Opinion

Garratt, Reg G. v. Knowles, James E.

  • 245 F.3d 941
Court
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
Filed
Mar 28, 2001
Status
Published
Author
Flaum
On the bench
Flaum, Ripple, Williams
Nature of suit
civil
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 47.8%

The opinion

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 00-2835

Reg G. Garratt,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

James E. Knowles, Nancy Knowles,

Charles L. Knowles, Katherine Knowles

Strasburg, Margaret Knowles Schink,

E. Lawrence Keyes, R. Euguene Goodson,

Defrees & Fisk and John W. Hupp,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 00 C 764--David H. Coar, Judge.

Argued February 23, 2001--Decided March 28, 2001

Before Flaum, Chief Judge, and Ripple and Williams,

Circuit Judges.

Flaum, Chief Judge. Reg G. Garratt brought suit

in the Circuit Court of Cook County, Illinois,

alleging that the Board of Directors of Knowles

Electronics, Inc., as well as their attorneys,

had violated state law by amending a Supplemental

Executive Retirement Plan ("SERP") to escape from

paying Garratt approximately $1.85 million. The

defendants removed the case to the District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois on the

ground that Garratt’s action was of the type over

which the federal courts exercise exclusive

jurisdiction under 29 U.S.C. sec. 1132(e)(1).

Garratt filed a motion to remand the matter to

state court which the district court denied.

Thereafter, the district court dismissed

Garratt’s complaint, noting that under the

Employee Retirement Income and Security Act of

1974 ("ERISA"), 29 U.S.C. sec. 1001 et seq., a

suit to recover benefits is properly brought only

against the plan itself, and not against the

individuals who implement the plan. Garratt now

appeals the district court’s decision not to

remand this matter to the state court, arguing

that the plan at issue is an unfunded excess

benefit plan and thus exempt from the provisions

of ERISA in accordance with 29 U.S.C. sec.

1003(b)(5). Garratt further contends that the

district court compounded its error by finding

that, pursuant to the requirements of ERISA,

Garratt had failed to state a proper claim upon

which relief could be granted. For the reasons

stated herein, we affirm the decision of the

district court.

I. BACKGROUND

In 1993, Reg. G. Garratt was retained by

Knowles Electronics, Inc. ("Knowles") to be its

Chief Executive Officer ("CEO"). Four years

later, Garratt assumed the role of Chairman of

the Board in addition to his post as Knowles’

CEO. In his corporate capacities, one of

Garratt’s charges was to maximize the value and

assist in the sale of Knowles for the benefit of

the Knowles family. As an incentive for Garratt

to perform these duties, on March 15, 1998,

Garratt and Knowles mutually agreed to amend the

Employment Agreement. Pursuant to the amendment,

in consideration for his full cooperation and

assistance in furthering the corporation’s future

sale, Knowles agreed to make a special incentive

payment to Garratt in an amount equal to 0.33% of

the ultimate sale price./1 The special incentive

payment ("success bonus") was to be made to

Garratt no later than ten days after the closing.

On March 16, 1998, the Board of Directors of

Knowles adopted an unfunded SERP, which,

according to its language, was established

"solely for the purpose of providing benefits for

certain salaried employees and those of its

affiliates who participate in the Knowles

Electronics Pension Plan in excess of the

limitations imposed by the Internal Revenue Code

on the benefits available under the Knowles

Electronics, Inc. Pension Plan." The amount to be

paid to Garratt under the SERP was calculated to

be a lump sum payment of $1,349,000 upon Garratt

reaching his normal retirement age. However, that

figure did not include any portion of the success

bonus, as no sale of Knowles was pending.

Pursuant to Article 7.1 of the SERP, the Plan was

to terminate upon the sale of Knowles, with all

benefits to be paid out at that time.

More than one year later, it was decided that

Knowles would be sold to Doughty Hanson & Co.,

with the closing to take place on June 30, 1999.

As a result of the impending sale, Knowles had

the amount owed to Garratt recalculated,

computing the success bonus as earnings under the

Knowles Qualified Pension Plan. Thus it was

determined that Garratt was entitled to receive

$3,200,000. John Hupp, an attorney for Knowles,

informed the Board of Directors of the revised

amount Garratt would take in, an amount which

Hupp deemed to be excessive. At the behest of

Hupp the Board then approved a proposal to

exclude the success bonus from the SERP

calculations. Garratt abstained from the vote

where a resolution was passed amending the SERP

to provide "that for purposes of this

calculation, ’Earnings’ as defined in the

Qualified Plan shall not include any bonus or

incentive payments made by reason of the sale or

disposition of the Company under the 1989 Stock

Appreciation Plan for Key Employees."

