Opinion

Celtic Life Insurance Company v. John D. Coats, Jr.

Court
Texas Court of Appeals, 3rd District (Austin)
Filed
Jun 10, 1992
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 35.7%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS, THIRD DISTRICT OF TEXAS,

AT AUSTIN

NO. 3-90-279-CV

CELTIC LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

APPELLANT

vs.

JOHN D. COATS, JR.,

APPELLEE

FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF TRAVIS COUNTY, 98TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

NO. 420,876, HONORABLE JON N. WISSER, JUDGE

This is an appeal from a suit by an insured against his group health insurer,

Celtic Life Insurance Company, for misrepresentations made by the insurer's soliciting agent.

Suit was brought under the Insurance Code article 21.21 (1) and the Deceptive Trade Practices-Consumer Protection Act (DTPA), (2) and on theories of common-law fraud and

misrepresentation. Judgment was rendered on a verdict in favor of the insured. We affirm the

judgment.

THE CONTROVERSY

In August 1984 appellee, John D. Coats, Jr., acquired ownership of Aloha

Pools, a swimming pool construction and service company. Aloha had previously been part of

a larger company called Swim Pack. When Aloha became a separate entity it fell below the

minimum number of employees necessary to continue group health insurance coverage with

Swim Pack's insurer. That coverage ceased for Aloha's employees on January 31, 1985.

In September 1984 Coats met with Ken Harrell, an independent insurance agent

and Celtic's soliciting agent, to discuss replacement coverage. According to Coats, he told

Harrell he was particularly interested in psychiatric benefits equal to or greater than the

$20,000 psychiatric benefits available under Swim Pack's policy.

Harrell returned with a brochure describing the coverage and benefits of a

policy from Celtic called the "Horizon Plan." Harrell orally summarized the brochure for

Coats and discussed the benefits of the plan with Paula Engelmann, Aloha's business manager.

Both Coats and Engelmann maintain that Harrell represented to them that the plan's $1 million

maximum lifetime benefit applied to in-hospital psychiatric care. On Engelmann's

recommendation, Coats purchased the Celtic policy, which became effective February 1, 1985.

Coats's son was admitted to Shoal Creek Hospital for psychiatric care the

following August. Only then did Coats discover that Celtic's policy covered only $10,000 of

his son's psychiatric treatment. Despite Harrell's further assurances at this time that the in-hospital psychiatric treatment was covered by the $1 million hospitalization limit, Celtic paid

only $10,000 of the $27,000 medical expenses.

Coats filed suit seeking to hold Celtic liable for the additional costs of the

psychiatric care on theories of common-law fraud and misrepresentation, and under the DTPA

and article 21.21. The jury found that Ken Harrell had authority to explain, on behalf of

Celtic, the benefits of the insurance policy and had misrepresented the terms, benefits,

provisions, or conditions of the policy, which was the producing cause of damages to Coats.

The jury failed to find that the misrepresentation was made knowingly or that Celtic authorized

Harrell to make representations outside the scope of the written document concerning the

insurance policy's terms, benefits, provisions, and conditions.

The trial court rendered judgment on the verdict awarding Coats $27,584.57 in

actual damages, consisting of reasonable and necessary medical expenses and prejudgment

interest. This amount was trebled under the mandatory treble-damages provision of article

21.21. 1985 Tex. Gen. Laws, ch. 22, § 3, at 395 (Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21, §

16(b)(1), since amended). The trial court also awarded Coats attorney's fees and court costs

under article 21.21, section 16.

SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE Celtic's first point of error complains that the evidence was factually insufficient

to support the jury's affirmative answer to question number one. As submitted to the jury, this

question read:

Did Kenneth Harrell make any misrepresentations concerning the terms, benefits,

provisions, or conditions of the insurance policy such as to be a producing cause

of damages to John Coats, Jr., . . . .

The court defined "misrepresentation" to the jury as any of the following:

(1) any untrue statement of a material fact; or

(2) any omission to state a material fact necessary to make the statements made not

misleading (considered in the light of the circumstances under which they are

made) or;

(3) the making of any statement in such a manner or order to mislead a reasonably

prudent person to a false conclusion of a material fact.

