December 17, 2001,

in the precise amount of the settlement. This appeal fol-

lowed.

II

Our resolution of the IBJ-IBSI portion of this case hinges

on the characterization question that has dogged the pro-

ceedings throughout: after the settlement between IBJ and

Cory, was the only remaining question in the case the issue

8 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

of IBSI’s duty to indemnify Cory for its (implicit) payment

to IBJ, or was the question whether IBSI had breached any

fiduciary duty to IBJ’s predecessor CCC still open to con-

test?

The consequences of the choice between these two alter-

natives are enormous. First, it determines when the claim

arose. Depending on when the claim accrued, Cory and IBSI

are either entitled or not entitled to protection under IPLA,

which explicitly immunizes insurance producers like IBSI

and Cory from fiduciary duty claims arising after its

effective date. And most importantly, the proper character-

ization defines what issues should have been submitted to

the jury. We take those points in turn.

Under Illinois law, a general (i.e., non-indemnity) claim

accrues when all elements are present and a party can

invoke the aid of the court. See Draper v. Frontier Ins. Co.,

638 N.E.2d 1176, 1180 (Ill. App. Ct. 1994). Cory claimed

that it incurred legal fees and expenses in defense of IBJ’s

claims as early as the fall of 1995 and thus its claim ac-

crued at that time. IBJ and Cory did not settle their part of

the dispute until May 18, 2001. Indemnity claims, in con-

trast, do not accrue until the main action has been resolved

via judgment or settlement. See Anixter Bros. v. Cent. Steel

& Wire Co., 463 N.E.2d 913, 918 (Ill. App. Ct. 1984).

IBJ argues that the Anixter Bros. rule was modified by

the later Illinois Supreme Court decision in Gerill Corp. v.

Jack L. Hargrove Builders, Inc., 538 N.E.2d 530 (Ill. 1989).

There, the Illinois Supreme Court stated that an indemnifi-

cation claim accrues when “the indemnitee either has had

a judgment entered against him for damages, or has made

payments or suffered actual loss.” Id. at 539 (emphasis

added). Under that test, according to IBJ, Cory’s claim

accrued in 1995 regardless of how we characterize Count

IV, so long as Cory can prove that it incurred costs at that

time. But the Illinois Supreme Court itself has had more to

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 9

say since Gerill Corp. was decided. In Guzman v. C.R.

Epperson Construction, Inc., 752 N.E.2d 1069, 1075 (Ill.

2001), it cited with approval the exact language used in

Anixter that places the time of accrual of an indemnity

claim at the point at which a judgment or settlement

occurs. Moreover, the Guzman court noted that allowing an

indemnity claim to accrue prior to settlement or judgment

would have the perverse effect of requiring third-party

complainants to “file numerous anticipatory claims well

before they are sued, even if such litigation might later be

unnecessary because the original plaintiff does not sue.” Id.

at 1075 (internal quotation marks and citations omitted). If,

therefore, Count IV is properly viewed as an indemnity

claim (and no one doubts that it is governed by Illinois law),

then it accrued in May 2001.

That late accrual date would be enough to dispose of IBJ’s

assigned claim altogether. IPLA took effect on January 1,

1997. That statute explicitly immunizes insurance providers

such as IBSI and Cory from “civil liability under standards

governing the conduct of a fiduciary or a fiduciary relation-

ship . . . .” 735 ILCS 5/2-2201(b). But the Act is of no help to

IBSI if IBJ is correct that the claim accrued earlier than

1997.

We turn, therefore, to the central point: the proper char-

acterization of Count IV. We begin with the language of the

complaint, following the rule that the plaintiff is the master

of its own litigation. Reading Cory’s third-party complaint

as a whole, we see that it specifically applied the label

“Contribution” to each of the first three counts, but not to

Count IV or the other remaining theories. Count IV is

entitled simply, “Breach of Fiduciary Duty to Cory—IBSI.”

Taking Cory at its word, therefore, it was apparently rais-

ing only a normal claim of a breach of fiduciary duty. See,

e.g., Indiana Ins. Co. v. Machon & Machon, Inc., 753 N.E.2d

442, 446 (Ill. App. Ct. 2001) (refusing to re-characterize a

10 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

claim as an indemnity claim where the word “indemnity”

was “[c]onspicuously absent” from the complaint, save in

the ad damnum clause in each count of the complaint).

