Opinion

Sewell Coal Company v. Dempsey

  • 429 F. App'x 311
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Filed
May 19, 2011
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Niemeyer, Duncan, Agee
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 45.6%

The opinion

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 10-1068

SEWELL COAL COMPANY,

Petitioner,

v.

WILLIAM O. DEMPSEY; DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF WORKERS’

COMPENSATION PROGRAMS,

Respondents.

On Petition for Review of an Order of the Benefits Review Board.

(09-0151-BLA)

Argued: March 25, 2011 Decided: May 19, 2011

Before NIEMEYER, DUNCAN, and AGEE, Circuit Judges.

Affirmed in part, vacated in part, and remanded with

instructions by unpublished per curiam opinion.

ARGUED: Douglas Allan Smoot, JACKSON KELLY, PLLC, Charleston,

West Virginia, for Petitioner. John C. Eller, WASHINGTON AND

LEE UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW, Lexington, Virginia; Barry H.

Joyner, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, Washington, D.C., for

Respondents. ON BRIEF: Kathy L. Snyder, JACKSON KELLY, PLLC,

Charleston, West Virginia, for Petitioner. Timothy C.

MacDonnell, L. Lucy Brandon, WASHINGTON AND LEE UNIVERSITY

SCHOOL OF LAW, Black Lung Legal Clinic, Lexington, Virginia, for

Respondent Dempsey. M. Patricia Smith, Solicitor of Labor, Rae

Ellen James, Associate Solicitor, Patricia M. Nece, Counsel for

Appellate Litigation, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,

Washington, D.C., for Federal Respondent.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.

2

PER CURIAM:

In this petition for review, Sewell Coal Company contends,

among other things, that the Benefits Review Board (“the Board”)

erred in affirming the decisions of the Administrative Law Judge

(“the ALJ”) who, after finding respondent William Dempsey’s

second claim for benefits timely filed, awarded Black Lung

benefits. For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the

Board’s Decision and Order of November 25, 2009 as to the

timeliness of Dempsey’s claim. However, because the ALJ failed

adequately to explain his reasoning in evaluating opinion

evidence, we vacate the November 25, 2009 and March 31, 2005

Decisions and Orders of the Board as to the existence of

pneumoconiosis and total disability, and remand for further

proceedings.

I.

This case comes before the Court for the second time. As

we previously discussed:

William Dempsey worked in the coal mine industry

for approximately twenty-three years. He worked

specifically for Sewell Coal for more than eleven

years, most recently as a belt repairman. After

leaving Sewell Coal, Dempsey worked for Dale and Tina

Coal Company for approximately three months and for DC

& M Coal Company for nearly five months, before

retiring from the coal mine industry in 1989. Dempsey

filed his first claim for benefits under the [Black

Lung Benefits Act, 30 U.S.C. §§ 901 et seq, (“the

BLBA”)] on April 27, 1989. That claim was denied on

3

August 15, 1989, because the evidence did not then

establish that Dempsey was totally disabled by

pneumoconiosis.

* * *

. . . Dempsey filed his second claim for Benefits

under the [BLBA] on February 8, 2001. The district

director awarded benefits under Dempsey’s claim on May

29, 2002, and an [ALJ] subsequently reviewed the

claim, finding Dempsey totally disabled substantially

due to pneumoconiosis. Having also found the claim

timely after concluding that the statute of

limitations did not apply to subsequent claims for

benefits, the ALJ issued a decision awarding benefits.

The [Board] vacated the ALJ’s decision awarding

benefits and remanded for further consideration on

evidentiary issues. The ALJ again awarded benefits

and the Board affirmed. Sewell Coal Company . . . the

mine operator responsible for paying benefits, [then]

petition[ed] for review of the Board’s Order.

Sewell Coal Co. v. Director, O.W.C.P., 523 F.3d 257, 258 (4th

Cir. 2008) (internal citation and footnote omitted). After

vacating the ALJ’s timeliness determination, id. at 259, we

remanded the case for further proceedings, but without

adjudicating the merits as to the finding of pneumoconiosis.

Id. On remand, the ALJ again awarded benefits to Dempsey.

