Opinion

State ex rel. White v. Internatl. House of Pancakes

  • 2014 Ohio 412
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Feb 6, 2014
Status
Published
On the bench
Tyack
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 76.0%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. White v. Internatl. House of Pancakes, 2014-Ohio-412.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio, ex rel. :

Nancy L. White, Administrator

of the Estate of Mary H. Parker, :

Deceased,

Relator, :

No. 13AP-285

v. :

(REGULAR CALENDAR)

International House of Pancakes :

and Industrial Commission of

Ohio, :

Respondents. :

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on February 6, 2014

Butkovich & Crosthwaite Co., Joseph A. Butkovich and

Dana R. Lambert, for relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Kevin J. Reis, for

respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

IN MANDAMUS

ON OBJECTIONS TO THE MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

TYACK, J.

{¶ 1} Nancy L. White, as administrator for the estate of Mary H.

Parker, has filed this action in mandamus seeking a writ of mandamus to

compel the Industrial Commission of Ohio ("commission") to award

permanent total disability ("PTD") compensation to Mary H. Parker

("Parker") posthumously.

{¶ 2} In accord with Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of

Appeals, the case was referred to a magistrate to conduct appropriate

No. 13AP-285 2

proceedings. The parties stipulated the pertinent evidence and filed briefs.

The magistrate then issued a magistrate's decision, appended hereto, which

contains detailed findings of fact and conclusions of law. The magistrate's

decision includes a recommendation that we deny the request for a writ of

mandamus.

{¶ 3} Counsel for Parker's estate has filed an objection to the

magistrate's decision. Counsel for the commission has filed a memorandum

in response. Counsel for the commission has filed its own objection to the

magistrate's decision. The case is now before the court for a full,

independent review.

{¶ 4} Parker suffered a back injury in 1974. It was recognized for

"acute myofibrositis of the lumbar spine" and "aggravation of pre-existing

arthritis of lumbar spine." In April 1999, she underwent back surgery but

did not work thereafter.

{¶ 5} In November 2001, Parker applied for PTD compensation.

The application was supported by a report from her chiropractor. She was

73 years old when she filed her application.

{¶ 6} In her application, she listed her former employments as

being a waitress for many years and four years as a receptionist. For several

years she did not work outside the home.

{¶ 7} A report for the commission indicated that Parker had only a

ten percent physical impairment and had the physical capacity for sedentary

work. A staff hearing officer ("SHO") relied upon the report in denying PTD

compensation.

{¶ 8} Counsel for Parker filed a mandamus action which resulted in

a limited writ of mandamus. Before the commission could adjudicate the

matter again, Parker died. As a result, an SHO entered an order finding the

application for PTD compensation to be abated.

{¶ 9} Nancy L. White later filed an application requesting any PTD

compensation funds due up to the date of Parker's death. The application

indicated Parker's employment as a receptionist had been provided by

No. 13AP-285 3

Nancy White's brother. The application indicated that the work had not

gone well and anyone else would have fired Parker.

{¶ 10} The application for the posthumous award was denied by an

SHO based upon a finding that no PTD compensation had accrued as of the

date of Parker's death. This finding, in turn, was based upon a finding

Parker had not been entitled to PTD compensation as a result of the

application's so-called Stephenson factors, or nonmedical disability factors.

See State ex rel. Stephenson v. Indus. Comm., 31 Ohio St.3d 167 (1987).

{¶ 11} Our magistrate felt that Parker's death did not abate the PTD

claims as to her heirs when she died. The commission has contested this

with its objection to the magistrate's decision. We do not sustain the

objection but also do not adopt that portion of the magistrate's decision

because it does not affect the outcome of this action.

{¶ 12} The remaining issue raised by the estate is whether the

commission abused its discretion in its weighing of the so-called Stephenson

factors when it found that an award of PTD compensation was not

warranted. The fact Parker was medically capable of sustained remunerative

employment is not contested.

{¶ 13} Parker was 73 years old when she applied for PTD

compensation. This was viewed as a negative factor, but not determinative

in light of the Supreme Court of Ohio's case of State ex rel. Moss v. Indus.

Comm., 75 Ohio St.3d 414 (1996).

{¶ 14} Parker had a high school education, completed in 1945, but

below average intellectual skills when measured before her death. The fact

she continued in school until she got her high school diploma could be

considered an asset.

{¶ 15} Parker's employment was predominantly as a waitress. This

indicated people skills and basic skills in math. Parker's work as a

receptionist involved some overlapping people skills and additional skills

with basic office equipment. The commission did not have to accept Parker's

daughter's evaluation of how badly the work was performed.

No. 13AP-285 4

{¶ 16} We cannot say the commission abused its discretion or that its

order was not supported by some evidence. We therefore overrule the

remaining objection to the magistrate's decision.

{¶ 17} We therefore adopt the findings of fact and conclusions of law

contained in the magistrate's decision except as to the issue of abatement.

We deny the request for a writ of mandamus.

Objection overruled; writ of mandamus denied.

BROWN and KLATT, JJ., concur.

No. 13AP-285 5

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio, ex rel. :

Nancy L. White, Administrator

of the Estate of Mary H. Parker, :

Deceased,

Relator, :

No. 13AP-285

v. :

(REGULAR CALENDAR)

International House of Pancakes :

and Industrial Commission of

Ohio, :

Respondents. :

:

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

Rendered on October 30, 2013

Butkovich & Crosthwaite Co., Joseph A. Butkovich and

Dana R. Lambert, for relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Kevin J. Reis, for

respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 18} Mary H. Parker ("decedent") died on June 5, 2009. In this

original action, relator, Nancy L. White, the administrator of decedent's

estate, requests a writ of mandamus ordering respondent Industrial

Commission of Ohio ("commission") to vacate the June 29, 2010 order of its

staff hearing officer ("SHO") that denies decedent's November 29, 2001

No. 13AP-285 6

application for permanent total disability ("PTD") compensation, and to

enter an order awarding to Nancy L. White, pursuant to R.C. 4123.60, the

amount of compensation that decedent should have received prior to the

date of her death.

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 19} 1. On December 12, 1974, decedent injured her lower back

while employed as a waitress for respondent International House of

Pancakes ("IHOP"), a state-fund employer. The industrial claim (No. 74-

41965) is allowed for "acute myofibrositis of lumbar spine; aggravation of

pre-existing arthritis of lumbar spine."

{¶ 20} 2. In 1995, decedent began employment as a receptionist, a

job she held until April 1999.

