Opinion

State ex rel. Gen. Motors Co. v. Webster

  • 2014 Ohio 2791
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Jun 26, 2014
Status
Published
On the bench
Tyack
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 32.5%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Gen. Motors Co. v. Webster, 2014-Ohio-2791.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio ex rel. :

General Motors Company,

:

Relator,

:

v. No. 13AP-931

:

Dionicia Webster and Industrial (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Commission of Ohio, :

Respondents. :

:

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on June 26, 2014

Bugbee & Conkle, LLP, and Mark S. Barnes, for relator.

Mary Brigid Sweeney Co. LLC, and Mary Brigid Sweeney,

for respondent Dionicia Webster.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Stephen D. Plymale,

for respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

IN MANDAMUS

ON OBJECTIONS TO THE MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

TYACK, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, General Motors Company ("GM"), filed this action in mandamus,

seeking a writ to compel the Industrial Commission of Ohio to recalculate the average

weekly wage ("AWW") of Billy Webster, deceased.

{¶ 2} In accord with Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of Appeals, the case

was referred to a magistrate to conduct appropriate proceedings. The parties stipulated

No. 13AP-931 2

the pertinent evidence and filed briefs. The magistrate then issued a magistrate's

decision, appended hereto, which contains detailed findings of fact and conclusions of

law. The magistrate's decision includes a recommendation that we deny GM's request for

a writ of mandamus.

{¶ 3} GM has filed objections to the magistrate's decision. Counsel for Dionicia

Webster, Billy Webster's widow, has filed a memorandum in response. The case is now

before the court for a full, independent review.

{¶ 4} Webster died from complications associated with mesothelioma. He got

mesothelioma as a result of inhaling asbestos particles while he worked for GM. None of

this is in debate.

{¶ 5} After his death, his widow applied for benefits from the Ohio's Workers'

Compensation System. GM, a self-insured employer, has consistently tried to minimize

the money it has to pay to Webster's widow, first resisting the death benefits and then

fighting recognition of the claim all the way into common pleas court in Defiance County.

{¶ 6} GM initially failed to provide pay records for Webster, making computation

of his AWW difficult. A district hearing officer ("DHO") finally used records from the

Social Security Administration to assign AWW at the statutory maximum of $775.

{¶ 7} GM argued that it owed the widow less money because Webster had retired

from GM before he died. The information before us indicates that Webster had shortness

of breath while on the job which led to his being hospitalized. Later that month, he had

surgery which revealed the mesothelioma. He never returned to work and died less than

one year later.

{¶ 8} The commission used the date Webster's problems were diagnosed as

flowing from mesothelioma as the date to start the computation of AWW. Webster had

earned over $70,000 during the 12 months prior to diagnosis. The statutory maximum

was clearly appropriate, whether the start date for computing AWW has the date of

diagnosis or date of disability.

{¶ 9} Our magistrate has set forth more detail about why the commission orders

are correct. We overrule the objections filed on behalf of GM and adopt the magistrate's

findings of fact and conclusions of law.

No. 13AP-931 3

{¶ 10} The commission was clearly within its discretion to find his retirement was

not voluntary. The assertion that the widow should be compensated at the state

minimum is without merit.

{¶ 11} The request for a writ of mandamus is denied.

Objections overruled; writ denied.

SADLER, P.J., and O'GRADY, J., concur.

No. 13AP-931 4

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio ex rel. :

General Motors Company,

:

Relator,

:

v. No. 13AP-931

:

Dionicia Webster and Industrial (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Commission of Ohio, :

Respondents. :

:

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

Rendered on April 30, 2014

Bugbee & Conkle, LLP, and Mark S. Barnes, for relator.

Mary Brigid Sweeney Co. LLC, and Mary Brigid Sweeney,

for respondent Dionicia Webster.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Stephen D. Plymale,

for respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 12} Relator, General Motors Company, has filed this original action requesting

this court issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio

("commission") to vacate its order which calculated the average weekly wage ("AWW") of

Billy Webster ("decedent"), and ordering the commission to redetermine decedent's

AWW.

No. 13AP-931 5

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 13} 1. On April 6, 2009, while at work, decedent felt short of breath and was

taken to the emergency room. Tests performed that day revealed the following: att. 2

{¶ 14} [One] Large right side pleural effusion with near complete collapse of the

right lung.

{¶ 15} [Two] Probable pleural mass in the upper part of the right hemithorax that

measures 1.5 cm in diameter suggesting a neoplastic process.

{¶ 16} [Three] Right adrenal gland nodule measures approximately 1.7 cm in

diameter.

{¶ 17} It shows decreased attenuation suggesting a benign nonfunctioning

adenoma.

{¶ 18} [Four] Decreased attenuation lesion in the medial aspect of segment #5 of

the liver measures 1.5 cm in diameter. It cannot be fully characterized based on this study

alone. It may represent a cyst or a metastatic lesion.

{¶ 19} 2. On May 6, 2009, a biopsy confirmed the following: "[p]ositive for

malignancy. Malignant mesothelioma."

{¶ 20} 3. Decedent commenced chemotherapy on May 21, 2009 and pursued a

second course of treatment immediately thereafter. Unfortunately, chemotherapy was

ultimately terminated because the tumor progressed.

{¶ 21} 4. During the course of chemotherapy, decedent experienced fatigue,

numbness in his extremities, fevers, night sweats, joint and back pain, and shortness of

breath. Following chemotherapy, decedent experienced weight loss, decreased appetite, a

rash, sinus congestion, chronic shortness of breath, a persistent cough, joint achiness, and

swelling in his arm and right leg.

