Opinion

Steven Barrick and Janice Barrick v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company and Thomas Harry Jones

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Jun 27, 2014
Status
Published
On the bench
Senior Judge Don R. Ash
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 32.9%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE STATE OF TENNESSEE

MIDDLE SECTION AT NASHVILLE

April 4, 2014, Session

STEVEN BARRICK and JANICE BARRICK

v.

STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY and

THOMAS HARRY JONES

Direct Appeal from the Circuit Court for Williamson County

No. 09470 Derek Smith, Judge

No. M2013-01773-COA-R3-CV - Filed June 27, 2014

This appeal arises from a trial court’s judgment granting State Farm Mutual Automobile

Insurance Company (“State Farm”) and Agent Thomas Harry Jones’ motion for summary

judgment and dismissing the Barricks’ action for negligence and violation of the

Tennessee Consumer Protection Act. The Barricks held automobile insurance coverage

through State Farm, with Thomas Jones as their agent, from 1985 until 2009, and their

coverage limits remained the same throughout this period. The Barricks sued, claiming

State Farm and Jones had a duty of care to advise the Barricks of their need for increased

coverage. The Barricks now appeal, arguing the trial court erred in dismissing their

claims. We affirm the trial court’s decision to grant summary judgment regarding the

negligence claim. We reverse the trial court’s judgment based on the assumption of duty,

which the trial court did not directly address, and the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act

claims, since State Farm and Mr. Jones cannot meet their burden under Hannan v. Alltel

Publ'g Co., 270 S.W.3d 1, 5 (Tenn. 2008), in these claims. We also reverse the trial

court’s summary judgment in favor of State Farm for vicarious liability and failure to

supervise in regard to the alleged assumption of duty by the agent.

Direct Appeal; Judgement of the Circuit Court

Affirmed in Part and Reversed in Part

1

D ON R. A SH, S R. J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which D ONALD H ARRIS, S P. J.,

and J AMES M ARTIN, S P. J., joined.

William D. Leader, Jr., and Paul J. Krog, Nashville, Tennessee, for the appellants, Steven

and Janice Barrick.

Brigid M. Carpenter, Nashville, Tennessee, for the appellees, State Farm Mutual

Automobile Insurance Company and Thomas Harry Jones.

OPINION

Factual and Procedural Background

Janice and Steven Barrick had insurance with State Farm from the time of their

marriage in 1985. On August 9, 2008, the insureds’ son, who was included in their

coverage and was driving a vehicle registered to Mr. Barrick, struck a motorcyclist, who

died at the scene of the collision. The motorcyclist’s survivors filed a complaint for

negligence and vicarious liability against the Barricks, which was subsequently settled for

$200,000. The Barricks’ policy with State Farm had limits for bodily injury of $100,000

per person and $300,000 per occurrence. As such, the Barricks paid $100,000 in excess

of their insurance coverage to the survivors.

On August 7, 2009, the Barricks filed a complaint against State Farm and their

agent, Thomas H. Jones, alleging negligence. State Farm and Mr. Jones filed a motion to

dismiss this complaint. The Barricks subsequently amended their complaint on two

occasions. The second amended complaint alleged negligence and Mr. Jones had a special

relationship with the Barricks whereby he not only recommended but also selected

liability coverage and limits for their policies creating additional duties beyond those of

an insurance agent. In their second amended complaint, the Barricks also make claims

against State Farm alleging it to be vicariously liable for Mr. Jones’ negligence, negligent

training and supervision of Jones, and violation of the Tennessee Consumer Protection

Act.

The Barricks allege Mr. Jones selected the terms of the Barricks’ policy coverage

and limits on all the Barricks’ policies during the time they bought insurance from him.

This, the Barricks claim, is due to Mr. Jones assuming responsibility for selecting

appropriate coverage and the special relationship between the Barricks and Mr. Jones.

2

The Barricks never requested different coverage or limits within this period, and their

vehicle coverage remained the same throughout their relationship with Mr. Jones and

State Farm.