Beyond this, as the district court noted, a separate part of

the third-party complaint (Count II) much more clearly

raised a claim for indemnification. There is no reason to

think that Cory was raising a completely redundant theory

of indemnification in Count IV, rather than pleading in the

alternative under the related breach of fiduciary duty con-

cept. This is so even though there is an obvious factual and

legal overlap between the two theories. Cory has asserted

throughout that it acted at the direction of IBSI, or in re-

liance on misrepresentations made by IBSI, and that it

(Cory) believed throughout that it was acting properly.

There is generally nothing wrong with alternative pleading,

which is all that this complaint has done.

We conclude, as the district court did, that Count IV was

exactly what Cory said it was: a general claim for breach of

fiduciary duty. We also agree with the district court that

the claim accrued in the fall of 1995, well before the effec-

tive date of the IPLA, when Cory hired counsel to defend

against the original complaint brought by IBJ. The court

explained that Cory could have sued IBSI at that time for

breach of contract and fiduciary duty once legal fees and

expenses were incurred. IBSI’s principal response is that

there is no record evidence that Cory in fact incurred at-

torney’s fees or expenses in 1995. But the record points to

enough evidence of earlier expenses to support the district

court’s decision on this point. For example, Cory offered at

a pre-trial hearing to call Patrick Jean-Baptiste (of Cory) to

testify that Cory did in fact hire investigators and a lawyer

in 1995 and 1996. The district court declined the invitation,

noting that it did not “see the need to establish actual

damages [in]curred at that point.” IBJ’s opposition to IBSI’s

motion for judgment as a matter of law also mentions the

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 11

retention of investigators and counsel, putting the informa-

tion before the district court, albeit in a post-trial motion.

The breach of fiduciary duty claim accrued prior to the ef-

fective date of the IPLA, and IBSI is thus not entitled to the

automatic exemption from liability for breaches of fiduciary

duty afforded by that statute.

The point at which we diverge from the district court is

whether it was correct to allow the jury to decide only

whether a fiduciary duty existed and to keep from it the

issues of Cory’s own fault, proximate cause, and damages.

In coming to its decision that the settlement agreement

between IBJ and Cory conclusively resolved all issues in the

IBSI litigation except for the question whether IBSI owed

a fiduciary duty to Cory, the district court went astray by

relying on a line of cases that is rooted in the insurance or

indemnity context. The critical fact in those cases was the

insurer’s breach of a duty to defend and the consequences

that flowed from that breach. See, e.g., Platinum Tech., Inc.

v. Fed. Ins. Co., 282 F.3d 927 (7th Cir. 2002) (insured

software company brought suit against its insurer for

breach of duty to defend and indemnify after the insurer

refused to reimburse the insured for the cost of its settle-

ment in a trademark infringement suit); Vitkus v. Beatrice

Co., 127 F.3d 936 (10th Cir. 1997) (employee lawsuit

against a former employer, self-insured for D&O liability

insurance, for refusal to defend); United States Gypsum Co.

v. Admiral Ins. Co., 643 N.E.2d 1226 (Ill. App. Ct. 1994)

(insured asbestos manufacturer sought declaratory judg-

ment as to policy coverage by insurer); St. Paul Fire &

Marine Ins. Co. v. Michelin Tire Corp., 298 N.E.2d 289 (Ill.

App. Ct. 1973) (indemnification claim by retailer against

manufacturer of tire that caused vehicular accident). Here,

we have nothing of the sort: IBSI owed no duty to defend

either Cory or IBJ. All three parties were instead ordinary

adversaries in ordinary litigation.

12 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

Furthermore, even if Cory’s fiduciary duty claim might be

susceptible to characterization as an implied indemnity

claim (and, in turn, even if the claim was somehow not

barred by IPLA), Illinois law would not have regarded the

IBJ/Cory settlement as precluding IBSI’s ability to prove

Cory’s fault. This is because Cory and IBSI were at all rel-

evant times merely brokers working under a contract to

provide brokerage services to Travelers and CCC and never

stood in an insurer-insured relationship to one another.

This means that any indemnity claim Cory brought against

IBSI would have to be an implied indemnity claim rather

than a pure indemnity claim.

Implied indemnity claims arise where the parties have

failed to include an indemnity provision in an agreement,

and there is reason for a court to read such a provision into

the agreement. Jinwoong, Inc. v. Jinwoong, Inc., 310 F.3d

962, 965 (7th Cir. 2002); see also Am. Nat’l Bank & Trust

Co. v. Columbus-Cuneo-Cabrini Med. Ctr., 609 N.E.2d 285,

287-88 (Ill. 1992). “The underlying principle is that the

party that is in the better position to avoid liability is given

an incentive to do so by being made responsible for the con-

sequences.” Jinwoong, 310 F.3d at 965; see also McMunn v.