{¶ 22} 5. Decedent never returned to work and retired effective August 1, 2009.

{¶ 23} 6. Decedent died on March 19, 2010 from respiratory failure caused in

significant part by his mesothelioma.

{¶ 24} 7. On July 15, 2011, decedent's widow, Dionicia Webster ("claimant"), filed

a First Report of an Injury, Occupational Disease or Death, stating:

No. 13AP-931 6

Decedent was exposed to asbestos fibers while employed by

GM Powertrain, causing him to develop and die from

mesothelioma.

{¶ 25} 8. Relator contested the claim, and, on October 3, 2012, the matter was

heard before a district hearing officer ("DHO"). The DHO granted claimant's application

for death benefits after finding decedent had developed mesothelioma as a result of an

injurious exposure to asbestos which ultimately lead to his death on March 19, 2010. The

DHO also found that, at the time of decedent's death, claimant was wholly dependent

upon him. The DHO concluded with the following directive to relator:

Based on all of the above findings, this District Hearing

Officer finds the Widow claimant has established a

compensable death claim by a preponderance of the

evidence.

Medical, hospital and funeral expenses are ordered to be

paid in accordance with the statute and the rules of the Ohio

Bureau of Workers' Compensation and the Industrial

Commission.

The Self-Insuring Employer is hereby ordered to comply

with the above findings.

The DHO also listed the date of injury and date of death both

as March 19, 2010.

{¶ 26} 9. Relator filed an appeal and provided the following reason:

Appealing the decision of the DHO 10/3/2012, await the

hearing and decision of the SHO when scheduled.

Compensation/benefits were NOT timely paid as mandated

by R.C. 4123.511.

Additional evidence will NOT be submitted.

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 27} 10. Relator's appeal was heard before a staff hearing officer ("SHO") on

November 28, 2012. The SHO also granted claimant's application for death benefits filed

No. 13AP-931 7

July 15, 2011 and provided additional rationale. The SHO also listed the date of injury

and date of death both as March 19, 2010.

{¶ 28} 11. Relator appealed the SHO order for the following reasons:

Vacate the SHO order and disallow the claim. An evidentiary

analysis reveals the preponderance of the probative evidence

fails to establish sufficient injurious exposure to asbestos

while working for this employer to establish a causal nexus

to the death of Mr. Webster. As such, the widow-claimant

has failed to meet her burden of proof. Therefore, the claim

should be disallowed in its entirety.

Compensation/benefits were timely paid as mandated by

R.C. 4123.511.

Additional evidence will be submitted.

{¶ 29} 12. Relator's appeal was refused by order of the commission mailed

December 19, 2012. This order also listed the date of injury and date of death as

March 19, 2010.

{¶ 30} 13. Relator filed an appeal in the Defiance County Court of Common Pleas

in February 2013.

{¶ 31} 14. Claimant's counsel sent a letter to relator's counsel on March 21, 2013

because claimant had not yet received benefits to which she was entitled. Specifically,

that letter provided:

As you know I represent Mrs. Webster in her workers[']

Compensation action against your client General Motors Co.

On November 30, 2012 the Industrial Commission of Ohio

allowed her claim for death benefits. Your client's appeal was

refused by the Industrial Commission on December 19, 2012.

As of this date, Mrs. Webster has yet to receive benefits

which she has patiently been waiting to receive.

To date she is entitled to receive the $5,500.00 in funeral

costs and death benefits dating back to March 19, 2010.

Please forward the back award to my office as soon as

possible. You may send the funeral expenses directly to Mrs.

Webster * * *. I will assume that the current benefits will be

sent to her address as prescribed by law.

{¶ 32} 15. In a letter dated March 25, 2013, counsel for relator responded, stating:

No. 13AP-931 8

We are in receipt of your March 21, 2013 correspondence

regarding the payment of funeral costs and death benefits in

the above claim. Please supply us with documentation of the

funeral expenses and General Motors will comply with the

November 28, 2012 Staff Hearing Officer Order. However,

upon review of the order, the Staff Hearing Officer failed to

set forth General Motor's obligation to pay death benefits

back to any date certain according to any specified rate.

Unfortunately, unless and until the Commission orders

specific payment of compensation, General Motors is unable

to pay any death benefits.

{¶ 33} 16. In a letter dated March 26, 2013, counsel for claimant requested an

expedited hearing on the issue of payment of death benefits.

{¶ 34} 17. In response, counsel for relator replied on April 1, 2013, as follows:

We are in receipt of your March 26, 2013 correspondence in

the above claim. Please be advised we do not object to an

expedited hearing on the issue of the payment of the death

benefits. Also, please be aware General Motors has not

obstructed payment of benefits in this claim, nor does the

company have any interest in obstructing payment of

benefits. However, as a self-insured employer, General

Motors is required to comply with the orders of the

Commission and the Bureau. As you are aware, the

Commission speaks through its orders. When an order fails

to set forth with specificity the obligation of the self-insured

employer, the employer cannot be expected to infer

information the Commission or its hearing officers have

excluded from the order. In the present claim, the

Commission did not order the payment of compensation or

specify the rate of compensation.

