Opinion

State ex rel. Moorhead v. Bd. of Ohio Hwy. Patrol Retirement Sys.

  • 2014 Ohio 2499
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Jun 10, 2014
Status
Published
On the bench
Schuster
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 32.5%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Moorhead v. Bd. of Ohio Hwy. Patrol Retirement Sys., 2014-Ohio-2499.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Shannon M. Moorhead, :

Relator, :

v. : No. 13AP-575

Board of Ohio Highway Patrol : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Retirement System and Ohio

Highway Patrol Retirement System, :

Respondents. :

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on June 10, 2014

Law Offices of Gary A. Reeve, LLC, and Gary A. Reeve, for

relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Brandon C. Duck,

for respondents.

IN MANDAMUS

ON OBJECTIONS TO THE MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

LUPER SCHUSTER, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, Shannon M. Moorhead, has filed this original action requesting this

court issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent, Ohio Highway Patrol Retirement

Board ("OHPRB"), to vacate its decision denying her application for disability retirement

and ordering OHPRB to find that she is entitled to that disability retirement.

{¶ 2} Pursuant to Civ.R. 53(C) and Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of

Appeals, this matter was referred to a magistrate of this court who examined the evidence

and issued the appended decision which included findings of fact and conclusions of law.

No. 13AP-575 2

The magistrate recommends this court deny relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

Relator has filed objections to the magistrate's decision.

{¶ 3} In her first objection, relator contends that the magistrate erred in denying

her motion for discovery. Specifically, relator asserts that because this is an original

action pursuant to Loc.R. 2(B) of the Tenth District Court of Appeals, she was entitled to

discovery that may have led to evidence demonstrating a conflict of interest between the

independent medical examiner, Marjorie C. Gallagher, M.D., and OHPRB. We disagree.

{¶ 4} Relator is not entitled to discovery because the sole issue for determination

in this mandamus action is whether OHPRB abused its discretion when it denied relator's

disability application. This court has stated that whether a retirement board "abused its

discretion in denying disability retirement benefits is limited to consideration of evidence

contained in the record." State ex rel. Davis v. School Emps. Retirement Sys., 10th Dist.

No. 08AP-214, 2008-Ohio-4719, ¶ 22, citing State ex rel. Marchiano v. School Emps.

Retirement Sys., 10th Dist. No. 07AP-486, 2008-Ohio-2798. Further, relator waived any

argument regarding a possible conflict of interest between Dr. Gallagher and OHPRB

when she failed to raise the issue in the proceedings before OHPRB. State ex rel.

Marchiano v. School Emps. Retirement Sys., 121 Ohio St.3d 139, 2009-Ohio-307, ¶ 31.

{¶ 5} Accordingly, the relator's first objection to the magistrate's decision is

overruled.

{¶ 6} In her second objection, relator asserts the magistrate erred as a matter of

fact and law when the magistrate found relator is not entitled to an order that respondent

grant her application for disability retirement benefits. Relator argues independent

physicians concluded she suffered from posttraumatic stress disorder ("PTSD"), yet Dr.

Gallagher "refused to even acknowledge the diagnosis of PTSD" and, instead, diagnosed

relator as suffering from anxiety disorder. Therefore, relator argues OHPRB should have

given no weight to Dr. Gallagher's opinion when considering relator's application.

{¶ 7} However, where there is conflicting medical evidence, a court cannot

substitute its own judgment for that of the board and find an abuse of discretion. State ex

rel. Bruce v. State Teachers Retirement Bd. of Ohio, 153 Ohio App.3d 589, 2003-Ohio-

4181, ¶ 7 (10th Dist.). An abuse of discretion connotes a board decision that is

unreasonable, arbitrary or unconscionable. Blakemore v. Blakemore, 5 Ohio St.3d 217,

No. 13AP-575 3

219 (1983). Where some evidence in the record supports the board's decision, it has not

abused its discretion. Marchiano, 2009-Ohio-307, ¶ 21.

{¶ 8} Dr. Gallagher's medical evaluation noted relator's condition and symptoms

had improved since she first returned to work following the fatal car accident in which she

was involved. Further, Dr. Gallagher found relator's symptoms, at the time of the

evaluation, did not meet the necessary criteria for PTSD nor did the symptoms interfere

with relator's ability to function. Because OHPRB relied on the medical evidence in Dr.

