Opinion

State ex rel. Menz v. State Teachers Retirement Bd. of Ohio

  • 2014 Ohio 2419
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Jun 5, 2014
Status
Published
On the bench
Schuster
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 50.0%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Menz v. State Teachers Retirement Bd. of Ohio, 2014-Ohio-2419.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Jason Menz, :

Relator, :

v. : No. 13AP-586

The State Teachers Retirement : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Board of Ohio,

:

Respondent.

:

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on June 5, 2014

Dietz Law Office, LLC, and James M. Dietz for relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Lydia M. Arko, for

respondent.

IN MANDAMUS

ON OBJECTIONS TO THE MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

LUPER SCHUSTER, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, Jason Menz, has brought this original action seeking a writ of

mandamus ordering respondent, State Teachers Retirement Board of Ohio ("STRB"), to

vacate its decision denying his application for disability retirement benefits and to enter a

decision granting his application.

{¶ 2} Pursuant to Civ.R. 53(C) and Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of

Appeals, this matter was referred to a magistrate of this court who examined the evidence

and issued a decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law, which is

appended hereto. The magistrate recommended this court deny the request for a writ of

mandamus.

No. 13AP-586 2

{¶ 3} Relator objects to the magistrate's findings of fact through the following

objections:

The Magistrate failed to include in her Findings of Fact, the

fact that Dr. Berarducci stated that Relator was disabled as of

his June 19, 2012 evaluation. In addition, the Magistrate

failed to confirm that Dr. Berarducci, STRS' evaluator, stated

that Relator has been 'assiduous' in following his doctors'

instructions. Finally the Magistrate failed to include Dr.

Berarducci's statement that Relator's medical condition has

not, in part, improved because of the lack [of] available

medical personnel in his area and as such his chances for

'successful headache pain control' are forever elusive. At pages

8-9, the Magistrate references Dr. Berarducci's June 19, 2012

evaluation report, but only quotes from a very limited portion

of that Report. In fact, in that report Berarducci stated:

…Clearly, Mr. Menz likely will not be returning to work with

headache at the levels he describes today. To that extent, he is

"disabled", but declaration of permanent disability retirement

would seem to close off potential for future improvement. In

some patients, declaration of "total disability" only makes the

situation worse from the standpoint of allowing for eventual

improvement…

Ultimately, all pain problems improve, if the right

combination of physical and psychobehavioral measures can

be found. Mr. Menz has been assiduous in following the

recommendations given to him, but that state of successful

control has remained elusive. I do think he is hindered by

where he lives presently in that adequately aggressive and

creative medical/psychiatric therapies are not available to him

in his home environment. It [has] become less and less

feasible for him to travel distances to meet specialists he

needs. Nevertheless, I suspect that success in controlling his

headache will come if he has a pain "mentor" available to him

as he needs it, when he needs it, no matter how frequent that

interaction may become. Failing this kind of personalized,

daily, face-to-face interaction with the therapist seems to

mean (and likely will continue to mean) that no effective

solution in this case will evolve. As such, all of the various

conditions as currently defined in this case may mean that the

path leading to a successful outcome is too thin and insecure

such that successful headache pain control remain forever

elusive.

No. 13AP-586 3

{¶ 4} Because we find STRB abused its discretion in denying relator's disability

benefits application, we grant relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

I. Summary of Facts and Board Proceedings

{¶ 5} Relator worked as an elementary school principal with the Liberty Local

School District and is a member of the State Teachers Retirement System ("STRS").

Relator suffers from severe and debilitating headaches which have greatly affected his

ability to perform his customary job duties, causing him to frequently be absent from

work. During the 2010-2011 school year, relator was absent 132 days due to personal

illness. On March 10, 2011, Liberty Local Schools Board of Education declined to renew

relator's administrative contract.

{¶ 6} Beginning in August 2009, relator sought treatment at the University of

Pittsburgh Headache Center under Dr. Robert J. Kaniecki. Over the course of nearly two

years, relator visited the center on multiple occasions but continued to suffer from severe

headaches despite various treatments and medications. Ultimately, Dr. Kaniecki

concluded relator should be considered permanently disabled, as relator's "migraine

condition is expected to last at least an additional several years, if not a decade or two."

(Certified Record, at 23.)

{¶ 7} Relator filed a disability benefit application on June 17, 2011, which

attached a report from his attending physician, Dr. Kaniecki. After receiving relator's

disability application, STRS scheduled an independent medical evaluation by Dr. Albert

Berarducci. Dr. Berarducci examined relator on August 17, 2011 and submitted a report

stating he believed relator was temporarily disabled and relator's headaches were

"sufficiently disabling [and] [relator] likely will not tolerate an immediate return to his

previous occupation." (Certified Record, at 30.) Dr. Berarducci recommended relator

seek additional treatment and recommended a number of pain clinics to relator. STRS

notified relator it would delay consideration of his application pending his seeking

additional medical treatment as recommended by Dr. Berarducci.

{¶ 8} Following Dr. Berarducci's initial examination and report, relator traveled

to the Diamond Headache Center in Chicago for additional testing and headache

treatment. Despite treatment at the Diamond Headache Center, no resolution was found

and relator continued to suffer from debilitating headaches.

No. 13AP-586 4

{¶ 9} On April 12, 2012, relator returned to his attending physician, Dr. Kaniecki,

who submitted a report the following day. Dr. Kaniecki recounted the extensive list of

medications and treatments relator had in the previous two and one-half years in an

attempt to alleviate his headaches. Dr. Kaniecki stated, "[d]espite all these steps, [relator]

continues to report an underlying daily headache with severe headache 17 days per month

and incapacitating headache 5 days per month." (Certified Record, at 36.) Dr. Kaniecki

concluded for the second time that relator should be determined permanently disabled,

stating: "[i]t is my opinion, within a reasonable degree of medical certainty, that [relator]

is disabled from his position of school principal. It is also my medical opinion that he is

disabled from his position as a schoolteacher." (Certified Record, at 36.)

