Opinion

Ronald C. Wade v. State of Tennessee

Court
Tennessee Supreme Court
Filed
Jul 30, 2025
Status
Published
Author
Judge W. Mark Ward
On the bench
Judge W. Mark Ward
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 38.1%

The opinion

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE

SPECIAL WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS PANEL

AT KNOXVILLE FILED

Assigned on Briefs April 10, 2025

JUL 3 U 2025

RONALD C. WADE V. STATE OF TENNESSE Ec'd lerk of the Appellate Co rts

By

Appeal from the Tennessee Claims Commission

No. 0546-WC-XX-XXXXXXX, William A. Young, Commissioner

No. E2024-00945-SC-R3-WC MAILED June 23, 2025

Ronald C. Wade brings this appeal challenging the Tennessee Claims Commission's

denial of his motion to compel medical benefits. The appeal has been referred to the

Special Workers' Compensation Appeals Panel pursuant to Tennessee Supreme

Court Rule 51. Because we conclude that the Claims Commission's two grounds

for denying benefits are incorrect, we reverse and remand for further proceedings.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 9-8-403(a)(1) Appeal as of Right;

Decision of the Tennessee Claims Commission Reversed

W. MARK WARD, J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which HOLLY KIRBY, C.J. and

ROY B. MORGAN, JR., J., joined.

Joshua J. Bond, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the Appellant, Ronald C. Wade

Joshua R. Walker, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the Appellee, State of Tennessee

OPINION

Factual and Procedural Background

On February 20, 2013, Ronald C. Wade, then a police officer for the

University of Tennessee, Knoxville, suffered extensive cervical, lumbar, and other

injuries in a work-related motor-vehicle accident while driving his patrol car. His

injuries required him to undergo multiple cervical and lower-back surgeries, along

with other procedures and injections. He took disability retirement on March 8,

2017, and reached maximum medical improvement on September 11, 2017. Wade

resolved his workers' compensation claim with the State of Tennessee by Agreed

Order in July 2020. Under this Agreement, Wade is to continue receiving statutory

future medical treatment benefits for the 2013 injury.

On April 28, 2023, Wade was involved in another motor-vehicle accident on

his way back from two medical appointments relating to his 2013 accident that were

approved under workers' compensation. Specifically, Wade was a passenger in a

car stopped at a red light when it was struck from behind by a vehicle traveling about

55 mph. Wade felt a popping and cracking in his neck, followed by increasing neck

pain and pain radiating down into his right shoulder, right tricep and bicep region,

and down into his forearm. There is no dispute that Wade's preexisting cervical and

lumbar spine symptoms worsened considerably after this second car accident. A

pre-existing tremor in Wade's upper extremities also worsened and Wade has

suffered muscle spasms in his neck area.

Following the accident, Wade's authorized treating physician, Dr. Martha

Smith, recommended that Wade undergo cervical Botox injections to treat his neck

injuries. The recommendation was submitted to the Utilization Review Process and

assigned to CorVel Corporation to perform the review. Dr. Nakul Mahajan

conducted the review for CorVel and recommended non-certification. Dr. Mahajan

concluded that the injections were not medically necessary because Wade did not

meet the applicable guideline criteria. In particular, Dr. Mahaj an reviewed Wade's

medical records and found "no evidence of moderate or greater clonic and/or tonic

involuntary contractions of multiple neck muscles on physical exam." He also found

"no support that alternative causes of symptoms have been ruled out."

Wade filed a motion to compel medical benefits in the Tennessee Claims

Commission, which has jurisdiction over workers' compensation claims filed by

state employees. Tenn. Code Ann. § 9-8-307(a)(1)(K)(i). Wade supported his

motion with additional medical records and related materials documenting his

injuries.

The Claims Commission held a telephonic hearing and heard sworn testimony

fi-om Wade. The Commission credited Wade's testimony but ultimately denied his

motion to compel medical benefits. The Commission based its decision on two

alternative grounds. First, the Commission determined that Wade's injuries were a

result of his 2023 car accident and thus did not arise out of his employment. Second,

the Commission summarily held that Wade failed to rebut the Utilization Review's

conclusion that the prescribed injections were not medically necessary.

