Opinion

Simmons, David v. Konrad Construction

  • 2026 TN WC App. 25
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jun 2, 2026
Status
Published
On the bench
Godkin, Conner, Weaver
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 40.8%

“In the absence of a transcript or statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

How later courts described this case

  • “In the absence of a transcript or statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

FILED

Jun 02, 2026

01:21 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

David Simmons Docket No. 2025-80-6051

v. State File No. 860301-2025

Konrad Construction, et al.

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Allen Phillips, Judge

Affirmed and Remanded

This interlocutory appeal involves an employee’s request for medical and temporary

disability benefits after he injured fingers on his right hand while working as a welder for

the employer. Following the accident, he was provided authorized medical treatment and

was able to return to work. Although he was laid off from the welding position at the end

of the contract period, he was allowed to work with another team on the same project until

a new welding project started with a different employer. In its expedited hearing order, the

trial court determined the employee’s testimony regarding his alleged inability to work

after the accident was not credible, noting, in part, that the record contained no evidence of

work restrictions related to his injuries. The court therefore denied the employee’s request

for temporary disability benefits but found the employee remained entitled to ongoing

medical treatment for his compensable injuries with the authorized provider. The

employee has appealed. Having carefully reviewed the record, we affirm the trial court’s

order and remand the case.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding Judge

Timothy W. Conner and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

David Simmons, employee-appellant, pro se

Richard R. Clark, Jr., Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Konrad

Construction

1

Factual and Procedural Background

On August 11, 2025, David Simmons (“Employee”) was working as a welder for

Konrad Construction (“Employer”) when a co-worker accidentally dropped a bundle of

steel on his right hand, resulting in lacerations to his middle and ring fingers. Employee’s

supervisor drove him to People First Urgent & Primary Care (“People First”) where

Physician’s Assistant Vivek Lakha saw him and sutured the lacerations. Employee was

instructed to return in ten days for suture removal and was given work restrictions “until

reassessment, including no heavy lifting or activities that [would] risk wound opening.”

Employee testified that, after returning to restricted duty work, his symptoms

worsened and he had difficulty performing tasks. On August 22, Employee returned to

People First where Dr. Hamad Ahmad removed his sutures. The records from that visit

reflect no “known active problems.” Employee was instructed to keep adhesive strips on

the wound for approximately five days, to keep the area clean and dry, and to use sun

protection. No work restrictions were assigned.

On September 3, Nicholas Keller, Employer’s Chief People Officer, texted

Employee that his welding contract was ending and that Employee would be laid off when

it expired. Employee indicated he had a new welding job arranged with a different

company and requested to work with the “construction guys” until his new job began, and

Employer agreed. The record reflects that Employee worked for Employer through

September 12. Employer contends that Employee never asked to return to People First

during the remainder of his employment and that it accommodated Employee when he said

he was unable to work. Employee filed a petition for benefit determination on September

23 seeking additional medical benefits and temporary disability benefits.

In November 2025, Employee returned to People First for problems with “[right]

hand function” as well as right arm/neck pain. He reported to Dr. Ahmad that his current

job required “heavy work” that aggravated his symptoms. Employee was concerned that

his hand was not healing properly and “is seeking further evaluation and management.”

Dr. Ahmad diagnosed Employee with cervical radiculopathy but, in response to a

questionnaire sent by Employer in February 2026, opined that the cervical condition was

not more than 50% caused by his employment with Employer. Dr. Ahmad also clarified

that although Employee initially had temporary light duty restrictions of “no heavy lifting”

post-injury, he had no work restrictions as of the date of his suture removal on August 22.

Thereafter, Employee filed a request for an expedited hearing. At the March 10,

2026 hearing, Employee testified that he worked for Employer post-injury but was seeking

past temporary disability benefits for his reduced hours and for his alleged current inability

2

to work. 1 On cross-examination, Employee was questioned about text messages he sent to

Mr. Keller in which he indicated he had secured a new welding job even though he testified

he was unable to obtain other employment because of his injuries. Employee was also

questioned about a LinkedIn profile with his photograph stating that he worked as a welder

from “Sep[tember] 2025 [to] Present.” In response, Employee denied the name “Davo

Simmons” as reflected on that LinkedIn page referred to him.

Jeremy Bellagraph, Employee’s supervisor, testified on behalf of Employer and

stated that he helped Employee obtain paid time off after Employee asked for help with his

lost hours. Mr. Keller identified an exchange of text messages with Employee and stated

it was his understanding that Employee was to begin a new job after his layoff. He

confirmed that Employer had no light duty work available; however, Employee had been

able to work with the construction crew on the same project for a period of time after he

was laid off and had been paid his normal wage for that work.

In its order denying benefits, the court determined Employee’s testimony was not

credible, describing it as “flippant . . . unconvincing, off-putting, and replete with

inconsistencies.” It noted Employee had denied receiving a particular text message from

Mr. Keller, which it found “implausible” given that Employee had replied to the message.

