Opinion

Sunny Ridge Mining Company, Inc. v. Herbert Keathley

  • 773 F.3d 734
  • 2014 FED App. 0286P
  • 2014 U.S. App. LEXIS 22772
  • 2014 WL 6805089
Court
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
Filed
Dec 4, 2014
Status
Published
Author
Rogers
On the bench
Daughtrey, Rogers, Donald
Cited by
11 cases
Authority
More cited than 66.9%

finding expert’s opinion, that coal-induced chronic bronchitis does not worsen after exposure ceases, to be inconsistent with the regulatory definition of legal pneumoconiosis, despite employer’s argument that “the regulations nowhere state that ‘chronic bronchitis’ is ‘a latent and progressive disease’” (emphasis added)

How later courts described this case

  • finding expert’s opinion, that coal-induced chronic bronchitis does not worsen after exposure ceases, to be inconsistent with the regulatory definition of legal pneumoconiosis, despite employer’s argument that “the regulations nowhere state that ‘chronic bronchitis’ is ‘a latent and progressive disease’” (emphasis added)
  • finding ALJ properly discounted doctor’s conclusion that chronic bronchitis was not pneumoconiosis based on the premise that “the bronchitis associated with coal dust- exposure usually ceases with cessation of exposure.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT PUBLICATION

Pursuant to Sixth Circuit I.O.P. 32.1(b)

File Name: 14a0286p.06

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

_________________

SUNNY RIDGE MINING COMPANY, INC., ┐

Petitioner, │

│

│ No. 14-3010

v. │

>

│

HERBERT KEATHLEY and DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF │

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION PROGRAMS, UNITED │

STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, │

Respondents. │

┘

On Petition for Review of an Order

of the Benefits Review Board.

No. 13-0211 BLA.

Argued: September 30, 2014

Decided and Filed: December 4, 2014

Before: DAUGHTREY, ROGERS, and DONALD, Circuit Judges.

_________________

COUNSEL

ARGUED: H. Brett Stonecipher, FOGLE KELLER PURDY, Lexington, Kentucky, for

Petitioner. Miller Kent Carter, CARTER & LUCAS, Pikeville, Kentucky, for Respondent

Keathley. Ann Marie Scarpino, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, Washington,

D.C., for Federal Respondent. ON BRIEF: H. Brett Stonecipher, FOGLE KELLER PURDY,

Lexington, Kentucky, for Petitioner. Miller Kent Carter, CARTER & LUCAS, Pikeville,

Kentucky, William L. Roberts, Pikeville, Kentucky, for Respondent Keathley. Ann Marie

Scarpino, Sean G. Bajkowski, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, Washington,

D.C., for Federal Respondent.

1

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 2

_________________

OPINION

_________________

ROGERS, Circuit Judge. In this black lung benefits case the administrative law judge

and the Benefits Review Board discounted the opinion of a doctor who, opining that

pneumoconiosis had not caused Herbert Keathley’s total disability, assumed that “bronchitis

associated with coal dust exposure usually ceases with cessation of exposure.” The ALJ and the

Board determined that this assumption was contrary to federal regulations, which state that

“pneumoconiosis” may be “latent and progressive” and may arise after exposure ceases. Sunny

Ridge Mining Company challenges this determination. Sunny Ridge also argues that the ALJ

improperly weighed pulmonary function tests while determining that Keathley was totally

disabled. The grant of black lung benefits must be upheld, however, because the ALJ could

properly conclude that the doctor’s opinion rested on a premise inconsistent with a federal

regulation and that this inconsistency warranted discrediting the doctor’s opinion.

