Opinion

Tommy D. Newsom v. Peggy Lynn Petrilli

Court
Texas Court of Appeals, 3rd District (Austin)
Filed
Apr 3, 1996
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 35.8%

The opinion

Newsom

TEXAS COURT OF APPEALS, THIRD DISTRICT, AT AUSTIN

NO. 03-95-00399-CV

Tommy D. Newsom, Appellant

v.

Peggy Lynn Petrilli, Appellee

FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF TRAVIS COUNTY, 126TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

NO. 434,684, HONORABLE PAUL R. DAVIS, JR., JUDGE PRESIDING

This appeal presents two questions: (1) Whether the original divorce decree

contained a clerical error that allowed the trial court to enter a judgment nunc pro tunc dividing

disability benefits; and (2) whether the disability benefits at issue are community property subject

to division upon divorce. Because the answer to both questions is yes, we will affirm the trial

court's judgment.

BACKGROUND

Peggy Lynn Petrilli (formerly Peggy Lynn Newsom) and Tommy Newsom were

divorced in 1988 after seventeen years of marriage. In 1990, Newsom was retired from the

Austin Fire Department with a disability and began receiving monthly disability benefits of

approximately $1700. The examining physician attributed Newsom's disability at least in part to

deterioration of a condition growing out of a head injury suffered prior to the marriage. Newsom

did not notify appellee of the disability payments and did not remit to her any portion of the

benefits received, which by the time of trial totalled approximately $85,000.

In 1994, after learning of Newsom's disability benefits, Petrilli brought this action

seeking to collect fifty percent of the disability benefits Newsom had earned during the marriage.

The original divorce decree awards one-half of "Respondent's" insurance, pension and retirement

benefits to each party; it does not mention "Petitioner's" employment benefits. Newsom, the

only party who was employed at the time of the divorce, was the Petitioner; Petrilli, the

Respondent, had not been employed for over fifteen years. (1) Petrilli argued that the reference to

"Respondent's" employment benefits was a clerical error in the original decree and asked the court

to enter a nunc pro tunc judgment awarding one-half of the community interest in "Petitioner's"

employment benefits to each party. In the alternative, she asked the court to partition Newsom's

employment benefits if they had not been divided by the divorce decree. The trial court found

that the substitution of Respondent for Petitioner was a clerical error and entered a nunc pro tunc

judgment making the change, in effect awarding fifty percent of Newsom's disability benefits

earned during marriage to Petrilli. The trial court did not render judgment regarding the $85,000

in benefits that Newsom had already collected but ordered the parties to mediation to resolve this

issue. In this same postdivorce hearing, the trial court denied Newsom's request that his child

support obligation be reduced, granted Petrilli's motion to extend child support beyond eighteen

years of age for the parties' disabled son, and awarded attorney's fees to Petrilli. Newsom does

not complain of the child support decision or the attorney's fee award in this appeal.

Newsom brings three points of error regarding the nunc pro tunc judgment:

(1) that the error in the original decree was not a clerical error that would permit the entry of a

judgment nunc pro tunc ; (2) that the disability benefits at issue here were his separate property

not subject to division upon divorce; and (3) that, by clarifying what portion of the present

disability benefits were community property, the court exceeded the bounds of a permissible nunc

pro tunc judgment under Rule 316. Tex. R. Civ. P. 316. (2)

CLERICAL ERROR

In his first point of error, appellant argues that substituting Respondent for

Petitioner in the decree's award of employment benefits was a judicial rather than a clerical error.

We begin by noting that the divorce decree sets forth: "It is the intent of the court, Petitioner and

Respondent to provide for an even 50/50 division between Petitioner and Respondent of all

community debts, all non-exempt community property, and all [exempt] community property .

. . ." This Court must construe the original judgment "as a whole toward the end of harmonizing

and giving effect to all the court has written." Constance v. Constance , 544 S.W.2d 659, 660

(Tex. 1976). To divide "Petitioner's" employment benefits 50/50 would accomplish the intent

of the parties; to divide "Respondent's" employment benefits 50/50 would render the employment

benefits provision meaningless, since respondent had no benefits arising out of her employment

during marriage, and further would fail to make any award of a significant asset of the parties.

