Opinion

Charles Stanley Porterfield v. Carol Jean Porterfield

Court
Texas Court of Appeals, 3rd District (Austin)
Filed
Aug 14, 1996
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 35.8%

The opinion

Porterfield v. Porterfield

TEXAS COURT OF APPEALS, THIRD DISTRICT, AT AUSTIN

NO. 03-95-00284-CV

Charles Stanley Porterfield, Appellant

v.

Carol Jean Porterfield, Appellee

FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF COMAL COUNTY, 274TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

NO. C91-732C, HONORABLE CHARLES R. RAMSEY, JUDGE PRESIDING

PER CURIAM

The trial court rendered a decree divorcing appellant Charles Stanley Porterfield

from appellee Carol Jean Porterfield and dividing their marital estate. The parties, at trial,

primarily disputed whether Charles' future military retirement pay was his separate property or

was community property. From the court's decree dividing the retirement pay as community

property, Charles appeals to this Court. We will affirm the trial court's decree.

In point of error one, Charles contends that the trial court abused its discretion in

determining that the parties' agreement dividing Charles' future military retirement pay was not

just and right. Shortly after the parties separated, but before they divorced, Carol wrote Charles

a letter in which she described her finances as precarious and asked for the following help:

I've had Houssiere check some things out for me. I am eligible for 17½% of your

retirement fund. Believe it or not, I don't want it. I need help now not 6 years

down the road. By then I will have lost everything.

Not knowing what your retirement income will be, I can only guess. I figure I

could draw from $350. to $500. a month for the rest of my life. Like I said, I

don't want to do that.

If you will be willing to help me with $500. a month for 1 year, I will not put in

a claim against your retirement. Starting in Dec. if you will send me $500. a mo.

and stop next Dec. I'll not touch your retirement & you will be rid of me.

The court found that, in accordance with her request, Charles paid Carol $500.00

monthly for the next twelve months. In her petition for divorce, Carol asked the trial court to set

aside the alleged agreement, allow her to repay Charles, and award her one-half of the military

retirement pay that accrued during their marriage. The trial court decreed that Carol receive an

undivided one-half interest in that part of Charles' military retirement pay that accrued during the

marriage and that she pay Charles $6,000.00.

Charles first argues that the parties entered a valid agreement incident to divorce.

Parties anticipating a divorce can agree in writing to divide their property and liabilities. Tex.

Fam. Code Ann. § 3.631 (a) (West 1993). (1) The terms of such an agreement bind the trial court

in a divorce proceeding unless it finds that the agreement is not just and right. § 3.631(b).

The court in this case made an ultimate finding of fact that the alleged agreement

by which Carol waived her share of military retirement benefits was not fair and equitable. See

Harding v. Harding , 461 S.W.2d 235, 237 (Tex. Civ. App.--San Antonio 1970, no writ). The

court supported this ultimate finding by several subsidiary findings: Carol wrote the letter without

the advice of legal counsel and without knowledge of the full nature, extent, or value of Charles'

military retirement benefits; no evidence existed that Charles fully disclosed to Carol the nature,

extent, or value of the military retirement benefits; Charles gave Carol inadequate consideration

for waiving her right to a portion of the benefits; and no evidence existed that Carol had the

benefit of independent advice concerning the nature, extent, and value of the military retirement

benefits to which the parties were entitled. Charles does not challenge the trial court's findings

that, when Carol wrote the letter, Charles had not served the minimum twenty years of active

military duty, he was not entitled to retire with benefits, and no benefits had vested in Charles.

Charles argues that the evidence is legally and factually insufficient to support the

finding that the agreement was not just and right. In reviewing a no-evidence point, we examine

the record in the light most favorable to the finding to determine if any probative evidence, or

reasonable inferences therefrom, supports the finding, and we disregard all evidence and

reasonable inferences therefrom to the contrary. Glover v. Texas Gen. Indem. Co. , 619 S.W.2d

400, 401 (Tex. 1981); Garza v. Alviar , 395 S.W.2d 821, 823 (Tex. 1965). In reviewing an

insufficient-evidence point, we examine the entire record and will set aside the finding only if the

evidence supporting it is so weak, or the evidence to the contrary so overwhelming, as to make

it clearly wrong and unjust. Garza , 395 S.W.2d 823 ; In re King's Estate , 244 S.W.2d 660, 661

(Tex. 1951).

We first consider the court's finding that Carol lacked independent advice about

the nature, extent, and value of the military retirement benefits to which the parties were entitled. (2)

Carol testified that before writing the letter to Charles she asked her attorney, Robert Houssiere,

if he knew anything about military retirement pay. Houssiere spoke to a military retiree on her

behalf and relayed to Carol the information that she was probably entitled to one-half of thirty-five

percent of Charles' retirement pay. Carol also testified, however, that she was not sure she was

entitled to military retirement benefits and that she sent the letter to try to get financial help from

Charles. She did not know how much any retirement benefits would be.

