“The central purpose of ERISA is to protect beneficiaries of employee benefits plans, . . . and private actions by beneficiaries seeking in good faith to secure their rights under employee benefit plans are important mechanisms for furthering ERISA’s remedial purpose.”
How later courts described this case
- “The central purpose of ERISA is to protect beneficiaries of employee benefits plans, . . . and private actions by beneficiaries seeking in good faith to secure their rights under employee benefit plans are important mechanisms for furthering ERISA’s remedial purpose.”
- “A post hoc attempt to furnish a rationale for a denial of . . . benefits in order to avoid reversal on appeal, and thus meaningful review, is not acceptable.”
- ERISA regulations require plan administrator to provide claimant with specific reasons for denial of claim, and insurer may not “hold that basis in reserve” until litigation
- “The reason for this rule is apparent[:] we will not permit ERISA claimants denied the timely and specific explanation to which the law entitles them to be sandbagged by after-the-fact plan interpretations devised for purposes of litigation.”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
ANGELIKA NABI,
Plaintiff,
-V- 1:23-CV-00844-HKS
PROVIDENT LIFE AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE COMPANY.,
Defendant.
FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
Plaintiff Angelika Nabi (“Nabi”) brought this action against defendant
Provident Life and Casualty Insurance Company (“Provident”) to recover long-term
disability benefits, alleging that Provident violated the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B). Dkt. #1."
In accordance with 28 U.S.C. § 636(c), the parties consented to have the
undersigned conduct all further proceedings in this case, including entry of final
judgment. Dkt. #15.
On June 30, 2025, the Court entered a Decision and Order denying the
parties’ dispositive motions on the grounds that genuine issues of material fact existed as
1 The parties agree that the plan at issue is covered by ERISA.
~1~
to whether Nabi filed her claim for benefits “as soon as reasonably possible” under
relevant provisions of the Provident policy. Dkt. #40.
On December 3, 2025, the Court held a bench trial and, on February 12,
2026, the parties filed proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law. Dkt. ##80, 81.
For the reasons explained below, the Court concludes that Nabi has proven by a
preponderance of the evidence that she is entitled to long-term disability benefits under
the Provident policy with a disability onset date of December 31, 2009.
FINDINGS OF FACT2
Following a bench trial conducted in an ERISA case such as this, “the
district court must find the facts specially” and “judge the credibility of witnesses.” Connors
v. Connecticut Gen. Life Ins. Co., 272 F.3d 127, 135 (2d. Cir. 2001) (citations and internal
quotation marks omitted). The Court thus sets forth its factual findings based on the
administrative record, as well as the bench trial testimony, in the numbered paragraphs
below.3
2 The transcript of the bench trial is found at Docket Entry #75. In addition, the parties stipulated
to the admission of joint exhibits. Dkt. #73. These exhibits, which were submitted to the Court in
paper form for purposes of the bench trial, encompass the administrative record previously filed
in the record. Dkt. #29. The Court will thus cite to the ECF page numbers.
3 “To the extent that any finding of fact reflects a legal conclusion, it shall to that extent be deemed
a conclusion of law, and vice versa.” Khan v. Provident Life and Accident Ins. Co., 386 F. Supp.3d
251, 254 (W.D.N.Y. 2019) (citation omitted).
The Provident Insurance Policy 4
1. At all relevant times leading up to the events at issue in this case, Nabi was
employed as the office manager of her husband’s medical practice, ENT Medical
Associates (“ENT”). Dkt. #29-2, p. 645; Dkt. #75, p. 13.
2. Nabi’s job duties included general office work, checking all correspondence,
payroll, communications to other doctor’s offices, paying office bills, maintaining bank
accounts, and checking office supplies. Dkt. #29-2, p. 645.
3. The cognitive demands of her job included meeting deadlines, attention to
detail, day-to-day contact with others, and making independent decisions. Dkt. #29-2,
p. 646.
4. Through her employment, Nabi obtained a policy of disability benefits under
an employee welfare benefit plan maintained by ENT with Provident. Dkt. #29, pp. 1-22.
The policy provides disability insurance income to the policyholder upon the occurrence
of “total disability.” Dkt. #29, p. 5.
5. “Total disability” is defined, in relevant part, as when the employee, due to
injury or sickness, is unable to perform the substantial and material duties of her
occupation and is receiving appropriate care for that condition from a physician. Dkt. #29,
p. 7.
4 The parties stipulated at the bench trial that any references to Unum, Provident’s parent
company, would be treated as references to Provident. Dkt. #75, p. 4.
6. The policy provides different maximum benefits periods depending on the
age of the employee when she becomes disabled, and it also states that after the
policyholder has been totally disabled for 90 days during a period of disability, any
premiums which were due and paid by the policyholder will be refunded, and payment of
premiums during the period of total disability is waived. Dkt. #29, p. 9.
7. In a provision titled “Notice of Claim,” the policy states: “Written notice of
claim must be given within 20 days after a covered loss starts or as soon as reasonably
possible.” Dkt. #29, p. 12 (emphasis added).
8. Under a section titled “Claim Forms,” the policy states: “When we receive
your notice of claim, we will send you claim forms for filing proof of loss.” Dkt. #29, p. 12.
It further states, “You must give us this proof within the time set forth in the Proof of Loss
section.” Id.
9. The “Proof of Loss” section states, in relevant part, that the policyholder
then must provide proof of loss within 90 days “after the end of each period for which we
are liable,” unless it was not reasonably possible for the policyholder to do so, in which
case the proof of loss must be furnished no later than one year after the 90 days unless
the policyholder is legally unable to do so. Dkt. #29, pp. 12-13.
10. Coverage under this policy was guaranteed to the employee until age 65,
at which time a conditional right of renewal attached. Dkt. #29, p. 3. The employee was
entitled to renew the policy at age 65 so long as she was “actively and gainfully working
full time,” unless she had stopped working due to “total disability.” Dkt. #29, p. 11.
11. Nabi’s date of birth is September 5, 1952. Dkt. #29-2, p. 88. Therefore, she
turned 65 on September 5, 2017.
