Opinion

Benavides v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board & Specialty Risk Services

  • 227 Cal. App. 4th 1496
  • 174 Cal. Rptr. 3d 589
  • 79 Cal. Comp. Cases 483
  • 2014 Cal. App. LEXIS 634
  • 2014 WL 3555311
Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jul 18, 2014
Status
Published
Author
Kitching
On the bench
Kitching
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 31.9%

The opinion

7/18/14 Opn after rehearing

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION THREE

LEOPOLDO BENAVIDES, B251487

Petitioner, (W.C.A.B. No. ADJ4322447)

v.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS

BOARD et al.,

Respondents.

PROCEEDING to review a decision of the Workers’ Compensation Appeals

Board. Annulled and remanded with directions.

Law Offices of Daniel Anaya and Daniel Anaya for Petitioner.

No appearance by Respondent workers’ Compensation Appeals Board.

Graves & Bourassa and James R. Beckman for Respondent Specialty Risk

Services.

_____________________

INTRODUCTION

Leopoldo Benavides and his employer’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier

agreed in a stipulated award that Benavides was injured in the course and scope of his

employment leaving him 51 percent permanently disabled.

Following a timely petition to reopen, the workers’ compensation judge (WCJ)

found Benavides to be 72 percent permanently disabled, based on a report prepared by

the agreed medical evaluator (AME) subsequent to entry of the stipulated award. The

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (appeals board), on a two-to-one vote, rescinded

the disability rating. The majority concluded there was not good cause to reopen the case

because the AME’s new report relied on an abnormal electromyography (EMG) test that

was performed before the stipulated judgment was entered, but which the AME had

failed to review.

We granted Benavides’s petition for a writ of review. We conclude there was

good cause to reopen the case and therefore annul the decision of the appeals board and

remand with directions to reinstate the WCJ’s award of a 72 percent disability rating.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Benavides worked as a roofer. On February 7, 2005, while working on an angled

roof, he lost his footing and fell a distance of about 12 feet. The fall fractured his right

ankle and injured his back. Paramedics were summoned, and Benavides was transported

to the hospital by ambulance.

On April 12, 2007, the AME, orthopedic surgeon Roger S. Sohn, M.D., examined

Benavides and issued a report. Dr. Sohn found Benavides’s lumbar spine had a

compression fracture and his right ankle had residual weakness. Based on the spine

injury, Dr. Sohn applied a category IV diagnosis-related estimate (DRE), which

translated to a 21 percent whole person impairment for Benavides’s spine.

2

On May 9, 2008, Benavides was seen for an EMG evaluation of the bilateral lower

extremities. At the time of the examination, Benavides had complained of radiating back

and hip pain, weakness in the arms and legs, and difficulty walking due to pain. The

EMG produced an “Abnormal Study,” and findings “consistent with chronic left L5

radiculopathy”—nerve pain and weakness in the spine. The EMG found no evidence of

“active lumbar radiculopathy . . . in the bilateral lower extremities” or “entrapment

neuropathy . . . at any level in bilateral extremities.”

On July 23, 2008, a stipulated award was entered reflecting the parties’ agreement

that Benavides’s injury had left him 51 percent permanently disabled.

On February 8, 2010, Benavides filed a petition to reopen, alleging his condition

had worsened and that his disability exceeded the rating provided by the July 23, 2008

stipulated award. On April 27, 2011, the WCJ granted Benavides’s petition.

Dr. Sohn evaluated Benavides again on August 20, 2010. In his report, Dr. Sohn

took note of the May 9, 2008 EMG findings, but he did not comment on the evaluation or

attach any significance to its findings. The report stated Benavides had sustained another

work-related injury on May 16, 2008, when he fell off a ladder and broke his right femur.

Dr. Sohn concluded Benavides’ condition was unchanged “with respect to his prior

[February 7, 2005] injury.”

Dr. Sohn examined Benavides again on December 28, 2010, and issued a new

report increasing Benavides’s whole person impairment rating to 30 percent for the spine.

This time, Dr. Sohn opined that Benavides had impairment secondary to the fractured

femur and “increasing impairment” of the spine. In a subsequent deposition, Dr. Sohn

explained that he changed his opinion based on the May 9, 2008 EMG finding, which he

stated “automatically boost[ed]” Benavides’s DRE to a category V under the American

Medical Association guidelines. Under further questioning, Dr. Sohn acknowledged that

the EMG finding confirmed the decline in Benavides’s condition had occurred before the

stipulated award was entered on July 23, 2008.

The case proceeded to trial on July 9, 2012. The WCJ issued a decision finding

that Benavides had not sustained a new and further disability following that award.

3

Benavides filed a petition for reconsideration and the WCJ vacated his initial

finding and decision. In his new findings and decision, the WCJ explained that Dr. Sohn

now rated Benavides as more disabled than the July 23, 2008 stipulated award reflected,

and Benavides should therefore be rated as 72 percent permanently disabled.