Because Houssiere was personally unfamiliar with military retirement, Carol at his

suggestion visited Fort Sam Houston about one year after writing the letter. The legal advisor

there affirmed Carol's eligibility for part of the retirement, but again specified no amounts, and

she therefore asked for information at Randolph Air Force Base one year later.

Although this evidence shows that Carol obtained some information from Houssiere

before writing the letter, that information was rudimentary and incomplete. Carol learned nothing

about the range of monthly retirement incomes to which she might be entitled and simply guessed

at a value in her letter. The information she received did not include how cost-of-living increases

are computed. Further, no one helped Carol put the trade-off in perspective, such as by

comparing the present value of estimated future retirement benefits to the $6,000.00 she sought

immediately from Charles. That the military retirement benefits were contingent and unliquidated

does not negate the absence of advice about their value to her, taking the qualities of contingency

and imprecision into consideration. We therefore determine that the evidence is both legally and

factually sufficient to support the court's finding that Carol lacked independent advice about the

nature, extent, and value of the parties' military retirement benefits.

The trial court also found that Carol received inadequate consideration for waiving

her right to a portion of the retirement benefits. When she wrote the letter in 1991, Carol was

forty-six years old and Charles was fifty-three. The evidence showed that active duty military

personnel may retire after serving twenty years and that Charles is not eligible to retire until

September 1996. The trial court judicially noticed that for each year of active duty military

service, a member is entitled to two and one-half percent of his base pay. See 10 U.S.C.A.

§ 1401 (West Supp. 1996). Charles estimated that, when he became eligible to retire, his

retirement pay would be half his base pay. Neither party knew, of course, what Charles' base pay

would be when he retired.

Charles argues that the retirement pay had no value when Carol wrote the letter

because Charles was not eligible for retirement then and nothing guaranteed that he would become

eligible. The probability of Charles' not becoming eligible, however, was only a factor to be

weighed with the potential benefits of receiving retirement income. While the amount of

retirement income is uncertain, Carol could receive a future stream of income payments beginning

at age fifty-one. These payments would support her in later years when her own earning capacity

might be expected to diminish. The evidence thus lends itself to weighing Carol's receipt of

$6,000.00 for one year against the probability of her receiving monthly payments for many future

years. The trial court's finding that $6,000.00 was inadequate consideration for waiving the right

to future retirement income is also supported by legally and factually sufficient evidence.

Charles nevertheless argues that Carol controlled the terms of her offer and thereby

chose the consideration that she thought adequate. By the plain language of section 3.631(b),

however, the trial court, rather than either party, is given the responsibility to determine whether

the agreement is just and right. The court performed this duty in the manner in which it evaluated

the evidence.

Because the two subsidiary findings discussed support the court's ultimate finding

that the exchange of Carol's right to retirement benefits for $6,000.00 was not just and right, we

need not review the evidence supporting the court's remaining subsidiary findings. J & J Equip.

Inc. v. Pilkinton , 850 S.W.2d 804, 806 (Tex. App.--Corpus Christi 1993, writ denied). Having

determined that the court properly found that any agreement incident to divorce was not just and

right, we hold that the trial court acted within its discretion in setting it aside and refusing to

approve and confirm it. See Harding , 461 S.W.2d at 237 .

Charles argues alternatively that the agreement was binding as a partition or

exchange agreement. Spouses are authorized to partition or exchange any of their community

property, whether then existing or to be acquired. § 5.52; Tex. Const. art. XVI, § 15. A

partition or exchange agreement must be in writing and signed by both parties. § 5.54. The trial

court concluded that any alleged agreement to exchange or partition the parties' interest in military

retirement benefits was not enforceable because it was not subscribed by both parties as required

by section 5.54.

Charles argues that Carol's letter to him, coupled with his letter in response and

his payment of $6,000.00, constitutes an agreement to partition property. We reject the argument

that Charles' performance can be considered in determining whether Carol and Charles agreed to

partition the military retirement pay. The unambiguous language of section 5.54 that a partition

agreement "must be in writing and signed by both parties" precludes Charles' actions from

substituting for his signing a written document. See Collins v. Collins , 752 S.W.2d 636, 637

(Tex. App.--Fort Worth 1988, writ ref'd) (written memorandum of oral agreement, signed by party

to be charged, does not constitute written partition agreement).

We also determine that Charles' and Carol's letters together do not form a written,

signed agreement. Carol wrote her letter asking for $500.00 a month on November 9, 1991. In

a letter to Carol dated November 22, 1991, Charles refers to a letter he had written her about one

week earlier and states, "I hope that you can respond and will write me and let me know if you

can live with the $300.00 to $350.00 per month." Charles then itemizes payments labelled

"December 1, 1991" and "December 15, 1991" that he proposed to make Carol; each payment

includes $340.00 with the notation "for yourself." Because Charles, in this letter, did not accept

the term of Carol's letter that he pay her $500.00 each month, we need not consider whether the

two letters together constitute a written, signed agreement to partition property. The trial court's

conclusion that any partition agreement did not comply with section 5.54 is correct. We therefore

overrule point one.