Nabi’s Brain Cancer Diagnosis and Testimony About Her Treatment
12. In August of 2003, Nabi was seen by Dr. Gregory Castiglia after having a
seizure. Dkt. #75, pp. 12-13. Dr. Castiglia is a board-certified neurosurgeon with the State
University of New York at the Buffalo Department of Neurosurgery. Dkt. #75, pp. 5-7.
13. After a lesion found in Nabi’s brain was biopsied, she was diagnosed with
Glioblastoma Multiforme (“GBM”), a type of brain cancer. Dkt. #75, p. 13.
14. Dr. Castiglia testified that a glioblastoma is the most aggressive form of
brain tumors and that patients who are diagnosed with GBM typically have a survival rate
of 6 to 12 months. Dkt. #75, pp. 9-10.
15. Treatment for GBM begins with surgical removal of any visible tumor, but
because GBM tumors—called “spider” tumors—extend into surrounding tissues, the
patients are also treated with a combination of chemotherapy and radiation. Dkt. #75, p.
11. With such aggressive treatment, a patient’s life span may be extended to 2 or 3 years.
Dkt. #75, p. 12.
16. GBM tumors are often very advanced when they are discovered, and
patients often succumb to the disease because treatment cannot improve their outcome
without severely devastating their neurologic functioning. Id.
17. Following Nabi’s diagnosis, Dr. Castiglia performed surgery for a gross total
resection of the lesion in Nabi’s right temporal lobe area. Dkt. #75, pp. 15-16. Dr. Castiglia
testified that he did not believe that the surgery removed 100% of the tumor cells in Nabi’s
brain. Dkt. #75, p. 17.
18. Thereafter, Nabi was referred to a neurooncologist and she underwent
chemotherapy and whole-brain radiation. Dkt. #75, p. 15. Because Nabi’s diagnosis was
considered terminal, she was given a higher-than-normal dose of radiation. Dkt. #75, p.
20.
19. Dr. Castiglia testified that the brain is very sensitive to radiation, and
radiation can cause side-effects such as radiation necrosis, where parts of the brain lose
their blood supply and become necrotic. Dkt. #75, p. 17. The side effects of whole-brain
radiation can also cause mental status changes. Dkt. #75, pp. 17-18.
20. Side effects of whole-brain radiation often manifest months or years after
the radiation has been completed. Dkt. #75, p. 19. However, because most GBM patients
do not live very long, they die before such side effects appear. Dkt. #75, p. 20.
21. Dr. Castiglia has treated very few GBM patients who have survived more
than two decades. Dkt. #75, p. 21.
22. Dr. Castiglia testified that he has treated Nabi continuously from the time of
her diagnosis in 2003 until the present. Dkt. #75, pp. 22, 27. He further testified that she
developed a gradual inability to perform her managerial tasks at work and would make
errors. Dkt. #75, p. 23. He also observed that there was a change in her personality and
her ability to remember events that had taken place. Id.
23. Dr. Castiglia explained that the change in Nabi’s level of functioning was
subtle and progressive, and that there were changes in her mood and behavior: “[T]his is
a lady who was very confident and became much more withdrawn over the course of
several years of treatment.” Dkt. #75, p. 30. He testified that it became evident that she
was not going to be able to continue functioning in her job. Dkt. #75, p. 31.
24. Dr. Castiglia also testified that he bases his assessment of his patients’
cognitive status on his personal interactions with them, as well as input from their family
members. Dkt. #75, pp. 25-27. He also testified that long-term cognitive function impacts
following radiation treatment to the brain are seen in patients who survive for long periods
of time. Dkt. #75, p. 27.
25. Next, Dr. Castiglia testified that early on in his treatment of Nabi, he would
see her every six weeks, and then every three months. Dkt. #75, p. 28. After two or three
years, he would see her every six months with repeat imaging studies, and then once a
year thereafter. Id.
26. Dr. Castiglia was asked about records of Nabi’s evaluations by Dr. Laszlo
Mechtler (“Dr. Mechtler”), her neurooncologist. Dkt. #75, p. 32. Dr. Castiglia explained that
these records reflect that Dr. Mechtler assessed, based on MRIs going back to 2009, that
Nabi had progressive “ventriculomegaly,” which is the retention of cerebral spinal fluid in
the ventricles of the brain which, under normal circumstances, is absorbed into the body.
Dkt. #75, p. 33. The result is that the fluid sacs in the brain enlarge, creating tension on
the neuron tracts that cross the ventricles. Id. The distention of the major tract, the corpus
callosum, is often associated with cognitive issues, gait disturbances, and incontinence.
Id. It is often a side effect of radiation to the brain. Dkt. #75, pp. 33-34.
27. Dr. Castiglia testified that these records reflect objective visual findings of
changes to Nabi’s brain that were visible in 2009. Dkt. #75, p. 35.
28. Dr. Castiglia testified that Nabi was hospitalized following a possible seizure
in June of 2020 and, because of the progressive changes in her mental status, he
recommended that she undergo surgery for the placement of a shunt in her brain to
remove some of the fluid and attempt to reverse some of the symptoms she was
experiencing. Dkt. #75, pp. 35-37.
29. Dr. Castiglia further testified that, by the time he was informed that Nabi was
going to stop working completely, he believed that her cognitive and executive functions
had been impaired due to the accumulated radiation and chemotherapy treatments. Dkt.
#75, p. 38.
30. Dr. Castiglia also testified that, at the time he learned that Nabi was going
to quit working, it would have been outside of her mental processing ability to read and
understand the terms of her insurance policy. Dkt. #75, p. 39. He based this opinion on
his years treating her and the changes he had seen since her diagnosis. Id.
31. On cross-examination, Dr. Castiglia testified that he did not know whether
any physical impairments also played a role in Nabi’s decision to stop working in 2009.
Dkt. #75, p. 46. Regarding her cognition, Dr. Castiglia testified that he has known Nabi
for many years and “can tell when something’s not right.” Dkt. #75, p. 49.
32. When asked if he ever observed any radiation necrosis on the MRIs of
Nabi’s brain, Dr. Castiglia testified that necrosis will not always show on MRIs, but rather
it is a pathological diagnosis that is confirmed by a biopsy of brain tissue, but they did not
decide to do that with Nabi. Dkt. #75, p. 51.
