Opinion

Opinion

Court
District Court, E.D. California
Filed
Jun 3, 2026
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 41.7%

The opinion

1

2

3

4

5

6 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

7 EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

8

JAIME JESUS VILLA, III,

9 Case No. 1:24-cv-00908-SKO

Plaintiff,

10

v. ORDER ON PLAINTIFF’S SOCIAL

11

SECURITY COMPLAINT

FRANK BISIGNANO,

12 Commissioner of Social Security,1

13 Defendant. (Doc. 1)

14 _____________________________________/

15

16

I. INTRODUCTION

17

18 Plaintiff Jaime Jesus Villa, III (“Plaintiff”) seeks judicial review of a final decision of the

19 Commissioner of Social Security (the “Commissioner” or “Defendant”) denying his application for

20 disability insurance benefits (“DIB”) under the Social Security Act (the “Act”). (Doc. 1.) The matter

21 is currently before the Court on the parties’ briefs, which were submitted, without oral argument, to

22 the Honorable Sheila K. Oberto, United States Magistrate Judge.2

23 II. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

24 Plaintiff was born in 1981, has a college education, and previously worked as an electrician,

25

26 1 On May 6, 2025, Frank Bisignano was appointed the Commissioner of the Social Security Administration. See

https://www.ssa.gov/news/press/releases/2025/#2025-05-07. He is therefore substituted as the defendant in this action.

27 See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (referring to the “Commissioner’s Answer”); 20 C.F.R. § 422.210(d) (“the person holding the

Office of the Commissioner shall, in his official capacity, be the proper defendant”).

28 2 The parties consented to the jurisdiction of a U.S. Magistrate Judge. (See Doc. 8.) On April 13, 2026, this case was

1 drill press operator, and industrial cleaner. (Administrative Record (“AR”) 24–25, 43–44, 128, 903,

2 1042.) Plaintiff filed a claim for DIB payments on January 30, 2019, alleging he became disabled

3 on December 31, 2018, due to depression, psychosis, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD),

4 degenerative disc disease, and hearing loss. (AR 15, 128–29, 141, 1031.)

5 Following a hearing, an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) issued a written decision on March

6 18, 2020, finding Plaintiff not disabled. (AR 15–26.) Plaintiff appealed the decision to the district

7 court. (AR 974–78.) The parties thereafter voluntarily remanded the case for further proceedings.

8 (AR 1009–1010.) On remand, the ALJ held another hearing and issued a new decision dated January

9 11, 2023, once again finding Plaintiff not disabled. (AR 1031–44.)

10 Plaintiff filed exceptions to that decision with the Appeals Council (AR 1309–11), and on

11 April 24, 2023, the Appeals Council remanded the matter to a new ALJ to conduct to take any further

12 action needed to complete the record and issue a new written decision. (AR 1053–54.) The ALJ

13 thereafter held a third hearing and issued a new decision finding Plaintiff not disabled for the third

14 time. (AR 892–905.)

15 A. Relevant Evidence of Record3

16 1. Medical Evidence

17 In August 2018, Plaintiff presented for a telehealth psychotherapy appointment. (AR 627–

18 32.) He endorsed “mood cycling,” “irritability on [a] monthly basis,” and a racing mind “all the

19 time.” (AR 628.) On mental status examination, Plaintiff had a “good sense of humor,” with a

20 “anxious, depressed, congruent” mood; “linear and logical” thought process; “tight” associations;

21 intact memory, attention, and concentration; and no paranoid ideation, delusions, or hallucinations.

22 (AR 629–30.)

23 Plaintiff spoke with his treating psychiatrist in January 2019 about his plans to obtain a

24 master’s degree in social work, how he “feels great” helping homeless veterans, and requested a

25 letter of recommendation. (AR 627.) The psychiatrist noted that Plaintiff’s “mood now sounds

26 good” and that his schoolwork and experience in social work “have all been therapeutic for him.”

27

28 3 Because the parties are familiar with the medical evidence, it is summarized here only to the extent relevant to the

1 (AR 627.)

2 In February 2019, Plaintiff presented for a telehealth psychotherapy appointment. (AR 620–

3 25.) Plaintiff reported he was “doing good,” and his medication (bupropion) is “helping a lot” and

4 “leveled [him] out more.” (AR 621.) Plaintiff further reported he had graduated college with his

5 bachelor’s degree, was accepted to a master’s program, had a girlfriend, had recently obtained a job

6 in marketing, and wished to work because it is “better for [him’ mentally and physically.” (AR 622.)