Gallagher's report, we agree with the magistrate's conclusion that OHPRB relied on some

medical evidence supporting a finding that relator was not entitled to disability

retirement. Accordingly, we overrule relator's second objection to the magistrate's

decision.

{¶ 9} After an examination of the magistrate's decision, an independent review of

the record pursuant to Civ.R. 53, and due consideration to relator's objections, we

overrule both of relator's objections and adopt the magistrate's findings of fact and

conclusions of law. Accordingly, we deny relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

Objections overruled; writ denied.

BROWN and O'GRADY, JJ., concur.

No. 13AP-575 4

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Shannon M. Moorhead, :

:

Relator,

:

v. No. 13AP-575

:

Board of Ohio Highway Patrol (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Retirement System and Ohio :

Highway Patrol Retirement System,

:

Respondents.

:

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

Rendered on February 26, 2014

Law Offices of Gary A. Reeve, LLC, and Gary A. Reeve, for

relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Brandon C. Duck,

for respondents.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 10} Relator, Shannon M. Moorhead, has filed this original action requesting

that this court issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent the Ohio Highway Patrol

Retirement Board ("HPRB" or "board"), to vacate its decision which denied her

application for a disability retirement and ordering the board to find that she is entitled

to that disability retirement.

No. 13AP-575 5

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 11} 1. On December 18, 2010, relator was driving in her cruiser when another

car pulled out in front of her and she was unable to stop. Relator's cruiser struck the

driver's side door and ultimately the driver died.

{¶ 12} 2. Relator has a workers' compensation claim which was originally

allowed for the following conditions: "Sprain Lumbar Region[;] Adjustment Reaction-

Mixed Emotion[;] Sprain of Ribs, Bilateral[;] Contusion of Lower Leg, Left[;] Head

Injury, Unspecified[;] Sprain Shoulder/Arm NOS, Right Shoulder[;] Sprain of Neck[;]

Sprain Elbow/Forearm NOS, Bilateral Forearm[;] Sprain of Wrist NOS, Bilateral."

{¶ 13} Ultimately, relator's workers' compensation claim would be additionally

allowed for "posttraumatic stress disorder" ("PTSD").

{¶ 14} 3. Relator returned to full duty employment as a highway patrol officer in

November 2011.

{¶ 15} 4. Her first weekend back at full duty employment, relator responded to a

fatality. In her interview with Marjorie C. Gallagher, M.D., relator indicated that she

handled that crash fairly well. Relator responded to another fatality on March 13, 2012.

Relator told Dr. Gallagher that she handled the crash fairly well but was bothered more

and had some nightmares. Relator responded to another fatality on March 20, 2012. In

her interview with Dr. Gallagher, relator indicated that she was extremely upset at the

manner in which the crash scene was handled. The decedent's body was left out in plain

sight for hours. She explained that this crash was "just like hers. The male driver had

no choice and could not do anything about it." At this time, relator began having

nightmares again visualizing the face of the lady who recently died on the face of the

man who died in the accident in which she was involved. At this time, she sought

psychological counseling with Ralph E. Skillings, Ph.D.

{¶ 16} 5. On July 6, 2012, relator filed her first application for disability benefits.

On her application, relator explained:

PTSD- Post [Traumatic] Stress Disorder. I was diagnosed

with PTSD as a result of being involved in an on-duty fatality

crash. (12/18/10). On 3/20/12, I handled a fatal crash very

similar to my own fatal crash.

No. 13AP-575 6

{¶ 17} 6. Attached to her application, relator included a document which detailed

her job duties as a highway patrol officer. Those duties included investigating non-

injury, injury, and fatal crashes.

{¶ 18} 7. Relator submitted the July 3, 2012 report of her treating physician Dr.

Skillings. According to Dr. Skillings, he expected that relator's condition would

improve, but she needed more treatment. He noted that relator stated that she cannot

investigate fatal crash events any longer. Ultimately, Dr. Skillings opined that relator

was not totally incapacitated from performing her specific job duties and

responsibilities, and that her incapacitation was not permanent.

{¶ 19} 8. Because her treating physician did not consider her disabled, her

application was not considered.

{¶ 20} 9. Relator filed her second application for disability benefits on

November 2, 2012. On her application, relator explained:

PTSD - Post [Traumatic] Stress Disorder. I was diagnosed

with PTSD as a result of being involved in an on-duty fatality

crash, which occurred on 12/18/10. On 03/20/12, I

investigated a fatal crash which was very similar to my fatal

crash, resulting in the reoccurring PTSD.