{¶ 10} On June 19, 2012, Dr. Berarducci again examined relator. In his assessment

of relator's condition, Dr. Berarducci noted relator had not worked in his chosen

profession since the previous evaluation (August 17, 2011). In the same evaluation, Dr.

Berarducci stated, "[c]learly, [relator] likely will not be returning to work with [the]

headache at the levels he describes today. To that extent, he is 'disabled,' but

declaration of permanent disability retirement would seem to close off potential for future

improvement." (Emphasis added.) (Certified Record, at 58.)

{¶ 11} Dr. Berarducci noted in his assessment, "[relator] has been assiduous in

following the recommendations given to him, but that state of successful control has

remained elusive." (Certified Record, at 58.) Dr. Berarducci went on to conclude, "I see

no immediate resolution of this problem based on the large volume of information that I

have reviewed for this evaluation and for the evaluation dated August 17, 2011." (Certified

Record, at 59.)

{¶ 12} The physicians of the Medical Review Board reviewed both the evidence and

Dr. Berarducci's evaluations and concurred with Dr. Berarducci's opinion. On August 14,

2012, the Medical Review Board recommended to STRB to deny relator's disability

application. STRB voted to deny relator's application on September 20, 2012. Relator

appealed STRB's denial and submitted additional medical evidence for review.

{¶ 13} Dr. Berarducci reviewed the additional documentation in January 2013

regarding relator's ongoing medical treatments. In his assessment, Dr. Berarducci stated:

No. 13AP-586 5

[Relator] clearly has shown that he has not for at least the

past 18 months and likely will not return to his

previous position in teaching, but I still maintain that

this is for reasons lying outside my personal expertise in the

specialty of Neurology. To me it is clear that Mr. Mertz is not

'neurologically disabled'. It is obvious to me that he will

not return to work in the next 12 months and to that

extent he fits the legal definition of 'permanent'

disability from teaching.

(Bold emphasis added; underlining in original.) (Certified Record, at 113.)

II. Magistrate's Decision and Relator's Objections

{¶ 14} A writ of mandamus is the appropriate remedy to seek "relief from an

adverse determination concerning disability retirement benefits or other retirement

decisions." See State ex rel. Pontillo v. Pub. Emps. Retirement Sys. Bd., 98 Ohio St.3d

500, 2003-Ohio-2120, ¶ 23; State ex rel. Moss v. Ohio St. Hwy. Patrol Retirement Sys.,

97 Ohio St.3d 198, 2002-Ohio-5806, ¶ 6; and State ex rel. McMaster v. School Emps.

Retirement Sys., 69 Ohio St.3d 130 (1994). A relator must demonstrate: (1) he has a clear

legal right to the relief prayed for; (2) STRB has a clear legal duty to provide the requested

relief; and (3) relator has no plain and adequate remedy in the ordinary course of law.

State ex rel. Gill v. School Emps. Retirement Sys. of Ohio, 121 Ohio St.3d 567, 2009-Ohio-

1358, ¶ 18.

{¶ 15} A determination by STRB whether a person is "entitled to disability

retirement benefits is reviewable in mandamus to correct an abuse of discretion." State

ex rel. Bruce v. State Teachers Retirement Bd. of Ohio, 153 Ohio App.3d 589, 2003-Ohio-

4181, ¶ 95 (10th Dist.), citing State ex rel. Pipoly v. State Teachers Retirement Sys., 95

Ohio St.3d 327, 2002-Ohio-2219, ¶ 14. "Abuse of discretion" means a decision that is

unreasonable, arbitrary, or unconscionable. Id.

{¶ 16} The magistrate concluded STRB did not abuse its discretion when it relied

on an independent medical opinion that relator was not incapacitated due to a

neurological condition. Specifically, the magistrate stated that the objective medical

evidence presented does not support relator's argument that he is permanently disabled

as defined under R.C. 3307.62(C). Therefore, the magistrate recommended we deny

relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

No. 13AP-586 6

{¶ 17} With respect to the magistrate's findings of fact, relator argues Dr.

Berarducci, in fact, found relator was disabled. Relator also objects to the magistrate's

failure to include that relator had been "assiduous" in following his doctor's instructions,

and that relator's medical condition had not improved, in part, due to a lack of medical

personnel in his area. Relator also argues no statutory requirement exists requiring

relator to present evidence of a neurological or physical cause for his headaches. Relator

concludes that STRB abused its discretion when it denied relator's disability benefits and

STRB is required to grant relator's application for disability retirement.

{¶ 18} Under R.C. 3307.62, a member of STRS is entitled to disability coverage

when STRB accepts the member's application. In part, R.C. 3307.62(C) provides:

Medical examination of the member shall be conducted * * *

to determine whether the member is mentally or

physically incapacitated for the performance of duty by a

disabling condition, either permanent or presumed to be

permanent for twelve continuous months following the

filing of an application.

(Emphasis added.)

{¶ 19} Relator filed for STRB disability on June 17, 2011. Included with his

application, relator attached a report of Dr. Kaniecki. In his report, Dr. Kaniecki stated

relator had visited the center multiple times from August 2009 to May 2011. Dr. Kaniecki

concluded relator was "permanently" disabled as relator's "debilitating medical condition"

had lasted beyond one year, and Dr. Kaniecki expected the disability to last "at least an

additional several years." (Certified Record, at 23.)

{¶ 20} As explained above, the record demonstrates Dr. Berarducci, consistent

with the conclusions of each of the other physicians who treated relator, considered

relator unable to return to employment as a teacher or principal. Indeed, Dr. Berarducci

twice opined that relator has met the statutory definition of permanently disabled.