7 His mental status examination showed an “anxious, depressed, congruent” mood; “linear and

8 logical” thought process; “tight” associations; intact memory, attention, and concentration; and no

9 paranoid ideation, delusions, or hallucinations. (AR 623.)

10 Plaintiff sent his treating psychiatrist a message in July 2019 requesting the completion of

11 disability paperwork. (AR 510.) In the message, Plaintiff reported that he had been taking

12 medication (lithium), and it was “helping with the bipolarism but I still have nightmares and

13 depression severely.” (AR 510.)

14 In January 2020, Plaintiff presented for a “Substance Use Disorder Program.” (AR 844–46.)

15 The provider observed Plaintiff was “alert and oriented,” dressed appropriately and displayed

16 appropriate mannerisms,” his “affect was congruent with body language and statements during

17 encounter,” and he “appeared motivated and engaged in the discussion.” (AR 845.) According to

18 the provider, Plaintiff appeared “motivated for treatment” and “denied active suicidal or homicidal

19 ideation.” (AR 845.)

20 Later that month, Plaintiff presented for a psychological evaluation with consultative

21 examiner Roger A. Izzi, Ph.D. (AR 882–885.) In conducting the examination, Dr. Izzi reviewed

22 “[p]rogress notes from the VA Hospital were reviewed,” which showed his mood is “anxious and

23 depressed” and thought process “linear and logical.” (AR 883.) Plaintiff reported that he attends an

24 online program, keeps medical appointments, does his own laundry, his girlfriend prepares his

25 meals, and he occasionally sees friends. (AR 882.) Dr. Izzi observed that Plaintiff arrived on time

26 for the evaluation and drove himself to the office. (AR 884.) On examination, Plaintiff’s affect

27 “seemed dysphoric.” (AR 884.) His immediate recall was intact, but his delayed memory was

28 limited. (AR 884.) Plaintiff had some difficulty spelling the word “world” backward. (AR 884.)

1 He was able to perform multiplication problems. (AR 884.) There were no gross indications of

2 psychosis, schizophrenia, or hallucinations. (AR 884.) Dr. Izzi noted that Plaintiff “presents with a

3 very complex medical history, which would be best addressed by the appropriate medical specialist.”

4 (AR 885.)

5 2. Opinion Evidence

6 Following his consultative examination in January 2020, Dr. Izzi opined that Plaintiff had

7 moderate limitations in understanding, remembering, and carrying out simple and complex

8 instructions; moderate limitations in his ability to make judgments on simple and complex work-

9 related decisions; and marked limitations in his ability to interact appropriately with coworkers,

10 supervisors, and the public and respond appropriately to usual work situations and changes in a

11 routine work setting. (AR 886–87.) Dr. Izzi noted that his assessment was supported by his “mental

12 status, record review, [and] clinical interview and history.” (AR 887.)

13 3. Plaintiff’s Statement

14 In June 2019, Plaintiff completed a function report. (AR 310–17.) He reported that he takes

15 care of pets with help from his girlfriend, has no problems with personal care, prepares simple meals,

16 performs household chores, drives a car but not by himself, shops in stores, and can handle his own

17 finances. (AR 311–13.)

18 B. Administrative Proceedings

19 The Commissioner denied Plaintiff’s application for benefits initially on August 7, 2019, and

20 again on reconsideration on November 5, 2019. (AR 15, 156–61, 165–71.) Following a hearing, an

21 Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) issued a written decision on March 18, 2020, finding Plaintiff not

22 disabled. (AR 15–26.) Plaintiff appealed the decision to the district court. (AR 974–78.) The

23 parties thereafter voluntarily remanded the case for further proceedings. (AR 1009–1010.) On

24 remand, the ALJ held another hearing and issued a new decision dated January 11, 2023, once again

25 finding Plaintiff not disabled. (AR 1031–44.) Plaintiff filed exceptions to that decision with the

26 Appeals Council (AR 1309–11), and on April 24, 2023, the Appeals Council remanded the matter

27 to a new ALJ to conduct to take any further action needed to complete the record and issue a new

28 written decision. (AR 1053–54.)