In reviewing the factual sufficiency of the evidence the court must consider and

weigh all of the evidence, both supportive of and contrary to the contested finding. Plas-Tex, Inc.

v. U.S. Steel Corp. , 772 S.W.2d 442, 445 (Tex. 1989). The contested findings will be upheld

unless we find that: (1) the evidence is too weak to support the finding; or (2) the finding is so

against the overwhelming weight of the evidence as to be manifestly unjust. Garza v. Alviar , 395

S.W.2d 821, 823 (Tex. 1965). We will not substitute our finding for that of the trier of fact

merely because we might have reached a different factual conclusion. Otis Elevator Co. v.

Joseph , 749 S.W.2d 920, 923 (Tex. App. 1988, no writ).

After considering all of the evidence in the record we hold that the evidence was

sufficient for the jury to conclude that Harrell made untrue statements of material fact, omitted

to state a material fact, and made a statement that misled Coats to arrive at false conclusions

regarding the policy's coverage, all of which come within the court's definition of

misrepresentation.

Coats testified that he told Harrell at their first meeting that he was particularly

interested in psychiatric benefits because one of his sons had required psychiatric care and he

anticipated that his second son might need similar care. He gave Harrell a brochure explaining

Swim Pack's coverage and requested that Harrell find replacement coverage that included

psychiatric benefits equal to or greater than the $20,000 available under Swim Pack's policy.

Harrell returned with a brochure describing Celtic's Horizon Plan and orally summarized the plan

for Coats, comparing Swim Pack's plan limit of $20,000 psychiatric benefits to the Horizon Plan's

maximum lifetime hospitalization benefits of $1 million, without mentioning that psychiatric

benefits were limited to $10,000. Coats could not remember whether Harrell ever expressly told

him that the $10,000 limit on psychiatric care benefits applied only to doctors and not to

hospitalization. Coats never read the brochure himself. Even if he had read there was a $10,000

limit, he conceded that he might have bought the policy anyway.

Coats testified that he delegated the responsibility for finding out about the

insurance coverage to Engelmann, asking her to go over the brochure, listen to Harrell's

presentation, and have Harrell answer her questions. Engelmann never told Coats the substance

of her conversations with Harrell about the psychiatric-care benefits; she told him only that she

was satisfied with the policy. Coats bought the policy based on Engelmann's opinion.

After his second son was admitted to Shoal Creek Hospital in August 1985 for

psychiatric care, Coats discovered for the first time there was a $10,000 limit on psychiatric-care

benefits. He called Harrell, who again assured him that he was covered and that the plan covered

$1 million of hospitalization. Celtic paid only the $10,000 and Coats paid the remaining $17,000.

Engelmann testified that she was present when Coats told Harrell at their first

meeting that he was interested in psychiatric-care benefits. When she read in the brochure that

there was a $10,000 limit on psychiatric benefits she discussed the matter with Harrell. He told

her that the $10,000 limit applied only to out-patient psychiatric care while the $1 million

hospitalization limit applied to in-patient psychiatric care.

Engelmann agreed that the section of the brochure explaining psychiatric benefits

does not specify that the $10,000 limit applies only to out-patient care and that Harrell did not tell

her he was authorized to change or alter the terms of the policy. Nevertheless, after reading the

brochure and discussing the coverage with Harrell, Engelmann told Coats she was satisfied with

the policy.

Harrell was unable to recall the details of his dealings with Coats and Engelmann.

He testified that he was not sure whether he told Coats the psychiatric care was limited to

$10,000, but he testified he never told anyone there was a $1 million limit on psychiatric-care

coverage, whether in-hospital or at the doctor's office; he knew that the $10,000 applied to all

psychiatric care. He never told Coats or Engelmann that he was authorized to do more than

explain coverage discussed in the brochure and he had no incentive to trick Coats because his

commission was only about sixty dollars per month. He testified that Coats and Engelmann told

him at one meeting that they did not have time to sit down and go over all the details of the policy

and asked him to leave a brochure for them to review.

