Opinion

Barbee v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance

  • 130 Ohio St. 3d 96
  • 2011 Ohio 4914
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Sep 29, 2011
Status
Published
On the bench
Cupp, O'Connor, Stratton, O'Donnell, Lanzinger, Pfeifer, Brown
Cited by
8 cases
Authority
More cited than 32.1%

The opinion

[Cite as Barbee v. Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 130 Ohio St.3d 96, 2011-Ohio-4914.]

BARBEE ET AL., APPELLEES, v. NATIONWIDE MUTUAL

INSURANCE COMPANY, APPELLANT.

[Cite as Barbee v. Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co.,

130 Ohio St.3d 96, 2011-Ohio-4914.]

Underinsured-motorist policy—Alleged conflict between insurance-contract

provisions—Exhaustion of the tortfeasor’s liability limits is a condition

precedent to an insured’s right to payment, but it is not a precondition to

filing suit by the insured against his insurer within the limitation period—

Judgment reversed.

(No. 2010-1091—Submitted May 24, 2011—Decided September 29, 2011.)

APPEAL from the Court of Appeals for Lorain County,

Nos. 09 CA 009594 and 09 CA 009596, 2010-Ohio-2016.

__________________

CUPP, J.

{¶ 1} We are asked to decide whether a provision in an automobile

insurance policy involving uninsured/underinsured-motorist coverage is

ambiguous when read in conjunction with another policy provision. The policy

provision at issue requires that an action for uninsured/underinsured-motorist

coverage be brought against the insurer within three years of the date of the

accident. Other provisions, however, require that proceeds from any other

available insurance be exhausted first and that the insured must fully comply with

all policy terms before filing suit. For the reasons that follow, we conclude that

the policy provision is unambiguous and is enforceable. The judgment of the

court of appeals is reversed, and this matter is remanded to the trial court for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

I. Facts and Procedural History

{¶ 2} On October 12, 2002, appellees, Edward Barbee, Darlene Barbee,

Thomas Barbee, and Margaret Barbee (“the Barbees”), were involved in an

automobile accident in Madison, Wisconsin.1 Edward was operating the

automobile, which was owned by Margaret. Thomas, Margaret, and Darlene

were passengers.

{¶ 3} Appellant, Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company, provided

insurance for the automobile, which included coverage for uninsured motorists.

Under the policy definitions, “uninsured motor vehicle” includes “one which is

underinsured.”2 The policy also contained the following “exhaustion provision”:

{¶ 4} “Limits and Conditions of Payment

{¶ 5} “ * * *

{¶ 6} “6. No payment will be made until the limits of all other liability

insurance and bonds that apply have been exhausted by payments.

{¶ 7} The policy also contained the following “compliance provision”:

{¶ 8} “10. SUIT AGAINST US

{¶ 9} “No lawsuit may be filed against us by anyone claiming any of the

coverages provided in this policy until the said person has fully complied with all

the terms and conditions of this policy, including but not limited to the protection

of our subrogation rights.

{¶ 10} “Subject to the preceding paragraph, under the Uninsured

Motorists coverage of this policy, any lawsuit must be filed against us:

{¶ 11} “a) within three (3) years from the date of the accident.”

1. Matthew and Harvey Barbee were also involved in the accident. They were riding in another

automobile, which was insured by Allstate Insurance Company. A separate suit was filed against

Allstate, and the cases were consolidated. Allstate has settled all claims and is not involved in this

appeal.

2. As the issue in this case arose because the tortfeasor was underinsured, in the facts, we will

refer to “underinsured-motorist coverage” and not “uninsured-motorist coverage.”

2

January Term, 2011

{¶ 12} The Barbees’ counsel had placed Nationwide on notice of potential

underinsured-motorist claims within one year of the accident but did not then file

suit.

{¶ 13} Nationwide filed suit separately against the tortfeasors to recover

the medical payments that Nationwide had paid on behalf of appellees. Then,

more than two years after the accident, the Barbees filed suit against the

tortfeasors in federal court in Wisconsin. One defendant was an estate, and the

other was the United States of America, by and through its insured, a member of

the Armed Forces.