Mr. and Mrs. Barrick each testified by deposition and affidavit they never selected

the coverage or limits on their insurance policies and were never advised to increase their

limits or to obtain an umbrella policy. Had they been so advised, they would have done

so. Each insured testified to their lack of knowledge regarding their automobile insurance

policies and reliance upon Mr. Jones to provide them with adequate coverage. The

Barricks’ testified their homeowner policies were changed by Mr. Jones after they

purchased new homes; their first home insured by State Farm having coverage of

$300,000, the second $100,000, and the third $500,000.

On March 19, 2012, the trial court heard a motion for summary judgment filed by

State Farm and Mr. Jones. The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Mr.

Jones and State Farm finding State Farm and Mr. Jones affirmatively negated the element

of duty within the Barricks’ claim or established the element of duty could not be proved

at trial. Further, the court found Mr. Jones’ duty to the Barricks ended when he obtained

insurance for the them, and Mr. Jones did not owe the Barricks the duty to select

appropriate coverages as alleged in the second amended complaint. As to State Farm, the

court found no duty owed to the Barricks had been breached.

The Western Section of this Court heard plaintiffs’ appeal on November 14, 2012,

and remanded for failure to appeal a final judgment, as the Barricks’ claim for violation

of the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act was pending or not otherwise addressed in the

order granting summary judgment. State Farm and Mr. Jones subsequently filed a motion

for summary judgment on the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act claim. The trial court

granted the motion and entered an order on July 25, 2013, finding, because the trial court

had previously found State Farm and Mr. Jones owed no duty to the Barricks as a matter

of law, the failure to select appropriate coverages and limits could not be unfair or

deceptive under the law. The Barricks filed a notice of appeal to this court on August 2,

2013.

3

On appeal, although not stated exactly as such, the Barricks present four (4) issues

for review:

1) whether the trial court erred in granting summary judgment on the on the Barrick’s

claim Mr. Jones neglected his duty as an insurance agent;

2) whether the trial court erred in granting summary judgment on the Barrick’s claims

regarding Mr. Jones’ assumption of duty and special relationship with them;

3) whether the trial court erred in granting summary judgment on the Barrick’s claims

against State Farm for vicarious liability and failure to properly supervise and train

Jones; and

4) whether the trial court erred in granting summary judgment on the Barrick’s claims

under the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act of 1977, Tenn. Code Ann. § 47-18-

101, et seq.

Standard of Review

The standard of review for a determination of a summary judgment is de novo

without any presumption of correctness accorded the trial court's judgment. See

McClung v. Delta Square Ltd. P'ship, 937 S.W.2d 891, 894 (Tenn.1996); Bain v. Wells,

936 S.W.2d 618, 622 (Tenn.1997). In deciding a motion for summary judgment, this

Court is tasked to determine whether “the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show there is

no genuine issue as to any material fact and the moving party is entitled to a judgment as

a matter of law.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04; Byrd v. Hall, 847 S.W.2d 208, 211 (Tenn.1993).

See also Guy v. Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co., 79 S.W.3d 528, 534 (Tenn.2002);

CitiMortage, Inc. v. Drake, 410 S.W.3d 797, 803 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2013), appeal denied

(Aug. 14, 2013).

Analysis

4

This matter was appealed by the Barricks after the trial court granted summary

judgment in favor of State Farm and Jones. The trial court granted summary judgment on

June 14, 2012, regarding the negligence claims of the Barricks due to State Farm and

Jones having “affirmatively negated an essential element of Plaintiffs’ negligence claim,

specifically the element of duty, and in the alternative have shown the negligence claim

cannot be proven at trial.” With regard to the Barricks’ claims under the Tennessee

Consumer Protection Act, the trial court ruled, as it had already found State Farm and

Jones owed no duty to the Barricks’, “the alleged failure to take such actions cannot be

unfair or deceptive under the TCPA as a matter of law.” In review of the issues on

appeal, this court will first address the appropriate summary judgment standard for this

matter.