{¶ 21} 3. In April 1999, decedent underwent back surgery. She did

not return to any type of employment subsequent to her back surgery.

{¶ 22} 4. On October 22, 2001, at her own request, decedent was

examined by chiropractor Peter J. Fagerland, D.C. In his two-page narrative

report, Dr. Fagerland opined:

Based on the allowed conditions and the AMA Guides to the

Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, Fifth Edition, I find the

following: it is my professional opinion that based on the

patient's subjective complaints of pain, discomfort, and

muscle weakness, in addition to my objective findings of

muscle spasm, decreased range of motion, loss of muscle

strength, and positive orthopaedic [sic] findings the patient is

permanently and totally disabled and is unable to perform any

type of remunerative employment whatsoever.

{¶ 23} 5. On November 29, 2001, decedent filed an application for

PTD compensation. She was 73 years of age at the time. In support, she

submitted the October 22, 2001 report of Dr. Fagerland.

{¶ 24} 6. The PTD application form asks the applicant to provide

information related to the applicant's education. On her application,

decedent indicated that she graduated from high school in 1945. The

application form posed three questions: (1) "Can you read?" (2) "Can you

No. 13AP-285 7

write?" and (3) "Can you do basic math?" Given a choice of "Yes," "No," and

"Not well," decedent selected the "Yes" response to all three queries.

{¶ 25} 7. The PTD application form also asks the applicant to

provide information regarding her work history. Decedent indicated that

she has held three jobs. She was employed as a receptionist at "Packosonic"

from 1995 to 1999. She was employed as a "[w]aitress" for "IHOP" from

1972 to 1974. She was employed as a "[w]aitress" at "LaRosa's" and that

employment ended in 1983.

{¶ 26} 8. The PTD application form asks decedent to provide

additional information about the duties of the jobs she identified. The form

poses six questions regarding each job. Regarding the receptionist job, the

six questions and decedent's responses were as follows:

[One] Your basic duties: Answering phones, copying, faxing,

typing and payroll.

[Two] Machines, tools, equipment you used: Type writer, fax

machine and multi-line phone.

[Three] Exact operations you performed: Recorded

employee's payroll, answered phone calls and take messages.

[Four] Technical knowledge and skills you used: Used math

and English skills, knowledge of typewriter and fax machine.

[Five] Reading/Writing you did: Wrote down payroll times

and signed checks and took messages.

[Six] Number of people you supervised: None.

{¶ 27} 9. Regarding the waitress job at IHOP, the six questions and

decedent's responses were as follows:

[One] Your basic duties: Waited on people and bused the

tables, bring checks to register to pay bill.

[Two] Machines, tools, equipment you used: Cash register.

[Three] Exact operations you performed: See answer to #1.

No. 13AP-285 8

[Four] Technical knowledge and skills you used: Math to write

up checks.

[Five] Reading/Writing you did: Write the order down.

[Six] Number of people you supervised: None.

{¶ 28} 10. On February 19, 2002, at the commission's request,

decedent was examined by James T. Lutz, M.D. In his two-page narrative

report, Dr. Lutz wrote:

HISTORY OF PRESENT ILLNESS: Mary Parker is a 73-

year-old female who was injured on 12/12/74 while working

as a waitress. On the date of injury the claimant was carrying

food and slipped on a toothpick on the floor and twisted her

low back trying not to fall. The claimant underwent one

surgical procedure related to this injury, which occurred in

April 1999, and most likely consisted of a laminectomy

discectomy, as the claimant states that she underwent no

surgical fusion. Currently the claimant is under the care of a

pain management specialist, Dr. Alturi, whom she sees every

three months. Her current medications related to the injury

include Vicodin, Ultram and Celebrex. The claimant also takes

Flexeril prescribed by her primary care physician. Her current

symptoms include constant low back pain, which varies in

severity with constant radiation of pain to the right knee, and

occasional radiation of pain to the right ankle. The claimant

denies any associated numbness or tingling. She states her

low back symptoms are aggravated with all types of exertional

activities such as lifting and bending, prolonged sitting and

standing, and with weather changes.

Regarding her activities of daily living: The claimant lives with

her husband in their own home. She does some light cooking,

and gets assistance making the bed from her husband. The

claimant will also load some of the dishes into the dishwasher.

The claimant states she seldom accompanies her husband to

the grocery store, and spends a fair amount of time sitting and

watching TV. She also goes for brief walks with her husband.

PAST MEDICAL HISTORY: The claimant denies any

history involving her low back prior to the injury of record.

She underwent a cholecystectomy in the mid-1980's, and left

knee surgery in the mid-1990's. The claimant has a history of

diabetes type 2, for which she takes Glucotrol; a history of

No. 13AP-285 9

ulcer disease, for which she takes Nexium and Reglan; and a

history of blood clots of her left leg, for which she takes

Coumadin. She also has a history of hypertension, for which

she takes Zestoretic.

***

DISCUSSION: Mary Parker sustained an industrial injury

on 12/12/74 whose claim allowances are noted above. She has

undergone one surgical procedure related to this injury,

presumably consisting of a laminectomy discectomy. Other

disability factors include the claimant's age of 73, her last date

of work being in 1999, and a twelfth grade education.

ANSWERS TO SPECIFIC QUESTIONS:

[One] In my medical opinion, this claimant has reached

maximum medical improvement with regard to each specified

allowed condition of the injury of record. In my opinion, no

fundamental, functional or physiologic change can be

expected despite continued treatment and/or rehabilitation.

[Two] Reference is made to the Fourth Edition of the AMA

Guides Revised in arriving at the following impairment

assessment. For injuries to the lumbosacral spine including

acute myofibrositis of lumbar spine, and aggravation of

preexisting arthritis of lumbar spine: Utilizing table 72 on

page 110 the claimant warrants a DRE category III, which

equals a 10% whole person impairment.

[Three] Please see the enclosed physical strength rating.

{¶ 29} 11. On a Physical Strength Rating form dated February 19,

2002, Dr. Lutz indicated by his mark that decedent is capable of "sedentary

work."

{¶ 30} 12. On March 7, 2002, at decedent's own request, she was

examined and tested by psychologist and vocational expert Jennifer J.

Stoeckel, Ph.D. In her six-page narrative report, dated March 26, 2002, Dr.