Furthermore, Dr. Berarducci twice in the same medical evaluation admitted facts

sufficient to render relator incapacitated to work; first by saying he had not worked in at

least 18 months because of headaches, and again by stating he did not believe relator

would be able to return to work within the next 12 months.

No. 13AP-586 7

{¶ 21} The magistrate's recommendation relies, in part, on the Supreme Court of

Ohio's holding in State ex rel. VanCleave v. School Emps. Retirement Sys., 120 Ohio

St.3d 261, 2008-Ohio-5377. In VanCleave, the court stated that "subjective complaints

are not conclusive of disability, and objective medical evidence is still relevant to a

determination of the severity of the condition." Id. at ¶ 47. However, the facts presented

in VanCleave are distinguishable from those in the present case. In VanCleave, a

disagreement existed between the disability applicant's treating physician and the

independent medical examiner assigned by the School Employees Retirement System

("SERS"). The applicant's treating physician found the applicant was permanently

disabled and unable to perform the duties of her job for at least 12 months. In contrast,

SERS's medical examiner concluded the applicant "did not suffer from a disability that

would preclude her [from] return[ing] to her last assigned duties." Id. at ¶ 44.

{¶ 22} Here, the examining physicians are in agreement that relator is prevented

from working because of his debilitating headaches. Furthermore, each of the physicians

has stated unequivocally that relator is unable to return to work within the next 12

months.

{¶ 23} Other cases that have addressed this situation are similarly distinguishable

on their facts. STRB argues the Supreme Court of Ohio, in State ex. rel. Morgan v. State

Teachers Retirement Bd. of Ohio, 121 Ohio St.3d 324, 2009-Ohio-591, affirmed

VanCleave's holding that a physician could consider a lack of objective medical evidence

showing that one's physical limitations are caused by symptoms of the medical condition

alleged when determining whether one was disabled or not. Again, the case is

distinguishable. Specifically, the examining physician in Morgan opined, " 'I do not find

anything on today's examination of an objective nature that would, in my opinion,

preclude [Morgan] from [Morgan's] previous job.' " Id. at ¶ 8. The physician certified

that Morgan was capable of resuming her regular duties. Id. at ¶ 9; see also State ex rel.

Riddell v. State Teachers Retirement Bd., 10th Dist. No. 13AP-660, 2014-Ohio-1646, ¶ 14

(where the court upheld the board's decision to terminate the relator's disability benefits

where the independent medical examiner found that although the relator had been unable

to perform her job duties, she was " 'not physically disabled from doing so' ").

No. 13AP-586 8

{¶ 24} Here, unlike the above cases, Dr. Berarducci repeatedly stated, based on the

symptoms presented, that relator was disabled and would not be able to return to his

previous position within the next year. Therefore, pursuant to R.C. 3307.62(C), relator is

a member who is "mentally or physically incapacitated for the performance of duty by a

disabling condition, either permanent or presumed to be permanent for twelve

continuous months" since the time he filed his disability retirement application.

{¶ 25} Because all the evidence in the record supports that relator has been unable

to work in his previous position since October 2010 and will not be able to resume his

duties for at least the next 12 months, we find STRB abused its discretion when it

determined relator was not entitled to disability retirement benefits.

{¶ 26} Following an independent review of this matter, we sustain relator's

objections and reject the magistrate's recommendation. Accordingly, we grant a writ of

mandamus compelling respondent to vacate its denial of disability benefits to relator and

compelling respondent to grant relator disability retirement benefits pursuant to R.C.

3307.62.

Objections sustained; writ granted.

KLATT and CONNOR, JJ., concur.

No. 13AP-586 9

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio ex rel. :

Jason Menz,

:

Relator, No. 13AP-586

:

v. (REGULAR CALENDAR)

:

The State Teachers Retirement

Board of Ohio, :

Respondent. :

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

Rendered on January 24, 2014

Dietz Law Office, LLC, and James M. Dietz, for relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Allan K. Showalter,

for respondent.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 27} Relator, Jason Menz, has filed this original action requesting that this

court issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent, State Teachers Retirement Board

("board"), to find that he is entitled to a disability retirement.

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 28} 1. Relator was employed as an elementary school principal with the

Liberty Local School District in Cortland, Ohio, and is a member of the State Teachers

Retirement System ("STRS").

No. 13AP-586 10

{¶ 29} 2. During the 2010-2011 school year, relator was absent a total of 132 days

due to personal illness.

{¶ 30} 3. On March 10, 2011, relator's administrative contract was not renewed

by the Liberty Local Schools Board of Education.

{¶ 31} 4. Relator completed a disability benefit application and indicated that the

nature of his physical/mental disability was:

The nature of my disability is complications from debilitating

migraine headaches. I experience an [average] of 20

headaches a month. The headaches rate to a severity of 9/10

more than half the time. I have been to the [emergency

room] several times for my headaches. I have been under the

care of the Director of, The Headache Center, University of

Pittsburgh Medical Center since.

{¶ 32} 5. With his application, relator filed a report from Robert J. Kaniecki,

M.D. In that May 6, 2011 report, Dr. Kaniecki provided the following history of relator's

headaches:

Jason Menz is a 38-year-old gentleman we initially saw on

August 5, 2009, at our offices at the University of Pittsburgh

Headache Center. At that time, he was a 36-year-old

gentleman describing headaches dating back to the age of

eight. He does recall headaches between ages 8 to 14, but

between ages 14 and 24 his headache situation had improved

noticeably. By age 24, the headaches had returned, and

during his 30s, they have escalated significantly. For the 6 to

12 months prior to his initial visit, he was averaging 20

headache days per month with five being

severe/incapacitating. He described unilateral or bilateral

headaches, which would involve throbbing discomfort that

worsened with activity, reaching a severity of 9/10. Nausea

and vomiting were more problematic in the past, but he

continued to experience sensitivities to light and noise. He

would also experience a "hangover" of fatigue. At that time,

we recommended amitriptyline for headache stabilization

and Imitrex injections for attacks[.]