{¶ 14} Faith C. Donley was also injured in the automobile accident. She

filed a separate action against the tortfeasors in federal court in Wisconsin, and

that suit was consolidated with the Nationwide case. Additionally, within two

years of the date of the accident, Donley filed suit against her insurer in the Lorain

County Court of Common Pleas, asserting an underinsured-motorist claim. That

action was stayed pending resolution of the actions in federal court.

{¶ 15} In Nationwide’s case, the court determined that the service

member was 30 percent liable for causing the damages in the accident, and the

estate was 70 percent liable.

{¶ 16} The Barbees’ case then proceeded to trial. Judgment was awarded

in their favor. The United States government paid 30 percent of the amounts

awarded to the Barbees, and the estate’s $75,000 policy coverage was split among

them. After this payment, outstanding amounts remained on each of the Barbees’

judgments.

{¶ 17} On January 18, 2007, more than four years after the accident, the

Barbees filed suit against Nationwide in the Lorain County Court of Common

Pleas to recover, under the policy’s underinsured-motorist coverage, the

outstanding amounts on each of their judgments. Nationwide filed a motion for

summary judgment, arguing that the Barbees’ claims were barred for failure to

3

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

bring the claims within the three-year period required by the policy’s limitation

provision, a period authorized by R.C. 3937.18(H). The trial court denied

Nationwide’s motion for summary judgment, concluding that the limitation

provision was tolled until the exhaustion provision was satisfied.

{¶ 18} Nationwide appealed the decision to the Ninth District Court of

Appeals. In affirming the denial of Nationwide’s motion for summary judgment,

the court of appeals held that the exhaustion and limitation provisions of

Nationwide’s underinsured-motorist coverage conflicted, and the conflict created

an ambiguity under the facts of the case. Barbee v. Allstate Ins. Co., Lorain App.

Nos. 09 CA 009594 and 09 CA 009596, 2010-Ohio-2016, ¶ 33. Therefore, the

Ninth District determined, the limitation provision was not enforceable against the

Barbees’ claims. It held that the trial court had correctly determined that the

Barbees did not have a claim for underinsured-motorist coverage until all other

liability insurance had been exhausted, and exhaustion did not occur in this case

until after the federal court case was concluded. Id. at ¶ 36.

{¶ 19} We accepted Nationwide’s appeal under our discretionary

jurisdiction. Barbee v. Allstate Ins. Co., 126 Ohio St.3d 1581, 2010-Ohio-4542,

934 N.E.2d 354. Nationwide presents the following proposition of law: “A

policy provision that requires uninsured/underinsured actions to be brought

against the insurer within three years from the date of the accident is

unambiguous and enforceable even when read in conjunction with the exhaustion

provision and the provision requiring the insured to fully comply with the terms

of the policy before filing suit.”

II. Relevant Statute

{¶ 20} R.C. Chapter 3937 sets forth the laws governing motor-vehicle

insurance. R.C. 3937.18 specifically deals with uninsured- and underinsured-

motorist coverage. In subsection (H), the General Assembly authorizes a three-

4

January Term, 2011

year limitation period within which an insured must bring suit against his insurer

for underinsured-motorist coverage:

{¶ 21} “Any policy of insurance that includes uninsured motorist

coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, or both uninsured and underinsured

motorist coverages may include terms and conditions requiring that, so long as the

insured has not prejudiced the insurer's subrogation rights, each claim or suit for

uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, or both uninsured

and underinsured motorist coverages be made or brought within three years after

the date of the accident causing the bodily injury, sickness, disease, or death, or

within one year after the liability insurer for the owner or operator of the motor

vehicle liable to the insured has become the subject of insolvency proceedings in

any state, whichever is later.”

III. Analysis

{¶ 22} Our analysis begins with some well-settled principles. “ ‘[T]he

legal basis for recovery under the uninsured motorist coverage of an insurance

policy is contract and not tort.’ ” Kraly v. Vannewkirk (1994), 69 Ohio St.3d 627,

632, 635 N.E.2d 323, quoting Motorists Mut. Ins. Co. v. Tomanski (1971), 27

Ohio St.2d 222, 222-223, 56 O.O.2d 133, 271 N.E.2d 924.

