Opinion

Smith, Paula v. McNeilus Companies

  • 2026 TN WC App. 28
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jun 24, 2026
Status
Published
On the bench
Godkin, Weaver, Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 41.1%

The opinion

FILED

Jun 24, 2026

11:06 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Paula Smith Docket Nos. 2025-50-5373

2025-50-5374

v.

State File Nos. 50279-2025

McNeilus Companies, et al. 51831-2025

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Dale A. Tipps, Judge

Affirmed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee asserts the trial court erred in denying her request

for additional temporary disability and medical benefits. Specifically, she sought

temporary disability benefits from the date payments were terminated to the present,

compensation for underpayment due to an incorrect compensation rate, and an order for

continuing medical treatment. The employer argued it had provided all workers’

compensation benefits to which the employee is entitled. Following a hearing, the trial

court noted that the employer provided authorized medical treatment with a panel physician

and temporary disability benefits until she was released at maximum medical

improvement. The court also found the employee had presented no proof that her weekly

compensation rate was improperly calculated. The trial court declined to award any

additional benefits, and the employee has appealed. Having carefully reviewed the record,

we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding Judge

Timothy W. Conner and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

Paula Smith, employee-appellant, pro se

Neil McIntire, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, McNeilus Companies

Factual and Procedural Background

Paula Smith (“Employee”) alleges that, while working for McNeilus Companies

(“Employer”), she sustained a workplace injury to her left wrist on July 10, 2025, and a

subsequent injury to her right knee on July 28, 2025. Employee was seen at St. Thomas

1

Ascension Urgent Care for initial treatment of both injuries. Regarding her left wrist, the

medical provider diagnosed Employee with “unspecified synovitis and tenosynovitis” of

the wrist and placed her on light-duty work restrictions. Employer accommodated work

restrictions by placing her in a different role at work. On July 23, Employee began

experiencing knee pain while performing her job duties and reported an injury to her right

knee. She returned to St. Thomas Urgent Care for this condition. Following that visit,

during which no new work restrictions were assigned, Employee did not return to work.

Thereafter, Employer provided a panel of orthopedic physicians from which

Employee selected Dr. Timothy Steinagle. Employee first saw Dr. Steinagle on October

23, 2025 for her right knee complaints. Dr. Steinagle ordered an MRI and returned

Employee to work with restrictions. The results of the MRI revealed “[m]ild edema of the

suprapatellar fat pad, suggestive of fat pad impingement syndrome” and “[n]o other

significant internal derangement of the knee.” Thereafter, on December 11, Dr. Steinagle

observed that the right knee MRI showed no evidence of internal derangement or other

abnormalities necessitating further medical treatment, and he placed Employee at

maximum medical improvement (“MMI”). A Worklink report noted “[n]o follow-up

required,” but Dr. Steinagle did not refuse to see Employee again. Following Employee’s

placement at MMI, Employer discontinued temporary disability benefits. 1

Thereafter, Employee sought an order for continuing medical treatment in the form

of physical therapy for her knee, as well as continuing temporary disability benefits.

Employee also contended that her compensation rate was incorrectly calculated and sought

a penalty for delayed payment of certain temporary disability benefits.

During the April 7, 2026 expedited hearing, Employee testified that she still had

pain in her right knee and that Employer had denied her request to see a different provider.

Employee testified she experienced problems receiving timely care, including having not

been provided a panel of physicians timely, and she asserted that she was still in need of

physical therapy for her knee. She further testified that her wrist injury was partially

denied, resulting in her receiving bills from medical providers for care she received for this

injury. Employee also testified that her temporary disability benefits were not paid timely,

resulting in financial hardship, and that her compensation rate had not been calculated

correctly.

In its April 13, 2026 order, the trial court noted that the records of Employee’s

disability payments reflect that the first check was issued to Employee on August 21 for

four weeks of benefits beginning on July 28, or the date she reported the knee injury. The

court observed that Employer missed another payment, which it made up one week later.