Since the initial visit in August of 2009, we have had the

opportunity to see Jason on multiple occasions. He was

again seen in our offices on December 21, 2009, March 12,

2010, May 6, 2020 [sic], June 28, 2010, September 29, 2010,

December 1, 2010, January 6, 2011, April 11, 2011, and

No. 13AP-586 11

May 2, 2011. During this stretch of time, he has continued to

experience approximately 20 headaches days per month with

10 being severe and 5 incapacitating. There have been

occasional emergency department visits and frequent

absences from work were necessary. Earlier this year, we

started a period of medical leave to begin a more aggressive

exercise and therapeutic program, but nevertheless, he has

continued to experience a relatively high headache

frequency. His headache impact test (HIT-6) scores, which

indicate the level of disability associated with migraine, have

remained in the "severe impact" range despite numerous

medication adjustments. We recently instituted a Botox

program to stabilize his headache disorder.

{¶ 33} Ultimately, Dr. Kaniecki opined that relator should be found to be

permanently disabled, stating:

Jason approached me about the possibility of an occupation-

specific disability and it has been brought to my attention

that he is eligible for STRS disability retirement when

suffering from a debilitating medical condition, which

prevents patients from performing their most recent

teaching positions. It is my opinion that Mr. Menz is

presently unable to perform his job as an elementary school

principal. His migraine condition is expected to last at least

an additional several years, if not a decade or two, and given

the refractory nature of his headaches over the past 18

months, it is my expectation that he will continue to suffer

intermittent disability from protracted migraine episodes.

Since the definition of "permanent" disability is listed as a

condition extending beyond one year, I would certify him as

permanently disabled.

{¶ 34} 6. After receiving relator's application, STRS scheduled relator for an

independent medical evaluation with Albert L. Berarducci, Jr., M.D. In his August 17,

2011 report, Dr. Berarducci first discussed the state of the medical record which he was

given to review, indicating that he had two copies of a letter from Dr. Kaniecki dated

May 6, 2011 and noted further that the letter did not reveal the treatment strategy

employed by Dr. Kaniecki. Dr. Berarducci noted there was a reference to relator having

been seen by Dr. Mays at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Dr. Tamulonis, a neurologist

in Youngstown, Ohio, and Dr. Maggiano, a local neurologist in the Cortland, Ohio area;

however, Dr. Berarducci noted that there were no records from those neurologists

No. 13AP-586 12

presented for him to review. Dr. Berarducci noted that relator presented four pages of

personal statements prepared by himself, his wife, and his mother. Relator indicated

that he began having headaches when he was six years old. The headaches went into

remission for a time, but began again when he was married to his current wife in 2003,

and accelerated in 2005 when his daughter was born.

{¶ 35} Thereafter, Dr. Berarducci indicated that the neurological portion of his

examination was normal and recommended that relator attempt an alternative

approach to headache management before disability was considered. Specifically, Dr.

Berarducci indicated:

ASSESSMENT: Mr. Menz has chronic daily headache that

has been at the current level of severity

(frequency/duration/intensity) for the last eight years, or

since he married his current wife. There was an unquantified

acceleration in his headache when his daughter was born.

Though these two specific dates stand out not only to Mr.

Menz, and also to his wife, they have gone unexplored as

stressors and/or generators of headache in all prior

headache evaluations over the last eight years in Pittsburgh,

Cleveland, Youngstown, and local to his home in Cortland,

Ohio. As I see it, this is one of the larger failings of the

therapeutic plans employed by physicians treating Mr. Menz.

That is, he has not effectively dealt into the psychobehavioral

underpinnings of this headache syndrome, which I suspect

are more significant than has been elucidated in the past.

Though diagnosable psychopathology likely is not a

significant contributor to the day to day "disability" he

asserts is present, psychobehavioral fitness and endurance

very likely contribute to pain intolerance, which leaves Mr.

Menz to choose avoidance behaviors such as social withdraw

from family affairs as a consequence of this headache.

Paradoxically, he is able to exert himself physically in his

exercise regimen even going so far as to say that physical

exercise is a kind of "therapy" for him to get through a day in

which he awakens fearing the worst with regard to headache

impact on the day ahead. The incongruity of these poies [sic]

of physical reaction to headache pain begs further definition.

All of these elements need deeper and more flexible

evaluation, if Mr. Menz is going to reach a self sustaining,

more effective program of headache management at any time

in the near future.

No. 13AP-586 13

In body of this report I referred to the therapies employed by

Mr. Menz as "passive." That is, his physicians have told Mr.

Menz to do many things over the years as treatment for the

headache. It seems Mr. Menz has dutifully followed all

recommendations, but on a superficial level. He has never

addressed deeper levels of headache awareness, progressing

to a better understanding of how his particular physical and

psycho-behavioral constitution permits the development of

his headache problem and ultimate incapacity.

Taking an alternative, "mindfulness" approach to headache

management will require specific instruction. That is, Mr.