{¶ 23} "In Ohio, the statutory limitation period for a written contract is 15

years. R.C. 2305.06. However, the parties to a contract may validly limit the time

for bringing an action on a contract to a period that is shorter than the general

statute of limitations for a written contract, as long as the shorter period is a

reasonable one.” Sarmiento v. Grange Mut. Cas. Co., 106 Ohio St.3d 403, 2005-

Ohio-5410, 835 N.E.2d 692, ¶ 11, citing Miller v. Progressive Cas. Ins. Co.

(1994), 69 Ohio St.3d 619, 624, 635 N.E.2d 317, and Colvin v. Globe Am. Cas.

Co. (1982), 69 Ohio St.2d 293, 295, 23 O.O.3d 281, 432 N.E.2d 167, overruled

on other grounds by Miller. “A contract provision that reduces the time provided

5

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

in the statute of limitations must be in words that are clear and unambiguous to

the policyholder.” Id., citing Colvin at 296.

{¶ 24} The parties do not dispute that the policy clearly and

unambiguously limits to three years the time in which the Barbees may sue

Nationwide for underinsured-motorist benefits and complies with R.C.

3937.18(H). Instead, the dispute is about when the three-year period began to

run.

{¶ 25} Nationwide argues that the exhaustion, compliance, and limitation

provisions unambiguously declare that the Barbees’ causes of action for

underinsured-motorist benefits arise on the date of the accident. Moreover, the

provisions, when read together, plainly require an insured to (1) fully comply

with the terms and conditions of the policy, (2) which include, but are not limited

to, protecting Nationwide’s subrogation rights, and (3) file suit within three years

of the date of the accident.

{¶ 26} The Barbees contend that reading the exhaustion, compliance, and

limitation provisions in concert dictates that an insured’s underinsured-motorist

claim does not arise until all other liability-insurance limits are exhausted. They

assert that under the factual circumstances of this case, the claim accrued three

years after the conclusion of the federal litigation. Only at the end of the federal

litigation, the Barbees argue, did they know that they had an underinsured-

motorist claim.

{¶ 27} Nationwide, however, contends that the exhaustion provision

limits and conditions the timing of its payments to its insured but does not impose

any duties or responsibilities on the insureds. In other words, the exhaustion

provision is not a term or condition of the policy that must be satisfied prior to

filing suit against Nationwide for determining coverage.

{¶ 28} Accepting that Nationwide’s interpretation is plausible, the

Barbees nevertheless assert that their construction of the provisions, when read in

6

January Term, 2011

pari materia, is as reasonable as Nationwide’s. And when two plausible

interpretations of policy language exist, they say, the uncertainty must be resolved

in favor of the insured. See Neal-Pettit v. Lahman, 125 Ohio St.3d 327, 2010-

Ohio-1829, 928 N.E.2d 421, ¶ 17, citing Buckeye Union Ins. Co. v. Price (1974),

39 Ohio St.2d 95, 68 O.O.2d 56, 313 N.E.2d 844, syllabus. Alternatively, the

Barbees assert that the cases upon which Nationwide relies are all distinguishable,

and they argue that Kraly, 69 Ohio St.3d 627, 635 N.E.2d 323, is the appropriate

precedent.

{¶ 29} We commence our analysis by first examining whether Kraly is

dispositive. The Kralys’ contract of insurance with State Farm Mutual

Automobile Insurance Company provided uninsured/underinsured-motorist

coverage. The policy required that a claim for uninsured-motorist coverage be

brought within two years of the date of the accident. Id. at 629.

{¶ 30} The Kralys were injured in an automobile accident by an insured

tortfeasor. Id. at 629-630. The Kralys filed suit against the tortfeasor within two

years of the date of the accident. Id. at 630. However, shortly before the end of

the policy’s two-year limitation period, the Kralys were notified that the

tortfeasor's insurance carrier was insolvent. Id. Consequently, the Kralys

amended their complaint, pursuant to Civ.R. 15(C) (“relation back of

amendments”), to include a claim against State Farm for uninsured-motorist

coverage. But the amendment did not occur until after the expiration of the two-

year limitation period.