33. Dr. Castiglia also testified that, prior to performing surgeries on Nabi, he
obtained her informed consent “in consultation with her family” upon whom she relied
heavily. Dkt. #75, p. 55.
34. When shown records of Nabi’s office visits with Dr. Mechtler in 2016, 2017,
2019, and 2020 which stated “yes” on a line titled “Does Patient Drive,” Dr. Castiglia
testified that he would question the accuracy of those entries. Dkt. #75, p. 76. Similarly,
he testified that he could not know whether a notation on a 2019 office visit note of Dr.
Sameer Mamnoon (“Dr. Mamnoon”), Nabi’s primary care doctor, stating “He [sic] was able
to drive herself to the office today,” meant that Nabi had driven herself to the appointment.
Dkt. #75, p. 78 (emphasis added).
35. On cross-examination, Dr. Castiglia again testified that he believed that the
cognitive issues caused by Nabi’s treatment for her brain tumor prevented her from being
able to file a claim under her insurance policy when she stopped working in 2009. Dkt.
#75, p. 83.
36. On re-direct examination, Dr. Castiglia testified that information in some of
Dr. Mechtler’s notes of Nabi’s appointments was either internally contradictory or factually
incorrect. Dkt. #75, pp. 84-89.
37. Dr. Castiglia also testified that he did not believe that a treatment note of Dr.
Mechtler’s dated July 28, 2020 indicating that Nabi was still driving was correct because
he saw Nabi on August 5, 2020—approximately one week later—and she was confused,
in a wheelchair, unable to stand without assistance, and unable to ambulate. Dkt. #75,
pp. 89-91.
38. The Court finds Dr. Castiglia’s testimony and opinions to be credible and
persuasive.
Nabi Files a Claim Under the Provident Policy in 2021
39. On September 8, 2021, Provident received a claim form request pertaining
to Nabi from a financial adviser, and Provident sent the adviser a claims form that day.
Dkt. #29-3, pp. 41-42.
40. On April 12, 2022, Nabi submitted to Unum an Individual Disability Claim
Form claiming a disability onset date of August 2003 and stating that her last day worked
was January 1, 2004. Dkt. #29-2, p. 41. She stated that her medical condition was GBM;
she was incapacitated, in a wheelchair and unable to stand or walk; she had memory
loss; she had undergone four brain surgeries, three facial surgeries, and two knee
surgeries; and she had been an office manager prior to her illness. Dkt. #29-2, p. 43.
41. Dr. Castiglia submitted an Attending Physician’s Statement dated April 25,
2022, listing Nabi’s diagnoses of GBM, Communicating Hydrocephalus, and Malignant
Neoplasm of the Brain. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 88-90. Dr. Castiglia stated that Nabi had
undergone surgery on August 20, 2020, for the insertion of a right ventriculoperitoneal
shunt, and listed physical restrictions beginning on that date. Id. He also stated that he
had first seen her for that condition on August 5, 2020, and that he had not advised her
to stop working. Id.
42. By fax on June 14, 2022, Dr. Castiglia submitted a revised statement stating
that the date of Nabi’s first visit for her condition was August 22, 2003, and that he had
advised her to stop working in December 2009. Dkt. #29-2, p. 481.
43. On April 29, 2022, Unum Benefit Specialist Courtney Holcomb (“Holcomb”)
called Nabi to discuss her claim. Dkt. #29-2, p. 93. Nabi stated that her last day worked
was January 1, 2004 and that was the claimed date of disability. Holcomb asked Nabi
why she had not filed a claim sooner, and Nabi stated that “she just forgot about the
insurance” and her “husband reminded her.” Dkt. #29-2, p. 94.
44. Holcomb reviewed Nabi’s treatment history, and Nabi stated that she could
not remember all the dates. Id. Nabi also stated that she was “pretty much homebound,”
and that she was incapacitated; in a wheelchair; unable to stand, walk, or keep her
balance; had loss of memory and hearing; was incontinent; could not sit too long; and
could not drive. Id.
45. Holcomb noted in her report of this call:
[Nabi] sounded very tired throughout the call and talked softly
and slowly. She asked me to repeat myself numerous times
and to talk slowly. [She] seemed to have a hard time
answering my questions. When she did provide answers, they
were very brief and not detailed and it seemed like she could
not recall much during our call. The call was kept very brief as
it seemed like [Nabi] was having a progressively harder time
as the call went on.
Dkt. #29-2, p. 95.
46. On May 3, 2022, Nabi completed a form that Unum had sent to ENT for
information regarding Nabi’s employment. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 181-182. Nabi wrote that she
had been hired on July 1, 1978 and that she had worked full-time until September 2008
and part-time until December 2009. Dkt. #29-2, p. 181.
47. On May 4, 2022, in Unum’s internal discussion forum regarding Nabi’s
claim, the assigned Vocational Representative, Robert J. Rodecker, stated: “The
[employee’s] diagnosis is Glioblastoma. We need to determine if it was not reasonably
possible for [her] to provide us with more timely notice of claim.” Dkt. #29-2, p. 175
(emphasis added).
48. On May 5, 2022, Holcomb again called Nabi and left a voicemail, which she
summarized in her notes:
I left a voicemail message for [Nabi] advising I was first calling
to confirm receipt of the employment questionnaire she
completed. We were requesting it from the practice to obtain
independent verification and we were hoping the office
manager that took over from her may be able to complete it or
someone else in the office so that it would be independent.
Advised we did also have some other questions for her to help
clarify some things and she seemed to have some difficulty
recalling some details when we talked last week so I was
wondering if maybe her husband could be on the phone when
she called back to help answer questions if needed. Or if she
feels she can answer, just her is fine too. Whichever she is
more comfortable with.
Dkt. #29-2, p. 183.
49. That same day, Holcomb sent Nabi a letter summarizing the evidence that
had been submitted in support of her claim and stating that “we are unable to make a
decision without additional time and information.” Dkt. #29-2, pp. 185-187. Holcomb also
noted the delayed notice of Nabi’s claim and requested that Nabi provide an explanation
as to why she did not file a claim sooner. Dkt. #29-2, p. 187. Holcomb also asked for
additional information, including Nabi’s care needs, whether she had been able to drive,
and whether she had a power of attorney. Id.