Stoeckel wrote:

TEST RESULTS

No. 13AP-285 10

On the Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale-III, Ms. Parker

obtained Verbal, Performance, and Full Scale IQ scores of 85,

78, and 80, respectively. These scores place Ms. Parker at the

low average range for intellectual functioning and at the 9th

percentile. Intellectually, Ms. Parker is surpassed by 91% of

the normative population. She was weaker on visual spatial

skills although these skills tend to diminish as a factor of age.

She showed strength for digit recall. On the Verbal Subtest she

was weak on verbal reasoning ability. Normally, individuals

who score at this range are able to complete a high school

education although may have some academic difficulties.

Within the labor force they are typically employed in unskilled

to low semi-skilled work activity.

***

On the Wide Range Achievement Test---III, Ms. Parker scored

at the high school level for reading and spelling and at the 7th

grade level for arithmetic.

***

The Career Ability Placement Survey assesses eight abilities

important for success in a variety of work fields. Scores are

reported as stanines which range from 1 to 9 with stanines of

1, 2, and 3 being considered below average; 4, 5, and 6 as

average; and 7, 8, and 9 as [above] average. On this measure,

Ms. Parker demonstrated average ability for mechanical

reasoning; yet below average functioning in all remaining

work aptitudes measured including spatial reasoning, verbal

reasoning, numerical ability, language usage/grammar, word

knowledge, perceptual speed and accuracy, and manual speed

and dexterity.

***

OPINION

Based upon the results of my examination and the

information provided/reviewed, without reservation, Ms.

Parker would be considered permanently and totally disabled

on the basis of her work injury, residual impairment and

vocational characteristics. Again, Ms. Parker is a seventy-

three year old female who suffered a work related injury in

No. 13AP-285 11

1974. She was treated conservatively until 1999 when she

underwent a decompressive lumbar procedure. She has not

worked substantially since that time. Dr. Fagerland who

evaluated Ms. Parker in October of 2001 has indicated she

would be considered permanently and totally disabled based

upon physical findings. She was evaluated by Dr. Berghausen

apparently at the request of the Bureau of Workers'

Compensation. He also found Ms. Parker disabled from work

activity given her low back condition and age characteristics.

She was evaluated by Dr. Lutz recently for the Industrial

Commission. He opined sedentary capacities.

It is noteworthy Ms. Parker post-injury found sedentary

employment as a receptionist such as answering phones,

copying, faxing, light typing and doing payroll. Unfortunately,

following the surgery in 1999 she has been unable to return to

any gainful employment. She cannot sit for extended periods

of time. Additionally, while she has a history of high school

education and high school level reading and math skills her

math skills are limited to 7th grade and per vocational testing

Ms. Parker demonstrates predominantly below average work

aptitudes. Ms. Parker is significantly more limited by her age

characteristics. At seventy-three Ms. Parker would be

considered a person of advanced age per Industrial

Commission criteria. Her age alone would preclude her ability

to acquire new work skills as well as her ability to compete

successfully with younger entry level workers.

Summarily, within reasonable vocational certainty, Ms.

Parker would be considered permanently and totally disabled

on the basis of her allowed conditions, significant residual

impairment, her significantly advanced age of seventy-three

years, departure from the work force in 1999, and vocational

characteristics such as low average intellectual functioning

and predominantly below average work aptitudes.

{¶ 31} 13. The commission requested an "Employability Assessment

Report" from vocational expert Anthony Stead. In his four-page narrative

report, dated March 25, 2002, Stead answers several questions found under

the caption "III. Effects of Other Employability Factors:"

[One] Question:

How, if at all, do the claimant's age, education, work history

or other factors (physical psychological and sociological)

No. 13AP-285 12

affect his/her ability to meet basic demands of entry-level

occupations?

Answer:

Age: 73. At this age, it could be more difficult to learn new

skills and adapt to new environments. I would consider her

age a negative factor when considering re-employment.

Education: 12th grade. This level of education should be

sufficient for entry-level unskilled and semi-skilled tasks. I

would not consider her education to be a barrier to re-

employment.

Work History: The claimant's work history was that of a

Receptionist and Waitress. The claimant's work history

allowed her to deal with the public. I would not consider her

work history to be a barrier to re-employment.

[Two] Question:

Does your review of background data indicate whether the

claimant may reasonably develop academic or other skills

required to perform entry-level Sedentary or Light jobs?

Answer:

There is nothing to indicate that the claimant could not

benefit from a structured vocational rehabilitation program

designed at skill enhancement and re-employment. The

claimant's advanced age, however, would likely minimize the

positive practical effects such programming would have.

[Three] Question:

Are there significant issues regarding potential employability

limitations or strengths that you wish to call to the SHO's

attention?

Answer: None.

{¶ 32} 14. Following a January 6, 2003 hearing, an SHO issued an

order denying decedent's PTD application. For the determination of residual

functional capacity, the SHO relied exclusively on the reports of Dr. Lutz.

The SHO found that decedent's "orthopedic condition is permanent and has

reached maximum medical improvement and results in a 10% whole person

impairment rating."

No. 13AP-285 13

{¶ 33} The SHO further explained:

The Staff Hearing Officer finds that the injured worker would

be able to engage in sedentary work activity based upon the

examination report of Dr. Lutz dated 2/19/02.

The Staff Hearing Officer finds that the injured worker's past

work history as a receptionist was a sedentary position which

required the injured worker to answer phones as well as fax

and copy paperwork. The job also required the injured worker

to type and take messages and record employee's payroll. This

job did not require the injured worker to lift over 10 pounds

and involved sitting most of the time at a desk. The Staff

Hearing Officer finds that this position fits within the

restrictions noted by Dr. Lutz as outlined in his 2/19/02

report.

Therefore, the Staff Hearing Officer finds that the injured

worker is medically able to return to her former position of

employment and therefore is precluded from receiving

Permanent Total Disability benefits, pursuant to OAC 4121-3-

34(D)(1)(c).

15. In February 2008, decedent filed in this court a mandamus action

challenging the SHO's order of January 6, 2003. On December 4, 2008, this court issued

its decision granting the writ of mandamus in part and remanding the matter to the

commission for further proceedings on the issue of whether decedent is entitled to the

requested compensation. State ex rel. Parker v. Internatl. House of Pancakes, 10th Dist.

No. 08AP-85, 2008-Ohio-6317. In Parker, this court found that the commission

misconstrued Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(D)(1)(c) which states:

If, after hearing, the adjudicator finds that the injured worker

is medically able to return to the former position of

employment, the injured worker shall be found not to be

permanently and totally disabled.

Id. at ¶ 6.