1 At the hearings held on October 20, 2022, and April 4, 2024, Plaintiff appeared with counsel

2 and testified before an ALJ as to his alleged disabling conditions. (AR 917–32, 948–64.) Plaintiff

3 testified at those hearings, inter alia, that while taking online college courses, he completed an

4 internship at a mental health clinic, where he regularly interacted with the clinic’s patients, including

5 providing supervision services and maintaining treatment records. (AR 923–25, 951–54.) A

6 vocational expert (VE) also testified at the hearings. (AR 932–37, 964–69.)

7 C. The ALJ’s Decision

8 In a decision dated May 13, 2024, the ALJ found that Plaintiff was not disabled, as defined

9 by the Act. (AR 892–905.) The ALJ conducted the five-step disability analysis set forth in 20 C.F.R.

10 § 404.1520. (AR 894–905.) The ALJ decided that Plaintiff met the insured status requirements of

11 the Act through March 31, 2020, and he had not engaged in substantial gainful activity from

12 December 31, 2018, the alleged onset date, through the date last insured of March 31, 2020 (step

13 one). (AR 895.) At step two, the ALJ found Plaintiff’s following impairments to be severe: major

14 depressive disorder, PTSD, degenerative disc disease, alcoholism, and a spinal disorder. (AR 895.)

15 Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that met or medically equaled

16 one of the listed impairments in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1 (“the Listings”) (step

17 three). (AR 896–98.)

18 The ALJ then assessed Plaintiff’s residual functional capacity (RFC)4 and applied the

19 assessment at steps four and five. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4) (“Before we go from step three

20 to step four, we assess your residual functional capacity . . . . We use this residual functional capacity

21 assessment at both step four and step five when we evaluate your claim at these steps.”). The ALJ

22 determined that Plaintiff had the RFC:

23 to perform light work as defined in 20 CFR [§] 404.1567(b) except he could lift

and carry twenty-five pounds occasionally and ten pounds frequently. He could

24

25 4 RFC is an assessment of an individual’s ability to do sustained work-related physical and mental activities in a work

setting on a regular and continuing basis of 8 hours a day, for 5 days a week, or an equivalent work schedule. TITLES

26 II & XVI: ASSESSING RESIDUAL FUNCTIONAL CAPACITY IN INITIAL CLAIMS, Social Security Ruling (“SSR”) 96-8P

(S.S.A. July 2, 1996). The RFC assessment considers only functional limitations and restrictions that result from an

27 individual’s medically determinable impairment or combination of impairments. Id. “In determining a claimant’s

RFC, an ALJ must consider all relevant evidence in the record including, inter alia, medical records, lay evidence, and

28 ‘the effects of symptoms, including pain, that are reasonably attributed to a medically determinable impairment.’”

1 limitations in sitting. He could frequently stoop, crouch, crawl, and climb ramps

2 and stairs but could not climb ladders and scaffolds. He could frequently reach

overhead. He could perform simple and routine tasks with only routine work-

3 related decision making. He could occasionally do tasks that would require

teamwork. He could follow simple instructions from supervisors. He could have

4 occasional contact with the general public.

5 (AR 898–903.) Although the ALJ recognized that Plaintiff’s impairments “could reasonably be

6 expected to cause the alleged symptoms[,]” the ALJ rejected Plaintiff’s subjective testimony as “not

7 entirely consistent with the medical evidence and other evidence in the record.” (AR 899.)

8 The ALJ determined that Plaintiff could not perform his past work (step four), but that, given

9 his RFC, he retained the capacity to perform a significant number of other jobs in the local and

10 national economies, including housekeeping cleaner, marker, and routing clerk (step five). (AR

11 904–905.) Ultimately, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was not disabled at any time from December

12 31, 2018, the alleged onset date, through March 31, 2020, the date last insured. (AR 905.)

13 Because Plaintiff did not file exceptions, and the Appeals Council did not assume jurisdiction

14 on its own motion, the ALJ’s decision became the final decision of the Commissioner. 20 C.F.R §

15 404.984(d).