On June 29, 1999, the day before Knowles was

sold, Garratt received $1,349,000 under the SERP,

prompting him to bring this lawsuit. Garratt’s

complaint, which was filed in the Circuit Court

of Cook County, Illinois, was brought directly

against (1) the members of the Knowles family who

received the difference between the benefits that

would have been paid to Garratt had the amendment

not been adopted and the amount Garratt received

because of the amendment, (2) the Board of

Directors who approved the amendment, and (3) the

lawyer and his firm who assisted in implementing

the amendment. The complaint alleged three state

law causes of action: tortious inference with a

prospective economic advantage, civil conspiracy,

and unjust enrichment. On February 7, 2000, the

defendants filed a notice of removal, grounded

under 29 U.S.C. sec. 1132(e)(1), which provides

in relevant part that "the district courts of the

United States shall have exclusive jurisdiction

of civil actions under this subchapter brought by

the Secretary or by a participant, beneficiary,

fiduciary, or any person referred to in section

1021(f)(1) of this title." Defendants further

noted at the time that under the complete

preemption doctrine, contained in 29 U.S.C. sec.

1144, all state common law claims falling within

the scope of sec. 1132(a)(1)(b) are displaced,

because a suit purporting to raise such state law

claims is necessarily federal in character. See

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S.

58, 60, 66 (1987).

After the case was removed to the District

Court for the Northern District of Illinois,

Garratt filed a motion to remand the matter to

state court, arguing that the SERP at issue was

an unfunded excess benefit plan which is exempt

from the provisions of ERISA under 29 U.S.C. sec.

1003(b)(5)./2 The district court did not agree

with Garratt’s characterization of the SERP, and

thus denied his motion to remand. Finding that a

dispute regarding benefits owed under Knowles’

SERP was guided by the provisions of ERISA, the

district court held that Garratt’s complaint did

not properly state a cause upon which relief

could be granted. Specifically, the court held

that "ERISA permits suits to recover benefits

only against a Plan as an entity," Jass v.

Prudential Health Care Plan, Inc., 88 F.3d 1482,

1490 (7th Cir. 1996), and Garratt’s complaint was

brought directly against the Board members and

attorneys of Knowles. Thus, on June 13, 2000, the

district court granted defendants’ motion to

dismiss, stating that "[t]his case is dismissed

without prejudice to the Plaintiff’s right to

bring an action against the proper entity under

ERISA." Garratt now appeals the district court’s

decision not to remand this matter to state

court. He contends that the court erroneously

determined that Knowles’ SERP was not an excess

benefit plan under sec. 1003(b)(5). As an excess

benefit plan, he posits, adjudication of a

dispute regarding money owed under this SERP need

not be guided by the jurisdictional and

procedural limitations of ERISA.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Garratt’s Motion to Remand

While Garratt’s overarching assertion on appeal

is that the district court erred in not remanding

this matter to state court, at its essence, the

parties dispute whether the SERP adopted by

Knowles should be considered an unfunded excess

benefit plan./3 Garratt contends that the Plan

should be construed as such, and that thus ERISA

does not apply. See 29 U.S.C. sec. 1003(b)(5).

Because ERISA is inapplicable, Garratt submits

that the district court did not have jurisdiction

over his complaint, which alleges only state law

causes of action. In response, the defendants

argue that the SERP does not fall within the

definition of an excess benefit plan. Rather,

they argue the SERP is a "top hat plan,"/4 and

that our case law holds that suits to recover

benefits owed under a top hat plan are governed

by ERISA. Therefore, defendants posit that the

district court correctly denied the motion to

remand.

We review a trial court’s ruling denying

plaintiff’s motion to remand a matter to state

court de novo. See Bastien v. AT&T Wireless

Serv., Inc., 205 F.3d 983, 987 (7th Cir. 2000).

As stated above, ERISA provides that "[e]xcept

for actions under subsection (a)(1)(B) of this

section, the district courts of the United States

shall have exclusive jurisdiction of civil

actions under this subchapter brought by the

Secretary or by a participant, beneficiary,

fiduciary, or any person referred to in section

1021(f)(1) of this title." 29 U.S.C. sec.

1132(e)(1). Yet, ERISA provides that its

provisions do not apply to all employee benefit

plans. Relevant for our purposes, 29 U.S.C. sec.

