Opinion

Bangor v. Amato

  • 2014 Ohio 5503
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Dec 8, 2014
Status
Published
On the bench
Vukovich
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 48.7%

The opinion

[Cite as Bangor v. Amato, 2014-Ohio-5503.]

STATE OF OHIO, COLUMBIANA COUNTY

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

SEVENTH DISTRICT

CHRISTINE BANGOR, )

) CASE NO. 14 CO 9

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT, )

)

VS. ) OPINION

)

CHARLES AMATO, )

)

DEFENDANT-APPELLEE. )

CHARACTER OF PROCEEDINGS: Civil Appeal from Common Pleas Court,

Case No. 12CV753.

JUDGMENT: Affirmed.

APPEARANCES:

For Plaintiff-Appellant: Attorney Andrew Simon

Attorney James Simon

6000 Freedom Square Drive

Freedom Square II, Suite 165

Independence, Ohio 44131

For Defendant-Appellee: Attorney Stephen Griffin

Attorney Michael Kahlenberg

825 South Main Street

North Canton, Ohio 44720

JUDGES:

Hon. Joseph J. Vukovich

Hon. Gene Donofrio

Hon. Cheryl L. Waite

Dated: December 8, 2014

[Cite as Bangor v. Amato, 2014-Ohio-5503.]

VUKOVICH, J.

{¶1} Plaintiff-appellant Christine Bangor appeals the decision of the

Columbiana County Common Pleas Court granting defendant-appellee Charles

Amato’s motion for summary judgment and motion to dismiss the fraud claim. In

granting summary judgment for Amato, the trial court found that Bangor’s expert’s

credentials were lacking pursuant to Evid.R. 702 and excluded his testimony as an

expert. In this appeal we are asked to answer two questions. First, did the trial court

abuse its discretion in excluding Bangor’s expert’s testimony? Second, did the trial

court err when it dismissed the fraud claim because of its conclusion that there was

no legal authority to support such a claim?

{¶2} For the reasons espoused below, the trial court’s decisions are hereby

affirmed. The trial court did not abuse its discretion in excluding Bangor’s expert’s

testimony. Likewise, the trial court did not err in dismissing the fraud claim.

Statement of the Facts and Case

{¶3} This case is a legal malpractice and fraud case that was initiated by

Christine Bangor against her divorce attorney, Charles Amato. 11/26/12 Pro se

Legal Malpractice Complaint; 03/11/13 Amended Complaint.

{¶4} On November 18, 2010, Christine Bangor retained Amato to represent

her in her divorce action against Richard Bangor; it was a flat fee agreement. On

November 23, 2011, with the help of their attorneys, Christine and Richard Bangor

entered into a Separation Agreement. At the time of the agreement, Christine and

Richard had been married 17 years and one of their children was still a minor. The

agreement set forth custody, child support, division of property, and spousal support.

That agreement was reviewed and found to be fair and equitable. 11/28/11

Magistrate’s Decision; 11/28/11 J.E.

{¶5} The portions of the separation agreement that are at issue in a legal

malpractice action are spousal support, marital debt, and the division of Richard

Bangor’s 401(K). The separation agreement provided that Richard would pay

Christine $1,200 a month in spousal support for 59 months. The agreement

indicated that Richard would pay the majority of the marital debt, which according to

-2-

his attorney, was close to $250,000. As to the 401(K), which was valued at

approximately $611,000, the marital portion of the plan was determined to be

$105,245.72 “by way of a present value determination conducted by Pension

Evaluators, A division of QDRO Consultants Co., LLC.” 11/23/11 Separation

Agreement. Fifty percent of the marital portion was awarded to Christine.

{¶6} The allegation in the legal malpractice action is that if Christine Bangor

had gone to trial rather than settle, the outcome would have been more favorable to

her; she claims that she would have gotten a larger portion of her ex-husband’s

pension and received a larger spousal support award. Specifically, she contended

that had Amato been aware of current case law of this district she would have

received a larger spousal support award. She claimed that given the duration of the

marriage and the disparity in earning ability, she should have received spousal

support in the amount of $4,000 a month for 68 months instead of receiving $1,200 a

month for 59 months. As to the 401(K), she claimed that Amato should not have

relied on Richard’s pension evaluator. She asserted that had a separate evaluation

been done it would have shown that she was entitled to half of the entire pension.

{¶7} As to her fraud claim, Christine argued that Amato had a duty to

disclose his prior relationship with Richard’s divorce attorney, Attorney Hartford.

Christine claimed that Attorney Hartford had represented Amato on at least four prior

occasions, one of which was for Amato’s divorce. She argued that the alleged

conflict of interest affected Amato’s ability to adequately represent her.