This court determined that the SHO's order of January 6, 2003 incorrectly

assumed that the receptionist job was the former position of employment within the

meaning of Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(D)(1)(c). The SHO failed to recognized that the

former position of employment was the job decedent held on the date of her industrial

injury. Given the misapplication of Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(D)(1)(c), the SHO's order

No. 13AP-285 14

of January 6, 2003 fails to address the non-medical factors necessitated by the conclusion

that decedent was unable to return to her former position of employment as a waitress.

{¶ 34} 16. On February 19, 2009, the SHO mailed an order

recognizing this court's writ. The SHO's order explains:

Pursuant to the Judgment Entry of the Tenth Appellate

District Court of Appeals dated 12/04/2008, which was filed

with the Industrial Commission on 02/12/2009, for the case

of State ex rel. Mary Parker v. Industrial Commission,

assigned Case No. 08AP0085, it is found that the requested

Writ of mandamus has been granted.

Therefore, it is the order of the Industrial Commission that

the previous order dated January 6, 2003, findings mailed

January 23, 2003, which denied the application for

permanent total disability compensation, be vacated; and a

new order be issued, as so instructed by the court.

Accordingly, this claim is to be referred to the Hearing

Administrator for appropriate review and to schedule a

hearing on the issue of the injured worker's Application for

Permanent and Total Disability filed on November 29, 2001.

The hearing officer is to issue an order consistent with the

decision of the court and its magistrate.

{¶ 35} 17. Pursuant to the February 19, 2009 SHO's order, the PTD

application was scheduled for hearing on July 9, 2009. However, at the

hearing counsel indicated that Mary Parker had died on June 5, 2009.

Consequently, the SHO's order of July 9, 2009 does not adjudicate the PTD

application. Rather, the SHO's order of July 9, 2009 states:

The Hearing Officer finds that the claim is abated by her

death. The Hearing Officer orders that the file be referred to

the Bureau of Workers' Compensation[.]

{¶ 36} 18. On July 8, 2009, decedent's daughter, Nancy L. White,

completed form C-6 captioned "Application For Payment Of Compensation

Accrued At Time Of Death." On the form, Mary Parker is named as the

decedent and "N. Lynette White" is named as the applicant. (Presumably,

"N. Lynette White is Nancy L. White.") "N. Lynette White" is also listed as

No. 13AP-285 15

the only dependent in the space provided under the following preprinted

statement:

Application for payment of compensation accrued and due

decedent at the time of death, or compensation for which the

decedent would have been otherwise entitled to have made

application is hereby made on behalf of the following named

persons, who were dependent upon the decedent for

support[.]

{¶ 37} 19. On the C-6 form, the applicant requests PTD

compensation from October 22, 2001 through June 5, 2009. The completed

C-6 form was not filed until February 1, 2010.

{¶ 38} 20. On October 8, 2009, Nancy L. White executed an

affidavit, stating:

I, Nancy L. White, having been first duly sworn, state the

following: I am the daughter of Mary H. Parker, deceased,

with regard to her Ohio Workers' Compensation claim

assigned claim number 74-41965.

Following my mother's employment with the employer of

record, International House of Pancakes, she worked various

jobs as a waitress. Her longest period of employment, as a

waitress, was for The Hitching Post on Beechmont Avenue, in

the Anderson Township area.

Following her employment with The Hitching [P]ost, she

worked for some time at LaRosa's, also in the Anderson

Township area.

As my mother's health declined she began working for my

brother at Crowley Label, later known as Packosonic Label.

This is a printing company. My mother performed general

clerical duties, such as a secretary or receptionist.

My mother's health problems proved to be a problem for her

to complete her job duties. She was in constant pain, had to

take a lot of pain medication and was unable to get around

easily. She could not sit for long periods of time, but then she

also had problems walking due to the pain in her legs.

The pain medications that my mother took also caused her

confusion. She was constantly making mistakes that had to be

No. 13AP-285 16

corrected by someone else. Phone messages/orders had to be

verified for accuracy if they were taken by my mother.

Someone had to go back after my mother performed most of

her duties to correct her mistakes. Most of what she did had to

be redone.

Attendance at work was also an issue due to my mother's poor

health. She also missed work for ongoing medical

appointments.

It is my opinion that no other employer would have kept my

mother as an employee due to her poor health, absenteeism,

physical restrictions, or inability to produce high quality work.

Because this was a family business, my mother was able to

work and earn money.

{¶ 39} 21. The record contains a January 6, 2010 entry of the

Probate Court of Clermont County, Ohio, appointing "Nancy Lynette White"

executor of the estate of Mary Helen Parker who was stated to have died on

June 5, 2009.

{¶ 40} 22. On June 29, 2010, an SHO heard the C-6 application filed

by Nancy L. White. Following the hearing, the SHO issued an order denying

the C-6 application. The SHO's order explains

It is the order of the Staff Hearing Officer that the C-6

Application for Payment of Compensation Accrued At Time

Of Death, filed on 02/01/2010, is denied.

In the application, Ms. N. Lynette White, as the administrator

of the estate of Mary Parker, requested permanent and total

disability compensation accrued and owed to Ms. Parker as of

the date of her death on 06/05/2009.

It is the finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that no permanent

and total disability compensation was accrued and owed to

Ms. Mary Parker at the time of her death.

Ms. Parker had previously filed and requested the payment of

permanent and total disability compensation pursuant to a

IC-2 application filed on 11/29/2001. The Industrial

Commission of Ohio previously denied the application

pursuant to a Staff Hearing Officer order issued on

01/23/2003. However, the Staff Hearing Officer order issued

No. 13AP-285 17

on 01/23/2003 was vacated pursuant to an Industrial

Commission order issued on 02/19/2009.

It is the finding of this Staff Hearing Officer that Ms. Parker

was not permanently and totally disabled and that her IC-2

application for permanent and total disability compensation,

filed on 11/29/2001, is denied.

It is the finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that the claim was

previously allowed for the conditions of: ACUTE

MYOFIBROSITIS OF LUMBAR SPINE; AGGRAVATION OF

PRE-EXISTING ARTHRITIS OF LUMBAR SPINE. The claim

was previously disallowed for the conditions of FAILED BACK

SURGERY; FAILED BACK SYNDROME.

It is the finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that the Injured

Worker was previously examined on behalf of the Industrial

Commission of Ohio by Dr. Lutz on 02/19/2002. Dr. Lutz

noted that the Injured Worker had reached maximum medical

improvement for the allowed conditions in the claim. He also

opined that the Injured Worker was capable of performing

sedentary work.

