Opinion

Cafaro Mgt. Co. v. Polta

  • 2012 Ohio 4558
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Sep 25, 2012
Status
Published
On the bench
Vukovich
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 55.8%

The opinion

[Cite as Cafaro Mgt. Co. v. Polta, 2012-Ohio-4558.]

STATE OF OHIO, MAHONING COUNTY

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

SEVENTH DISTRICT

CAFARO MANAGEMENT COMPANY, ) CASE NO. 11 MA 171

)

APPELLANT, )

)

VS. ) OPINION

)

MARCIE POLTA, et al., )

)

APPELLEES. )

CHARACTER OF PROCEEDINGS: Civil Appeal from Common Pleas Court,

Case No. 10CV2365.

JUDGMENT: Affirmed.

APPEARANCES:

For Appellant: Attorney Michael Wright

2445 Belmont Avenue

P.O. Box 2186

Youngstown, Ohio 44504-0186

For Appellee: Attorney Michael DeWine

Attorney General

Attorney Susan Sheffield

Assistant Attorney General

20 West Federal Street, 3rd Floor

Youngstown, Ohio 44503

JUDGES:

Hon. Joseph J. Vukovich

Hon. Gene Donofrio

Hon. Cheryl L. Waite

Dated: September 25, 2012

[Cite as Cafaro Mgt. Co. v. Polta, 2012-Ohio-4558.]

VUKOVICH, J.

{¶1} Appellant Cafaro Management Company appeals the decision of the

Mahoning County Common Pleas Court granting judgment in favor of appellees

Marcie Polta and the Ohio Department of Jobs and Family Services (ODJFS). The

issue in this case is whether the Review Commission’s conclusion that Polta was

terminated without just cause was unreasonable, unlawful and against the weight of

the evidence. For the reason expressed in depth below, given our limited standard of

review and the facts of this case, the judgment of the trial court is hereby affirmed.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

{¶2} In October 2007, Polta was hired by Cafaro as an administrative

assistant for the Sandusky Mall. In October 2008, Polta requested a medical leave of

absence due to severe migraines. She was granted Short Term Disability leave

(STD) and FMLA; the two leaves ran concurrent with each other. STD expired on

December 13, 2008 and FMLA expired on January 5, 2009. Cafaro’s handbook

requires employees to contact their supervisor every thirty days to “report on their

status and intention to return to work.” Polta claimed that she kept in contact with

Cafaro approximately every two weeks and the Hearing Officer found this testimony

believable.

{¶3} On January 26, 2009, Polta contacted her supervisor about returning to

work but indicated that she could not guarantee that she would not need intermittent

leaves. Her supervisor informed her that he could not use her if she could not

guarantee a 40 hour week.

{¶4} On February 1, 2009, she sent an email to her supervisor and the

human resources department updating them about her medical condition and asking

how she should proceed with her medical leave. On February 9, 2009, Polta was

informed that she was discharged from her employment for failing to return to work

following the exhaustion of her FMLA leave.

{¶5} Thereafter, Polta filed a claim for unemployment compensation.

03/27/09 Claimant Application for Determination of Benefits Rights. The Director

determined that she was discharged without just cause and, as such, was eligible for

-2-

benefits. 05/01/09 Determination. Cafaro appealed that decision and the Director

issued a redetermination which reversed the initial determination. 06/12/09

Redetermination.

{¶6} Polta appealed that decision and the matter was transferred to the

Review Commission. Three hearings were held before a hearing officer. The first

hearing was held on September 29, 2009. Testimony was taken from Polta and

Melanie Gemmell, Director of Human Resources. A second hearing was held on

October 28, 2009. Polta did not appear at this hearing. Additional testimony was

taken from Gemmell. A third hearing was set for November 16, 2009. This hearing

was set because a second issue of whether Polta was physically able to work was

identified by the hearing officer and the matter was scheduled for a later date to give

Polta the opportunity to respond to that issue. Polta did not attend the third hearing,

therefore, it was cancelled.

{¶7} On December 1, 2009, the Hearing Officer issued its order reversing

the Director’s redetermination; it determined that Polta was terminated without just

cause. Cafaro appealed that decision to the Review Commission.