-2-

Wade timely appealed to this Court, which has jurisdiction over workers'

compensation appeals from the Commission. Tenn. Code Ann. § 9-8-403(a)(1); see

also Gadd v. State, No. E1998-00016-WC-R3-CV, 2000 WL 310262, at *1 (Tenn.

Workers' Comp. Panel Mar. 24, 2000) ("Jurisdiction in the appeal of a state

employee's workers' compensation case from the action of the Tennessee Claims

Commission is governed by Tennessee Code Annotated § 9-8-403(a)(1), which

provides for direct appeal to the Supreme Court.").

Analysis

Because Wade suffered his compensable work-related injury on February 20,

2013, the parties agree that this case is controlled by the workers' compensation law

that existed prior to July 1, 2014. That "old law" established a remedial framework

that must be liberally construed to effectuate its purpose of justly compensating

injured employees. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2014) (applicable to injuries

occurring prior to July 1, 2014); Martin v. Lear Corp., 90 S.W.3d 626, 629 (Tenn.

2002). A trial court's findings of fact are reviewed "de novo upon the record of the

trial court, accompanied by a presumption of the correctness of the finding, unless

the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-225(e)(2)

(2014). A trial court's conclusions of law, however, are reviewed de novo with no

presumption of correctness. See, e.g., Seiber v. Reeves Logging, 284 S.W.3d 294,

298 (Tenn. 2009).

Applying these principles, we conclude that the Commission erroneously

denied Wade's motion to compel medical benefits. The Commission first held that

Wade is not entitled to benefits because his 2023 injuries did not arise out of his

employment. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(12)(A) (2012). The Commission

correctly recognized that the aggravation of an original work-related injury is

compensable only if it is a "direct and natural result" of the original compensable

injury. Anderson v. Westfield Grp., 259 S.W.3d 690, 696-700 (Tenn. 2008). But

the Commission overlooked existing Tennessee case law holding that a subsequent

injury generally arises out of employment—and is therefore compensable—if it

occurs while the employee is traveling to or from authorized medical treatment for

the original compensable injury.

At least two Tennessee Special Workers' Compensation Appeals Panels have

applied this principle. In Carter v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., No. M1999-01520-WC-

R3-CV, 2000 WL 1234402 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel Sept. 1, 2000), an

employee was struck by a runaway van as she crossed the street to her physician's

-3-

office where she was getting medical care for a prior compensable work injury. Id.

at *1. The panel held that the employee's injuries arose out of her employment and

were therefore compensable because the risk of getting injured while seeking

medical care for a compensable injury is the type of "street risk" that the worker's

compensation law covers. Id. at *2-4.

Another panel opinion in Manuel v. Davidson Transit Organization, No.

M2007-01580-CV-R3-WC, 2008 WL 4367492 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel Sept.

24, 2008), is similar. There, a former employee was injured in a car accident that

occurred when she fell asleep while driving home after physical therapy for a

compensable work injury. Id. at *1. Citing Carter among other authorities, the panel

awarded benefits to the claimant because "injuries which occur while traveling to

and from authorized medical treatment are compensable." Id. at *2. The fact that

the claimant was no longer employed at the time of the second accident did not break

the chain of causation because "[h]er need for medical treatment was a direct result

of a compensable injury and, thus, was a partial continuation of the employment

relationship." Id. at *3.

The panel opinions in Carter and Manuel are consistent with the prevailing

view nationwide that an accident is ordinarily compensable if it occurs while an

employee is on the way to or from medical treatment for a prior compensable injury.

See, e.g., Larson's Workers' Compensation Law § 10.07 (collecting authority).

The State argues that the Tennessee Supreme Court's opinion in Anderson v.

Westfield Group establishes an intervening-cause rule that abrogates Carter and

Manuel and forecloses Wade's request for benefits. 259 S.W.3d at 696-97.

Anderson, however, did not address injuries suffered by an employee on the way to

or from medical treatment for a compensable injury. Nor did it address another

analogous quasi-course-of-employment activity. Instead, Anderson simply held that

an employee could not obtain workers' compensation for burn injuries suffered

while cooking at home after a compensable injury because the employee's negligent

cooking was an intervening cause of her injuries. We see nothing in Anderson or

any other authority undermining the doctrine applied in Carter and Manuel.