Once the Commission sets forth an order specifying General

Motors' obligation to pay compensation benefits, General

Motors will comply with the order in accordance with the

Commission rules. As per our March 22, 2013

correspondence, a copy of which is attached, please provide

us with documentation (i.e. an invoice) for the funeral

services and we will instruct General Motors to reimburse

Ms. Webster accordingly, up to the statutory maximum of

$5,500.00.

(Emphasis sic.)

No. 13AP-931 9

{¶ 35} 18. Notice of hearing was mailed April 19, 2013. The notice included the

following:

Pursuant to Administrative Code 4121-3-13 (D) and (E) a self

insuring employer or its authorized representative is

required to submit to the IC and injured worker prior to a

hearing on contested claims the following previously unfiled

information: medical reports or consultations as provided by

the rule, the FROI or equivalent, a statement listing the

specifically allowed conditions, FWW or AWW unless set by

the IC, last payment date of compensation or medical bill

where the statute of limitations is an issue, last payment date

of medical if the issue is a dispute over entitlement of

medical benefits, or date of last compensation payment

where the issue is entitlement to compensation.

{¶ 36} 19. A hearing was held before a DHO on May 7, 2013. The DHO noted that,

despite the fact that relator had filed a notice of appeal in the Defiance County Court of

Common Pleas pursuant to R.C. 4123.512, that appeal did not stay the payment of

compensation or medical benefits under the award. Thereafter, the DHO discussed the

correspondence between claimant's counsel and relator's counsel, specifically noting

relator's explanation for why it had not yet made any payments to claimant, stating:

It is the finding of this District Hearing Officer that the Staff

Hearing Officer who conducted the hearing on 11/28/2012,

was not able to set "any specified rate", due to the

Employer's failure to comply with Ohio Administrative Code

Section 4121-3-13 (E) (3), as the Self-Insuring Employer

failed to submit, "the information used to calculate the full

weekly wage or average weekly wage, depending on which is

at issue", which said code section provides "shall be

submitted unless the full weekly wage or average weekly

wage had been previously established by a final order of the

Commission."

It is the further finding of this District Hearing Officer that

the Employer was reminded of its obligation to submit that

information, pursuant to Ohio Administrative Code Section

4121-3-13, on the face of the Notice of Hearing, which was

issued for the District Hearing Officer[']s Hearing of

10/03/2012 and the Staff Hearing Officer's hearing of

11/28/2012. That Notice of Hearing specifically stated that,

"Pursuant to Administrative Code 4121-3-13 (D) and (E), a

self-insuring employer, or its authorized representative, is

No. 13AP-931 10

required to submit to the IC and injured worker, prior to a

hearing on contested claims, the following previously unfiled

or equivalent, a statement listing the specifically allowed

conditions, FWW or AWW unless set by the IC …".

Furthermore, the Self-Insuring Employer received a similar

notice in regard to today's hearing on the issue of payment of

death benefits. Despite that language on the Notice of

Hearing for today's hearing, the Employer, once again, has

failed to submit the information necessary for calculation of

the full weekly wage and average weekly applicable to this

claim.

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 37} After finding that relator had failed to submit the information necessary for

the commission to have calculated the AWW, the DHO made a determination based upon

the best information available, records from the Social Security Administration. The

DHO ordered the payment of death benefits as follows:

Therefore, this District Hearing Officer relies upon the best

information available, which is the Social Security records

which were certified by the Division Director of the Social

Security Administration on 02/27/2010. Those records

indicate that the Injured Worker had social security earnings

for the year of 2008 totaling $71,524.71.

Therefore, it is the finding of this District Hearing Officer

that the deceased-claimant's earnings would qualify the

widow-claimant for the maximum weekly death award

payment, pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 4123.59

(B).

It is the further finding of this District Hearing Officer that

ORC Section 4123.59 provides that the benefits in case of

death shall commence as follows: "The payment as provided

in this section shall continue from the date of death of an

injured or disabled employee until the death or remarriage of

such dependent spouse." Therefore, the statement by the

employer's legal counsel that, "the Staff Hearing Officer

failed to set forth General Motor's obligation to pay death

benefits back to any date certain" is disingenuous, at best, as

the self-insuring employer[']s obligation to pay death

benefits back to "the date of death of an injured worker" is

clearly set out by the statute itself.

No. 13AP-931 11

Therefore, it is the order of this District Hearing Officer that

the Self-Insuring Employer is hereby ordered to pay death

benefits to the surviving spouse / widow-claimant, Dionicia

Webster, in the amount of $775.00 per week, commencing

from the date of death of 03/19/2010 and continuing

thereafter without suspension, pursuant to Ohio Revised

Code Section 4123.59, until the death or remarriage of such

dependent spouse, subject to the continuing jurisdiction of

the Industrial Commission, pursuant to Ohio Revised Code

Section 4123.52.

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 38} Furthermore, the DHO ordered the payment of funeral expenses, stating:

It is the further finding of this District Hearing Officer that

the widow claimant, Dionicia Webster paid the Den Herder

Funeral Home, Inc., the sum of $11,472.22 for the funeral of

deceased-claimant Billie Frank Webster.

Therefore, it the further order of this District Hearing Officer

that the Self-Insuring Employer is hereby ordered to

reimburse the widow claimant, Dionicia Webster, the sum of

$5,500.00 for the payment of funeral benefits, pursuant to

Ohio Revised Code Section 4123.66 (A).

(Emphasis sic.)

{¶ 39} As with the prior orders, this DHO order also set forth the date of injury and

date of death as March 19, 2010.

