Opinion

Natalie Bellino v. Verizon Wireless

  • 435 N.J. Super. 85
  • 86 A.3d 751
Court
New Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Filed
Mar 19, 2014
Status
Published
Cited by
18 cases
Authority
More cited than 71.5%

The opinion

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE

APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET NO. A-1132-12T4

NATALIE BELLINO,

APPROVED FOR PUBLICATION

Petitioner-Respondent,

March 19, 2014

v.

APPELLATE DIVISION

VERIZON WIRELESS,

Respondent-Appellant.

______________________________________________________

Argued September 10, 2013 – Decided March 19, 2014

Before Judges Messano, Sabatino, and Hayden.

On appeal from the Department of Labor and

Workforce Development, Division of Workers'

Compensation, Claim Petition No. 2010-5720.

Ian G. Zolty argued the cause for appellant

(Capehart & Scatchard, P.A., attorneys; Mr.

Zolty, on the brief).

D. Gayle Loftis argued the cause for

respondent.

Pablo N. Blanco argued the cause for amicus

curiae New Jersey Advisory Council on Safety

and Health (The Blanco Law Firm, LLC,

attorneys; Mr. Blanco, on the brief).

The opinion of the Court was delivered by

HAYDEN, J.A.D.

This case concerns an injured worker's eligibility for

temporary disability benefits and medical treatment under the

Workers' Compensation Act, N.J.S.A. 34:15-1 to -142 (the Act)

and the essential elements required for the Act's anti-fraud

provision, N.J.S.A. 34:15-57.4, to negate a claimant's

eligibility for benefits. In particular, we consider the state

of mind that a respondent must prove to disqualify a claimant

who makes misstatements about his or her medical history when

applying for benefits.

Respondent Verizon Wireless appeals from the October 15,

2012 order of the workers' compensation court, which granted

temporary disability and medical benefits to petitioner Natalie

Bellino. Respondent argues that the workers' compensation court

erred in finding the testimony of petitioner and her physicians

credible; in finding petitioner was entitled to curative medical

treatment and temporary disability benefits due to a work-

related injury; and in permitting her to receive workers'

compensation benefits despite petitioner's statements and

omissions that respondent alleges amount to fraud in violation

of N.J.S.A. 34:15-57.4. Having considered respondent's

arguments in light of the record and the applicable legal

principles, we affirm.

The record reflects that in February 2010, petitioner

worked for respondent as a customer service and sales

representative at respondent's store in Secaucus. On February

2 A-1132-12T4

23, 2010, petitioner tripped over some boxes, fell forward over

the cartons onto the ground, and experienced immediate pain in

her right hand and arm, right knee, left ankle, and lower back.

After her co-workers helped her up, petitioner called her

father, who took her to an urgent care doctor's office.

Respondent instructed her a few days later to go to its

authorized medical provider, Concentra Medical Centers.

On March 2, 2010, petitioner began receiving medical care

from several doctors at Concentra, including Dr. Armondo

Martinez, an orthopedic surgeon. In April 2010, Dr. Martinez,

after observing swelling of petitioner's right hand and fingers,

referred petitioner to another Concerta physician, Dr. Jonathan

Lester, a specialist in physical rehabilitative medicine and

pain management.

During the course of his authorized treatment of petitioner

from April 28, 2010 to July 20, 2011, Dr. Lester diagnosed her

back complaints as a lumbar strain and her right hand and arm

complaints as Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), also known

as Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy.1 He found that she had

significant edema of the right hand, increased temperature in

the right hand compared to the left, significant tenderness or

1

The week before his testimony, Dr. Lester changed his diagnosis

to chronic pain disorder of the right upper extremity and

testified that he was unable to state that it was work related.

3 A-1132-12T4

pain from light palpitation or squeezing, and "exquisite" pain

from light touch of the right hand. Dr. Lester recommended

several treatments, which respondent's insurer would not

approve, including a series of nerve blocks, which he opined

were often effective for treating CRPS.

Respondent referred petitioner to Dr. Gallick2 in July 2010

for an evaluation. Dr. Gallick determined, after examining

petitioner, that she could return to work and no longer needed

any treatment. Respondent ceased providing medical treatment

and temporary benefits, and petitioner filed a motion for their

resumption.

On October 15, 2010, the judge of compensation ordered

respondent to resume providing petitioner with medical treatment

until the receipt of the reports of respondent's medical

evaluators. Respondent scheduled evaluations with Dr. Eric L.