{¶8} On May 19, 2010 the Review Commission issued its decision affirming

the Hearing Officer’s determination. It reasoned:

Ms. Gemmell testified that claimant never contacted Cafaro with

a return-to-work date after her FMLA approval letter was sent on

December 13, 2008. However, claimant presented sworn, credible

testimony that she spoke approximately every other week between

October of 2008 and January of 2009 with her supervisor, Neil Gray.

She presented sworn, credible testimony that she specifically asked

him about returning to work, and was told on January 26, 2009, that he

could not use her services if she could not guarantee that she would be

able to work a full forty-hour week. Claimant’s notification to Mr. Gray

appears to be consistent with Cafaro’s written Short Term Disability

policy, which requires that, “As soon as the employee knows the date

he or she can return to work, he or she must inform his or her

-3-

immediate supervisor of this date.” Despite having three separate

hearings in this matter, Cafaro never presented or subpoenaed Mr.

Gray to dispute claimant’s testimony about their conversations.

Neither Cafaro’s policies nor federal law required Cafaro to hold

open the claimant’s position beyond the expiration of her approved

twelve-week FMLA leave. However, physical inability to return to work

full-time at the end of an FMLA leave is not misconduct which creates

just cause for discharge. In Tzangas, Plakas and Mannos v. OBES

(1995), 73 Ohio St.3d 694, at syllabus paragraph 2, the Ohio Supreme

Court held that “[f]ault on behalf of the employee is an essential

component of a just cause termination.” Claimant’s physical inability to

work does not constitute fault on her part. Indeed, the courts have held

that “absenteeism caused by bona fide illness, reported to the

employer, is not just cause for discharge.” See, e.g., Cobbldick Buick,

Inc., v. Board of Review (April 19, 1994), Cuyahoga App. No. 47430,

unreported. Based upon the evidence presented in this matter, the

Review Commission finds that claimant was discharged by Cafaro

without just cause in connection with work.

05/19/10 Review Commission Decision.

{¶9} As to her ability to work, the Review Commission found that she was

physically able to return to work. To support this conclusion, it referenced a note

from her physician that stated as of January 2009 she was physically able to return to

work. The Review Commission further noted that in any specific week when she was

physically unable to work due to a migraine, Polta would not be eligible for benefits.

However, no such week had been identified by either party, thus it could not

conclude that she was physically unable to work.

{¶10} Cafaro appealed that decision to the Mahoning County Common Pleas

Court. Following briefing, the magistrate issued a decision affirming the Review

-4-

Commission’s determination. Cafaro objected to that decision and the ODJFS

responded to those objections.

{¶11} Following the review of the objections, the trial court adopted the

magistrate’s decision and granted judgment in favor of Polta and the ODJFS. Cafaro

timely appeals that decision.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR

{¶12} “The lower court erred when it overruled Cafaro’s objections to the

magistrate’s decision filed July 27, 2010, and affirmed the Review Commission’s May

19, 2010 decision. The Review Commission’s conclusion that Polta was terminated

without just caused [sic] was unreasonable, unlawful and against the weight of the

evidence.”

{¶13} Our standard of review in unemployment compensation cases is

limited. An appellate court may reverse a board's decision only if the decision is

unlawful, unreasonable, or against the manifest weight of the evidence. Williams v.

Ohio Dept. of Job and Family Servs., 129 Ohio St.3d 332, 951 N.E.2d 1031, 2011-

Ohio-2897, ¶20, citing Irvine v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 19

Ohio St.3d 15, 17–18, 482 N.E.2d 587 (1985). An appellate court may not make

factual findings or determine the credibility of the witnesses, but rather, is required to

make a determination as to whether the board's decision is supported by evidence on

the record. Id. The hearing officer, as the fact finder, is in the best position to judge

the credibility of the witnesses. Shaffer–Goggin v. Unemployment Compensation

Review Commission, 5th Dist. No. 03–CA–2, 2003–Ohio–6907, citing Hall v.

American Brake Shoe Co., 13 Ohio St.2d 11, 233 N.E.2d 582 (1968); Brown–

Brockmeyer Co. v. Roach, 148 Ohio St. 511, 76 N.E.2d 79 (1947).