{¶8} Amato filed an answer and counterclaim asserting breach of contract

because Christine has failed to pay the balance of the fee. 12/24/12 Answer and

Counterclaim. He also moved to dismiss the fraud claim arguing that there is no

recognized duty upon which a fraudulent concealment claim can be applied to the

facts at hand. 03/06/13 Motion to Dismiss.

{¶9} After considering the motions, the trial court granted the motion to

dismiss the fraud claim; “the Court finds that there is no legal authority to support

such a claim and that to permit discovery would only result in a true ‘fishing

expedition.’” 05/28/13 J.E.

-3-

{¶10} Thereafter, Amato moved for summary judgment on his counterclaim

and on Christine’s remaining claims. 09/19/13, 11/08/13 Motions. In the November

summary judgment motion, Amato sought to exclude Peter Sackett, Christine’s

witness, as an expert. Christine opposed Amato’s motions and moved for leave to

file her own summary judgment motion. 10/02/13; 11/15/13 Motions. Attached to her

motion for leave was a copy of her summary judgment motion. 11/15/13 Motion. On

January 22, 2014, the trial court granted Christine’s motion for leave. 1/22/14 J.E.

{¶11} That same day, the trial court considered the opposing motions for

summary judgment and the request to exclude Christine’s expert. The trial court

concluded that Christine’s expert did not qualify as an expert under Evid.R. 702 and

excluded his testimony. The court then found that Christine had not presented any

credible evidence that she would have received a better result had she gone to trial

rather than to settle. Thus, the court overruled Christine’s motion for summary

judgment. It then granted summary judgment for Amato on Christine’s malpractice

claim and granted him summary judgment on his counterclaim for unpaid attorney

fees. 01/22/14 J.E.

{¶12} Christine timely appealed the trial court’s rulings.

First Assignment of Error

{¶13} “The trial court erred in making factual determinations regarding the

correctness of the opinions of Ms. Bangor’s expert, Peter Sackett, rather than leaving

those factual determinations for the jury.”

{¶14} In Ohio, the general rule of law regarding a legal malpractice claim is

that the plaintiff alleging legal malpractice must present expert testimony on

professional standards of conduct. McInnis v. Hyatt Legal Clinics, 10 Ohio St.3d 112,

113, 461 N.E.2d 1295 (1984); Perotti v. Beck, 7th Dist. No. 00CA249 (Sept. 24,

2001). Summary judgment in favor of the attorney is mandated when the plaintiff

fails to supply expert testimony on the alleged negligence. See Bloom v. Dieckmann

(1983), 11 Ohio App.3d 202, 464 N.E.2d 187 (1st Dist.1983); Polivka v. Cox, 10th

Dist. No. 01AP-1023, 2002-Ohio-2420, ¶ 9.

-4-

{¶15} Therefore, in order to survive summary judgment, Christine was

required to offer expert testimony. Her expert was Attorney Peter Sackett. Sackett

testified that he has practiced law actively in Ohio since 1984 and that 60 to 65

percent of his practice is divorce work. Sackett Depo. 6. Sackett opined that

Attorney Amato was negligent in his representation of Christine Bangor in advising

her to enter into the settlement agreement. Sackett asserted that had she gone to

trial, rather than settle, she would have received more in spousal support and more of

the 401(K).

{¶16} Attorney Amato challenged Sackett’s credentials as an expert witness.

After discussing Sackett’s report, the court stated that it found “Mr. Sacketts’ [sic]

credentials lacking as a matter of law pursuant to Evid.R. 702.” 01/22/14 J.E.

{¶17} We are asked to review that determination. Thus, we are asked to

determine whether the trial court abused its discretion in executing its gatekeeper

function. Theis v. Lane, 6th Dist. No. WD-12-047, 2013-Ohio-729, ¶ 12 (Trial court

excluded expert testimony during summary judgment because it was determined not

qualified under Evid.R. 702. The appellate court reviewed that decision under an

abuse of discretion standard of review.). Discretion in determining the admissibility of

expert testimony generally lies with the trial court. Valentine v. Conrad, 110 Ohio

St.3d 42, 43, 2006–Ohio–3561, 850 N.E.2d 683, ¶ 9. “‘Abuse of discretion’ suggests

unreasonableness, arbitrariness, or unconscionability. Without those elements, it is

not the role of [the] court to substitute its judgment for that of the trial court.” Id.

{¶18} Evid.R. 702 states that a witness may testify as an expert if all of the

following factors apply:

(A) The witness' testimony either relates to matters beyond the

knowledge or experience possessed by lay persons or dispels a

misconception common among lay persons;

(B) The witness is qualified as an expert by specialized

knowledge, skill, experience, training, or education regarding the

subject matter of the testimony;

-5-

(C) The witness' testimony is based on reliable scientific,

technical, or other specialized information. To the extent that the

testimony reports the result of a procedure, test, or experiment, the

testimony is reliable only if all of the following apply:

(1) The theory upon which the procedure, test, or experiment is

based is objectively verifiable or is validly derived from widely accepted

knowledge, facts, or principles;

(2) The design of the procedure, test, or experiment reliably

implements the theory;

(3) The particular procedure, test, or experiment was conducted

in a way that will yield an accurate result.