Once direct deposit was arranged, there were no more problems with the timely payment

of disability benefits. With respect to Employee’s contention that she is entitled to

1

Employee indicated that her wrist symptoms have resolved.

2

additional medical care, the court noted that Employee selected Dr. Steinagle from a panel

of physicians and that Employer authorized treatment with him until he placed her at MMI.

The court found that, in the absence of any contrary medical opinions submitted by

Employee, she was not likely to prevail at trial in establishing her entitlement to additional

medical benefits at this stage of the case. Similarly, the court determined that because

Employee offered no evidence of an additional period of disability that would entitle her

to additional temporary disability benefits or to payment of benefits at an adjusted

compensation rate, she was not entitled to additional disability payments. Employee has

appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2025). When the trial judge has had the opportunity

to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable

deference to credibility determinations made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp.

of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “when it comes to deposition

testimony, an appellate panel is in the same position as the trial court to make credibility

determinations.” Edwards v. Peoplease, LLC, No. W2024-01034-SC-R3-WC, 2025 Tenn.

LEXIS 514, at *18 (Tenn. Dec. 22, 2025). Thus, when medical proof is presented by

deposition, “the reviewing court may draw its own conclusions about the weight and

credibility of the expert testimony.” Id. Moreover, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2025).

Analysis

In her notice of appeal, Employee contends the trial court applied an incorrect legal

standard, selectively admitted evidence, failed to rule on pending motions, and erred in

according the authorized treating physician a presumption of correctness in light of

objective radiological evidence contradicting the MMI determination. In response,

Employer asserts the trial court correctly decided issues of admissibility, gave appropriate

weight to Dr. Steinagle’s opinion as the authorized treating physician, and correctly denied

Employee’s request for resumption of temporary disability benefits after she was placed at

MMI.

3

Introduction of Evidence at Expedited Hearings

As an initial matter, it is a well-settled principle that the employee in a workers’

compensation case bears the burden of proving all essential elements of her claim, even at

an interlocutory stage of the case. See Scott v. Integrity Staffing Solutions, No. 2015-05-

0055, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 24, at *6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd.

Aug. 18, 2015). Although an employee need only prove a likelihood of prevailing at trial

to secure benefits at an interlocutory hearing, “this lesser evidentiary standard . . . does not

relieve an employee of the burden of [production] at an expedited hearing.” Buchanan v.

Carlex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). Here, it was Employee’s burden to

come forward with sufficient evidence to convince the court she is likely to prevail at trial

in proving entitlement to additional temporary disability and/or medical benefits

In her brief on appeal, Employee argues that the court “changed the operative

evidentiary rules” during the hearing by admitting certain evidence and denying other

documents. Employee asserts this, in effect, resulted in her having to re-prove her case,

even though a record was already created, without fair advance notice. Employee further

argues that the trial court “refus[ed] to meaningfully consider the preserved record [she]

spent months building,” asserting that she followed the procedures set out in Tenn. Comp.

R. and Regs 0800-02-21-.15 for requesting a hearing and presenting certain documents and

evidence for the court’s consideration.

Specifically, the rule Employee cited establishes a time frame within which

documentary evidence must be filed with the court, and it cautions that “[e]vidence or

witnesses not disclosed in accordance with this rule, except for witnesses or evidence

intended for impeachment or rebuttal purposes, will not be considered unless good cause

is shown for why the evidence/witness was not timely disclosed.” In response to

Employee’s arguments, Employer asserts the burden is on the parties to review all prior

pleadings and other filings to identify which documents they want considered as

“evidence” for purposes of the expedited hearing. Here, the trial court considered the

opinions and medical records of Dr. Steinagle regarding diagnosis, causation, and MMI.

Employee offered no admissible evidence contrary to his opinions and the court sustained

Employer’s hearsay and foundational objections when she attempted to introduce certain

documents into evidence.

Employee also asserts Employer’s documents “had not been timely disclosed.”