The court also noted that the moniker “Davo” in the LinkedIn page is consistent with how

Employee identified himself in the email address listed on his petition for workers’

compensation benefits. Further, the court emphasized that the record contained no

evidence of any work restrictions related to the work accident. Accordingly, it concluded

that Employee did not come forward with sufficient evidence to indicate he is likely to

prevail at trial in proving his entitlement to temporary disability benefits. However, the

court determined he was entitled to ongoing medical treatment for his finger injuries with

Dr. Ahmad, the authorized treating physician. Employee has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2025). When the trial judge has had the opportunity

to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable

deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn.,

Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “when it comes to deposition

testimony, an appellate panel is in the same position as the trial court to make credibility

determinations.” Edwards v. Peoplease, LLC, No. W2024-01034-SC-R3-WC, 2025 Tenn.

LEXIS 514, at *18 (Tenn. Dec. 22, 2025). Thus, when medical proof is presented by

deposition, “the reviewing court may draw its own conclusions about the weight and

1

There is no transcript of the hearing or statement of evidence included in the record; as a result, we glean

this factual information from the record and the trial court’s order.

3

credibility of the expert testimony.” Id. Moreover, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2025).

Analysis

In his notice of appeal, Employee provides a summary of his claim and asserts that

(1) certain evidence was not produced in discovery and, therefore, should have been

inadmissible at the expedited hearing; (2) there were defects and/or evidentiary issues with

the medical proof; (3) his statutory medical rights were violated; and (4) the court

mischaracterized the medical evidence. Employer responds that the trial court did not err

in its denial and that Employee’s appeal is frivolous.

Initially, we note that neither party filed a transcript of the hearing or provided a

statement of the evidence. In the absence of a transcript or statement of the evidence, “the

totality of the evidence introduced in the trial court is unknown, and we decline to speculate

as to the nature and extent of the proof presented to the trial court.” Meier v. Lowe’s Home

Centers, Inc., No. 2015-02-0179, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 30, at *3 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. July 27, 2016). Consistent with established Tennessee law, we

must presume that the trial court’s factual findings were supported by sufficient evidence.

See, e.g., Estate of Cockrill, No. M2010-00663-COA-R3-CV, 2010 Tenn. App. LEXIS

754, at *11-12 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 2, 2010) (“[W]here no transcript or statement of the

evidence is filed, the appellate court is required to presume that the record, had it been

properly preserved, would have supported the action of the trial court.”); Leek v. Powell,

884 S.W.2d 118, 121 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1994) (“In the absence of a transcript or statement

of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the

pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”).

The trial court also determined Employee’s testimony was not credible. As we have

previously explained, “When the trial court has heard in-court testimony, considerable

deference must be afforded in reviewing the trial court’s findings of credibility and

assessment of the weight to be given to that testimony.” Sirkin v. Trans Carriers, Inc., No.

2015-08-0292, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 22, at *8-9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp.

App. Bd. May 9, 2016) (quoting Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn.

2008)). “Appellate courts will not re-evaluate a trial judge’s assessment of witness

credibility absent clear and convincing evidence to the contrary. In order for evidence to

be clear and convincing, it must eliminate any serious or substantial doubt about the

correctness of the conclusions drawn from the evidence.” Hernandez v. Jones Fiber

Products, LLC, No. 2019-02-0046, 2020 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 72, at *18-19

4

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 28, 2020) (quoting Kelly v. Kelly, 445 S.W.3d 685,

692-93 (Tenn. 2014)). The trial court in this case identified inconsistencies in Employee’s

testimony, his medical records, and communications with Employer, copies of which were

admitted into evidence, before concluding that his testimony was not credible. Employee

has presented no evidence, much less clear and convincing evidence, that the trial court’s

credibility determinations were in error.

In Employee’s briefs on appeal, he alleges a myriad of issues with the trial court’s

order, including “omissions in the record” and Employer’s failure to provide “any

meaningful ongoing [medical] evaluation or treatment for a compensable injury.”

Employee also asserts that the finding that he has no work restrictions is “unsupported by

the record.” The record before us is limited and, as noted above, we have not been provided

with a transcript of the hearing. However, a review of the record on appeal does not reveal

“omissions” that would constitute error on the part of the trial court in support of its order.

The record also contains no evidence that Employee was assigned ongoing work

restrictions by any authorized medical provider after his sutures were removed. Moreover,

we note that the trial court ordered ongoing medical treatment for Employee’s finger

lacerations with the authorized treating provider. 2 Accordingly, we find no evidence to

support a finding that the trial court erred in any of its determinations.

Turning to Employer’s request that we deem Employee’s appeal frivolous, we note

that a frivolous appeal is one that is devoid of merit or brought solely for delay. See

Yarbrough v. Protective Servs. Co., Inc., No. 2015-08-0574, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App.

Bd. LEXIS 3, at *11 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 25, 2016); see also Burnette v.

WestRock, No. 2016-01-0670, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 66, at *15 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Oct. 31, 2017). “[P]arties should not be required to endure the

hassle and expense of baseless litigation. Nor should appellate courts be required to waste

time and resources on appeals that have no realistic chance of success.” Id. at *10-11

(internal citations omitted). Although we conclude this appeal is without merit, we exercise

our discretion not to award fees or costs under the circumstances presented in this case.

See Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.09(4) (2023).

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Costs on appeal have been waived.

2

Employee asserts that certain evidence is inadmissible because it was not disclosed in discovery. Once

again, because there is no transcript of the hearing and no indication in the court’s order that any evidentiary

objection was lodged by Employee during the hearing for consideration by the trial court, we decline to

address this issue in the first instance on appeal.

5

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.