Although there was conflicting evidence, the jury was able to hear the testimony

and view the demeanor of Coats, Engelmann and Harrell. They apparently found Coats's and

Engelmann's versions of the events more persuasive than Harrell's. The jury is the sole judge of

the credibility of the witnesses and the weight of their testimony and is free to believe or

disbelieve that testimony in whole or in part. Rego Co. v. Brannon , 682 S.W.2d 677, 680 (Tex.

App. 1984, writ ref'd n.r.e.). We overrule Celtic's first point of error.

RELIANCE In points of error two and three Celtic complains that the trial court erred in

refusing to submit its proposed jury question on reliance and in entering judgment without

obtaining a jury finding that Coats relied on Harrell's misrepresentation in deciding to purchase

the insurance policy. Celtic argues that there can be no producing cause without a finding that

the consumer relied on the misrepresentation. We disagree.

Reliance is not an element that consumers are required to prove in order to recover

for misrepresentations under the DTPA. In Weitzel v. Barnes , 691 S.W.2d 598, 600 (Tex. 1985),

the Texas Supreme Court reviewed the legislative history of the 1979 amendments to the DTPA

and held that proof of reliance on a misrepresentation is not required before a consumer can

recover. See also Crawford & Co. v. Garcia , 817 S.W.2d 98, 101 (Tex. App. 1991, no writ).

Appellant urges this Court to adopt Justice Gonzalez's dissenting view in Weitzel

and hold that reliance is implicit in producing cause and, therefore, should be a necessary element

of the plaintiff's proof. Weitzel , 691 S.W.2d at 601-02 (Gonzalez, J., dissenting); see also Brown

Foundation Repair & Consulting v. McGuire , 711 S.W.2d 349, 354 (Tex. App. 1986, writ ref'd

n.r.e.) (Akin, J., concurring). We decline to do so. Although this Court acknowledges that

reliance can be a factor in deciding whether a misrepresentation was a producing cause, and

certainly proof of reliance will strengthen a plaintiff's case, reliance is not a necessary element

of producing cause that a plaintiff must prove in order to recover damages under the DTPA.

We overrule Celtic's second and third points of error.

VICARIOUS LIABILITY By points of error four and five Celtic complains that it was error to hold Celtic

vicariously liable for Harrell's misrepresentation. Celtic argues that it is not vicariously liable

because Harrell was a soliciting agent, rather than a recording agent. Celtic also argues that it

is not liable because Harrell was not authorized to make any representations about policy coverage

beyond those made in Celtic's brochure.

Texas law provides two statutory remedies to consumers for misrepresentations by

insurance agents. The Insurance Code defines "[m]aking . . . any . . . statement

misrepresenting the terms of any policy issued or to be issued" as an unfair and deceptive act or

practice in the business of insurance. Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21, § 4(1) (Supp. 1992).

Violation of article 21.21, section 4, is actionable under either article 21.21, section 16, of the

Insurance Code or section 17.50(a)(4) of the DTPA.

In Royal Globe Insurance Company v. Bar Consultants, Inc. , 577 S.W.2d 688

(Tex. 1979), the Texas Supreme Court held an insurer liable under article 21.21 and the DTPA

for misrepresentations made by the insurer's local recording agent. Celtic argues that Royal

Globe is not determinative because Harrell is a "soliciting agent," not a "local recording agent."

The Insurance Code establishes the extent of authority of both types of agents. A

soliciting agent's authority is limited to receiving and forwarding applications for insurance; such

an agent has no authority to make a contract on behalf of the insurance company or to alter or

waive any terms of the policy. Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.04 (Supp. 1992); see also Guthrie v.

Republic Nat'l Life Ins. Co. , 682 S.W.2d 634, 636 (Tex. App. 1984, writ ref'd n.r.e.). The

soliciting agent's authority is much more limited than that of the local recording agent, who is

additionally authorized to write, sign and execute insurance policies and to bind the insurer. Tex.

Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.14, § 2 (Supp. 1992); see also Royal Globe , 577 S.W.2d at 693 . Both

soliciting and local recording agents are "agents" of the insurance company. Tex. Ins. Code Ann.

art. 21.02 (Supp. 1992).

Texas courts disagree on whether Royal Globe applies when a soliciting agent

makes a misrepresentation. Compare Guthrie , 682 S.W.2d at 634 and American Nat'l Life Ins.