50. On May 20, 2022, Nabi responded to Holcomb’s letter. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 197-
198. She explained that when she was diagnosed with GBM in 2003, she was told she
had only 9-12 months to live and her “mind at that time was not thinking of applying for
disability insurance,” she was “just thinking of survival.” Id. She further advised Unum of
her four brain surgeries following her diagnosis; extensive chemotherapy and radiation;
radiation-caused necrosis which required removal of her right temple bone; loss of
balance which caused falls and fractures requiring surgery; incontinence; and severe
cognitive disability, memory loss and seizures. Id. She also advised that her husband
takes care of her and is her power of attorney. Id. Finally, she stated that she did not work
or drive after 2009, and that her husband helped her prepare the letter due to her memory
loss. Id.
51. A few days later, ENT submitted a response to Unum’s questionnaire about
Nabi’s employment, completed by the then-current Office Manager, stating that Nabi’s
date last worked was December 30, 2009. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 210-211.
52. On May 27, 2022, Unum employee Mark Chavez (“Chavez”) sought legal
advice via the internal forum. Dkt. #29-4, p. 214. Chavez stated “{l]ate notice claim has
been filed with onset date of 2003 due to glioblastoma,” and that “[s]ince NY is a strict
late notice state, we intend to deny the earlier period of time” because Nabi “does not lay
out any significant reasons why she could not have filed a claim earlier.” Id. Chavez also
noted that Nabi had reached the age of 65 in 2017, and he inquired whether Unum could
assert that the policy terminated at that time. Id.
53. On May 31, 2022, in-house counsel Daniel Flynn (“Flynn”) responded that
if, when Nabi turned 65, she was not working due to total disability, then the policy would
have renewed, and “it would be appropriate to consider benefits from the date of notice
and for a maximum benefit period of 24 months per the policy schedule and the claimant’s
age.” Dkt. #29-4, pp. 214-215.
54. On May 31, 2022, in the same forum, Holcomb stated:
Both [Nabi] and [ENT] have confirmed that [Nabi] continued
working in some capacity through December 2009. Since she
was able to continue working through 2009, it appears that
she could have notified us of her disability and provided proof
of loss earlier than she did. She was not legally incapacitated
or otherwise unable to provide us with notice of claim as
required by the policy. Based on this, it appears reasonable to
evaluate the claim using a beginning date of 09/08/2021,
which is when [she] provided notice of claim.
Dkt. #29-2, p. 219.
55. Holcomb also stated that, due to the question of whether Nabi was not
working due to total disability when she turned 65, Unum was requesting medical records
from Nabi’s doctors “from 2016-present.” Dkt. #29-2, pp. 219-220.
56. On June 2, 2022, Holcomb sent Nabi a letter informing her that Unum would
not consider her claim earlier than September 8, 2021. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 223-227. The letter
also stated: “Since you were able to continue working through 2009, it appears you could
have notified us of your disability and provided proof of loss earlier than you did. You were
not legally incapacitated or otherwise unable to provide us with notice of claim as required
by the policy.” Dkt. #29-2, p. 225. Holcomb also noted that Unum would evaluate Nabi’s
medical records to determine if she was totally disabled when she turned 65 such that the
policy was eligible for renewal. Id.
57. On June 15, 2022, Nabi’s husband, Dr. Sayeed Nabi, wrote a letter to
Holcomb stating that her June 2 letter was “absurd” and that Nabi had undergone “several
surgeries and treatments rendering her mental health and cognitive functions depleted.”
Dkt. #29-2, p. 488. He further stated that Nabi “became totally disabled as of December
2009 and not since September 2021,” which was “well documented in the medical
records.” Id.
58. On June 21, 2022, Unum sent Nabi a letter acknowledging her husband’s
letter as an appeal and stating that it had been assigned to Melissa Walsh (“Walsh”),
Unum’s Lead Appeals Specialist, for review. Dkt. #29-2, p. 495.
59. On June 24, 2022, Unum’s claims reviewer, Matthew Roop (“Roop”),
contacted Flynn:
While we understand late notice is significant and NY is a strict
late notice state, looking for legal advice or case law if an
insured had cognitive impairment or a disability that
could have rendered her unable to file sooner. Claims
manual does site [sic] that we have to determine if the late
notice was reasonable, factoring in the nature of the
medical condition.
Dkt. #29-4, p. 3 (emphasis added). Roop also noted that “[n]o medical review has been
performed on the file to date.” Id.
60. On June 27, 2022, Flynn responded that unless Nabi “lacked the legal
capacity to give notice of claim,” then the late notice should not be excused. Dkt. #29-4,
p. 4. He also noted that “it does not appear that a guardian or conservator had been
appointed, or that claimant otherwise has been deemed mentally incompetent by relevant
judicial authority.” Id. He recommended that Unum obtain “more information about the
insured’s capacity over the last 18 years to determine whether she had the capacity to
give notice of her claim” and determine whether her medical records show that she was
“mentally incompetent.” Id.
61. On June 29, 2022, Walsh sent Nabi a letter regarding the appeal based on
the letter to Unum from Nabi’s husband. Dkt. #29-2, p. 499. Walsh asked: “Has there been
a guardianship, conservatorship or other declaration regarding your mental capacity?” Id.
Walsh also asked if Nabi could provide medical records or other information documenting
Nabi’s mental capacity from 2009 to the present, noting that Unum had only received
records going back to 2016/2018. Id.
62. On July 8, 2022, Walsh spoke with Nabi’s husband by telephone. Dkt. #29-
2, p. 629. While Walsh stated that Unum did not have Nabi’s medical records prior to
2016, her husband insisted that they had been sent. Id. Nabi’s husband stated that the
reason Nabi did not file a claim sooner was “memory loss,” and that while she worked
from 2003 to 2009, she “made mistakes” and he had to tell her to stop working. Id.