{¶14} The Ohio Supreme Court has explained the purpose of the

Unemployment Compensation Act:

The [A]ct was intended to provide financial assistance to an

individual who had worked, was able and willing to work, but was

temporarily without employment through no fault or agreement of his

own. Irvine at 17, 19 OBR at 14, 482 N.E.2d at 589. * * *

-5-

The Act does not exist to protect employees from themselves,

but to protect them from economic forces over which they have no

control. When an employee is at fault, he is no longer the victim of

circumstances but is instead directly responsible for his own

predicament. Fault on the employee's part separates him from the

Act's intent and the Act's protection. Thus, fault is essential to the

unique chemistry of a just cause termination.

Tzangas, Plakas & Mannos v. Ohio Bur. of Emp. Servs., 73 Ohio St.3d 694, 697–

698, 653 N.E.2d 1207 (1995). See also Williams at 335-36.

{¶15} Nevertheless, the unemployment compensation statutes must be

liberally construed in favor of awarding benefits to the applicant. Clark Cty. Bd. of

Mental Retardation & Dev. Disabilities v. Griffin, 2d Dist. No.2006–CA–32, 2007–

Ohio–1674, ¶ 10, citing R.C. 4141.46; Ashwell v. Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs.,

2d Dist. No. 20522, 2005-Ohio-1928, ¶ 43.

{¶16} “Just cause” is not defined by the statute, however, the Ohio Supreme

Court has explained that it is “‘that which, to an ordinarily intelligent person, is a

justifiable reason for doing or not doing a particular act.’” Irvine at 17. The

determination whether there is just cause for discharge depends upon the factual

circumstances of each case. Warrensville Hts. v. Jennings, 58 Ohio St.3d 206, 207,

569 N.E.2d 489 (1991).

{¶17} Cafaro is of the position that there was just cause for Polta’s termination

because she abandoned her position; it explains that it was unreasonable for the

Review Commission to conclude otherwise. Cafaro asserts that she was released to

work as of January 1, 2009 but she remained absent from work for 38 days after that

and thus abandoned her position.

{¶18} The Hearing Officer, Review Commission and the Common Pleas Court

concluded that Polta did not abandon her position, but was prevented from returning.

There is support for such conclusion in the record.

{¶19} Polta’s doctor provided her with a return to work note that states that

she could return to work “as of January 2009.” However, it does not state the exact

-6-

date of return. Despite Cafaro’s insistence to the contrary, “as of January 2009” does

not necessarily mean that she was released to return to work on January 1, 2009.

Her testimony indicates that she was in contact with her supervisor every two weeks

and on January 26, 2009 she informed her supervisor that she could return to work.

09/29/09 Tr. 18-19. She explained that she had a doctor’s appointment that week. It

is not unreasonable for this testimony to be viewed as meaning she was not released

by her Doctor to work until January 26, 2009, the same day she talked to her

supervisor about returning to work.

{¶20} Furthermore, given the record it is plausible to find that it was not her

failure to return to work that caused her termination, but rather her inability to

guarantee that she could work 40 hours a week, every week. As stated above, on

January 26, 2009, Polta talked to her supervisor about returning to work. She

advised him that she would like to come back, but she could not guarantee him a 40

hour week, every week. According to Polta, when she told the supervisor she would

need to take time off when she had a migraine, he stated, “that if [she] couldn’t

guarantee him that [she] could be there 40 hours a week, every week that it would be

no benefit for him to have [her] come back at that time.” 09/29/09 Tr. 15. The

supervisor wanted a guarantee that Polta would be there every week for 40 hours

before agreeing to her return. Cafaro does not dispute that the conversation between

Polta and her supervisor occurred; it offered no evidence to the contrary. The

conversation implies that had Polta guaranteed a 40 hour work week, she could

return to work. Thus, it is plausible to conclude that Cafaro did not view her as

abandoning her job. Had Cafaro viewed her as abandoning her position, a

qualification of guaranteeing a 40 hour work week every week would not have been

placed upon her. As the magistrate aptly noted:

Cafaro placed an unreasonable condition upon Ms. Polta’s return

to work. It would be difficult for any employee to make such a

“guarantee”. Under these circumstances, Ms. Polta did not abandon

her job. She tried to return after her leave under FMLA was exhausted,

but Cafaro prevented her from returning.

-7-

07/27/11 Magistrate’s Decision.

