Opinion

Holman, Roger D. v. RRRB

Court
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
Filed
Jun 13, 2001
Status
Published
On the bench
Per Curiam
Nature of suit
agency
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.7%

The opinion

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 00-3816

ROGER D. HOLMAN,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED STATES RAILROAD

RETIREMENT BOARD,

Respondent.

Petition for Review of a Decision of the

United States Railroad Retirement Board

Argued April 5, 2001--Decided June 13, 2001

Before BAUER, RIPPLE, and EVANS, Circuit

Judges.

EVANS, Circuit Judge. Roger D. Holman

petitions for review of the United States

Railroad Retirement Board’s computation

of his railroad retirement widower’s

annuity benefits. The Board concluded

that Holman did not qualify for

additional payments in his widower’s

annuity because he was not receiving at

least 50 percent of his support from his

wife in the year before her death. On

this petition for review, Holman argues

that the Board’s use of a dependency

requirement violates his constitutional

right to equal protection under the law

because only men are required to

demonstrate dependency to qualify for

additional benefits. He also contends

that the Board did not follow its own

regulations when it disregarded household

services rendered by his wife in

determining that he was not one-half

dependent on her for support. The first

of these two issues occupies most of the

space devoted to this opinion.

Holman and his wife Mary Ann were

lifelong employees of the Burlington

Northern Railroad. Mrs. Holman began

working as a railroad clerk at Burlington

Northern in October 1955 at the age of

19. Mr. Holman began working at the same

railroad as a switchman at the age of 20.

Both were employed at Burlington Northern

for their entire working lives.

In June 1994 Mrs. Holman was diagnosed

with cancer. She retired in May 1996 and

Mr. Holman retired a month later. Mrs.

Holman passed away on October 17, 1997.

Eleven days later Mr. Holman applied for

widower’s annuity benefits based upon his

deceased wife’s earnings under the

Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, 45

U.S.C. sec. 231 et seq. Under 45 U.S.C.

sec. 231a(d)(1)(i), a widower of a

qualified deceased railroad employee is

entitled to annuity benefits if he is at

least 60 years old and has not remarried.

See Crown v. United States R.R.

Retirement Bd., 811 F.2d 1017, 1019 (7th

Cir. 1987).

Widower annuity amounts under 45 U.S.C.

sec. 231c consist of two tiers. The first

tier is the amount of insurance benefits

to which the widower would have been

entitled under the Social Security Act if

the deceased employee’s service as an

employee after December 31, 1936, had

been included in the term of employment

as defined in that Act. See 45 U.S.C.

sec. 231c(f)(1). In other words, this

first tier is the amount of the widower’s

benefits payable under the Social

Security Act based upon the same earnings

period. See Crown, 811 F.2d at 1019. The

Social Security Act has its own

entitlement section, 42 U.S.C. sec. 402,

which entitles Mr. Holman to an annuity

equal to the primary insurance amount of

his deceased wife. Id. This amount,

however, must be reduced by the amount of

retirement benefits the widower is

receiving. See 45 U.S.C. sec. 231c(i)(2).

Here, Mr. Holman’s tier one retirement

benefits exceeded his widower’s benefits,

and so his tier one benefit total was a

net zero.

The second tier provides for certain

increases in the annuity amount derived

from the tier one calculation. See 45

U.S.C. sec. 231c(g). This second tier is

an amount computed solely on the basis of

the deceased employee’s individual

railroad employment. Under this

computation a widower is entitled to an

additional annuity amount that is 50

percent of the deceased worker’s tier two

amount. Crown, 811 F.2d at 1019-20.

The Railroad Retirement Act also

provides for a "restored amount" to be

added to the tier two component of the

annuity of a widower who would have

qualified for an annuity under the

Railroad Retirement Act of 1937 as

administered on December 31, 1974. 45

U.S.C. sec. 231c(g)(4). Section 4(g)(4)

governs the payment of a "restored

amount":

If a . . . widower of a deceased employee

is entitled to an annuity under section

231a(a)(1) of this title and if either

such . . . widower or such deceased

employee will have completed 10 years of

service prior to January 1, 1975, the

amount of the annuity of such . . .

widower . . . shall be increased by an

amount equal to the amount, if any, by

which (A) the . . . widower’s insurance

annuity to which such . . . widower would

have been entitled, upon attaining age

65, under section 5(a) of the Railroad

Retirement Act of 1937 as in effect on

December 31, 1974 . . . exceeds (B) the

total of the annuity amounts to which

such . . . widower was entitled . . . .