Evid.R. 702.

{¶19} It is undisputed that division (A) of Evid.R. 702 is met; expert testimony

is needed to discuss spousal support and division of Richard’s 401(K). Thus, our

focus is on divisions (B) and (C) and whether Sackett’s opinions regarding spousal

support and the 401(K) met the foundational requirements in those divisions.

401(K)

{¶20} Sackett stated that as a “direct and proximate result of Mr. Amato’s

breach of his duty to Ms. Bangor and to a reasonable degree of professional

certainty,” it is his “opinion that Mr. Amato was negligent in his representation of

Christine Bangor and damages resulted therefrom” for failing “to obtain a reasonable

and appropriate percentage of Christine Bangor’s Husband’s 401(K).” He specifically

found fault with the fact that the records for the 401(K) came directly from Richard,

not from Richard’s employer or the plan’s record keeper. He also found fault with the

fact that not all of the statements were provided to the pension evaluator; there were

some gaps. Sackett opined that these problems should have caused Amato to get

his own independent pension evaluation. Sackett then concluded that a fair and

reasonable distribution of the 401(K) would have been half of the entire $600,369,

which would amount to $300,184.50.

-6-

{¶21} Sackett’s opinion on the 401(K) can be divided into two parts. The first

opinion is about the actual pension evaluation that was done. He claims it was not

properly done and that the evaluation should have concluded that she was entitled to

half of the entire pension. The second opinion is what Amato should have done

when he received a copy of the pension evaluation, which according to Sackett was

to get his own independent evaluation.

{¶22} In regards to the first portion of the opinion, that the pension evaluation

was done incorrectly and that Christine should have received half of the entire

pension, Sackett lacks the expertise to render such an opinion. Evid.R. 702(B)

requires that he have specialized knowledge, skill, experience, training, or education

regarding the subject matter of his testimony. Evid.R. 702(B). During his deposition,

Sackett stated that he is not a CPA and that he has no expertise in preparing pension

evaluations. Sackett Depo. 14, 27-29. This statement alone shows he cannot meet

the requirements of Evid.R. 702(B) to offer an opinion on the pension evaluation.

That lack of expertise becomes even more glaring when comparing his testimony to

that of James C. Coco, Amato’s expert.

{¶23} Coco did the original pension evaluation that was used in the divorce

action. He is a CPA and since the early 1990s he has done over 2,000 pension

evaluations of this type. Coco Depo. 7-8. He testified that he has been recognized

as an expert in pension evaluations in every case in which he has testified and his

opinion has never been excluded by a court of law. Coco Depo. 45. He further

testified that despite which party pays him, he does not see himself as an expert for

either party, but rather an expert for the court. Coco Depo. 22. He then explained

how the distribution of the 401(K) at issue in this case was computed. Coco Depo.

17-38.

{¶24} He stated that prior to the time of the Bangors’ marriage in 1994,

Richard already had $200,000 in a 401(K). He explained that that was treated as

Richard’s separate property and that any contributions made to the 401(K) after the

date of marriage were treated as marital property. Coco Depo. 17. He then

-7-

explained the process used to compute the interest on the marital and separate

property. Coco Depo. 33- 38.

{¶25} Coco testified that typically information regarding the pension comes

from the employer or the pension administrator. That said, he testified that it can also

come from the employee. He explained that while this is not the normal course of

conduct, it is not unusual to deal with the participant for the records rather than the

employer or record keeper of the statements. Coco Depo. 19. Coco further indicated

that when reviewing the information he received from Richard Bangor, which was

what he used to compute the marital and separate property of the 401(K), he did not

see any evidence of anything unreliable in the documents. Coco Depo. 83.

{¶26} He also addressed how a loan, which was taken from the pension plan

during the marriage, affected the marital and separate property. The loan that was

taken from the 401(K) during the marriage ($50,000) was deducted from the marital

portion. The marital portion at the time of the loan was not enough to cover the loan.

Therefore, the rest of the loan was taken from the separate property. When the loan

was paid back, the repayment ($70,000) was put into the marital portion. Coco

Depo. 42-43.

{¶27} He also explained gap issues. A gap in this context would mean there

is a statement or statements that are missing that show the gains or losses of the

pension. Christine Bangor’s arguments at the trial court level and now on appeal

focuses on this issue and asserts that it calls into question the computations of the

distribution. However, Coco explained that this is not uncommon to have gaps and

that there is a manner to fill the gaps, which are accepted and reasonable methods.