The attorney who drafted the original decree testified that when Newsom's attorney submitted a

draft proposal awarding Newsom all of his retirement benefits, she objected and specifically

changed the language to provide for an equal division of the employment benefits, to which the

parties agreed. She further testified that in making the agreed upon change, she inadvertently

provided for an equal division of "Respondent's" rather than "Petitioner's" employment benefits.

We agree with the trial court that this was clearly a clerical error, not a "judicial" error as

appellant claims.

This Court has distinguished judicial and clerical errors:

A clerical error is one which does not result from judicial reasoning or

determination. For the judgment nunc pro tunc to be valid, the error must arise

in the entry of the judgment, and not in its rendition. As a result, whenever the

judgment entered by the court incorrectly records the judgment rendered, the error

is clerical, so long as a product of judicial reasoning is not involved.

Nolan v. Bettis , 562 S.W.2d 520, 522 (Tex. Civ. App.--Austin 1978, no writ) (citations omitted).

Appellant relies on Dikeman v. Snell , 490 S.W.2d 183 (Tex. 1973), to assert that

an error made in a judgment prepared by an attorney becomes a "judicial" error when that

judgment is entered by the court. Such an interpretation is clearly a misreading of that case and

would eliminate any possibility of clerical error, since almost all judgments today are drafted by

the successful attorney for the judge's signature. In Dikeman , the original judgment required a

property owner to build a fence constructed of specified materials, of a certain thickness running

in a particular direction. Id. at 184 . The nunc pro tunc judgment considerably altered the

specifications to mandate an entirely different fence. Id. at 185 . Because these modifications

effected substantial changes and were not made to correct any clerical error, the appellate court

held the nunc pro tunc judgment void. By contrast, there is satisfactory evidence that the use of

the word "Respondent" in this original divorce decree was a clerical error, which the trial court

was at liberty to amend through a judgment nunc pro tunc . We overrule the first point of error.

In his third point of error, Newsom complains that the judgment entered by the trial

court more resembles a "clarification" order than a judgment nunc pro tunc . See Tex. Fam. Code

§ 3.72 (West 1993). The judgment entered below does clarify what percentage of the present

disability benefits was earned during marriage and hence was community property. Because

Newsom continued his service with the Austin Fire Department after the divorce in 1988 until he

was retired with a disability in August 1990, it was necessary for the court to calculate what

percentage of those benefits was community property and to award Petrilli one-half of the

community property portion of those benefits, rather than one-half of the total disability benefits.

Newsom benefitted from this "clarification." His other arguments, that the court should reassess

the current equities of the parties rather than enter a nunc pro tunc judgment, have been foreclosed

by our discussion of the first point of error.

Appellant also argues in his third point of error that the trial court was not

authorized to divide the community assets under Texas Family Code section 3.90(c), which

imposes a two-year statute of limitations on a complainant. Tex. Fam. Code Ann. § 3.90 (c) (West

1993). Appellant has failed, however, to raise such argument in a separate point of error,

pursuant to Rule 74(d) of the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure. More significantly, appellant

did not refer to any authority to support this argument and did not provide any convincing

evidence on which to base his contention. See Wright v. Gernandt , 559 S.W.2d 864, 872 (Tex.

Civ. App.--Corpus Christi 1977, no writ). We therefore decline to consider such an argument and

overrule the third point of error.

DISABILITY BENEFITS AS COMMUNITY PROPERTY

Appellant contends in his second point of error that the trial court erred in dividing

appellant's disability income because it is his separate property. Texas courts have generally held

that benefits similar to those Newsom receives are community property. See Busby v. Busby , 457

S.W.2d 551, 554 (Tex. 1970); Rucker v. Rucker , 810 S.W.2d 793, 795 (Tex. App.--Houston [14th

Dist.] 1991, writ denied); Simmons v. Simmons , 568 S.W.2d 169, 170 (Tex. Civ. App.--Dallas

1978, writ dism'd). In Simmons , the appellant contended that his disability benefits were separate

property because they represented a recovery for personal injury and loss of earning capacity after

divorce. Simmons , 568 S.W.2d at 170 . The court rejected this argument, holding that the

benefits were community property:

Appellant's contention ignores the fact that the right to receive the disability

payments after divorce was a vested property right resulting from his employment

. . . and as such was part of appellant's remuneration for his employment.