{¶ 40} 20. Relator appealed and the matter was heard before an SHO on June 27,

2013. At this time, relator argued that decedent had retired for reasons unrelated to the

allowed conditions in his claim; therefore, relator contended that death benefits should be

paid at the statewide minimum because decedent had less than $6,000 in earnings for the

year preceding his death. The SHO discussed the parties' arguments and determined that

decedent did not take a voluntary retirement, stating:

Ms. Webster's Counsel agreed with the Average Weekly

Wage setting such that the statewide maximum rate of

$775.00 applies. The Employer argued that the Death

Benefits payment should be at the statewide minimum, as

Mr. Webster had been retired for almost a year before the

No. 13AP-931 12

date of his death and had earnings of $5[,]617.56, which

would lead to an Average Weekly Wage of $108.03.

Therefore, the Self-Insuring Employer argued that the Death

Benefits should be paid at the statewide minimum rate.

The Self-Insuring Employer made argument that the date of

disability has been set at 03/19/2013 [sic]. Argument was

made that the date of injury (diagnosis) was set at

03/19/2013 [sic], therefore, there could be no disability due

to the allowed condition prior to that date. A review of the

body of the District Hearing Officer's order issued

10/20/2012 shows that the Date of Death was found to be

03/19/2013 [sic]. This order did not specifically set the Date

of Diagnosis or injury. A review of the body of the Staff

Hearing Officer's order issued 11/30/2012 shows that the

date of death was found to be 03/19/2013 [sic], but there

was no specific finding of a Date of Diagnosis or date of

disability.

Argument was made by Ms. Webster's Counsel that Mr.

Webster retired due to his terminal illness. The Self-Insuring

Employer argued that Mr. Webster retired at age 60

unrelated to this claim. Minimal information regarding the

retirement is on file. However, it is clear that the last date

worked was 04/06/2009 (Employer print out attached to

memorandum filed 06/27/2013); Mr. Webster had some

sort of medical event while at work leading to hospitalization

on 04/06/2009 (04/15/2009 office note of Dr. Oukley) [sic];

and Mr. Webster was in surgery for his cancer on

04/30/2009 (05/15/2009 chart note of Dr. Oukley).

The medical records of Dr. Oukley [sic] are found to support

the Widow Claimant's argument that Mr. Webster did not

take a voluntary retirement for reasons other than his

terminal illness. Therefore, this Staff Hearing Officer finds

disability due to the allowed condition began on 04/06/2009

based upon the records of Dr. Oukley [sic] dated 04/15/2009

and 05/14/2009.

{¶ 41} Thereafter, the SHO discussed the evidence relator had filed and also

concluded that decedent's AWW should be set at the statewide maximum, stating:

{¶ 42} O.R.C. 4123.61 currently states:

"The average weekly wage of an injured employee at the time

of the injury is the basis upon which to compute benefits.

No. 13AP-931 13

In death, permanent total disability claims, permanent

partial disability claims, and impairment of earnings claims,

the claimant's or the decedent's average weekly wage for the

year preceding the injury or the date the disability due to the

occupational disease begins is the weekly wage upon which

compensation shall be based. In ascertaining the average

weekly wage for the year previous to the injury, or the date

the disability due to the occupational disease begins any

period of unemployment due to sickness, industrial

depression, strike, lockout, or other cause beyond the

employee's control shall be eliminated."

The Average Weekly Wage is therefore found to be

appropriately based upon Mr. Webster's earnings for the

year prior to his disability which began 04/06/2009.

The Wages are * * * on file indicate earnings of $70,647.21

from 04/06/2008 through 04/05/2009. These earnings

divided by 52 weeks equals an Average Weekly Wage of

$1[,]358.60. Therefore, the appropriate Death Benefits rate

would be the statewide maximum of $776.00 per week.

Therefore, it is the order of the Staff Hearing Officer that the

Self-Insuring Employer is hereby ordered to pay death

benefits to the surviving Spouse/Widow, Dionicia Webster,

in the amount of $775.00 per week, beginning on the date of

death, 03/19/2009 [sic], and continuing thereafter without

suspension pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 4123.59,

until the death or remarriage of such dependent spouse,

subject to the continuing jurisdiction of the Industrial

Commission pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 4123.52.

{¶ 43} As with the prior orders, this SHO order also set forth the date of injury and

date of death as March 19, 2010.

{¶ 44} 21. Relator appealed and asserted that the SHO's reliance on the office

records of Dr. Gary E. Okuley, M.D., was improper because neither office note supported

the SHO's contention that decedent was disabled beginning April 6, 2009. Specifically,

relator argued:

Because the Staff Hearing Officer incorrectly found Mr.

Webster was disabled as of April 6, 2009, and because both

the District Hearing Officer order and Staff Hearing Officer

order allowing the claim set the date of injury or disability as

No. 13AP-931 14

March 19, 2010, the order setting the average weekly wage as

$775.00 is incorrect and based on both mistakes of fact and

law.