Coco Depo. 34. He stated that the calculation for the gaps was acceptable and

reasonable. Coco Depo. 35.

{¶28} In addition to explaining his credentials and how a computation for the

distribution of the pension is done, Coco also looked at Sackett’s conclusion

regarding how the pension should be distributed. As aforementioned, Sackett’s

opinion was that the pension, in its entirety, should be divided in half. Coco stated

that that conclusion contains no analysis and is just a dividing of the balance by two.

-8-

Coco Depo. 47. That it is not, in his opinion, an expert calculation of a pension

evaluation. Coco Depo. 47.

{¶29} This last conclusion highlights another problem with Sackett’s opinion

regarding the distribution of the pension. In addition to lacking the expertise for

pension evaluations pursuant to Evid.R. 702(B), Sackett’s opinion regarding the

pension evaluation also fails to comply with Evid.R. 702(C).

{¶30} In the context of a legal malpractice action, Evid.R. 702(C) requires that

a legal expert's opinion be based upon some reliable legal principle or methodology.

Franjesh v. Berg, 9th Dist. No. 17534, 1996 WL 556899 (Oct. 2, 1996). In Franjesh,

an expert opined that divorce attorney’s representation fell below acceptable

community standard because the divorce attorney did not consider premarital military

time in the pension evaluation calculations. The appellate court found that that

opinion did not meet the foundational requirements of Evid.R. 702(C). That decision

was based on the fact that the law is clear on what separate property is and on what

constitutes marital property. Id. See also R.C. 3105.171(A)(3), (6). Statutorily

marital property and separate property have different definitions. R.C.

3105.171(A)(3), (6). Similar to the expert in Franjesh, Sackett fails to acknowledge

marital property from separate property. Thus, his opinion does not meet the

foundational requirements in Evid.R. 702(C).

{¶31} Furthermore, Christine Bangor does not appear to make the argument

that no portion of this pension is non-marital. This is important to note because as

long as there is a portion that is non-marital, Sackett’s failure to consider that

separate property means that his opinion on the distribution of the 401(K) does not

meet Evid.R. 702(C) requirements.

{¶32} However, assuming arguendo, her arguments could be construed as

asserting the position that no portion of the 401(K) was separate property, she

provides nothing beyond her own self-serving statement to support that claim. Self-

serving affidavits, without corroboration, generally will not be sufficient to

demonstrate material issues of fact. See Durick v. eBay, Inc., 7th Dist. No.

05MA198, 2006-Ohio-4861, ¶ 29; Pinchot v. Mahoning Cty. Sheriff's Dept., 7th Dist.

-9-

No. 05MA48, 2005-Ohio-6593 ¶ 26. Amato, on the other hand, offers testimony from

Coco that he was provided with documentation that showed the 401(K) was started

prior to the marriage. Separate property by statute is defined as property acquired

prior to marriage. R.C. 3105.171(A)(6)(a)(ii). Thus, for those reasons, Sackett is

unqualified to offer an opinion on whether the pension evaluation was correctly

performed and how the pension should be divided.

{¶33} That said, as explained above, Sackett’s opinion was not confined to

whether the pension evaluation was done correctly or how it should have been

divided. Sackett also offered on how Amato was required to proceed with the

evaluation that came back from pension evaluators. Sackett claimed that the gap

issues, the fact that there was a loan taken out on the pension during the marriage

and the fact that the documentation for the pension evaluation was supplied by

Richard should have caused Amato to question the evaluation’s reliability. Thus,

Sackett opined that Amato should have gotten an independent evaluation and made

sure that there were no gaps and that none of the information came from Richard’s

employer or the administrator of the pension plan, not from Richard.

{¶34} This argument, however, does not help Christine. While Sackett most

likely has the expertise to offer this opinion, this opinion would not help her survive

summary judgment. Christine’s malpractice claim utilizes the case-within-the-case

doctrine and thus, requires her to show that she would have gotten a better outcome

if she had gone to trial. Environmental Network Corp. v. Goodman Weiss Miller,

L.L.P., 119 Ohio St.3d 209, 212, 2008-Ohio-3833, 893 N.E.2d 173, ¶ 17-19 (“It is

insufficient for the plaintiff to present simply ‘some evidence of the merits of the

underlying claim,’ rather ‘the plaintiff must establish that he would have been

successful in the underlying matter.’”). This assertion, in the context of the pension,

means she would have received more of it. In order to prove this, she has to offer an

expert on the pension. Sackett could potentially offer an opinion on how a

reasonable attorney was required to proceed after getting an evaluation like the one

received in this instance. However, he is not qualified to offer an opinion on the

proper distribution of the pension because he is not a pension evaluator.