16 III. LEGAL STANDARD

17 A. Applicable Law

18 An individual is considered “disabled” for purposes of disability benefits if they are unable

19 “to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or

20 mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected

21 to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A). However,

22 “[a]n individual shall be determined to be under a disability only if [their] physical or mental

23 impairment or impairments are of such severity that [they] are not only unable to do [their] previous

24 work but cannot, considering [their] age, education, and work experience, engage in any other kind

25 of substantial gainful work which exists in the national economy.” Id. § 423(d)(2)(A).

26 “The Social Security Regulations set out a five-step sequential process for determining

27 whether a claimant is disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act.” Tackett v. Apfel, 180

28 F.3d 1094, 1098 (9th Cir. 1999) (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520). The Ninth Circuit has provided the

1 following description of the sequential evaluation analysis:

2

In step one, the ALJ determines whether a claimant is currently engaged in

3 substantial gainful activity. If so, the claimant is not disabled. If not, the ALJ

proceeds to step two and evaluates whether the claimant has a medically severe

4 impairment or combination of impairments. If not, the claimant is not disabled. If

so, the ALJ proceeds to step three and considers whether the impairment or

5 combination of impairments meets or equals a listed impairment under 20 C.F.R. pt.

404, subpt. P, [a]pp. 1. If so, the claimant is automatically presumed disabled. If

6

not, the ALJ proceeds to step four and assesses whether the claimant is capable of

7 performing [their] past relevant work. If so, the claimant is not disabled. If not, the

ALJ proceeds to step five and examines whether the claimant has the [RFC] . . . to

8 perform any other substantial gainful activity in the national economy. If so, the

claimant is not disabled. If not, the claimant is disabled.

9

10 Burch v. Barnhart, 400 F.3d 676, 679 (9th Cir. 2005). “If a claimant is found to be ‘disabled’ or

11 ‘not disabled’ at any step in the sequence, there is no need to consider subsequent steps.” Tackett,

12 180 F.3d at 1098 (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520).

13 “The claimant carries the initial burden of proving a disability in steps one through four of

14 the analysis.” Burch, 400 F.3d at 679 (citing Swenson v. Sullivan, 876 F.2d 683, 687 (9th Cir. 1989)).

15 “However, if a claimant establishes an inability to continue [their] past work, the burden shifts to

16 the Commissioner in step five to show that the claimant can perform other substantial gainful work.”

17 Id. (citing Swenson, 876 F.2d at 687).

18 B. Scope of Review

19 “This court may set aside the Commissioner’s denial of [social security] benefits [only] when

20 the ALJ’s findings are based on legal error or are not supported by substantial evidence in the record

21 as a whole.” Tackett, 180 F.3d at 1097 (citation omitted). “Substantial evidence . . . is ‘more than

22 a mere scintilla,’” and means only “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as

23 adequate to support a conclusion.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1154 (2019) (quoting

24 Consol. Edison Co. v. NLRB, 305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). See also Ford v. Saul, 950 F.3d 1141, 1154

25 (9th Cir. 2020).

26 “This is a highly deferential standard of review . . . .” Valentine v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec.

27 Admin., 574 F.3d 685, 690 (9th Cir. 2009). “The ALJ’s findings will be upheld if supported by

28 inferences reasonably drawn from the record.” Tommasetti v. Astrue, 533 F.3d 1035, 1038 (9th Cir.

1 2008) (citation omitted). Additionally, “[t]he court will uphold the ALJ’s conclusion when the

2 evidence is susceptible to more than one rational interpretation.” Id.; see, e.g., Edlund v. Massanari,

3 253 F.3d 1152, 1156 (9th Cir. 2001) (“If the evidence is susceptible to more than one rational

4 interpretation, the court may not substitute its judgment for that of the Commissioner.” (citations

5 omitted)).

6 Nonetheless, “the Commissioner’s decision ‘cannot be affirmed simply by isolating a

7 specific quantum of supporting evidence.’” Tackett, 180 F.3d at 1098 (quoting Sousa v. Callahan,

8 143 F.3d 1240, 1243 (9th Cir. 1998)). “Rather, a court must ‘consider the record as a whole,

9 weighing both evidence that supports and evidence that detracts from the [Commissioner’s]

10 conclusion.’” Id. (quoting Penny v. Sullivan, 2 F.3d 953, 956 (9th Cir. 1993)).