{¶ 45} 22. The matter was heard before the commission on August 20, 2013. The

commission granted relator's appeal finding that the SHO had failed to specify a date of

diagnosis and modified the SHO's to reflect that change. In all other respects the SHO's

order was affirmed. The commission ultimately concluded that death benefits should be

paid at the statewide maximum. Specifically, the commission explained:

The Commission finds, pursuant to the prior order of the

Staff Hearing Officer issued 11/30/2012, the widow-

claimant's claim is compensable. Specifically, the Staff

Hearing Officer found the widow-claimant's husband, Billie

Webster (Decedent), had contracted mesothelioma as a

result of his cumulative exposure to asbestos and asbestos

products that was substantial and extensive in nature and

occurring in the course of and arising out of his employment

with the Employer as a furnace operator over a period of

years. The Staff Hearing Officer further found the Decedent's

death had resulted from that diagnosis and occupational

exposure. However, the Commission finds in the order

issued 11/30/2012, the Staff Hearing Officer did not specify a

date of diagnosis for the occupational disease, resulting in

the Decedent's death, nor was the weekly rate specified at

which the Employer was to award death benefits.

The Commission finds the date of diagnosis for this

occupational disease-related death claim is 05/06/2009, the

date of the surgical pathology consultation report from

Dennis LeGolvan, M.D., indicating the results of the

Decedent's pleural biopsies, performed on 05/04/2009,

were positive for mesothelioma. The Commission further

finds for purposes of determining the Decedent's average

weekly wage pursuant to R.C. 4123.61 and the resulting

weekly rate of death benefits payable to the widow-claimant,

the calculation is properly based upon the Decedent's gross

earnings in the year prior to 05/06/2009. The Commission

finds the wage records on file documenting the Decedent's

gross wages during the period from 05/06/2008 through

05/06/2009, demonstrate that two-thirds of the Decedent's

average weekly wage would exceed the statewide maximum

rate of $775.00 per week for death benefits in a claim with a

date of death occurring in 2010. Accordingly, the

No. 13AP-931 15

Commission sets the weekly rate of death benefits payable to

the widow-claimant at $775.00, the statewide maximum

rate, pursuant to the formula set forth in R.C. 4123.59 and

Memo H6 of the Industrial Commission Policy Statements

and Guidelines.

{¶ 46} For the first time, the commission's order set forth decedent's date of

diagnosis as May 6, 2009 and his date of death as March 19, 2010.

{¶ 47} 23. Thereafter, relator, General Motors Company, filed the instant

mandamus action in this court.

Conclusions of Law:

{¶ 48} Relator argues that the commission abused its discretion when it changed

the nature of decedent's claim from an injury claim to an occupational disease claim and

used decedent's date of diagnosis instead of the already determined date of injury to

calculate his AWW. Relator also argues that the commission abused its discretion by

finding that decedent's retirement was involuntary and in setting his AWW at the

statewide maximum rate.

{¶ 49} For the reasons that follow, the magistrate rejects relator's arguments and

finds the commission did not abuse its discretion.

{¶ 50} The Supreme Court of Ohio has set forth three requirements which must be

met in establishing a right to a writ of mandamus: (1) that relator has a clear legal right to

the relief prayed for; (2) that respondent is under a clear legal duty to perform the act

requested; and (3) that relator has no plain and adequate remedy in the ordinary course

of the law. State ex rel. Berger v. McMonagle, 6 Ohio St.3d 28 (1983).

{¶ 51} In order for this court to issue a writ of mandamus as a remedy from a

determination of the commission, relator must show a clear legal right to the relief sought

and that the commission has a clear legal duty to provide such relief. State ex rel.

Pressley v. Indus. Comm., 11 Ohio St.2d 141 (1967). A clear legal right to a writ of

mandamus exists where the relator shows that the commission abused its discretion by

entering an order which is not supported by any evidence in the record. State ex rel.

Elliott v. Indus. Comm., 26 Ohio St.3d 76 (1986). On the other hand, where the record

contains some evidence to support the commission's findings, there has been no abuse of

No. 13AP-931 16

discretion and mandamus is not appropriate. State ex rel. Lewis v. Diamond Foundry

Co., 29 Ohio St.3d 56 (1987). Furthermore, questions of credibility and the weight to be

given evidence are clearly within the discretion of the commission as fact finder. State ex

rel. Teece v. Indus. Comm., 68 Ohio St.2d 165 (1981).

{¶ 52} Relator makes much of the fact that, at the top of the initial commission

orders, decedent's "date of injury" is set forth as March 19, 2010, the same day decedent

died. Relator asserts that the commission must have decided to treat this claim as an

injury claim and not an occupational disease claim. Such a conclusion would benefit

relator because relator wants this court to find that March 19, 2010 is the proper date the

commission must use to calculate decedent's AWW. When the March 19, 2010 date is

used, decedent's AWW is based on the approximately $6000 decedent earned in the

preceding year and would result in decedent's AWW being set at the statewide minimum

of $387.50. Instead, the commission used May 6, 2009, the date of diagnosis, to calculate

decedent's AWW and set decedent's AWW at the statewide maximum of $775.

{¶ 53} Relator appears to advance the following theories to support its assertion:

(1) the commission speaks through its orders and clearly decided to treat this as an injury

claim and not an occupational disease claim; and (2) principles akin to res judicata apply

and the commission could not change the claim from an injury claim to an occupational

disease claim. For the reasons that follow, the magistrate disagrees.

{¶ 54} First, without citing every case involving mesothelioma, the magistrate

notes that mesothelioma has consistently been considered an occupational disease. This

disease has a long latency period. The magistrate did not find any cases where it was

treated as an injury.

{¶ 55} Second, this claim is somewhat unusual. Ordinarily, the injured worker

files the claim. Here, decedent died 10 months after the date of diagnosis and never filed

a claim for benefits. Instead, because decedent had already died, his surviving spouse

(claimant) filed this claim as a death claim. As claimant's counsel points out, the

surviving spouse's death claim did not arise until decedent's death on March 19, 2010.