-10-

Furthermore, the record is devoid of any indication, beyond mere conjecture,

indicating that the pension distribution that was calculated was inaccurate. Assuming

that Amato should have done more when the evaluation came back, such as getting

a second evaluation, if that second evaluation came back the same as the first

evaluation she would not be entitled to damages because she would have failed to

show that the outcome if she had gone to trial would have been more favorable to

her. There is no evidence in this record to show that a second pension evaluation

would have been any different. Therefore, even if Sackett’s opinion that Amato

should have had an independent evaluation done was admissible, its exclusion

amounted to harmless error because it would not have helped Christine survive

summary judgment.

{¶35} Considering all of the above, we cannot find that the trial court abused

its discretion in excluding Sackett’s testimony on the 401(K). That portion of the trial

court’s decision is affirmed.

Spousal Support

{¶36} Sackett also offered an opinion on the amount of spousal support. The

agreement between Richard and Christine was that she would receive $1,200 per

month for 59 months. Sackett claimed that a reasonable and appropriate spousal

support order would be $4,000 per month for 68 months.

{¶37} In excluding Sackett’s testimony, the trial court stated:

In Attorney Sackett’s same report, which is attached to Plaintiff’s

filing of November 15, 2013, stated that the Plaintiff should have

received spousal support of $4,000 a month for 68 months, rather than

the settlement amount of $76,000. Sackett fails to account for the

significant marital indebtedness which the Plaintiff’s ex-husband

assumed pursuant to the terms of the Court-approved Separation

Agreement. Even a very cursory review of the Agreement shows about

$200,000 of debt being assumed by the Plaintiff’s former husband. In

sworn statement Attorney James Hartford, counsel for the Plaintiff’s

former husband, said the amount of indebtedness assumed by his

-11-

client was even more. He said, “I think close to a quarter million dollars

in debt.”

The marital indebtedness is clearly a factor which a Court is to

consider in making an award. However, Mr. Sackett admits in his

deposition that the amount of indebtedness was not contained in his

expert report.

In summary, the Court finds Mr. Sacketts’ [sic] expert credentials

lacking as a matter of law pursuant to Evid.R. 702. He has never

testified as an expert before. While that is not dispositive of this issue,

he is admittedly not a pension evaluator and he had failed to address in

his report the major element of marital indebtedness in opining on what

he feels should have been the spousal support award for the Plaintiff.

The Court finds that Sackett does not have “specialized knowledge” as

the evidence rule requires and excludes his testimony as an expert.

01/22/14 J.E.

{¶38} To the extent that the above determination finds that Sackett lacks the

knowledge to render an opinion on spousal support based on Evid.R. 702(B), we

disagree. As previously stated, Sackett has been a practicing attorney for many

years and his primary work is in the divorce area. Those facts support the position

that he has the credentials to offer an expert opinion on what a typical and

reasonable spousal support award would be when considering the factors in R.C.

3105.18(C), which is the statute that governs spousal support. Thus, the

requirements in Evid.R. 702(B) are met.

{¶39} That said, the trial court’s reasoning shows that it was also excluding

Sackett’s opinion on spousal support because it did not comply with Evid.R. 702(C),

i.e. it was not based on a reliable legal principle or methodology. Sackett’s opinion

on what reasonable spousal support would have been had the divorce proceeded to

trial and judgment before the court was based on the length of the marriage, the

incomes of Christine and Richard, and the decision from our court in Lepowsky v.

Lepowsky, 7th Dist. No. 08CO10, 2010-Ohio-1544 (Lepowsky III). Sackett did not

-12-

consider the assumption of the marital debt. The trial court’s decision to exclude

Sackett’s opinion was based on the failure to consider that factor. Thus, the trial

court was finding that Sackett’s opinion was not based on a reliable legal principle or

methodology because that opinion failed to account for all the appropriate factors for

determining the amount and duration of spousal support.

{¶40} The factors for determining spousal support are set forth in R.C.

3105.18(C). That section lists a myriad of factors and one such factor is assumption

of the marital debt. R.C. 3105.18(C)(1)(i) (relative assets and liabilities of the

parties). Case law provides that it is a weighing process and that trial courts enjoy

broad discretion in determining the amount and duration of spousal support. Kunkle

v. Kunkle, 51 Ohio St.3d 64, 67, 554 N.E.2d 83 (1990); Cherry v. Cherry, 66 Ohio

St.2d 348; 421 N.E.2d 1293 (1981).

