Opinion

Brown v. Burnside Terminal

  • 149 F.3d 1178
  • 1998 WL 414266
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jul 13, 1998
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

_______________

No. 96-60752

Summary Calender

_______________

PETER BROWN,

Petitioner-

Cross-Respondent,

VERSUS

BURNSIDE TERMINAL,

A Division of Ormet Corporation,

Respondent-

Cross-Petitioner,

CRAWFORD & COMPANY, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF WORKERS'

COMPENSATION PROGRAMS, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,

Respondents.

_________________________

Petition for Review of an Order

of the Benefits Review Board

(95-1710A)

_________________________

July 10, 1998

Before JONES, SMITH, and STEWART, Circuit Judges.

JERRY E. SMITH, Circuit Judge:*

Peter Brown and his employer, Burnside Terminal (“Burnside”),

*

Pursuant to 5TH CIR. R. 47.5, the court has determined that this opinion

should not be published and is not precedent except under the limited

circumstances set forth in 5TH CIR. R. 47.5.4.

petition for review of an affirmance by the Benefits Review Board

(“BRB”) of a workers' compensaton award by an administrative law

judge (“ALJ”) under the Longshore and Harbor Workers Compensation

Act (“LHWCA”), 33 U.S.C. § 901 et seq. Finding no reversible

error, we deny the petition for review.

I.

Brown, a longshoreman, was injured on July 3, 1990, while

loading barges for Burnside. Attempting to jump onto a barge, he

slipped and ruptured his Achilles tendon and was immediately sent

to the company physician, who referred him to an orthopedic

specialist, Dr. W. Joseph Livingston, who performed surgery on

Brown's ankle and treated him for several months.

In June 1991, Livingston concluded that Brown had reached

“maximum medical improvement,” or “MMI.” He set the date of MMI at

March 7, 1991, finding that, as of that date, Brown had made as

full a recovery as he ever would; thereafter, he would suffer from

a permanent partial disability of five percent to his right leg.

Brown then sought treatment from Dr. Harry Hoerner, who

treated Brown on four occasions: July 2, 1991, July 29, 1991,

September 23, 1991, and November 25, 1991. Although Hoerner

testified that there was no significant improvement in Brown's

condition during the period he had treated him, he set the date of

MMI as his last treatment date, November 25, 1991. Horner also

2

concluded that Brown would suffer from a permanent partial

disability of the foot of between ten and fifteen percent.

II.

A.

The ALJ considered the testimony of both doctors and credited

Livingston's determination of the MMI date as March 7, 1991. The

ALJ also decided that Burnside had successfully rebutted Brown's

prima facie case that Brown was totally disabled. Although Brown

could not return to his former position, there did exist other jobs

within his geographical area that he could obtain given the

permanent partial impairment.

The ALJ thus moved to the schedule of benefits provided under

33 U.S.C. § 908(c) for permanent partial disabilities.

Ascertaining the amount of the permanent partial disability proved

problematic, however. Although the ALJ evidently found Livingston

more credible than Hoerner, he found Livingston's evaluation that

Brown had suffered a five percent leg injury troublesome in light

of the relevant law, as the injury had affected only Brown's calf

and ankle.

Under existing BRB caselaw, an amputation below the knee is

counted as a foot, rather than a leg, injury for purposes of

3

§ 908(c). The ALJ believed this caselaw controlling and therefore

found Livingston's testimony on the percentage of disability

inapposite. With only Hoerner's testimony remaining, the ALJ

averaged Hoerner's estimate of a “ten to fifteen percent”

impairment of the foot to achieve a 12½% impairment, then he

calculated the amount of LHWCA schedule benefits.

B.

Both parties appealed to the BRB, which failed to act within

the statutory time period. See Omnibus Appropriations Act for

Fiscal Year 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-134, 110 Stat. 1321. As a

result, the ALJ’s decision was summarily affirmed. See id.

III.

Both sides now petition for review. Brown contends that

Congress's provision for summary affirmance of long-outstanding BRB

petitions violates his vested due process rights to have BRB review

of his claims. Second, he argues that the ALJ erred in finding

that Burnside had successfully rebutted his prima facie case of

total disability. Finally, he avers that the ALJ erred in

rejecting Hoerner's MMI finding of November 25, 1991.

Burnside cross-petitions, contending that the ALJ incorrectly

adopted Hoerner's finding of a 12½% foot disability. Burnside

also contests the ALJ's award of attorney's fees to Brown.

4

A.

Brown's constitutional argument concerning Congress's

provision for summary affirmance of his BRB petition has recently

been addressed and rejected by this court. See Hall v.

Consolidated Employment Sys., Inc., No. 96-60754, 1998 U.S. App.

LEXIS 8176 (5th Cir. Apr. 24, 1998). We therefore reject Brown's

constitutional challenge.

B.