11 Finally, courts “may not reverse an ALJ’s decision on account of an error that is harmless.”

12 Molina v. Astrue, 674 F.3d 1104, 1111 (9th Cir. 2012) (citing Stout v. Comm’r, Soc. Sec. Admin.,

13 454 F.3d 1050, 1055–56 (9th Cir. 2006)). Harmless error “exists when it is clear from the record

14 that ‘the ALJ’s error was inconsequential to the ultimate nondisability determination.’” Tommasetti,

15 533 F.3d at 1038 (quoting Robbins v. Soc. Sec. Admin., 466 F.3d 880, 885 (9th Cir. 2006)). “[T]he

16 burden of showing that an error is harmful normally falls upon the party attacking the agency’s

17 determination.” Shinseki v. Sanders, 556 U.S. 396, 409 (2009) (citations omitted).

18 IV. DISCUSSION

19 Plaintiff contends that the ALJ erred in their assessment of the medical opinion of

20 consultative examiner Dr. Izzi. (Doc. 12.) The Commissioner responds that the ALJ’s consideration

21 of the medical opinion was proper and supported by substantial evidence. (Doc. 21.) The Court

22 finds no error in the ALJ’s decision and will affirm.

23 A. Legal Standard

24 Plaintiff’s claim for DIB is governed by the agency’s regulations concerning how ALJs must

25 evaluate medical opinions. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c. The regulations set “supportability” and

26 “consistency” as “the most important factors” when determining the opinions’ persuasiveness. 20

27 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(b)(2). And although the regulations eliminate the “physician hierarchy,”

28 deference to specific medical opinions, and assigning “weight” to a medical opinion, the ALJ must

1 still “articulate how [they] considered the medical opinions” and “how persuasive [they] find all of

2 the medical opinions.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(a)–(b).

3 The Ninth Circuit has issued the following guidance regarding treatment of physicians’

4 opinions after implementation of the revised regulations:

5 The revised social security regulations are clearly irreconcilable with our caselaw

according special deference to the opinions of treating and examining physicians on

6

account of their relationship with the claimant. Our requirement that ALJs provide

“specific and legitimate reasons” for rejecting a treating or examining doctor’s

7

opinion, which stems from the special weight given to such opinions is likewise

8 incompatible with the revised regulations. Insisting that ALJs provide a more robust

explanation when discrediting evidence from certain sources necessarily favors the

9 evidence from those sources—contrary to the revised regulations.

10 Woods v. Kijakazi, 32 F.4th 785, 792 (9th Cir. 2022) (internal citations omitted). Accordingly, under

11 the new regulations, “the decision to discredit any medical opinion, must simply be supported by

12 substantial evidence.” Id. at 787.

13 In conjunction with this requirement, “[t]he agency must ‘articulate . . . how persuasive’ it

14 finds ‘all of the medical opinions’ from each doctor or other source, and ‘explain how [it] considered

15 the supportability and consistency factors’ in reaching these findings.” Woods, 32 F.4th at 792

16 (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(b)). “Supportability means the extent to which a medical source

17 supports the medical opinion by explaining the ‘relevant . . . objective medical evidence.’” Id. at

18 791–92 (quoting 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(c)(1)). “Consistency means the extent to which a medical

19 opinion is ‘consistent . . . with the evidence from other medical sources and nonmedical sources in

20 the claim.’” Id. at 792 (quoting 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(c)(2)).

21 As the Ninth Circuit also observed,

22 The revised regulations recognize that a medical source’s relationship with the

claimant is still relevant when assessing the persuasiveness of the source’s opinion.

23 See id. § 404.1520c(c)(3). Thus, an ALJ can still consider the length and purpose

of the treatment relationship, the frequency of examinations, the kinds and extent of

24

examinations that the medical source has performed or ordered from specialists, and

whether the medical source has examined the claimant or merely reviewed the

25

claimant’s records. Id. § 404.1520c(c)(3)(i)–(v). However, the ALJ no longer needs

26 to make specific findings regarding these relationship factors:

27 Woods, 32 F.4th at 792. “A discussion of relationship factors may be appropriate when ‘two or more

28 medical opinions . . . about the same issue are . . . equally well-supported . . . and consistent with the

1 record . . . but are not exactly the same.’” Id. (quoting § 404.1520c(b)(3)). “In that case, the ALJ

2 ‘will articulate how [the agency] considered the other most persuasive factors.’” Id. Finally, if the

3 medical opinion includes evidence on an issue reserved to the Commissioner, the ALJ need not

4 provide an analysis of the evidence in his decision, even in the discussions required by 20 C.F.R. §

5 404.1520c. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520b(c)(3).