In fact, the Supreme Court's opinion in Anderson indicates continued support

for the doctrine, suggesting that an employee's negligence in performing a quasi-

course-of-employment activity—"such as a trip to the doctor's office"—would not

be sufficient to break the causation chain. Id. at 699 (citing Larson's Workers'

Compensation § 10.05). If a claimant's own negligence in driving to or from the

doctor's office for treatment of a compensable injury is insufficient to break the

-4-

causation chain, we do not see how a third party's alleged negligence would be

sufficient to do so.

The fact that this case is governed by the prior workers' compensation

framework further supports reversal of the Commission's judgment. Again, the "old

law" must be "construed liberally," and "any reasonable doubt as to whether an

injury arises out of the employment should be resolved in the employee's favor."

McCormick v. Aabakus Inc., 101 S.W.3d 60, 62 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel

2000).

Because there is no dispute that Wade was on his way home from seeking

authorized medical care for his compensable injury, the Commission erred in

holding that the 2023 accident was an intervening cause of his injuries that

foreclosed Wade's request for medical benefits.

The Commission alternatively found that Wade is not entitled to benefits

because the Utilization Review's findings rebutted the presumption that the

prescribed injections were medically necessary. The Commission summarily

affirmed the Utilization Review's findings without addressing Wade's arguments—

supported by additional medical records and testimony—explaining why the

injections were medically appropriate. On appeal, the State's brief does not even

attempt to defend the Utilization Review's substantive findings. Instead, it simply

argues that the Utilization Review was sufficient because it was conducted by a

Board-certified physician who reviewed the records and provided a rationale for his

decision denying benefits. We are not persuaded.

"[T]here is a presumption that treatment furnished by designated physicians

is necessary and reasonable." Carter v. Shoney's, Inc., 845 S.W.2d 740, 743 (Tenn.

1992). Employers may use a utilization review process to rebut that presumption if

the treating physician's recommended treatrnent is found to be unnecessary,

inappropriate, or inefficient. See Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 50-6-102(17), 50-6-124

(2014). In evaluating Wade's motion for benefits, the Commission was required to

"consider the evidence and make a de novo decision about whether the proposed

treatment is reasonably necessary." Cwnmings-Boyd v. Law Offices of Jeffrey

Garrety, P.C., No. W2021-00720-SC-R3-WC, 2022 WL 1184416, at *5 (Tenn.

Workers' Comp. Panel Mar. 4, 2022). And in doing so, the Commission was

required to consider the claimant's testimony and any other relevant evidence, even

if it was not presented to the Utilization Review agent. Shelton v. Joseph Constr.

Co., No. M2014-01743-SC-R3-WC, 2015 WL 3509283, at *5-6 (Tenn. Workers'

Comp. Panel June 3, 2015).

-5-

In our view, the Utilization Review's perfunctory findings fail to rebut the

presumption that Wade's prescribed injections are medically necessary. The

Utilization Review found "no evidence of moderate or greater clonic and/or tonic

involuntary contractions of multiple neck muscles on physical exam." But the

Utilization Review itself separately acknowledges several times that Wade has been

diagnosed with "muscle spasm of [the] cervical spine." Additionally, multiple

medical records submitted to the Commission expressly note that Wade has been

suffering from muscle spasms in the neck area and that the spasms have been

observed during physical exams. Notably, the State's appellate brief does not

explain why this evidence is insufficient to refute the Utilization Review's contrary

findings.

The Utilization Review also cryptically finds that there is no indication that

"alternative causes of symptoms have been ruled out." Neither the Utilization

Review nor the State' s appellate brief, however, explains in any detail what other

medical conditions Wade has or may have that might render the prescribed injections

improper or unnecessary. Again, Wade's authorized medical provider has found

that Wade suffers from muscle spasms in his neck, has observed those spasms during

Wade's physical exams, and has prescribed Botox injections to address the problem.

Because the Utilization Review's cursory analysis fails to rebut the medical

providers' presumptively correct treatment determination, the Commission erred in

denying Wade's motion for benefits on this ground.

Conclusion

For these reasons, we reverse the Claims Commission's decision denying

Wade's request for medical benefits and remand for further proceedings. Costs on

appeal are taxed to the State of Tennessee.

S : W. MARK WARD

W. MARK WARD, SENIOR JUDGE

6

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.