Opinion

Mendoza v. Bd. of Retirement of the Ventura County etc.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Dec 29, 2025
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 37.9%

The opinion

Filed 12/3/25; Certified for Publication 12/29/25 (order attached)

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SIX

ALBERTO MENDOZA, 2d Civ. No. B327347

(Super. Ct. No. 56-2021-

Plaintiff and Appellant, 00550840-CU-WM-VTA)

(Ventura County)

v.

BOARD OF RETIREMENT OF

THE VENTURA COUNTY

EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT

ASSOCIATION,

Defendant and Respondent.

COUNTY OF VENTURA/RISK

MANAGEMENT,

Intervener and Respondent.

Alberto Mendoza appeals the trial court’s denial of his

petition for a writ of administrative mandate challenging the

decision of respondent Board of Retirement of the Ventura

County Employees Association (the Board) to deny his

application for a service-connected disability retirement based on

two work-related back injuries. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1094.5; Gov.

Code, §§ 31720-31752.) In denying the petition, the court agreed

with the Board’s finding that appellant’s disability was a result of

his unreasonable refusal to undergo recommended medical

treatment for his injuries, as contemplated in Reynolds v. City of

San Carlos (1981) 126 Cal.App.3d 208 (Reynolds) and Labor

Code1 section 4056. Appellant contends the court misapplied the

law and that the evidence does not support the finding he

unreasonably refused recommended medical treatment. We

affirm.

Facts And Procedural History

In 2012, appellant began employment as a Ventura County

Deputy Sheriff and was assigned to the Todd Road Jail Facility.

On December 30, 2014, appellant was working at the facility

when he slipped while going up stairs, “which caused discomfort

in [his] lower back.” On May 27, 2015, he suffered another injury

to his back when an inmate he was attempting to subdue, kicked

him in the right waist area.

On May 20, 2015, appellant underwent a magnetic

resonance imaging (MRI) of his lumbar spine. The MRI film

showed degenerative disc disease at the L5-S1 level and a disc

herniation abutting the right S1 nerve root. Some of the soft jelly

material (the nucleus pulposus) also extruded from the disc at the

L5-S1 level and was abutting the right S1 nerve root.

1 Undesignated statutory references are to the Labor Code

unless otherwise stated.

2

On June 19, 2015, appellant was examined by Dr. Robert

H. Fields, M.D., the State Panel Qualified Medical Evaluator

(QME) in appellant’s workers’ compensation case. (See § 4062.2.)

Dr. Fields recommended that appellant be referred to a spine

specialist and stated there was a “[h]igh likelihood [appellant]

will require surgical intervention at this level and if deemed

necessary, should be provided with care without delay.”

Appellant was subsequently evaluated by Dr. Brian

Grossman, an orthopedic surgeon. Dr. Grossman initially

recommended physical therapy and an epidural injection. In a

November 2015 report, Dr. Grossman stated: “I had a long

discussion with [appellant] regarding treatment options. . . . He

has failed to improve with rest, physical therapy, anti-

inflammatory and analgesic medications, physical therapy, and

an epidural injection. . . . His prognosis for resolution of

symptoms with continued nonsurgical care is guarded. At this

point, I believe that he is reaching Maximal Medical

Improvement. The patient was advised that surgery for his

condition would entail a microscopic discectomy. He does not

wish to pursue surgery as he knows at least two people in his

department who have had surgery on their back and never

returned to their usual job.”

On November 17, 2015, appellant’s treating physician, Dr.

Sam Bakshian, M.D., issued an evaluation report with a request

for authorization of treatment. Dr. Bakshian stated: “Clearly,

the patient has had marked aggravation of his back and leg

symptoms following [an] epidural injection. . . . At this point, I

am concerned that the disc extrusion may have displaced. There

is no question in my mind that the patient will require surgical

intervention and I am formally requesting authorization for a

3

hemilaminectomy microdiscectomy right side L5-S1. . . . The

patient does understand.”