Fremed, a neurologist, on November 1, 2010, and with Dr. David

J. Gallina, a psychiatrist, on November 30, 2010. Respondent

also referred petitioner for treatment to Dr. Nilaya Bhawsar, a

neurologist, who diagnosed her with CRPS, prescribed medication,

and recommended that she be treated "aggressively" with nerve

blocks. Respondent did not follow Dr. Bhawsar's recommendation

because its two medical evaluators recommended that petitioner

2

Dr. Gallick's first name does not appear in the record.

4 A-1132-12T4

needed no treatment, and respondent again stopped providing

treatment for petitioner.

Petitioner filed another motion for temporary disability

benefits and medical treatment on January 10, 2011. The judge

of compensation conducted hearings on the motion on nine non-

consecutive days between March 2011 and May 2012. Petitioner

testified at the hearings. Dr. Gregory D. Anselmi, her treating

neurologist, and Dr. Angela Adams, her neurological expert, also

testified on petitioner's behalf. The report of Dr. Bhawsar,

petitioner's authorized treating neurologist, was admitted in

lieu of his testimony. For respondent, Mariano Ortega,

petitioner's supervisor,3 Dr. Lester, Dr. Fremed, and Dr. Gallina

testified.

Dr. Anselmi testified that he first treated petitioner in

2009 for low back, neck pain, headaches, and vision problems.

He next saw petitioner on September 22, 2010, after respondent

had stopped providing medical treatment. Dr. Anselmi, who

reported that he has treated over one hundred CRPS patients,

explained that CRPS was caused by a traumatic injury, sometimes

a quite mild one. This trauma sent an impulse to the brain

which, for unknown reasons, the brain failed to modulate as it

3

Ortega testified that petitioner had been complaining about her

back hurting in the weeks before she fell.

5 A-1132-12T4

normally would, resulting in continued pain and swelling of the

affected body parts. During the course of the doctor's

treatment, he observed that petitioner's pain grew worse, and

she began to develop a contracture of the right hand, which he

noted could not be voluntarily developed. Dr. Anselmi opined

that petitioner needed medical treatment, was unable to work,

and had a poor prognosis.

Dr. Adams, who examined petitioner on August 4, 2010, and

again on November 9, 2011, testified that at the first

examination she found guarding of petitioner's right hand and

arm, measurable temperature difference between the right and

left hands, swelling of the right hand, and paler skin tone of

the right hand than the left. She later found that petitioner's

symptoms were worse on the second visit, noting a higher

temperature of the right hand, increased guarding of the right

shoulder and arm, and changes in the fingernails not present at

the first visit.

Dr. Adams' diagnosis was CRPS of the right arm, lumbosacral

radiculopathy, and adjustment disorder with mixed anxiety and

depressed mood, all causally related to the accident. She noted

that petitioner's current symptoms were different from the pain

from her hand and arm problems prior to the work-related

accident. In the doctor's opinion, petitioner's prior mental

6 A-1132-12T4

health conditions and back issues were exacerbated by the

accident. Dr. Adams recommended a course of treatment including

evaluation and treatment by an expert in CRPS, a neurological

evaluation and treatment including pain management and physical

therapy, and a psychiatric evaluation and treatment.

Dr. Fremed testified for respondent that petitioner's

examination on November 1, 2010, was completely normal,

petitioner had a full range of motion with no spasms or

restrictions, and she had no asymmetry of the temperature or

skin tone of the hands. He found a mild swelling of the right

wrist but opined that it could have occurred by petitioner

consistently holding it in a "dependent position" below the

level of her heart. Dr. Fremed opined that petitioner did not

meet the clinical standard for CRPS because a psychiatric cause

of her symptoms had not been ruled out. In any event, in his

opinion, her symptoms were not related to the accident, and she

did not need any neurological treatment.

Dr. Gallina, who is board certified in both psychiatry and

neurology, testified that he examined petitioner on November 30,

2010, and found no evidence of a neuropsychiatric illness. He

did not believe petitioner needed psychiatric treatment due to

the work accident.

7 A-1132-12T4

At the close of the hearings, the judge of compensation

issued a comprehensive opinion, thoroughly reviewing the

testimony and making detailed findings of fact and conclusions

of law. First, he found that petitioner's testimony was

"credible, honest, straightforward and not exaggerated." He

noted that he observed during her testimony that her right hand

appeared "a lot more swollen" than the left.

The judge of compensation also determined that Dr.

Anselmi's testimony was credible and "most persuasive." He gave

substantial weight to Dr. Anselmi's opinion because he was

petitioner's treating doctor both before and after the accident.

He also found Dr. Adams credible and persuasive. In contrast,

the judge found the opinions of Dr. Fremed and Dr. Lester

neither credible nor persuasive. The judge highlighted that Dr.