Herbert Keathley worked at strip mines for sixteen-and-a-half years. He retired and his

health deteriorated. Believing he had pneumoconiosis attributable to his work as a coal miner,

he applied for benefits under the Black Lung Benefits Act, 30 U.S.C. § 901 et seq., which

provides money payments and medical benefits to coal miners totally disabled from

pneumoconiosis arising from their employment in coal mines. An ALJ denied Keathley’s

application for benefits, Keathley v. Sunny Ridge, 2009 BLA 5081 (Dep’t of Labor, Nov. 18,

2010), but later the Benefits Review Board vacated the denial and remanded the case to the ALJ

for further consideration of both of the issues raised on this appeal, Keathley v. Sunny Ridge

Mining Co., BRB No. 11-0205 BLA/A (Nov. 16, 2011) (unpub.). On remand, the ALJ awarded

benefits, Keathley v. Sunny Ridge, 2009 BLA 5081 (Dep’t of Labor, Jan 17, 2013), and this time

the Board affirmed, Keathley v. Sunny Ridge Mining Co., BRB No. 13-0211 BLA (Nov. 13,

2013) (unpub.). Sunny Ridge petitions for review of that award.

During the initial hearing, Keathley established his eligibility for benefits by triggering

30 U.S.C. § 921(c)(4)’s “fifteen-year presumption.” This presumption is triggered if the miner

(1) “was employed for fifteen years or more in one or more underground coal mines” or in

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 3

surface mines with conditions “substantially similar to conditions in an underground mine” and

(2) suffers from a totally disabling respiratory or pulmonary impairment[.]” 30 U.S.C.

§ 921(c)(4). Proving these two conditions creates a rebuttable presumption that the miner has

pneumoconiosis caused by coal mining. Keathley proved both; he had worked in coal mines for

sixteen-and-a-half years and he was able to show a totally disabling impairment through a

combination of medical opinion testimony and tests showing poor pulmonary function.

Keathley’s pulmonary function had been tested seven times; five tests produced results

indicating total disability, while two did not. The ALJ found this preponderance of test results

sufficient to establish total disability. Once these conditions for the presumption were satisfied,

it was presumed that Keathley’s totally disabling pulmonary impairment was pneumoconiosis

caused by coal mining.

Sunny Ridge was originally successful in rebutting this presumption by offering medical

opinion evidence that Keathley did not suffer from pneumoconiosis caused by coal mine

employment, in the form of testimony by Dr. Bruce Broudy. Dr. Broudy diagnosed Keathley

with “a combination of chronic obstructive asthma and pulmonary emphysema and chronic

bronchitis” caused by smoking. While Dr. Broudy conceded that “coal dust may have

contributed to this gentleman’s impairment,” he concluded that “it’s far more likely that the

impairment was due to obstructive airways disease from cigarette smoking and some

predisposition to asthma or bronchospasm.” When asked how he ruled out coal dust exposure as

a cause, Dr. Broudy replied “coal dust exposure can cause chronic bronchitis. But for one thing,

the bronchitis associated with coal dust exposure usually ceases with cessation of exposure.” Dr.

Broudy agreed that “[c]linical or medical” pneuomoconiosis can progress without further

exposure, but he also agreed that “if chronic bronchitis is caused by coal dust exposure, when

you remove the exposure it should dissipate[.]” When asked whether he believed coal dust

exposure was a secondary cause, Dr. Broudy stated that he “wouldn’t rule it out completely as

being a possible cause,” but that it was not within “reasonable medical probability.” In the

ALJ’s 2010 decision, the ALJ found that Dr. Broudy’s testimony was sufficient to rebut the

presumption. The ALJ denied Keathley’s application for benefits.

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 4

On appeal, the Benefits Review Board identified two errors in the ALJ’s decision: the

ALJ’s weighing of the pulmonary function test results was improperly based solely upon a count

of the disability-indicating versus non-disability-indicating results, and the ALJ had erred in not

addressing whether Dr. Broudy’s reasoning for excluding coal mine dust exposure as a cause

was inconsistent with the implementing regulations of the Black Lung Benefits Act. The Board

vacated the ALJ’s decision and remanded.