However, our review of the record supports Employer’s contention that all documents

offered into evidence at the hearing were timely filed with the court on March 25, 2025,

thirteen days before the April 7 expedited hearing. In addition, we disagree with

Employee’s contention that Employer “was allowed broader latitude in framing the case

and cross-examining” Employee or that the court demonstrated an “asymetri[c]al”

approach to evidentiary decisions. In short, Employee claims she was treated unfairly. We

4

respectfully disagree. As noted above, Employee had the burden of proving all essential

elements of her claim. She and she alone had the burden to offer admissible evidence that

established her entitlement to additional benefits. Employer had no such burden under the

circumstances of this case. We find no evidence in this record that the trial court departed

from established rules, improperly admitted or excluded evidence, or placed any unfair

burden on Employee.

Self-represented litigants must be held to the same standards as represented parties.

Whitaker v. Whirlpool Corp., 32 S.W.3d 222, 227 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2000). As explained by

the Tennessee Court of Appeals:

The courts should take into account that many pro se litigants have no legal

training and little familiarity with the judicial system. However, the courts

must also be mindful of the boundary between fairness to a pro se litigant

and unfairness to the pro se litigant’s adversary. Thus, the courts must not

excuse pro se litigants from complying with the same substantive and

procedural rules that represented parties are expected to observe. . . . Pro se

litigants should not be permitted to shift the burden of the litigation to the

courts or to their adversaries.

Hessmer v. Hessmer, 138 S.W.3d 901, 903-04 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2003) (citations omitted)

(emphasis added). Self-represented litigants, just like represented litigants, must present

admissible evidence to support their claims, and the trial court is tasked with considering

objections raised by the opposing party concerning the admissibility of evidence. Although

Employee may have filed what she considered a compelling record in her case, those

documents must still meet the evidentiary standards set out in the Tennessee Rules of

Evidence for the trial court to consider them. Filing the records with the court prior to the

hearing is not the same as having them admitted into evidence during the hearing, which

the trial court explained at the expedited hearing. In short, our review of the record reveals

no errors by the trial court in its evidentiary decisions. 2

Consideration of Medical Evidence

Employee next contends that Dr. Steinagle’s conclusions regarding the absence of

objective evidence of a work-related injury and his MMI determination are inconsistent

with the radiologist’s interpretation of diagnostic imaging. However, Employee has

offered no countervailing medical opinions in support of her argument. The trial court

correctly noted that, given his status as the authorized physician, Dr. Steinagle’s medical

opinion was entitled to a presumption of correctness pursuant to Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-102(12)(E), and it determined Employee had “presented no

2

Given the interlocutory nature of the trial court’s order, Employee is not foreclosed from offering proof

in an admissible form at any subsequent hearing.

5

medical opinions to challenge his conclusions or overcome that presumption.” As we have

previously observed, “parties and their lawyers cannot rely solely on their own medical

interpretations of the evidence to successfully support their arguments.” Lurz v. Int’l Paper

Co., No. 2015-02-0462, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 8, at *17 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. App. Bd. Feb. 14, 2018). We agree with the trial court that, without countervailing

medical proof, the only medical evidence in the record addressing whether Employee

suffered a work-related injury or reached MMI is that of Dr. Steinagle. Temporary

disability benefits terminate upon, among other things, the occurrence of MMI. See, e.g.,

Jones v. Crencor Leasing and Sales, No. 2015-06-0332, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 48, at *7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 11, 2015). Consequently,

Employee’s request for additional medical and temporary disability benefits must fail

because she provided no expert medical opinions in support of her claim for additional

benefits at this time. 3

Finally, Employee conceded at the expedited hearing that she had no evidence that

Employer had erroneously calculated her compensation rate. Thus, we consider this issue

to have been waived.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

3

We emphasize, however, that Employee remains entitled to reasonable and necessary medical treatment

arising primarily from her alleged work accidents, and Dr. Steinagle remains her authorized treating

physician. We hold only that Employee has not come forward with sufficient evidence at this interlocutory

stage of the case to show that she is entitled to any specific medical treatment at this time in the absence of

an expert medical opinion supporting the medical necessity for any such treatment.

6

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.