“[The plaintiff] also argues that the ALJ committed errors in the second step, but the ALJ found in her favor at that step (holding that she did have a severe impairment), so any such errors were harmless.”
How later courts described this case
- “[The plaintiff] also argues that the ALJ committed errors in the second step, but the ALJ found in her favor at that step (holding that she did have a severe impairment), so any such errors were harmless.”
- “Nothing requires that the ALJ must identify, at step two, all of the impairments that should be considered severe. Instead, at step three, the ALJ is required to demonstrate that it has considered all of the [plaintiff’s] impairments, whether severe or not, in combination.”
- finding “undeveloped argument has been waived” (citing Bagot v. Ashcroft, 398 F.3d 252, 256 (3d Cir. 2005))
- “[W]e take the ALJ at [her] word[.]”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
NOT FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY
JAMIE C.,
Plaintiff,
Civil Action No. 25-46 (MAS)
. MEMORANDUM OPINION
COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,
Defendant.
SHIPP, District Judge
This matter comes before the Court upon Plaintiff Jamie C.’s (“Plaintiff”)! appeal of the
Commissioner of the Social Security Administration’s (the “Commissioner”) final decision
denying Plaintiff's request for Disability Insurance Benefits (“DIB”) under Title II of the Social
Security Act (the “Act”). (ECF No. 1.) The Court has jurisdiction to review this matter under 42
U.S.C. § 405(g) and reaches its decision without oral argument under Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 78(b) and Local Civil Rule 78.1(b). For the reasons below, the Court affirms the
Commissioner’s decision.
I. BACKGROUND
In this appeal, the Court must consider whether the Administrative Law Judge’s (the
“ALJ”’) finding that Plaintiff was not disabled is supported by substantial evidence. The Court
begins with the procedural posture and decision by the ALJ.
' The Court identifies Plaintiff by first name and last initial only. See D.N.J. Standing Order
2021-10.
A. Procedural Background
Plaintiff filed an application for DIB in July 2017, alleging a disability onset date of June
16, 2011, and last insured date of March 31, 2019. (AR 19, 421-22, 548, ECF No. 4.7) The Social
Security Administration (the “Administration”) denied the application both initially and upon
reconsideration. (/d. at 250-58.) Thereafter, Plaintiff requested a hearing (id. at 265-66), and the
ALJ held a telephone hearing on November 5, 2020 (id. at 125-65). On March 24, 2021, the ALJ
denied Plaintiff’s claim. Ud. at 220-34.) Plaintiff appealed that decision, and the Appeals Council
subsequently granted review and remanded the case. Ud. at 245-47.) Following remand, hearings
were held on June 7, 2022 (see id. at 84-124), and October 27, 2022 (see id. at 46-83). On August
30, 2023, the ALJ denied Plaintiff's claim again. Ud. at 17-45.) Plaintiff submitted a request for
review, which the Appeals Council denied (id. at 1-6), making the ALJ’s August 30, 2023, decision
the Commissioner’s final decision. This appeal followed. (See generally Compl., ECF No. 1.) On
April 17, 2025, Plaintiff filed her moving brief in this action. (Pl.’s Moving Br., ECF No. 7.) The
Commissioner opposed (Def.’s Opp’n Br., ECF No. 10), and Plaintiff replied (P1.’s Reply Br., ECF
No. 11).
B. The ALJ’s Decision
In her August 30, 2023, decision, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was not disabled at any
time between June 16, 2011, and March 31, 2019. (AR 31.) The ALJ set forth the Administration’s
five-step sequential analysis for determining whether an individual is disabled. U/d. at 18-19 (citing
20 C.E.R. § 404.1520(a)).) At step one, the ALJ found that Plaintiff did not “engage in substantial
2 The Administrative Record (“AR”) is located at ECF Nos. 4 through 4-29. The Court will
reference the relevant pages of the AR and will not reference the corresponding ECF page numbers
within those files.
gainful activity” during the period from her alleged onset date through the date last insured. (/d. at
19-20 (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1571).)