{¶ 56} Third, because relator failed to supply wage information at the initial

hearings, the commission did not initially set the date to be used in calculating decedent's

AWW. However, there are three dates which are clearly undisputed: (1) April 6, 2009,

No. 13AP-931 17

the day decedent left work due to symptoms caused by his yet to be diagnosed

mesothelioma and the last day he worked; (2) May 6, 2009, the day decedent's

mesothelioma was diagnosed; and (3) March 19, 2010, the day decedent died.

{¶ 57} Fourth, by finally noting the date of diagnosis on the face of its orders, the

commission did not abuse its discretion. Principles akin to res judicata do not apply since

that issue was never fully, fairly, actually, or necessarily litigated. The commission never

addressed the nature of the claim beyond the fact that it was a death claim.

{¶ 58} This court must determine whether or not the commission abused its

discretion when it set decedent's AWW at the statewide maximum. For the reasons that

follow, the magistrate finds that the commission did not abuse its discretion.

{¶ 59} R.C. 4123.59(B) provides in pertinent part:

If there are wholly dependent persons at the time of the

death, the weekly payment is sixty-six and two-thirds per

cent of the average weekly wage, but not to exceed a

maximum aggregate amount of weekly compensation which

is equal to sixty-six and two-thirds per cent of the statewide

average weekly wage as defined in division (C) of section

4123.62 of the Revised Code, and not in any event less than a

minimum amount of weekly compensation which is equal to

fifty per cent of the statewide average weekly wage as defined

in division (C) of section 4123.62 of the Revised Code,

regardless of the average weekly wage; provided however,

that if the death is due to injury received or occupational

disease first diagnosed after January 1, 1976, the weekly

payment is sixty-six and two-thirds per cent of the average

weekly wage but not to exceed a maximum aggregate amount

of weekly compensation which is equal to the statewide

average weekly wage as defined in division (C) of section

4123.62 of the Revised Code.

R.C. 4123.61 provides in pertinent part:

The average weekly wage of an injured employee at the

time of the injury or at the time disability due to the

occupational disease begins is the basis upon which to

compute benefits.

***

In death, permanent total disability claims, permanent

partial disability claims, and impairment of earnings claims,

No. 13AP-931 18

the claimant's or the decedent's average weekly wage for the

year preceding the injury or the date the disability due to

the occupational disease begins is the weekly wage

upon which compensation shall be based.

(Emphasis added.)

{¶ 60} Two issues are relevant: (1) did the commission abuse its discretion when it

used the date of diagnosis as the date upon which to calculate decedent's AWW; and (2)

did the commission abuse its discretion by finding that decedent's retirement was not

voluntary.

{¶ 61} The magistrate finds: (1) the commission did abuse its discretion by using

the date of diagnosis as the date from which to calculate decedent's AWW because R.C.

4123.61 specifically identifies the date of disability as the proper date; and (2) the

commission did not abuse its discretion by determining that decedent's retirement was an

involuntary departure and finding that decedent's date of disability was April 6, 2009.

{¶ 62} A plain reading of R.C. 4123.61 leads to one conclusion: the date of

disability is the proper date to use to calculate AWW. This court came to the same

conclusion in State ex rel. Lemke v. Brush-Wellman, 10th Dist. No. 95AP-735 (Apr. 23,

1996), when this court found the commission abused its discretion when it relied on

White v. Mayfield, 37 Ohio St.3d 11 (1988), and used the date of diagnosis as the date

from which to calculate the AWW of an injured worker whose claim was allowed for

berylliosis. Finding that White did not apply, this court stated:

[In White] the court was dealing with R.C. 4123.85 which

sets forth the statute of limitations for a workers'

compensation claim. The version of R.C. 4123.85 in effect at

that time provided as follows:

" 'In all cases of occupational disease, or death resulting from

occupational disease, claims for compensation or benefits

shall be forever barred unless, within two years after the

disability due to the disease began, or within such longer

period as does not exceed six months after diagnosis of the

occupational disease by a licensed physician or within two

years after death occurs, application is made to the industrial

commission or to the employer in the event such employer

has elected to pay compensation or benefits directly.' "

No. 13AP-931 19

The court stated that, for purposes of R.C. 4123.85, disability

due to an occupational disease shall be deemed to have

begun: (1) on the date the claimant first became aware

through medical diagnosis that he was suffering from the

disease; (2) on the date the claimant first received medical

treatment for the disease; or (3) on the date that claimant

first quit work on account of the disease, whichever is the

latest. Id. at 14. By its very language, White answered the

following question: when does the statute of limitations

begin to run on a claim for compensation based upon an

occupational disease? White does not set forth the law

applicable in interpreting the date of disability for purposes

of R.C. 4123.61. As such, the reliance of both the magistrate

and the commission on White is misplaced.

***

This court finds that the commission erred in applying the

rationale of White v. Mayfield to the facts of the present case

and abused its discretion in failing to set a "date of

disability," for purposes of awarding AWW.

(Footnote omitted.) Id. at 2, 6.

{¶ 63} As such, the commission's use of the date of diagnosis here as the date from

which to calculate decedent's AWW constitutes an abuse of discretion. The proper date is

the date of disability—the date decedent became unable to work due to the allowed

conditions in his claim. However, for the reasons that follow, no writ of mandamus is

necessary.