Based upon the report of Dr. Lutz, it is the finding of this Staff

Hearing Officer that the Injured Worker had reached

maximum medical improvement for the allowed conditions in

the claim and was capable of performing sedentary work

activities.

It is the finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that the Injured

Worker's past work history included jobs as a receptionist, a

waitress and as an office clerk. It is the finding of the Staff

Hearing Officer that the Injured Worker was working as a

receptionist, which is a sedentary level position, up to April of

1999. It is the finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that the

Injured Worker had a twelfth grade education and was

approximately 73 years of age when she filed the IC-2

application.

It is the finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that the Injured

Worker's age was a detriment to her ability to return to and

find employment in a sedentary level position. However, this

detriment in and of itself is not sufficient to find an Injured

Worker permanently and totally disabled. Further, the

Injured Worker worked for several years and was previously

able to find employment regardless of her advanced age. The

No. 13AP-285 18

Injured Worker's level of education would be a benefit to her

ability to find employment in the sedentary work

environment. Further, the Injured Worker's prior work

experience establishes that she was capable of performing

work in a sedentary level position and had transferable skills

in operating cash registers, answering phones, using copiers,

typing and using various payroll/office equipment. These

skills would have greatly benefited her ability to find

employment in a sedentary position.

Considering the Injured Worker's [State ex rel. Stephenson v.

Indus. Comm., 31 Ohio St.3d 167 (1987)] factors, it is the

finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that the Injured Worker

would have been capable of returning to and performing

sedentary work activities after April of 1999, and thus was not

permanently and totally disabled.

Therefore, it is hereby the order of the Staff Hearing Officer

that the request for payment of accrued permanent and total

disability compensation is denied.

{¶ 41} 23. On April 4, 2013, relator, Nancy L. White, the

administrator of decedent's estate, filed this mandamus action.

Conclusions of Law:

{¶ 42} Two issues are presented: (1) whether, pursuant to R.C.

4123.60, the decedent's estate can collect the PTD compensation that

decedent allegedly should have received prior to the date of her death even

though decedent's industrial claim abated as of the date of her death, and (2)

whether the SHO's order of June 29, 2010 presents an abuse of commission

discretion in the consideration of the non-medical factors.

{¶ 43} The magistrate finds: (1) the decedent's estate can collect the

PTD compensation that decedent allegedly should have received prior to the

date of her death notwithstanding that decedent's industrial claim abated as

of the date of her death, and (2) the SHO's order of June 29, 2010 does not

present an abuse of discretion in the commission's consideration of the non-

medical factors.

No. 13AP-285 19

{¶ 44} Accordingly, as more fully explained below, it is the

magistrate's decision that this court deny relator's request for a writ of

mandamus.

{¶ 45} R.C. 4123.60 currently provides:

In all cases of death where the dependents are a surviving

spouse and one or more children, it is sufficient for the

surviving spouse to apply to the administrator on behalf of the

spouse and minor children. In cases where all the dependents

are minors, a guardian or next friend of such minor

dependents shall apply.

In all cases where an award had been made on account of

temporary, or permanent partial, or total disability, in which

there remains an unpaid balance, representing payments

accrued and due to the decedent at the time of his death, the

administrator may, after satisfactory proof has been made

warranting such action, award or pay any unpaid balance of

such award to such of the dependents of the decedent, or for

services rendered on account of the last illness or death of

such decedent, as the administrator determines in accordance

with the circumstances in each such case. If the decedent

would have been lawfully entitled to have applied for an

award at the time of his death the administrator may, after

satisfactory proof to warrant an award and payment, award

and pay an amount, not exceeding the compensation which

the decedent might have received, but for his death, for the

period prior to the date of his death, to such of the dependents

of the decedent, or for services rendered on account of the last

illness or death of such decedent, as the administrator

determines in accordance with the circumstances in each such

case, but such payments may be made only in cases in which

application for compensation was made in the manner

required by this chapter, during the lifetime of such injured or

disabled person, or within one year after the death of such

injured or disabled person.

{¶ 46} In State ex rel. Nicholson v. Copperweld Steel Co., 77 Ohio

St.3d 193 (1996), Marian Nicholson was the spouse of Charles Nicholson

who sustained industrial injuries in 1973 and 1974. In July 1990, Charles

applied for PTD compensation. On February 18, 1992, Charles died before

any disposition of his PTD application.

No. 13AP-285 20

{¶ 47} In April 1992, Marian applied, as Charles' dependent, for the

compensation that Charles could have received prior to his death. The

commission denied Marian's application, finding that Charles' disability was

due to non-allowed conditions. Marian then filed a mandamus action in this

court arguing that Charles should have received PTD compensation prior to

his death and that she, as his dependent, was entitled to the award. This

court denied the writ on grounds that Charles' claim had abated upon his

death and that Marian had no legal right under R.C. 4123.60 to pursue

payment for Charles' PTD compensation by an action in mandamus. Marian

then appealed as of right to the Supreme Court of Ohio.

{¶ 48} The Nicholson court held that R.C. 4123.60 affords

dependents, upon timely application, the right to claim compensation for

which a decedent was eligible but was not paid before death and that

mandamus is available to enforce the right. Id. at 195. The Nicholson court

explained:

The court of appeals concluded that Charles's PTD claim

abated upon his death, which is true under State ex rel.

Hamlin v. Indus. Comm. (1993), 68 Ohio St.3d 21, 22, 623

N.E.2d 35, 36. The court further held that his surviving spouse

had no right under R.C. 4123.60 to "step into * * * [his] shoes"

for the purpose of pursuing his claim, and this is also true.

State ex rel. Manns v. Indus. Comm. (1988), 39 Ohio St.3d

188, 529 N.E.2d 1379, paragraph three of the syllabus (where

deceased claimant was paid lump-sum advance for

anticipated future compensation, advance was not "accrued

compensation" to which dependents may be entitled under

R.C. 4123.60, and a surviving spouse cannot pursue the

decedent's claim for the advance). The commission urges us to

affirm for the same reasons.