At step two, the ALJ found that Plaintiff suffered from several severe impairments:
(1) acute disseminated encephalomyelitis (“ADEM”); (2) migrane headache disorder;
(3) disorders of autonomic nervous system; (4) immune deficiency disorders, excluding HIV
infection; (5) obesity; (6) trauma and stressor related disorders; (7) spine disorder; (8) anxiety and
obsessive compulsive disorders; and (9) depressive, bipolar and related disorders. (/d. at 20 (citing
20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(c)).) The ALJ also found that Plaintiff’s “diagnoses of visual disturbances,
tinnitus, and GERD” were non-severe because “there is no medical evidence, either opinion or
otherwise, contained within the record that indicates any significant limitation in the [Plaintiff’s]
mental and physical abilities to do one or more basis work activities based on these impairments.”
(d.)
Despite the ALJ finding Plaintiff had severe impairments, she determined at step three that
Plaintiff “did not have an impairment or combination of impairments” that qualified under the
Administration’s listed impairments. Ud. at 19-20 (citing 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(d), 404.1525,
404.1526).) The ALJ then found that Plaintiff possessed the residual functional capacity (the
to perform sedentary work as defined in 20 C[.JF[.JR[.]
[§] 404.1567(a) except she can lift and carry up to 10 [pounds]
occasionally and less than 10 [pounds] frequently. She can stand and
walk 2 hours in an 8-hour workday and sit 6 hours in an 8-hour
workday. She can occasionally climb ramps and stairs, balance on
wet moving or uneven surfaces, kneel, stoop, and crouch; but she
cannot crawl, climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds, or work around
hazards, including moving mechanical parts or at unprotected
heights. She can understand and execute simple and routine tasks;
have incidental contact with the public but not with tasks that
involve direct customer service; and make simple decisions and
adapt to occasional changes in essential work tasks. [She] cannot
have concentrated exposure to temperature extremes of heat and
cold, wetness, humidity, fumes, odors, dusts, gases, and poor
ventilation. [She] can work in environments with moderate noise
levels. [She] will be off task 10% of the workday and absent once
per month due to the impairments.
(Ud. at 22.)
In determing Plaintiff had the RFC to “perform sedentary work” subject to certain
limitations, the ALJ thoroughly examined Plaintiff’s medical history, including medical records
such as those from Dr. Steven Greco, Ph.D (““Dr. Greco”) and Dr. Deepinder Arora (““Dr. Arora”),
Plaintiff’s subjective complaints, and the state agency consultants’ shared opinions. (See id. at
23-29.) Although the state agency medical consultants opined that Plaintiff should be limited to
“{I]ight exertion with occasional climbing of ladders, ropes and scaffolds and environmental
restrictions, such as concentrative noise, due to migraines” and “simple, routine and low contact
work{,]” the ALJ determined that the opinion was only “partially persuasive” because “any
deference that might ordinarily be afforded these assessment[s] under Social Security Ruling
(SSR) 17-2p is diminished by the fact that the consultants did not have the opportunity to examine
[Plaintiff] or review the evidence received after their file review was complete.” (/d. at 28.) Further,
the ALJ considered “a cardiac residual functional capacity questionnaire dated October 16,
2020[,| ... [that] indicates that [Plaintiff] ha[d] been treated since March 2020 for palpitations
and hypertension which would frequently interfere with concentration.” Ud.) The ALJ found,
however, that the opinion was “unpersuasive because it [was] based on less than [twelve] months
of a treating relationship” and noted that “there [was] insufficient explanation for such restrictive
limitations based solely on symptoms of palpitations.” (/d.)
At step four, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was “unable to perform any past relevant
work.” Ud. at 29 (citing 20 CER. § 404.1565).) The ALJ considered that Plaintiff was 39 years
old on the date last insured, which is defined as a “younger individual” and that she has at least a
high school education. (/d. at 29.) The ALJ determined that “[t}ransferability of job skills is not
material... because using the Medical-Vocational Rules as a framework supports a finding that
[Plaintiff] is ‘not disabled,’ whether or not [she] has transferable job skills.” Ud. at 30.) Based on
the aforementioned factors and Plaintiff’s RFC, the ALJ concluded at step five that “there were
jobs that existed in significant numbers in the national economy” that Plaintiff could have
performed. (/d. at 30-31 (citing 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1569, 404.1569(a)).) In doing so, the ALJ relied
upon the testimony of the vocational expert, who testified that an individual of Plaintiff’s age,
education, work experience, and RFC would have been “able to perform the requirements of
representative occupations” such as document preparer, sorter, and addresser. (/d.) Based on the
above findings, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff had not been under a disability “at any time from
June 16, 2011, the alleged onset date, through March 31, 2019, the date last insured[.]” Ud. at 31
(citing 20 C.F.R.§ 404.1520(g)).)
