Opinion

Lincoln v. Director, Office of Workers' Compensation Programs

  • 744 F.3d 911
  • 2014 A.M.C. 1108
  • 2014 U.S. App. LEXIS 4499
  • 2014 WL 929367
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Filed
Mar 11, 2014
Status
Published
Author
Wilkinson
On the bench
Wilkinson, Keenan, Diaz
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 49.2%

“[T]aken together, § 928(a) and (b) mandate fee-shifting in certain defined circumstances, but plainly do not provide for attorneys’ fee awards in every case in which the claimant is successful.” (citation and internal quotation marks omitted)

How later courts described this case

  • “[T]aken together, § 928(a) and (b) mandate fee-shifting in certain defined circumstances, but plainly do not provide for attorneys’ fee awards in every case in which the claimant is successful.” (citation and internal quotation marks omitted)

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 13-1594

STEVEN LINCOLN,

Petitioner,

v.

DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION PROGRAMS, UNITED

STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR; CERES MARINE TERMINALS, INC.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Review of an Order of the Benefits Review Board.

(12-0418)

Argued: January 28, 2014 Decided: March 11, 2014

Before WILKINSON, KEENAN, and DIAZ, Circuit Judges.

Petition denied by published opinion. Judge Wilkinson wrote the

opinion, in which Judge Keenan and Judge Diaz joined.

Gregory Edward Camden, MONTAGNA, KLEIN, CAMDEN, LLP, Norfolk,

Virginia, for Petitioner. Lawrence Philip Postol, SEYFARTH

SHAW, LLP, Washington, D.C., for Respondent Ceres Marine

Terminals, Inc.

WILKINSON, Circuit Judge:

Petitioner Steven Lincoln seeks attorney’s fees from Ceres

Marine Terminals, Inc. (Ceres) for his pursuit of a claim for

disability benefits under the Longshore and Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act (LHWCA). Lincoln contends that he is entitled

to attorney’s fees because Ceres did not pay “any compensation”

within the meaning of the fee-shifting mechanism in 33 U.S.C.

§ 928(a) or, in the alternative, because Ceres’s notice of

controversion irrevocably triggered the same provision. We

reject his arguments and deny his petition.

I.

A.

On May 24, 2011, Lincoln filed a claim with the District

Director of the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (OWCP)

for benefits under the LHWCA, alleging that he had sustained

binaural hearing loss (hearing loss in both ears) as a result of

his work as a longshoreman in Charleston, South Carolina. The

basis of Lincoln’s claim was an April 11, 2011 audiogram.

Lincoln, like many longshoremen, worked for several different

companies over the course of his career, but he alleged that he

was employed by Ceres at the time of his injury. Therefore, on

May 26, Ceres responded by filing forms with the OWCP, one of

which was a notice of controversion.

2

In the notice, Ceres explained that it was controverting

Lincoln’s claim because, while it accepted the fact that

“claimant’s hearing loss [was] noise-induced,” J.A. 5,

additional information was needed before Ceres could determine

what it believed was the correct disability payment. The

information Ceres sought included whether Ceres was the last

employer before Lincoln’s audiogram and the amount of Lincoln’s

average weekly wage (calculated from wage records collected from

the various employers for which Lincoln had worked). On June 2,

Lincoln gave Ceres a copy of his April 11 audiogram along with a

paystub from his time working for Ceres. Several days later, on

June 6, Ceres submitted subpoenas requesting wage records from

the other companies for which Lincoln had worked and medical

records from the doctor who had conducted Lincoln’s April 11

audiogram.

The OWCP formally served notice of Lincoln’s claim on Ceres

on June 14. After receiving the official notice of the claim,

on July 7, Ceres “voluntarily paid” Lincoln $1,256.84, amounting

to compensation for “0.5% [binaural] hearing loss” and the

equivalent of one week of permanent partial disability pay under

the maximum compensation rate. J.A. 25. Ceres also requested

that Lincoln submit to an independent medical examination. In

accordance with that request, Lincoln completed a second

3

audiogram on July 15 that demonstrated he had sustained a 10%

binaural hearing loss.