63. Walsh stated that if Dr. Nabi wanted to provide medical records
“substantiating his claim that [Nabi] couldn’t file sooner due to a memory issue” then
Walsh would look at that. Id. Nabi’s husband began raising his voice, and Walsh ended
the call stating that it was not productive. Id.
64. On July 20, 2022, Nabi’s husband wrote a letter to Walsh following up on
their telephone conversation. Dkt. #29-2, p. 650. He stated that he was Nabi’s guardian
and caretaker and had her power of attorney. Id. He further listed three hospitals and two
doctors, stating: “You have the permission to contact the following agencies for any
information regarding Angelika’s health and care.” Id. He added: “If Angelika’s cognitive
and memory [sic] was in place she would have applied for disability earlier without any
doubt. Unfortunately she did not. She was fighting for her survival.” Id.
65. Dr. Judith Cohen (“Dr. Cohen”) is a physician who is board-certified in family
medicine. Dkt. #75, p. 96. Since 2003, she has worked at Unum as a medical consultant.
Dkt. #75, p. 97. She is presently employed in Unum’s appeals department. Id. Her
responsibilities are to review a claimant’s medical records in connection with a claim for
benefits and to contact the claimant’s attending physician with any questions. Dkt. #75,
pp. 97-101.
66. After reviewing Nabi’s medical records, Dr. Cohen attempted to contact Dr.
Castiglia on July 21 and 22, 2022, on which dates the office was closed or Dr. Castiglia
was in surgery. Dkt. #29-2, p. 655; Dkt. #75, p. 103. On July 25, 2022, Dr. Cohen sent a
letter to Dr. Castiglia regarding Nabi’s medical records with questions. Dkt. #29-2, p. 705;
Dkt. #75, p. 103.
67. In the meantime, Dr. Castiglia returned Dr. Cohen’s call later that same day.
Id. Dr. Cohen summarized their conversation in a letter:
I explained to you the purpose of my call and had noted I just
sent you a letter. You explained to me Ms. Nabi has done
miraculously well, and this is almost unheard of for this type
of cancer, which is what is meant by “quite well.” You noted
she is suffering the effects from radiation treatment. A
dementia has set in. [S]he also has significant weakness in
her leg and is now wheelchair dependent. You placed a
shunt in hope this would help with her cognitive decline. This
has not happened. You noted the biggest decline has been
in the past 3-5 years. She was forgetful prior, you feel,
dating back to 2009, which is why you noted that date
on the Attending Physician Statement. The decline for the
past 3-5 years has resulted in her loss of any independence.
In 2009 she was unable to work due to cognitive issues
but was able to function at home, which is not the case for
the past 3-5 years. She has a son with special needs who
she was able to [take] care of but no longer is able.
She is not driving but you do not know when she stopped.
Dkt. #29-2, p. 661 (emphasis added); Dkt. #75, p. 106.
68. Dr. Castiglia testified that when he told Dr. Cohen that Nabi was unable to
work due to cognitive issues but “able to function at home,” he meant that she did not
have to go to a nursing facility where she would have assistance around the clock. Dkt.
#75, pp. 94-95.
69. Dr. Cohen testified that she found the information provided to her by Dr.
Castiglia to be reliable and that she agreed with him. Dkt. #75, p. 126.
70. Dr. Cohen noted in the Unum file that no further medical activity was
necessary, and she testified that she was asked no further questions about Nabi’s claim
and had no further involvement with the claim until this litigation. Dkt. #75, p. 107.
71. Meanwhile, Dr. Castiglia returned to Unum the first letter that Dr. Cohen had
sent him on July 25, 2022, with his signature dated August 1, 2022. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 705-
706. In response to Dr. Cohen’s question “is my understanding of the records accurate
that [Nabi] would not have been limited prior to the shunt in 2020,” Dr. Castiglia checked
“No.” Id.
72. In the following section, Dr. Castiglia wrote:
Ms. Nabi has continued cognitive difficulties associated w/
radiation necrosis. There has been a steady decline in her
ability to perform routine tasks such as driving and food
preparation.
Dkt. #29-2, p. 706.
73. Dr. Cohen testified that she was not asked by Unum to consider, as part of
her review, what restrictions and limitations Nabi might have had in 2009, and she did not
make any such evaluation. Dkt. #75, p. 107, 136. She was also not told to ask any
questions regarding the timeliness of Nabi’s notice of claim. Id. Further, she was not
involved in the claim decision. Dkt. #75, p. 110.
74. Unum’s forum discussion regarding Nabi’s claim, which included Unum
benefits specialists as well as Dr. Cohen, indicated that they were inquiring into what
restrictions and limitations Nabi had as of August 1, 2017, the date that Nabi’s policy
would have conditionally renewed. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 642-647; Dkt. #75, p. 120, 126.
75. Unum thus requested Nabi’s medical records from three providers—Dr.
Castiglia, Dr. Mamnoon, and Dr. Mechtler—from January 1, 2016 to the present. Dkt. #29,
pp. 260, 447, 612.
76. Unum determined that, at the time Nabi turned 65, she was not working
because she was “totally disabled” due to cognitive decline, and thus the policy had
renewed. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 672, 677.
Unum Denies Nabi Disability Benefits Prior to September 8, 2021
77. On July 27, 2022, Holcomb sent Nabi a letter stating that Unum had
approved her claim for disability benefits beginning September 8, 2021, the date of her
notice, for a period of 24 months per the policy terms. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 676-679.
78. On August 1, 2022, Unum sent Nabi another letter stating that her appeal
of the determined disability date of September 8, 2021 was denied. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 692-
695. It stated, in part: “[I]t does not appear that a guardian or conservator had been
appointed, or that you otherwise had been deemed mentally incompetent by relevant
judicial authority.” Dkt. #29-2, p. 693. The letter further stated that Unum was unable to
obtain any of Nabi’s medical records prior to approximately 2016. Id. While Unum
acknowledged the July 20, 2022 letter from Nabi’s husband granting Unum permission to
obtain Nabi’s “medical records from all hospitals, facilities and providers” that treated Nabi
from 2003 forward, Unum stated: “We will not be requesting this information.” Dkt. #29-2,
p. 694. Rather, Unum stated that Nabi’s husband would have to provide such records. Id.