This appeal concerns the ALJ’s step-two and step-three analysis pertaining to Plaintiff’s
conversion disorder and various arguments related to whether the ALJ’s determinations are
supported by substantial evidence. (See generally Pl.’s Moving Br.) Specifically, Plaintiff argues
that the ALJ’s failure to acknowledge her conversion disorder as “severe” was “plain error and not
supported by substantial evidence in the record.” (Ud. at 21-23.) Plaintiff also argues that the
ALJ: (1) determined “that Dr. Greco’s pre-DLI findings were all normal [which] was a patent
mistake of fact” (id. at 19-20); (2) did not properly evaluate ADEM or its impact on Plaintiff (id.
at 23-25); (3) failed to consider “combined effects of impairments, side effects of medications, and
ageravating factors” (id. at 25-26); (4) failed to properly evaluate the evidence from Dr. Greco (id.
at 26-27); (5) discussed “many things which have tangential relevance to what’s wrong with this
Plaintiff’ (id at 27); (6) failed to consider Plaintiff’s impairments in combination (id. at
27-28); and (7) failed to consider “the impact of ADEM (including it sequelae) and of conversion
disorder on Plaintiff’s ability to function,” which all would have led the ALJ to conclude that
Plaintiff was disabled (id. at 28-29). The Court must therefore resolve whether the ALJ’s decision
is supported by substantial evidence and adequately explained.
Il. LEGAL STANDARD
A. Standard of Review
On appeal from the final decision of the Commissioner, a district court “shall have power
to enter, upon the pleadings and transcript of the record, a judgment affirming, modifying, or
reversing the decision of the Commissioner of Social Security, with or without remanding the
cause for a rehearing.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); Matthews y. Apfel, 239 F.3d 589, 592 (3d Cir. 2001).
To survive judicial review, the Commissioner’s decision must be supported by substantial
evidence. Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 390 (1971) (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 405(g)); see
Morales y. Apfel, 225 F.3d 310, 316 3d Cir. 2000) (explaining that the reviewing court is “bound
to the Commissioner’s findings of fact if they are supported by substantial evidence”). Substantial
evidence is “‘more than a mere scintilla. It means such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind
might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Richardson, 402 U.S. at 401 (quoting Consol.
Edison Co. v. NERB, 305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). Substantial evidence “‘may be somewhat less
than a preponderance’ of the evidence.” Ginsburg v. Richardson, 436 F.2d 1146, 1148 (d Cir.
1971) (quoting Laws vy. Celebrezze, 368 F.2d 640, 642 (4th Cir. 1966)).
In reviewing the record for substantial evidence, the court “may not weigh the evidence or
substitute [its own] conclusions for those of the fact-finder.” Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399 F.3d 546,
552 (3d Cir. 2005) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted). Even if the court would have
decided differently, it is bound by the ALJ’s decision if it is supported by substantial evidence.
Fargnoli v. Massanari, 247 F.3d 34, 38 (3d Cir. 2001) (citing Hartranft v. Apfel, 181 F.3d 358, 360
(3d Cir. 1999)). The court must “review the record as a whole to determine whether substantial
evidence supports a factual finding.” Zirnsak v. Colvin, 777 F.3d 607, 610 (3d Cir. 2014) (citing
Schaudeck v. Comm’r, 181 F.3d 429, 431 Gd Cir. 1999)). “Since it is apparent that the ALJ cannot
reject evidence for no reason or for the wrong reason, an explanation from the ALJ of the reason
why probative evidence has been rejected is required so that a reviewing court can determine
whether the reasons for rejection were improper.” Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d 700, 706-07 (3d Cir.
1981) (citation omitted).
B. Establishing Disability
To be eligible for insurance benefits, claimants must be unable to “engage in any substantial
gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can
be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period
of not less than [twelve] months.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1 (A). For purposes of the statute, a claimant
is disabled only if her physical or mental impairments are “of such severity that [s]he is not only
unable to do hfer] previous work but cannot, considering [her] age, education, and work
experience, engage in any other kind of substantial gainful work which exists in the national
economy[.]” Jd. § 423(d)(2)(A). A physical or mental impairment is one “that results from
anatomical, physiological, or psychological abnormalities which are demonstrable by medically
acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques.” Jd. § 423(d)(3).