Co. v. Montgomery , 640 S.W.2d 346 (Tex. App. 1982, writ ref'd n.r.e.) (holding insurer is not

liable for misrepresentations of soliciting agent) with Paramount Nat'l Life Ins. Co. v. Williams ,

772 S.W.2d 255 (Tex. App. 1989, writ denied); Lucadou v. Time Ins. Co. , 758 S.W.2d 886 (Tex.

App. 1988, no writ); Tidelands Life Ins. Co. v. Franco , 711 S.W.2d 728 (Tex. App. 1986, writ

ref'd n.r.e.); and Tidelands Life Ins. Co. v. Harris , 675 S.W.2d 224 (Tex. App. 1984, writ ref'd

n.r.e.) (holding insurer liable for misrepresentations of soliciting agent). However, we believe

Royal Globe does apply to soliciting agents. The focus of the court's rationale in Royal Globe

was on the agent's authority to sell insurance and in the process to make representations about the

policy, an authority both soliciting and local recording agents share:

Embrey as a local recording agent for Royal Globe, had statutory authority under

Article 21.02 and Article 21.14(2) to sell insurance policies for the company and

by necessary implication to represent the coverage afforded by such policies to the

consumer. If his representations were false as the trial court here found, under the

explicit language of Section 16, Article 21.21 and Section 17.46(b)(12) of the

DTPA, his actions constituted a deceptive act or practice for which his principal

is accountable.

Royal Globe , 577 S.W.2d at 694 . We see no logical reason to relieve the insurer of statutory

liability merely because the soliciting agent's authority is limited to the sale of policies, while the

local recording agent has more extensive authority, none of which contributed to the reasoning

in Royal Globe .

In order to hold the insurance company vicariously liable it must be established that

an agent of the insurance company made the misrepresentation and that the agent had actual,

implied or apparent authority to make the representation. Royal Globe , 577 S.W.2d at 693 ;

Lucadou , 758 S.W.2d 886 . Celtic does not argue that Harrell is not its agent. The jury found

that Harrell had "authority to explain, on behalf of Celtic, the benefits of the insurance policy."

Celtic has not attacked this finding on appeal. Thus, the two elements necessary to impose

vicarious liability on Celtic under article 21.21 and the DTPA for the misrepresentations of its

agent are established in this case. Celtic's fourth and fifth points of error are overruled.

TREBLE DAMAGES Celtic's sixth point of error complains that the trial court improperly trebled

damages because the jury did not find that Harrell's misrepresentations were made knowingly.

Celtic asserts that the cause of action accrued after the April 4, 1985, effective date of the

amendment to article 21.21 which requires a finding of knowing violation before damages are

trebled. See Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21, § 16(b)(1).

Originally, both the DTPA and article 21.21 called for mandatory treble damages.

In 1979, the DTPA was amended to require that the conduct be committed knowingly before

damages in excess of $1000 could be trebled. Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. § 17.50 (b)(1) (1987).

Even then, trebling was discretionary in a standard DTPA case.

One exception to the "knowingly" requirement under the DTPA was a case brought

under section 17.50(a)(4) for violations of the Insurance Code article 21.21. In that instance, the

Texas Supreme Court held that the DTPA incorporates the Insurance Code in its entirety. Vail v.

Texas Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co. , 754 S.W.2d 129, 132 (Tex. 1988). This Court has interpreted

the Vail decision to mean that § 17.50(a)(4) incorporated the mandatory treble damage provisions

of art. 21.21, § 16(b)(1), despite the discretionary treble damages language in § 17.50(b)(1). See

State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. v. Gros , 818 S.W.2d 908, 917 (Tex. App. 1991, no writ).

Article 21.21 was also amended in 1985 to require a finding that the prohibited

conduct be committed knowingly. Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21, § 16(b)(1). The act amending

the Insurance Code provided that the amendment applies to a cause of action that "accrues" on or

after the effective date of the act. 1985 Tex. Gen. Laws, ch. 22, § 4, at 396. Thus, only in an

action that accrues on or after April 4, 1985, is a plaintiff required to plead and prove that a

violation of article 21.21 was committed knowingly.