On October 4, after negotiations, the District Director of

the OWCP entered a settlement compensation order agreed to by

both Lincoln and Ceres. The settlement acknowledged that

Lincoln allegedly sustained a 10% binaural hearing loss and

awarded benefits to Lincoln totaling $23,879.96 in compensation

and $4,000 in medical benefits. Ceres did not pay any money to

Lincoln between the July 7 disability payment and the October 4

settlement.

B.

Lincoln filed a petition with the OWCP on August 18, 2011,

requesting that the Director award him $3,460 in attorney’s fees

under § 928(a) of the LHWCA, which shifts fees from a successful

claimant to the employer when the employer “declines to pay any

compensation on or before the thirtieth day after receiving

written notice of a claim.” 33 U.S.C. § 928(a). Ceres opposed

the petition, and on April 24, 2012, the Director notified both

parties that, because Ceres had paid Lincoln one week’s worth of

disability benefits within 30 days of receiving official notice

of his claim, it was not liable for Lincoln’s attorney’s fees

under § 928(a). He also found that Ceres was not liable for

attorney’s fees under § 928(b), the LHWCA’s alternative fee-

shifting provision.

4

On May 15, 2012, the Director entered a Compensation Order

ruling Ceres not liable for Lincoln’s attorney’s fees and

denying the petition. Lincoln appealed to the Benefits Review

Board (BRB), which found that the Director acted within his

discretion in denying Lincoln’s petition under §§ 928(a) and

(b). Lincoln thereafter filed this timely petition for review.

II.

Lincoln maintains that the Director erred in denying his

fee petition under § 928(a) for three independent reasons: (1)

Ceres’s July 7 payment was only a partial payment and thus not

“any compensation”; (2) the payment did not technically

constitute “compensation” for the purposes of that provision;

and (3) Ceres’s notice of controversion automatically triggered

fee-shifting. We review the BRB’s decision both for errors of

law and to determine whether it properly found that the District

Director’s relevant factual findings were supported by

substantial evidence. Sidwell v. Va. Int’l Terminals, Inc., 372

F.3d 238, 241 (4th Cir. 2004). Our review of the BRB’s

interpretation of the LHWCA is de novo. Wheeler v. Newport News

Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co., 637 F.3d 280, 283 (4th Cir. 2011).

A.

Lincoln first claims that the term “any compensation” in

§ 928(a) means all compensation due, and therefore cannot

5

include Ceres’s payment of a mere one week of disability

benefits to Lincoln. To interpret this provision, we begin by

examining the statutory text. If the language is plain, “we

apply it according to its terms.” Newport News Shipbuilding &

Dry Dock Co. v. Brown, 376 F.3d 245, 248 (4th Cir. 2004)

(internal quotation marks omitted). When determining whether or

not statutory language is plain, we consider “the language

itself, the specific context in which that language is used, and

the broader context of the statute as a whole.” Holland v. Big

River Minerals Corp., 181 F.3d 597, 603 (4th Cir. 1999)

(internal quotation marks omitted).

The LHWCA establishes a reticulated scheme providing for

fee-shifting in two specific contexts. “In all other cases any

claim for legal services shall not be assessed against the

employer or carrier.” 33 U.S.C. § 928(b). Section 928(a)

covers the first of these situations:

If the employer or carrier declines to pay any

compensation on or before the thirtieth day after

receiving written notice of a claim for compensation

having been filed from the deputy commissioner, on the

ground that there is no liability for compensation

within the provisions of this chapter and the person

seeking benefits shall thereafter have utilized the

services of an attorney at law in the successful

prosecution of his claim, there shall be awarded, in

addition to the award of compensation, in a

compensation order, a reasonable attorney's fee

against the employer or carrier . . . .