{¶41} The record shows that Richard did assume marital debt. Christine

admitted that fact. She testified that at the time of the divorce, she and Richard owed

$107,000 on the house. Christine Depo. 130. This was roughly the amount the

house was worth and Richard assumed that debt. She also admitted that Richard

assumed the medical debt, though she claims much of the medical debt was already

paid off. The only debt Christine admittedly left the marriage with was her premarital

student loan and a $10,000 car loan, which she acquired during the divorce

proceedings and without court approval. Likewise, Attorney Hartford, Richard

Bangor’s attorney, testified that during the settlement negotiations and reviewing

what had been done, the magistrate made the statement, “Boy, this guy is eating a

bunch of debt.” Hartford Depo. 84. Hartford indicated that the marital debt was close

to a quarter million dollars. Hartford Depo. 69.

{¶42} Considering R.C. 3105.18(C) and that it is a weighing process, an

expert offering an opinion on spousal support should have at least considered the

debt that Christine admitted Richard assumed when determining the appropriate

spousal support amount or offered an explanation as to why it was not considered.

Neither was done here; the report does not mention marital debt even though Sackett

testified that he “reviewed the debt assumption.” Sackett Depo. 69-70.

-13-

{¶43} Failing to consider all of the factors or failing to indicate why such factor

is not considered tends to indicate that the opinion was not based on a reliable legal

methodology. Under Evid.R. 705, an “expert may testify in terms of opinion or

inference and give his reasons therefor after disclosure of the underlying facts or

data.” An expert may not give an opinion on the “’ultimate issue’ if that opinion is

essentially a bare conclusion lacking in supporting rationale.” Boley v. Kennedy, 3d

Dist. No. 3-02-35, 2003-Ohio-1663, ¶ 18, quoting Gannett v. Booher, 12 Ohio App.3d

49, 52, 465 N.E.2d 1326 (6th Dist.1983). See also Schottenstein, Zox & Dunn,

L.P.A. v. C.J. Mahan Constr. Co., L.L.C., 10th Dist. No. 08AP-851, 2009-Ohio- 3616,

¶ 31.

{¶44} Furthermore, the fact that Christine disputes the amount of debt

Richard assumed does not help her position because she offers no support for the

allegation. As stated above Christine admits that Richard did assume debt, however,

she claims that a large portion of that was paid off prior to the divorce, i.e. it was

according to her “old” debt. Christine Depo. 192. In her affidavit, attached to her

motion for partial summary judgment, she states that the marital debt her ex-husband

alleged was fabricated and inflated as many were outdated, paid off or significantly

lower. 11/11/13 Christine Affidavit. However, beyond mere allegation, she offers no

evidence that it is true. “Generally, a party's unsupported and self-serving assertions,

offered by way of affidavit, standing alone and without corroborating materials under

Civ.R. 56, will not be sufficient to demonstrate material issues of fact.” Davis v.

Cleveland, 8th Dist. No. 83665, 2004–Ohio–6621, ¶ 23, quoting Bell v. Beightler,

10th Dist. No. 02AP–569, 2003–Ohio–88, ¶ 33. See also Durick v. eBay, Inc., 7th

Dist. No. 05MA198, 2006-Ohio-4861, ¶ 29. “Otherwise, a party could avoid summary

judgment under all circumstances solely by simply submitting such a self-serving

affidavit containing nothing more than bare contradictions of the evidence offered by

the moving party.” Davis; Bell. See also Pinchot v. Mahoning Cty. Sheriff's Dept.,

7th Dist. No. 05MA48, 2005-Ohio-6593 ¶ 26.

{¶45} Her allegations could have been supported by documentation; calling

the place to get documentation of when the debt was paid off could have been done.

-14-

If a large amount of the debt had been paid off, potentially her malpractice claim

might survive. She might be able to show she would have received a larger spousal

support award had she gone to trial. That said, merely stating something is “old”

does not mean it was paid off. Clearly, her premarital student loan is old, but she

does not claim it is paid off.

{¶46} Thus, alternatively even if the expert testimony was not excluded, she

did not satisfy her burden during summary judgment proceedings to survive summary

judgment. As explained above, she was required to show that she would have

received a larger spousal support had she gone to trial. In order to show the result,

i.e. the spousal support award, would have been better, she would have had to show

that the marital debt that Richard assumed was not as extensive as was set forth in

the separation agreement.

{¶47} Therefore, Sackett should have considered the marital debt that

Richard assumed or to explain why it was not considered provided a basis for the trial

court to exclude his testimony. The trial court did not abuse its discretion in excluding

the opinion based on the failure to consider the assumption of the marital debt or to

explain why it was not considered.