{¶ 21} 10. Relator's application was supported by the October 11, 2012 report of

Hong S. Kang, M.D. According to Dr. Kang, relator's condition was guarded/poor and

she was permanently disabled. Dr. Kang noted that stress could cause her condition to

worsen.

{¶ 22} 11. HPRB referred relator to Dr. Gallagher for an independent medical

evaluation. In her December 17, 2012 report, Dr. Gallagher provided a detailed

summary concerning the original accident in December 2010, relator's response to that

treatment, as well as the three fatal car accidents which occurred after she returned to

full duty work in November 2011. Concerning her treatment with Dr. Skillings and the

reasons she changed physicians, Dr. Gallagher summarized:

Trooper Moorhead reports that she was in treatment with

psychologist Dr. Skillings initially several days a week and

then once a week starting in 1/2011. According to Trooper

Moorhead, PTSD was officially on her BWC record in 3/2011.

Trooper Moorhead reports that she was in treatment with

Dr. Skillings once a week from 3/2012 to 7/2012 and every

No. 13AP-575 7

three weeks since 7/2012 until the end of 9/2012 when she

had stopped treatment with him. She reports that during

treatment she had gone back to the crash scene several times

a week. Trooper Moorhead admits that she had stopped

treatment with Dr. Skillings after she had felt betrayed that

he had indicated that she would be able to return to work as

a trooper at some point. According to Trooper Moorhead,

she quit therapy with Dr. Skillings because he thought that

he could get her back to work. Trooper Moorhead reports

that she had started treatment with psychiatrist Dr. Kang in

9/2012 and was seeing him every three weeks. Her next

appointment is in 5 weeks.

{¶ 23} Dr. Gallagher noted on several occasions that relator was improving. For

example, relator reported that she had gained weight; however, she began working out

and lost a significant amount of weight. Further, relator reported that she isolated

herself and was socially withdrawn, and did not socialize with friends; however, she

then indicated that she has two good friends with whom she ate lunch once a month.

Her reasons for not eating with them recently was because they had all been busy.

Further, relator reported that she and her husband socialized with another couple, she

recently drove to Mississippi to visit her parents, and traveled to Virginia over

Thanksgiving. Ultimately, in the discussion portion of her report, Dr. Gallagher stated:

Trooper Moorhead reports that she has been diagnosed with

posttraumatic stress disorder. She was involved in a fatal car

accident in 2010. She was very symptomatic following the

accident, but obtained treatment and was able to return to

work in 5/2011. Her job requires her to work car accident

scenes. From her history, she was eager to go and help other

troopers at car crash scenes after she had returned to work.

She then had to work a scene that upset her, but her

symptoms have improved quickly and have not been nearly

as severe as they had been in 2010. She does not want to

return to work as a trooper as she does not want to work car

crash scenes anymore. She wants to retire on disability.

Currently Trooper Moorhead's symptoms are mild and do

not meet the diagnostic criteria for posttraumatic stress

disorder at this time. She was able to describe the crash

scene in which she was involved and the other crash scenes

in detail without evidence of any distress or anxiety. She

admits to an improvement in her symptoms of anxiety. She

reports that she has some anxiety symptoms when she

No. 13AP-575 8

drives, but admits that she does not avoid driving and drives

every day. She has nightmares twice a month. She wants to

avoid car crash scenes, but did not when she had returned to

work after the car crash in 2010. In fact, she was eager to

help fellow troopers with other car crash scenes. No other

symptoms of posttraumatic stress disorder were elicited.

Trooper Moorhead reports difficulty with concentration, but

there was no evidence during the psychiatric evaluation or

on testing for dementia of any concentration impairment.

She also reported that she isolates and is socially withdrawn,

but objectively, from her extensive list of activities, she

socializes with friends and family. She reports that she

worries and always has. The anxiety predated her

employment as a State Highway Patrol Trooper. Trooper

Moorhead further reports some mild obsessive and

compulsive symptoms, but the symptoms are not severe

enough to meet the diagnostic criteria for Obsessive-

Compulsive Disorder. She reported that she stutters, but did

not stutter at any point during the evaluation. She reports

that she cries, but did not cry at any point during the

evaluation.

Significantly, Trooper Moorhead admits to alcohol abuse.