33 U.S.C. § 928(a).

6

In Lincoln’s view, the phrase “any compensation” means “all

compensation,” to the effect that an employer that fails to pay

the entire claim within 30 days is liable for attorney’s fees

under § 928(a). We do not agree. The term “any compensation”

is unambiguous and plainly encompasses an employer’s partial

payment of compensation. Thus, the most natural reading of the

provision is that an employer that pays the claimant something

by way of compensation is not liable for attorney’s fees.

The surrounding context of § 928(a) buttresses this

interpretation. It states that the employer’s refusal to pay

must be “on the ground that there is no liability for

compensation within the provisions of this chapter.” 33 U.S.C.

§ 928(a). This language is unequivocal, and demonstrates that

an employer’s refusal to pay compensation must be absolute in

order for it to face possible fee liability under § 928(a).

To construe “any compensation” in § 928(a) as “all

compensation” would mean that employers must pay the full claim

within 30 days of receiving the official notice to avoid

potential fee liability. But, as Lincoln’s claim demonstrates,

the medical evidence establishing the extent of the claimant’s

injury, and thus the amount of his benefits, is often in flux

and cannot be ascertained with any degree of certainty within 30

days of his claim. Section 928 provides an employer a safe

harbor: if it admits liability for the claim by paying some

7

compensation to the claimant for a work-related injury and only

contests the total amount of the benefits, it is sheltered from

fee liability under § 928(a). Andrepont v. Murphy Exploration &

Prod. Co., 566 F.3d 415, 418-19 (5th Cir. 2009); Day v. James

Marine, Inc., 518 F.3d 411, 419 (6th Cir. 2008). Therefore,

fee-shifting under § 928(a) may not occur if the employer agrees

that some amount is due the claimant for a work-related injury

and “tenders any compensation.” Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 418.

This safe harbor provision serves to protect “the employers’

interest in having their contingent liabilities identified as

precisely and as early as possible.” Brown, 376 F.3d at 250

(internal quotation marks omitted).

But the safe harbor is not permanently safe, because

§ 928(b) provides a mechanism by which the claimant could still

recover attorney’s fees. Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 419 (finding

that § 928(b) applies when “the employer and claimant agree that

some compensation is due but disagree as to what amount”)

(internal quotation marks omitted); Va. Int’l Terminals, Inc. v.

Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 317-18 (4th Cir. 2005). This alternative

provision is only operative when “the employer initially pays

voluntary compensation and a subsequent dispute arises about

total amount of compensation due” and, additionally, four

requirements are satisfied. Id. at 316. These requirements

are: “(1) an informal conference, (2) a written recommendation

8

from the deputy or Board, (3) the employer’s refusal to adopt

the written recommendation, and (4) the employee’s procuring of

the services of a lawyer to achieve a greater award than what

the employer was willing to pay after the written

recommendation.” Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. v.

Dir., OWCP, 477 F.3d 123, 126 (4th Cir. 2007) (internal

quotation marks omitted).

When taken together, §§ 928(a) and (b) mandate fee-shifting

in certain defined circumstances, but plainly do “not provide

for attorneys’ fee awards in every case in which the claimant is

successful.” Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 420 (internal quotation

marks omitted). This interpretation is consistent with the

purposes of the LHWCA, one of which is to lessen the occasions

where attorney’s fees are incurred by encouraging claimants to

resolve their disputes “without the necessity of relying on

assistance other than that provided by the Secretary of Labor.”

Kemp v. Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co., 805 F.2d 1152,

1153 (4th Cir. 1986) (per curiam). Therefore, the structure of

§ 928 establishes that, until the claimant has exhausted the

non-adversarial avenues for resolving his claim, he cannot avail

himself of the fee-shifting provisions. Day, 518 F.3d at 416-

17.

In sum, § 928(a)’s plain language requires fee-shifting

only when an employer has paid no compensation within 30 days of

9

receiving the official claim. Applying this interpretation to

Lincoln’s case shows that his claim under § 928(a) fails. Ceres

voluntarily paid Lincoln one week’s compensation on July 7,

which was within 30 days of receiving his claim, “thereby

admitting to liability for the injury” for the purposes of

§ 928(a). Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 419. Ceres met the

requirement of § 928(a), moving the dispute to § 928(b).