{¶48} It is noted that Sackett also relied on Lepowsky III and asserted that it

demonstrates that Christine was entitled to a larger spousal support award for a

longer duration. In Lepowsky III, we modified the spousal support to $3,000 per

month for an indefinite duration. Lepowsky III, 7th Dist. No. 08CO10, 2010-Ohio-

1544. The original spousal support order was $1,000 per month for 82 months. In

Lepowsky III we modified the award due to the unnecessarily long and tortured

procedural past of the case. Id. at ¶ 3. In Lepowsky, the duration was a 36 year

marriage and the wife was a homemaker who had little education beyond high

school. The wife, in Lepowsky, when entering the workforce only worked for

minimum wage, while the husband made roughly $101,000 a year. The Lepowsky

parties did not acquire the marital debt that was acquired in this case. In the case at

hand, the length of the marriage was 17 years. Christine was not only a homemaker,

but she worked outside the home. Despite having a degree from the Pittsburgh Art

-15-

Institute for interior design, Christine did not utilize that degree and instead worked

part time as a barmaid and/or server making roughly $10 an hour. At the time of the

divorce, Christine and Richard’s youngest child was in her final year of high school.

The tax return in the record for Richard Bangor indicated that he earned between

approximately $95,000 and $175,000 a year since 2001. As stated above, the

marital debt in this case was at least $200,000.

{¶49} The amount of debt and the fact that Christine has a degree that gives

her the ability to earn more than minimum wage arguably makes this case

distinguishable from Lepowsky III. As we stated in Lepowsky III, “’[e]qualization of

income is not a factor that must be considered or a goal in divorce cases,’ we also

recognized that, ‘the award must nonetheless be equitable in light of the factors in

each case.’ ‘To be equitable, the parties should, if feasible, enjoy a standard of living

comparable to that enjoyed during the marriage, adjusted by the factors set forth in

R.C. 3105.18.’” Lepowsky III at ¶ 14. Thus, Lepowsky III does not support the

conclusion that Christine would have received a larger spousal support award had

she gone to trial.

{¶50} In conclusion, considering all of the above, the trial court did not abuse

its discretion in excluding Sackett’s opinion regarding spousal support. Although the

trial court should not have stated that Sackett lacks the credentials for having an

expert opinion on spousal support, it was within the trial court’s discretion to find that

Sackett’s opinion does not meet the foundational requirements of Evid.R. 702(C).

Second Assignment of Error

{¶51} “The trial court erred in dismissing Ms. Bangor’s fraud claim.”

{¶52} Amato moved to dismiss Christine’s fraud claim because it failed to

state a claim upon which relief could be granted. The trial court granted the motion.

{¶53} A Civ.R. 12(B)(6) motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted is a procedural motion that tests the sufficiency of the

complaint. State ex rel. Hanson v. Guernsey Cty. Bd. of Commrs., 65 Ohio St.3d

545, 548, 605 N.E.2d 378 (1992). In order to dismiss a claim for failure to state a

claim upon which relief can be granted, the court must find beyond doubt that the

-16-

non-movant can prove no set of facts warranting relief after it presumes all factual

allegations in the claim are true, and construes all reasonable inferences in

appellant's favor. State ex rel. Seikbert v. Wilkinson, 69 Ohio St.3d 489, 490, 633

N.E.2d 1128 (1994). Therefore, the standard of review for a Civ.R. 12(B)(6) motion

to dismiss is de novo; the appellate court is required to independently review the

claim to determine if the dismissal was appropriate. Ferreri v. Plain Dealer

Publishing Co., 142 Ohio App.3d 629, 639, 756 N.E.2d 712 (8th Dist.2001).

{¶54} The elements of a fraudulent concealment claim are: “(a) a

representation or, where there is a duty to disclose, concealment of a fact, (b) which

is material to the transaction at hand, (c) made falsely, with knowledge of its falsity, or

with such utter disregard and recklessness as to whether it is true or false that

knowledge may be inferred, (d) with the intent of misleading another into relying upon

it, (e) justifiable reliance upon the representation or concealment, and (f) a resulting

injury proximately caused by the reliance.” Gaines v. Preterm–Cleveland, Inc., 33

Ohio St.3d 54, 55, 514 N.E.2d 709 (1987).

{¶55} The claims in the complaint regarding the fraud are as follows.

Christine asserted that Amato failed to disclose that Attorney Hartford, her ex-

husband’s divorce attorney, had previously represented Amato at least four times,

one of which was for his own divorce in 2009. 3/11/13 Amended Complaint

Paragraph 13. She claimed that Amato “owed a duty to me, as his client to disclose

the nature of his extensive relationship and prior dealings with my ex-husband’s

attorney.” 3/11/13 Amended Complaint Paragraph 14. She asserted that Amato’s

“extensive relationship and prior dealings” with Attorney Hartford, (Richard’s divorce

attorney) “was a material fact which affected his loyalty and independent judgment in

his representation of me in the underlying divorce proceeding.” 3/11/13 Amended

Complaint Paragraph 15. Christine claimed that Amato “concealed” the existence of

the prior relationship “with the intent of misleading me to rely upon his concealment.”

3/11/13 Amended Complaint Paragraph 16. She asserted that she was justified in

relying on the ongoing concealment and that ongoing concealment was “committed”

for Amato’s “own personal gain.” 3/11/13 Amended Complaint Paragraph 17 and 18.