We, however, read the emphasized language of R.C. 4123.60

to expressly authorize a deceased worker's dependents' receipt

of compensation for which the worker qualified and should

have received before death. Indeed, we have already said that

where a deceased worker's dependents' claims accrued

compensation under R.C. 4123.60, "[t]he award is not

personal to the worker because R.C. 4123.60 specifically

provides that dependents may recover the compensation the

No. 13AP-285 21

deceased worker was entitled to receive." State ex rel. Nyitray

v. Indus. Comm. (1983), 2 Ohio St.3d 173, 177, 2 OBR 715,

719, 443 N.E.2d 962, 966, fn. 5. For this reason, an R.C.

4123.60 award is similar to a death benefit award under R.C.

4123.59-both exist separate and apart from the rights of the

injured worker. (Citations omitted.)

Thus, contrary to the court of appeals' decision, Marian is not

attempting to pursue Charles's PTD claim, which he filed

pursuant to R.C. 4123.58, on his behalf. Rather, when Marian

filed her application for accrued compensation, she instituted

her own claim for compensation Charles could have received,

a claim that is expressly sanctioned by R.C. 4123.60. As a

result, Marian's claim was not abated by Charles's death-her

interests actually arose at that time and, under R.C. 4123.60,

they became independently actionable.

Id. at 196.

{¶ 49} The Nicholson court went on to find that the commission had

abused its discretion in denying Charles' PTD application. Accordingly, the

Nicholson court reversed the judgment of this court and issued a limited writ

returning the cause to the commission for further proceedings.

{¶ 50} In State ex rel. Liposchak v. Indus. Comm., 90 Ohio St.3d 276

(2000), Robert E. Liposchak contracted an occupational disease in the

course of his employment. Robert applied for PTD compensation and

obtained an award following mandamus litigation. However, Robert died

before payment. Robert's brother, Walter Liposchak, became the executor of

Robert's estate. Robert's mother, Edith Liposchak, filed a death claim under

R.C. 4123.59.

{¶ 51} Edith and Walter together filed a claim under R.C. 4123.60.

{¶ 52} The commission granted payment for medical and funeral

expenses pursuant to R.C. 4123.66, but denied all other relief. The

commission determined that Edith had never been Robert's dependent, nor

was she likely to ever become Robert's dependent. Robert had no lineal

decedents, lived with his brother, and was "quite dependent on his brother."

Id. at 277.

No. 13AP-285 22

{¶ 53} Edith and Walter filed in this court a mandamus action

seeking relief under R.C. 4123.60. Walter sought relief in his capacity as

executor of Robert's estate. This court dismissed the Liposchak complaint

for failure to state a claim for relief, finding that Edith had an adequate

remedy in the ordinary course of law and that Walter had no legal right to

relief.

{¶ 54} Before filing their mandamus action in this court, the

Liposchak's appealed the commission's order to the Jefferson County Court

of Common Pleas.

{¶ 55} On appeal as of right from this court to the Supreme Court of

Ohio, the Liposchak court held that commission determinations under R.C.

4123.59 or R.C. 4123.60 are not appealable to a common pleas court. That

is, such commission determinations are actionable only in mandamus.

{¶ 56} Lastly, the Liposchak court addressed the R.C. 4123.60 claim

of Walter Liposchak as executor of Robert's estate:

Having found that R.C. 4123.60 dependency issues are not

appealable under R.C. 4123.512, we turn to whether Robert's

estate can collect the permanent partial and permanent total

disability compensation that accrued but had not been paid to

him before his death.

In State ex rel. Nossal v. Terex Div. of I.B.H. (1999), 86 Ohio

St.3d 175, 712 N.E.2d 747, syllabus, we held that the estates of

deceased dependents can recover R.C. 4123.60 compensation

to which the dependent was entitled from the State Insurance

Fund. Thus, Walter, as executor of Robert's estate, reasonably

asks why estates of workers should not be able to collect

accrued compensation when the estates of dependents are

able to collect. We see no reason for such an inequity.

Accordingly, we follow Nossal, and hold that Robert's estate is

entitled under R.C. 4123.60 to compensation that accrued to

Robert, but had not been paid to him at the time of his death.

Id. at 282.

{¶ 57} The Liposchak court reversed the judgment of this court and

remanded the cause to this court for further proceedings.

No. 13AP-285 23

{¶ 58} It is perhaps noteworthy that the Liposchak court split five to

two. The two dissenting justices concurred as follows:

I must also respectfully dissent from the majority's reliance on

our Nossal case, in the second part of its opinion, to justify its

holding that Robert's estate may recover Robert's accrued but

unpaid compensation under R.C. 4123.60. Our Nossal

syllabus provides only that "[w]here the commission awards

death benefits to the surviving spouse of a deceased

employee, but the spouse dies before the funds are disbursed,

accrued benefits for the period between the deceased

employee's death and the spouse's death shall be paid to the

spouse's estate." (Emphasis added.) State ex rel. Nossal v.

Terex Div. of I.B.H. (1999), 86 Ohio St.3d 175, 712 N.E.2d 747,

syllabus. In Nossal, the worker's sole dependent had actually

been awarded $298 per week in benefits, but died before

those funds were disbursed. Because the award had already

vested in the worker's dependent, we permitted the

dependent's estate to recover the benefits that the dependent

would have received-but for administrative delays-during the

limited period between the worker's death and her own.

Nossal thus only permits a dependent's estate to recover

where an award to the worker's dependent has actually vested

in that dependent prior to the dependent's death. Nossal does

not support the majority's much broader holding that a

worker's estate can actually collect accrued/unpaid benefits

itself under R.C. 4123.60.

Here, unlike the situation we confronted in Nossal, no

dependent of Robert has been deemed eligible to receive

accrued/unpaid benefits. No R.C. 4123.60 award has vested

yet been administratively delayed. Moreover, any right to the

receipt of accrued/unpaid benefits under R.C. 4123.60 is the

right of a "dependent," and Robert's estate cannot itself

qualify as a "dependent" under R.C. 4123.60. Dependents are

"person[s]" such as surviving spouses and children who either

partly, wholly, or prospectively relied on the deceased worker

for maintenance and support. See R.C. 4123.59 (C) and (D). A

deceased worker's estate is no such "person." A deceased

worker's estate is an aggregate comprising the assets and

liabilities of the decedent. See Black's Law Dictionary (7

Ed.1999) 567. Individual beneficiaries of a deceased worker's

estate could seek to recover accrued/unpaid benefits as

dependents, upon satisfactory proof to the administrator of

their status as dependents under R.C. 4123.60. But a worker's

estate cannot be said to have relied on the worker for

No. 13AP-285 24

maintenance and support-even prospectively-for the estate

does not even exist as a legal construct until the worker is

deceased. We have recognized this distinction before. Seventy

years ago, this court held that a dependent (or personal

representative thereof) could maintain an action for the

unpaid balance of an award, but "not * * * the administrator of

the decedent." Bozzelli v. Indus. Comm. (1930), 122 Ohio St.