Menz needs to understand how it is that a particular

environmental stressor triggers his headache—how his

constitution promotes and predisposes him to maximum

intensity headache so frequently—and what to do about it

when such a headache is triggered. There is no headache

syndrome that cannot be curtailed by one treatment measure

or another. I have recommended to Mr. Menz that he

consider a "second opinion" headache evaluation to gain just

this type of perspective on his headache as distinguished

from what it has been in the past or what it is destined to

become on the present trajectory in the future. I gave him

information about the Michigan Head-Pain & Neurological

Institute (MHPNI) in Ann Arbor, Michigan to accomplish

such a second opinion. He is free to go wherever he feels he

is likely to get the best information and the Diamond

Headache Clinic in Chicago, Illinois was brought up by Mr. &

Mrs. Menz as well. No matter where he chooses to get further

help with headache management, Mr. Menz needs to be

more pro-active in the treatment of his own headache

syndrome. A declaration of permanent disability retirement

will likely be counterproductive in this case as it only frees

him from the stresses and pressures of his job while not

actually treating the underlying problem. This headache

syndrome could flower again in the future when faced by

different stressors meeting inadequate personal resistance,

resulting in headache activity that recreates this same level

of incapacity.

One additional physiologic feature that that Mr. Menz needs

to address is the potential toxicity of Imitrex used exclusively

by injection. He uses no other analgesic regimen aside from

Imitrex. He and his wife estimate that he takes 3-4 injections

of Imitrex weekly, roughly double the maximum allowable

for an individual week. This has been a constant treatment

No. 13AP-586 14

plan for many months, if not years. Imitrex toxicity may be

contributing significantly to the overall headache profile

reported today. An alternative treatment strategy promoting

diminished use of Imitrex will test the "rebound headache

hypothesis" to his ultimate overall benefit.

In short, Mr. Menz presents a significant headache problem

as it is currently constituted. However, passive pain control

strategies currently employed guarantee there will be no

progressive evolution to a more effective personal plan to

control this headache. He has had problem headaches since

he was six years old and suffered a concusion (no

relationship with the current headache, however). That

accident should not have guaranteed a future of

incapacitating headaches. Search for a more effective

treatment strategy should begin now, before declaring Mr.

Menz to be permanently disabled. There is reason for

optimism, but only with a carefully revised approach to

headache management, organized so that Mr. Menz

orchestrates his behaviors and activities "mindfully" with the

tacit acknowledgment that his life path and life choices can

be either headache promoting or therapeutic in and of

themselves.

From a purely neurological perspective, I do not think that

Mr. Menz should be declared permanently disabled from

teaching. His headache as currently described is sufficiently

disabling that he likely will not tolerate an immediate return

to his previous occupation without additional instruction in a

different philosophy of headache pain management. I

recommend that a temporary disability status be arranged

for Mr. Menz so that he can go about finding a

multidisciplinary, self-evolving treatment protocol for

managing his headache. I have given him some

recommendations and information regarding the Michigan

Head-Pain & Neurological Institute. There are other similar

chronic pain clinics throughout the United States (Diamond

Headache Clinic, Scripps—La Jolla, Boston Pain Center, to

name but a few) that emphasize a "mindful" approach to

headache management dovetailed with a minimalist but

effective medicinal regimen that is not overly toxic to the

daily functioning the headache sufferer.

No. 13AP-586 15

{¶ 36} 7. In a letter dated August 31, 2011, STRS notified relator that it was going

to delay consideration of his application for six months so that he could secure

additional medical treatment. Specifically, that letter provides:

At this time the Medical Review Board concluded that your

condition might improve within the 12 month period

following receipt of your application.

After reviewing the Independent Medical Examiner's report,

the Medical Review Board determined that you must secure

medical treatment for six months before further

consideration of your application for disability benefits. The

Retirement System cannot assume financial responsibility

for such treatment. Following six months of treatment, you

should request your doctor to furnish this office with a report

including any test results completed during that period,

regarding the treatment provided and progress you have

made.

Please inform us of the name and address of the physician

you will be seeing for treatment.

After receiving your doctor's report, we will arrange for

reexamination.

{¶ 37} 8. Thereafter, relator traveled to Chicago, Illinois for an evaluation.

Relator has attached copies from St. Joseph's Hospital; however, there are no reports

that were generated from this visit. Instead, it appears that relator was given certain

medications at the time he was discharged and certain instructions, including:

MEDICATIONS AT THE TIME OF DISCHARGE:

[One] Bystolic 5 mg daily.

[Two] Toradol 10 mg 1 pill twice a day as needed for

headache pain. Max of 20 pills per month.

[Three] Norflex 100 mg 1 pill twice a day as needed for

headache pain. Max of 20 pills per month.

[Four] Migranal nasal spray 1 spray each nostril onset of the

headache. Repeat in 15 minutes and again in 2h if needed. A

max of 6 spays per day and 2 days per week.

[Five] Pristiq 50 mg daily.

[Six] Duxaril 75 mg 2 pills at bedtime.

DISCHARGE INSTRUCTIONS:

No. 13AP-586 16

The patient was given a follow-up appointment with Dr.

Pinilla, Dr. Shiba, and biofeedback for April 5th. Diet: The

patient was advised to follow a low tyramins free diet.

Activities: Resume activities as tolerated.

{¶ 38} 9. Dr. Kaniecki submitted a report dated April 13, 2012, wherein he stated

as follows:

This letter regards the medical condition of Jason Menz, a

39-year-old gentleman I most recently saw in our offices on

April 12, 2012, for ongoing management of a chronic daily

headache disorder. He initially presented to our attention in

August of 2009, describing a long-standing history of

episodic headache dating back to the age of eight but

progression of headache to a near-daily basis since 2007 or

2008. Over the past 2 1/2 years, we have attempted to

stabilize his headaches with a number of different

medications, numbering approximately two dozen in terms

of drugs aimed to either prevent or treat individual headache

attacks. He has undergone extensive diagnostic testing, and

most recently underwent re-evaluation through a second

opinion at the Diamond Headache Center in Chicago. There

he underwent a four-day hospital inpatient program as well

as outpatient treatment medication changes. Despite all

these steps, Jason continues to report an underlying daily

headache with severe headache 17 days per month and

incapacitating headache 5 days per month. He has shown no

significant improvement despite a number of medication

changes and trials of both occipital nerve blocks and Botox

injections since August of 2011. Although we will continue to

aggressively manage Jason, His [sic] lack of improvement

despite all these measures results in a significant measure of

disability.