6 With these legal standards in mind, the Court reviews the consideration of the medical

7 opinion of Dr. Izzi.

8 B. Analysis

9 Dr. Izzi opined that Plaintiff had marked limitations in his ability to interact appropriately

10 with coworkers, supervisors, and the public and to respond appropriately to usual work situations

11 and changes in a routine work setting. (AR 886–87.) The ALJ determined that Dr. Izzi’s opinion

12 was “unpersuasive” because his examination did “not support” the marked limitations and it was

13 “not consistent” with Plaintiff’s treatment records, his testimony at the hearing, and his function

14 report. (AR 902.) The Court concludes that the ALJ properly evaluated the supportability and

15 consistency of Dr. Izzi’s opinion.

16 1. Supportability

17 Regarding supportability, the ALJ observed that Dr. Izzi’s opined marked limitations were

18 not supported by his consultative examination documenting (1) “dysphoric mood, limited delayed

19 memory, and difficulty with attention and concentration but normal findings otherwise with linear

20 thought process, normal thought content, and intact immediate memory,” (2) that Plaintiff “arrived

21 on time for the evaluation and had no apparent cognitive functioning” impairment, and (3) Plaintiff’s

22 reports that he “has a girlfriend and sees his friends occasionally.” (AR 902.) A lack of support by

23 Dr. Izzi’s own findings, substantiated by the record (see AR 882, 883, 884), was a proper

24 consideration in evaluating the supportability of his opinion. See, e.g., Trezona v. Comm’r of Soc.

25 Sec., No. 1:21-cv-00792-EPG, 2022 WL 1693493, at *3 (E.D. Cal. May 26, 2022); Amanda B. v.

26 Comm’r, Soc. Sec. Admin., No. 1:20-cv-01507-YY, 2022 WL 972408, at *7 (D. Or. Mar. 31, 2022).

27 Plaintiff does not dispute this evidence. Instead, he contends that the ALJ “conflates

28 supportability and consistency into a single rationale,” did not address “what Dr. Izzi utilized as his

1 reasons for assessing such marked limitations,” and is “not qualified to interpret raw medical data in

2 functional terms.” (Doc. 12 at 8–9.) These arguments are without merit.

3 First, although the ALJ did not use the term “supportability,” the ALJ explained that the

4 examination “did not support” the marked limitations found by Dr. Izzi, and substantial evidence

5 exists in the record to uphold that finding. See Kessler v. O’Malley, Case No. 2:23-cv-01416 AC,

6 2024 WL 1908078, at * 7 (E.D. Cal. May 1, 2024) (ALJ’s “failure to use the words consistency and

7 supportability” did not render their review of a medical opinion either legally erroneous or

8 unsupported by substantial evidence). Nor did the ALJ ignore Dr. Izzi’s rationale for his opinion.

9 Dr. Izzi stated that his assessment was based on the “mental status, record review, [and] clinical

10 interview and history.” (AR 887.) The ALJ expressly explained how Plaintiff’s mental status

11 (showing “normal thought content and intact immediate memory,” punctuality to the examination,

12 and “no apparent cognitive functioning” impairment), medical records (documenting “linear thought

13 process”), and the clinical interview and history (reporting Plaintiff “has a girlfriend and sees his

14 friends occasionally”) undermined Dr. Izzi’s opinion that Plaintiff is markedly limited in social

15 interaction and the ability to respond appropriately to usual work situations and changes in a routine

16 work setting. (AR 902.) Finally, the ALJ was entitled to review and interpret this evidence—none

17 of it constituted “raw medical data.” See, e.g., Mills v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 2:13-CV-0899-

18 KJN, 2014 WL 4195012, at *4 (E.D. Cal. Aug. 22, 2014) (finding argument that the ALJ was

19 improperly attempting to “play doctor” lacked merit where the ALJ “carefully analyzed the various

20 medical opinions, treatment records, and plaintiff’s own testimony in formulating an RFC.”).