201, 207, 171 N.E. 108, 110.

(Emphasis sic.) Id. at 284-85. (Moyer, C.J., and Cook, J., concur in part and dissent in

part.)

{¶ 59} Here, the commission suggests that the SHO's order of June

29, 2010 denies relator's C-6 application on two separate grounds: (1) that

the commission lacked jurisdiction over the claim for R.C. 4123.60 relief

because decedent's industrial claim abated at the time of decedent's death,

and (2) the decedent was never permanently and totally disabled.

First Issue: Claim Abatement

{¶ 60} Ohio Adm.Code 4123-5-21(A) provides:

When a claimant dies, action on any application filed by the

claimant, and pending before the bureau or the industrial

commission at the time of his death, is abated by claimant's

death.

{¶ 61} Primarily relying upon the commission's rule regarding claim

abatement, the commission asserts that, because decedent's industrial claim

abated at her death, "the commission had no further jurisdiction to hear the

matter." (Commission's brief, at 9.)

{¶ 62} According to the commission (Commission's brief, at 6.), the

following portion of the SHO's order of June 29, 2010 indicates that claim

abatement was one of two reasons for denial of the C-6 application:

It is the finding of the Staff Hearing Officer that no permanent

and total disability compensation was accrued and owed to

Ms. Mary Parker at the time of her death.

{¶ 63} The magistrate disagrees with the commission's

interpretation of the SHO's order of June 29, 2010. The order does not

mention abatement or any jurisdictional issue. The portion of the order

No. 13AP-285 25

relied upon here appears to present a finding or conclusion that is consistent

with the commission's determination that decedent was not permanently

and totally disabled.

{¶ 64} In any event, the commission's position, i.e., that it lacks

jurisdiction over the C-6 because decedent's industrial claim had abated,

lacks merit.

{¶ 65} The decision of the Nicholson court is instructive.

Undeniably, decedent's industrial claim abated at her death on June 5, 2009.

However, the C-6 claim of relator did not abate. In fact, it arose at the time

of decedent's death, and under R.C. 4123.60 became independently

actionable. Nicholson at 196.

{¶ 66} Based on the foregoing analysis, the magistrate concludes that

decedent's estate can collect the PTD compensation that decedent allegedly

should have received prior to the date of her death, notwithstanding the

abatement of decedent's industrial claim. This is so under the Liposchak

decision even though decedent apparently had no dependents.

Second Issue: The Non-Medical Factors

{¶ 67} As earlier noted, the second issue is whether the SHO's order

of June 29, 2010 presents an abuse of discretion in the consideration of the

non-medical factors. To begin, the order relies exclusively on the reports of

Dr. Lutz for the determination of residual functional capacity. Ohio

Adm.Code 4121-3-34(B)(4). Based on Dr. Lutz's reports, the commission

determined that the industrial injury permitted sedentary work. Here,

relator does not challenge the commission's reliance upon the reports of Dr.

Lutz, nor does relator challenge the commission's determination that

decedent's residual functional capacity was at the sedentary level. However,

relator does challenge the commission's consideration of the non-medical

factors.

{¶ 68} Analysis continues with the observation that the commission's

order at issue does not address or mention the vocational reports of Dr.

Stoeckel or Mr. Stead, nor does the order address or mention the affidavit of

No. 13AP-285 26

Nancy L. White. Clearly, the commission did not rely on the vocational

reports of Dr. Stoeckel or Mr. Stead, nor did it rely upon the White affidavit.

Moreover, the commission was not required to address or mention the

reports of Dr. Stoeckel and Mr. Stead, or the White affidavit, nor was the

commission required to explain why it apparently rejected that evidence.

State ex rel. Lovell v. Indus. Comm., 74 Ohio St.3d 250-52 (1996).

{¶ 69} Notwithstanding the commission's rejection of that evidence,

relator argues here as if the evidence was relied upon or should have been

relied upon by the commission. Relator's discussion or presentation of

decedent's non-medical factors inappropriately weaves relator's view of

decedent's age, education and work history into the factual scenario.

{¶ 70} For example, in her brief, relator asserts:

The only reason she was able to find work as a receptionist

after her industrial injury was because her family owned a

business and was trying to accommodate her needs.

(Relator's brief, at 20-21.) As another example, in her brief, relator asserts:

[T]he vocational testing performed by Dr. Stoeckel and Mr.

Stead contradict the notion that Ms. Parker was functioning at

a high school graduate level at the time she applied for PTD

benefits.

(Relator's brief, at 23.)

{¶ 71} In effect, relator's argument for a writ of mandamus is but an

invitation that this court reweigh the evidence before the commission. In

mandamus, this court ordinarily does not reweigh the evidence before the

commission. Obviously, this court cannot accept as fact Nancy White's view

of her mother's performance at the receptionist job as indicated in her

affidavit. This court cannot accept relator's proposition that decedent's high

school education is lessened by the vocational testing by Dr. Stoeckel.

{¶ 72} In consideration of the non-medical factors, the commission

is required to address age, education, and work history. See Ohio Adm.Code

4121-3-34(B)(3). The commission appropriately addressed those three

vocational factors in its order.

No. 13AP-285 27

Age

{¶ 73} On the date of the initial adjudication of her PTD application,

decedent was 73 years of age. In its June 29, 2010 order, the commission

finds:

Injured Worker's age was a detriment to her ability to return

to and find employment in a sedentary level position.

However, this detriment in and of itself is not sufficient to find

an Injured Worker permanently and totally disabled

{¶ 74} Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(B)(3)(a) provides:

"Age" shall be determined at time of the adjudication of the

application for permanent and total disability. In general, age

refers to one's chronological age and the extent to which one's

age affects the ability to adapt to a new work situation and to

do work in competition with others.

{¶ 75} In State ex rel. Moss v. Indus. Comm., 75 Ohio St.3d 414

(1996), the commission denied PTD compensation to a 78 year old applicant

with an eighth grade education and an ability to read, write, and do basic

math. The claimant had worked as a housekeeper. The Moss court stated:

Our analysis of the commission's order reveals Noll

compliance. In so holding, we recognize the significant

impediment that claimant's age presents to her

reemployment. Workers' compensation benefits, however,

were never intended to compensate claimants for simply

growing old.