In reviewing a BRB order, we evaluate the ALJ’s factual

findings under a substantial evidence standard. See, e.g., Ceres

Marine Terminal v. Director, Office of Worker’s Compensation

Programs, 118 F.3d 387, 389 (5th Cir. 1997). Substantial evidence

is that relevant evidenceSSmore than a scintilla but less than a

preponderanceSSthat would cause a reasonable person to accept the

finding of fact. See, e.g., Polanco v. City of Austin, 78 F.3d

968, 974 (5th Cir. 1996). Because the fact-finder is entitled to

deference, a reviewing body cannot substitute its own view of the

facts for the ALJ's. See Ceres, 118 F.3d at 389. Thus, our “only

function is to correct errors of law and to determine if the BRB

. . . deferred to the ALJ’s fact-finding . . . .” Avondale

Shipyards, Inc. v. Vinson, 623 F.2d 1117, 1119 n.1 (5th Cir. 1980);

accord Ceres, 118 F.3d at 389. Because the BRB failed to act in

this case, we look directly to the ALJ proceedings.

5

1.

A claimant, who bears the ultimate proof of showing disability

under the LHWCA, makes a prima facie case of a total disability by

showing that he cannot return to his usual employment because of an

employment-related injury. See New Orleans (Gulfwide) Stevedores

v. Turner, 661 F.2d 1031, 1038 (5th Cir. Unit A Nov. 1981). The

employer then can rebut the prima facie case by showing the

existence of suitable other employment opportunities in the

relevant geographical area for which the claimant can compete. See

id. We assume that Brown has properly made a prima facie case of

total disability.

Although Burnside put forth several other possible positions

for which Brown could compete for employment, Brown contests the

ALJ's adoption of Burnside's evidence, because he believes that the

ALJ failed to give articulable reasons for the basis of his

decision as required under the Administrative Procedures Act

(“APA”). Although the ALJ issued a ten-page, single-spaced order

in which he gave reasons for the rejection of Brown's claim of

total disability, Brown suggests that all of those reasons are

invalid, and thus none remains to support the decision for purposes

of the APA.

We have previously held that the substantial evidence

standard, under which we review an ALJ's LHWCA findings of fact,

was not changed by the APA. See Young & Co. v. Shea, 404 F.2d

6

1059, 1061 (5th Cir. 1968) (on petition for rehearing). The

relevant question, therefore, is whether the evidence is such that

a reasonable person could accept the ALJ's finding that Brown could

compete for the employment positions put forward by Burnside. See

Polanco, 78 F.3d at 974.

The standard of review is met. Although some of the ALJ's

reasons in this regard may, as Brown notes, be irrelevant as a

matter of law, in the end there is enough relevant evidence that a

reasonable fact-finder could conclude that Brown could compete for

the positions put forward by Burnside and thus is not totally

disabled under the LHWCA.1

2.

The ALJ's determination of MMI is also supported by

substantial evidence. The ALJ was entitled to credit Livingston's

testimony and to discredit Hoerner's. Livingston testified that

Brown ceased medical improvement on March 7, 1991. Given the

problematic nature of Hoerner's testimony on this point,2 the ALJ

was well within reason to find March 7, 1991, as the date of MMI.

1

Brown does not attempt to overcome Burnside's rebuttal by, for instance,

contending that he tried unsuccessfully to obtain or hold one of these positions.

2

Hoerner began seeing Brown in July 1991. He testified that there was no

significant improvement in Brown's condition from then until he last treated him

in November 1991. Hoerner's testimony, therefore, undercuts his conclusion that

the November 1991 date was the true date of MMI. More likely, MMI occurred

before Brown began seeing Hoerner in July 1991SSlending credence to Livingston's

conclusion that March 7, 1991, was the date of MMI.

7

3.

We also reject Burnside's cross-petition contesting the ALJ's

finding of a 12½% permanent foot impairment.3 Livingston's

testimony concerning Brown's leg disability was rendered irrelevant

by the applicable BRB caselaw dictating that Brown's was a foot,

rather than a leg, injury. Having only Hoerner's uncontested

testimony concerning the extent of the foot impairment, the ALJ

quite rationally adopted the average of the range of impairment

that Hoerner had provided in his testimony.

4.

Burnside's attorneys' fees challenge is rendered moot by our

decision above. Burnside's argument on this issue depends on its

assumption that Brown would be unsuccessful in obtaining additional

relief from the ALJ and from this court. As we have just

determined that the ALJ did not err in finding that Brown had

suffered a 12½% permanent partial foot disability, we need not

address Burnside's cross-petition on this issue.

The petition and cross-petition for review are DENIED.

3

Burnside does not contest the BRB jurisprudence that dictates that

Brown's injury be counted as a foot rather than a leg injury for purposes of the

LHWCA § 908(c) schedule. Instead, in its brief, it attempts to recharacterize

Livingston's testimony concerning a 5% permanent disability as relating to the

foot rather than to the leg. The ALJ could reasonably decide to take Livingston

at his word and conclude that when the doctor said “leg,” he really meant “leg”

rather than “foot.”

8

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.