Administration regulations provide a five-step evaluation procedure to determine whether
an individual is disabled. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4). For the first step, the claimant must establish
that she has not engaged in any substantial gainful activity since the onset of her alleged disability.
20 C.ER. § 404.1520(a)(4)@). For the second step, the claimant must establish that she suffers
from a “severe .. . impairment” or “combination of impairments.” Jd. § 404.1520(a)(4)(i1).
Claimants bear the burden of establishing the first two requirements, and failure to satisfy either
one results in a denial of benefits. Bown v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 146 n.5 (1987). The third step
requires that the claimant provide evidence that her impairments are equal to at least one of the
impairments listed in Appendix | of the regulations. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)Gii). If the claimant
demonstrates that she suffers from a listed impairment or that her severe impairment is equal to a
listed impairment, she is presumed to be disabled and entitled to DIB. /d; 20 C.FR.
§ 404.1520(d). If she cannot so demonstrate, the eligibility analysis proceeds to step four. See 20
C.E.R. § 404.1520(e).
Under the fourth step, the ALJ determines whether the claimant’s RFC permits her to
resume her previous employment. /d. If claimant’s RFC permits previous employment, she is not
“disabled” and thus is not entitled to DIB. /d@ § 404.1520(f). The burden of persuasion rests with
the claimant in the first four steps. Malloy ».. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 306 F. App’x 761, 763 (3d Cir.
2009). At the fifth step, the burden shifts to the Commissioner to demonstrate that the claimant can
perform other work consistent with her medical impairments, age, education, past work
experience, and RFC. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(g). If the Commissioner cannot satisfy this burden,
the claimant will receive DIB. /d.
Il. DISCUSSION
Plaintiff alleges that the ALJ’s decision is not supported by substantial evidence. (See
generally P\.’s Moving Br.) Specifically, Plaintiff contends that the ALJ erred in failing to consider
her conversion disorder at steps two and three, and raises other miscellaneous arguments pertaining
to the evidence cited in the ALJ’s decision. The Court addresses each argument below.
A. Consideration of Plaintiff’s Conversion Disorder
Plaintiff argues that the ALJ committed reversible error by not identifying conversion
disorder at step two and then failing to evaluate the evidence of somatic disorders, including
conversion disorder, at step three. The Court addresses each argument in turn.
L Conversion Disorder at Step Two
Plaintiff argues that that the ALJ erred at step two of the analysis in failing to acknowledge
conversion disorder as a “severe” impairment and subsequently failing to consider the impact of
the conversion disorder, a somatic disorder, throughout the disability evaluation process. (PI.’s
Moving Br. 21-23.) The medical records do reflect that Plaintiff was diagnosed with conversion
disorder (AR 1755), but the ALJ did not list conversion disorder as either a “severe” or
“non-severe” impairment at step two (id. at 20).
“At step two, an ALJ is required to determine[:] (1) whether an impairment is medically
determinable[;] and if so (2) whether that medically determinable impairment is severe or
non-severe.” Robert E. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 20-6882, 2021 WL 5277193, at *6 (D.N.J.
Nov. 12, 2021); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(c). “The step-two inquiry is a de minimis screening device
to dispose of groundless claims.” Newell v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 347 F.3d 541, 546 (3d Cir. 2003)
(citations omitted). “It is well established that any omission of an impairment at [s]tep [t]wo is
harmless error, provided that the ALJ determines that the claimant has at least one severe
impairment and continues onto the subsequent steps of the sequential analysis.” Vanessa T-H. v.
’r of Soc. Sec., No. 23-2293, 2024 WL 1635685, at *4 (D.N.J. Apr. 16, 2024) (citing Salles
v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 229 F. App’x 140, 145 n.2 (3d Cir. 2007).
Here, the ALJ found in Plaintiff’s favor at step two in finding that Plaintiff had multiple
severe impairments. Therefore, any omission of conversion disorder at step two is harmless error
and is not a basis for reversal or remand. See, e.g., Rivera v. Comm'’r of Soc. Sec., 164 F. App’x
260, 262 n.2 (3d Cir. 2006) (“[The plaintiff] also argues that the ALJ committed errors in the
second step, but the ALJ found in her favor at that step (holding that she did have a severe
impairment), so any such errors were harmless.”); Salles, 229 F. App’x at 145 n.2 (“Because the
ALJ found in [plaintiff’s] favor at [s]tep [t]wo, even if he had erroneously concluded that some of
her other impairments were non-severe, any error was harmless.” (citing Rutherford v. Barnhart,
399 F.3d 546, 553 (3d Cir. 2005))); see also Heatly v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 382 F. App’x 823, 825
(11th Cir. 2010) (“Nothing requires that the ALJ must identify, at step two, all of the impairments
that should be considered severe. Instead, at step three, the ALJ is required to demonstrate that it
has considered all of the [plaintiff’s] impairments, whether severe or not, in combination.”).