Hertz Equip. Rental Corp., 791 F.2d 88, 91 (7th Cir. 1986);

Hillier v. S. Towing Co., 714 F.2d 714, 720 (7th Cir. 1983).

But while insurance and pure indemnity claims frequently

center on the insurer’s duty to defend, implied indemnity

actions lie only where one party is in some sense “at fault,”

and the other party is blameless though liable—typically

because of strict liability, respondeat superior, implied war-

ranty, or some other legal principle that imposed liability

regardless of fault. See Jinwoong, 310 F.3d at 965. A claim

of implied indemnity under Illinois law arises only where

the indemnitee (here, Cory) was guiltless with respect to

the underlying tort. See Columbus-Cuneo-Cabrini Med.

Ctr., 609 N.E.2d at 287-88; Frazer v. A.F. Munsterman, 527

N.E.2d 1248, 1251 (Ill. 1988); Kerschner v. Weiss & Co., 667

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 13

N.E.2d 1351, 1355-56 (Ill. App. Ct. 1996). By its nature, the

settlement agreement between IBJ and Cory could not have

established Cory’s blamelessness vis à vis IBSI, a stranger

to that agreement.

Finally, IBJ suggests that the truncated trial proceedings

can be justified by reference to traditional principles of

issue preclusion. But for a variety of reasons this is wrong.

Perhaps the most obvious is that issue preclusion applies,

under the law of Illinois, only to questions that were “act-

ually litigated,” see La Preferida, Inc. v. Cerveceria Modelo,

S.A. de C.V., 914 F.2d 900, 905 (7th Cir. 1990); DuPage

Forklift Serv., Inc. v. Material Handling Servs., Inc., 744

N.E.2d 845, 849 (Ill. 2001); Am. Family Mut. Ins. Co. v.

Savickas, 739 N.E.2d 445, 451 (Ill. 2000), and settlements

do not count as “actual litigation,” see Rockford Mut. Ins.

Co. v. Amerisure Ins. Co., 925 F.2d 193, 198 (7th Cir. 1991).

Furthermore, principles of preclusion are not pertinent un-

til the first lawsuit has been concluded and a second, sep-

arate proceeding is underway. Within a particular suit, the

correct doctrine to consider is law of the case. Even from

that perspective, however, there was no judicial determina-

tion about Cory’s responsibility.

Our decision with respect to the proper treatment of

Count IV makes it unnecessary for us to consider IBSI’s

objection to the original settlement between Cory and IBJ.

Because a jury will decide on remand whether IBSI is liable

to Cory, and if so to what extent, any ultimate judgment

will not be affected by the amount or the terms of the set-

tlement.

III

We next address Cory’s cross-appeal from the summary

judgment in favor of Travelers on its breach of contract and

14 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

respondeat superior negligence claims. We review the dis-

trict court’s grant of summary judgment de novo, viewing

the record in the light most favorable to Cory and drawing

all reasonable inferences in its favor. Amadio v. Ford Motor

Co., 238 F.3d 919, 921 (7th Cir. 2001).

With respect to the contract claim, the district court ruled

that Cory did not have a legally cognizable interest in the

insurance agreement between Travelers and CCC. As a

third party, Cory could recover only if “the contract [was]

undertaken for the plaintiff’s direct benefit and the contract

itself . . . affirmatively make[s] this clear.” Caswell v. Zoya

Int’l, Inc., 654 N.E.2d 552, 554 (Ill. App. Ct. 1995) (internal

quotation marks and citation omitted). We agree that Cory

had to show that Travelers and CCC intended in their con-

tract to confer a benefit on Cory.

The insurance contract between Travelers and CCC does

not even mention Cory, let alone affirmatively state that it

was undertaken for Cory’s direct benefit. Cory argues,

however, that this court’s decision in Prince v. Royal

Indemnity Co., 541 F.2d 646 (7th Cir. 1976), would allow it

to recover. But Prince is easily distinguished from Cory’s

situation. Prince stands for the proposition that an insured

who tries to assign a property insurance policy to a third

party, but fails to complete the assignment because it did

not get the insurer’s consent, retains an insurable interest

in the property sufficient to recover under the policy. See id.

at 650. The relationship between a retail and a wholesale

broker, and each of their connections with the insured party

and the insurer, are entirely different. Cory was never an

insured or even a potential insured under the policy issued

by Travelers, and thus it cannot rely on Prince to support

its case. The district court properly dismissed Cory’s breach

of contract claim against Travelers, because it had no legal

interest in the terms of the ultimate insurance agreement.