45 U.S.C. sec. 231c(g)(4). This "restored

amount" is the difference between what

the widower would have received under the

Railroad Retirement Act of 1937 (where

there would have been no reduction for

entitlement to a second annuity) and what

the widower did receive under the Act

(after the tier one calculation is

reduced due to the widower’s receipt of a

railroad retirement employee’s annuity).

Crown, 811 F.2d at 1021. Section 5(l)(i)

of the 1937 Act, however, conditions

eligibility for a restored amount upon

the widower’s (but not a widow’s) receipt

of at least one-half of his support from

his wife. Id. at 1020.

Here, Mr. Holman submitted an

"Application for Widower’s Annuity." Male

applicants must submit a "Statement

Regarding Contributions and Support"

demonstrating one-half dependence on

their deceased spouse. Holman stated on

his application that he was dependent on

his wife for 50 percent of his necessary

living expenses. The award that Holman

ultimately received, however, did not

contain a "restored amount," and after

his motion for reconsideration was

denied, he appealed to the Board’s Bureau

of Hearings, arguing that the tier two

portion of his annuity should be

increased because he was dependent upon

his wife for one-half of his support at

the time of her death. The hearings

officer denied his appeal. Holman then

appealed to a three-member panel of the

Board, which remanded the case to the

hearings officer to make further findings

based on additional evidence newly

submitted. The hearings officer evaluated

the additional evidence and again denied

Holman’s claim for a restored amount.

On appeal for the second time, Holman

submitted additional information

regarding his ordinary and necessary

living expenses. Once again, the Board

remanded the case, concluding that the

hearings officer erred by using a "pooled

income" theory, which examines the

relative incomes of the parties. The

Board instructed the hearings officer to

determine whether Holman received regular

contributions from his wife that were at

least one-half of his ordinary and

necessary living expenses. Under 20

C.F.R. sec. 222.43, that determination

requires an evaluation of the

reasonableness of Holman’s claimed

expenses. On remand the second time, the

hearings officer again ruled that Holman

did not demonstrate a sufficient level of

dependency for the year before his wife’s

death.

On appeal for the third time, Holman

argued that it is unconstitutional to

require a widower, but not a widow, to

establish dependency. The Board summarily

rejected that argument, stating only that

its "application of section 4(g)(4) to

widowers was upheld in Crown v. U.S.

Railroad Retirement Bd., 811 F.2d 1017

(7th Cir. 1987)." Next, Holman argued

that the hearings officer incorrectly

interpreted the Board’s regulations by

discounting the value of household

services performed by Mrs. Holman. Holman

had claimed that his wife contributed

nearly $48,000 in household services

(through laundry, cooking, and cleaning),

but the Board, citing Social Security

Ruling 60-23 (1960), concluded that such

personal services are not the type of

services that should be considered in

making a support determination.

Consequently, the Board affirmed

thehearings officer’s decision that

Holman was not entitled to the "restored

amount." He now petitions for review of

that decision pursuant to 45 U.S.C. sec.

231g, which gives us jurisdiction to

entertain his plea.

Our review is limited to determining

whether the Board’s decision is supported

by substantial evidence and has a

reasonable basis in law. Wassenberg v.

United States R.R. Retirement Bd., 75

F.3d 294, 296 (7th Cir. 1996). The

Board’s interpretation of the Act and its

own regulations, if reasonable, are

entitled to deference. Id.

Holman first argues that the Board’s

application of sec. 231c(g)(4) violates

equal protection because it requires

widowed spouses of retired female

employees, but not widowed spouses of

retired male employees, to prove actual

dependency in order to qualify for a

"restored amount" in the annuity

calculation. In support of his position

Holman cites two cases that struck down

similar dependency requirements on equal

protection grounds: Califano v. Goldfarb,

430 U.S. 199 (1977), and a case from the

Sixth Circuit, Kalina v. Railroad

Retirement Board, 541 F.2d 1204 (6th Cir.

1976), aff’d, 431 U.S. 909 (1977). In

Goldfarb, the Supreme Court held that a

provision in the Social Security Act

requiring husbands, but not wives, to

prove dependency on their insured spouse

in order to receive spousal social secur

ity benefits violated the Fifth

Amendment. 430 U.S. at 206-07. The Court

concluded that the provision’s gender

classification rested upon "old notions"

and "’archaic and overbroad’

generalizations" that offend the

prohibitions against denial of equal

protection of the law. Id. at 211.