The requested surgery was authorized by the County of

Ventura (the County), but appellant declined to undergo the

procedure. On May 25, 2016, appellant filed an application with

the Ventura County Employees’ Retirement Association (VCERA)

for a service-connected disability retirement. After the County

notified VCERA of its intent to challenge the application, VCERA

informed appellant it was assigning the application to its hearing

officer for an administrative hearing. A second MRI of

appellant’s spine was conducted on December 9, 2015.

In a July 2016 reevaluation report, Dr. Fields indicated

that “[t]he patient states he is worse” and “was indicated for

surgery, but deferred. I had a long discussion with him about

this, and he is just simply scared and this is based on what I

believe to be bad information. He asked his friends, and looked

on the internet for results. [¶] Looking at his exam and his gait,

this patient is in need of surgery.” Dr. Fields added: “This

patient should go ahead with surgery. I told him I am not his

doctor and I generally don’t like to make recommendations to my

QME patients, but I have seen him before and I advised that I

don’t see him getting better without surgery. [¶] He has failed

epidural blocks and oral steroids in the past, and he is a young

man. I think he should reconsider. [¶] In my opinion, he has

seen two qualified doctors, both of which are more than capable of

making him better, and with the information I have to date, I

would expect his results would be good to excellent in the 90%

range.”

In a supplemental report, Dr. Fields stated: “I am now

asked if the patient is in need of surgery, should the patient

4

reconsider his refusal? My answer is ‘yes,’ as I stated in my

report. I indicated that I would expect his results to be good and

excellent in the 90% range. [¶] For an isolated disc for a one-

sided discectomy and laminectomy, the average good and

excellent results are 90%. So, one would consider that he would

fit this profile as he is a healthy young man without significant

risk factors. [¶] I was asked whether I would agree that the risk

of this surgery is inconsiderable in view of the seriousness of the

injury. All lumbar surgeries have risks . . . . [¶] However, I

think the risk-benefit ratio is highly in the patient’s favor. [¶]

Also, I think the patient would have good to excellent results,

meaning he could go back to work probably without restriction or

with limited restrictions after surgery.”

Appellant continued to decline to undergo the authorized

surgery. On June 9, 2017, appellant underwent a third MRI. In

a June 28, 2017 report, Dr. Bakshian stated: “I have compared

his 2015 MRI with the current MRI which clearly demonstrates

progression of the discopathy at L5-S1. As I previously

suspected, his pain syndrome is not only related to the disc

herniation (and notable extrusion) at the L5-S1 level, but also

secondary to the disfunction [sic] of the disc itself. . . . [¶] At this

point, in order to address both back pain and leg pain in this

individual, he will require a spinal fusion at L5-S1 with a

decompression exploration of the nerve root and neurolysis as

necessary. Alternatively, if the patient is prepared to consider, a

laminectomy discectomy and neurolysis at L5-S1 can be

performed which will invariably help with his radiculopathic

pain, however, unlikely to help with his mechanical pain. In

either case, I don’t believe that it would be safe for the patient to

return back to perform his duties as a Deputy Sheriff[.]”

5

In a July 2017 progress report and request for

authorization, Dr. Bakshian opined that appellant’s continuing

pain was due to “a combination of annular tearing, disc

protrusion and scar formation around the right L5 and S1 nerve

root.” Based on the progression of appellant’s condition, Dr.

Bakshian sought authorization for a laminoforaminotomy

discectomy, rather than the hemilaminectomy microdiscectomy

that had previously been approved. Dr. Bakshian also noted that

“[t]he patient expresses [that] he wishe[s] to proceed with

surgery.”

Dr. Bakshian’s request for a laminoforaminotomy and

discectomy at the County’s expense was denied following

utilization review. (See §§ 4610, subd. (a), 5307.27.) The request

was denied due to “insufficient current objective medical evidence

in the record to support the necessity of surgical intervention.”