-17-

She claimed economic damages, that the concealment rose to the level of malice,

and that she has suffered mentally and emotionally from the “ongoing concealment.”

3/11/13 Amended Complaint Paragraph 19, 20 and 21.

{¶56} A can be seen, while the complaint does indicate that Amato allegedly

had a duty to disclose his prior relationship with Attorney Hartford, the complaint does

not indicate the legal authority for this alleged duty to disclose. In response to the

Civ.R. 12(B)(6) motion, Christine claims that basis for the duty to disclose is the

Professional Rules of Conduct. She cites to both the conflict of interest rule, Rule

1.7, and the misconduct rule, Rule 8.4, in the professional code.

{¶57} Amato counters by claiming that Ohio Rules of Professional Conduct

are not a basis for liability and the rules do not require an attorney to disclose

whether another attorney has represented him in his own legal proceedings.

{¶58} We agree with Amato and affirm the trial court’s dismissal of the fraud

claim. In reaching this conclusion, we note that it is not the purpose of the

Professional Rules to create a private cause of action. The Ohio Supreme Court has

explained:

The purpose of disciplinary actions is to protect the public

interest and to ensure that members of the bar are competent to

practice a profession imbued with the public trust. Disciplinary Counsel

v. Trumbo (1996), 76 Ohio St.3d 369, 667 N.E.2d 1186. These

interests are different from the purposes underlying tort law, which

provides a means of redress to individuals for damages suffered as a

result of tortious conduct. Accordingly, violation of the Disciplinary

Rules does not, in itself, create a private cause of action. Am. Express

Travel Related Servs. Co. v. Mandilakis (1996), 111 Ohio App.3d 160,

675 N.E.2d 1279.

Fred Siegel Co., L.P.A. v. Arter & Hadden, 85 Ohio St.3d 171, 178, 707 N.E.2d 853

(1999).

{¶59} Furthermore, the Preamble to the Professional Rules of Conduct states,

“Violation of a rule should not itself give rise to a cause of action against a lawyer nor

-18-

should it create any presumption in such a case that a legal duty has been

breached.” Prof.Cond.R. Preamble at [20]. Therefore, the rules alone cannot give

rise to a cause of action against an attorney. Cargould v. Manning, 10th Dist. No.

09AP-194, 2009-Ohio-5853, ¶ 10.

{¶60} However, even if a violation of the professional rules alone do provide a

basis for civil liability against an attorney, the facts as pled in this case do not show

that there was a duty to disclose. The Professional Rules referenced by Christine are

Rules 1.7 and 8.4, which respectively state:

(a) A lawyer’s acceptance or continuation of representation of a

client creates a conflict of interest if either of the following applies:

***

(2) there is a substantial risk that the lawyer’s ability to consider,

recommend, or carry out an appropriate course of action for that client

will be materially limited by the lawyer’s responsibilities to another

client, a former client, or a third person or by the lawyer’s own personal

interest.

(Emphasis in Original). Prof.Cond.R. 1.7(a)(2).

It is professional misconduct for a lawyer to do any of the

following:

***

(c) engage in conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit or

misrepresentation;

(d) engage in conduct that is prejudicial to the administration of

justice.

(Emphasis in Original). Prof.Cond.R. 8.4(c) and (d).

{¶61} At the outset, we note that there is no case law specific to the situation

before us. The Ohio Supreme Court has not reviewed this rule to determine whether

an attorney who failed to disclose the prior representation by opposing counsel

violated the disciplinary rule.

-19-

{¶62} Thus, without case law for guidance our review is confined to the

language of the professional rules and the requirements for pleading fraud claims.

Pursuant to Civ.R. 9(C) fraud is to be pled with particularity. Here, the facts as pled,

do not indicate that there was a duty to disclose under Rule 1.7 or Rule 8.4. The

pleadings do not show that Amato nor Hartford have a personal interest in the

Bangor divorce. Amato was paid a flat fee and Hartford was paid an hourly fee.

Hartford may have gained personal information about Amato during his divorce

proceedings but nothing in the pleadings indicate that this was of any use during the

Bangor divorce. Thus, where is the potential conflict of interest that either attorney

may have had that adversely impacted Christine? Or in other words, the pleadings

do not indicate what interest was disclosed in the prior relationship that could

possibly affect Christine in this case. Since there is no legal authority that there was

a duty to disclose under the facts as pled, the trial court was correct in dismissing the

fraud claim. Consequently, this assignment of error lacks merit.

Conclusion

{¶63} For the reasons stated above, both assignments of error are overruled.

The judgments of the trial court are hereby affirmed.

Donofrio, J., concurs.

Waite, J., concurs.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.