Opinion

Lloyd L. Meyers v. Farmers Aid Association of Loudon County, Tennessee

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Dec 9, 2014
Status
Published
On the bench
Judge Kenny Armstrong
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.7%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE

October 01, 2014 Session

LLOYD L. MEYERS v. FARMERS AID ASSOCIATION OF LOUDON

COUNTY, TENNESSEE

Appeal from the Circuit Court for Loudon County

No. 2013CV44 Russell E. Simmons, Jr., Judge

No. E2013-02585-COA-R9-CV-FILED-DECEMBER 9, 2014

This is an interlocutory appeal from the denial of Appellant insurer’s motion for summary

judgment in an action on a homeowner’s policy that contained a contractual one-year statute

of limitations. The Appellee insured filed suit eighteen months after the loss occurred. In

the trial court, the Appellant insurer moved for summary judgment, arguing that the one-year

statute of limitations in the Appellee insured’s policy was a bar to his action. The trial court

agreed with the Appellee’s interpretation of the policy provisions and denied the motion for

summary judgment. This court granted the Appellant’s application for interlocutory appeal.

Following our review, we reverse the trial court’s decision and remand the case for entry of

summary judgment in favor of Appellant.

Tenn. R. App. P. 9 Interlocutory Appeal; Judgment of the Circuit Court is Reversed

and Remanded

K ENNY A RMSTRONG, J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which D. M ICHAEL S WINEY,

J., and J. S TEVEN S TAFFORD, P.J., W.S., joined.

Christopher Dunn Heagerty, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the appellants, Farmers Aid

Association of Loudon County, Tennessee

A. Wayne Henry, for the appellee, Lloyd L. Meyers

1

OPINION

I. Background

On or about Oct. 11, 2010, Lloyd L. Meyers (“Appellee”) purchased a homeowner’s

insurance policy from Farmers Aid Association of Loudon County, Tennessee (“FAA,” or

“Appellant”). The policy insured Mr. Meyers’s property at 2242 Davis Ferry Rd, Loudon,

Tennessee. The following provisions of that policy are at issue in the instant appeal:

When loss payable. The amount of loss for which the Company may be liable

shall be payable sixty days after proof of loss, as herein provided, is received

by this Company and ascertainment of the loss is made either by agreement

between the insured and this Company expressed in writing or by the filing

with this Company of an award as herein provided.

* * *

Suit. No suit or action on this policy for the recovery of any claim shall be

sustainable in any court of law or equity unless all the requirements of this policy shall

have been complied with, and unless commenced within twelve months next after

inception of the loss.

On or about September 14, 2011, a fire destroyed Mr. Meyers’s property. Mr. Meyers

notified FAA of the loss, and FAA acknowledged the loss in a letter to Mr. Meyers dated

September 14, 2011. Subsequently, on November 15, 2011, Mr. Meyers submitted a sworn

proof of loss. FAA did not respond to his proof of loss and took no further action with

respect to his claim.

On March 12, 2013, more than a year and a half after he filed his proof of loss, Mr. Meyers

filed suit against FAA in the Circuit Court of Loudon County. In his complaint, in addition

to his compensatory damages claim, Mr. Meyers sought bad faith damages and punitive

damages against FAA under the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act. FAA answered the

complaint on April 4, 2013 and on April 11, 2013 moved for summary judgment, asserting

that Mr. Meyers’s suit was barred by the contractual limitations period contained in the

policy. The trial court denied the motion for summary judgment. In its memorandum

opinion, the trial court reasoned that FAA’s failure to ascertain the loss after Mr. Meyers

filed his proof of loss tolled the contractual limitations period. Accordingly, the trial court

held that Mr. Meyers’s suit was not time barred. On October 3, 2013 FAA filed a motion to

reconsider the denial of its motion for summary judgment, or in the alternative, a motion for

interlocutory review.

2

The trial court denied the motion to reconsider but granted the motion for interlocutory

appeal. This Court granted the interlocutory appeal on April 16, 2014.