On remand, the ALJ reevaluated the pulmonary function tests. The ALJ noted that all the

tests met the Department of Labor’s regulatory standards and that no doctor had questioned the

validity of any result. Therefore, the ALJ found that all the test results were “clearly valid

representations of Keathley’s pulmonary function at the time of each test.” The ALJ also found

that the tests, which were all taken within a seven-month period, were “sufficiently

contemporaneous to provide a probative assessment.” Against the argument that the pulmonary

function test with the highest (and non-qualifying) value was the best because it represented peak

pulmonary capacity, the ALJ concluded that all the tests conforming to the regulatory standard,

where no other basis for invalidation existed, were sufficiently probative to establish total

disability, and that such a blanket preference for non-qualifying values was contrary to

regulations. Moreover, “on three out of four days of pulmonary testing over the course of seven

months, on two of three more recent test dates, and on the most recent test day, Keathley’s

pulmonary function met the total disability thresholds.” The ALJ concluded that all seven of the

tests were “equally probative” and that because five of the “conforming, valid, and probative”

tests indicated total disability, Keathley had met his burden of proof of establishing total

disability.

The ALJ also reconsidered Dr. Broudy’s diagnosis. The ALJ found that Dr. Broudy’s

diagnosis was indeed inconsistent with the regulations and discredited it. According to the ALJ,

Dr. Broudy’s statement—that “coal mine dust-related chronic bronchitis should dissipate with

cessation of coal mine dust exposure and usually stops with exposure cessation”—was

“inconsistent with the regulatory definition of pneumoconiosis in 20 C.F.R. § 718.201(c) as a

latent and progressive disease that may first become detectable only after the cessation of coal

mine dust exposure.” Additionally, the ALJ observed “the notable absence of any explanation

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 5

by Dr. Broudy of how he specifically determined that Keathley’s coal mine dust exposure played

no role in his pulmonary impairment,” as well as Dr. Broudy’s concession that “coal mine dust

may have contributed to” the impairment. The ALJ concluded that these flaws in Dr. Broudy’s

analysis were “significant reasoning deficiencies that diminish the probative value of his

assessment to such extent that” it failed to rebut the presumption.

On appeal, the Board affirmed the ALJ’s weighing of the pulmonary function tests as

being based upon substantial evidence. The Board’s decision in this regard consisted entirely of

its rejection of Sunny Ridge’s arguments for giving greater weight to the two non-qualifying

tests. First, Sunny Ridge argued that the non-qualifying tests deserved greater weight because

they were more recent and more reliable. The Board approved the ALJ’s reliance on the lack of

any evidence calling into question the reliability of any test, and the Board determined that the

ALJ had permissibly concluded that the tests were equally reliable. The Board upheld the ALJ’s

finding that the tests established total disability as based upon substantial evidence.

The Board also affirmed the ALJ’s decision to discredit Dr. Broudy’s testimony as

inconsistent with 20 C.F.R. § 718.201(c)’s “latent and progressive” provision. Here, the Board’s

reasoning was conclusory; the Board stated only that the ALJ “rationally discounted” Dr.

Broudy’s opinion and then affirmed the ALJ’s decision.

Sunny Ridge now petitions for review. The Director of the Office of Workers’

Compensation Programs has filed a brief urging denial of Sunny Ridge’s petition.

The ALJ did not err by discounting Dr. Broudy’s testimony for being inconsistent with

20 C.F.R. § 718.201(c). When the sole reason given for a medical opinion about the cause of

pneumoconiosis conflicts with the Black Lung Benefits Act or its implementing regulations, an

ALJ may discount that opinion. See A & E Coal Co. v. Adams, 694 F.3d 798, 802 (6th Cir.

2012); Cumberland River Coal Co. v. Banks, 690 F.3d 477, 488 (6th Cir. 2012); Greene v. King

James Coal Mining, Inc., 575 F.3d 628, 638 (6th Cir. 2009) (discussing the “hostility-to-the-Act

rule”). The sole reason given by Dr. Broudy in support of his conclusion regarding the cause of

Keathley’s chronic bronchitis was inconsistent with federal regulations. When asked how he

ruled out coal dust exposure as a cause, Dr. Broudy replied that “the bronchitis associated with

coal dust exposure usually ceases with cessation of exposure.” This statement conflicts with the

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 6

determination of the Department of Labor expressed in 20 C.F.R. § 718.201(c) that

pneumoconiosis is “a latent and progressive disease which may first become detectable only

after the cessation of coal mine dust exposure.”