In a November 2017 report, Dr. Bakshian stated: “At this point,

the patient does have a deposition pending. Hopefully, this will

resolve the issues as he does need surgical intervention. I have

discussed with him options for surgical intervention; however,

the patient does understand that with surgery, there’s no

guarantee of full recovery which in all likelihood he will not be

able to return back to his current employment. The patient does

understand. He needs some time to think about his options. He

will contact me in the next four to six weeks to check in on

status.”

On March 15, 2018, appellant was examined by Dr.

Richard Rosenberg, M.D., an orthopedic surgeon. In his report,

Dr. Rosenberg stated that “[b]ased on my review of [appellant’s]

records, at one point he was a candidate for surgery, although,

with the passage of time, his condition has improved to the point

6

where I would no longer consider him a candidate for surgery.”

Dr. Rosenberg opined that “[b]ased on the Job Analysis for a

Deputy Sheriff, [appellant] would be precluded from rare or

infrequent lifting of 50 to 100 pounds. He would certainly be

precluded from lifting over 100 pounds. In my opinion,

[appellant] is currently able to carry out the remainder of the job

duties that are described in the Job Analysis.” The doctor also

noted that “a home exercise program would be advisable for him

and, with this program, additional improvement in his lower

back condition can be expected.”

In a November 2018 progress report, Dr. Bakshian stated

that appellant still reported “constant” pain but was “not

interested in surgery currently” and “would like to postpone that

to a future date.” Dr. Bakshian added that appellant “was

advised to continue with his home exercise program to increase

functionality and mobility. Once he changes his mind regarding

surgery for lumbar spine he will notify us.”

After reevaluating appellant in January 2019, Dr.

Rosenberg reported that appellant was “not doing a home

exercise program because the pain in his back increased around

August of 2018.” Dr. Rosenberg concluded that appellant “has

lost . . . less than 5% of his preinjury lifting capacity” and “would

benefit for a work hardening program [i.e., a physical therapy

and conditioning program designed to return an employee to

work] for his low back to increase his ability for lifting and

potentially returning back to work as a deputy sheriff.”

The administrative hearing on appellant’s application for a

service-connected disability retirement was held on December 12,

2019. Appellant testified on his own behalf and did not call any

other witnesses. Appellant testified among other things that he

7

had declined to undergo the authorized surgery because his

initial symptom of urinary incontinence had resolved and he

“believe[d] that [his] body was getting better.” Appellant also had

“[m]ultiple concerns” because “[y]ou don’t know the outcome of

the surgery.” He disagreed with Dr. Rosenberg’s conclusion that

he had only lost 5 percent of his lifting capacity. On cross-

examination, he reiterated that he elected not to undergo the

surgery recommended by Drs. Bakshian, Grossman, and Fields

“because the urinary incontinence [had] stopped.” He denied that

Dr. Fields told him he would likely be able to return to work if he

underwent the surgery. He declined to undergo the work

hardening program recommended by Dr. Rosenberg because he

“didn’t see any medical benefit to it” and “when [he tries] to do

the exercises that Dr. Bakshian recommends, it hurts, the pain

increases.”

The County called radiologist Stephen Rothman, M.D., and

Tracey Pirie, the Sheriff’s Bureau Manager. Dr. Rothman

essentially testified that there was no indication of spinal nerve

compression in appellant’s June 9, 2017 MRI results. Pirie

testified that the Sheriff’s Department could “probably”

accommodate the restrictions imposed by Dr. Rosenberg if

appellant returned to work.

At the conclusion of the hearing, the record was left open to

allow appellant to present an additional report from Dr.