II. Issues

The sole issue certified to this Court by the trial court is:

If the insured files a proof of loss, as the insured did in the case sub judice, is

the proof of loss sufficient to trigger the beginning of the immunity period,

regardless of whether there has been “ascertainment of the loss” under the

terms of the policy issued to the Plaintiff.

III. Standard of Review

Interlocutory appeals are governed by Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 9, which

provides that “an appeal by permission may be taken from an interlocutory order of a trial

court from which an appeal lies to the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals or Court of Criminal

Appeals only upon application and in the discretion of the trial and appellate court.” Tenn.

R. App. P. 9(a). The party seeking an interlocutory appeal may, within thirty days after the

entry of the interlocutory order complained of, file a motion with the trial court requesting

permission to take an interlocutory appeal. Id. § 9(b). Should the trial court decide to grant

the motion and set forth its reasons for doing so in a written opinion, this Court may, in its

discretion, allow the appeal to proceed. Id.

The order appealed in this case denied Appellant’s motion for summary judgment.

Accordingly, we apply the standard of review applicable to summary judgment decisions.

When a motion for summary judgment is made, the moving party has the burden of showing

that “there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04. According to the Tennessee

Legislature:

In motions for summary judgment in any civil action in

Tennessee, the moving party who does not bear the burden of

proof at trial shall prevail on its motion for summary judgment

if it:

(1) Submits affirmative evidence that negates an essential

element of the nonmoving party's claim; or

3

(2) Demonstrates to the court that the nonmoving party's

evidence is insufficient to establish an essential element of the

nonmoving party's claim.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 20-16-101 (effective on claims filed after July 1, 2011).

The instant appeal requires us to interpret and apply the provisions of an insurance contract.

It is well settled that “[s]ummary judgment is a preferred vehicle for disposing of purely legal

issues.” Campora v. Ford, 124 S.W.3d 624, 628 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2003). “In general, courts

should construe insurance policies in the same manner as any other contract.” Lancaster v.

Ferrell Paving, Inc., 397 S.W.3d 606 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2011). Because the construction of

a contract involves legal issues, contract cases are particularly suited to disposition by

summary judgment. Campora, 124 S.W.3d at 628. A trial court’s decision to grant a motion

for summary judgment presents a question of law. Our review is therefore de novo with no

presumption of correctness afforded to the trial court’s determination. Bain v. Wells, 936

S.W.2d 618, 622 (Tenn. 1997). This Court must make a fresh determination that the

requirements of Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56 have been satisfied. Abshure v. Methodist Healthcare-

Memphis Hosps., 325 S.W.3d 98, 103 (Tenn. 2010).

IV. Analysis

Tennessee has long held that an insurance policy provision establishing an agreed limitations

period within which suit may be filed against the company is valid and enforceable. Guthrie

v. Conn. Indem. Ass'n, 49 S.W. 829, 830 (Tenn. 1899); Hill v. Home Ins. Co., 125 S.W.2d

189, 192 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1938). Our courts have generally held that a contractual limitations

period begins to run upon accrual of the cause of action. Phoenix Ins. Co. v. Fidelity &

Deposit Co., 162 Tenn. 427, 37 S.W.2d 119 (1931). “We have interpreted insurance policies

containing language requiring a claim to be brought within so many days after a property

loss, but which protect the insurer from suit until after a settlement period, as meaning that

suit must be brought within so many days after the cause of action accrues.” Certain

Underwriter's at Lloyd's of London v. Transcarriers Inc., 107 S.W.3d 496, 499 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 2002) (citing Boston Marine Ins. Co. v. Scales, 49 S.W. 743, 747 (Tenn. 1898)).