{¶ 64} As noted in the commission's August 20, 2013 order, the prior SHO order

from the June 27, 2013 hearing was modified, but not vacated. As such, the commission

left in place the SHO's determinations that decedent's date of disability was April 6, 2009

and that decedent's retirement was not voluntary. Relator argues that the evidence relied

upon by the SHO does not constitute some evidence. Specifically, relator contends that

the April 15, and May 15, 2009 office and chart notes of Dr. Okuley, as well as the

arguments made by claimant's counsel, do not constitute some evidence that decedent's

retirement was not voluntary.

{¶ 65} The SHO stated as follows:

No. 13AP-931 20

Minimal information regarding the retirement is on file.

However, it is clear that the last date worked was

04/06/2009 (Employer print out attached to memorandum

filed 06/27/2013); Mr. Webster had some sort of medical

event while at work leading to hospitalization on

04/06/2009 (04/15/2009 office note of Dr. Oukley) [sic];

and Mr. Webster was in surgery for his cancer on

04/30/2009 (05/15/2009 chart note of Dr. Oukley).

The medical records of Dr. Oukley [sic] are found to support

the Widow Claimant's argument that Mr. Webster did not

take a voluntary retirement for reasons other than his

terminal illness. Therefore, this Staff Hearing Officer finds

disability due to the allowed condition began on 04/06/2009

based upon the records of Dr. Oukley [sic] dated 04/15/2009

and 05/14/2009.

{¶ 66} The SHO relied on the following evidence to determine the date of

decedent's disability and find that decedent's retirement was not voluntary: (1) decedent

last worked on April 6, 2009; (2) decedent had some sort of medical event while at work

on April 6, 2009; (3) the fact that decedent was hospitalized on April 6, 2009; (4)

decedent was in surgery on April 30, 2009; and (5) decedent never returned to work. The

SHO specifically pointed to relator's memorandum filed June 27, 2013 and Dr. Okuley's

April 15, and May 15, 2009 office notes.

{¶ 67} In relying on Dr. Okuley's April 15, 2009 office note, the SHO noted that

office note indicated that decedent had a medical event on April 6, 2009 which led to his

being hospitalized. That office note provides as follows:

SUBJECTIVE: Billie is here for followup after recent

hospitalization for AICD discharge on April 6th while at

work. He had no loss of consciousness. Felt a little dizzy at

the time, but no real chest pain, or palpitations. He felt the

AICD discharge. He was admitted to the hospital for

evaluation. * * * Also had thoracentesis of about 750 mL on

April 6th during his hospitalization, but I do not have the

results back on the fluid. He saw Dr. Tita April 8th, and by

his description, it sounds like they are moving towards

possible pleurodesis in Toledo. He has followup with the

cardiologist April 22nd. Currently, he reports he feels a little

fatigued, but his shortness of breath has improved since the

thoracentesis. Denies any chest pain, he is unaware of any

palpitations, or recurrent AICD discharges.

No. 13AP-931 21

***

OBJECTIVE: * * * Lungs notable in that he still has some

diminished breath sounds in the right side. No significant

wheezing, or rhonchi.

ASSESSMENT/PLAN:

[One] Pleural effusion. He had recent thoracentesis, but I do

not have copies of the results of that. He is unaware of any

concern for a malignant effusion. He has followup with Dr.

Tita. It seems like they are working towards a possible

pleurodesis in Toledo.

[Two] AICD discharge April 6th x1. No loss of consciousness.

No real prodromal symptoms other than he felt just a little

lightheaded. I do not have the results of whether the AICD

was downloaded at that time. He does have followup with his

cardiologist April 22nd. He is to report to the emergency

room immediately for any recurrent discharges, palpitations,

chest pain, or other concerns.

{¶ 68} The SHO also discussed Dr. Okuley's May 15, 2009 chart note which

discussed his surgery and provided:

SUBJECTIVE: * * * He had lung surgery April 30, with

removal of pleural effusion, likely malignant, and pleurodesis

procedure, by description. Unfortunately, biopsies of

scattered pleural lesions seems to be consistent with

mesothelioma.

{¶ 69} These two office notes are evidence that decedent last worked for relator on

April 6, 2009 and, due to the mesothelioma, he did not return to work. In its brief, relator

points to numerous references which were made while decedent was undergoing

chemotherapy and argues that decedent was actually doing well. However, the magistrate

notes the fact that decedent was tolerating chemotherapy well is not, as relator argues,

evidence that decedent was able to return to work. Instead, the fact that the

chemotherapy was not successful and the tumor increased is evidence that the

mesothelioma did, in fact, keep decedent from returning to work with relator.

No. 13AP-931 22

{¶ 70} Relator cites two cases where injured workers developed occupational

diseases, specifically, mesothelioma and asbestosis, retired from work, later filed claims,

and ultimately died as a result of those occupational diseases. In both cases, the Supreme

Court of Ohio found that the injured workers' retirements were voluntary. Relator argues

that those cases warrant the same determination here: that decedent's retirement was

voluntary and not related to his mesothelioma. For the reasons that follow, the

magistrate disagrees.

{¶ 71} The first case is State ex rel. Thompson v. Ohio Edison Co., 85 Ohio St.3d

290 (1999). In that case, Charles Thompson retired from his job with Ohio Edison

Company on April 1, 1991. At the time, he was not experiencing any symptoms. Two

years later, on February 22, 1993, Thompson was hospitalized complaining of shortness of

breath, and, on March 8, 1993, Thompson was diagnosed with mesothelioma. Less than

three weeks later, Thompson died.