She reports that she has four to five drinks twice a month. A

female drinking more than two drinks is considered alcohol

abuse. In addition, she takes Valium intermittently. The

combination of alcohol and Valium can be lethal. Trooper

Moorhead admits that she had had three drinks the day prior

to the evaluation and then took Valium the day of the

evaluation.

Trooper Moorhead is in treatment with a psychiatrist. She is

being treated appropriately with Cymbalta and clonodine. It

is recommended that Valium be stopped and other safer

antianxiety medication be prescribed if necessary. Trooper

Moorhead is [sic] also been treated with Depakote. A blood

level, which she has never had, is recommended. It is further

recommended that her alcohol abuse be addressed in

treatment. Trooper Moorhead admits that she had quit

treatment with her psychologist because he thought that he

could get her back to work again. Her psychologist had been

able to help her return to work when her symptoms had been

more severe and had lasted longer. The intensive physical

therapy for three hours qd is helping significantly.

Trooper Moorhead reports an extensive list of activities that

includes driving out of town. Any psychiatric symptoms

No. 13AP-575 9

Trooper Moorhead currently has are not severe enough to

interfere with her ability to function. Given the improvement

in her psychiatric symptoms with treatment, medication, and

extensive physical therapy, her extensive list of activities,

performance on testing for dementia, and mental status

during the clinical psychiatric evaluation, it is my opinion

that Trooper Moorhead is not permanently or presumed to

be permanently disabled based on psychiatric evaluation and

is able to return to work as a trooper.

{¶ 24} 12. In a memo dated January 23, 2013, the board's medical consultant

Earl N. Metz, M.D., issued a memo for the record summarizing relator's file. Dr. Metz

stated:

Ms. [Moorhead's] file is a thick one. * * * Throughout the

record there is evidence of detailed psychological interviews

most of which conclude that the trooper has evidence of

PTSD. However, there are some discrepancies in the

opinions among her medical care givers. A psychologist, Dr.

Ralph Skillings, seems to have been the major source of

treatment during the past two years or so, yet he notes that

she is not totally disabled. A psychiatrist in Portsmouth, Dr.

Hong Kang, has declared her totally disabled.

On November 28, 2012, Trooper [Moorhead] was examined

by an independent psychiatrist, Dr. Marjorie Gallagher. Dr.

Gallagher's report contains details of Ms. [Moorhead's]

employment and her psychosocial history - she also explains

the difference between the reports by Dr. Skillings and Dr.

Kang. When Dr. Skillings reported that the trooper should be

able to return to work, she stopped seeing him and began her

psychiatric counseling with Dr. Kang. The trooper told Dr.

Gallagher that she would not return to the patrol, a job that

required her to work fatal crashes. The sum of the history

relayed to Dr. Gallagher led her to believe that Ms.

[Moorhead] had improved enough and had enough

psychological resiliency to return to work as a trooper.

Dr. Gallagher's bottom line is that Ms. [Moorhead] "…is not

totally and permanently incapacitated for duty with the Ohio

State Highway Patrol."

{¶ 25} 13. In a letter dated January 25, 2013, relator was notified that the Health,

Wellness and Disability Committee ("HWD") had voted to recommend that the board

No. 13AP-575 10

deny her disability application and she had the opportunity to file a written request for

reconsideration.

{¶ 26} 14. By letter dated February 6, 2013, relator requested that the board

reconsider. In support of her request for reconsideration, relator attached outpatient

notes from Dr. Kang dated September 27, 2012, October 10 and 31, 2012, November 27,

2012 and January 23 and February 20, 2013.

{¶ 27} 15. Dr. Metz prepared a second memo for the record, dated March 8,

2013, and indicated that he had reviewed the additional evidence relator submitted and

still indicated that disability benefits should be denied.

{¶ 28} 16. By letter dated March 29, 2013, relator was notified that the HWD

committee had again voted to recommend that the board deny her disability application.

{¶ 29} 17. By letter dated April 25, 2013, relator was notified that the board had

voted to deny her disability retirement.

{¶ 30} 18. Thereafter, relator filed the instant mandamus action in this court.

Conclusions of Law:

{¶ 31} Relator argues that the evidence is clear that she cannot return to her job

due to the diagnosis of PTSD because she will not be able to investigate any serious

traffic accidents that may involve fatalities. Relator specifically points to the reports of

Drs. Leisgang and Benson-Blankenship, which were submitted before the commission

and asserts that these reports diagnosing her with PTSD clearly establish that she

suffered from PTSD. Relator argues that the board should have rejected Dr. Gallagher's

opinion because she had concluded that relator did not have PTSD.