79. Nabi filed this action on August 16, 2023. Dkt. #1. She seeks compensatory
benefits, prejudgment interest, and attorneys’ fees and costs. Id.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
The following discussion constitutes the Court’s conclusions of law in
accord with Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a)(1).
In an ERISA action, the plaintiff bears the burden of demonstrating an
entitlement to benefits by a preponderance of the evidence. Weiss v. Lincoln Nat’l Life
Ins. Co., Case No. 2:24-cv-00591-cr, 2026 WL 483280, at *24 (D. Ver. Feb. 20, 2026)
(citing Pruter v. Loc. 210’s Pension Tr. Fund, 858 F.3d 753, 762 (2d Cir. 2017)); Khan,
386 F. Supp.3d at 272 (citations omitted).
A. Standard of Review
“[A] denial of benefits challenged under [ERISA] § 1132(a)(1)(B) is to be
reviewed under a de novo standard unless the benefit plan gives the administrator or
fiduciary discretionary authority to determine eligibility for benefits or to construe the terms
of the plan.” Delvalle v. Unum Grp. Corp., No. 22-CV-07717-LTS, 2026 WL 878595, at *4
(S.D.N.Y. Mar. 31, 2026) (citations and internal quotation marks omitted).
Here, the parties agree that the de novo standard of review applies. Dkt.
#80, p. 33; Dkt. #81, p. 23.
“Under de novo review, the Court considers ‘all aspects of the denial of an
ERISA claim, including fact issues,’ rather than deferring to the findings of the
administrator.” Delvalle, 2026 WL 8788585, at *4 (quoting Kinstler v. First Reliance
Standard Life Ins. Co., 181 F.3d 243, 245 (2d Cir. 1999)). See also Jarosz v. Am. Axle &
Mfg., Inc., 372 F. Supp.3d 163, 178 (W.D.N.Y. 2019) (on de novo review, the court
“affords no deference to the insurer’s interpretation of the plan documents, its analysis of
the record, or its conclusions regarding the merits of the claim”) (citation omitted),
amended, 2019 WL 12239557 (W.D.N.Y. May 31, 2019). In other words, the court “stands
in the shoes of the original decisionmaker.” Id. (citation and internal quotation marks
omitted).
B. Discussion
Based on the above factual findings, the Court concludes that, due to the
cognitive effects of the treatments that Nabi underwent for her brain cancer, she was
unable to give notice of her long-term disability claim at the time that she stopped working
in December 2009. The Court also concludes that she gave notice “as soon as reasonably
possible” after her husband discovered the policy in September 2021.
Late Notice
First, Dr. Castiglia’s testimony that he believed that plaintiff was cognitively
unable to file an insurance claim after she quit working in 2009 is clear, credible, and
unrebutted. Dr. Castiglia is an experienced neurosurgeon who has treated Nabi
continuously since her brain cancer diagnosis in 2003. He thus has an up-close and long-
term perspective regarding her condition, and he testified specifically that he observed a
decline in Nabi’s cognitive functioning in the years following her treatments. See, e.g.,
Fichtl v. First Unum Life Ins. Co., Case No. 1:22-cv-06932 (JLR), 2024 WL 1300268, at
*12 (S.D.N.Y. Mar. 26, 2024) (crediting opinions of plaintiff’s treating physicians who had
treated him for years and thus had “a greater degree of understanding” of plaintiff’s
capabilities and limitations).
In contrast, Provident’s witness, Dr. Cohen, testified that she was never
asked by anyone at Provident to opine as to Nabi’s cognitive status as of December 2009.
Rather, she was asked to provide an opinion only as to whether Nabi met the definition
of “total disability” as of August 1, 2017, the conditional renewal date of Nabi’s policy.
The Court finds Dr. Cohen’s testimony credible, and it is supported by the
internal Provident documents showing that Provident made no inquiry into Nabi’s
cognitive status prior to 2017.
Provident’s arguments in its proposed findings are unpersuasive. First,
while Provident places great emphasis on the evidence that Nabi’s cognitive decline was
“progressive,” Dr. Castiglia repeatedly testified—including on cross-examination—that he
believed that at the time she stopped working in 2009, Nabi had suffered cognitive effects
from treatment that rendered her unable to process the information necessary to make a
claim under an insurance policy. That Nabi’s cognitive decline continued to worsen after
2009 does not undermine this opinion.
Next, Provident asserts that Nabi’s cognitive functioning must have been
intact in 2009 because she gave informed consent for surgical procedures that Dr.
Castiglia performed in 2013 and 2020. Dkt. #80, p. 29. However, as noted above, Dr.
Castiglia testified that Nabi relied heavily on her family during such discussions and that
she and her husband conferred regarding the decision to proceed with those surgeries.
This is not inconsistent with the conclusion that, by December 2009, Nabi’s cognitive
abilities had been impaired to the degree to which Dr. Castiglia testified.
Provident also cites case law for the proposition that lack of knowledge that
an insurance policy existed, or forgetting that it existed, is not a valid reason for late notice.
Dkt. #80, p. 36-37. The cited cases are inapposite, however. For example, in Leonzo v.
First Unum Life Ins. Co., No. 93 Civ. 0535 (KTD), 1994 WL 455203 (S.D.N.Y. Aug. 23,
1994), the plaintiff argued, unsuccessfully, that his late notice of claim should be excused
because his employer never informed him that the policy existed. Id. at *2.
Here, Nabi obviously knew, prior to 2009, that the Provident policy existed
because the administrative record contains a signed policy application that she completed
in 1989. Dkt. #29-1, p. 32.
In addition, while Nabi stated that she had “forgot” about the insurance, it is
clear from the record that her use of that word in 2022 does not carry the meaning it does
in common parlance. Instead, the evidence shows that, by 2009, Nabi’s cognitive
functioning had become significantly impaired, and Unum does not dispute that it was
only when Nabi’s husband discovered the policy that Nabi filed a claim with his
assistance. The full record thus supports the conclusion that Nabi’s inability to remember
the policy, recognize that she could file a claim after she stopped working in December
2009, and take the necessary steps to do so was not a garden-variety memory lapse but
rather the physiological result of the radiation and chemotherapy that she had undergone.