{¶ 72} Thompson's widow applied for death benefits and the commission set the

amount of death benefits at $230 per week. Thompson's widow asked the commission to

reconsider and determine Thompson's AWW by dividing his wages for the last year of

employment by 52. The commission did not and she filed a mandamus action, wherein

she argued that the rate of death benefits set by the commission was substantially unjust

and merited a departure from R.C. 4123.61's standard AWW formula because special

circumstances existed. The Supreme Court disagreed finding that Thompson had no

future compensation to lose as he had withdrawn from the labor market without evidence

of an intent to re-enter the workforce. The court found that Thompson's retirement was

voluntary and not related to his mesothelioma.

{¶ 73} The other case relator cites is State ex rel. Hiatt v. Indus. Comm., 99 Ohio

St.3d 32, 2003-Ohio-2453. James F. A. Knowles applied for a normal service retirement

in September 1985 when he was 65 years of age. Knowles' retirement was to be effective

three months later. Prior to the effective date, Knowles saw a physician complaining of

minimal respiratory difficulties. His physician diagnosed asbestosis, opined that Knowles

was 25 percent impaired, and instructed him to have yearly pulmonary tests, as well as an

annual vaccination against pneumonia and flu.

No. 13AP-931 23

{¶ 74} Four years later, in 1989, the commission allowed an occupational disease

claim for asbestosis and specifically noted that Knowles had sustained no compensable

lost time. In 1992, Knowles was still doing well. Chest x-rays taken at that time led his

physician to suspect primary bronchogenic carcinoma and further testing was

recommended; however, Knowles refused further testing because he was feeling well.

Unfortunately, Knowles died from metastatic lung cancer four years later in 1996.

{¶ 75} The commission allowed Knowles' widow the minimum death benefit

payable for the year preceding Knowles' death pursuant to R.C. 4123.59. Knowles' widow

sought an increase in the AWW asking that it be determined for the year prior to the

diagnosis of asbestosis rather than the standard AWW for the year prior to the onset of

disability. The commission disagreed citing the Thompson decision.

{¶ 76} In rejecting her arguments, the Supreme Court stated:

[Knowles' widow] generally claims that the commission

should have found that decedent's diagnosis date governed

the award of death benefits and that decedent's AWW should

be calculated based upon earnings for the year prior to that

date. This court has previously resisted, however, pegging a

claimant's disability date to the date of diagnosis, noting

instead that disability is the inability to work. State ex rel.

Preston v. Peabody Coal Co. (1984), 12 Ohio St.3d 72, 73-74,

12 OBR 63, 465 N.E.2d 433. [Knowles' widow] reluctantly

concedes—as she must—that her decedent had no legally

cognizable date of disability.

***

[Knowles' widow] seeks to distinguish Thompson by arguing

that her decedent—unlike Thompson—worked the year prior

to diagnosis. While true, it is an irrelevant distinction, since

date of diagnosis is not germane to compensation

calculation. Accordingly, [Knowles' widow]'s assertions

concerning lack of disability and character of disease merely

echo those already discussed and discarded in Thompson

and do not advance her cause.

[Knowles' widow] also claims that the commission's

calculation penalizes dependents of those with long-latency

occupational diseases by arguing the concepts of "zero

AWW" and "zero compensation" interchangeably. But zero

AWW does not translate into no compensation. R.C.

No. 13AP-931 24

4123.59(B) specifically states that dependents of those killed

by industrial causes must receive at least 50 percent of the

statewide AWW. Moreover, since the purpose of workers'

compensation benefits is to replace future earnings,

[Knowles' widow]'s pursuit of wages that her decedent long

ago voluntarily relinquished by his retirement from the labor

force for reasons unrelated to any industrial injury or

occupational disease.

(Emphasis sic.) (Footnote omitted.) Id. at ¶ 7, 11-12.

{¶ 77} In the above cases, both Thompson and Knowles retired before they

experienced any symptoms, disabling or otherwise, from the occupational diseases. In

fact, no argument was even made that their retirements were based at all on those

diseases. Here, there is some evidence in the record from which the commission could

determine that decedent went to the hospital on April 6, 2009 because he was

experiencing symptoms directly related to the mesothelioma; decedent then had surgery,

followed by chemotherapy, followed by his death 10 months after the date of diagnosis

and 11 months after he last worked. This constitutes some evidence that decedent was

disabled as of April 6, 2009 and his retirement was based in part on the mesothelioma.

As such, the magistrate finds the commission did not abuse its discretion by finding

decedent's retirement was not voluntary.

{¶ 78} While the commission improperly used the date of diagnosis to calculate

decedent's AWW, the magistrate finds that, because the date of diagnosis was one month

after the date of disability, returning the matter to the commission is unnecessary since

the AWW of decedent will remain at the statewide maximum.

{¶ 79} To the extent relator argues that the commission relied on statements made

by counsel which do not constitute some evidence upon which the commission could rely,

the magistrate notes the commission cited to the specific evidence above enumerated, that

does support the commission's determination. As such, even if the commission relied in

part on counsel's statements, the other evidence cited by the commission constitutes some

evidence supporting the commission's ultimate determination.

{¶ 80} Based on the foregoing, it is this magistrate's decision that this court should

deny relator's request for a writ of mandamus.

No. 13AP-931 25

/S/ MAGISTRATE

STEPHANIE BISCA BROOKS

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign as

error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding or

legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as a

finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically objects

to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required by Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.