Fremed testified that petitioner did not meet the clinical

standards for CRPS because a psychiatric etiology for her

symptoms had not been ruled out, but Dr. Gallina testified that

petitioner did not suffer from a psychiatric illness or need

psychiatric treatment. The judge concluded that petitioner had

sustained her burden of proving that she was in need of medical

treatment and unable to work and ordered respondent to provide

the treatment recommended by Dr. Adams.

8 A-1132-12T4

The judge of compensation also considered respondent's

argument that petitioner's claim should be dismissed under the

anti-fraud provision of the Act, N.J.S.A. 34:15-57.4, because

she had allegedly provided fraudulent information to her

examining and treating physicians.

Respondent maintained that several of petitioner's

statements to both her treating and examining physicians were

false, incomplete, or misleading, including that petitioner did

not disclose every medication she was taking to each doctor she

saw; did not report all prior treatment of her back and hand to

each doctor; failed to reveal that she had a substance abuse

problem in years prior and took Suboxone to prevent relapse; and

failed to fully disclose her prior psychiatric treatment and

issues.

Petitioner denied that the record contained evidence that

she purposely or knowingly provided false or misleading

information. In her testimony, petitioner stated that she tried

to answer all the doctors' questions truthfully, but pointed out

that she had seen many doctors several times and was not always

certain of times and dates of previous treatment. She also

disagreed with the characterization of her statements contained

in several doctors' reports.

9 A-1132-12T4

The judge rejected respondent's argument based upon the

credible testimony of petitioner and her medical witnesses and

the fact that "the medical records introduced into evidence

reflected petitioner's pre-existing conditions and prior use of

medications and were reviewed by treating and examining

physicians of both parties[.]" He concluded that respondent had

not proven by a preponderance of evidence that petitioner

"purposely or knowingly made false or misleading statements for

purposes of obtaining benefits." This appeal ensued.

When reviewing a judge of compensation's decision, we

consider "'whether the findings made could reasonably have been

reached on sufficient credible evidence presented in the

record,' considering 'the proofs as a whole,' with due regard to

the opportunity of the one who heard the witnesses to judge of

their credibility." Close v. Kordulak Bros., 44 N.J. 589, 599

(1965) (quoting State v. Johnson, 42 N.J. 146, 162 (1964)). A

judge of compensation's factual findings are entitled to

substantial deference. Ramos v. M & F Fashions, Inc., 154 N.J.

583, 594 (1998). "We may not substitute our own factfinding for

that of the [j]udge of [c]ompensation even if we were inclined

to do so." Lombardo v. Revlon, Inc., 328 N.J. Super. 484, 488

(App. Div. 2000). We must accord deference to the judge's

factual findings and legal determinations "unless they are

10 A-1132-12T4

'manifestly unsupported by or inconsistent with competent

relevant and reasonably credible evidence as to offend the

interests of justice.'" Lindquist v. City of Jersey City Fire

Dep't, 175 N.J. 244, 262 (2003) (quoting Perez v. Monmouth Cable

Vision, 278 N.J. Super. 275, 282 (App. Div. 1994), certif.

denied, 140 N.J. 277 (1995)).

In contending that the judge of compensation erred in

reaching his decision, respondent argues that the testimony of

petitioner and her experts was not credible, and the testimony

of respondent's witnesses was credible. However, we especially

defer to a judge of compensation's credibility findings as these

determinations are "often influenced by matters such as

observations of the character and demeanor of witnesses and

common human experience that are not transmitted by the record."

State v. Locurto, 157 N.J. 463, 474 (1999). Moreover, it is

well settled that "a 'judge of compensation is not bound by the

conclusional opinions of any one or more, or all of the medical

experts.'" Kaneh v. Sunshine Biscuits, 321 N.J. Super. 507, 511

(App. Div. 1999) (quoting Perez v. Capitol Ornamental, Concrete

Specialties, Inc., 288 N.J. Super. 359, 367 (App. Div. 1996)).

The judge is considered to have "expertise with respect to

weighing the testimony of competing medical experts and

appraising the validity of [the petitioner's] compensation

11 A-1132-12T4

claim." Ramos, supra, 154 N.J. at 598. "That [the judge] gave

more weight to the opinion of one physician as opposed to the

other provides no reason to reverse th[e] judgment." Smith v.

John L. Montgomery Nursing Home, 327 N.J. Super. 575, 579 (App.

Div. 2000).