Thereafter, Sewell appealed to the Board, which affirmed the

ALJ’s decision, two votes to one.

Sewell Coal now brings the instant petition, arguing the

ALJ incorrectly determined that Dempsey’s 2001 application for

4

benefits was timely filed and failed to explain why he credited

certain expert opinions over others. 1

II.

“When we review a claim for benefits under the BLBA, ‘[w]e

undertake an independent review of the record, as in the place

of the Board, to determine whether the ALJ’s factual findings

are based on substantial evidence in the record.’” Sewell Coal

Co., 523 F.3d at 259 (quoting Toler v. E. Associated Coal Co.,

43 F.3d 109, 114 (4th Cir. 1995)). Substantial evidence “is

such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion”; it is “more than a mere

scintilla.” Milburn Colliery Co. v. Hicks, 138 F.3d 524, 528

(4th Cir. 1998) (quoting Consol. Edison Co. v. NLRB, 305 U.S.

197, 229 (1938)). “In determining whether substantial evidence

1

Sewell Coal also raises a host of evidentiary issues,

including that the ALJ erred by: (i) finding Dempsey showed good

cause to submit late evidence; (ii) improperly denying Sewell

Coal’s rights to due process and a fair hearing by requiring it

to disclose prematurely its affirmative case and by refusing to

allow it to rely on the medical reports of its choice; (iii)

failing to find various exhibits admissible under the “good

cause” exception of the amended regulations; (iv) excluding

Sewell Coal’s rebuttal evidence and certain treatment records.

For the reasons set forth in the Board’s Decisions and Orders,

we find that the ALJ did not so err. We therefore confine our

discussion to Sewell Coal’s arguments concerning the timeliness

of Dempsey’s second claim for benefits and the ALJ’s evaluation

of opinion evidence.

5

supports the ALJ’s factual determinations, we must first address

whether all of the relevant evidence has been analyzed and

whether the ALJ has sufficiently explained his rationale in

crediting certain evidence.” Id. at 528 (citing Sterling

Smokeless Coal Co. v. Akers, 131 F.3d 438, 439 (4th Cir. 1997)).

III.

A.

We first consider whether Dempsey timely filed his second

claim for benefits on February 8, 2001.

A letter submitted to the West Virginia State Board of

Rehabilitation in July 1989 by Dr. J. David Brown, Dempsey’s

treating physician, reflects that Dr. Brown informed Dempsey of

his pneumoconiosis diagnosis in February of that year. 2 On

October 17, 1989, Dr. Brown sent a follow-up letter to the Board

indicating that, during Dempsey’s August 29, 1989 office visit,

Dr. Brown told Dempsey “that I felt he was totally and

2

While it is true that Dr. Brown’s July 1989 letter

indicates he “advised [Dempsey] to stop working in coal mines

due to his diagnosis of COPD due to pneumoconiosis,” it does not

indicate that Dempsey was totally disabled as a result of

pneumoconiosis. J.A. 57. In any event, Sewell Coal concedes

that “Brown’s first letter is insufficient by itself to render

the claim untimely. . . .” Br. for Petitioner at 20; see

Consolidation Coal Co. v. Williams, 453 F.3d 609, 616-18 (4th

Cir. 2006).

6

permanently disabled.” J.A. 60. Sewell Coal contends 3 that

these letters, considered together, establish that Dr. Brown

communicated to Dempsey that he was totally disabled due to

pneumoconiosis in 1989. Thus, Sewell Coal’s argument goes,

because Dempsey did not file his second claim before 1992, he

failed to comply with the three-year limitations period and his

claim should be dismissed as untimely. We disagree.

20 C.F.R. § 725.308(a) provides that “[a] claim for

benefits . . . shall be filed within three years after a medical

determination of total disability due to pneumoconiosis which

has been communicated to the miner or a person responsible for

the care of the miner.” All claims are presumed timely, absent

evidence to the contrary. 20 C.F.R. § 725.308(c). Furthermore,

as Sewell Coal acknowledges, we have held a finding that a

claimant is not totally disabled due to pneumoconiosis in a

prior claim renders any earlier medical determination to the

contrary insufficient to trigger the statute of limitations.