Age must instead be considered on a case-by-case basis. To

effectively do so, the commission must deem any

presumptions about age rebuttable. Equally important, age

must never be viewed in isolation. A college degree, for

example, can do much to ameliorate the effects of advanced

age.

[State ex rel. Pass v. C.S.T. Extraction Co., 74 Ohio St.3d 373

(1996)], [State ex rel. DeZarn v. Indus. Comm., 74 Ohio St.3d

461 (1996)] and [State ex rel. Bryant v. Indus. Comm., 74

Ohio St.3d 458 (1996)] support these propositions.

Collectively, these cases establish that there is not an age-

ever-at which reemployment is held to be a virtual

impossibility as a matter of law. Certainly, it would be remiss

No. 13AP-285 28

to ignore the limitations that age can place on efforts to secure

other employment. However, limitation should never

automatically translate into prohibition.

Each claimant is different, with different levels of motivation,

initiative and resourcefulness. The claimant in Bryant is an

excellent example of a claimant who was motivated to work

well beyond retirement age and was resourceful enough to

find a job that valued the experience that his advanced age

brought.

This underscores the commission's responsibility to

affirmatively address the age factor. It is not enough for the

commission to just acknowledge claimant's age. It must

discuss age in conjunction with the other aspects of the

claimant's individual profile that may lessen or magnify age's

effects.

Id. at 416-17.

{¶ 76} The SHO's order of June 29, 2010 appropriately addresses

decedent's age. That is to say, while her age of 73 years was viewed as a

"detriment" to her ability to return to work, it is not, nor can it be, a

complete bar to employment.

Education

{¶ 77} Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(B)(3)(b) provides:

"Education" is primarily used to mean formal schooling or

other training which contributes to the ability to meet

vocational requirements. The numerical grade level may not

represent one's actual educational abilities. If there is no other

evidence to contradict it, the numerical grade level will be

used to determine educational abilities.

{¶ 78} In its June 29, 2010 order, the commission noted that

decedent had a "twelfth grade education." In that regard, the order

concludes:

The Injured Worker's level of education would be a benefit to

her ability to find employment in the sedentary work

environment.

No. 13AP-285 29

{¶ 79} It can be noted that, on decedent's PTD application, she

indicated that she graduated from high school in 1945 which involved

completion of 12 years of schooling.

{¶ 80} Here, relator endeavors to diminish the value of decedent's

high school education. Relator asserts that decedent's "high school

education from 1945 is highly irrelevant to performing work in 1999."

(Relator's brief, at 22.) Relator also points to Dr. Stoeckel's testing results.

{¶ 81} However, Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(B)(3)(b)(iv) provides:

"High school education or above" means twelfth grade level or

above. The G.E.D. is equivalent to high school education. High

school education or above means ability in reasoning,

arithmetic, and language skills acquired through formal

schooling at twelfth grade education or above. Generally an

individual with these educational abilities can perform semi-

skilled through skilled work.

{¶ 82} In State ex rel. Ewart v. Indus. Comm., 76 Ohio St.3d 139

(1996), the court states:

The freedom to independently evaluate nonmedical factors is

important because nonmedical factors are often subject to

different interpretation. We have already recognized this fact

with regard to age and education. As stated in [State ex rel

Ellis v. McGraw Edison Co. (1993), 66 Ohio St.3d 92, 94, 609

N.E. 2d 164, 165]:

"The commission exercised its prerogative in concluding that,

at age fifty-one, claimant was young, not old, and that his age

was a help, not a hindrance. So, too, is the conclusion with

regard to claimant's education, which also derives support

from the record. More so than claimant's age, his education

can be interpreted as either an asset or a liability. While his

grade school level spelling and below-average reading ability

clearly can be perceived negatively, the same rehabilitation

report that determined these academic skills to be a limitation

nonetheless concluded that his high school education was an

asset. The commission was persuaded by the latter

conclusion. Id. at 94, 609 N.E.2d at 165-166.

Id. 141-142.

No. 13AP-285 30

{¶ 83} Here, the commission was not required to lessen the value of

decedent's high school education because the graduation date was in 1945 as

opposed to one of more recent vintage. Obviously, the graduation date of

any graduate recedes in time as the graduate ages.

{¶ 84} Moreover, the commission was not required to devalue

decedent's high school education because of Dr. Stoeckel's testing.

{¶ 85} Clearly, it was well within the commission's fact finding

discretion to view decedent's 1945 high school education as an asset to her

re-employment, notwithstanding that graduation occurred many years ago.

Work History

{¶ 86} Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-34(B)(3)(c) states:

(iv) "Transferability of skills" are skills that can be used in

other work activities. Transferability will depend upon the

similarity of occupational work activities that have been

performed by the injured worker. Skills which an individual

has obtained through working at past relevant work may

qualify individuals for some other type of employment.

(v) "Previous work experience" is to include the injured

worker's usual occupation, other past occupations, and the

skills and abilities acquired through past employment which

demonstrate the type of work the injured worker may be able

to perform. Evidence may show that an injured worker has

the training or past work experience which enables the injured

worker to engage in sustained remunerative employment in

another occupation. The relevance and transferability of

previous work skills are to be addressed by the adjudicator.

{¶ 87} In its June 29, 2010 order, the commission addresses

decedent's work history or work experience:

Further, the Injured Worker's prior work experience

establishes that she was capable of performing work in a

sedentary level position and had transferable skills in

operating cash registers, answering phones, using copiers,

typing and using various payroll/office equipment. These

skills would have greatly benefited her ability to find

employment in a sedentary position.

No. 13AP-285 31

{¶ 88} Here, relator does not seem to challenge the commission's

consideration of her work experience or that the commission appropriately

identified transferable work skills. It can be noted that the commission's

identification of transferable work skills is supported by decedent's self

reporting on her PTD application.

{¶ 89} In short, the commission did not abuse its discretion in

determining that decedent had transferable work skills.

{¶ 90} In its June 29, 2010 order, the commission determined that,

despite her age, decedent's education and work history provided her the

vocational ability to perform sedentary work. This was a determination well

within the commission's fact finding discretion.

{¶ 91} Based upon the above analysis, the magistrate concludes that

the commission did not abuse its discretion in its consideration of the non-

medical factors.

{¶ 92} Accordingly, it is the magistrate's decision that this court deny

relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

KENNETH W. MACKE

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign

as error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding

or legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as

a finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically

objects to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required

by Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.