Here the judge of compensation found petitioner and her

witnesses credible, and, based upon their testimony, determined

that petitioner was unable to work and entitled to temporary

disability benefits and medical treatment. Applying, as we

must, a highly deferential standard of review, our examination

of the record leads us to conclude that all the factual

determinations made by the judge were amply supported by

substantial evidence in the record "and [were] not so wide off

the mark as to be manifestly mistaken." Tlumac v. High Bridge

Stone, 187 N.J. 567, 573 (2006). Accordingly, we will not

disturb the judge's findings that petitioner had demonstrated

she was entitled to receive medical treatment and temporary

disability benefits for a condition related to work.

Further, respondent contends that the judge of compensation

should have denied petitioner's claims and dismissed her

petition because she violated the Act's anti-fraud provision,

N.J.S.A. 34:15-57.4. We disagree.

12 A-1132-12T4

The anti-fraud provision establishes a fourth-degree crime

for making "a false or misleading statement, representation or

submission concerning any fact that is material to that claim

for the purpose of wrongfully obtaining the benefits[.]"

N.J.S.A. 34:15-57.4(a)(1). Throughout the provision, the terms

"purposely or knowingly" has the same meaning as provided for

those terms in Chapter 2 of the Criminal Code. N.J.S.A. 34:15-

57.4(d).

Respondent contends that the following part of the anti-

fraud provision is applicable to petitioner:

If a person purposely or knowingly makes,

when making a claim for benefits pursuant to

[the Act], a false or misleading statement,

representation or submission concerning any

fact which is material to that claim for the

purpose of obtaining the benefits, the

division may order the immediate termination

or denial of benefits with respect to that

claim and a forfeiture of all rights of

compensation or payments sought with respect

to the claim.

[N.J.S.A. 34:15-57.4(c)(1).]

In defining general culpability standards, the Criminal

Code provides that "[a] person acts purposefully with respect to

the nature of his conduct or a result thereof if it is his

conscious object to engage in conduct of that nature or to cause

such a result." N.J.S.A. 2C:2-2(a)(1). Additionally, "[a]

person acts knowingly with respect to a result of his conduct if

13 A-1132-12T4

he is aware that it is practically certain that his conduct will

cause such a result." N.J.S.A. 2C:2-2(a)(2). Thus, the

fraudulent statement must be made with a conscious objective to

obtain benefits to which one knows he or she is not entitled or

with an awareness that the intentional falsehood will cause the

desired result of fraudulently obtaining benefits.

Respondent highlights alleged inconsistencies,

inaccuracies, and omissions found in the reports or medical

records of some of the numerous doctors that petitioner went to

for evaluation and treatment. Respondent places particular

emphasis on petitioner's certification that she had not filled a

certain prescription for Xanax when the pharmacy record showed

that she had filled a prescription for Xanax a year earlier.

Respondent also stresses that petitioner had burned the tips of

her three fingers of her right hand ten years earlier at work

and received workers' compensation benefits from respondent,

but, when being treated for her 2010 right hand and arm injury,

she initially denied having had a prior injury to her right

hand. According to respondent, conflicting and inaccurate

information in some of the doctors' reports proved that

petitioner had committed fraud to receive workers' compensation

benefits by intentionally making false and misleading statements

to obtain benefits for which she knew she did not qualify.

14 A-1132-12T4

Petitioner denies making false statements or omissions with

the intention of obtaining treatment or other benefits.

Further, petitioner argues that the records viewed as a whole

show that she accurately reported all her medication, prior

treatment, and psychiatric and drug abuse issues.

The Act "'is humane social legislation designed to place

the cost of work-connected injury on the employer who may

readily provide for it as an operating expense.'" Livingstone

v. Abraham & Straus, Inc., 111 N.J. 89, 94-95 (1988) (quoting

Hornyak v. The Great Atl. & Pac. Tea Co., 63 N.J. 99, 101

(1973)). The Act represents a bargain between employers and

employees because it places the cost of personal injuries

arising out of and in the course of employment on the employer,

regardless of the employer's negligence, but the employee

surrenders his right to pursue other remedies that could yield

larger recoveries. N.J.S.A. 34:15-7; Basil v. Wolf, 193 N.J.

38, 53-54 (2007); Millison v. E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 101

N.J. 161, 174 (1985). Because it is socially beneficial

legislation, the Act must be interpreted liberally and

inclusively. Fitzgerald v. Tom Coddington Stables, 186 N.J. 21,

31 (2006); Sager v. O.A. Peterson Constr., Co., 182 N.J. 156,

169 (2004). The anti-fraud provision is intended to root out

fraudulent claims, not merely test an injured person's ability

15 A-1132-12T4

to remember every detail of a lengthy medical history or to

accurately determine what may be material for purposes of

receiving treatment or other benefits.