Cory next contends that the district court erred in find-

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 15

ing that IBSI and Travelers lacked the necessary agency

relationship to obtain relief under a respondeat superior

theory of liability. In Cory’s view, the record would support

a finding that Travelers deliberately used IBSI to communi-

cate with CCC and that Travelers, pursuant to the Whole-

sale Broker Agreement, authorized IBSI to engage in vari-

ous agent-like activities on its behalf. These facts, in turn,

Cory argues, are enough to establish vicarious liability un-

der Illinois law.

The district court relied on a four-part test that the

Illinois courts have created for determining whether an

insurance broker is acting on behalf of the insured, the in-

surer, or both, under which it must consider (1) who called

the intermediary into action; (2) who controls its actions; (3)

who pays the intermediary; and (4) whose interests the in-

termediary represents. See Moone v. Commercial Cas. Ins.

Co., 112 N.E.2d 626, 629 (Ill. App. Ct. 1953); see also A&B

Freight Line, Inc. v. Ryan, 576 N.E.2d 563, 566 (Ill. App. Ct.

1991); Krause v. Pekin Life Ins. Co., 551 N.E.2d 395, 399

(Ill. App. Ct. 1990); Roby v. Decatur Steel Erectors, Inc., 375

N.E.2d 1355, 1359 (Ill. App. Ct. 1978). Another Illinois case

mentions factors such as “an agent’s fixed and permanent

relationship to the company he represents, conduct incon-

sistent with an agency relationship with a client, whether

the client first approached the person, and whether the per-

son dealt directly with the insurance company.” Northtown

Warehouse & Transp. Co. v. Transamerica Ins. Co., 507

N.E.2d 189, 192 (Ill. App. Ct. 1987). Using the four-part

test, the district court found that there was no agency rela-

tionship between IBSI and Travelers.

We agree. The record shows that it was Cory that initially

approached IBSI and called IBSI “into action” by giving

IBSI instructions to secure a quote from various insurers,

among them Travelers. Cory also controlled IBSI both by

directing IBSI to secure the initial price quotes from

16 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

insurers and by giving final instructions to IBSI to procure

the actual policy from Travelers. It would be absurd to say

that Travelers controlled IBSI, since IBSI remained free to

the very end to negotiate with other insurers and to

recommend other insurers to Cory and CCC. IBSI repre-

sented the interests of Cory and not Travelers. In fact, IBSI

was explicitly attempting to wrest from Travelers the

lowest possible price quote to take back to Cory and CCC.

True, the existence of a commission relationship between

IBSI and Travelers suggests that there were countervailing

incentives in terms of price competition, but this is not

enough standing alone to establish an agency relationship.

See Golden Rule Ins. Co. v. Michely, 555 N.E.2d 1047, 1050-

51 (Ill. App. Ct. 1990) (finding no agency relationship where

broker-insurer agreement provided, among other things, for

payment of commissions for placements); 12 AM. JUR. 2D

BROKERS § 42 (stating that the rendering of a commission

alone is not enough to establish agency).

Assuming, therefore, that Moone represents the author-

itative Illinois law on the subject, the district court prop-

erly found that IBSI was a broker that sought out price

quotes for clients by canvassing a range of possible insur-

ers, rather than an agent with an “fixed and permanent

relationship” to any particular insurer. Perhaps recognizing

this, Cory argues in the alternative that the Moone test

does not preclude recourse to traditional agency principles,

and that its claims come within two established exceptions

to Moone.

Illinois courts have found that the Moone test is inappli-

cable where there is an agency agreement that explicitly

grants a broker the power to bind the insurer—in short,

where there exists actual (express) authority. In Zannini v.

Reliance Ins. Co., 590 N.E.2d 457 (1992), the Illinois Su-

preme Court held that the existence of an agency agree-

ment that gave the broker the authority to bind the insurer

rendered unnecessary resort to the four-part test in Moone.

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 17

Id. at 463. The agreement in Zannini explicitly provided

that the broker was an “agent” and had the authority to

“bind coverage and execute contracts in accordance with the

guidelines furnished from time to time by the Company

or as authorized by the Company with respect to specific

risks.” Id. at 463. Under Zannini, Cory cannot prevail. The

Wholesale Broker Agreement that governed the relations of

IBSI and Travelers granted IBSI authority to do a variety

of things—solicit applications for insurance, collect premi-

ums, be paid commissions by Travelers, and hold funds in

behalf of and as fiduciary of Travelers—but expressly with-

held from IBSI the authority to bind Travelers. Thus, the

first exception to the Moone test on which Cory attempts to

rely is inapposite.