Because the settlement period provides a period of immunity, during which the insured may

not bring suit, the cause of action has been construed as accruing once the immunity period

has expired, rather than on the date of the actual loss. Id. Denial of the claim by the insurer

before expiration of the settlement of loss period, however, is an effective waiver of the

immunity period. Home Ins. Co. v. Hancock, 62 S.W. 145 (Tenn. 1900). Thus, an insurer

cannot raise the immunity period as a defense to a suit brought within that period once it has

denied the claim. Hill, 125 S.W.2d at 192. Therefore, an insured's cause of action accrues

upon denial of liability by the insurance company when that denial comes within the

4

immunity period. Id. “It follows that if the insured's claim is not denied within the settlement

of loss period, during which the insurer is immune from suit, [the] cause of action accrues

upon expiration of the settlement of loss period, when the insurer is no longer immune from

suit.” Certain Underwriter's, 107 S.W.3d at 499.

On the motion for summary judgment, Appellee argued that Phoenix Insurance Company

v. Brown, 381 S.W.2d 573 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1964) should control. Appellant, on the other

hand, argued that Certain Underwriter’s mandated a grant of summary judgment in its favor.

In denying summary judgment, the trial court determined that Phoenix controlled,

specifically holding that Certain Underwriter’s “is not applicable because the settlement of

loss section [in Certain Underwriter’s did] not impose this requirement that there be an

‘ascertainment of loss’ as required by the Farmers Aid policy.” The trial court went on to

note that, based on the Phoenix case, Mr. Meyers’s “right of action has not accrued under

the policy terms.” The trial court reasoned that “in this lawsuit [Mr. Meyers] complied with

the policy by furnishing the required proof of loss. To then allow insurer to draft the terms

of its policy which [Mr. Meyers] cannot negotiate in such a way that it can lay back and do

nothing is not just.”

In Phoenix, the insured notified the insurance company of his loss and was interviewed

under oath by an adjuster, but he never submitted a formal proof of loss. Id. at 574. The

insurance company never demanded proof of loss, nor did it deny the insured’s claim until

roughly six months after the insured property was destroyed. Id. The Phoenix Court

reasoned that because no formal proof of loss was submitted after the insurance company

was notified, the plaintiff could not have known whether proof of loss would be demanded

until the claim was denied. Id. at 575. Thus, the Phoenix Court concluded that the insured’s

right of action did not accrue until the denial was made Id.

Although the contractual language of the insurance policy in Phoenix is nearly identical to

the language of the policy in the instant case, the facts are readily distinguishable. In

Phoenix, the insured never submitted a formal proof of loss. Here, however, Mr. Meyers

submitted a sworn proof of loss. The trial court’s reliance on Phoenix is also misplaced

because Phoenix did not turn on the contractual language, but rather the fact that the insured

failed to submit a proof of loss. Because the holding in Phoenix rested on the insured’s

failure to submit a formal proof of loss, that case is inapplicable to the instant case, and the

trial court erred in relying upon Phoenix.

5

The policy at issue in Certain Underwriter’s contained the following provision, in relevant

part:

SETTLEMENT OF LOSS. All adjusted claims shall be paid or made good to

the Insured within sixty (60) days after presentation and acceptance of

satisfactory proof of interest and loss at the office of the Company. No loss

shall be paid or made good if the Insured has collected the same from others.

107 S.W.3d at 498.

Although the policy language in Certain Underwriter’s varies somewhat from our case, the

facts are nearly identical. 107 S.W.3d at 498. In Certain Underwriter’s, the insurer filed for

declaratory judgment to determine its liability where a year had elapsed since the insured

tendered his proof of loss. Id. The insurer argued that the contractual limitation period had

run. Id. The insured argued that the insurer needed to deny the claim before the insured

could bring suit on the policy. Id. This Court held in Certain Underwriter’s in favor of the

insurance company, concluding that “the contractual statute of limitations begins to run upon

denial of liability or upon expiration of the immunity period, whichever comes first.” Id. at

500. Because the contract at issue in Certain Underwriter’s did not include the

ascertainment of loss language, the trial court rejected Certain Underwriter’s as controlling

in this case.