{¶ 32} Finding that relator misunderstands the substance and meaning of the

reports submitted to the commission and how those reports are not germane to the

issue of whether or not she is entitled to a disability retirement, as more fully explained

hereinafter, the magistrate finds that relator's request for a writ of mandamus should be

denied.

{¶ 33} Mandamus is the appropriate remedy for relator to seek relief from an

adverse determination concerning disability retirement benefits or from other

retirement decisions. See State ex rel. Pontillo v. Pub. Emp. Retirement Sys. Bd., 98

Ohio St.3d 500, 2003-Ohio-2120; State ex rel. Moss v. Ohio State Hwy. Patrol

No. 13AP-575 11

Retirement Sys., 97 Ohio St.3d 198, 2002-Ohio-5806; State ex rel. Mallory v. Pub.

Emp. Retirement Bd., 82 Ohio St.3d 235 (1998); and State ex rel. McMaster v. School

Emp. Retirement Sys., 69 Ohio St.3d 130 (1994). In order to prevail, relator must

demonstrate that: (1) she has a clear legal right to the relief requested; (2) HPRB has a

clear legal duty to provide the relief requested; and (3) relator has no plain and adequate

remedy in the ordinary course of the law. State ex rel. Gill v. School Emp. Retirement

Sys. of Ohio, 121 Ohio St.3d 567, 2009-Ohio-1358.

{¶ 34} When there is conflicting medical evidence submitted to a public

retirement system board, the court cannot substitute its judgment for that of the board

and find an abuse of discretion. State ex rel. Bruce v. State Teachers Retirement Bd. of

Ohio, 153 Ohio App.3d 589, 2003-Ohio-4181 (10th Dist.). The term abuse of discretion

connotes a board decision that is unreasonable, arbitrary or unconscionable.

Blakemore v. Blakemore, 5 Ohio St.3d 217 (1983). Where there is some evidence in the

record to support the board's decision, the board has not abused its discretion. State ex

rel. Marchiano v. School Emps. Retirement Sys., 121 Ohio St.3d 139, 2009-Ohio-307.

In State ex rel. Thomas v. Pub. Emps. Retirement Sys., 10th Dist. No. 03AP-137, 2004-

Ohio-1403, this court has stated that, "[i]n order to constitute an abuse of discretion, the

court's decision must be so grossly inconsistent with fact or logic that it displays 'not the

exercise of reason but instead passion or bias.' "

{¶ 35} As noted previously, relator's main argument is that Dr. Gallagher did not

accept that she suffered from PTSD. Because Dr. Gallagher did not accept that she has

PTSD, relator contends that her report is contrary to all the other evidence in the file.

The majority of those reports were written and presented to the commission.

{¶ 36} In workers' compensation cases, once a claimant has their claim allowed

for a certain condition, the claim is always allowed for that condition and that condition

will appear as an allowed condition on every medical report and every order issued by

the commission. However, for example, a claimant can have their claim allowed for a

broken right arm. Obviously, if properly treated, the arm will heal and it is possible that

the claimant will not have any limitations due to that allowed condition. However, the

fact that the claimant is never bothered by the broken arm does not remove that

allowance from his claim.

No. 13AP-575 12

{¶ 37} In her report, Dr. Gallagher never stated that relator had not experienced

PTSD. Dr. Gallagher stated that relator's symptoms "are mild and do not meet the

diagnostic criteria for posttraumatic stress disorder at this time." All Dr. Gallagher is

saying is that, at the time she examined her, relator was not presenting with symptoms

of PTSD. That does not mean that Dr. Gallagher did not accept that relator had those

symptoms at one time nor did Dr. Gallagher imply that relator would never suffer

symptoms of PTSD in the future. Instead, Dr. Gallagher discussed relator's current

treatment regimen, her alcohol abuse, and the medications she was taking and indicated

that certain changes would be beneficial but that PTSD did not currently render her

incapable of performing her job duties.

{¶ 38} Finding that the report of Dr. Gallagher does constitute some evidence

upon which the board could rely to find that relator was not entitled to a disability

retirement, it is this magistrate's decision that this court should deny her request for a

writ of mandamus.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

STEPHANIE BISCA BROOKS

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign

as error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding

or legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as

a finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically

objects to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required

by Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.