{¶ 31} The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of State Farm,

holding that the Kralys' claim for uninsured-motorist benefits was not commenced

within two years of the date of the accident. Reversing, this court held that a

contractual period of limitations is per se unreasonable if the time allotted for

filing suit “expires before or shortly after the accrual of a right of action for

[uninsured-motorist] coverage.” Kraly, 69 Ohio St.3d 627, 635 N.E.2d 323,

7

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

paragraph four of the syllabus. The court reasoned that the Kralys' claim for

uninsured-motorist benefits did not accrue until the date they received notice that

the tortfeasor's insurance company was insolvent. Id. at 634. Because only three

and one-half months remained before the end of the contract-limitations period

when the Kralys received the insolvency notice, the court determined that the time

remaining for the Kralys to bring a claim for uninsured-motorist coverage was

unreasonable. Id. at 635.

{¶ 32} Since Kraly, however, this court has repeatedly distinguished its

holding on the facts. In Ross v. Farmers Ins. Group. of Cos (1998), 82 Ohio St.3d

281, 695 N.E.2d 732, Farmers argued, just as the Barbees do here, “that [the

Rosses’] claims for underinsured motorist coverage did not accrue until they had

settled with the tortfeasor, thereby exhausting the tortfeasor’s available liability

coverage.” Id. at 285. Farmers relied on Kraly in support of its argument. Id.

{¶ 33} We found Farmers’ argument unpersuasive and held that Kraly

was “clearly distinguishable.” We stated, “Kraly unarguably involved a unique

factual situation, and this court accordingly fashioned a remedy based upon

concepts of fairness and public policy. * * * An automobile liability insurance

policy will typically require exhaustion of the proceeds of a tortfeasor's policy

before the right to payment of underinsured motorist benefits will occur.

However, the date that exhaustion of the tortfeasor's liability limits occurs is not

determinative of the applicable law to a claim for underinsured motorist

coverage.” (Emphasis sic.) Id. at 287.

{¶ 34} We also distinguished Kraly in Angel v. Reed, 119 Ohio St.3d 73,

2008-Ohio-3193, 891 N.E.2d 1179. Teresa Angel was in an automobile accident

with Eric Reed. The police report indicated that Reed was insured. Angel filed

suit against Reed, and although she repeatedly tried to serve him with the

complaint, she was unsuccessful. After the time for asserting an uninsured-

8

January Term, 2011

motorist claim with Angel’s insurance carrier had expired, Angel learned that

Reed had not had a valid automobile-insurance policy.

{¶ 35} Angel argued to this court that Kraly controlled the outcome of her

case and therefore the period for filing suit did not begin to run until she

discovered that Reed had been uninsured. Rejecting this argument, we held:

{¶ 36} “In that unique factual situation [of Kraly], we differentiated

between the standard situation of an uninsured-motorist claim involving a

tortfeasor with no insurance at the time of the accident and the situation in Kraly,

in which an insured motorist subsequently became uninsured, for all practical

purposes, due to the insurer's insolvency.

{¶ 37} “Unlike Kraly, this case presents a standard uninsured-motorist

claim in which the tortfeasor was uninsured at the time of the accident. No

subsequent event rendered Reed uninsured; he already was uninsured.

Consistency with precedent requires the application of the unambiguous language

in the Allstate policy. Appellee failed to make her uninsured-motorist claim

within the limitations period designated in the Allstate policy.” Id. at ¶ 18-19.

{¶ 38} The Barbees’ reliance on Kraly is misplaced, just as it was in Ross

and Angel, because the rationale of Kraly is not applicable here. In Kraly, a

threshold question was the applicability of Civ.R. 15(C), a matter that is not

implicated here. Similar to Angel, there was no event in the present case that

changed the status of the estate’s coverage. The limits of the estate’s policy,

$75,000, remained the same from the time of the accident through the

announcement of the judgment by the federal court. We have repeatedly

emphasized that Kraly is limited to the unique factual circumstances of that

case—in which the insured tortfeasor was rendered uninsured due to the

insolvency of his insurance carrier shortly before the claimant’s own policy’s time

period for filing an uninsured-motorist claim was to expire. Moreover, we note

that after Kraly, the General Assembly enacted the current version of R.C.