2. Conversion Disorder at Step Three
Plaintiff next argues that the ALJ was “nevertheless required to consider [the conversion
disorder’s| impact, in combination with the impact of Plaintiff’s other impairments . . . throughout
the disability determination process” and “the ALJ’s failure to evaluate the case for somatic
disorders [which includes the conversion disorder] at [s]tep [three]... was reversible error because
it affected the outcome.” (P1.’s Moving Br. 22-23.) Specifically, Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred
by not directly citing Listing 12.07 in her evaluation of whether Plaintiff met or medically equalled
any listings at step three “despite discussing multiple other categories of mental impairment which
are less significant in this case[.]” (/d.)
The ALJ’s opinion must be “read as a whole” to understand the factors considered in the
decision, including those at step three. Jones v. Barnhart, 364 F.3d 501, 505 (3d Cir. 2004). At step
three, ALJs typically must provide “some discussion” of their determination, although they “need
not ‘use particular language or adhere to a particular format in conducting [their] analysis,’ as long
10
as ‘there is sufficient development of the record and explanation of findings to permit meaningful
review[.|’” Holloman v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 639 F. App’x 810, 813-14 Gd Cir. 2016) (citing
Jones, 364 F.3d at 505). And should the Court find the ALJ’s step-three analysis deficient as to
certain impairments, the plaintiff must provide reasons as to why she “might have prevailed at step
three if the ALJ’s analysis had been more thorough.” /d. at 814.
As a preliminary matter, beyond a conclusory assertion that the ALJ’s purported failure to
analyze somatic disorders at step three was reversible error because it “affected the outcome” (see
Pl.’s Moving Br. 22-23), Plaintiff provides no reasoning as to why she would have prevailed if the
ALJ had considered such disorders at this step. See Holloman, 639 F. App’x at 814 (“Whether or
not the ALJ’s analysis of these impairments was sufficiently thorough, [plaintiff] offers no
explanation of how further analysis could have affected the outcome of his disability claim. Even
if [the court] found a portion of the ALJ’s step-three analysis to be deficient, [the court] would
have no reason to conclude that the deficiency in analysis was harmful to [plaintiff’s] claim.”).
Furthermore, the ALJ relied on substantial evidence in determining that “[t]he severity of
the claimant’s mental [and related physical] impairments, considered singly and in combination,
did not meet or medically equal the criteria of listings 12.02, 12.04, 12.06, and 12.15.” (AR 21.)
Specifically, the ALJ noted that “[i]n making [her] finding, [she] considered whether the
‘paragraph B’ criteria were satisfied” and ultimately determined that Plaintiff “has moderate
limitations in understanding, remembering, or applying information, interacting with others,
concentrating, persisting, or maintaining pace, and adapting or managing oneself.” (/d.) To come
to her conclusion, the ALJ specified that she reviewed certain medical records, including a
February 2015 mental status examination (noted as exhibit 49F) and a 2017 psychiatric
consultative examination (noted as exhibit 66F), both of which explicitly mention conversion
11
disorder. (See, e.g., id at 1993, 1995, 2430, 2432, 2454.) Where, as here, the “ALJ explicitly
considered Plaintiff’s impairments ‘singly and in combination,’. . . there is ‘no reason not to
believe’ that the ALJ did so.” Ward v. O'Malley, No. 18-13675, 2024 WL 1048078, at *6 (D.N.J.
Mar. 11, 2024) (quoting Morrison ex rel. Morrison v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 268 F. App’x 186, 189
(3d Cir. 2008)).
The Court finds, therefore, that the ALJ’s finding that Plaintiff’s combination of
impairments did not meet or medically equal the severity of the listed impairments was supported
by substantial evidence. The Court, accordingly, finds this argument an insufficient basis for
reversal or remand.