In Kalina, decided before Goldfarb, the

Sixth Circuit concluded that the 1937

Act’s dependency requirement violated

equal protection because it treated

similarly situated men and women

differently, without a legally sufficient

basis for doing so. Kalina, 541 F.2d at

1205. The 1937 Act, in identifying

persons eligible for an annuity, defined

"spouse" to include only husbands who

were receiving at least one-half of their

support from their wives. Id. at n.1.

"The legislative history of the provision

of the Railroad Retirement Act challenged

here suggests no reason for the

discriminatory treatment of male and

female employees with respect to the

spouse’s annuity." Id. at 1208. The Sixth

Circuit noted that the provision

primarily aimed to increase benefits to

retired workers and their families. Id.

The court noted that "it is not

unreasonable to conclude" that when

Congress confined benefits to only those

husbands who were one-half dependent on

their wives, it embraced the overbroad

(and unconstitutional) generalization

that male workers’ earnings necessarily

sustained their families, but female

workers’ earnings did not. Id. Finally,

the court noted that the 1937 Act’s

definition was borrowed from the Social

Security Act, 42 U.S.C. sec.

402(c)(1)(C), and that several courts had

struck down that provision on equal

protection grounds. Id.

Holman argues that under Goldfarb and

the persuasive authority of Kalina, the

Board’s decision improperly denied him a

"restored amount" by operation of

dependency requirements that violate the

Fifth Amendment. The Board’s

incorporation of the dependency

requirement through sec. 231c(g)(4),

Holman asserts, improperly attempts to

grandfather an unconstitutional

provision. He argues that "an

unconstitutional law is ’in legal

contemplation, as inoperative as though

it had never passed.’" Gebbie v. United

States R.R. Retirement Bd., 631 F.2d 512,

516 (7th Cir. 1980) (citing Norton v.

Shelby County, 188 U.S. 425, 442 (1886)).

Finally, Holman argues that although sec.

231c(g)(4) may appear gender-neutral on

its face, it necessarily requires the

application of unconstitutional gender-

based dependency requirements.

In response to Holman’s position, the

Board argues that our decision in Crown

already upheld the constitutionality of

sec. 231c(g)(4). In Crown, we affirmed

the benefit computations made for a

petitioner in the same position as

Holman. We concluded that under the 1937

Act, Crown could not have qualified for a

widower’s annuity because he was a

nondependent male. Crown, 811 F.2d at

1020-21. The Board argues that Crown

"could not have been decided in the

Board’s favor without the Court’s

approval of the application of the half-

support requirement contained in section

4(g)(4) of the Act." Whether this is true

or not we need not resolve, for the

Board’s primary argument is that sec.

231c (g)(4) is not a gender-based

classification but is instead a neutral,

rational provision aimed at reducing the

cost of "restored amounts" by limiting

their payment to those individuals who

would have reasonably expected to receive

both an employee annuity and a survivor’s

annuity under the 1937 Act without the

offset enacted in the Railroad Retirement

Act. In a nutshell, the Board argues that

provisions like sec. 231c(g)(4) do not

classify according to sex, but instead

operate to revive a past interpretation

of law for the legitimate purpose of

protecting annuitants’ expectations prior

to changes in the law. The Board points

out that sec. 231c (g)(4) was added to

the Act in 1976 as a technical amendment

to preserve dual benefit expectations of

beneficiaries who would receive more than

one benefit under the law. See H.R. No.

1465, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 7, reprinted

in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5601, 5606-07. To

preserve those expectations, sec.

231c(g)(4) requires that a widower’s

annuity be calculated under the law in

effect on December 31, 1974. According to

the Board, sec. 231c(g)(4) does not

violate the Fifth Amendment because it is

gender-neutral on its face (the provision

only requires annuity calculations to be

administered under the law in effect on

December 31, 1974) and is rationally

related to the nondiscriminatory purpose

of preserving the expectations of a

certain class of individuals. Thus, the

Board argues that Holman can expect to

receive a "restored amount" only if he

can demonstrate dependency, which

preserves what his entitlement would have

been in 1974.