{¶21} In further support of this conclusion is the fact that none of the letters

from Cafaro state the specific date that Polta’s FMLA leave was to terminate. In fact,

according to Polta, her supervisor indicated to her on January 26, 2009 that while he

did not know the date that her leave expired, it would be occurring soon. 09/29/09

Tr. 15. A review of the file indicates that at the time he made that statement her

leave already expired; it ended on January 5, 2009. However, he did not indicate at

that time that she had abandoned her position by failing to return. Thus, the fact that

her FMLA time had expired over two weeks prior to her discussing her return to work

with her supervisor does not support Cafaro’s position that she abandoned her

position. Rather, it has a tendency to show that Cafaro would have retained her had

she guaranteed a 40 hour work week.

{¶22} Thus, given the time line and Polta’s testimony concerning the

conversation between herself and her supervisor, it was not unreasonable for the

Hearing Officer and Review Commission to conclude that she did not abandon her

position.

{¶23} Next, Cafaro argues that the Review Commission’s conclusion that she

was terminated without just cause was against the manifest weight of the evidence.

{¶24} Appellate review of the manifest weight of the evidence in a civil case is

much more deferential to the trial court than in a criminal case. State v. Wilson, 113

Ohio St.3d 382, 865 N.E.2d 1264, 2007–Ohio–2202, ¶ 26. The civil manifest weight

of the evidence standard provides that judgments supported by some competent,

credible evidence going to all the essential elements of the case will not be reversed

by a reviewing court as being against the manifest weight of the evidence. Id. at ¶

24, citing C.E. Morris Co. v. Foley Constr. Co., 54 Ohio St.2d 279, 376 N.E.2d 578

(1978). The reviewing court is obliged to presume that the findings of the trier of fact

are correct. Id., citing Seasons Coal Co., Inc. v. Cleveland, 10 Ohio St.3d 77, 80–81,

461 N.E.2d 1273 (1984). This presumption arises in part because the fact-finder

occupies the best position to watch the witnesses and observe their demeanor,

-8-

gestures, eye movements, and voice inflections and to utilize these observations in

weighing credibility. Id. The Wilson Court concluded:

A reviewing court should not reverse a decision simply because

it holds a different opinion concerning the credibility of the witnesses

and evidence submitted before the trial court. A finding of an error in

law is a legitimate ground for reversal, but a difference of opinion on

credibility of witnesses and evidence is not.

Id.

{¶25} As discussed above, there is evidence to support the conclusion that

Polta was terminated because she could not guarantee a 40 hour work week. That

reason does not qualify as just cause for termination.

{¶26} Appellate courts have stated that “absenteeism * * * caused by a bona

fide illness or injury is not just cause for termination of an employee.” Lorain Cty. Aud.

v. Ohio Unemp. Rev. Comm., 185 Ohio App.3d 822, 2010-Ohio-37, 925 N.E.2d 1038,

¶ 9 (9th Dist.); Durgan v. Ohio Bur. of Emp. Servs., 110 Ohio App.3d 545, 550, 674

N.E.2d 1208 (9th Dist.1996) (stating a dismissal for excessive absenteeism and

tardiness may be classified as being without just cause and, therefore, eligible for

unemployment compensation under R.C. 4141.29(D)(2)(a) if the absences were the

result of a bona fide illness); Marchese Servs. v. Bradley, 3d Dist. No. 12-08-06,

2009-Ohio-2618, ¶ 27; Woodworth v. Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 8th Dist. No.

91601, 2009-Ohio-734, ¶ 6; Metal Powder Products, Inc. v. Ohio Bur. of Emp. Serv.,

69 Ohio App.3d 785, 788, 591 N.E.2d 1285 (4th Dist.1990).

{¶27} The FMLA paperwork filled out by Polta’s doctor and Polta’s testimony

established that Polta could not work when she was having a migraine. Thus, it

would be a bona fide illness for which if she missed work she could not be terminated

for just cause. Likewise, if Polta became sick for another reason, that would

constitute a bona fide illness. Thus, terminating Polta’s employment because she

could not guarantee a 40 hour work week every week when there was a doctor’s

-9-

documentation that she could not work when she was having a migraine does not

constitute just cause.

{¶28} It is noted that much of what Cafaro is disputing under this argument

and the preceding one concerns Polta’s credibility and the Hearing Officer’s choice to

believe her. As explained above, we will not second guess credibility determinations.

In this instance there is no evidence to dispute Polta’s testimony that her supervisor

told her if she could not guarantee a 40 hour week, she would be of no use to him.