It is my opinion, within a reasonable degree of medical

certainty, that Mr. Menz is disabled from his position of

school principal. It is also my medical opinion that he is

disabled from his position as a schoolteacher. We are

encouraging further employment opportunities that are

more "flexible" and scheduling permitting absences and

schedule adjustments when necessary. Please inform us if

any further information is necessary.

{¶ 39} 10. Relator was again evaluated by Dr. Berarducci. In his June 19, 2012

report, Dr. Berarducci noted that the Chicago records he was provided were essentially a

No. 13AP-586 17

discharge summary indicating the medications provided to relator and noted that, due

to financial concerns, relator had not been able to reschedule an appointment with the

clinic for follow-up care. Dr. Berarducci again noted that relator had not been

aggressively pursuing a combination of anti-depressants and psychotropic medications

to supplement his traditional psychological counseling noting that there was no

neurological explanation for relator's unusually intractable headache syndrome. Dr.

Berarducci noted that relator needed to deal with his insomnia and there needed to be

more aggressive work in the psychiatric realm. He noted that relator had attempted

stress reduction and relaxation exercises but noted that relator's purely personal

attempts to control his headache pain, with no one but himself to advise and guide him,

were not likely to be successful. Dr. Berarducci concluded as follows:

I will leave to the committee the decision whether or not

disability retirement should eventually be declared. This is

not my bias all things considered, but I see no immediate

resolution of this problem based on the large volume of

information that I have reviewed for this evaluation and for

the evaluation dated August 17, 2011. From a neurological

perspective Mr. Menz has no measurable cause or reason to

be permanently disabled. His inability to work resides only

on his assertions he cannot work (hence the suspicions about

malingering) or on purely psychobehavioral causes

(depression, personality make-up, etc).

PLAN: 1. More extensive sleep medicine evaluation to correct

insomnia…

2. More aggressive, personalized psychiatric

evaluation centered on exploration pain-allied treatments …

3. Return to clinic PRN.

{¶ 40} 11. Thereafter, the physicians comprising the Medical Review Board

reviewed the evidence and provided their recommendations. In his July 25, 2012

report, James N. Allen, M.D., recommended that disability retirement be denied,

stating:

In summary, this school principal has a long history of

chronic headache dated to age 8. His headaches have become

worse over the past decade to the point that he has stopped

working as a principal but is currently working in another

business. A brain MRI has shown a small pineal cyst but

No. 13AP-586 18

these are very common (present in up to 10% of healthy

people) and rarely cause symptoms when they are this small.

His headache has not been easy to categorize into a specific

type and he seems to best fit a chronic pain syndrome. As

with many other patients with chronic pain syndromes, he

has no abnormalities on physical exam or objective testing to

explain his symptoms. Disability can often be

counterproductive in the management of chronic pain in that

a primary goal of treatment is to assimilate the patient back

into a regular home and work environment with strategies to

manage pain within the context of these environments. In

this regard, disability can often create a barrier to optimal

pain management. I recommend that disability retirement be

denied.

{¶ 41} 12. In his July 25, 2012 report, Jeffrey C. Hutzler, M.D., also

recommended that relator not be considered permanently incapacitated from the

performance of his job duties, stating:

After reviewing these documents it is my recommendation

that Jason Menz is not considered to be permanently or

presumed to be permanently incapacitated for the

performance of duty and that he should not be retired.

Further psychiatric evaluation would be unlikely to shed

more light upon the excellent evaluation performed by

B[e]rarducci.

{¶ 42} 13. In his August 8, 2012 report Barry Friedman, M.D., opined that a

psychiatric evaluation might prove beneficial, and stated:

Following review of the available records and the thorough

evaluations performed by Dr. Berarducci in 2011 and 2012 I

believe the applicant's best interests are served by further

discussion of this case at a meeting of the Medical Review

Board. Consideration should also be given to the benefit that

might be obtained from a psychiatry disability evaluation

prior to a final determination in this difficult case.

{¶ 43} 14. In a letter dated August 14, 2012, relator was notified that the board

concluded he did not meet the criteria for permanent disability and that his case would

be presented to the board in September.

No. 13AP-586 19

{¶ 44} 15. In a letter dated September 21, 2012, relator was notified that the

board denied his application for disability benefits and informed him of his right to

appeal.

{¶ 45} 16. Relator appealed and his attorney submitted a letter reiterating that

relator had done everything his doctors had asked him to do and, as recommended by

Dr. Berarducci, had traveled to Chicago for treatment. Counsel asserted that one year

had already passed since Dr. Berarducci first examined relator and relator was still not

able to return to work because of his headaches. As such, counsel asserted that clearly

relator was permanently disabled.

{¶ 46} 17. Relator also submitted additional medical evidence including the

November 6, 2012 letter from William E. Beckett and an interpretive report of the

Minnesota Multi Phasic Personality Inventory-2-Restructured Form ("MMPI-2-RF"),

which recommended that relator be evaluated for somatoform disorder if the physical

origin for his head pain complaints had been ruled out. Mr. Beckett's letter was written

in response to Dr. Berarducci's reports. Mr. Beckett is very critical of Dr. Berarducci's

reports and reiterates that relator continues to suffer headaches regardless of the steps

he takes to find relief.

{¶ 47} 18. The additional medical evidence relator submitted was given to

Dr. Berarducci for his review.

{¶ 48} 19. In a letter dated January 7, 2013, Dr. Berarducci noted that Mr.