The Board cites two cases to bolster its

argument that sec. 231c(g)(4) does not

violate equal protection: Frock v. United

States Railroad Retirement Board, 685

F.2d 1041 (7th Cir. 1981), and Heckler v.

Mathews, 465 U.S. 728 (1984). Frock

outlines briefly post-Goldfarb

developments regarding annuity

eligibility. In response to Goldfarb, the

Board changed its policy and provided all

workers with spousal social security

benefits. Frock, 685 F.2d at 1043. But at

the same time, the Board reduced workers’

railroad annuity benefits by an amount

equal to their spousal social security

benefits, based on sec. 231b(m), which

precludes the payment of dual benefits

(consisting of both employee annuity and

spousal social security benefits). Id.

Section 3(h)(6) precludes the payment of

dual benefits unless the individual’s

eligibility had been determined by August

13, 1981, under sec. 231b(h)(3) and (4).

Id. at 1045. Like sec. 231c(g)(4) in our

case, the Board read sec. 231b(h)(3) and

(4) to mandate the restoration of dual

benefits to female railroad retirees and

male retirees able to prove dependency.

Id. at 1043. The petitioners in Frock

argued that the Board’s action was an

attempt to "grandfather in" an

interpretation of 45 U.S.C. sec.

231b(h)(3) and (4), which violated the

Fifth Amendment. Id. at 1047-48. Section

231b(h)(3) and (4) contained the same

language as sec. 231c(g)(4), allowing

increases in annuity benefits equal to

the amount of social security benefits

accruing to them under the Social

Security Act as in effect on December 31,

1974. Id.

In Frock we rejected the petitioners’

argument and upheld the Board’s

interpretation of the statute. In doing

so, we rejected a "strict standard"

analysis, concluding that sec. 3(h)(6) is

facially neutral and "clearly

explainable" in terms of a

nondiscriminatory purpose. By enacting

the statute, Congress eliminated dual

benefits while ensuring continued

benefits to those who were receiving

them. Id. at 1048-49. "[S]ection 3(h)(6)

cannot rationally be explained as an

effort to discriminate on the basis of

gender. The class of persons excluded

from dual benefits under this section

will be composed of [dependent] men and

women." Id. at 1049.

In Heckler, the Supreme Court

unanimously upheld the constitutionality

of a provision in the Social Security Act

(similar to sec. 231c(g)(4)) that revived

a dependency requirement. In 1977, as

part of a general reform of the Social

Security system, Congress repealed

dependency requirements for widowers and

husbands. Congress concluded, however,

that elimination of the dependency test

would create a serious fiscal problem--

costing the system as much as $190

million in 1979--by increasing the number

of individuals entitled to unreduced

spousal benefits. Id. at 732. In 1977,

before these contemplated changes took

effect, retired civil servants could

receive dual benefits (both spousal and

employee benefits). Id. To avoid this

significant fiscal drain, Congress

included a "pension offset" requiring

that the amount of spousal benefits be

reduced by the amount of employee

pensions (analogous to the Railroad

Retirement Act’s tier one component). Id.

Congress estimated that 90 percent of the

savings resulting from this pension

offset would be achieved by reducing

payments to nondependent husbands and

widowers who had not been entitled to any

benefits before Goldfarb. Id. at 732-33.

But the remaining savings would come from

those individuals who had retired in

reliance on their entitlement under pre-

1977 law to spousal benefits unreduced by

employee benefits. Id. at 733. This group

included women and dependent men. Id. To

protect the reliance interests of this

group, Congress established a 5-year

grace period, from January 1977 to

December 1982, exempting such individuals

from the pension offset requirement. Id.

at 742. Thus, these changes to the Social

Security Act, like sec. 231c(g)(4),

revived the dependency requirements that

were struck down in Goldfarb.

The Supreme Court in Heckler upheld the

gender-based classification. First, the

Court, unlike our court in Frock,

acknowledged that the provision was a

gender-based classification. Id. at 744.