In point of error two, Charles contests the trial court's conclusion that the military

retirement pay is community property. Charles first attacks the statement in conclusion of law

five that Charles' military retirement pay is community property "to the extent the same has

accumulated and vested." Charles points out that the court separately found that, when Carol

wrote the letter, no retirement benefits had vested in Charles. According to the evidence at trial,

Charles will not be eligible to retire until September 1996. Should he leave the service before

then, Charles would be entitled to no retirement benefits. Treating as an erroneous finding the

reference in conclusion five to military retirement benefits that had vested, we may disregard it

if the judgment is otherwise correct. Forty-Seven Thousand Two Hundred Dollars U.S. Currency

v. State , 883 S.W.2d 302, 309 (Tex. App.--El Paso 1994, writ denied).

The correctness of decreeing the retirement income to be community property does

not depend on whether it had already vested, in the sense of immediate entitlement. Military

retirement pay that is payable to a service member and acquired during marriage is community

property subject to division by the court. § 5.01(b); 10 U.S.C.A. § 1408 (c) (West 1983 & Supp.

1996). Charles contends that the court's award of retirement benefits to the community is

incorrect because the benefits were his separate property under either the partition agreement or

the agreement incident to divorce. Having upheld the trial court's determination that neither

alleged agreement is valid, we see no error in the court's award. We overrule point two.

In point of error three, Charles argues that the trial court erroneously shifted the

burden to him to prove that the agreement either was just and right under section 3.631 or was

not unconscionable under section 5.55 of the Family Code. §§ 3.631, 5.55. Charles bases his

argument on the wording of certain of the trial court's findings of fact. If a party deems findings

incorrect, he must request specified amended findings. James Holmes Enters., Inc. v. John

Bankston Constr. & Equip. Rental, Inc. , 664 S.W.2d 832, 834 (Tex. App.--Beaumont 1983, writ

ref'd n.r.e.). See Tex. R. Civ. P. 298; Tex. R. App. P. 52(a). Because Charles failed to request

amended findings, he has waived his complaint as to the findings the court made. Law v. Law ,

517 S.W.2d 379, 383 (Tex. Civ. App.--Austin 1974, writ dism'd).

Nevertheless, Carol bore the burden to prove that any agreement incident to divorce

was not just and right. § 3.631(b). See Temple Indep. Sch. Dist. v. English , 896 S.W.2d 167,

169 (Tex. 1995). The court worded its finding on whether Carol received independent advice in

terms of "no evidence," or a failure to find, that she received such advice. A failure to find a fact

is not an affirmative finding of the converse of that fact. Williford Energy Co. v. Submergible

Cable Servs., Inc. , 895 S.W.2d 379, 383 (Tex. App.--Amarillo 1994, no writ); Gensco, Inc. v.

Canco Equip., Inc. , 737 S.W.2d 345, 347-48 (Tex. App.--Amarillo 1987, no writ). But in view

of the court's ultimate finding that any agreement incident to divorce was not just and right, along

with its other affirmative findings, we construe the finding on advice so as to harmonize with the

court's obvious intent to affirmatively state why any agreement was not just and right. See Brown

v. Frontier Theatres, Inc. , 369 S.W.2d 299, 301 (Tex. 1963); International Ins. Agency, Inc. v.

Railroad Comm'n , 893 S.W.2d 204, 211 (Tex. App.--Austin 1995, writ denied); First Fin. Dev.

Corp. v. Hughston , 797 S.W.2d 286, 294 (Tex. App.--Corpus Christi 1990, writ denied). We

therefore construe the finding of no evidence of advice as a finding that Carol lacked advice about

the nature, extent, and value of the retirement benefits.

A partition agreement is not enforceable if the party against whom enforcement is

sought proves that, among other things, it is unconscionable. § 5.55. Because we determine that

the lack of a writing signed by both parties destroys the existence of a partition agreement, we will

not consider Charles' arguments on unconscionability. See § 5.54. We overrule point three.

We affirm the trial court's decree.

Before Justices Powers, Aboussie and Kidd

Affirmed

Filed: August 14, 1996

Do Not Publish

1. For convenience, we will cite to the Family Code by section number only.

2. We have restated this finding to comport with our discussion below of Charles' point

of error three.

error two, Charles contests the trial court's conclusion that the military

retirement pay is community property. Charles first attacks the statement in conclusion of law

five that Charles' military retirement pay is community property "to the extent the same has

accumulated and vested." Charles points out that the court separately found that, when Carol

wrote the letter, no retirement benefits had vested in Charles. According to the evidence at trial,

Charles will not be eligible to retire until September 1996. Should he leave the service before

then, Charles would be entitled to no retirement benefits. Treating as an erroneous finding the

reference in conclusion five to military retirement benefits that had vested, we may disregard it

if the judgment is otherwise correct. Forty-Seven Thousand Two Hundred Dollars U.S. Currency

v. State , 883 S.W.2d 302, 309 (Tex. App.--El Paso 1994, writ denied).

The correctness of decreeing the retirement income to be community property does

not depend on whether it had already vested, in the sense of immediate entitlement. Military

retirement pay that is payable to a ser

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.