Consequently, in order to implement the remedial social

legislation of affording coverage to as many workers as

possible, all elements of the anti-fraud provision must be

proven by competent evidence for a motion to dismiss to prevail

on those grounds. It is not enough that the moving party show

the worker made an inaccurate or false statement or omitted

material facts. Rather, the moving party must show (1) the

injured worker acted purposefully or knowingly in giving or

withholding information with the intent that he or she receive

benefits; (2) the worker knew that the statement or omission was

material to obtaining the benefit; and (3) the statement or

omission was made for the purpose of falsely obtaining benefits

to which the worker was not entitled.

Even if a petitioner's statements satisfy these

requirements of the anti-fraud provision, denial is not

mandatory as the provision states that benefits "may" be denied.

N.J.S.A. 34:15-57.4(c)(1). Indeed, it has been generally

recognized that "not all lies and false statements made by an

employee in connection with a workers' compensation claim will

cause forfeiture of benefits." 2 Lex K. Larson, Larson's

16 A-1132-12T4

Workers' Compensation § 39.03 (Rev. ed. 2013). For instance,

"[w]here there is no causal connection between the lie and the

injury itself, the courts will generally look beyond the false

statement and award compensation."4 Ibid.

Here, the judge of compensation considered the entire

record, including petitioner's credible testimony, her

persuasive medical witnesses, and the records considered by all

the medical witnesses and concluded there was insufficient

evidence that petitioner violated the anti-fraud provision. As

stated above, the judge's credibility determinations are amply

supported by the record and are not manifestly mistaken. See

Tlumac, supra, 187 N.J. at 573. From our independent review of

the record, we perceive no error here. While some of the

alleged inaccuracies or misstatements respondent pointed out may

have been material, this alone does not meet the anti-fraud

provision's three-part requirement. As petitioner testified

credibly that she did not intentionally omit or misrepresent her

past medical history, respondent has not proven an essential

4

For instance, failure to report recreational use of drugs on a

medical history form, often due to embarrassment or concern for

criminality, is not generally material unless it is directly

related to the accident or resulting medical condition. See

Beck v. Newt Brown Contractors, LLC, 72 So. 3d 982 (La. Ct. App.

2011) (claimant granted benefits despite denial of recreational

drug use when accident not caused by drug use).

17 A-1132-12T4

element of the anti-fraud provision and thus respondent's motion

could not prevail.

Next, amicus New Jersey Advisory Council on Safety and

Health requests that we find that the burden of proving fraud

under the anti-fraud provision must be by clear and convincing

evidence as is generally required to prove common law fraud. 5

See Stochastic Decisions, Inc. v. DiDomenico, 236 N.J. Super.

388, 395 (App. Div. 1989), certif. denied, 121 N.J. 607 (1990).

As this issue was not raised below, and the judge of

compensation appears to have used the lesser standard of proof

and still determined that respondent did not prove fraud, we

decline to reach this issue on this record.

Finally, respondent's argument that the judge's order was

erroneous because it required respondent to pay temporary total

disability benefits until petitioner is medically cleared to

return to work or until further order of the court is without

sufficient merit to warrant extended discussion. R. 2:11-

3(e)(1)(E). Temporary disability benefits are payable from "the

day that the employee is first unable to continue at work by

5

Amicus concedes that the Court in Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. v.

Land, 186 N.J. 163, 174 (2006), when considering the standard

under a similar statute, the Insurance Fraud Prevention Act,

N.J.S.A. 17:33A-1 to -30, held that the standard of proof was by

a preponderance of evidence. Amicus argues that we should reach

a different decision here because of the remedial social

policies behind the Act.

18 A-1132-12T4

reason of the accident . . . up to the first working day that

the employee is able to resume work and continue permanently

thereat," N.J.S.A. 34:15-38, or until the employee "'is as far

restored as the permanent character of the injuries will permit,

whichever happens first.'" Cunningham v. Atlantic States Cast

Iron Pipe Co., 386 N.J. Super. 423, 427-28 (App. Div.) (quoting

Monaco v. Albert Maund, Inc., 17 N.J. Super. 425, 431 (App. Div.

1952)), certif. denied, 188 N.J. 492 (2006). We do not perceive

that the judge's order to pay temporary total disability

benefits until petitioner is medically cleared to return to

work, or until further order of the court, contravened this

basic principle. The judge's reasonable order for respondent to

seek permission of the court in stopping benefits if petitioner

was not medically cleared for work was not an abuse of

discretion, especially in light of respondent twice stopping

medical temporary benefits prematurely.

Affirmed.

19 A-1132-12T4

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.