1003(b)(5) exempts unfunded excess benefit plans

from the reach of ERISA’s provisos./5

In determining whether the SERP at issue is an

excess benefit plan, we are guided by the

definition provided in the Act:

The term ’excess benefit plan’ means a plan

maintained by an employer solely for the purpose

of providing benefits for certain employees in

excess of the limitations on contributions and

benefits imposed by section 415 of Title 26 on

plans to which that section applies without

regard to whether the plan is funded. To the

extent that a separable part of a plan (as

determined by the Secretary of Labor) maintained

by an employer is maintained for such purpose,

that part shall be treated as a separate plan

which is an excess benefit plan. 29 U.S.C.

sec.1002(36) (emphasis added).

Consequently, our inquiry becomes one of whether

Knowles’ SERP was maintained solely to provide

benefits in excess of the limitations imposed by

sec. 415 of the Internal Revenue Code.

In Olander v. Bucyrus-Erie Co., 187 F.3d at

604, we recognized that "the statutory test for

whether a plan is an excess benefit plan [turns]

on the purposes of the plan in general rather

than on the specific way the plan applies to a

party." We stated that the decisive consideration

is whether avoiding the limitations of sec. 415

"was the sole purpose for which the employer

maintained the plan," such that even if a plan

with other purposes has only the effect of

avoiding the sec. 415 limitations in an

individual case, that plan is not an excess

benefit plan. Id. at 605.

Focusing on Knowles’ SERP, that Plan’s stated

purpose, as observed above, was to provide

benefits for certain salaried employees "in

excess of the limitations imposed by the Internal

Revenue Code." We further note that other

provisions within the SERP corroborate that

expressed design of avoiding any restrictions

imposed by the tax code. For example, Article II

of the SERP, entitled "Eligibility" specifically

states that "[a] participant who is eligible to

receive a Qualified Plan Retirement Benefit, the

amount of which is reduced by reason of the

application of the limitations on benefits

imposed by any provisions of the Code . . . shall

be eligible to receive a Supplemental Retirement

Benefit." Additionally, the sum payable under the

SERP is calculated as the difference between the

monthly amount of the Qualified Retirement Plan

to which the participant would have been entitled

to "under the Qualified Plan if such Benefit were

computed without giving effect to any limitations

on benefits imposed by any provisions of the

Code" less the monthly amount of the Qualified

Plan Retirement Benefit actually payable to the

participant under the Qualified Plan.

In Olander, we were faced with a plan which

stated three distinct purposes, one of which was

to avoid the limitations imposed by sec. 415 of

the Internal Revenue Code. See Olander, 187 F.3d

at 603. Despite the fact that Olander had claimed

that the plan applied to his particular case in

a manner such that the purpose of the plan was

only to avoid sec. 415, we determined that the

stated purpose, which was broader, could not be

ignored. Thus, we found the plan at issue in his

case not to be an unfunded excess benefit plan.

Here, our task appears to be more

straightforward. Knowles’ SERP does not reference

sec. 415 of the Internal Revenue Code, but rather

states as its purpose the intent to avoid

limitations on benefits imposed by any provisions

of the Code. While we believe that this broad

language is indicative of a desire to avoid all

possibly relevant provisions of the Internal

Revenue Code, nonetheless, Garratt argues, and we

agree, that Olander mandates that we inquire

beyond the plain language contained in a SERP to

determine whether the plan was enacted solely to

avoid the limitations imposed by sec. 415.

Garratt’s principal argument in support of his

position that Knowles’ SERP had the sole purpose

of avoiding sec. 415 of the Code is that the only

provision that the SERP could have operated to

avoid was sec. 415. We recognize that this

argument was rejected in Olander, as we stated

there that the decisive consideration was the

sole purpose of the plan and not its application

to a particular case. See id. at 605. Garratt

seeks to distinguish this case from that rule in

Olander by noting that there, the plan had a

stated purpose other than avoiding sec. 415.

Thus, he contends that the rule of Olander is

that though a plan may operate only to avoid sec.

415’s limitations, that cannot overcome the fact

that the plan does not have the stated purpose to

solely avoid sec. 415. However, Garratt suggests

that "[w]hether the SERP specifically enumerated

sec. 415 on its face is not necessarily a

condition precedent to discerning the sole

purpose of the plan was to avoid the limitations

imposed by that section." Rather, he contends

that so long as the plan does not specifically

enumerate a purpose other than avoiding sec. 415,

it is possible to consider that plan as having

the stated purpose of solely avoiding sec. 415.