Beckett indicated he was submitting notes from a doctor for whom he had great respect,

but there were no notes included with Mr. Beckett's letter. Further, Dr. Berarducci

noted that there was no indication who had performed or interpreted the MMPI-2-RF,

but discussed it, stating:

MMPI-2-RF data suggest that Mr. Menz can be said to have

'Somatoform disorder, if physical origin for head pain

complaints has been ruled out'—which in my view has. The

MMPI-2-RF report bases this diagnosis on the 'Substantive

Scale Interpretation…Somatic/Cognitive Dysfunction… The

test taker reports experiencing head pain and is likely to

present with multiple somatic complaints and be prone to

developing physical symptoms in response to stress…[']

(Emphasis mine).

No. 13AP-586 20

Perhaps this is why Mr. Menz began experiencing his current

headache in 2003 after marriage to his current wife and why

this headache problem accelerated after the birth of his

daughter in 2005. Perhaps this is also why his headache has

seemed to be so infinitely malleable and inscrutable over the

years evading good faith attempts to help him cope with

'stress' in its various forms and ultimately to avoid the

resulting headache and psychobehavioral dysfunction. These

and many other contradictory facets of the headache profile I

have come to understand are expressed and analyzed more

fully in the clinical notes of 8/17/2011 and 6/19/2012. Please

refer to them for details, as I will not reiterate them for this

report.

{¶ 49} Ultimately, Dr. Berarducci again concluded that relator was not disabled,

stating:

In short, Mr. Menz does not have an objectively measurable

neurological condition that invariably should result in the

headache that 'disables' him. He clearly has shown that he

has not for at least the past 18 months and likely will not

return to his previous position in teaching, but I still

maintain that this is for reasons lying outside my personal

expertise in the specialty of Neurology. To me it is clear that

Mr. Menz is not 'neurologically disabled'. It is obvious

to me that he will not return to work in the next 12 months

and to that extent he fits the legal definition of 'permanent'

disability from teaching. As I have logically maintained

and/or strongly implied in previous writings, Mr. Menz is

unable to return to work because of a psychobehavioral

condition that has now been defined as 'somatoform

disorder'―a condition proved by the MMPI-2-RF on 10/4/12

data only made available to me in this recent submission of

documents. After review of the new information I stand fully

by my words and conclusions as previously expressed.

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 50} 20. Various physicians from the board again reviewed relator's

application and the additional medical evidence he had submitted. Dr. Allen again

recommended that disability retirement be denied, stating:

In summary, this school principal has a long history of

chronic headache dating to age 8 and pre-dating his

employment as an educator. There has been no physical

No. 13AP-586 21

basis for his headaches despite an exhaustive diagnostic

work-up. His headaches therefore best fit into a chronic pain

syndrome. He has been able to resume employment in a

non-education-related field. I do not question that he has

headaches, however all forms of chronic pain syndromes

without physical basis are rarely grounds for permanent

disability. Also, somatoform disorders are rarely, if ever, a

basis for permanent disability. Disability can often be

counterproductive in the management of chronic pain in that

a primary goal of treatment is to assimilate the patient back

into a regular home and work environment with strategies to

manage pain within the context of these environments. In

this regard, disability can often create a barrier to optimal

pain management and can prevent optimal treatment. I

continue to recommend that disability retirement be denied.

{¶ 51} 21. Dr. Friedman recommended a psychiatric evaluation:

Given his long term very atypical course and the absence of a

clearly defined organic neurologic diagnosis the potential for

a somatoform disorder exists but at this point is only offered

as an MMPI diagnosis. I do not believe that Mr. Menz can

function on a daily basis as a school teacher and while I favor

disability, a better understanding of his mental health may

help establish his diagnosis and clarify his disability status. I

believe the issues raised in his appeal may require further

discussion, a psychiatric evaluation and/or personal

appearance by the applicant prior to a final determination.

{¶ 52} 22. Dr. Hutzler again recommended that disability retirement be denied.

{¶ 53} 23. The board again voted to deny relator's request for disability

retirement.

{¶ 54} 24. Thereafter, relator filed the instant mandamus action in this court.

Conclusions of Law:

{¶ 55} Relator asserts that a writ of mandamus is appropriate here where all the

medical evidence confirms that he is mentally or physically incapacitated from the

performance of his duty as an elementary school principal by a disabling condition that

has existed for at least 12 months from the date of his application.

{¶ 56} Relator asserts that the only dispute in this case concerns his treatment,

but not the fact that his headaches prevent him from performing his duties as a

principal.

No. 13AP-586 22

{¶ 57} It is this magistrate's decision that relator has not demonstrated that the

board abused its discretion here.

{¶ 58} The Supreme Court of Ohio has set forth three requirements which must

be met in establishing a right to a writ of mandamus: (1) that relator has a clear legal

right to the relief prayed for; (2) that respondent is under a clear legal duty to perform

the act requested; and (3) that relator has no plain and adequate remedy in the ordinary

course of the law. State ex rel. Berger v. McMonagle, 6 Ohio St.3d 28 (1983).

{¶ 59} Mandamus is the appropriate remedy where there is no statutory right of

appeal from a decision of a public retirement system. State ex rel. Pipoly v. State

Teachers Retirement Sys., 95 Ohio St.3d 327, 2002-Ohio-2219; State ex rel. Mallory v.

Pub. Emp. Retirement Bd., 82 Ohio St.3d 235 (1998); State ex rel. Van Dyke v. Pub.

Emp. Retirement Bd., 99 Ohio St.3d 430, 2003-Ohio-4123; State ex rel. Schaengold v.