I. Summary Judgment under Hannan et. al. v. Alltel Publishing Company

In a summary judgment action, the movant must either affirmatively negate an

essential element of the nonmoving party’s claim or show the nonmoving party cannot

prove an essential element of the claim at trial. In Hannan v. Alltel Publ'g Co., 270

S.W.3d 1, 8 (Tenn. 2008), the Supreme Court of this State clearly distinguishes the

burden of production for motions of summary judgment from the federal one.

The cases prior to Hannan show a moving party's burden of production in

Tennessee differs from the federal burden. It is not enough for the moving party to

challenge the nonmoving party to “put up or shut up” or even to cast doubt on a party's

ability to prove an element at trial. Hannan, citing Blair, 130 S.W.3d at 768; Staples, 15

S.W.3d at 88; McCarley, 960 S.W.2d at 588.

In other words, the Hannan Court specified the burden is not to “merely point to

omissions in the nonmoving party's proof and allege that the nonmoving party cannot

prove the element at trial.” Id. at 10. “Similarly, the presentation of evidence [which]

raises doubts about the nonmoving party's ability to prove his or her claim is also

insufficient.” Martin v. Norfolk S. Ry. Co., 271 S.W.3d 76, 84 (Tenn.2008). If the party

moving for summary judgment fails to satisfy its initial burden of production, the court

must dismiss the motion for summary judgment as the burden did not shift to the

5

nonmovant. Hannan, 270 S.W.3d at 5; Blanchard v. Kellum, 975 S.W.2d 522, 525

(Tenn.1998).

II. Negligence

The trial court specified two undisputed facts in its order for which it based its

decision to grant summary judgment in favor of State Farm and Mr. Jones. First, over the

period of 20 or 25 yaers, the Barricks procured State Farm Insurance from Mr. Jones

continuously. Second, the Barricks received copies of their insurance policies,

declarations pages, and renewal notices during this time period. Correctly citing Weiss v.

State Farm Fire & Casualty Company, 107 S.W.3d 503, 506 (Tenn.Ct.App.2001) and

Quintata v. Tennessee Farmer’s Mutual Ins. Co., 774 S.W.2d 630 (Tenn.Ct.App.1989),

the court concluded State Farm and Mr. Jones did not owe a duty to the Barricks, as an

agent’s duty ends when the agent obtains insurance for plaintiffs and properly provides

copies, notices, and declarations.

III. Assumption of Duty

State Farm and Mr. Jones dispute many facts within the statement of undisputed

material facts presented by the Barricks in response to State Farm and Jones’ motion for

summary judgment. In reponse, State Farm and Mr. Jones contend these disputed facts

are not material to the issue of duty or to their motion for summary judgment. These

disputed facts relate to whether Mr. Jones or his staff selected coverage for the Barricks,

whether the Barricks selected their own coverage, whether Mr. Jones or his staff changed

the coverage of the Barricks’ homeowner’s policy when they purchased new homes,

whether the Barricks changed or disagreed with selected coverage limits, whether Mr.

Jones or his staff advised the Barricks regarding liability exposure, or whether Mr. Jones

admitted he selected coverage. The trial court did not address these disputed facts.

However, these are facts disputed by the parties which could prove or disprove an issue

asserted by the Barricks at trial.

Bennett v. Trevecca Nazarene Univ., 216 S.W.3d 293, 300 (Tenn. 2007) reviews

the common law of assumption of a duty as follows:

6

“ ‘One who assumes to act, even though gratuitously, may thereby become

subject to the duty of acting carefully.’ ” Biscan v. Brown, 160 S.W.3d 462,

482–83 (Tenn.2005) (quoting Stewart v. State, 33 S.W.3d 785, 793

(Tenn.2000)). Our state's courts have applied this principle in a variety of

factual contexts. See, e.g., id. at 467, 483 (adult who supervised underage

drinkers at a house party assumed a duty of care vis-a-vis a motorist injured

in an alcohol-related traffic accident); Nidiffer v. Clinchfield R.R. Co., 600

S.W.2d 242, 246 (Tenn.Ct.App.1980) (railroad had a duty of reasonable

care to its employees to select a solvent group life insurance carrier); cf.