See Consolidation Coal Co. v. Williams, 453 F.3d 609, 618 (4th

3

At argument, Sewell Coal appeared to argue that Dempsey

had been informed that he was disabled due to pneumoconiosis in

1989. At our request, Dempsey filed a supplemental letter

brief, which indicates that while Dempsey may have been informed

that he suffered from pneumoconiosis, there was no conveyance of

the fact that he was totally disabled due to that condition.

See No. 10-1068, Doc. # 45 at 2; see also 20 C.F.R. § 718.204

(defining “total disability”).

7

Cir. 2006) (“[A] medical determination later deemed to be a

misdiagnosis of pneumoconiosis by virtue of a superseding denial

of benefits cannot trigger the statute of limitations for

subsequent claims.”).

Here, Dr. Brown’s July 1989 letter was followed by the

denial of Dempsey’s 1988 black lung claim, which, under

Williams, rendered Dr. Brown’s February 1989 pneumoconiosis

diagnosis a misdiagnosis. See 453 F.3d at 616. Moreover, even

if we were to consider the first letter, it fails to specify

which of the myriad conditions listed by Dr. Brown caused

Dempsey’s disability. See J.A. 56-58 (explaining Dempsey “is

totally and permanently disabled from any type of gainful

employment due to his diagnoses stated above,” which apparently

included B.P.H. with secondary acute prostatitis and intercostal

neuritis and radiculitits) (emphasis added).

Consideration of the second letter does not render

Dempsey’s second claim for benefits untimely. As the Board

reasoned:

In weighing [Dr. Brown’s letters], the administrative

law judge permissibly found that none of Dr. Brown’s

statements established that Dr. Brown specifically

communicated to claimant that he was totally disabled

due [to] pneumoconiosis. . . .

As noted by the administrative law judge, although Dr.

Brown wrote, in the first part of his October 1989

letter, that he had informed claimant that he was

totally disabled, the doctor “did not indicate the

cause of the disability was due to pneumoconiosis.”

8

Moreover, the administrative law judge reasonably

found it was unclear from Dr. Brown’s second statement

in the October 1989 letter whether he had communicated

to claimant his “feeling” that claimant was totally

disabled as a result of severe shortness of breath and

COPD.

J.A. 708-09 (internal citations omitted).

Simply put, we see no reason to disagree with the Board’s

analysis. Because Dr. Brown’s letters fail to establish that

Dempsey was informed that he was disabled due to pneumoconiosis,

Sewell Coal has not rebutted the presumption that Dempsey’s

claim was timely filed.

B.

Sewell Coal contends further that although Drs. Joseph J.

Renn III, Robert A.C. Cohen, and Donald L. Rasmussen each

reviewed excluded evidence, the ALJ engaged in a prohibited

selective analysis of opinion evidence by discrediting Dr.

Renn’s assessment while finding the opinions of Drs. Cohen and

Rasmussen well-reasoned. 4 In Sewell Coal’s view, “[i]n lieu of

rational, detailed explanation, [the ALJ] simply parroted the

doctors’ findings in his decision without discussing how or why

the determinations of those doctors are more convincing than

4

Sewell Coal also argues that the ALJ failed to explain why

he credited Dr. Dominic Gaziano’s opinion and failed to consider

Dr. John A. Bellotte’s assessment. We have reviewed the record

and, for the reasons stated by the Board in its June 28, 2004

Decision, find no error by the ALJ.

9

[those of] the other experts.” Br. for Petitioner at 43. In

other words, Sewell Coal contends the ALJ failed adequately to

explain his reasoning as required by the Administrative

Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 557(c)(3)(A) (“the APA”).

With respect to Sewell Coal’s argument that the Rasmussen

opinion should be discredited because Dr. Rasmussen considered

excluded evidence, there is substantial evidence in the record

to support the ALJ’s finding that Dr. Rasmussen did not rely on

the inadmissible evidence in forming his opinion. The ALJ

summarized the evidence used by Dr. Rasmussen and concluded that

while he performed an inadmissible, independent review of an x-

ray, he in fact based his medical opinion on the interpretation

of that x-ray by Dr. Manu N. Patel – an interpretation that was

admitted into evidence. We find no error in this determination

by the ALJ.