Because the stated purpose of this Plan does not

rule out the possibility that this an excess

benefit plan, Garratt suggests that we may

examine how the Plan operates to determine the

purpose behind it.

We have already expressed our conviction that

the plain language of the SERP manifests a

purpose broader than that allowed for excess

benefit plans. Unfortunately for Garratt, our

further inspection confirms that the purpose of

the SERP was, as it states, to avoid any

provision of the Internal Revenue Code.

Specifically, Knowles’ SERP had the purpose of

avoiding not only the limitations contained in

sec. 415 of the Internal Revenue Code, but also

those limitations contained in sec. 401(a)(17) of

Title 26. At the time relevant to these

proceedings, sec. 401(a)(17) placed a $160,000

annual limit on the amount of compensation that

could be used to calculate pension benefits

payable from a qualified retirement plan. It is

undisputed that Garratt’s annual compensation for

the relevant period was greater than $160,000. If

avoidance of sec. 401(a)(17) were not a purpose

of the SERP, then Garratt would not have had any

of his compensation above $160,000 computed for

purposes of determining benefits under the

pension plan. While Garratt argues that sec.

401(a)(17) only has an indirect effect on

benefits paid out, we believe that the avoidance

of the limitations of sec. 401(a)(17) are

significant. Combining the stated language of the

SERP along with the significant monetary

advantage received by the avoidance of sec.

401(a)(17), we believe that the purpose of the

SERP was, as stated, to avoid the limitations on

benefits imposed by any provision of the Code.

Thus, the SERP is not an excess benefit plan, but

falls within the broader category of top hat

plans./6

Both the stated purpose of the SERP and the

nature of the benefits paid under the SERP

demonstrate that it is a top hat plan, rather

than an excess benefit plan. Because the SERP is

not an excess benefit plan, the claims presented

are exclusively within the federal courts’

jurisdiction under 29 U.S.C. sec. 1132(e). Thus,

the district court did not err in refusing to

grant Garratt’s motion to remand this matter to

state court.

B. Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss

Garratt’s second contention on appeal is that

the district court erred in granting defendants’

motion to dismiss. Specifically, he maintains

that the court incorrectly found ERISA

applicable, and thus determined that Garratt’s

complaint had been brought against the wrong

party. Garratt suggests that ERISA’s requirement

that a complaint to recover benefits under a plan

be brought against the plan as an entity is

irrelevant to these proceedings. We review the

district court’s decision to grant defendants’

motion to dismiss de novo. See McCormick v. City

of Chicago, 230 F.3d 319, 323 (7th Cir. 2000).

Having determined that Knowles’ SERP is not an

unfunded excess benefit plan, but rather a top

hat plan subject to ERISA, the resolution of this

matter becomes patent. While before the district

court Garratt had contended that even if ERISA

applied the district court erred in granting

defendants’ 12(b)(6) motion, he has since

abandoned that claim. Garratt had suggested that

despite preemption of his state law claims, ERISA

would permit his suit against the defendants for

breach of fiduciary duty. However, since a top

hat plan is exempt from ERISA’s fiduciary rules,

Garratt would have no basis to bring such a

claim. See Olander, 187 F.3d at 604. Thus,

Garratt cannot escape the rule, clearly

articulated in Jass, that "ERISA permits suits to

recover benefits only against a Plan as an

entity."/7 Jass, 88 F.3d at 1490 (emphasis

added). We therefore find that the district court

correctly dismissed Garratt’s complaint, leaving

open to him the option of bringing suit against

the SERP as an entity.

III. CONCLUSION

The district court correctly determined that

Knowles’ SERP was not an excess benefit plan and

that ERISA therefore applied. Hence, the court

rightly refused to remand the matter to state

court and appropriately granted defendants’

motion to dismiss.

For the foregoing reasons, we Affirm the decision

of the district court.

/1 On March 15, 1999, the Board of Directors

approved an amendment that provided that Garratt

would receive 0.42% of any future sale price

rather than 0.33%.

/2 29 U.S.C. sec. 1003(b)(5) states that "[t]he

provisions of this subchapter shall not apply to

any employee benefit plan if . . . such plan is

an excess benefit plan . . . and is unfunded."

/3 As a preliminary matter we must satisfy ourselves

that a final decision has been rendered in this

matter for purposes of appellate review under 28

U.S.C. sec. 1291. In granting defendants’ Fed.