Next, the Court concluded that the offset

exception, though temporarily reviving

the gender-based eligibility requirements

invalidated in Goldfarb, reflected a

legitimate purpose to protect reliance

expectations. Id. "Congress accomplished

its aim by incorporating the eligibility

criteria as they existed in January 1977;

its choice of this approach rather than

an explicit adoption of new gender-based

standards confirms that its purpose was

to protect reliance on prior law, not to

reassert the sexist assumptions rejected

in Goldfarb." Id. at 745-46. The Court

noted that it has recognized in a number

of contexts "the legitimacy of protecting

reasonable reliance on prior law even

when that requires allowing an

unconstitutional statute to remain in

effect for a limited period of time." Id.

at 746. Finally, the Court concluded that

the statute is substantially related to

the achievement of that legitimate

purpose and is narrowly tailored to

protect only those individuals who were

eligible in 1977. Id. at 749.

Resolving our case is not a difficult

task. Under Goldfarb, dependency

requirements violate the Equal Protection

Clause. But Heckler recognized that such

a requirement may be revived if it is

substantially related to a legitimate

purpose and narrowly tailored to achieve

that goal. Under our reasoning in Frock,

sec. 231c(g)(4) is gender-neutral and

rational; it generally incorporates the

law as it existed in Goldfarb, and its

purpose is to protect widowers’

expectations. But Heckler recognized that

a provision similar to sec. 231c(g)(4)

that revived a provision featuring a

gender-based dependency requirement is a

gender-based classification and not

gender-neutral. Moreover, the Heckler

Court, in concluding that such a

provision was narrowly tailored,

emphasized the temporary nature of the

social security provision at issue. In

our case, although the dependency

requirement endures to this day; it is

clearly running out of gas. It is

difficult to imagine that there are many

married couples who, like the two

Hecklers, started working for a railroad

some 45 years ago. Under Heckler,

although sec. 231c(g)(4) is a gender-

based classification, it is one narrowly

tailored to the legitimate purpose of

protecting the reliance interests of

railroad retirees and, thus, not

violative of the Fifth Amendment. It also

is not an "accidental byproduct of a

traditional way of thinking about

females" that reflected "old notions" and

"’archaic and overbroad’ generalizations"

about the roles and relative abilities of

men and women. Goldfarb, 430 U.S. at 211,

217 & 223.

The final issue relates to the Board’s

determination that Holman did not

demonstrate dependency. Holman argues

that the Board misapplied its own

regulations, which "command contemplation

of services rendered by Mary Ann without

restriction or condition." Specifically,

he argues that the Board failed to follow

20 C.F.R. sec. 222.42(a), which guides

the Board’s support determination:

An employee is contributing to the

support of a person if the employee gives

cash, goods, or services to help support

such person. Support includes food,

clothing, housing, routine medical care,

and other ordinary and necessary living

expenses. The value of any goods which

the employee contributes shall be based

upon the replacement cost of those goods

at the time they are contributed. If the

employee provides services that would

otherwise require monetary payment, the

cash value of the employee’s services may

be considered a contribution to support.

20 C.F.R. sec. 222.42(a). In addition, 20

C.F.R. sec. 222.43(a) provides that

contributions may be in cash, goods, or

services. Under Social Security Ruling

60-23 (1960), which interprets the

analogous Social Security Regulation, see

20 C.F.R. sec. 404.366, the value of the

care normally furnished personally by one

individual to another does not

significantly influence the determination

of support. Under S.S.R. 60-23, it is

generally necessary to exclude personal

services in calculating support unless

such services are purchased. In rejecting

Holman’s claim for a "restored amount,"

the Board (1) concurred with the hearings

officer’s rejection of Holman’s claim

that he would pay $48,000 for personal

services which he claims were performed

by his wife because he could provide such

services for himself; and (2) concluded

that his claimed personal services are

not the type of services that should be

considered in making a support

determination.

The Board’s interpretation of the

Railroad Retirement Act and its own

regulations are entitled to deference if

it has a reasonable basis in law. Itel

Corp. v. United States R.R. Retirement

Bd., 710 F.2d 1243, 1245 (7th Cir. 1983).

Holman acknowledges that the Board may

consider 20 C.F.R. sec. 404.366 in making

its determination and that S.S.R. 60-23

interpreted that provision. See, e.g.,

Aspros v. United States R.R. Retirement

Bd., 904 F.2d 384, 387 (7th Cir. 1990).

Thus, the Board properly considered

Holman’s claim for personal services as

"support" by evaluating the

reasonableness of his expenses in light

of that ruling. Moreover, S.S.R. 60-23 is

not inconsistent with sec. 222.42; it

merely provides guidance for how to

determine the value of those services.

Accordingly, the Board’s determination

has a reasonable basis in law.

AFFIRMED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.