Bakshian. In a May 2020 supplemental report, Dr. Bakshian

stated that he agreed with Dr. Rothman’s conclusion that the disc

extrusion at L5-S1 had been resolved. Dr Bakshian disagreed,

however, that this meant “there is essentially nothing wrong with

the patient’s back.” Dr. Bakshian “noted that the patient does

have fairly significant disc height loss at L5-S1 and a large area

8

of high intensity signal within the annulus at L5-S1,” which

“signifies that the internal structure of the disc is no longer

properly functioning and that represents discopathy at the L5-S1

level.” The doctor added that “[b]y virtue of there being a disc

extrusion at the L5-S1 level signifies that a portion of the disc

annulus tore and that the central disc material (nucleus

pulposus) extruded through the annulus[.]” Dr. Bakshian opined

that “[i]nitially, a decompression and discectomy would have been

a viable option. At this point, it is my opinion that not only a

decompressive procedure is required but also a neurolysis and

likely a spinal fusion at the L5-S1 level.”

On October 22, 2020, the hearing officer issued his

proposed findings of fact and recommended decision denying

appellant’s application for service-connected disability retirement

benefits. The hearing officer found that “Applicant refused to

undergo reasonable and appropriate medical treatment that had

a high probability of success (90 percent according to Dr. Fields),

and which could have permitted Applicant to go back to work. He

refused surgery despite the recommendations of three physicians

. . . . By refusing to undergo surgery when it was initially

authorized, Applicant might very well have made his condition

worse because according to Dr. Bakshian, ‘at this point Applicant

[sic] not only requires decompressive procedure, he also requires

a neurolysis and possibly a fusion.[”] [Citation.] In addition,

Applicant made a unilateral decision [to] stop the home exercise

program that was recommended and encouraged by Dr.

Bakshian. Finally, Applicant refused to participate in the Work

Hardening Program that was recommended by Dr. Rosenberg

and offered to Applicant by the County of Ventura.” The hearing

officer also found that “Applicant’s testimony that he declined to

9

go forward with the surgery because his incontinence had abated

is not credible because Applicant continued to complain of

constant pain . . . even after he no longer had incontinence.” The

hearing officer concluded that appellant was thus not entitled to

service-related disability retirement benefits, as contemplated in

Reynolds, supra, 126 Cal.App.3d 208. The Board subsequently

adopted the hearing officer’s proposed decision and accordingly

denied appellant’s application for service-connected disability

retirement benefits.

Appellant petitioned for a writ of administrative mandate.

In its ruling denying the petition, the court reasoned: “The

determinative factor in all of this from the Court’s perspective is

[appellant’s] refusal to consent to surgery in 2016, and the

consequences of that decision as discussed in Reynolds . . . . In

2015 and 2016, [appellant] was evaluated by Drs. Bakshian and

Fields[,] both of whom concluded that [appellant] needed surgery

for his back problem. Dr. Fields was particularly emphatic about

the need for surgery and its probable good-excellent result. To be

sure, no surgery is without risk, but both Dr. Bakshian (a

treating physician) and Dr. Fields (an evaluating physician) are

very firm in stating that this was the needed treatment. . . .

What probably could have been fixed in 2015 or 2016 by surgery

had worsened by 2017. The surgery recommended in 2017 was of

a different type, and one which likely would not have resolved

[appellant’s] injury such that he could return to work. His

decision in 2015 and 2016 to refuse the treatment which probably

would have allowed him to return to work is a sufficient basis to

deny this Petition.”

10

Discussion

Appellant contends the trial court’s decision to deny his

administrative writ petition based on the finding that he

unreasonably refused medical treatment misapplies the law and

is in any event not supported by substantial evidence. We

conclude otherwise.

Under the County Employees Retirement Law of 1937, an

employee is entitled to disability retirement benefits if he or she

is “permanently incapacitated” physically or mentally from the

performance of his or her duties. (Gov. Code, § 31720.) In order

to qualify for a service-connected disability retirement, the

applicant’s permanent incapacity must be “a result of injury or

disease arising out of and in the course of the member’s

employment, and such employment contributes substantially to

such incapacity. . . .” (Id., subd. (a).)