9

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

3937.18(H), effective October 31, 2001, authorizing a special time frame for

bringing an uninsured/underinsured-motorist claim against an insolvent insurance

carrier. Am.Sub.S.B. No. 97, 149 Ohio Laws, Part I, 779, 784, 791.

{¶ 39} However, as explained in Ross, an insured’s right to payment of

the underinsured-motorist benefits only upon exhaustion of the tortfeasor’s policy

is distinct from the accrual of the claim itself to underinsured-motorist benefits.

“An automobile liability insurance policy will typically require exhaustion of the

proceeds of a tortfeasor's policy before the right to payment [emphasis sic] of

underinsured motorist benefits will occur. However, the date that exhaustion of

the tortfeasor's liability limits occurs is not determinative of the applicable law to

a claim [emphasis added] for underinsured motorist coverage.” Ross, 82 Ohio

St.3d at 287, 695 N.E.2d 732.

{¶ 40} In the case at bar, Nationwide’s exhaustion provision states, “No

payment will be made until the limits of all other liability insurance and bonds

that apply have been exhausted by payments.” The plain meaning is that the

exhaustion of a tortfeasor’s limits of liability is a condition that must be satisfied

before an insured has a right to receive payment of underinsured-motorist benefits

from his own insurer. It does not, however, impose exhaustion of the tortfeasor’s

insurance as a condition that must be satisfied before an insured can file suit

against his insurer to establish his claim under the policy for underinsured-

motorist benefits.

{¶ 41} Because the exhaustion clause does not affect when the insured

may commence suit against his insurer for determination of underinsured-motorist

benefits, no conflict exists among the exhaustion, compliance, and limitation

provisions of the Barbees’ policy with Nationwide so that an ambiguity is created.

The plain meaning of the policy provisions is that an insured must file the action

within three years of the date of the accident and, within that three-year period,

fully comply with the terms and conditions of the policy, including, but not

10

January Term, 2011

limited to, protecting the insured’s subrogation rights. Failure to fully comply

with the terms and conditions of the policy and/or to file suit within three years of

the date of the accident will bar the underinsured-motorist claim. The provision

requiring exhaustion of all other liability insurance and bonds before payment of

an underinsured-motorist claim provides only for the order, timing, and amount of

payments under the underinsured-motorist coverage of the insured’s policy and

does not establish a condition precedent to filing an action to claim such benefits.

{¶ 42} Additional support for this conclusion is found in the following

language of R.C. 3937.18(H): “Any policy of insurance * * * may * * * require[ ]

that * * * each claim or suit for * * * underinsured motorist coverage * * * be

made or brought within three years after the date of the accident * * * .”

(Emphasis added.) The language “date of the accident” was chosen by the

General Assembly after our decision in Ross. The General Assembly was aware

that underinsured-motorist-coverage provisions routinely require exhaustion of

the tortfeasor’s limits of liability. If the General Assembly had wanted to run the

three-year period from the date that liability limits are exhausted, rather than from

the date of the accident, it could easily have drafted the statute to reflect this

intention. It did not.

{¶ 43} Finally, the Barbees argue that unless this court holds that

exhaustion of a tortfeasor’s liability limits is a condition that must occur before an

insured’s claim accrues, there will be a flood of unnecessary cases onto the

dockets of the courts.

{¶ 44} It appears, however, that filing within the three-year policy period

from the date of the accident to preserve an insured’s underinsured-motorist claim

is an existing practice. Donley, for example, filed an underinsured-motorist claim

against her insurer in Ohio before the federal suits were concluded. The Ohio

trial court stayed the case pending the resolution of the federal suits. In many

cases, counsel will likely be able to learn about a party’s coverage through

11

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

discovery. Counsel’s knowledge of the extent of injuries and damages sustained

by the claimant will further determine whether an action for underinsured-

motorist coverage must be asserted to preserve the policyholder’s underinsured-

motorist-coverage rights. And because the trial court can stay proceeding on the

underinsured-motorist claim until the claims against the tortfeasor are resolved,

there is little extra burden on the court’s docket in preserving the insured’s claim

for underinsured-motorist coverage in this manner.