We cannot say the same, however, for the ALJ’s evaluation

of the expert opinions of Drs. Cohen and Renn, which fails to

provide adequate explanation for his conclusions. See 5 U.S.C.

§ 557(c)(3)(A); see also Barren Creek Coal Co. v. Witmer, 111

F.3d 352, 354 (3d Cir. 1997) (“The absence of explanation in

certain portions of the ALJ’s Decision and Order renders

meaningful review impossible by this court, as we are unable to

determine the analytic process behind the result.”). As

correctly explained in the Board dissent:

10

The evidentiary limitations of Section 725.414

were intended to level the playing field between

operators and claimants and to ensure fairer and more

equitable evaluations of black lung claims. The

regulations further guard against the consideration of

excess medical evidence by providing that medical

reports be based only on admissible evidence. As the

regulations are silent concerning how an

administrative law judge should evaluate a medical

report which contains references to evidence that has

been excluded under the limitations, the Board has

held that the disposition of this issue is a matter

within the discretion of the administrative law judge.

In exercising this discretion, however, the

administrative law judge must reconcile his

obligations under Section 725.414(a)(2)(i)[ and]

(a)(3)(i), with his statutory obligation to consider

all of the relevant and material evidence bearing upon

the existence of pneumoconiosis. Because the

administrative law judge focused on the number of

inadmissible exhibits Drs. Renn and Cohen had each

reviewed, without considering what effect, if any, the

inadmissible evidence had on the physicians’ opinions,

I would hold that the administrative law judge failed

to sufficiently analyze the medical opinion evidence

or explain his conclusion that Dr. Cohen’s opinion is

entitled to greater weight than that of Dr. Renn.

J.A. 676-77 (internal citations omitted).

Tasked with evaluating conflicting medical opinions from

two doctors who reviewed excluded evidence, the ALJ discredited

Dr. Renn’s opinion in favor of Dr. Cohen’s. 5 In so doing, the

5

Sewell Coal additionally contends that the ALJ

mischaracterized Dr. Renn’s opinion by noting “Renn concluded

that Claimant does not have coal workers’ pneumoconiosis because

the chest x-rays revealed irregular opacities and there were no

opacities in the upper lung zones. . . . every physician [who]

noted the location of the opacities on their x-ray

interpretations found opacities in all six lung zones.” Brief

for Petitioner at 27 (quoting J.A. 660) (added emphasis

omitted). The ALJ’s statement is misleading, if not erroneous.

(Continued)

11

ALJ focused on the quantity of excluded evidence each doctor

reviewed, rather than on the extent to which each opinion relied

on the excluded materials. To allow an ALJ to discredit one

opinion and to credit another based on the percentage of

excluded evidence considered by each doctor would, at bottom, be

to allow nothing more than a “headcount” of evidence. And of

course, ALJs are not permitted to decide a disputed issue of

medical fact by a headcount. See Adkins v. Dir., O.W.C.P., 958

F.2d 49, 52 (4th Cir. 1992); see also Stalcup v. Peabody Coal

Co., 477 F.3d 482, 484 (7th Cir. 2007) (“[W]hen an ALJ is faced

with conflicting evidence from medical experts, he cannot avoid

the scientific controversy by basing his decision on which side

has more medical opinions in its favor. This unreasoned

approach, which amounts to nothing more than a mechanical nose

In his first opinion, the ALJ stated “Gaziano is the only

physician who found opacities in the lower four lung zones on

one x-ray, but he also found opacities in six lung zones on

another x-ray.” J.A. 556 (emphasis added). Hence, although all

the x-ray evidence did not note opacities in six lung zones, the

ALJ’s observation that all physicians who noted opacities found

opacities in all six lung zones is not entirely inaccurate.

But, drawing on this misleading statement, the ALJ erred by

finding “that Dr. Renn’s opinion [that there were no opacities

in the upper lung zones] is not reasoned because it is not based

on the chest x-ray evidence in the record.” J.A. 660. After

all, one of Gaziano’s x-rays does suggest the upper lung zones

were free from opacities. See J.A. 53. The ALJ therefore

should not rely on his statement concerning the number of

physicians who found opacities on remand.