Given the time line of how her termination occurred, we should not find that the

Review Commission was incorrect in determining that there was no just cause for the

termination.

{¶29} At this point it is important to distinguish between “just cause” for

discharge in the context of an unemployment case and an employer being liable for

wrongful discharge. An employer may justifiably terminate an employee without

incurring liability for wrongful discharge. However, even though there was a reason

to terminate without incurring liability for wrongful discharge, that employee still may

be entitled to receive unemployment compensation if he or she can show that the

termination was without “just cause.” See Durgan at 549 (a Ninth District decision

noting that firing for absenteeism due to illness is not due to fault and is not just

cause under the unemployment compensation system). In other words, even though

we are potentially upholding the determination that there was no “just cause” for the

termination, that decision in no way suggests that Polta was wrongfully discharged.

See Niskala v. Dir., Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Services, 9th Dist. No. 10CA0086-M,

2011-Ohio-5705, ¶ 11. Nothing in the record before us even remotely suggests a

wrongful discharge, rather it is just a termination without “just cause” for purposes of

unemployment compensation.

{¶30} Cafaro’s last arguments concern what it believes to be inconsistent

findings about Polta’s ability to work. In finding that there was no just cause for the

termination, the Review Commission indicated that a bona fide illness does not

constitute just cause; “physical inability to return to work full-time at the end of an

FMLA leave is not misconduct which creates just cause for discharge.” 05/19/10

-10-

Review Commission Decision. Then in determining whether she was able to work,

the Review Commission stated:

Claimant has submitted a note from her physician stating that

she was physically able to return to work as of January of 2009. In any

specific week where she was physically unable to work due to a

migraine, claimant would not be eligible for benefits. However, no such

specific week has been identified in this matter by either party.

Accordingly, the Review Commission finds that claimant was physically

able to work as requested by law beginning on her benefit year

beginning date of March 22, 2009.

05/19/10 Review Commission Decision.

{¶31} These are not inconsistent findings and are reasonable. First, her

termination was based on her inability to guarantee a 40 hour week when she had a

bona fide documented illness, which may cause her to miss work. As the magistrate

indicated, requiring any employee to make the “guarantee” that Cafaro was

requesting would be difficult. It would be especially difficult for one with a

documented illness. Furthermore, whether she would need to miss work in the future

is speculative at that point. It is unclear when or if she would get any more migraines

that would cause her to miss work. Thus, the magistrate determined that there was

no just cause was based on a potential physical inability to work 40 hours every

week. It was also based on her inability to guarantee, despite her illness, that she

would be able to work 40 hours every week.

{¶32} Second, the determination regarding her physical ability to work was

supported by the record. Here, the physician indicated that Polta could return to

work, but would have to miss work when she had a migraine. As the Review

Commission found, neither party indicated a specific week where she had a physical

inability to work after she had been cleared to return to work. This was partly

because she was terminated prior to being allowed to return to work. Had she been

-11-

permitted to return to work and she had a migraine that prevented her from work,

Cafaro may have been able to show an inability to work.

{¶33} Cafaro contends that the Review Commission violated the law when it

found that the inability to work was not proven by either party. Cafaro correctly

asserts that it is the applicant’s burden to establish that they are able to work.

Saulter v. Anchor Hocking Corp., 10th Dist No. 86AP-73, 1986 WL 6897 (June 17,

1986). Cafaro asserts that the Review Commission shifted the burden to Cafaro to

prove Polta could not work. A reading of the decision does not reveal such an action.

The decision clearly states that Polta provided a physician statement stating she was

able to physically return to work. Polta’s submission of the physician note provided

evidence of the ability to work. Thus, she met her burden. Although the Review

Commission did state that neither party identified a specific week where Polta was

unable to work due to a migraine, such a statement does not demonstrate an illegal

shifting of the burden. It is Polta’s burden to show an ability to work (which, as

referenced above, she did). It is not her burden to show an inability to work. If

Cafaro wanted to call into question her evidence and assertion of an ability to work, it

could have pointed to a specific week where she could not perform because of

migraines. However, as the Review Commission noted, it did not.

{¶34} For the reasons expressed above and our limited standard of review,

we find that this assignment of error lacks merit. The Common Pleas Court’s

decision to uphold the Review Commission’s decision is hereby affirmed; Polta was

terminated without just cause.

Donofrio, J., concurs.

Waite, P.J., concurs.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.