21 2. Consistency

22 As to consistency, the ALJ found Dr. Izzi’s opinion that Plaintiff is markedly limited in social

23 interaction and the ability to respond appropriately to usual work situations and changes in a routine

24 work setting was inconsistent with the other evidence in the record, including treatment notes,

25 Plaintiff’s hearing testimony, and his function report. (AR 902.) These findings are supported by

26 substantial evidence. Mental status examination results documented stable mood (AR 510, 621,

27 627, 845); “linear and logical” thought process (AR 623, 629); intact memory, attention, and

28 concentration (AR 623 630); and no paranoid ideation, delusions, or hallucinations (AR 623, 630,

1 845).5 See Morgan v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 169 F.3d 595, 600–601 (9th Cir. 1999) (The ALJ

2 may accord an opinion less weight based upon substantial evidence, including “clinical evidence”

3 that the ALJ finds to be conflicting.). The ALJ found that Plaintiff’s hearing testimony similarly

4 undermined the opined marked limitations, as he testified that while taking online college courses,

5 he completed an internship at a mental health clinic, where he regularly interacted with the clinic’s

6 patients, including providing supervision services and maintaining treatment records. (See AR 923–

7 25, 951–54.) Finally, the ALJ noted the inconsistency between Dr. Izzi’s opined marked limitations

8 and Plaintiff’s reported daily activities. Plaintiff stated in his function report that he takes care of

9 pets with help from his girlfriend, has no problems with personal care, prepares simple meals,

10 performs household chores, drives a car but not by himself, shops in stores, and can handle his own

11 finances. (See AR 311–13.) Such degree of daily activities belies marked limitations in Plaintiff’s

12 ability to interact socially and the ability to respond appropriately to usual work situations and

13 changes in a routine work setting. See Morgan, 169 F.3d at 601–603 (upholding ALJ decision

14 discounting doctors’ opinions based in part on the plaintiff’s daily activities). These explanations

15 were, contrary to Plaintiff’s contention (Doc. 12 at 13), adequate to “allow for meaningful review”

16 of the ALJ’s rejection of the marked limitations opined by Dr. Izzi. See Jerome J. C. v. O’Malley,

17 759 F. Supp. 3d 1091, 1108 (E.D. Wash. 2024) (quoting Brown-Hunter v. Colvin, 806 F.3d 487, 492

18 (9th Cir. 2015)).

19 Plaintiff further asserts that the ALJ “isolated portions” and “inaccurately characterized” the

20 record to support their conclusion. (Doc. 12 at 10–12.) Plaintiff is correct that the ALJ must not

21 “cherry-pick” instances of no or low symptomology without considering the context, such as

22 instances of high symptomology. See Reddick v. Chater, 157 F.3d 715, 722-23 (9th Cir. 1998) (an

23 ALJ must not “cherry-pick” certain observations without considering their context); see also Attmore

24 v. Colvin, 827 F.3d 872, 875 (9th Cir. 2016) (quoting Tackett, 180 F.3d at 1098) (the Court “cannot

25 affirm . . . ‘simply by isolating a specific quantum of supporting evidence,’ but ‘must consider the

26 record as a whole, weighing both evidence that supports and evidence that detracts’). The Court

27

5 The ALJ also cited to a treatment note from March 2012, well before the alleged onset date in 2018. (See AR 902

28 (citing AR 716).) The Commissioner acknowledges that this record is not relevant to the disability determination (see

1 does not concur with Plaintiff, however, that the ALJ committed this error. Moreover, Plaintiff does

2 not explain how this error would be consequential to the ALJ’s nondisability determination. See

3 Tommasetti, 533 F.3d at 1038. For example, Plaintiff faults the ALJ for “failing to identify that

4 [Plaintiff] exhibited tight associations” during his mental status examinations. (Doc. 12 at 11.) But

5 exhibiting “tight associations” is indicative of a normal examination. See, e.g., Thoos v. Colvin, No.

6 2:14-CV-02969-AC, 2016 WL 1244269, at *4 (E.D. Cal. Mar. 30, 2016). As such, the notation

7 supports the Commissioner’s—not Plaintiff’s—position. Plaintiff also points out that many of the

8 treatment visits were conducted via “tele health” (Doc. 12 at 11) but does not indicate how that is

9 material to the ALJ’s decision. Cf. Makinzee S. v. O’Malley, No. 4:23-CV-05152-EFS, 2024 WL

10 1716582, at *6 (E.D. Wash. Apr. 22, 2024) (“no inference” that telehealth visits are “inherently less

11 reliable”). Finally, Plaintiff asserts that the ALJ neglected to mention in the decision that Plaintiff’s

12 degrees were completed “online” and with “accommodations (Doc. 12 at 12), but, again, does not

13 explain how this detracts from his testimony that he was “routinely . . . interacting with the patients

14 of the clinic” during his eight-month internship while in college (AR 952).