12

count of witnesses, would promote a quantity-over-quality

approach to expert retention, requiring parties to engage in a

race to hire experts to insure victory.”) (internal quotation

and citations omitted).

When an ALJ, in weighing evidence, merely tallies the

quantity of excluded exhibits opposing experts reviewed, just as

when he counts the number of experts on a given side of a

medical dispute, the ALJ fails to consider the merits of the

medical evidence before him. We cannot tell from the ALJ’s

decision how, if at all, the excluded evidence affected the

opinions of either Dr. Renn or Dr. Cohen. Moreover, setting

aside the CT scan interpretations reviewed by Dr. Cohen, it is

clear from the ALJ’s decision that both physicians reviewed the

same number of admissible x-rays. But the ALJ failed to give a

reasoned explanation of how all this evidence affected the

respective medical opinions.

The ALJ thus committed reversible error in failing to

“determine whether either physician actually relied upon, rather

than merely reviewed, evidence which is not in the record.”

J.A. 677. Whether or not Dr. Cohen’s or Dr. Renn’s opinion

finds support in admitted evidence — a question we reserve for

the ALJ — the ALJ failed to provide sufficient explanation for

his acceptance of Dr. Cohen’s opinion and the rejection of Dr.

13

Renn’s. 6 Because this error affected not only the ALJ’s finding

as to the existence of pneumoconiosis but also as to the

existence of total disability, we vacate both conclusions.

Having agreed with the Board’s dissent, we now adopt, in

part, its suggested remand instructions. On remand, the ALJ

should reconsider the opinions of Drs. Renn and Cohen and

determine whether their opinions are based in any material part

on excluded evidence. If the ALJ determines an opinion has

improperly relied on evidence outside the record, he may

consider whether to redact the excluded materials, ask the

physician to submit a new report, evaluate the extent of a

6

The ALJ’s failure to explain why he credited certain

evidence extended beyond his treatment of Drs. Renn and Cohen.

Having reviewed the record, we find the ALJ failed adequately to

explain why he found the opinion of Dr. Mark Wantz to be well-

reasoned. See, e.g., Hicks, 138 F.3d at 532 n.9 (“In weighing

opinions, the ALJ is called upon to consider their quality,

taking into account, among other things, the opinions’ reasoning

and detail of analysis.”) (citation and internal quotations

omitted). Furthermore, in analyzing the opinions of Drs. Jerome

Wiot, Michael Alexander, and Patel, the ALJ appears incorrectly

to have placed controlling weight on which viewpoint, Dempsey’s

or Sewell Coal’s, found more supporters. Moreover, because Dr.

Wiot, like Drs. Alexander and Patel, is a dually qualified

physician, the ALJ’s conclusory statement that dually qualified

physicians’ opinions are entitled to more weight fails to

explain why he gave greater weight to Alexander’s and Patel’s

opinions. While a closer question than that presented with

respect to Drs. Cohen and Renn, we find the ALJ’s evaluation of

the Wantz, Wiot, Alexander, and Patel opinions lacking and

accordingly vacate those determinations. On remand, the ALJ

should consider more explicitly the opinion of Dr. Wantz and

reweigh the opinions of Drs. Wiot, Alexander, and Patel

accordingly.

14

physician’s reliance upon the excluded evidence, or, as a last

resort, exclude the report from the record. Additionally,

before reweighing the opinion evidence described herein, the ALJ

is directed to reconsider more fully the opinion of Dr. Wantz.

The ALJ shall then “reweigh all of the medical opinion evidence

of record and determine whether it supports [] finding[s] of the

existence of pneumoconiosis [and total disability] under

Section[s] 718.202(a)(4) [and 718.204].” J.A. 678.

IV.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the Board’s decision

as to the timeliness of Dempsey’s application and as to the

other issues raised by Sewell Coal Company as reflected in

footnote 1. We vacate the Board’s decision as to the findings

of pneumoconiosis and disability and remand this case for

further proceedings in conformity with this opinion.

AFFIRMED IN PART, VACATED IN PART,

AND REMANDED WITH INSTRUCTIONS

15

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.