Dr. Broudy’s statement about coal mine dust-related chronic bronchitis was a statement

about a form of legal pneumoconiosis. Legal pneumoconiosis is not medical pneumoconiosis; it

is a legal fiction—long recognized by courts and later codified in regulations—designed to

facilitate the remedial purposes of the Black Lung Benefits Act. The term goes beyond mere

“clinical pneumoconiosis,” which is the set of chronic lung diseases recognized by the medical

community as being characterized by the permanent deposition of particulate matter in the lungs

and the subsequent fibrotic reaction of the lungs. 20 C.F.R. § 718.201(a)(1). “Legal

pneumoconiosis” is a broad category encompassing “any chronic lung disease or impairment”

arising out of employment as a coal miner. 20 C.F.R. § 718.201(a)(2) (emphasis added).

Chronic bronchitis, when caused by exposure to coal mine dust, is a form of legal

pneumoconiosis.

Federal regulations recognize pneumoconiosis, including legal pneumoconiosis, as a

latent and progressive disease that may first become detectable after cessation of coal dust

exposure. This conclusion is compelled by previous decisions of this circuit. For instance, in

Cumberland River, we upheld an ALJ’s decision to discredit the testimony of a doctor who

opined that the miner’s chronic bronchitis was not caused by coal dust when the doctor justified

that opinion by reference to the time passed since the miner’s last exposure to coal dust.

690 F.3d at 487–88. These decisions are consistent with a plain reading of the regulation.

Subsection (a) of 20 C.F.R. § 718.201 defines “pneumoconiosis” as “includ[ing] both medical, or

‘clinical’, pneumoconiosis and statutory, or ‘legal’, pneumoconiosis.” The word

“pneumoconiosis” in subsection (c) of that same section is not specifically limited to either type

of pneumoconiosis. 20 C.F.R. § 718.201(c). It therefore applies to both. As the Fourth Circuit

stated in Barber v. Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs, 43 F.3d 899, 901 (4th

Cir. 1995), “[t]he legal definition of ‘pneumoconiosis’ is incorporated into every instance the

word is used in the statute and regulations.” Further, it is the interpretation of the Director of the

Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs, as expressed in his brief in this case, that the “latent

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 7

and progressive” provision applies to “legal” pneumoconiosis, and Sunny Ridge does not contest

the exercise of deference usually afforded to agencies’ interpretations of their own regulations.

Such a conclusion may seem implausible, since it states a categorical medical claim about a

category that is a legal fiction, but it is the conclusion that this court and others have reached.

E.g., Midland Coal Co. v. Dir., Office of Workers’ Comp. Programs, 358 F.3d 486, 490 (7th Cir.

2004).

Sunny Ridge contends that Dr. Broudy’s testimony is consistent with the regulations

because the regulations nowhere state that “chronic bronchitis” is “a latent and progressive

disease.” But the testimony at issue was about “chronic bronchitis caused by coal dust

exposure,” which fits neatly within the definition of legal pneumoconiosis—as Dr. Broudy

knew.1

The ALJ could reasonably find that Dr. Broudy’s medical opinion about legal

pneumoconiosis was based on a premise inconsistent with the Act. When asked how he ruled

out coal dust exposure as a cause, Dr. Broudy replied that “for one thing, the bronchitis

associated with coal dust exposure usually ceases with cessation of exposure.” But this was not

just “one thing”; it was the only thing. It was the sole reason Dr. Broudy gave for eliminating

coal dust exposure as the cause of Keathley’s chronic bronchitis. The ALJ considered the

possibility that the statement “may have just represented a generalized comment upon which Dr.

Broudy did not rely,” but Dr. Broudy never disclaimed reliance on the statement and gave no

other reason for ruling out coal dust exposure during the deposition. Sunny Ridge argues that the

words “usually ceases with cessation of exposure,” when properly read, are not inconsistent with

the Act. But the ALJ’s interpretation of Dr. Broudy’s testimony is nonetheless supported by

substantial evidence, even if there are other ways of interpreting the testimony.

