Opinion

Doris C. Bond v. Employees Retirement System of Texas

Court
Texas Court of Appeals, 3rd District (Austin)
Filed
Mar 11, 1992
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 35.7%

The opinion

BOND V. ERS

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS, THIRD DISTRICT OF TEXAS,

AT AUSTIN

NO. 3-91-203-CV

DORIS C. BOND,

APPELLANT

vs.

EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF TEXAS,

APPELLEE

FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF TRAVIS COUNTY, 98TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

NO. 471,573, HONORABLE JOSEPH H. HART, JUDGE PRESIDING

Doris C. Bond, appellant, applied to the Employees Retirement System of Texas

(ERS), appellee, for occupational disability retirement benefits. The ERS denied Bond's

application, and she sought judicial review of that decision pursuant to the Administrative

Procedure and Texas Register Act (APTRA), Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 6252-13a, § 19

(Pamph. 1992). The trial court upheld the administrative decision, and Bond perfected this

appeal. We will affirm the judgment of the trial court.

BACKGROUND

The facts of the case are undisputed. Bond was employed as a nurse with the Texas

Department of Corrections (1) at the Ramsey II Unit in Rosharon, Texas. On February 28, 1986,

her supervisor told her to attend a staff meeting on what would have been her day off. Bond

drove to the meeting and parked her truck in the parking lot of the Ramsey II Unit. The weather

was stormy that day, and as Bond got out of her truck in the parking lot, a strong gust of wind

caused the truck door to strike her right knee and leg. As a result, Bond's knee was severely, and

likely permanently, injured.

Thereafter, Bond applied to the ERS for occupational disability retirement benefits.

On consideration of her application, the Employees Retirement System Medical Board certified

that Bond was disabled. On review by the executive director of the ERS, however, Bond's

application was denied on the basis that her disability was not within the statutory definition of

"occupational disability," i.e., that it did not directly result from an inherent risk or hazard

peculiar to her duties arising from and in the course of her employment with the Texas

Department of Corrections. Bond sought judicial review of that administrative decision, and the

trial court upheld the denial of her claim. In two points of error, Bond asserts that the decision

of the ERS is not supported by substantial evidence.

DISCUSSION

The Employees Retirement System is established and governed by Tex. Gov't Code

Ann. §§ 810.001-815.507 (Pamph. 1992). In that statute, the legislature has defined

"occupational disability" to mean a "disability from an injury or disease that directly results from

a specific act or occurrence determinable by a definite time and place, and directly results from

an inherent risk or hazard peculiar to a duty that arises from and in the course of state

employment." § 811.001(12). In this case, there is no dispute that Bond suffered an injury that

directly resulted from a specific act or occurrence determinable by a definite time and place. The

only issue is whether Bond's injury directly resulted from an inherent risk or hazard peculiar to

a duty that arose from and in the course of her state employment.

We begin our analysis by reviewing the statute itself. The primary goal of statutory

construction is to effectuate the intent of the legislature. Harris County Dist. Attorney's Office

v. J.T.S. , 807 S.W.2d 572, 574 (Tex. 1991). We must search for that intent in the language of

the statute. See Seay v. Hall , 677 S.W.2d 19, 25 (Tex. 1984). The legislature did not define the

phrase "inherent risk or hazard peculiar to a duty." Nor does a survey of the legislative history

of the statute shed any light on the meaning of the phrase. Therefore, in construing the statute,

we will apply the ordinary meaning of the terms therein. See Hopkins v. Spring Indep. School

Dist. , 736 S.W.2d 617, 619 (Tex. 1987); Tex. Gov't Code Ann. § 311.011 (a) (1988).

Reading the language of the statute, we conclude that the legislature clearly

intended to limit the scope of "occupational disability." First, in order to constitute an

"occupational disability," the employee's injury must directly result from a risk or hazard inherent

in a duty of the employee that arises from and in the course of his or her state employment.

Second, the inherent risk or hazard must also be peculiar to such a duty. The term

"inherent" is ordinarily defined to mean "involved in the constitution or essential character of

something; belonging by nature or settled habit." G. & C. Merriam Co., Webster's Third New

International Dictionary 1163 (1969). Therefore, a duty of the state employee must by its nature

give rise to the risk or hazard from which the injury results. The term "peculiar" is ordinarily

defined to mean "tending to be characteristic of one only; distinctive; different from the usual or

normal; singular; special; particular." Id . at 1663. Thus, the risk or hazard must also be

particular to or distinctively characteristic of a duty arising from and in the course of the person's

state employment. With these definitions, therefore, and our determination that the legislature

intended to limit the scope of "occupational disability," we now turn to the facts of the present

case.

As stated above, Bond's supervisor told her to attend a staff meeting on what would

have been her day off. Even assuming arguendo that by driving to work and exiting her truck to

attend a staff meeting, Bond was fulfilling a duty arising from and in the course of her state

employment, we conclude that Bond's disability is not an "occupational disability" as that term

is defined in the statute. There is no evidence in the record that the risk of injury from high wind

was particular to or distinctively characteristic of Bond's duty to attend a staff meeting. This was

not a case in which Bond was injured while working with patients as a nurse. See, e.g.,

Employees Retirement Sys. v. Hill , 557 S.W.2d 819 (Tex. Civ. App. 1977, writ ref'd n.r.e.).

Rather, Bond's injury resulted from a risk to which all persons in the vicinity of the storm were

exposed. There is no evidence that Bond was exposed, by virtue of her duty to attend a staff

meeting, to a risk different from that experienced by every other person who entered or exited

their car that day. We conclude, therefore, that Bond's injury did not directly result from a risk

or hazard peculiar to a duty arising from and in the course of her employment as a nurse with the

Texas Department of Corrections.

CONCLUSION

Based on our foregoing discussion, we hold that substantial evidence supports the

ERS's conclusion that Bond's disability was not an "occupational disability" as that term is defined

in the statute. Therefore, we overrule Bond's points of error and affirm the judgment of the trial

court.

J. Woodfin Jones, Justice

[Before Justices Powers, Jones and B. A. Smith; Justice Powers not participating]

Affirmed

Filed: March 11, 1992

[Publish]

1. Now the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.