Stewart v. State, 33 S.W.3d 785, 787–88, 793–94 (Tenn.2000) (state trooper

did not assume a duty to control the actions of local police officers at the

scene of an arrest); Lett v. Collis Foods, Inc., 60 S.W.3d 95, 104

(Tenn.Ct.App.2001) (employer of an intoxicated employee driving home

from work did not assume a duty vis-a-vis an injured motorist); Marr v.

Montgomery Elevator Co., 922 S.W.2d 526, 529 (Tenn.Ct.App.1995)

(maintenance company did not assume a duty via-a-vis a patron who rode

on top of an elevator at a tourist attraction).

We have no difficulty applying this well-worn principle to this case. If, as

Bennett and Cantley allege, a TNU employee volunteered to Bennett or

Cantley that the switchgear carried only 480 volts, then TNU assumed a

duty of reasonable care to make certain that this statement was accurate.

Ultimately, the Tennessee Supreme Court in Bennett v. Treveca Nazerene University

affirmed the Court of Appeals reversal of the trial court’s granting of summary judgment.

In their second amended complaint, the Barricks allege Mr. Jones assumed duties

“beyond those which attach to an ordinary agent thereby obligating him to advise, select

and recommend appropriate liability, umbrella/excess and other insurance with adequate

coverage for the Barricks,” and, specifically, assumed “a duty to recommend appropriate

liability insurance and limits” and “select appropriate liability insurance and limits.” The

Barricks further allege these duties were breached by State Farm and Mr. Jones.

As in Bennett v. Trevecca Nazarene Univ., 216 S.W.3d 293 (Tenn. 2007), this

court can apply the principle of assumption of duty to this case. If Mr. Jones regularly

recommended and selected coverage for the Barricks, he had a duty to do so with

reasonable care. In applying Hannan v. Alltel Publ'g Co., 270 S.W.3d 1, 5 (Tenn. 2008),

7

State Farm and Mr. Jones cannot affirmatively negate an element of the Barricks’ claim

nor can they show the Barricks cannot prove an element of the claim at trial.

Further, because summary judgment is inappropriate regarding the Barricks’ claim

of assumption of duty, State Farm and Mr. Jones cannot affirmatively negate an element

of the Barricks’ claim under the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act. If Mr. Jones

assumed a duty or negligently assumed a duty, he could have failed to continue to act or

negligently acted in such a way to violate the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act.

IV. Claims against State Farm

The trial court granted summary judgment and dismissed all claims against State

Farm in the order granting summary judgment entered on June 14, 2012. In the order, the

trial court states this was because State Farm owed no duty to the Barricks’ had been

breached. In the trial court’s order regarding Tennessee Consumer Protection Act claims,

the trial court specifically included State Farm as a defendant who owed no duties as a

matter of law. Therefore, the trial court concluded, the acts cannot be unfair or deceptive

under the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act.

This court agrees Mr. Jones was not negligent based on the standard duty of care

of an insurance agent, and as such, agrees State Farm is not vicariously liable for a claim

of negligence. Because the claims asserting Mr. Jones assumed a duty survive, the claims

alleging State Farm is vicariously liable for his actions or inaction and the claims alleging

State Farm failed to supervise Mr. Jones also survive. This court has already addressed

the claims against State Farm and Mr. Jones regarding the Tennessee Consumer

Protection Act.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, we affirm in part and reverse in part. Specifically, we

affirm the trial court’s decision to grant summary judgment regarding negligence based

8

on Mr. Jones’ and State Farm’s duty of care as an insurance agent. The trial court erred,

however, in granting summary judgment based on the assumption of duty claim, which

the trial court did not directly address. The trial court erred in granting summary

judgment in favor of State Farm for vicarious liability and failure to supervise. Finally,

the trial court erred in granting summary judgment based on the Tennessee Consumer

Protection Act claim. We remand the case to the trial court for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion. Costs are taxed to the Mr. Jones and State Farm and their

surety, for which execution may issue if necessary.

_________________________________

DON R. ASH, SENIOR JUDGE

9

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.