A two-to-one majority of the appeals board disagreed. The majority found that

Benavides had not sustained a “new and further disability” as required under Labor

Code1 section 5410, because the decline in Benavides’s condition occurred before entry

of the award. The majority also concluded that “good cause” to reopen the case under

section 5803 was not established, because there was nothing “in the record to suggest that

[Benavides] was unable to send the EMG study to Dr. Sohn before the award was

issued.” In that regard, the majority noted that Benavides had not shown why the new

evidence could not have been discovered and produced at a hearing held prior to the July

23, 2008 award.

The dissent focused on the fact that Dr. Sohn had written his pre-award report of

April 12, 2007 without requesting an EMG. Addressing the majority’s good cause

determination, the dissent explained that, when the EMG was performed, “apparently at

the request of one of [Benavides’s] treating physicians,” “[Dr. Sohn] had already

completed his reporting, so the parties had no reason to believe that he needed any

additional information.” Setting aside the parties’ understandable conduct, the dissent

observed that Dr. Sohn “should have requested an EMG and waited for the results before

expressing an opinion on spinal impairment.” Because Dr. Sohn failed to do so,

however, “[t]he WCJ approved the parties’ settlement, unaware of the fact that an EMG

was in existence that demonstrated that [Benavides’s] spinal condition was significantly

worse than previously believed.” The dissent concluded there was good cause to reopen

the case, because, “[a]s a result of this mistake, the parties’ settlement agreement was

inequitable.”

1

All further statutory references are to the Labor Code.

4

DISCUSSION

Section 5803 accords the appeals board continuing jurisdiction to rescind or revise

its awards, “upon good cause shown.”2 Such cause may consist of newly discovered

evidence previously unavailable, a change in the law, or “any factor or circumstance

unknown at the time the original award or order was made which renders the previous

findings and award ‘inequitable.’ ” (LeBoeuf v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1983)

34 Cal.3d 234, 241-242 (LeBoeuf).) More specifically, an award based upon a stipulation

may be reopened or rescinded if the “stipulation has been ‘entered into through

inadvertence, excusable neglect, fraud, mistake of fact or law, . . . or where special

circumstances exist rendering it unjust to enforce the stipulation.’ ” (Huston v. Workers’

Comp. Appeals Bd. (1979) 95 Cal.App.3d 856, 865-866 (Huston).)

The instant case was settled by a stipulated award, the “distinguishing feature” of

which is “the parties retained the right to reopen the case on a showing of a change of

disability.” (Draper v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1983) 147 Cal.App.3d 502, 507.)

“If the stipulation does not adequately reflect the disability of the applicant, it should not

be accepted by the workers’ compensation judge as the basis for his or her award.”

(Ibid.)

2

Section 5803 provides: “The appeals board has continuing jurisdiction over all its

orders, decisions, and awards made and entered under the provisions of this division . . . .

At any time, upon notice and after an opportunity to be heard is given to the parties in

interest, the appeals board may rescind, alter, or amend any order, decision, or award,

good cause appearing therefor. [¶] This power includes the right to . . . diminish,

increase, or terminate . . . any compensation awarded, upon the grounds that the disability

of the person in whose favor the award was made has either recurred, increased,

diminished, or terminated.”

5

Here, as the dissenting commissioner observed, Dr. Sohn issued a pre-award

report rating Benavidas’s impairment without first requesting and reviewing an EMG,

and the WCJ approved the parties’ stipulation, unaware of the fact that an existing EMG

demonstrated Benavidas’s spinal condition was significantly worse than reflected in

Dr. Sohn’s report. Whether the stipulation was the result of inadvertence, excusable

neglect, or mistake of fact, the error justifies reopening the resulting award. (Huston,

supra, 95 Cal.App.3d at pp. 865-866.) Indeed, when Benavides brought his petition to

reopen, the evidence clearly established that the stipulated award was inequitable.

(LeBoeuf, supra, 34 Cal.3d at p. 242.)

Moreover, despite Dr. Sohn’s failure to request an EMG before issuing his initial

report, by the time of Benavides’s petition to reopen, Dr. Sohn had reviewed the EMG

and acknowledged that his pre-award report relied on incomplete information. As the

dissenting commissioner noted, “an expert’s opinion which does not rest upon relevant

facts . . . cannot constitute substantial evidence . . . .” (Zemke v. Workmen’s Comp. App.

Bd. (1968) 68 Cal.2d 794, 798, italics added.) Any decision by the appeals board or a

WCJ “must be supported by substantial evidence in the light of the entire record

[citations].” (Garza v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312, 317.) In view of

Dr. Sohn’s initial failure to request an EMG, and his later opinion regarding the EMG’s

impact on Benavides’s permanent disability rating, we conclude substantial evidence

does not support the appeals board’s decision to deny the petition to reopen. (See Sully-

Miller Contracting Co. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1980) 107 Cal.App.3d 916, 924

[where the appeals board’s denial of a request to reopen is not based on substantial

evidence, it must be annulled].)

6

DISPOSITION

The decision of the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board is annulled and the

case is remanded with directions to reinstate the award of the workers’ compensation

judge entered on April 19, 2013.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

KITCHING, J.

We concur:

KLEIN, P. J.

ALDRICH, J.

7

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.