Lincoln then had the right to request an informal conference,

see Pittsburgh & Conneaut Dock Co. v. Dir., OWCP, 473 F.3d 253,

264 (6th Cir. 2007), but he did not and instead proceeded to

settlement negotiations that ultimately produced an agreement.

Lincoln was entitled to the services of an attorney but, under

the LHWCA’s fee-shifting scheme, he is not entitled to have that

attorney paid for by Ceres.

B.

Lincoln’s second contention is that Ceres’s July 7 payment

was not “compensation” in any true sense under § 928(a) because

it was merely an attempt by Ceres to avoid fee liability. To

support his argument, he relies on Green v. Ceres Marine

Terminals, Inc., 43 BRBS 173 (2010), rev’d on other grounds, 656

F.3d 235 (4th Cir. 2011). In Green, the BRB reviewed a ruling

by an administrative law judge (ALJ) finding that the employer’s

$1 payment to the claimant did not constitute “compensation” for

the purposes of § 928(a). Id. at 177. The BRB affirmed and

10

found § 928(a) applicable because the ALJ “rationally found that

employer’s payment of $1 was merely an attempt to avoid fee

liability rather than the payment of compensation for claimant’s

injury.” Id.

Lincoln contends that Ceres’s payment of $1,256.84,

corresponding to an injury of 0.5% binaural hearing loss,

constitutes a “farce to avoid paying attorney’s fees” in the

same vein as in Green. Appellant’s Br. at 10. However,

Lincoln’s case differs dramatically from Green, and we

consequently do not find it applicable here. Ceres’s counsel

noted at oral argument that Ceres based its calculation of the

July 7 payment on Lincoln’s alleged disability. That is in

stark contrast to the $1 payment in Green, which was clearly

untethered to the underlying claim and therefore was not

“compensation” at all. See Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 419 (holding

that an employer’s partial benefits payment constituted

“compensation” under § 928(a)); Pittsburgh & Conneaut Dock Co.,

473 F.3d at 263-64 (ruling that an employer’s initial payments

of temporary disability benefits were sufficient to meet

§ 928(a)’s “compensation” requirement). *

*

We likewise find unavailing Lincoln’s reference to Roberts

v. Sea-Land Services, Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1350 (2012). Nowhere in

Roberts did the Supreme Court analyze the meaning of “any

compensation” in § 928(a), the central issue in this case.

11

We hold that Ceres’s payment of one week’s benefits at the

maximum compensation rate, being directly tied as it was to

Lincoln’s alleged injury, qualifies as “compensation” within the

meaning of § 928(a).

C.

Lastly, Lincoln maintains that, when Ceres filed a notice

of controversion prior to the July 7 payment, it signaled that

it was controverting his claim and, by doing so, irrevocably

triggered § 928(a). Lincoln cites to the controversion

procedure in § 914(d) of the LHWCA, which requires that an

employer seeking to challenge an employee’s benefits claim file

a notice “on or before the fourteenth day after [it] has

knowledge of the alleged injury or death.” 33 U.S.C. § 914(d).

Lincoln did not raise this issue before the BRB, and thus

the BRB did not have the opportunity to consider or rule on it.

But even if we were to address the merits of his claim, we would

find it wanting. Section 928(a) nowhere incorporates § 914(d)

or its 14 day time limit specifically, or references notices of

controversion generally. Rather, § 928(a) contains only one

explicit trigger: the payment of “any compensation” within 30

days of the employer’s receipt of official notice of the claim.

Ceres met this requirement and consequently was entitled to the

protections afford by § 928(a).

12

III.

The LHWCA is one of those statutes that adjust employer and

employee interests through multiple tradeoffs and compromises.

Far be it from courts to disturb the balance. The petition for

review is hereby denied.

PETITION DENIED

13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.