Because “employees have a fundamental vested right in

their retirement benefits” (County of Alameda v. Board of

Retirement (1988) 46 Cal.3d 902, 915), in adjudicating appellant’s

writ petition the trial court was required to exercise its

independent judgment to decide whether benefits were properly

denied. (Valero v. Board of Retirement of Tulare County

Employees’ Assn. (2012) 205 Cal.App.4th 960, 965 (Valero).) In

exercising its independent judgment in this regard, “a trial court

must afford a strong presumption of correctness concerning the

administrative findings, and the party challenging the

administrative decision bears the burden of convincing the court

that the administrative findings are contrary to the weight of the

evidence.” (Fukuda v. City of Angels (1999) 20 Cal.4th 809, 817

(Fukuda).)

11

“‘After the trial court has exercised its independent

judgment in weighing the evidence, our task is to review the

record to determine whether the trial court’s findings are

supported by substantial evidence. [Citation.] The trial court’s

decision should be sustained if it is supported by credible and

competent evidence. [Citation.]’” (Valero, supra, 205 Cal.App.4th

at p. 965.) Under these circumstances, “‘the question for a

reviewing court becomes whether the evidence compels a finding

in favor of the appellant as a matter of law. [Citations.]

Specifically, the question becomes whether the appellant’s

evidence was (1) “uncontradicted and unimpeached” and (2) “of

such a character and weight as to leave no room for a judicial

determination that it was insufficient to support a finding.”

[Citation.]’. [Citation.]” (Id., at p. 966)

The trial court denied appellant’s writ petition based on the

common law doctrine of avoidable consequences/mitigation of

damages, as set forth in Reynolds and section 4056. Pursuant to

that doctrine, an application for service-connected disability

retirement benefits is properly denied if the applicant’s disability

is caused, continued, or aggravated by their unreasonable refusal

to undergo medical treatment for their injuries. (Reynolds,

supra, 126 Cal.App.3d at p. 216, citing § 40562; see also State

2 Section 4056 states: “No compensation is payable in the

case of the death or disability of an employee when [the] death is

caused, or when and so far as his disability is caused, continued,

or aggravated, by an unreasonable refusal to submit to medical

treatment, or to any surgical treatment, if the risk of the

treatment is, in the opinion of the appeals board, based upon

expert medical or surgical advice, inconsiderable in view of the

seriousness of the injury.” Although section 4056 is a workers’

compensation provision, the statute “merely codifies the common

12

Dept. of Health Services v. Superior Court (2003) 31 Cal.4th 1026,

1047, discussing § 4056 (State Dept. of Health Services).) The

purpose of applying the doctrine in this context “is to prevent

employees with treatable injuries from resorting to unfounded

beliefs, ungrounded fears or personal idiosyncrasies or

convictions to reject proffered treatment. [Citation.]” (Flores v.

Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd. (1973) 36 Cal.App.3d 388, 392-

393.)

Appellant contends the court erred in relying on the

doctrine of avoidable consequences/mitigation of damages as set

forth in Reynolds and section 4056 because in Reynolds it was

deemed likely that the employee could still return to work if he

underwent the surgery he had unreasonably refused. (Reynolds,

supra, 126 Cal.App.3d at p. 218.) He asserts that the doctrine

cannot be applied to him because it is essentially undisputed that

the initial surgery he refused to undergo would no longer be

effective and that the surgeries Dr. Bakshian subsequently

recommended would not enable him to perform all of the duties of

his job as a Deputy Sheriff.

We are not persuaded. The doctrine of avoidable

consequences/mitigation of damages logically applies not only

when it is likely that the employee could still return to work by

undergoing recommended medical treatment, but also when it is

likely the employee could have returned to work but for their

unreasonable refusal to timely submit to treatment that may no

longer be effective due to the passage of time. Under the latter

law rule requiring mitigation of damages [citation], which is

properly applied in determining eligibility for disability

retirement.” (Reynolds, supra, 126 Cal.App.3d at p. 216.)