15 V. CONCLUSION AND ORDER

16 In sum, while the medical record reflects that Plaintiff has some mental limitations, these

17 have been accounted for in the RFC. (See AR 900 (discussing mental impairments and limitations

18 included in the RFC).) It was reasonable for the ALJ to conclude that the further, severe restrictions

19 opined by Dr. Izzi, were unpersuasive considering his own consultative examination and the record

20 as a whole during the relevant period.6 The mere fact that the record could be interpreted differently

21 is of no consequence, as the Court will not second guess the ALJ’s reasonable interpretation—even

22 if the record could give rise to inferences more favorable to Plaintiff.7 See Molina, 674 F.3d at 1110;

23

6 Plaintiff further criticizes the ALJ for “failing to address” his request for a closed period of disability from December

24 31, 2018, to December 20, 2021 (a date after the date last insured of March 31, 2020). (Doc. 12 at 13.) However,

because substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s finding of non-disability for the period of December 31, 2018, through

25 March 31, 2020, Plaintiff was not entitled to the proposed period of closed disability. See Alicia M. v. Comm’r of Soc.

Sec., No. 2:21-CV-00433-REP, 2023 WL 2744135, at *5 (D. Idaho Mar. 31, 2023) (“[T]he ALJ’s conclusion that

26 Plaintiff was not disabled during the relevant time period means that Plaintiff was not entitled to a closed period of

disability at any time during that same period.”). See also Wellington v. Berryhill, 878 F.3d 867, 872 (9th Cir. 2017)

27 (A claimant can qualify for DIB “only if [their] disability begins by [their] date last insured.”).

7 Plaintiff also suggests that the ALJ did not “articulate clear and convincing reasons for rejecting the pain and

28 limitation testimony.” (Doc. 12 at 14.) Other than this stray reference, devoid of any citation to the record, Plaintiff

1 Andrews v. Shalala, 53 F.3d 1035, 1039–40 (9th Cir. 1995) (“The ALJ is responsible for determining

2 credibility, resolving conflicts in medical testimony, and for resolving ambiguities. We must uphold

3 the ALJ’s decision where the evidence is susceptible to more than one rational interpretation.”)

4 (citations omitted). See also Batson v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 359 F.3d 1190, 1198 (9th Cir.

5 2004) (“When the evidence before the ALJ is subject to more than one rational interpretation, [the

6 Court] must defer to the ALJ’s conclusion.”).

7 Accordingly, after consideration of Plaintiff’s and Defendant’s briefs and a thorough review

8 of the record, the Court finds that the ALJ’s decision is supported by substantial evidence and is

9 therefore AFFIRMED. The Clerk of Court is DIRECTED to enter judgment in favor of Defendant

10 Frank Bisignano, Commissioner of Social Security, and against Plaintiff.

11

IT IS SO ORDERED.

12

13 Dated: June 2, 2026 /s/ Sheila K. Oberto .

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25 of Wash. v. Washington, 350 F.3d 925, 929 (9th Cir. 2003) (“When reading [the plaintiff’s] brief, one wonders if [the

plaintiff], in its own version of the ‘spaghetti approach,’ has heaved the entire contents of a pot against the wall in

26 hopes that something would stick. We decline, however, to sort through the noodles in search of [plaintiff’s] claim.”)

(citing United States v. Dunkel, 927 F.2d 955, 956 (7th Cir. 1991) (“A skeletal ‘argument,’ really nothing more than

27 an assertion, does not preserve a claim . . . [j]udges are not like pigs, hunting for truffles buried in briefs.”)). See also

Greenwood v. Fed. Aviation Admin., 28 F.3d 971, 977 (9th Cir. 1994) (“We will not manufacture arguments for an

28 appellant, and a bare assertion does not preserve a claim . . . .”); Hibbs v. Dept. of Hum. Resources, 273 F.3d 844, 873

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.