IV. Conclusion

{¶ 45} A provision in an automobile insurance policy requiring an action

for uninsured/underinsured-motorist coverage to be brought against the insurer by

the policyholder within three years of the date of the accident is unambiguous and

enforceable. The provision does not conflict with coexisting policy provisions

that require the insured to fully comply with the policy terms before filing suit and

that require the tortfeasor’s insurance assets to be exhausted before payment by

the policyholder’s own insurer. Although exhaustion of the tortfeasor’s liability

limits is a condition precedent to an insured’s right to payment, it is not a

precondition to filing suit by the insured against his insurer within the limitation

period.

{¶ 46} Accordingly, we reverse the judgment of the court of appeals that

the three-year limitation provision was not enforceable because the Barbees’

claim for underinsured-motorist coverage did not arise until all other liability

insurance was exhausted. This cause is remanded to the trial court for further

proceedings consistent with our decision herein.

Judgment reversed

and cause remanded.

O’CONNOR, C.J., and LUNDBERG STRATTON, O’DONNELL, and

LANZINGER, JJ., concur.

PFEIFER and MCGEE BROWN, JJ., dissent.

12

January Term, 2011

_________________

PFEIFER, J., dissenting.

{¶ 47} Insurance companies are extremely resourceful at collecting

premiums and exceedingly reluctant to pay claims—even when an accident is

known to them and the claim is meritorious. Today, this court aids and abets

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company in avoiding payment of one relatively

modest claim while opening all insurance companies up to massive ongoing legal

costs. It’s all so unnecessary.

I

{¶ 48} The Barbees were injured in an automobile accident. Some were

covered by insurance policies from Allstate, which has now settled all claims, and

others were covered by Nationwide. Among the various misfortunes to befall the

Barbees is that one of the people who caused the accident was an employee of the

federal government. This circumstance caused the Barbees to file suit in federal

court in Wisconsin, which—well, the majority opinion has ably recited the facts.

Suffice it to say, the Barbees did not learn that they had an underinsured-motorist

claim until almost three years after the accident. When the suit was filed,

Nationwide was quick to point out that it could no longer be sued, based on the

three-year limitations period in its insurance policy. Never mind that Nationwide

had collected premiums for underinsured-motorist coverage, that it knew about

the accident (having paid medical claims), that its insureds had suffered grievous

injuries, or that it had written a policy that appeared to require the insured to

establish that it needed underinsured-motorist coverage before asking for it.

There was an opportunity to avoid coverage, and Nationwide snatched it.

{¶ 49} The insurance policy unequivocally contains a provision that states

that Nationwide cannot be sued more than three years after the accident.

Although the three-year limitation period is unambiguous, it is much less clear,

13

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

given other provisions in the policy and the circumstances of this case, when the

three years should start to run.

{¶ 50} The policy contains a compliance clause, which provides that suit

cannot be filed unless all provisions of the policy have been complied with.

Among the provisions to be complied with is an exhaustion provision, which

states that Nationwide is not required to pay until the Barbees have exhausted all

other sources of payment. Nationwide, not unreasonably, states that the

exhaustion provision does not prohibit the insured from filing suit; it merely

allows the insurance company to defer payment. The Barbees, not unreasonably,

assert that they shouldn’t be required to file suit to collect something that they

might not be entitled to. If the Wisconsin lawsuit had gone differently—if, for

example, the federal employee had been found 51 percent liable, instead of 30

percent liable—then all damages would have been paid by the federal

government, and no suit for underinsured-motorist coverage would have been

warranted.