The jury in this case failed to find that the conduct was committed knowingly. The

determinative issue in deciding whether the court erroneously trebled damages is, therefore, when

did the cause of action accrue. Celtic argues that the cause of action accrued when the claim was

denied in August 1985, citing Murray v. San Jacinto Agency, Inc. , 800 S.W.2d 826 (Tex. 1990).

Murray was a first-party bad-faith case and does not control our decision in this misrepresentation

case.

It is settled Texas law that a cause of action under the DTPA accrues when the

misrepresentation was made. La Sara Grain Co. v. First Nat'l Bank of Mercedes , 673 S.W.2d

558, 665 (Tex. 1984); Woods v. Littleton , 554 S.W.2d 662, 666 (Tex. 1977); State Farm Fire &

Cas. Co. v. Gros , 818 S.W.2d 908, 917 (Tex. App. 1991, no writ). Harrell's misrepresentation

was made between September 1984, when Harrell first met with Coats, and February 1, 1985,

the effective date of the policy. Accordingly, the cause of action accrued before the 1985

amendment became effective, and Coats is not required to show a knowing violation. Celtic's

sixth point of error is overruled.

In point of error seven, Celtic asserts that the trial court erroneously trebled

prejudgment interest, citing Vail , 754 S.W.2d at 137 . Appellee responds that while it is improper

under Vail to calculate prejudgment interest on the trebled damages, it is proper under this Court's

opinion in Paramore v. Nehring , 792 S.W.2d 210 (Tex. App. 1990, no writ), to treble the amount

of actual damages, which includes prejudgment interest.

Although this argument initially appears to be merely a matter of semantics, further

scrutiny reconciles the apparent conflict between Vail and Paramore . The confusion stems from

the two principles underlying these cases. On the one hand, prejudgment interest may not be

awarded on punitive damages. See Cavnar v. Quality Control Parking, Inc. , 696 S.W.2d 549,

555 (Tex. 1985). On the other, "actual damages," which has been held to include prejudgment

interest, are subject to being trebled under the DTPA. See Benavidez v. Isles Constr. Co. , 726

S.W.2d 23, 25 (Tex. 1987); see also American Baler Co. v. SRS Systems, Inc. , 748 S.W.2d 243,

250 (Tex. App. 1988, writ denied).

In Vail , the trial court erroneously trebled the amount of damages assessed by the

jury, then calculated prejudgment interest on that amount. The supreme court, relying on Cavnar ,

held that it was improper to calculate prejudgment interest on the trebled amount of damages.

Without distinguishing Vail , this Court held in Paramore that prejudgment interest,

being an element of actual damages, is subject to being trebled under the DTPA. The reasoning

applied in Paramore is concisely discussed in one commentary as follows:

Recognizing that actual damages recoverable under the DTPA are those damages

recoverable at common law, the court [in Paramore ] relied on the long standing

rule that interest as "compensation for detention of that which is due on account of

injury inflicted" constitutes common law damages. Such interest thus constitutes

actual damages under the DTPA, which may be trebled in appropriate cases.

Michael Curry & Melissa Krakauer, Deceptive Trade Practices and Commercial Torts , 45

Sw. L.J. 319 , 324 (1991).

In fact, there is no conflict between Vail and Paramore ; although the "bottom line"

amount of damages recovered may be the same, the process is distinguishable. The proper

process for calculating treble damages under the DTPA without violating the prohibition of Vail

is to (1) calculate prejudgment interest on the amount of damages assessed in the verdict, (2) add

prejudgment interest to the assessed damages to arrive at the total amount of "actual damages,"

then (3) treble that sum as appropriate.

Having reviewed the judgment, we agree with appellee that the trial court properly

calculated damages in this case. Celtic's seventh point of error is therefore overruled.

Finding no reversible error, we affirm the trial court's judgment.

Marilyn Aboussie, Justice

[Before Chief Justice Carroll, Justices Aboussie and Kidd]

Affirmed

Filed: June 10, 1992

[Publish]

1. Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21, § 16(a) (Supp. 1992).

2. Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. § 17.50 (a)(3), (4) (1987).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.