Notwithstanding Sunny Ridge’s alternative argument, the ALJ properly weighed the

pulmonary function tests because he considered more than the mere quantitative differences in

1

Dr. Broudy’s knowledge of this is apparent from the transcript of his deposition: “Q[:] But legal

pneumoconiosis is any condition not medical pneumoconiosis; is that right? It’s any pulmonary condition caused by

coal dust exposure? A[:] Well, as defined by the Statute, that’s correct, yes. Q[:] So, chronic bronchitis is a

condition, as I understand you’re saying, that – if chronic bronchitis is caused by coal dust exposure, when you

remove the exposure it should dissipate; is that right? A[:] Yes, it usually does.”

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 8

the test results. All parties agree that if the ALJ’s determination was based solely upon a count

of the test results, then the ALJ erred under Woodward v. Director, Office of Workers’

Compensation Programs, 991 F.2d 314 (6th Cir. 1993). It is unnecessary to decide whether

Woodward should be extended to cover the evaluation of pulmonary function tests, because even

if Woodward applies, the ALJ satisfied Woodward’s standard.2

In his 2013 decision awarding benefits, the ALJ performed a qualitative analysis of the

pulmonary function tests that was sufficient under Woodward. While the Benefits Review Board

ruled that the ALJ’s 2010 decision denying benefits “was improperly based solely upon a count

of the . . . studies,” the same criticism cannot be leveled against the ALJ’s 2013 decision. In that

decision, the ALJ determined that every test conformed to the Department of Labor’s regulatory

standards; that no doctor had questioned the validity of any result; that all the tests, which were

taken within a seven-month period, were “sufficiently contemporaneous to provide a probative

assessment”; and that tests representing peak pulmonary capacity should not be preferred

because such a preference would be contrary to regulations. Looking at the days on which the

tests were performed, “on three out of four days of pulmonary testing over the course of seven

months, on two of three more recent test dates, and on the most recent test day, Keathley’s

pulmonary function met the total disability thresholds.” The ALJ concluded that all seven of the

tests were “equally probative” and that because five of the “conforming, valid, and probative”

tests indicated total disability, Keathley had met his burden of proof of establishing total

disability.

As the Director notes in his brief, Sunny Ridge does not challenge the ALJ’s evaluation

of the individual tests, identify any factor the ALJ overlooked, or offer any basis for

distinguishing among the tests. The only alternative argued by Sunny Ridge is that, if all the

studies are equally probative, then the evidence is in equipoise and Keathley has failed to carry

his burden of proof. But this result is not required by Woodward, which contemplated the

2

Woodward concerned the evaluation of x-rays and x-ray readings. The parties had introduced eight

different x-rays and 38 different x-ray readings. Woodward, 991 F.3d at 316. Both sides hired multiple experts and

some experts read the same x-ray numerous times. Id. at 320. The ALJ found that the “voluminous readings”

presented an “equivocal picture” and determined that the miner had failed to carry his burden of proof. Id. at 321.

The court reversed, relying in part on a provision of the Administrative Procedure Act requiring the exclusion of

“unduly repetitious evidence.” 5 U.S.C. § 556(d).

No. 14-3010 Sunny Ridge Mining Co. v. Keathley, et al. Page 9

consideration of quantitative differences in the evidence so long as qualitative differences were

also considered. Woodward involved an application of the Administrative Procedure Act’s

provision for the exclusion of “unduly repetitious” evidence, not a per se ban on using

differences in the quantity of evidence to reach conclusions. Woodward, 991 F.2d at 321 (citing

5 U.S.C. § 556(d)). Furthermore, the evidence was not in equipoise because the ALJ found that

medical opinion evidence also supported a finding of total disability. Sunny Ridge asserts that

the ALJ’s finding on the medical opinion evidence was predicated on his finding on the

pulmonary function tests, but this is a misreading of the ALJ’s decision, which states that the

finding of total disability was “further supported by a preponderance of the probative medical

opinion.”

For the reasons given above, we deny the petition for review.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.