A second context in which Illinois courts have departed

from Moone is where an insurer uses a broker to perform

particular services and thereby vests the broker with ap-

parent authority to act on behalf of the insurer. In such

situations, an insurance company may be estopped to deny

the agency of the broker. See Empire Fire & Marine Ins. Co.

v. Faith Truck Lines, Inc., 533 N.E.2d 441, 443-44 (Ill. App.

Ct. 1988); Ledbetter v. Crudup, 449 N.E.2d 265, 267 (Ill.

App. Ct. 1983). That, however, is not our case. The Illinois

Supreme Court’s decision in State Security Insurance Co. v.

Burgos, 583 N.E.2d 547 (Ill. 1991), provides a useful

contrast. There, an insurer tried to deny a claim from an

insured because the insured had submitted its claim notice

to the insurer’s broker, rather than the insurer itself. The

Illinois Supreme Court found for the plaintiff and held that

the insurer had vested the broker with apparent authority

based on a course of dealing. Id. at 552, 554. The Court

rested its decision on at least three aspects of the insurer-

broker relationship, including the insurer’s use of the bro-

ker as a “conduit” for delivering policies, the billing and col-

lection of premiums, and the mailing of notices regarding

cancellation, renewals, or premium changes. Id. at 549-50,

18 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

552. The Court also seized upon language on the declara-

tions page of the actual paper policy designating the broker

as the insurer’s “representative” and including the words

“Agent or Broker—,” as well as deposition testimony from

an employee of the insurer who stated that he had received

notice of claims from both insureds and brokers alike in the

past. Id. at 552-54.

In the present case, although Travelers relied exclusively

on IBSI for communication of policy information during the

negotiation phase, it did no more. Unlike the Burgos sit-

uation, where the intermediary role played by the broker

continued long after the procurement process was com-

pleted, IBSI’s role was far more limited. Under Illinois law,

as Burgos makes clear, procurement—which presumably

includes price quotations and the sort of go-between com-

munication provided by IBSI—cannot establish agency

through apparent authority and a course of dealing. A deci-

sion on the facts of Cory’s case would represent, at a mini-

mum, a vast expansion of Burgos, and one that we believe

would be inconsistent with the lines the Illinois courts have

drawn. Such an outcome would transform all brokering into

an agency relationship and all provision of brokerage

services into a source of respondeat superior liability. We

respectfully leave such a major change in the law to Illinois

courts.

Last, Cory tries to save its case by arguing that Travel-ers

ratified the statements of the IBSI representatives and that

Travelers and CCC entered into an oral contract of insur-

ance with liability limits of $7,667,000. Neither theory has

merit. In order for a ratification to occur, Travelers must

have known of the miscommunication or otherwise reviewed

the placement note as executed by IBSI, believed it was

ambiguous or otherwise unclear, and yet did nothing to

correct or clarify the misleading language. Here, the record

shows that the documents reaching Travelers consistently

Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210 19

set a $2.5 million cap on liability. The record evidence thus

can support only the conclusion that whatever misunder-

standing created the shortfall in coverage was internal to

the communication between IBSI, Cory, and CCC, and that

Travelers believed from start to finish that it was providing

a policy with a coverage cap of $2.5 million. Accordingly,

Travelers could not have ratified the mistaken internal

communication between the brokers because all of the

documents that passed from Travelers to IBSI and from

IBSI to Cory correctly stated the relevant liability limits.

Cory’s final attempt at establishing liability on the part

of Travelers is to argue that Travelers and CCC entered

into an oral contract of insurance with liability limits

of $7,667,000. We are perplexed by this argument. Cory

is putting the cart before the horse. Because Travelers

never communicated directly with Cory or CCC, there can-

not have been any oral contract unless IBSI was an agent

of Travelers. But, if the necessary agency relationship ex-

isted between IBSI and Travelers, then Cory’s oral contract

argument is irrelevant because Cory could proceed under its

respondeat superior theory of liability. Thus, Cory’s ar-

gument about the alleged formation of an oral contract is

unavailing and would be redundant if it was not.

IV

It is regrettable in a case of this complexity to require

yet more proceedings, but as we have explained, IBSI was

entitled to a full trial on the breach of fiduciary claim, as

opposed to the abbreviated proceeding it received. On the

other hand, for the reasons we have explained, Travelers

was entitled to summary judgment on the breach of con-

tract and respondeat superior negligence claims. The judg-

ment of the district court is AFFIRMED in part and VACATED

in part, and the case is REMANDED to the district court for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs on

20 Nos. 02-1126 & 02-1210

appeal shall be assessed against IBJ and Cory.

A true Copy:

Teste:

________________________________

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA-02-C-0072—8-29-03

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.