B. Plaintiff’s Remaining Arguments
Plaintiff's remaining arguments relate to various aspects of Plaintiff’s overarching
contention that the ALJ’s findings were not supported by substantial evidence. (See Pl.’s Moving
Br. 19-20, 23-29.) For the reasons discussed below, the Court disagrees.
Plaintiff first argues that the ALJ made a “patent mistake of fact” in finding that “Dr.
Greco’s pre-DLI findings were all normal” and finding “there was ‘no evidence of . . . decreased
sensation or deep tendon reflexes[.]’” (PI.’s Moving Br. 20.) After appropriate consideration of the
extensive medical record before her, the ALJ noted in her analysis that Plaintiff’s
“neuropsychological and psychological findings fell within normal limits” and that Plaintiff’s
“psychological functioning was overall unremarkable.” (AR 24-25.) This conclusion is supported
by substantial evidence, including the ALJ’s review and citation to Dr. Greco’s June 2012
examination notes which indicated that “[i]ntegrating [Plaintiff's] neuropsychological and
psychological findings revealed at this point in time a cognitive profile that fell within normal
limits. In fact, her scores fell within the average to above average range.” U/d. at 1127, 2722.) The
12
ALJ also considered the single reference included in Plaintiff’s April 30, 2012 neurological
examination that Plaintiff’s “[d]eep tending reflexes was 1+, 2+ and there was dimunition of
sensation on the right side.” (/d. at 24.) Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ’s failure to consider the
evidence of “decreased sensation or deep tendon reflexes” is not supported by any citations to the
record, is directly contradicted by the ALJ’s analysis, and must, therefore, be rejected. (See Pl.’s
Moving Br. 20.)
Plaintiff next argues that the ALJ did not properly evaluate Plaintiff's ADEM condition or
its impact in its analysis, and merely “checked the box” for ADEM. (/d. at 23-25.) The ALJ’s
conclusion that Plaintiff's RFC is “categorized as less than the full range of sedentary work,”
explicit mention of Plaintiff’s ADEM, and accounting for Plaintiff’s need for one emergency visit
per month for her ADEM all undermines this argument. (See AR 29.) In fact, the ALJ considered
Plaintiff’s medical records and explicitly noted that Plaintiff was diagnosed with ADEM after a
June 2011 hospital stay and that Plaintiff “carries a diagnosis of [ADEM] with multiple emergency
department visits and inpatient stays.” Ud. at 24, 29.) In reviewing Plaintiff’s subsequent medical
documentation, including an August 2018 medical report that Plaintiff was having panic attacks
and examination notes from a July 2019 emergency department visit, the ALJ ultimately concluded
that “[Plaintiff’s] condition appears to have stabilized as the subsequent office visits reflect limited
13
follow up in 2018 and 2019.” Ud. at 27-29.) Such a conclusion is directly supported by Plaintiff’s
medical records, and thus, the ALJ’s decision is supported by substantial evidence.? (See id.)
Plaintiff next argues that the ALJ failed to consider the “combined effects of impairments,
side effects of medications, and aggravating factors” such as “Plaintiff’s headaches or sequelae of
ADEM, [and] the [fact that] Plaintiff cannot tolerate noise, which triggers and aggravates them.”
(Pl.’s Moving Br. 25-26.) Plaintiff argues that if the ALJ had “acknowledged that Plaintiff needs a
‘quiet’ environment and would not be able to tolerate a [forty] hour week in an environment of
‘moderate’ noise, this additional factor would preclude competitive work[.]” (/d.) Plaintiff’s own
testimony that her “difficulties . . . with respect to sound or . . . volume” were “[I]oud noises[,|
[jJust loud noises,” undercuts this argument. (See AR 112.) The Court must take the ALJ at her
word that she considered the entire record in coming to her conclusion. (See AR 29 (Thus, after
considering the entire record . . .”)); see also Jones v. Comm of Soc. Sec., 297 F. App’x 117, 120
(3d Cir. 2008) (“[W]e take the ALJ at [her] word[.]”). The ALJ’s decision, is therefore, supported
by substantial evidence in the record.*
> Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ erred in not seeking additional medical expert testimony, (see
Pl.’s Moving Br. 24), also fails. The ALJ’s decision not to seek additional medical expert testimony
is entirely within the ALJ’s discretion. See Carin F. vy. O’Malley, No. 22-4193, 2024 WL 3949322,
at *14 (D.N.J. Aug. 27, 2024) (“[A]n ALJ is vested with broad discretion in determining whether
to consult with a medical expert.” (citing Hardee v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 188 F. App’x 127, 129
(3d Cir. 2006))). The ALJ, accordingly, did not err in her determinations regarding ADEM or her
decision not to seek additional testimony outside of the record for ADEM. See, e.g., Miguel v.
Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 129 F. App’x 678, 680 (3d Cir. 2005) (“The regulations do not require that a
medical expert testify at the claimant’s hearing.” (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1529(b))).
Plaintiff also argues that it is “not either-or, it’s both and all” in arguing again that the ALJ did
not consider Plaintiff’s combined impairments. (See Pl.’s Moving Br. 27-28.) For the reasons
discussed above, this argument once again fails as the Court finds the ALJ’s decision supported by
substantial evidence.
14
Plaintiff subsequently argues that the ALJ failed to properly evaluate the evidence from Dr.
Greco because she “discounted Dr. Greco’s post-DLI report because it was written post-DLI” and
ALJ did not discuss Dr. Greco’s voluminous records[.]” (P1.’s Moving Br. 26-27.) In addition
to broadly considering Dr. Greco’s reports, the ALJ explicitly discussed Dr. Greco’s post-DLI
report, noting that she found it “not persuasive as [Dr. Greco] did not identify when the opined
limitations applied as the opinion [was] rendered years after the DLI.” (AR 28); see also Porter v.
’r of Soc. Sec., No. 18-3744, 2019 WL 2590994, at *4 (D.N.J. June 25, 2019) (noting ALJ
did not err in giving medical expert’s “opinion little weight because it ‘was rendered more than a
year after [Plaintiff’s] date last insured and [it] does not indicate that it relates back’ to the disability
evaluation period” (alterations in original)). The ALJ also need not refer explicitly to every detail
of medical evidence. See Fargnoli, 247 F.3d at 42 (noting that the ALJ need not “make reference
to every relevant treatment note in a case where the claimant . . . has voluminous records”). The
ALJ here properly “consider[ed]| and evaluate[d] the medical evidence [of Dr. Greco] in the record
consistent with [her] responsibilities under the regulations and case law.” /d. The Court, therefore,
rejects Plaintiff’s argument.
Lastly, Plaintiff argues that “had the ALJ properly evaluated the evidence, [Plaintiff] would
have been found disabled.” (Pl.’s Moving Br. 28-29.) Plaintiff fails to identify what evidence the
ALJ failed to properly evaluate and instead seemingly takes general issue with the ALJ’s RFC
determination. “A claimant’s RFC reflects ‘what [the claimant] can still do despite [his or her]
limitations.’” Morris v. Comm’r Soc. Sec., No. 19-13744, 2020 WL 2764803, at *4 (D.N.J. May
28, 2020) (alterations in original) (citing 20 C.F.R. § 416.945(a)). “RFC does not represent the
least an individual can do despite his or her limitations or restrictions, but the most.” Titles IT &
Assessing Residual Functional Capacity in Initial Claims, SSR 96-8P, 1996 WL 374184, at
15
*2 (S.S.A. July 2, 1996). Where “evidence in the record is susceptible to more than one rational
interpretation, [the Court] must accept the Commissioner’s conclusions.” /zzo v. Comm’r of Soc.
Sec., 186 F. App’x 280, 284 (3d Cir. 2006) (citing Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401
(1971)). The Court finds that the ALJ’s findings, including but not limited to her RFC
determination, are supported by substantial evidence for the reasons discussed above and accepts
the ALJ’s conclusions.° The Court, accordingly, affirms the ALJ’s decision.
IV. CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the Court affirms the Commissioner’s final decision. The Court
will issue an order consistent with this Memorandum Opinion.
MICHAEL A. SHIPP
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE
nd
Dated: December A”, 2025
> The Court also notes that Plaintiff argues that “straw men and red herrings do not constitute
substantial evidence,” providing little-to-no support for this argument. (See Pl.’s Moving Br. 27.)
Because Plaintiff does not identify any evidence or even identify what she is referring to, the Court
deems this argument waived. See Conroy v. Leone, 316 F. App’x 140, 144 n.5 (3d Cir. 2009)
(finding “undeveloped argument has been waived” (citing Bagot v. Ashcroft, 398 F.3d 252, 256
(3d Cir. 2005))).
16