Pub. Emp. Retirement Sys., 114 Ohio St.3d 147, 2007-Ohio-3760. As such, the

determination by STRS and its retirement board of whether a person is entitled to

disability retirement benefits is reviewable in mandamus because R.C. 3307.62 does not

provide for an appeal from the administrative determination. Id. Determination of

whether a member of STRS is entitled to disability retirement is fully within the

discretion of the board. See R.C. 3307.62(F) and Fair v. School Emps. Retirement Sys.,

53 Ohio St.2d 118 (1978).

{¶ 60} In order to qualify for a disability retirement, a member of STRS must

submit medical evidence establishing that they are mentally or physically incapacitated

from the performance of duty by a disabling condition, either permanent or presumed to

be permanent for 12 continuous months following the filing of an application. See R.C.

3307.62(C).

{¶ 61} In the present case, when he filed his application for disability retirement,

relator indicated that the nature of his physical/mental disability was:

The nature of my disability is complications from debilitating

migraine headaches. I experience an [average] of 20

headaches a month. The headaches rate to a severity of 9/10

more than half the time. I have been to the [emergency

room] several times for my headaches. I have been under the

care of the Director of, The Headache Center, University of

Pittsburgh Medical Center since.

No. 13AP-586 23

{¶ 62} In support of his application, relator attached a report from Dr. Kaniecki, a

neurologist. In response, STRS had relator examined by Dr. Berarducci, also a

neurologist.

{¶ 63} In his August 17, 2011, June 19, 2012, and January 7, 2013 reports, Dr.

Berarducci clearly opined that there was no physical neurological explanation for relator's

headaches. In his August 17, 2011 report, Dr. Berarducci specifically noted that relator's

treatment to date had been passive, i.e., relator has simply done what his physician's have

told him to do. Dr. Berarducci noted that relator had never addressed the deeper levels of

headache awareness nor had he progressed to a better understanding of how his

particular physical and psychobehavioral constitution permit the development of his

headaches and ultimate incapacity. As early as 2011, Dr. Berarducci inferred that simply

taking medications was not going to resolve relator's headache issue. Dr. Berarducci

specifically recommended that relator be granted a temporary disability so that he could

pursue a multidisciplinary, self-evolving treatment protocol to manage his headaches.

{¶ 64} The board seemingly followed Dr. Berarducci's advice, giving relator six

months to seek treatment. Relator did so; unfortunately, relator did not present much in

the way of medical evidence explaining what treatments were attempted in Chicago.

Relator was at the headache clinic for less than a week and it appears they tried different

medications, some counseling, and biofeedback. Relator did not pursue anything

thereafter. Needless to say, relator's condition did not improve.

{¶ 65} Dr. Berarducci examined relator again in June 2012. Dr. Berarducci again

explained that the neurological examination was normal and that no physical cause had

been identified to explain relator's unusually intractable headache syndrome.

Dr. Berarducci again opined that if the right combination of psychobehavioral measures

could be found, relator's headaches should resolve.

{¶ 66} Part of relator's argument is that he was disabled in August 2011 when

Dr. Berarducci first examined him and he was still disabled in June 2012 when

Dr. Berarducci examined him a second time. As such, relator asserts this demonstrates

that he was actually permanently incapacitated for the performance of his duties for 12

months or longer. In other words, because his condition did not improve between August

No. 13AP-586 24

2011 and June 2012, relator contends that the medical evidence clearly demonstrates that

he is entitled to a disability retirement.

{¶ 67} As noted above, relator contends that he is permanently incapacitated due

to the disabling condition of migraine headaches. However, Dr. Berarducci opined on

three occasions that relator was not incapacitated from a neurological condition. In State

ex rel. VanCleave v. School Emps. Retirement Sys., 120 Ohio St.3d 261, 2008-Ohio-5377,

the Supreme Court of Ohio stated:

[S]ubjective complaints are not conclusive of disability, and

objective medical evidence is still relevant to a determination

of the severity of the condition.

Id. at ¶ 47.

{¶ 68} The objective medical evidence presented supports Dr. Berarducci's

conclusion that relator is not disabled from a neurological condition.

{¶ 69} Furthermore, the fact that relator might be disabled due to a condition he

does not allege causes his disability, namely somatoform pain disorder, STRS is not

required to refer relator for a medical evaluation by someone in that field. In State ex

rel. Bruce v. State Teachers Retirement Bd. of Ohio, 153 Ohio App.3d 589, 2003-Ohio-

4181 (10th Dist.), the relator argued that STRS abused its discretion when it did not

have Bruce evaluated by a psychiatrist when she had indicated on her disability

application that chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia were causing her disability.

Finding that Bruce had failed to present evidence that she was incapacitated by a

psychological disorder, this court found that it was within STRS' discretion not to

appoint a psychiatrist to examine her pursuant to R.C. 3307.62(C).

{¶ 70} The magistrate recognizes that relator was and is in a predicament. He is

no longer working as a principal and he has two years from the date of his last service to

apply for disability retirement. Relator has headaches and those headaches are

debilitating. He has attempted certain treatments which have been completely

unsuccessful. From a financial standpoint, the magistrate is certain that relator and his

family are experiencing real difficulties. However, relator is still required to

demonstrate the presence of a disabling condition. The magistrate does not dispute that

relator has significant symptoms; however, Dr. Berarducci opined that relator had not

No. 13AP-586 25

presented evidence of a neurological/physical cause for his headaches. As such, the

majority of the treatment that relator has attempted has been unsuccessful. While there

is evidence that relator has undergone some counseling, there are no medical records

submitted detailing that therapy and/or treatment.

{¶ 71} Finding that the board did not abuse its discretion when it denied relator's

application for disability retirement benefits, it is this magistrate's decision that this

court should deny relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

STEPHANIE BISCA BROOKS

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign

as error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding

or legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as

a finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically

objects to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required

by Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.