13

scenario, a retirement board can reasonably find that the

employee’s inability to return to work is not a result of their

work-related injury, but rather a result of their unreasonable

refusal to submit to medical treatment for that injury. (Gov.

Code, § 31720, subd. (a); § 4056.)

Moreover, appellant cannot be heard to complain the

evidence does not support the court’s findings that he

unreasonably refused to undergo the hemilaminectomy

microdiscectomy that was approved in November 2015, and that

he probably would have been able to return to work had he

undergone that surgery. His opening brief does not set forth any

of the evidence favorable to those findings. Most notably, he fails

to mention that Drs. Bakshian, Fields, and Grossman all

recommended that he undergo the surgery, or that Dr. Fields had

also opined that appellant would probably be able to return to

work if he did so. We agree with the Board that appellant thus

forfeited his claim of insufficient evidence. (Huong Que, Inc. v.

Luu (2007) 150 Cal.App.4th 400, 409-410.)

In any event, the evidence on this issue does not compel a

finding in appellant’s favor as a matter of law. (Valero, supra,

205 Cal.App.4th at p. 966.) Although appellant refers us to Dr.

Bakshian’s deposition testimony that his refusal of the

recommended surgery was not unreasonable, that testimony

plainly conflicts with the doctor’s statement in his

November 2015 evaluation report that “[t]here is no question in

my mind that the patient will require surgical intervention[.]”

Dr. Bakshian’s deposition testimony on this issue is also

contradicted by the opinions of Dr. Fields that appellant was

likely to be able to return to work if he underwent the approved

14

surgery and that the risks of that surgery were outweighed by

the benefits.

Moreover, in issuing its ruling the trial court was required

to presume the correctness of the findings underlying the Board’s

decision. (Fukuda, supra, 20 Cal.4th at p. 817.) Although the

court focused on appellant’s refusal to undergo the approved

surgery, the Board also found appellant (1) had unreasonably

refused to participate in the work hardening program; (2) had

unreasonably stopped performing the home exercise program

recommended by Dr. Bakshian; and (3) “requires further medical

care and treatment.” Because substantial evidence supports

these findings, appellant fails to establish that his writ petition

was erroneously denied.

Disposition

The trial court’s order denying appellant’s petition for a

writ of administrative mandate is affirmed. Respondents shall

recover costs on appeal.

YEGAN, Acting P. J.

We concur:

BALTODANO, J.

CODY, J.

15

Henry J. Walsh, Judge

Superior Court County of Ventura

______________________________

Law Office of Steven R. Rosales and Steven R. Rosales, for

Plaintiff and Appellant.

Board of Retirement of Ventura County Employees’

Retirement Association and Lori A. Nemiroff; Law Office of

Vivian Shultz and Vivian W. Shults, for Defendant and

Respondent.

Law Office of Stephen D. Roberson and Stephen D.

Roberson, for Intervener and Respondent.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SIX

ALBERTO MENDOZA, 2d Civ. No. B327347

Plaintiff and Appellant, (Super. Ct. No. 56-2021-

00550840-CU-WM-VTA)

v. (Ventura County)

BOARD OF RETIREMENT OF ORDER CERTIFYING

THE VENTURA COUNTY OPINION FOR

EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT PUBLICATION

ASSOCIATION, [NO CHANGE IN

JUDGMENT]

Defendant and Respondent.

COUNTY OF VENTURA/RISK

MANAGEMENT,

Intervener and Respondent.

THE COURT:

The opinion in the above-entitled matter filed on December

3, 2025, was not certified for publication in the Official Reports.

For good cause, it now appears that the opinion should be

published in the Official Reports and it is so ordered.

___________________________________________________________

YEGAN, A.P.J. BALTODANO, J. CODY, J.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.