Without question the payments made by Delta were community property since the

contractual right was part of his compensation during marriage because it was one

of the benefits flowing from his employment with Delta.

Id.

Appellant seeks to distinguish Simmons , arguing that not only did the disability

benefits begin after marriage but also that the injury leading to his disability occurred before

marriage. We reject this argument, noting that appellant's disabling condition does not result

directly from his old injury but from a deterioration occurring through the years. But more

importantly there is no distinction because, as in Simmons , Newsom's ability to collect disability

is "one of the bundle of benefits that flowed from his employment during marriage and had vested

prior to his divorce." Id.

Newsom also contends that his disability benefits are in the nature of worker's

compensation benefits, which are not community property when received after divorce. Bonar

v. Bonar , 614 S.W.2d 472, 473 (Tex. Civ. App.--El Paso 1981, writ ref'd n.r.e.) (holding certain

benefits to fall into the category of worker's compensation not divisible as part of community

property).

As retirement disability pay, Newsom's benefits are not worker's compensation and

are community property. See Rucker , 810 S.W.2d at 795 . Rucker concerned a similar assertion

that the benefits involved more resembled worker's compensation than retirement benefits. Id.

Because the pension statute under consideration contained mandatory retirement language upon

the occurrence of a disability, the Rucker court held that the disputed benefits must be considered

as retirement benefits, unlike worker's compensation payments. Id.

Appellant would distinguish the holding in Rucker by arguing that the Fire Fighter's

Relief and Retirement Fund does not contain mandatory language requiring retirement upon

disability. See Act of May 12, 1989, 71st Leg., R.S., ch. 863, § 5, 1989 Tex. Gen. Laws 3845 ,

3847, since amended. In fact, both the pension statute and the retirement plan governing his

disability pay do mandate retirement upon disability. (3)

The Fund administrator testified at the

hearing that Newsom was terminated when he was declared disabled and that his disability

benefits were calculated using his years of service multiplied by his retirement factor multiplied

by his highest three years' average salary. The Fund administrator also testified that if upon

further physical examination Newsom lost his "disabled" classification, he would begin collecting

simple retirement benefits (in a lesser amount). Newsom's disability benefits, like the benefits

in Simmons , are community property, unlike the worker's compensation benefits in Bonar . The

trial court did not err in finding them community property under the reformed decree of divorce.

We overrule the second point of error.

CONCLUSION

The trial court did not err in finding that Newsom's disability benefits under the

Fire Fighter's Relief and Retirement Fund were community property subject to division upon

divorce. And the trial court properly found the inadvertent substitution of the word Respondent

for Petitioner in the judgment dividing employment benefits to be a clerical error subject to

reformation by the entry of a judgment nunc pro tunc that awarded one-half of the community

property portion of Newsom's disability payments to Petrilli. We therefore affirm the judgment

of the trial court in all regards.

Bea Ann Smith, Justice

Before Justices Powers, Jones and B. A. Smith

Affirmed

Filed: April 3, 1996

Publish

1. 1 At the hearing below, Petrilli testified that early in her marriage she had withdrawn the

small amount of teacher retirement she had earned to make a down payment on a home for the

parties.

2. 2 Clerical mistakes in the record of any judgment may be corrected by the judge in open court

according to the truth or justice of the case after notice of the motion therefor has been given to

the parties interested in such judgment, as provided in Rule 21a, and thereafter the execution shall

conform to the judgment as amended.

3. The language in appellant's retirement plan provides in part:

If a person serving as an active fire fighter duly enrolled in a fire department

covered by this Act becomes disabled for either physical or mental reasons

before meeting the requirements to qualify for a service retirement . . . the

board of trustees shall , on his request, or without his request if it shall deem proper

and for the good of the department, retire the fire fighter from active service and

order that he be paid from the fire fighter's relief and retirement fund of the city a

monthly amount . . . .

(emphasis added).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.