R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) motion, the district court

noted that its dismissal was without prejudice.

Yet, in ITOFCA, Inc. v. MegaTrans Logistics,

Inc., 235 F.3d 360, 363 (7th Cir. 2000), we

stated unequivocally that a dismissal without

prejudice "does not terminate the litigation in

the district court in any realistic sense and so

is not a final decision within the meaning of 28

U.S.C. sec. 1291, which authorizes the appeal of

such decisions." (internal citation omitted). In

this instance we find the district court’s

dismissal not to be a bar to our appellate

review. Though the district court did state that

the dismissal of the complaint was without

prejudice, it is clear that the court was

referring to Garratt’s right to bring his claim

against the Plan under ERISA. The finality

requirement of sec. 1291 should be applied

practically rather than technically. See id. at

364. Practically speaking, as the district court

noted, with its decision "[t]his action [was]

closed." Thus, we move on to address the merits

of Garratt’s appeal.

/4 A top hat plan is an unfunded plan the employer

maintains "primarily for the purpose of providing

deferred compensation to a select group of

management or highly compensated employees." 29

U.S.C. sec.sec. 1051(2), 1081(3), 1101(a); see

also Olander v. Bucyrus-Erie Co., 187 F.3d 599,

604 (7th Cir. 1999). Thus, it is subject to

ERISA’s enforcement provisions even though it is

exempted from ERISA’s vesting, participation,

funding, and fiduciary rules. See Olander, 187

F.3d at 604. As noted previously, the excess

benefit plan stands in contrast to the top hat

plan, in that the former is not subject to either

the enforcement or substantive provisions of

ERISA. See 29 U.S.C. sec. 1003(b)(5). In terms of

design, the difference between a top hat plan and

an excess benefit plan is, in most circumstances,

that the top hat plan can have multiple broad

purposes, while an excess benefit plan has the

sole purpose of avoiding the limitations imposed

by sec. 415 of the Internal Revenue Code.

/5 There is no dispute that the Knowles SERP was

unfunded.

/6 Garratt provides two additional arguments in

support of his position which we find

unpersuasive. First, he suggests the SERP here

was clearly intended to be an excess benefit

plan, as its stated purpose tracks the language

of ERISA’s definition of such a plan. While

Garratt’s position does evince a certain logic,

the Plan deviates from the language of 29 U.S.C.

sec. 1002(36) in the crucial aspect of which

limitations were to be avoided. As such, we

believe it equally plausible that the alteration

is a manifestation of an intentional desire to

avoid all provisions of the Code rather than

merely sec. 415. Thus, we find that the tracking

of the language of sec.1002(36) to be

inconclusive. Second, in support of his

proposition that the purpose of this Plan was to

avoid the limitations on benefits imposed by sec.

415, Garratt notes that sec. 7.6 of the SERP

requires that the Plan be construed under the

laws of Illinois. He argues that such a provision

in the SERP displays a desire on the part of the

drafters that the SERP be exempt from the

requirements of ERISA. We disagree. As we noted

above, as a top hat plan, the SERP is exempt from

ERISA’s vesting, participation, funding, and

fiduciary rules. See Olander, 187 F.3d at 604. As

such, the choice of law provision may have been

added to guide disputes in those matters other

than enforcement. Moreover, while such a

provision could be considered evidence of an

intent to avoid ERISA, we do not believe the

insertion of such a provision to overcome the

stated purpose and the nature of the benefits

paid under the SERP.

/7 Recently, in Mein v. Carus Corp., No. 00-2618,

2001 WL 167989, at *3 (7th Cir. Feb. 21, 2001),

we seized upon language contained in Riordan v.

Commonwealth Edison Co., 128 F.3d 549, 551 (7th

Cir. 1997), to clarify the holding of Jass. In

Mein, we again noted that "ERISA permits suits to

recover benefits only against the plan as an

entity," and that thus "it is silly not to name

the plan as a defendant in an ERISA suit." Mein,

2001 WL 167989 at *3. However, because often the

corporation and the plan are intertwined, with

the plan documents referring to the plan and the

company interchangeably, we noted that in certain

instances, the fact that the corporation is named

as a defendant in the suit is no barrier to

allowing the case to proceed. See id. at *3-4.

Yet, Mein does not suggest that it would be

proper for a plaintiff seeking benefits to

substitute individual corporate members as

defendants rather than the plan. Hence, we find

that Mein has no bearing on these proceedings.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.