Provident also asserts that the “undisputed” evidence demonstrates that
Nabi continued to drive until 2020. Dkt. #80, p. 42. This is not true.
First, Nabi advised Provident at the time she filed her claim that she could
not drive, Dkt. #29-2, pp. 49, 94, and in her letter of May 20, 2022, Nabi told Provident
that she stopped driving in 2009. Dkt. #29-2, p. 198.
As for the office notes that state that Nabi was driving in 2016, 2017, 2019,
and 2020, Dr. Castiglia’s testimony effectively called into question the reliability of those
entries. In particular, Dr. Mechtler’s note of July 28, 2020 stating that Nabi was still driving
is highly suspect given Dr. Castiglia’s testimony that when he saw Nabi on August 5,
2020—approximately one week later—she was confused, in a wheelchair, unable to
stand without assistance, and unable to ambulate. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 231, 524.
Furthermore, Provident’s reliance on these records is quizzical given that it
determined during the claims process that, as of August 1, 2017, plaintiff was not working
because she was “totally disabled” due to cognitive decline. Yet, Provident now points to
medical records of treatment after that date to argue that they reflect that Nabi had intact
cognitive and executive function.
Provident also devotes a substantial portion of its proposed conclusions to
the argument that Nabi “refused” to submit medical records to demonstrate that her
cognitive impairment made her unable to file a claim earlier than she did. Dkt. #80, pp.
38-41. This is a red herring.
On de novo review, the only issue now before the Court is whether plaintiff
has proved by a preponderance of the evidence that she filed her claim for benefits “as
soon as reasonably possible.” What records Provident did or did not have, and who bore
the burden of obtaining those records, is irrelevant to that question.5
Provident’s efforts to detract from Dr. Castiglia’s credibility are also
unavailing. Provident states in its proposed conclusions: “Nor does Dr. Castiglia have any
explanation why it then became possible for Plaintiff to provide notice of claim in
September 2021 and proof of loss in 2022, when, according to him, her cognitive abilities
were worse than they had been in December 2009.” Dkt. #80, p. 42.
This is a straw man argument because the explanation to this question is
not within Dr. Castiglia’s province but, instead, is found elsewhere in the record. That is,
the evidence shows, and Provident points to nothing to the contrary, that plaintiff was able
to file a claim in 2021 only because her husband discovered the policy; he assisted in
5 The Court does find this argument strange, however, given that Unum required plaintiff to sign
an authorization so that it could obtain the records from Dr. Castiglia, Dr. Mechtler, and Dr.
Mamnoon from January 1, 2016 forward. The argument also appears to be at odds with the
recommendation of Unum’s in-house counsel on June 27, 2022, that Unum should “obtain[ ] more
information about the insured’s capacity over the last eighteen years to determine whether she
had the capacity to give notice of her claim. ”Dkt. #29-2, pp. 496-497 (emphasis added).
helping her to file the claim as well as the proof of loss letter; and he advocated on her
behalf during the claims process.
In addition, during the bench trial, defense counsel pointed out that, aside
from pre-operative appointments and surgeries, since 2003 Dr. Castiglia has seen Nabi
only twice a year on average. Dkt. #75, p. 44. This does not undermine the
persuasiveness of Dr. Castiglia’s opinions. See Fichtl, 2024 WL 1300268, at *13 (rejecting
attack on treating physician’s opinion because he only personally examined plaintiff four
times in two years; “Dr. Saal’s four in-person examinations of Plaintiff, of course, were
four more than those performed by all of Defendant’s file reviewers put together.”).
Equally unavailing is Provident’s focus on Dr. Castiglia’s statement to Dr.
Cohen on July 25, 2022, that plaintiff was unable to work in 2009 due to cognitive issues
but “was able to function at home.” Dkt. #75, pp. 61-62. In addition to Dr. Castiglia’s
explanation of this statement on re-direct, it is well established under ERISA caselaw
involving long-term disability claims that a plaintiff’s ability to perform “rudimentary
activities” of daily life does not “meaningfully correlate” with the relevant requirements of
his or her vocation. Fichtl, 2024 WL 1300268, at *15 (collecting cases).6 Under the same
reasoning, an ability to “function” at home seems a low bar that sheds little light, if any,
on the person’s cognitive status.
6 Provident also asserts that the contention that Nabi’s husband was unaware of the insurance
policy is “unpersuasive” because it was his medical practice that purchased the policy. Dkt. #80,
p. 44, n.8. This is irrelevant. Plaintiff’s husband is not the claimant, Nabi is, and it is thus her ability
to give notice that is at issue.
Proof of Loss
Provident next argues that Nabi is not entitled to benefits because she failed
to file a timely proof of loss. Dkt. #80, pp. 44-47.
It is well established that “a plan administrator undermines ERISA and its
implementing regulations when it presents a new rationale to the district court that was
not presented to the claimant as a specific reason for denying benefits during the
administrative process.” Collier v. Lincoln Life Assurance Co. of Boston, 53 F.4th 1180,
1186 (9th Cir. 2022) (citations omitted). See also Spradley v. Owens-Illinois Hourly Emps.
Welfare Ben. Plan, 686 F.3d 1135, 1140 (10th Cir. 2012) (“The reason for this rule is
apparent[:] we will not permit ERISA claimants denied the timely and specific explanation
to which the law entitles them to be sandbagged by after-the-fact plan interpretations
devised for purposes of litigation.”) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted); Glista
v. Unum Life Ins. Co. of Am., 378 F.3d 113, 128 (1st Cir. 2004) (ERISA regulations require
plan administrator to provide claimant with specific reasons for denial of claim, and insurer
may not “hold that basis in reserve” until litigation); Marolt v. Alliant Techsystems, Inc.,
146 F.3d 617, 620 (8th Cir. 1998) (“[W]e are free to ignore ERISA plan interpretations
that did not actually furnish the basis for a plan administrator’s benefits decision.”) (citation
omitted); Halpin v. W.W. Grainger, Inc., 962 F.2d 685, 696 (7th Cir. 1992) (“A post hoc
attempt to furnish a rationale for a denial of . . . benefits in order to avoid reversal on
appeal, and thus meaningful review, is not acceptable.”) (citation and internal quotation
marks omitted); Berg v. Unum Life Ins. Co. of Am., 2:21-CV-11737-TGB-DRG, 2023 WL
2619015, at *8 (E.D. Mich. Mar. 23, 2023) (noting that courts “have unanimously rejected
attempts to raise new reasons for denial once litigation has begun”) (collecting cases).