{¶ 51} At a minimum, I consider the interplay of the various insurance-

policy provisions ambiguous. Nationwide’s argument makes sense, from a

certain perspective, and so does the Barbees’. In such a situation, this court has

long deferred to a venerable principle: “Language in a contract of insurance

reasonably susceptible of more than one meaning will be construed liberally in

favor of the insured and strictly against the insurer.” Faruque v. Provident Life &

Acc. Ins. Co. (1987), 31 Ohio St.3d 34, 31 OBR 83, 508 N.E.2d 949, syllabus.

Recently, citing Buckeye Union Ins. Co. v. Price (1974), 39 Ohio St.2d 95, 68

O.O.2d 56, 313 N.E.2d 844, we stated that “insofar as the parties have offered

their own separate interpretations of the language of the policy, both of them

plausible, we must resolve any uncertainty in favor of the insured.” Neal-Pettit v.

Lahman, 125 Ohio St.3d 327, 2010-Ohio-1829, 928 N.E.2d 421, ¶ 17.

14

January Term, 2011

{¶ 52} Nationwide and this court see no ambiguity. To them, the issue is

clear: the Barbees should have filed suit for underinsured-motorist coverage even

though they did not know whether they would be underinsured. Nationwide and

this court point to another person injured in the same accident, who filed for

underinsured-motorist coverage before knowing whether she was entitled to it.

This observation seems an odd way to determine that a policy is unambiguous: to

point to someone who acted differently. In fact, this dichotomy actually seems

like proof of how ambiguous the policy is. One party did one thing, another party

did something else. Two lower courts read the policy language and decided that

the policy is ambiguous. The seven justices on this court read the policy language

and, although the court is divided, decide that the policy is not ambiguous. Such

circumstances—different people, all schooled in the law and the language of

insurance policies, reading the same policy language and reaching different

conclusions—amply illustrate the very definition of ambiguity.

II

{¶ 53} Unfortunately, this case has far-reaching ramifications.

Ultimately, Nationwide and this court have determined, as a matter of public

policy, that it is better for insureds to file suit for underinsured-motorist coverage

in all circumstances than to file only when underinsured status is known.

Nationwide and this court have concluded that the trial court can simply stay the

suit for underinsured-motorist coverage until after damages are assessed and it

can be determined whether underinsured-motorist coverage is applicable. Never

mind the waste of time and effort for everyone involved. Apparently, the court’s

time is of no consequence. A far better practice would be to toll the limitations

period relevant to an underinsured-motorist claim until it is known whether that

coverage is needed. See Kraly v. Vannewkirk (1994), 69 Ohio St.3d 627, 635

N.E.2d 323, paragraph three of the syllabus.

15

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶ 54} This case is a minor win for Nationwide, which avoids paying

several thousand dollars on an otherwise meritorious claim. This case is a

significant loss for the Barbees, all of whom were physically injured and who

aren’t able to collect the full extent of their damages from the tortfeasor or—even

though they purposely purchased underinsured-motorist coverage for just such an

eventuality—from their insurance company. And this case is an unmitigated boon

for insurance-company lawyers, whose jobs are now a bit more secure. They will

now be required to answer, however perfunctorily, complaints for underinsured-

motorist coverage in almost every motor-vehicle accident that occurs in Ohio.

According to the Ohio Department of Public Safety, in 2009, there were 298,646

motor-vehicle accidents in Ohio. http://www.publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/

2009CrashFacts.pdf. I am reminded of a Scottish proverb: penny wise and pound

foolish. See Edward Topsell, The Historie of Foure-footed Beastes (1607).

III

{¶ 55} I conclude that the interplay of the various insurance-policy

provisions in this case is ambiguous, even though none of the provisions are

ambiguous when read separately. As this court has always done, I would resolve

the ambiguity in favor of the insured, as the trial court and the court of appeals

properly did. I would affirm the decision of the court of appeals. I dissent.

__________________

Chamberlain Law Firm Co., L.P.A., and Henry W. Chamberlain; and Paul

W. Flowers Co., L.P.A., and Paul W. Flowers, for appellees.

Joyce V. Kimbler, for appellant.

Elk & Elk Co., L.P.A., Peter D. Traska, and Ryan M. Harrell, urging

affirmance for amicus curiae, Ohio Association for Justice.

___________________

16

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.