Neither Phoenix nor Certain Underwriter’s is directly on point. Appellants, however, have

proposed that Burton v. Nationwide Insurance Co., No. 1:07-CV-129, 2007 WL 3309076

(E.D. Tenn. Nov. 6, 2007) should guide our decision in this case. Burton presents both

similar facts and substantively similar contractual language. In Burton, the insured filed a

proof of loss. Id. at *1. The contractual language in that case required that proof of loss be

submitted and created a one-year contractual limitation within which suit could be brought

against the insurance company. Id. at *2. The Burton contract also included a sixty-day

settlement period with the following language:

Payment will be made within 60 days after we review your proof of loss and:

(1) reach agreement with you; or

(2) there is an entry of final judgment; or

(3) there is a filing of an appraisal award with us.

Id. The Burton Court determined that the sixty-day settlement period began to run upon the

submission of a proof of loss, and not when the insurer ascertained the loss. The Burton

Court explained that:

6

Plaintiff's interpretation of the law would allow an insurer to receive a proof of loss,

and then refrain from granting or denying the claim indefinitely. As a result, the

insured's cause of action would never accrue under the policy because there was

neither a denial, nor alternatively an agreement, final judgment, or appraisal award

which would have started the sixty day period. Tennessee law has not created such

an absurdity. See Brick, 140 S.W.3d at 330 (“To require denial of a claim before a

cause [of] action could accrue would permit the insurer to merely sit on a claim and

do nothing.”). Instead, the insured are given two options: wait until the insurer denies

the claim, or file a proof of loss, thus forcing the insurer to make a decision within

the contracted-for period, i.e. sixty days. If the insurer fails to make such a

determination within that period, the insured has a right to sue. See, e.g., Brick, 140

S.W.3d at 330; Lloyd's, 107 S.W.3d at 499-500; Hill, 125 S.W.2d at 192.

Burton v. Nationwide Ins. Co., No. 1:07-CV-129, 2007 WL 3309076, at *3 n. 2 (E.D. Tenn.

Nov. 6, 2007) (internal citations omitted).

We agree with the reasoning of the District Court in Burton, and apply it to the instant case.

Although the policy language in Burton and the instant case are not identical, both policies

require action by both the insured and the insurer before the settlement period begins. The

insured has to submit a proof of loss and the insurer has 60 days to ascertain the loss after the

proof of loss has been provided. As pointed out by the Burton Court, to construe the policy

before us to allow the insurance company to create a contract whereby it may remain immune

from suit by its own inaction (after receipt of the proof of loss) would constitute an absurd

result. To avoid such a result, we hold that, under the language of this contract, the insured’s

cause of action accrued sixty days after he submitted his proof of loss. We also note that this

Court has previously held that a cause of action accrues when the immunity period expires.

See Gagne v. State Farm Fire and Cas. Co., No. E2011-01117-COA-R3-CV, 2012 WL

691621 (Tenn. Ct. App. March 5, 2012).

In this case, the record shows that after Mr. Meyers submitted his proof of loss, the parties

did not communicate again until Mr. Meyers filed suit. Of course, any right of payment

under the policy inured to Mr. Meyers’s benefit, and it was his burden to protect those rights.

Indeed, it was incumbent upon Mr. Meyers to follow up with FAA after he submitted his

proof of loss. While we may find some measure of fault in FAA’s inaction, it was Mr.

Meyers who waited more than a year before taking any action to secure payment of his

insurance claim.

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the trial court erred as a matter of law when it denied

Appellant’s motion for summary judgment. Under the terms of the insurance policy here,

the settlement period began when Mr. Meyers submitted his proof of loss. In that FAA never

denied his claim, Mr. Meyers’s cause of action accrued when the settlement period or

7

immunity period ended on January 14, 2012, sixty days after he filed his November 15, 2011

proof of loss. As such, the one-year contractual statute of limitations had already expired

when Mr. Meyers filed his suit on March 12, 2013.

V. Conclusion

We reverse the trial court’s order denying summary judgment. We remand for entry of an

order granting summary judgment in favor of Appellant and for such further proceedings as

may be necessary and are consistent with this opinion. Costs of this appeal are assessed to

the Appellee, Lloyd L. Meyers, for which execution may issue if necessary.

_________________________________

KENNY ARMSTRONG, JUDGE

8

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.