In Unum’s initial denial letter to Nabi, dated June 2, 2022, it referenced both
the notice of claim and proof of loss provisions of the policy, but it concluded by stating:
“Therefore, we will evaluate your disability claim using a beginning date of September 08,
2021, which is when you provided notice of claim.” Dkt. #29-2, p. 225.
Any doubt as to whether Unum relied on untimely proof of loss as a basis
for denying Nabi’s claim prior to an onset date of September 8, 2021 is dispelled by its
letter denying her appeal. Dkt. #29-2, pp. 692-696. Under “Initial Claim Decision,” Unum
stated:
On June 2, 2022, you were advised that the earliest date of
disability that could be used was September 8, 2021. This
was based upon the Notice of Claim provision of your
policy. Benefits would not be considered prior to such date.
Dkt. #29-2, p. 692 (emphasis added). In the following explanation, Unum stated: “Unless
it was not reasonably possible for you to notify us of your claim timely, we will adhere to
the provision of your policy regarding written notice of claim.” Dkt. #29-2, p. 693.
Finally, under “Policy Provisions that Apply to the Appeal Decision,” Unum set forth only
the text of the “Notice of Claim” provision. Dkt. #29-2, p. 694.
As explained in the above authorities, letters such as Unum’s are mandated
by ERISA regulations which require the plan administrator to set forth the specific reasons
for denying a claim during the administrative process, and reasons not specifically
identified may not be relied upon once litigation ensues.
The Court thus concludes that Nabi’s claim is not barred under the proof of
loss provision of the policy.7
Procedural Irregularities 8
Unum also argues that any procedural irregularities in its administration of
Nabi’s claim do not support her timeliness position. Dkt. #80, pp. 48-49. Unum’s argument
is misplaced, however, because the Court relied on those facts at the dispositive motion
stage for the sole purpose of determining whether good cause existed to admit the
declaration of Dr. Castiglia. Dkt. #40, pp. 19-26. The Court includes those facts here only
by way of background, and it has not relied on that evidence for purposes of these
conclusions of law.
Award of Benefits or Remand
An ERISA plaintiff is entitled to an award of benefits by the district court, as
opposed to remand to the plan administrator, where “the difficulty is not that the
administrative record was incomplete, but that a denial of benefits based on the record
7 The Court also notes that even on summary judgment, while Provident invoked the policy’s
three-year limitations period, it did not argue for dismissal on the independent basis of the proof-
of-loss provision. Dkt. #29, p.13; Dkt. #25-3, pp. 17-20.
8 The Court will not address Provident’s argument about the alleged incorrect standard of legal
incompetence mentioned in its denial letters, Dkt. #80, pp. 47-48, as the Court does not rely on
that evidence in reaching these conclusions.
was unreasonable.” Thoma v. Fox Long Term Disability Plan, 17 Civ. 4389, 2018 WL
6514757, at *29, n.4 (S.D.N.Y. Dec. 11, 2018) (citing Zervos v. Verizon N.Y., Inc., 277
F.3d 635, 648 (2d Cir. 2002)).
In cases cited by Provident in which remand was ordered, the courts
concluded that the administrative record contained insufficient information to make the
determination at issue. See, e.g., Easter v. Cayuga Med. Ctr. At Ithaca Prepaid Health
Plan, 217 F. Supp.3d 608, 634 (N.D.N.Y. 2016). That is not the case here, and remand
is thus inappropriate.
The Court thus concludes that Nabi is entitled to an award of benefits.
Reasonable Attorneys’ Fees, Costs, and Prejudgment Interest
“ERISA’s fee shifting provision provides that the court in its discretion may
allow a reasonable attorney’s fee and costs . . . to either party. Thoma, 2018 WL 6514757,
at *29 (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). “It is well established that Congress
intended the fee provisions of ERISA to encourage beneficiaries to enforce their statutory
rights.” Id.
Whether “a plaintiff has obtained some degree of success on the merits is
the sole factor that a court must consider in exercising its discretion to award attorneys’
fees.” Id.
Because Nabi has achieved success on the merits of her claim, she is
entitled to her reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs. Id.
Similarly, the decision to award prejudgment interest to a successful ERISA
plaintiff is committed to the sound discretion of the court. Id. In making this determination,
the court considers the following factors: “(i) the need to fully compensate the wronged
party for actual damages suffered, (ii) considerations of fairness and the relative equities
of the award; (iii) the remedial purpose of the statute involved, and/or (iv) such other
general principles as are deemed relevant by the court.” Id.
Considering these factors, the Court concludes that Nabi is entitled to
prejudgment interest to fully compensate her for the delay in receiving her benefits and
because of the remedial purpose of ERISA. See Slupinski v. First Unum Life Ins. Co., 554
F.3d 38, 47 (2d Cir. 2009) (“The central purpose of ERISA is to protect beneficiaries of
employee benefits plans, . . . and private actions by beneficiaries seeking in good faith to
secure their rights under employee benefit plans are important mechanisms for furthering
ERISA’s remedial purpose.”) (citations and internal quotation marks omitted).
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, it is hereby ORDERED that:
(1) plaintiff is awarded long-term disability benefits under the disability policy
at issue in this matter with a disability onset date of December 31, 2009; and
(2) the parties shall report to the Court in writing within 30 days regarding
their efforts to reach consensus on: (1) the amount to which plaintiff is entitled in
compensatory damages; (2) the amount of attorneys’ fees and costs plaintiff seeks under
29 U.S.C. § 1132(g)(1); and (3) the rate at which prejudgment interest should be
calculated.
SO ORDERED.
DATED: Buffalo, New York
April 27, 2026
s/ H. Kenneth Schroeder, Jr.
H. KENNETH SCHROEDER, JR.
United States Magistrate Judge